28

3.9 based on 28 customer reviews

16
5
1
0
6
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Truly the best Xperia experience

Xperia 1 24/02/2020 by Joey B (USA)

Seamlessly smooth software experience in a sleek and sexy design with exceptional camera. Brilliant display, best in class audio excellence for wireless headphones. Everything this device features I love.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wonderful, Until Suddent Death - And No Support

4302971402/04/2020 by EliXperia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always loved Sony phones, but will never buy another one. The Xperia 1 is amazing, but my device had sudden death where the screen went black and it would no longer charge. I live in the US and purchased the phone when I was in Taiwan. Because of this, Sony US will not provide support, and Sony Taiwan will only service the phone if I bring it to a Sony center in person. I am now stuck with a phone that is 6 months old, completely useless and I paid about $1000 for it. Absolutely UNACCEPTABLE to not provide support to your clients, especially those of us who have purchased Sony phones loyally. Fix this please.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

16

10

28 Customer Reviews

0

bad features

Xperia 1 21/10/2020 by DolceG (USA)

I bought this three month ago. From the first day, the same thing happens every three days - after 5-10 seconds of an incoming call, the microphone stops working. There is no problem after repeating the call. The service does not see the problem because when they check or run tests the problem does not exist. Service made factory reset but issue still persist. Sony help desc ignore my emails. It's a SONY. ): worst phone in my hands EVER.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Phone

Xperia 1 02/10/2020 by BrandonLP12 (USA)

Awesome phone, I am happy with my Sony Xperia! This phone journeyed with me for 1 year and hasn't let me down at all. 10/10

Performance

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Couldn't Live Without It!

Xperia 1 27/09/2020 by tempesta (USA)

I have owned this phone for 9 months now and feel as though it is an integral part of my life. Love the hand feel and performance. For the finger print reader, make sure your finger is dry before making light contact with the reader. Too hard a press and it won't read. This is a very sensitive phone in all respects, easy to customize and built like a tank. Paired with Sennheiser ear buds and cans, audio is phenomenal! The display is stunning too!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice phone, but some complains.

Xperia 1 21/09/2020 by TDI_ (USA)

I bought this nice phone 3-4 month ago, and the first thing I noticed is battery does not last long. My 6 year old samsung S5 phones battery would last just a tiny bit less than this one. And I dont wach any videos, nothing.... I would say the battery for this phone should be at least 30% larger. Then, the fingerprint reader is terrible. It is not very critical issue, because I am not crazy about it, but if you are, than this will be very annoying for you. I tried to setup my fingerprints three times, to make it work as fast as possible, but not much improvement. Also, I noticed that once the screeen becomes kind of irresponsive if I try to zoom in on a picture, or to make a website larger so I can increase the font. It reacts to one finger touch, but wont to two finger movements. Most if the time it works fine, but 20% of a time I experience this issue. Other than that it is a nice phone. Nice cameras, fast CPU, geeat sound quality, and responsive phone. Talking about responsivness I think that OS updates made this phone slower to restart. Now after restarts it definetelly takes longer to load then before updating the OS.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent display and bug free software

Xperia 1 14/08/2020 by pmani86 (USA)

Excellent display and smooth software. Excellent experience. Thank you Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Disappointment

Xperia 1 24/07/2020 by michael9999 (USA)

I wanted to switch from Samsung and/or LG phones that I owned in the past and try something new as I saw some positive reviews of Sony phones on the Internet. So I bought an unlocked Xperia 1. This is absolutely the worst phone I have ever owned. Nothing works right - Bluetooth is terrible and requires repeated pairing for already paired devices, the phone when carried in a pocket would unlock screen by itself and randomly open apps (the worst part - some messaging apps would send some meaningless messages containing strings of random characters), the calendar would create an event entering scrambled characters and numbers. The bottom line for me - that was a really bad decision to buy a Sony cell phone, Sony products never again.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

12

0

Best PHONE after Xperia 1 II

Xperia 1 21/06/2020 by Zodiac Youth (USA)

It is just amazing with every possible best feature :)

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi, Zodiac Youth, We are glad you like your new smartphone. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Great phone

Xperia 1 20/06/2020 by Elsapitox (USA)

Happy with the phone. I take pictures Evey moment I can.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi Elsapitox, Great! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your Xperia 1. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

SONY is the BEST

Xperia 1 18/06/2020 by Dau Bothra (USA)

You cannot go wrong with this choice. Sony is a pioneer and leader in advancement in technology, tries to bring best experience possible to it user through its products and services.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/06/2020

Hi Dau Bothra, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

Amazing Flagship

Xperia 1 16/06/2020  (USA)

