14

4.9 based on 14 customer reviews

13
1
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

great projector

VPLHW45ES 17/11/2019 by kilgore95 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality is almost 4k in a 1080 projector. easy to use. no fan noise in excess.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Projector

VPLHW45ES 08/09/2019 by nathanathome (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this projector a year and a half ago. The picture quality is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi nathanathome,

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Excellent Projector

VPL-HW45ES 02/04/2019 by JHzlwd (USA)

Bought this to replace an Epson 5030UB which, after only 3 years, developed the notorious "vertical blue line" problem which costs more to fix than the entire projector. So, back to Sony whom I know can be trusted to make a reliable product. Although the Epson was good, this is noticeably better. Detailed blacks are significantly superior without need for a grunting auto-aperture. Contrast and detail extract everything possible from the HiDef format. Image is sharp corner-to-corner with no fall-off in brightness. Frame interpolation eliminates "jerk-o-vision". Totally silent ventilation (Low lamp setting - we have a dark viewing room). Excellent controls on the remote with a great on-screen menu. The "Reality Creation" feature actually works. Turn it on and there is enhanced clarity and depth to images. So what's missing? No motorized lens cover. Focus, zoom, image positioning are all manual. No keystone correction. None of this matters. They are set-and-forget. Don't need keystone correction. Looks to me like Sony put the money saved on these unnecessary features into image quality. A couple of caveats... If you access a lot of content with different formats you might miss having zoom on the remote. Maximum brightness is not as high as the competition. If you intend viewing in a bright room that might be an issue. In my darkened room its plenty bright enough on Low lamp setting and about mid-range intensity setting. Absence of keystone adjustment means this unit is best ceiling mounted. Tip: A projector will always yield a sharper, more evenly illuminated image at long throw. Try to mount well back from the screen. I'm using 20 ft. for a 10 ft. diagonal screen and it looks great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Wow!

VPLHW45ES 24/03/2019 by brokencrank (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nothing left to say...just WOW! This projector is such a huge upgrade from all of the usual suspects in the under $3k realm that it is easily worth the price increase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really really good

VPL-HW45ES 29/10/2018 by JambalHoat (USA)

I got this a couple of years ago, and glad I made this purchase. Easily one of the best. Image is crisp, clear, vibrant and the black levels are deep. Glad I bought Sony and not other competing lower priced ones. Sony does stand out in terms of picture quality, reliability and delivers a fantastic movie. I use it on a 135" screen and love the movie experience every time I sit to watch blockbusters of my liking. Will hold on to it until 4K projectors are matured, and will definitely get a Sony then. Very very impressed and a happy Sony customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

simple registration great product, super price

VPLHW45ES 25/03/2018 by lateowls (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great value with sony reliability, what could be better?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Projector

VPLHW45ES 08/03/2018 by Hulkinra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Crystal clear and lots of features. Must own product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very bright detailed picture

VPLHW45ES 09/02/2018 by RobPu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 8 year old JVC DLA X7 that I paid 6K for went dead. A friend recommended the 45ES at less than half the price of the JVC. I simply love it. One recommendation would to have a keystone correction on it but that is a small gripe. I hope 3D never dies. On a 120 inch screen the thing is detailed and bright.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Great Projector Value!

VPL-HW45ES 11/01/2018 by SPB56 (USA)

This replaced a six year old projector in our multiple use room that can be fully darkened. Considered going 4K but with our seating distance gave minimal sharpness and enhanced color (HDR and BT2020) benefit from the faux or real 4k projectors when compared to the SONY. Then of course there is the higher cost. This Sony SXRD (LCOS) system is awesome with amazing sharpness for 1080, great natural color out of the box and very good black levels for no auto iris. It is also quiet as a mouse and bright enough for a very good picture with ambient light in the room. No projector is perfect for everyone, but for our room this Sony hit all the marks, we could not be happier. If you really only can use/need 1080 and want the best it can offer, this may well be the projector for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best in its class

VPLHW45ES 09/01/2018 by Eckersly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a several-year-old EPSON 8100 1080P projector. Great choice as I wait for the 4K to settle out in a few years. Easy setup, great picture. Amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great quality and pretty quiet

VPLHW45ES 30/12/2017 by VPeri (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently and have been very impressed with the quality of the projector. A typical sony quality product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

FANTASTIC PROJECTOR!

VPLHW45ES 26/11/2017 by Goozer1979 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a replacement for my old Epson 8350. I thought about going with a Faux-K model, but decided to hold off until true 4k models (that can render credible HDR) come down to my price range. I'd been reading nothing but overwhelmingly positive reviews on this guy and boy they weren't kidding. The contrast ratio and color rendering are absolutely sublime. The black levels are wonderfully deep and easily beat my old Epson... and without an auto iris! I've even checked out a couple of 4K blu-rays down converted to 1080p SDR from my Sony player and they look pretty darn good. If you're looking for a great projector, but don't have the money to plunk down on a true 4K model yet, I would definitely recommend this projector.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great features

VPLHW45ES 22/11/2017 by Rbell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 3 months ago...and I love it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome Projector

VPLHW45ES 05/05/2017 by Zen007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We recently bought this projector and we were blown away by the picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0