10

4.4 based on 10 customer reviews

7
0
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Spectacular bright picture

VPLVW285ES 17/12/2017 by Dr Neal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it and the picture and color are gorgeous! This is my 3rd projector and the 4k is amazing, especially at this price. 4K UHD Blurays are the best, but even the upscaling on basic cable is a great improvement in detail and color accuracy. The 4K Demos on Youtube will blow you away. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice picture, but very distracting banding

VPL-VW285ES 21/03/2018 by bcovalt (USA)

The overall image is good, but when there's banding, it's really bad. I've been watching new 4K HDR movies like Jumangi, and the color banding that happens is awful! Really distracting when you're watching a movie because you'll see all these shapes moving across the picture where there should be a smooth gradient. This is what HDR is about - so to advertise that this is an HDR compatible projector and then have this horrible banding problem with HDR defeats the purpose.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

10 Customer Reviews

0

Nice picture, but very distracting banding

VPL-VW285ES 21/03/2018 by bcovalt (USA)

The overall image is good, but when there's banding, it's really bad. I've been watching new 4K HDR movies like Jumangi, and the color banding that happens is awful! Really distracting when you're watching a movie because you'll see all these shapes moving across the picture where there should be a smooth gradient. This is what HDR is about - so to advertise that this is an HDR compatible projector and then have this horrible banding problem with HDR defeats the purpose.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/03/2018

Hello bcovalt, we're sorry to hear that. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

Reality Creation worth it Alone

VPL-VW285ES 18/02/2018 by Andy8400 (USA)

We use this in a modified 2nd bedroom (approx 10 x 14) ceiling mounted onto a 92" diag. Stewart Filmscreen. Picture quality for 4K and standard hi-def are amazing but I want to concentrate on one feature that really made a difference on an upscaled picture such as one from a cable box or standard BluRay player and that is Sony's Reality Creation detail enhancer. Unlike standard sharpening adjustments (there's one in this projector) that generate haloing artifacts when turned up (keep below "30" if that much), Reality Creation provides details by apparently creating pixels that don't exist on the standard hi-fef (cable) picture making the upscaled to 4K image more like 4K itself. If not abused (keep around 50 or so), standard hi def will look as close to 4K as possible without of course actually being 4K. This shows up best during live broadcasts such as the news or sporting events. Native 4K sources, especially 4K BluRay, is stunning but I'll leave that to other reviewers (the active 3D works great as well... buy "Passengers" as a 3D test). Only problem is to be prepared to spend additional money! 4K required a NEW receiver (also Sony) with the latest HDMI specs, NEW high speed cables, UPGRADED 4K Apple TV (our chosen streamer) and a NEW 4K BluRay/DVD player. Still worth it! Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Total knockout

VPL-VW285ES 17/02/2018  (USA)

Just picked this up and had it installed in my home theater a couple days ago. needless to say, I am still familiarizing myself with all of its features and calibration settings, but even out of the box, this thing Is incredible. Hopefully it holds up for many years, as I can't think of a better future proof piece of equipment. For anyone wondering about the brightness and usability in moderately lit conditions, worry no more. It will blow you away, regardless of the time of day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Beautiful Projector but has resolution issues

VPLVW285ES 31/01/2018 by MS in LA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I jumped at the chance to finally to be able to purchase a true 4096 x 2160 projector for under 10k.Beautiful motion pictures but so so resolution Test patterns. Beautiful Rec 709 setup handels . Rec2020 so so but who does support full Rec2020?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2018

Hi MS in LA, we appreciate providing us your feedback about the projector. To best assist you with your concern, please contact our ES support group at 877-619-7669. The hours of operation are 9am-8pm EST Mon-Fri.

Regards,
-Erin

0

Sony Projectors are the best

VPL-VW285ES 21/01/2018 by BHampton (USA)

I've been using Sony projectors since 1999 (VPH1271, VPHG70, VW60, HW30ES, HW45ES, VW285ES.) The VW285ES is my sixth. They all have the perfect mix of Performance, Value and Reliability. Another vendor may have a single aspect or specification that is better but when you consider the whole equation Sony is the best choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony true 4k for under $5,000 Amazing

VPL-VW285ES 17/01/2018 by Highmark (USA)

Have had my Sony VPL-VW285ES for a couple of weeks now and my wife and I can't tear ourselves away from its amazing picture. We coupled it with Apple 4K TV and the picture is absolutely stunning. We are also amazed at the amount of 4K content on Netflix, Amazon Prime, HULU and Apple Itunes to watch. The 4K picture projected is so much better than watching it on a flatscreen. Two things we noticed right away, first that we had heard people have said it did not have the black levels of the bigger brother Sony 385ES with its auto iris feature. If that is a problem, we could not tell. Blacks are deep and color is amazing. One note, with this setup you need "high quality cables" for all the features of HDR and 4:4:2 or 4:4:4 quality to come through. Think $$$. Second, we also found that the picture in a semi lighted room to be also very bright despite ambient lighting. We also installed the HD Fury Vertex into the steam which allowed us to distribute a 1080P steam to our Denon 5805MKII AVR that does not support 4K but the 100lb 1800 Watt beast has some of the best audio sections available on the market and we did not want to give that up. Sorry Denon, your new stuff is just not as good. Overall, if your thinking about getting the Sony VPL-285ES and your concern is does the image stand up for under $5,000 ? Stop thinking and just get it now. You won't regret it. Sony hit it out of the park with the true 4K image, not image shift or some other kind of gimmick and delivered an amazing image. We give it Five Stars...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Spectacular bright picture

VPLVW285ES 17/12/2017 by Dr Neal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it and the picture and color are gorgeous! This is my 3rd projector and the 4k is amazing, especially at this price. 4K UHD Blurays are the best, but even the upscaling on basic cable is a great improvement in detail and color accuracy. The 4K Demos on Youtube will blow you away. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Excellent projector at a really good price

VPL-VW285ES 08/12/2017 by BrianDX (USA)

I upgraded to this PJ from my older JVC. First off the picture is "creamy sharp" which is really hard to do. Second, this PJ has plenty of lumens, very nice black levels, and plenty of controls to properly dial-in HDR sources. The 14 GHz does not affect me as I'm not a gamer. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Colo Banding.

VPL-VW285ES 23/11/2017 by Kanjo (USA)

Significant color banding with 10bit4k 60hz signal. Very bad with games, and streaming. Sony should have made this very clear. TVs have solved this problem a long time ago. Very bad for a unit this expensive. Feel slighted. Avoid Sony projectors until they fix this!. Otherwise the picture looks good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/11/2017

Hi Kanjo, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Excellent Projector!

VPL-VW285ES 06/11/2017 by JimSurfing (USA)

I have been waiting for an affordable "true" 4k projector for some time now and this Sony fits the bill. I have a 150" screen and 4k is a major step forward in sharpness over my previous 1080p projector. The projector is unique in that it projects at near maximum lumens when in reference mode for movies. Essentially, you should compare the lumens rating against other projectors when in "movie" setting and you will find it to be brighter than most higher lumen projectors. The HDR 4k movies really shine, but you will also be very impressed with your Bluray movies as well! The 3d is awesome also. I feel like I will be keeping this one a long time. Certainly, a substantially better picture than what I see at the movie theater.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

7