The best phone ! Camera with real colors Elegant design , power and speed Please back in latin America I from Argentina ..we love Sony

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi, Gabriel, We are glad to hear that! Thank you for the positive feedback! -Vincent

0

It's a pretty solid cell phone but overheats

J8170US/B 25/05/2020 by grangersmith (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this phone a little less than 2 months ago, I noticed the battery gets extremely hot at times so I put a cold pack on the device to cool it down and I think it cracked my screen due to the extreme heat and my attempts to cool it down while the overheating was occuring. Hot to cold extremes crack glass and I'm almost 100 sure that's what happened. The crack isn't super noticable but it can get worse over time. But other than that, the phone is solid and is extremely fast and I haven't been given the chance to test out the cameras so much but from what I can tell, the 3 cameras are extremely nice.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/06/2020

Hi grangersmith, We're glad to hear you appreciate the overall quality of your Xperia 1. Should you need further assistance, please refer to the link below:

https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

Regards,
Sam

0

finally on the podium

Xperia 1 23/05/2020 by Roxym (USA)

:-D that only writing of sh---t when i tutsh with my hands than and wr inf

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/05/2020

Hi Roxym, we are glad that you like the smartphone. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Awesome camera, even better performance

Xperia 1 10/05/2020 by Ricardof92 (USA)

I have been using this smartphone for the last year and it has performed well above average in every aspect, the processor is fast, the camera is detailed, and the screen... there isn't anything better in the market. My only complaints are camera software, since you have to go into manual mode to get the most out of it, and the lack of a headphone jack for better audio performance.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

devastating

Xperia 1 05/05/2020 by sparmebro (USA)

i dont like it because it made me go into sudden death mode and i dont know what to do about it

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi sparmebro, We regret to hear about this. If you're having power-related issue with your Xperia 1, please follow the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-phones-tablets-mobile-phones/xperia-1/articles/00235685

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Best Smartphone ever made

Xperia 1 04/05/2020 by miguelvl2001 (USA)

I have a long experience with Sony products, mobile devices and others. In december i bougth a Xperia 1 and I simply love the phone. It is the best in all the ways. It's a fact that it dont have much battery (a problem that was is solved in Xperia 1 II) but is good for a long day, it can handle it. I use my phone a lot and the battery management its soo good. I love this phone. The picture quality is the best (but i know sony can improve a bit because all the other companys use Sony sensors for their cameras, like OnePlus. Sony stil can improve a lot, and i hope thats what they are doing, have more megapixels and bigger sensors, they can do all that and then Sony will be more known as Samsung and Apple. I love Sony and this phone.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi miguelvl2001, we are glad to hea that you are happy with your new phones. We appreciate your detailed review and thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Good. But it could be better...

Xperia 1 29/04/2020  (USA)

I used Xperia 1 for a while. Everything is perfect except for the following, mainly in the camera: 1. There is no HDR mode in auto. 2. There is no manual mode for telephoto and wide cameras. 3. Unable to save image with raw file. This is the worst. Can Sony improve these?

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/05/2020

Hi Joseph, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Erin

0

Even worse than Samsung

Xperia 1 19/04/2020 by MdTahmidKhan (USA)

I thought I would get a better value of my money when I switched from my Galaxy s9+. Not even a month later, I started noticing lags in a few games. The fingerprint sensor stopped working altogether this morning. Rebooting doesn’t solve the issue. Now I'm locked out of all my bank and other apps requiring fingerprint. For a flagship priced over a thousand, I expect to last over a year at least. And the customer care is the worst I have ever seen. Unresponsive and totally irresponsible.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

19

0

Wonderful, Until Suddent Death - And No Support

4302971402/04/2020 by EliXperia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always loved Sony phones, but will never buy another one. The Xperia 1 is amazing, but my device had sudden death where the screen went black and it would no longer charge. I live in the US and purchased the phone when I was in Taiwan. Because of this, Sony US will not provide support, and Sony Taiwan will only service the phone if I bring it to a Sony center in person. I am now stuck with a phone that is 6 months old, completely useless and I paid about $1000 for it. Absolutely UNACCEPTABLE to not provide support to your clients, especially those of us who have purchased Sony phones loyally. Fix this please.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

16

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi EliXperia, we are sorry to hear about what happened. This is definitely not the experience we'd like you to have. Allow us to help you and email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

One of The Best Phone (After Updates)

Xperia 1 02/04/2020 by silbierhell (USA)

I got mine in Gray on June 2019. The phone was very sluggish and the camera was nothing more than good at couple months of use. I bought it because this is the best Phone design (personally I like this design better than xperia 1ii). Until November security update, where the camera and battery life was quite improved. The cameras, battery life and fingerprint got better after March update. But sometimes the camera app would crash after some heavy use. So to score it: - Design : 10/10 - Screen : 9/10 (Love the 21:9 ratio and the 4K is amazing. The only problem is the brightness) - Performance : 9/10 (No complain about the performance) - Cameras *Main 26mm : 9/10 (Good hardware, Great HDR in manual, good performance in low light) *Telephoto 52mm : 7/10 (Ok hardware, less sharpeness, no manual control & HDR, can't be used during low light) *Ultra-Wide 16mm: 8/10 (Ok hardware, less sharpeness, no manual control, no HDR) - Battery Life : 7.5/10 (Enough for daily use, but just enough) - Fingerprint Scanner: 7/10 (Ergonomic location, rather inconsistent performance) - Features : 8/10 (Lack of earphone jack and rather 'enough' battery) My biggest disappointment is the lack of earphone jack, rather small battery and the camera sensors for the 52mm tele and 16mm ultra wide angle camera. The image the sensor produce is noticeable worse than the main sensor.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi silbierhell, we appreciate your detailed review of our product. Xperia 1 with no headphone jack brings more convenience from audio products and you will find a lot to love in Bluetooth options. Wireless products make perfect sense for the sports market; dangling wires can get in the way while running; the listening environment is likely noisy and imperfect, and shortish bursts of listening between recharging are less of an obstacle. Xperia 1 is using advanced technology to improve low light pictures. The main camera with a big 1/2.6 inch sensor size with a large 1.4 μm pixel pitch, bright F1.6 lens, OIS, plus RAW noise reduction technology from Sony’s Alpha cameras that cuts noise in photos before compression, making the final picture sharper and clearer. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

A New Experience!

Xperia 1 16/03/2020 by Nier6 (USA)

I've been using this phone for almost a month now and I got to say that I very pleased with it's 21:9 aspect ratio - it makes for a richer experience for games, browsing, videos and multitasking! Furthermore, it given the phone, a nice, modern look to it, it looks really nice, comfier too. The display quality is fantastic for video playback and it has great cameras (althought, there is room for improvement) and it the first Xperia that makes me feel like I truly have a cyber shot Cam in my pocket with it's Eye AF and updated camera app. Great job all around! Like mentioned, there is some room for improvement, the super wide angle camera does not perform as well I'm low light as the other two & there is dedicated Night Mode. The newly announced Xperia 10 II (a more budget friendly phone) will be coming with an integrated Night Mode & Natural skin tone processing. Seeing that this is still an expensive flagship, I'm am confident that Sony will update the camera with a feature update and bring those same improvements in this device as well. Other small improvements can be made in the fingerprint reader - as I found it to be slower and take more time to recognize my finger than my older XZ3. Lastly, some small bugs need to be ironed out on the Android 10 version (runs very, very smooth in overall), main one being the casting (from Album app) to the TV, my photos look clear, and detailed on my smartphone but not once casted on the TV, not even close, found this to be very annoying! In overall, I have been really enjoying the Xperia 1 and I look forward to see it grow, and improve!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi, Nier6, We are happy that you are very please with your new Xperia and enjoying using it. Hopefully, your concerns will be fixed by software updates. Thank you for the feedback and for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Fingerprint Sensor Nightmare

Xperia 1 11/03/2020 by Mike650 (USA)

I bought this phone last year and all was going well until one day the fingerprint sensor stopped working and completely disappeared from the software. Since then, I've sent the phone in for repair 3 times in 2020 and the last 2 times it came back, it worked for approximately 24 hours before the problem reappeared. It is frustrating to spend hundreds of dollars on a device and to continually have it fail. I've spent at least $20 shipping it back and forth for the same issue! Yet, the first time the repair indicated no fault, second time they switched the ROM and provided a new IMEI, and this time....???? Sony, you can do better. I want to love Sony phones, but this experience has me seriously debating the switch away from the Xperia line after a good 6-7 year run.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

9

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/03/2020

Hi Mike650,

This is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Allow us to turn your experience around and make things right. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case number:

Please include your case number so we can review your file.


Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great features

Xperia 1 26/02/2020 by bernobi (USA)

Im so happy Sony to have a Great pictures od my Sony Xperia 1

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

H ibernobi,

We're glad that you are happy with the pictures of our product!

~Earl

0

Great camera amazing screen bad fingerprint reader

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Tessoro (USA)

I buy my phones basically on looks,. Other features are a plus as all sony s phone this one is designed beautifully, impeccable shapes, elegant and intriguing.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi, Tessoro!

We appreciate your feedback on your new Xperia 1. To isolate the issue with the fingerprint sensor, we suggest visiting this link: https://support.sonymobile.com/us/xperia1/faq/8019307401536b04f016fe9ebe302007625/.

If still getting the same issue, kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Great Phone for Gaming

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Gage Quach (USA)

I just bought this phone for 2 months and I have experienced with it for the last 5 weeks and it was fantastic. I recommend if anyone choose a phone with great performance, choose sony for the best! from your top fan Gage

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi Gage,

Thanks for the cool review! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our Xperia 1 smartphone.Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Detailed Overview

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Kevbot (USA)

Owning this phone since released in the US was a bit disappointing. I've always been a Sony fan and always wanted one of their phones. Finally getting my hand on the Xperia 1 my initial impression was why does is it feel hollow and wow this is a long phone. Best thing about this phone was the screen. It's has amazing definition and great color accuracy. Just wish it didn't have curved glass on the face because i would but palming the screen a little and that would be irritating. Cameras on the phone is awesome 95 percent of the time. Only when there is a huge exposure difference in the picture the phone didn't seem to blend it together we'll. The reason I wanted this phone was the size fit so much better than my note 8. Turns out the phone has very good ergonomics. The button placement is great but I seem to press the camera button a lot more than intended. Also the finger print scanner was not very good at reading if my hands were at all moist or dirty a little. Overall the phone worked well but still has some bugs to work out. Great at consuming media and I'm sure creating media but I'm not a creator. Cons Lacking in call quality and speaker phone didn't sound good Not custom lock screen/ change Google assistance and camera shortcuts Finger print scanner works about 85 percent of the time. Finger can't be dirty On some videos when I adjust the volume i hear crackling Not great at photo editing Bad picture organization method no drag select Slow moving pictures/content around and deleting Slow processing/loading pictures Camera app can't use camera key to take pictures (just my phone I guess) but the key still works somehow Flash is not bright at all. Good luck using it as a flashlight Phone feels cheap sounds and feels hollow No headphone jack Bluetooth acts up Battery life isn't that great (struggles to get through the day) Lock screen has some bugs (issues with swiping to unlock) Vibration motor feels sloppy would like to customize it Duel speakers aren't that great Not many accessories from Sony or 3rd party Exposure on camera not stable No wireless charging Screen can't doesn't get bright Pros Great button layout. best ergonomics It has a camera button to wake up camera Cameras are really good and accurate (unless over or under exposed) image processing is really good accurate coloring Night shots are fairly accurate Never really used the cinema pro app but the video from it looks good Wide angle is really good Color accuracy great/screen and pictures Oled 4k screen top notch Expandable memory very welcomed Smart charging is nice Duel speakers Screen at night and indoor is great Great media consuming device Would like to see a buy back program from Sony so I can try out the new mark 2 coming out

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi Kevbot,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. I understand that your Xperia-1 is having issues. Please try following the steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-phones-tablets-mobile-phones/xperia-1/articles/00235706

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-phones-tablets-mobile-phones/xperia-1/articles/00236500

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl


0

Truly the best Xperia experience

Xperia 1 24/02/2020 by Joey B (USA)

Seamlessly smooth software experience in a sleek and sexy design with exceptional camera. Brilliant display, best in class audio excellence for wireless headphones. Everything this device features I love.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

excellence in all ways

Xperia 1 21/02/2020  (USA)

i just purchased xperia 1. it is best and most beautiful display on the earth and eye catching camera is brilliant. dynamic vibration with audio stand out tall. amazing xperia care and services would be appropriated . just need to more marketing to show people about and selling too. its enough to beat other brands in market. hope so Sony market come back soon. thank you sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/02/2020

Hi Nirav,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Great phone, lacking with hotspot thought

Xperia 1 21/02/2020 by Hey Mo Mo Yeahh (USA)

Pre ordered this phone in purple,the only color you should get this phone in. I also got the Sony style touch cover. It adds great drop and back scratch protection, not so much for the front and can also use as a stand pending surface it's being placed on. One of my complaint's is for the mobile hotspot. I have Verizon old unlimited data plan and this is how I get online with my PS4 and other devices. I had the Xperia Z3v before this and that phone had a little bit of more hotspot tweeting like having an allowed list of devices. The other feature that would be good to have on a phone of this caliber and price would be for it to be close on hotspot speeds to the phones actual speeds. I thought maybe it would be added in the Android 11 update , but it wasn't. Many in a not to distance future update.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/02/2020

Hi Hey Mo Mo Yeahh,

We're glad you like to product. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl