67

4.2 based on 67 customer reviews

40
11
8
5
3
Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Up Up an Above

Xperia 1 II 09/08/2020 by Sid Gorantla (USA)

I have used all the phones right from iPhone 11 Pro Max to Samsung S20 and to a Nokia 2.1. To a Sony Xperia 1 ii where Technology at its best. Right from Screen to cameras to Sound to performance. Frankly don't know where to start and how to start. But here are my few Pros and Cons as far as I am concerned. Pros: 1) Display - People have said that the screen resolution does not matter on a phone with that screen size, I would call them doofuses. watching 4k video is not the same when you compare them watching on a native 4k resolution screen to a 2k screen resolution screen. Videos are upscaled to 4k a lot better. 21: 9 screen ratio is pretty awesome when you are watching a movie. 2) Speakers - Almost all the phones Dolby Atmos in all phones in the market right now. Watching movies and listening to music in a Xperia 1 ii is at another level. Along with Dolby Atmos and front facing speakers, you have Dynamic Vibration that would knock the socks off of your feet. You get the vibration on your phone to improve the bass experience on your phone. 3) Battery - 4000 mAh. Lasts pretty much a day with my kind of usage. You would think that having all these amazing features and a native 4k would eat up your battery. But Sony did pretty good with maximizing everything the life of battery.Playing games on Xperia has changed. 4) Camera - Who else can do cameras better than Sony. I am not a professional photographer. But using the Cinema Pro and Photo Pro Apps any one is a professional photographer. You can literally create a movie using the phone. Out of all these flagship phones, there is absolutely NO phone in the market that can take 20 fps. I hardly use the camera app. Perfection at its best. Image stabilization is pretty good. 5) Headphone Jack: who said having a headphone jack is a bad idea. Thank you Sony for not letting this feature go away. Atleast some one is paying attention to what customers are saying. Cons: There aren't too many cons that i can think of. Or atleast i can say that features are dominating the cons i guess. But here is one 1) Camera : Zooming in from macro to regular to Telephoto does not exist. you can zoom to the max on each lens but not move from one camera to the other. Apart from this one. I dont have have much there. SONY thank you very much for this awesomeness.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

display issue

Xperia 1 II 06/09/2020 by lazygamer007 (USA)

Pre-ordered the phone from Adorama. the device was delivered on 27th July. used it for almost 2 weeks with no complaints whatsoever until i saw a post from a fellow owner of the device on Reddit about green tint issue on the display at lowest brightness. Almost certain that mine wouldn't have the issue, i tested the device and discovered that mine had the same issue (very subtle) as well. And it was not just the green tint issue, as i lowered the brightness, i could see that 4 equal sized horizontal bars appeared on the screen. Contacted sony's techinal department and they had suggested me to restart, factory reset and repair software using xperia companion. Tried everything only to find out that nothing solved the issue. Contacted the dealer and went for a replacement. The replacement device was delivered around 12PM 4th September. The first thing i wanted to do with the device was test for the green tint issue, but i didn't want to disappoint myself as soon as got my hands on it. so, i waited for it to be dark and tested the device only to find out this one too has the same issue (the green tint is clearly visible now) and also a vertical bar on the right half of the screen with colors different (not so subtle) from the rest of the screen is also present. The solutions suggested by the tech team did not solve the issue. I finally decided to get another replacement for the last time because i really liked the device and don't want to give up on it just yet. Hope the next one is perfect and stops me from going for a refund

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

67 Customer Reviews

0

Great phone!

Xperia 1 II 14/10/2020 by Dipgø (USA)

I bought this phones a few weeks ago and it's been working very well. Excellent display is not super bright like others phones but !look! this phone is really good outside. Battery it's enough sometimes depends how you used the phone would take 8- 10 or 14 hours. Almost pure Android and the camera I'm really enjoying it. You need to get into this camera system. Selfie camera it's enough maybe the portrait mode mmmm not 5 the 5 but maybe any update fix the problem. This is very very little things people complaint about it. Look. If you have the money just buy it I'll recommend this phone. It is unique phone.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I think is great phone but I need information

Xperia 1 II 13/10/2020 by Gpatel (USA)

I like this phone. Can you tell me this phone is supported gujarati (India) language. Thanks....

5

3

0

Sony's Perfect (almost) Smartphone

Xperia 1 II 07/10/2020 by charlie313 (USA)

This phone is amazing, the cameras can be point and shoot, but definitely reward you much more for learning them whether on Photo Pro or regular mode. Sony actually has videos on their Youtube channel so you too can feel like a Professional photographer in a matter of minutes. You can take pictures that wouldnt be captured if not with this phone or a professional camera. If you like creating action shots or capturing moving wildlife or your friends performing stunts look no further. Eye tracking is absolutely not a gimmick and will get you some beautiful shots of your loved ones or that weirdo in the subway. Low light for me is pretty exceptional after coming from an XZ Premium. The front camera is definitely like a tiny smudge on a pair of brand new sneakers. Front camera suffers from some sort of airbrush look or skin softening affect even wit the setting turned off. Google Duo is definitely the best place the front camera doesn't look as soft when video chatting. The screen is amazing although i wish it had support from Netflix , Vudu and Prime Video for actual 4K video watching instead of its own Upscaling. Youtube will probably be your only supported 4K video service. Movie watching and video watching is still glorious though. This phone is a movie theater in your hands with its aspect ratio and Dolby Atmos powering an immersive experience. Gamers, If you love games on your phone this will be the phone for you this phone has a feature called Game Enhancer which lets you supercharge the phone for better response times and block out out interruptions while gaming. Along with that it has a feature called H.S Power Control which lets you game on your phone while plugged in without losing battery or heating up your phone prolonging the life and performance of your phone and its battery. This phone has very fast Wi-Fi and cellular service compared to my previous phone while it may not have every LTE band ,you can very much feel a difference whether on WIFI or outside on your carrier data. I assume this is because of the newer modems for WIFI and LTE inside the phone. Being on T-mobile i have had great service even though it doesn't have LTE band 71. I have had a few instances of 1080p and 4K video on this phone on Youtube whether unintended or not considering i pay for the cheapest phone plan. The battery life on this phone is pretty good, I see my friends and loved ones with iPhones running to chargers meanwhile this phone hadnt broken a sweat. I love this phone but i do wish that Sony has sold this phone a bit cheaper, included a better front camera, got the actual 4K support this phone deserved, and invested their money in getting all the possible US LTE bands as well as getting carrier support for WiFi calling for the price i paid for this phone in 2020. This phone deserves a 4.5 Stars but i cant give it a 4 because it is a lovely phone just a step away from being perfect.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Product is great but

Xperia 1 II 06/10/2020 by Adnaan Mohamed (USA)

Sony just messed this up by there naming and it's actually a flagship but I am not getting any update apart from the security updates and don't should just market and Still this product is not available in my country I just got my phone via a friend who lives in nyc

Performance

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

21

0

great phone

Xperia 1 II 01/10/2020 by anouar (USA)

ilove everything sony everything whene i see sony logo i feel happy

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

A perfect tool to serve my needs

Xperia 1 II 24/09/2020 by Ironmanby (USA)

Everything is just perfect. And yes, front-facing camera is probably a bit blurry. But the main set of cameras is very good. Pictures are crisp and clear, color calibration is perfect. Speed - good, battery - good, size - good, screen - good!! But the one thing that I am impressed the most for some reason - are speakers. When you watch videos/movies in high definition, it's just like you're in a cinema :) I didn't expect that.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Unbelievable

Xperia 1 II 21/09/2020 by Ali Punk (USA)

Stunning design, material, speed, and very very professional camera features

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

It was so close...

Xperia 1 II 17/09/2020 by Vip2 (USA)

The good: Headphone jack No NOTCH Decent camera Limited bloatware Side fingerprint sensor on power button The bad: No T-Mobile band 71 support (deal breaker) Camera bump (just make it that 1 mm thicker please) Big, too big (6" or smaller, I got a tablet already) 60Hz screen (why?) Expensive

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

32

0

Nice phone but issue with front camera

Xperia 1 II 12/09/2020 by Amit Pagare (USA)

- I have bought this phone recently and over all performnace is very good but very poor quality with front camera while video calling even the basic phone(Any copmany) have much better clarity.Did not expected from sony that with high prize phone . - No mirror image disable option for selfi camera but you have this in potrait selfi. - when you capture the selfi white screen appears then it shows the photo (not so fast) - Did not find option to lock the phone via finger scan. - Legacy application like album and video which usually sony provides missing in this update.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

9

0

Great overall. Little complaint, but nothing much.

Xperia 1 II 12/09/2020 by SweetSurrender (USA)

Well, the product is really great overall, but I do have a couple of complaints about it, the first one being that the display is not as bright as you want it to be, it is bright enough, don't get me wrong, I had no issues seeing the screen outside in direct sun light, but it just isn't as bright as the competition and I understand that it's a 4K panel yet I would've still preferred better brightness because I like to take photos and you need the screen to be as bright as it can be while doing that, the other thing is the RAM, why is there 8GB of RAM only on a device that is very expensive? 12GB should be the minimal here. Lastly the camera features aren't enough, and the automatic shots aren't as good as the iPhone for example, so I am hoping for even more updates to make the camera even better for a quick snap, even tho I prefer using the pro camera app. I would still recommend this phone over any other phone for Android fans, because the experience overall is better than other phones.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Display is slightly Green

Xperia 1 II 12/09/2020 by JSin LA (USA)

Great phone, Im a fan of sony's interpretation of android. Beautiful design. Unfortunately the color in "creator mode" does not serve its marketed purpose well. I use sony pro monitors all day switching from x300's to x310 for critical color evaluation. I got this phone hoping that the display would allow me to accurately display images in remote locations for color preview. Relative to other pro sony monitors (x300,x310,pvm) this display is VERY green in the shadows and lo lights. I think the display is capable of more accurate color but Sony didnt do the work to make it so. I would return if I could.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

display issue

Xperia 1 II 06/09/2020 by lazygamer007 (USA)

Pre-ordered the phone from Adorama. the device was delivered on 27th July. used it for almost 2 weeks with no complaints whatsoever until i saw a post from a fellow owner of the device on Reddit about green tint issue on the display at lowest brightness. Almost certain that mine wouldn't have the issue, i tested the device and discovered that mine had the same issue (very subtle) as well. And it was not just the green tint issue, as i lowered the brightness, i could see that 4 equal sized horizontal bars appeared on the screen. Contacted sony's techinal department and they had suggested me to restart, factory reset and repair software using xperia companion. Tried everything only to find out that nothing solved the issue. Contacted the dealer and went for a replacement. The replacement device was delivered around 12PM 4th September. The first thing i wanted to do with the device was test for the green tint issue, but i didn't want to disappoint myself as soon as got my hands on it. so, i waited for it to be dark and tested the device only to find out this one too has the same issue (the green tint is clearly visible now) and also a vertical bar on the right half of the screen with colors different (not so subtle) from the rest of the screen is also present. The solutions suggested by the tech team did not solve the issue. I finally decided to get another replacement for the last time because i really liked the device and don't want to give up on it just yet. Hope the next one is perfect and stops me from going for a refund

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

So many little upgrades with huge impact!

Xperia 1 II 28/08/2020 by MacDD (USA)

I have to say that everything about this phone seemed to have been meticulously considered based on what Sony has done with the previous iterations of the Xperia line. Things that I really liked include the rounded edges were flattened. This makes it easier to hold the phone. It can even stand on its own. But I don't recommend that you do that. The top speaker has now been placed where it should have been in the first place - on the top edge of the screen. They've done this in the previous models, and I was just disappointed that they punched a hole on the top bezel of the phone. Anyway, I'm glad they fixed that. The fingerprint/power button. I'm glad they brought this back. The Alpha Pro Photo interface is very familiar to me and I really appreciate that Sony put this on the phone! There are more things that I can say about the improvements. But there is one thing that I am struggling with - they removed the Sony apps that I really LOVED so much. These include the Calendar App, the Keyboard App, and the Gallery App! I am glad that I am still able to download the Calendar app from the Play Store. However, I can no longer find the Xperia Keyboard nor the Gallery App anywhere! Why, Sony, why??? Not everybody loves the Photos app by Google! In fact, I really hate it! Please make it available to download on the Play Store!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Nfc problem..

Xperia 1 II 25/08/2020 by Ellughost (USA)

I brought xperia 1 ii from hongkong, 5 g version..it's nfc not working..otherwise everything work fine..

Design

Good

6

0

0

No Band 14, 48, 71 support! WOW

Xperia 1 II 23/08/2020 by gofarkid (USA)

Absolutely ridiculous Sony is still releasing new phones that don't support the newer networks that have been out for over 2 years now in the USA. Qualcomm has already made chips that support these networks! Why isn't Sony fitting these devices with chipsets that support the new networks? The USA carriers are running out of spectrum on the older networks and lack of support on the newer networks is a very big mistake! Slow LTE can significantly effect the overall performance

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

14

0

Fast, slick, amazing phone

Xperia 1 II 16/08/2020 by winnerzero (USA)

Just received my mirrored slate Xperia 1II and I couldn't be happier...transfer from old android was a breeze and this new phone is lightning quick with amazing screen and audio capabilities plus an even more amazing camera! Best phone I've ever had.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Awful Start ! Received phone does not work !

XQAT51/B 14/08/2020 by Rjunior (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The phone keeps turning off and can't update software (both Sony's and Google's).

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

16

0

Love it

Xperia 1 II 13/08/2020 by eeeeeee52525 (USA)

this phone is beautiful I like the speed of the phone.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Up Up an Above

Xperia 1 II 09/08/2020 by Sid Gorantla (USA)

I have used all the phones right from iPhone 11 Pro Max to Samsung S20 and to a Nokia 2.1. To a Sony Xperia 1 ii where Technology at its best. Right from Screen to cameras to Sound to performance. Frankly don't know where to start and how to start. But here are my few Pros and Cons as far as I am concerned. Pros: 1) Display - People have said that the screen resolution does not matter on a phone with that screen size, I would call them doofuses. watching 4k video is not the same when you compare them watching on a native 4k resolution screen to a 2k screen resolution screen. Videos are upscaled to 4k a lot better. 21: 9 screen ratio is pretty awesome when you are watching a movie. 2) Speakers - Almost all the phones Dolby Atmos in all phones in the market right now. Watching movies and listening to music in a Xperia 1 ii is at another level. Along with Dolby Atmos and front facing speakers, you have Dynamic Vibration that would knock the socks off of your feet. You get the vibration on your phone to improve the bass experience on your phone. 3) Battery - 4000 mAh. Lasts pretty much a day with my kind of usage. You would think that having all these amazing features and a native 4k would eat up your battery. But Sony did pretty good with maximizing everything the life of battery.Playing games on Xperia has changed. 4) Camera - Who else can do cameras better than Sony. I am not a professional photographer. But using the Cinema Pro and Photo Pro Apps any one is a professional photographer. You can literally create a movie using the phone. Out of all these flagship phones, there is absolutely NO phone in the market that can take 20 fps. I hardly use the camera app. Perfection at its best. Image stabilization is pretty good. 5) Headphone Jack: who said having a headphone jack is a bad idea. Thank you Sony for not letting this feature go away. Atleast some one is paying attention to what customers are saying. Cons: There aren't too many cons that i can think of. Or atleast i can say that features are dominating the cons i guess. But here is one 1) Camera : Zooming in from macro to regular to Telephoto does not exist. you can zoom to the max on each lens but not move from one camera to the other. Apart from this one. I dont have have much there. SONY thank you very much for this awesomeness.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2020

Hi Sid Gorantla, we appreciate your in-depth review of the Xperia 1 II. Rest assured that this feedback will surely help us improve the quality and performance of our products. We hope you continue to enjoy your Xperia phone. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Flaws that Disappoint

Xperia 1 II 07/08/2020 by mushuhardy (USA)

Instead of a full review of all the features, I'll focus on the drawbacks which would keep me frobuying this phone, had I known ahead of time. 1) the phone has thermal issues. From day one, when I was loading apps, the phone heats up tremendously when under any load. When you're using the Cinema Pro app, the phone gets quite hot, especially when the screen brightness is turned up. I don't have the display maxed out. It's in standard mode. Thermal issues cause the phone to hang on occasion. 2) Screen Brightness. Usability of the phone in sunlight is limited at best. The screen brightness is not nearly bright enough...which brings me back to thermal issues. Warm day outside, full brightness using Cinema Pro? I don't even want to try it. 3) low light photography is disappointing. Noisy, grainy and soft, whether you use basic camera or Camera Pro. 4) Connectivity with my Sony a7rIII. Using the phone with my camera was a big draw. Why is it so difficult to connect to the camera to review and transfer photos to my phone? I have to make several attempts before it connects. It's more difficult that my previous mid-range Android phone which was 3 years old. 2 weeks with the phone is not a ton of time. Maybe updates will shake out the bugs, but right now I can't recommend this phone to anyone. I want to love this phone...

Performance

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

6

0

No 5G No dual SIM Verizon sms not working

Xperia 1 II 06/08/2020 by SorrySonyUSA (USA)

Bought the phone during pre order. Just got the phone and will return due to no Verizon sms no dual SIM and no 5G Get those things fixed than we will talk.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

9

0

Love Xperia

Xperia 1 II 01/08/2020 by rjose92 (USA)

Second day I have the phone after being using a Xperia Z3 and I love the phone always a Xperia phones user! Best camara ever great sound experience and the game features awesome.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

The Most Beautiful Phone Ever Made

Xperia 1 II 31/07/2020 by Erathix (USA)

I've had this phone for over a month now (bought it from a re-seller on eBay who received the European releases first) and I have to say that out of all my years of owning phones, I've never been as satisfied as I have with the Xperia 1 II. It has everything I want in a phone, a film-worthy camera, 4k Display (the things you can watch and play on this...my God is it stunning), Dolby Atmos (the sound is the best sound on a phone, period) and even a headphone jack for convenience. It feels amazing to hold and whenever I take it and someone notices, I've been asked what this phone was three times now and shown it off proudly. They think it looks like a stunning phone, something classy compared to Apple (which I've now converted from thanks to finally diving into Sony with this flagship.) The speed, the power, the quality. Years of having Apple and I feel I've been wasting time paying for an over-priced brand which is diminishing in what they offer for phones. This phone actually has everything I've been waiting for phones to have and it delivers in spades. Exceptional, Xperia is now my go-to. Excited to see what's in store for the future of this brand (maybe 8k one day? Too soon? Implementing PS5's Tempest engine into Xperia? Who knows? This is Sony.) I love it, slowly converting my circle to Sony. Apple just doesn't deliver anything like this anymore.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Love the speed.

Xperia 1 II 30/07/2020 by NikolaGhost (USA)

Im a huge Sony fan and I've bought every flagship so far from the Xperia Z1 to the Xperia XZ3. Love this phone, it is fast between my games and internet browsing it's a really fast phone. But I'm not seeing the 5g turning on and comparing to my wife's 5g phone the internet browsing speeds aren't the same. If this phone does support 5g how do I turn it on?

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Fantastic device!

Xperia 1 II 29/07/2020 by Circonis (USA)

I have been using since the last 4 days and I'm loving having such a fantastic all rounder phone from Sony, it's so user friendly and personally I like to experiment with the pro apps. Just two things I would like to mention for the 4 star rating: 1- Due to the size of the battery, if there is something that can be done to get more battery life I would appreciate it, and maybe let the user choose the resolution of the screen whenever 4K is not a priority e.x. Social media, read news or just reading so the battery last longer. And a little bit more brightness is appreciated 2- The front camera and the default camera app again, if possible please give some love to that app as well. I appreciate everything the phone offers, I'm really enjoying it since I upgraded from a Sony XZ. Please keep making more amazing devices like this one and the 10 II

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

design is unique

Xperia 1 II 28/07/2020 by maicakim23 (USA)

received today ! i love it so much ... but lack of 5G in USA , front faacing camera is not good enough ... , love too many optional features ...! do i need to charge before i use it ??? please someone answer , and in future with software updates & SIM card carriers work. ... will it be available 5G in the USA ?? Also should be include night mode ( camera ) , I know there is low light capable . Thanks for handsome product ...

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

5

0

Overall excellent phone but still needs improvemen

Xperia 1 II 27/07/2020 by Kyle24 (USA)

Great phone! The screen ratio takes a little to get used to but then it's fine, display looks fantastic and the overall build and headphone jack is great. The reason for the 4 stars is the battery is still lacking. Sony has to figure out a way to fit a bigger battery this phone needs atleast a 4500mha. This is the best phone Sony has made to date so the future looks good they just needs a few more improvements. But overall if you pick this up I think the majority of people will like it especially if you're into cameras. And the battery life is still ok just not great.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

BEAUTIFUL PHONE

Xperia 1 II 26/07/2020 by Mrjim (USA)

This phone is beautiful at glance. You can see it's classy from a distance. Love the design and the headphone jack. Not to mention the stunning 4k display and special camera features. Although I do hope there's a software update for the front camera... It's good but it can always be better ;) love the phone!!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Huge pricing

Xperia 1 II 25/07/2020 by Niyas (USA)

Pls note, smart phone current market is down, so this situation the phone price is very high and also one plus is providing user friendly price smart phone.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

20

0

Suggestions

Xperia 1 II 20/07/2020 by Aivar (USA)

https://www.sony.com/electronics/smartphones/xperia-1m2/reviews-ratings I have some general suggestions to make Sony mobile phones better. I hope you will take the following suggestions under consideration. *** Please make compact size phones again! (3–5 cm shorter than Xperia 1 II) *** Please don't use glass in the back. Use some other material that does not break so easily and does not accumulate fingerprints and grease. *** Battery should be at least 5000 mAh. *** Add call time counter, sms counter and mms counter functions: total call time, outgoing call time and last call time, sent sms and sent mms. The service provider (network operator) usually gives to customer certain amount of call time and sms+mms amount he or she can use every month. So it would be a big help if I can check the counter. Yes, I could search for some apps to give that information, but simple phonefeature would be much better. *** Add option to show network operator's name on screen when the display is unlocked and it's active (homescreen). You could give several options to choose from: 1) show the operator's name in the left top corner 2) show the operator's name on the top center below the information row 3) don't show the operator's name on homescreen. I want to see the operator's name always on screen, especially when I use roaming. People who don't want it, can switch off this option. In good old days there was the operator's name always on screen. Some other smartphones still offer that useful option. *** The signal strength symbol must consist of 5 bars, not only 4 bars. 5 bars give me a better sense of reception strength. Or you can let it choose by users: 4 or 5 bar. *** Add 3G network based video call options. It's simple and user friendly option. Even some old button phones have it. I don't use social network apps nor any other apps for video calls – and I don't want to spend my monthly mobile data amount for that. So I need network based video call option. It's easy and user friendly. *** Sony could be the first mobile maker who adds network frequency option in mobile phones. I mean, I would like to see on home screen which frequency is currently in use. For example: GSM 900, 3G 2100, 4G 800 etc. It's just interesting to know. And also it gives you a clue if you are currently using very good penetration frequency (low band) or not so good penetration frequency (high band). If you don't want to see that information, you could switch it off.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

5

0

THE SMALL COMPUTER IN YOUR POCKET

Xperia 1 II 19/07/2020 by Ali HASHEMI (USA)

This Device in not a Phone; This is a Magic Device in My Pocket. the performance is fantastic so fast so smooth, it is different from every smartphone in the world's market right now. the camera is awesome. it is like as cinema cam. **I wish Sony would sell this phone in all countries and did not write the Zeiss brand on the camera**

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

Fast, Flexible and Friendly

Xperia 1 II 12/07/2020 by RedStag (United Kingdom)

First set up on June 17th when I activated my new 3 account. The transfer of the data from my current smartphone was no problem at all courtesy of my Google account and as I was planned to use the two phones side by side for comparison, I de-selected my two regular VOIP apps so as not to confuse me and other long-distant members of my family. Although my sim included the 5G capability to match the X1’s specification the network availability in our area is virtually none existent and I have not been able to review the X1’s performance. It worked equally as well with my favourite Spotify streamed tracks although I am not convinced that “Dynamic Vibration” adds much to my listening pleasure. The sizing of the X1 proved easy to fit into pockets and other regular storage places especially the car and when I used it to view my regular Netflix sessions I was very impressed with the quality of the 4K OLED display and the sound thru the speakers or headphones was exceptional too. I have yet to acquire an approved Sony glass screen protector or cover with a stand facility as I do not want to compromise any functionality by using “none brand” substitutes. I use my Outlook account a lot on the move and I soon fell in love with X1’s keyboard which seemed so much easier and smoother to use and the screen clarity was a bonus too. One small bonus is the very easy way to capture a screen shot compared with the competition of have I to press two side buttons simultaneously. I also like the finger print sensor function as it keeps the screen cleaner yet still maintains maximum security. I am still learning to fully utilise the novel two screens feature but I can see in the work environment this could prove invaluable. I know the phone has outstanding features but I am afraid I am at an age my gaming is limited to Solitaire so I must “pass” on those features. Where I am realising the X1 has great potential for me is in the use of the camera for stills or video. The simple experiments I have carried out so far show the quality and potential of this outstanding package. I am a committed phone-photographer and the X1 does not disappoint and I am looking forward to exploring more of the extensive still and video enhancements Cinema and Camera Pro. Whilst recording a short video in the garden a low flying jet passed over head and the sound pick up of the microphone was accurate. I am a committed Android fan and this phone will only enhance that. The Sony crisp and speedy Android adaptions have confirmed this and when going back to use my old “big brand” smartphone I am already noticing some of the X1 features and benefits are missing.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

85

64

0

This phone will allow you to take better photos!

Xperia 1 II 12/07/2020 by Idjbell (United Kingdom)

Camera I have an A7 and a A9….so I like my photography, and this is the key reason for using this phone. Its so seamless for anyone who’s used a Sony Alpha camera- with the menu and control in Photo Pro mimicking the Alpha cameras so well. The photos come out very well indeed- but they are more reflective of the actual image you see. Many cameras these days are so full of programmed software that you get a picture that might have that “filtered” look but is nothing like what your seeing with the naked eye. And for me I want the photo to reflect reality. You can always filter away to your taste once you have a good photo. It just gives you more choice. There is a dedicated shutter button- which makes the whole experience so much more camera-esque. It allows for half press too. This is game changer in terms of making this a camera focused phone. Photo Pro is where you find all the options to change your camera- with Auto/Programme/Shutter and Manual. Eye AF and focus tracking are as per the camera range and ensure your locked onto the thing you want in focus. For anyone who’s never used this before you will be amazed….especially when taking a snap of your pet! Lenses go from ultrawide 16mm, 24mm and zoomed 70mm- although all are 12MP there not all the same quality. (more later). There’s 20 frames per second if you want to capture that perfect moment and when stored in google photos they store as 1 picture which is handy for easily reviewing your shots. Imaging Edge pairing is easy enough and transfer simple and quick. The app allows camera control, although for me its just the best way to get a shot out that you want to share immediately. Shape/Design It’s a tall phone, but not as wide as you’d expect based on the normal design. Which at first seemed odd, but it afforded me a good grip of the phone- not got the biggest hands in the world so was always able to have a good grip on it. The side tap activated menu was clearly designed well to fall into reach when holding it with one hand. Glass feels great on both sides and it feels like a solid well-built quality item. Game Play/Video The shape of the phone comes into its own for gameplay and video. Game play allows loads of screen to be on display with your hands well out of the way of the action. Call of Duty was amazing. The display is perfect for gaming or streaming movie. Vibration Adding in the vibration for both games and video was a new experience and one I liked a lot. It really makes a lot of sense when playing games and brings the game alive in your hands. I’m not sure I can live without this function in my life now I’ve experienced it. Battery I had no issues with battery life and getting through a day of work and play. I was using a phone with a pretty good battery anyway so for me this wasn’t a major change- but if your struggling on your current phone this should sort the issue. Head Phone Jack What a revelation….no more adapters or syncing issues….just a good old actual physical socket…Well done to whoever put that one in! My Niggle Let’s face it we all hope for too much and there’s only so far tech can go….but being a sports shooter at heart I was expecting too much from the 70mm lens. It’s naturally a bit softer as the sensor is the smallest on the phone so the photos are fine for mobile social media but not when trying to go large. Note the frames per second drop to about 11 on that specific lens (based on a simple test). Conclusion In summary….I’m an enthusiast photographer- so I adore the camera….adore! But I also fell in love with the design and shape, the vibration on games and movies. The battery does the job and it’s great to have a headphone jack. This phone is for you if you love putting some effort into taking amazing photos, are a gamer or an avid movie watcher.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

28

8

0

Smartphone for creative minds

Xperia 1 II 10/07/2020 by dovydas (United Kingdom)

Firstly, I was a bit sceptical about the body size and handling experience of this device, cause I am a big fan of Sony's Xperia compact smartphones (I owned Z1 Compact, Z5 Compact and XZ1 Compact). Fortunately, all my suspicions vanished instantly when I took the phone. Yes, Sony Xperia 1 II is the much taller smartphone, but it is much thinner, has the flat sides and proportionately low weight. One-handed mode helps operate phone efficiently with just one hand, which makes Xperia 1 II very compact smartphone in these days world. Perhaps the best characteristic of this phone design for me is that the Xperia 1 II is geared with a trusty 3.5mm headphone jack. Yes!!! A unique music listening experience is back! One more thing about Xperia 1 II – it has IP65/68 rating, which gives me a reliance in the phone, cause I am an amateur nature and wildlife photographer so a big part of my time in the wild I literally spend in mud and rain. Hands-on, I adore Sony Xperia 1 II for the camera features and synergy with alpha mirrorless cameras – for me (I own a superb beast – Sony a9), it is a cherry on the cake! An ultra-wide 21:9 aspect ratio 4K HDR OLED screen (perfect format for photographing), blazing speed (20fps burst shooting), extremely sticky Real-time Eye AF for humans and animals, Photo Pro app (which gives you full manual control of camera settings) and a good old physical camera shutter button – all these together mix into an outstanding impression and pleasure of using the Xperia 1 II. In the end, it almost feels like you are holding Sony a9! Furthermore, I was pleasantly surprised by the messages like "your finger is over the lens" or "move further away from the object", which are very helpful to make better photos when you are in the Camera app. On the other hand, if you want entirely control your shot – use Photo Pro app. The menu layout of this application is very similar to the DSLR/mirrorless cameras, so you can choose and adjust exposure mode (Auto, Program, Shutter, Manual), drive mode, focus mode, focus area, EV compensation, ISO, metering mode, flash, white balance, Face/ Eye detection AF settings. A histogram, level and grid lines can be displayed in real-time, which is super helpful when you need to capture that perfect moment! The three phone cameras (the main 24mm f/1.7, ultra-wide 16mm f/2.2 and telephoto 70mm f/2.4) give plenty of creative choices for users with different levels of experience – from a casual shooter to a professional. Only one slight disappointment in using cameras of this device is the rear camera. It does not support Real-time Eye AF, but images come out still very good. Finally, I am actually impressed by the battery life of this smartphone, cause it is quite small (4000mAh) for the flagship device, which is packed with the innovative features and runs a ton of powerful apps. In practice, just charge it, and you can forget it for the whole day! In conclusion, I highly recommend Sony Xperia 1 II for everyone who needs not only a smartphone but something more. As a creator myself, I primarily advocate it for creative-minded people, who always have that marvellous image in their head and only need a device to make it a reality. I am really enjoying that I can fully trust in Sony Xperia 1 II smartphone for all my needs!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

25

6

0

Great Features !

Xperia 1 II 07/07/2020 by Nay Zar (USA)

I'm telling simple Sony Xperia is back. All in one beautifully sleek and sexy design.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Sony Xperia 1 ii - What an Experience

Xperia 1 II 04/07/2020 by Highlanders (United Kingdom)

I’ve only had the Sony Xperia 1 ii for 2 weeks and can’t get enough of it. It’s a super looking 5G phone which feels solid in your hand and provides an excellent 21:9 4k OLED display with HDR 10 bit colour support. If you are accustomed to a smaller phone, this might initially appear too large and awkward to use with one hand, but with the Side Sense feature, tapping the edge of the phone provides access to all your Apps which are then easily selectable with your thumb. Also, although it is tall, it is also very slim which makes it easier to handle than some blockier phones. Transferring data from my old Sony Xperia was painless and I had everything functioning within approximately 10 minutes and with fast charging it was fully charged in no time. Battery care helps extend battery life and the phone soon identifies your charging pattern and automatically turns it on when you charge the phone during the night. Even better, you can set the time when you want the battery to be fully charged in the morning which also helps extend battery life. A real bonus is the 4k display and 12MP Zeiss lens triple camera which allows you to select 16mm, 24mm and 70mm. The Photo Pro app is very similar to Sony Alpha cameras and I particularly like the face detection Eye Autofocus which works flawlessly with humans and pets, plus the ability to select up to 20fps. The phone connects easily to a Sony Alpha camera so you can step back and remotely operate the camera and view the image on the 4k HDR OLED screen using the Imaging Edge mobile app. I was impressed with the cameras low light performance producing quality photographs, day and night. I no longer fear forgetting to take my APS-C camera with me to evening, family events or impromptu moments, as I now have a quality compact camera in my pocket. It’s helpful having a “camera key” on the edge of the phone to take a photo and if you continue to depress it, the camera key it will continue to take photos which can be turned into an animation with a single selection. I found this easier to use as it replicates a camera as opposed to pressing a button on the screen. Helpful camera messages I’ve noted so far, include, “finger is over the lens” and “move further away from the object”, which reduces the chance of taking out of focus photos. The one issue I found after taking a photo when selecting the thumbnail to view it, was that the camera app would close each time, so I then had to select the photos app to view my results. The Album app also keeps stopping and closes on selection, which isn't a real problem, but hopefully both issues are linked and a software update will resolve this soon. Sound clarity is superb, as a friend said when calling me, “it has a quality depth to it” and the true front stereo speakers make it a joy to listen to music and radio whether it’s through the jack connected headphones or just lying on a table beside you. You really need a protective case for the phone with a slightly raised area at the back to protect the three camera lenses and to prevent it slipping off any surface when you put the phone down – it is very slippery! Also, take care when holding the phone not to smudge the camera lens with your finger. At this price point I think Sony should consider including a cover to protect your investment as it’s not a cheap phone. This is a very tall phone, yet I found it easy to use after a very short time. Sony have pulled out all the stops to produce a quality 5G phone with superb sound quality and capable of creating stunning photos and video viewed on the 21:9 OLED display.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

34

8

0

A true Sony portfolio device

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by Joey B (USA)

The very best in mobile photography, media entertainment, and audio quality for all things Android. The 1 gets better in every way with the 1 II -- everything Sony all in one beautifully sleek and sexy design.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

It is a very capable phone with a lot going for it

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by Colin F (United Kingdom)

I have been using the Sony XPERIA 1ii for about a month now, although I am not a technical person when it comes to using a mobile phone I do have an amateur passion for photography, I am using the Sony A9 move from the A77ii to the A7iii and then to the A9. For me a phone as a means of communicating are all much the same, so that means that a new phone is bought for one of two reasons the first is to have the latest model and if you fall into this category you will not be disappointed with the Sony XPERIA 1ii The second reason is to have a better platform to accomplish certain things be it photography or gaming,etc. for me I was looking for a phone that would enhance my photography experience. Have I found that tool in the Sony XPERIA 1ii well the short answer is Yes, but am I blown away by the performance No, but this is because I am comparing it to my A9 camera which I should not, I am not a video shooter, so the videos I have taken with the Sony XPERIA 1ii are very good and the sound is clear the wind noise cancellation is good as well, the Camera in still mode is a very capable function but the point and shoot person may be a little disappointed as most point and shoot people are in to selfies and that camera is not the best but you are not likely going to print the selfies so this may not be a problem. But the main camera is capable of producing some very good photos but to achieve this you are going to have to use the Sony photo app and this requires a small learning curve, but once mastered you should not be disappointed. If you own a Sony E mount camera there is great communication between the phone and camera and for me this is by far the best reason to own this phone. To summarise, this phone is a very capable and fast, the screen is superb the battery life is also good, lasting between a day and a half & 4,5, or more if just used as a sat-nav and phone in the car, I am not able to say how good this phone is for gaming as I don’t play game at all. As a camera it is not good enough to replace my A9, but the A9 sets a very high bar, but I think it is very capable of doing a very good job, the video side I think will be a good thing to add extra content when I am out with the camera. What is missing from the camera is the ability to edit photos in the camera before uploading, but the way the phone and camera are able to communicate with each other is also a winner for me. Is this phone worth its asking price, that is a personal thing that only you can decide, but for me I think it is a little expensive for my needs but only time will tell?

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

17

5

0

Brilliant. Love it.

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by Rocket (United Kingdom)

When changing my mobile phone the biggest worry in advance and the main reason I don't change my phone very often is whether I'll retain the same level of access and interaction with the new one that I have with the old. In this instance I needn't have worried. I was able to transfer all my contact information, history and photos over to my 1 II from my Google backup. It only took a short time and then I was ready to begin trying out the 1 II's features. One of the main reasons I was so interested in the 1 II was due to the camera spec. 3 high quality Zeiss lenses and close working with the Alpha camera team was too much to resist. I'm a strong advocate for Sony's camera range possessing an A7rII and an A9. Claims that the focussing technology from these cameras had been incorporated into the 1 II was something that excited me. In practice the choice of lenses is excellent. I'm not a fan of the digital zooms and in practice they didn't deliver the best quality images but used at their listed focal lengths the lenses are brilliant. The camera workings didn't feel as intuitive as I would have hoped, but after a short while I found them quick and easy to use. The autofocus systems are excellent. I couldn't post the images here, because they're of recogniseable people, but the autofocus tracking was excellent and everything I had hoped for. Even more impressive was the cameras ability to handle difficult lighting conditions. Shooting into the light and low light shooting foxes even the smartest of cameras, but the 1 II's metering system coped really well with both challenges. See the images attached. The colour richness and accuracy of the files was first class. I've never been one to carry a camera with me all the while I'm outside. Now I don't have to, as the 1 II will give me the ability to capture the shots I want to. I know I said I don't change my phone much, but the previous phone is still a current model and can still be purchased. A true indication of how good the 1 II is, is the fact that I use it a lot more than I did my previous one. While waiting for my partner to shop I decided to download and play the Call of Duty game included with the phone. It's brilliant, addictive and loads of fun to play. The sound is good. Streaming continuity is excellent and the screen size suits the game well. The controls are also easy to use. On the video streaming front, I've not had to wait or had videos interrupted when streaming from the usual sites. They search and load quickly. The picture quality and sound is excellent. Music steaming services work well and with a good set of headphones the listening experience is brilliant. I never watched much video on my previous phone. I watch more with the 1 II. The screen is a good size without being too bulky and the fact that it handles 4k is just utterly amazing. Some other clever things that those techies at Sony have thought about is the screen size. You can split the screen in two and use different apps in the upper and lower half if you wish. Another quirky feature is the scale down capability of the screen. You can utilise this feature that reduces the effective working area of the screen to allow one handed operation if it suits you. For me I just love it the way it is. I have so much more to try out. The video for one thing looks to be truly exceptional. I'll try and post a further update when I've given it a try and it's stopped raining outside. But, for now, in summary, I love this phone. It looks great. The black glass makes it stand out as a top class phone. It's a tough as old boots. i've dropped mine a few times and the phone has never flinched and still works wonderfully. Great features, great camera, great sound. Forgotten how much I like the Android system. I never thought I could incorporate a phone into my life as much as I have the 1 II. Just about says it all ....

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

24

7

0

A poor Music player, but what a screen!

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by rodc (United Kingdom)

First up I have to confess I am not a person who walks around with a mobile phone glued to my hand, I see them a great distraction on public transport, a nice time filler when waiting on something else and the modern Walkman. :) Firstly let me be clear Im not one of those people who walks aorund with a phone in their hand all day, I really use them for when on public transport or filling time before I do something else. Its first cosideration for me is to use it as a modern day Walkman. Then an access to the internet. Lastly a text messenger. Apparently they can be used for phonecalls too ;) My last phone was a Sony too, I have to admit Im a huge fan of the brand, I have a Sony Playstation, a Sony Bravia TV, a Sony NWZ mp3 player, plus headphones and yes also a (playstation) T-shirt :D The Xperia 1ii is primarily, for me, a music player and I only really listen with headphones on. Unfortunately the 1ii isnt any sort of improvement on the first Sony phone I owned, an Xperia xz, it has a far bigger memory - a mighty 256gb!- so no need for an SD card for all my FLAC tracks. The issue is there just isnt any real options for playing music on this phone. Its Dolby Atmos on or Off and DSEE on or off. Gone are the presets of previous Sony products like Studio, Arena, Live etc There is a Graphic Equaliser but it doesnt seem to actually do much and if you turn off Dolby Atmos the Equaliser is automatically greyed out. DSEE isnt really noticeable either. Im pairing this phone with wired headphones from AKG, Sennheiser, RHA and of course Sony's own, through each of these its barely perceptible that the few options do anything more than a slight change in volume. I get better from FLAC files in my old Xperia xz than its latest incarnation. Volume too is an issue, it simply isnt loud enough for me, Sony seem to have become paranoid about this EU ruling about headphone volumes, it something that exists on the original Xperia, both phones have the pop up asking if you really want to go louder and then not actually going much louder. Ive not experienced this issue with other mp3 players, just the ones that Sony make, in dark corners of the web stories exist about being able to get more volume by changing settings in the Firmware but Im not confident about going there. Hopefully it something Sony can sort with an update for the UK when we finally leave the EU later this year. So for music Im afraid I go back to an ipod. There are of course so many more features to this phone the multi window is an interesting feature, though I still find its easier just to slide left and right to look at instructions on one page and then swipe left to input on another, but I think thats more a habit thing and Im going to persevere with using the 21:9 in the hope of really grasping its benefits. The screen itself is huge. While this means its not fitting in any pockets of my summer clothes securely, it does mean that viewing games and tv are brilliant. The screen is a thing of beauty, having never understood why people would want to watch anything on a small phone screen, the Xperia 1ii has converted me with its punchy crisp imaging it really is fantastic, I actually look forward to watching things of a special effects nature on this and can see myself watching video on long journeys, rather than just using it to play music. There has been no overheating issues, though when trying the pre installed Call Of Duty it was getting hotter. I should admit though that by this time I had purchased a wallet for my 1ii and it maybe that the overheating is due to both the demands of a game like COD and the fact it sits inside a leather wallet. As Im more of a Solitaire man I decided not to push my new phone in this area again, but with music blasting away in my headphones and Solitaire on my screen, hours went by without any noticable heat issues. Which kind of brings me to battery life, the old Sony I had become very good at guzzling the battery juice, it was becoming the main force in making me consider getting a new phone. Granted its few years old now, but I had always used the Sony Battery Care option and regularly used the preinstalled AVG to shutdown battery drainers that werent used. The 1ii still has the Battery care, but theres no AVG or similar, the battery at the moment is substantial. On all day, numerous phonecalls, mindless moments lost of Facebook and news apps, still enough juice to give me 3 hours of music in my wired headphones and not even drop below 50%! A a side note, a fully charged battery doesnt make a sound different from other notifications, or at least I cant figure out how to set it up that way, again my old xperia had a special sound for letting you know it had fully charged, this is more a nuisance than a major issue, but its kind of annoying constantly going over to check if its finished charging or just telling me something else. Obviously there is a whole world to do with the camera and video recording, to be honest its not something I have any real interest in, about 5 years ago tech had got to the point that photo taking was as good as it needed to be for me, since then Ive kind of smiled and nodded along politely when friends start talking about there new phone and its camera, my friends have said they think the 1ii has an amazing camera, though what else they said I didnt hear, I just nodded along until they had finished, but apparently its like good, like really really good. So there. lol Lastly a note for left handers, there is a button on the lower right of the phone that opens the camera app directly, with the 1ii I am constantly holding the phone in my right hand and typing with my left when my right palm nudges that button and the screen is taken over by the camera settings. The weird thing is that as I put my old Xperia xz away for the last time, I noticed that it actually has the same button in its bottom right, yet I had never even noticed it in all these years. So Im assuming its something to do with the larger size of screen with the 1ii, thats causing me to hold the phone too tightly or slightly differently and so trigger it accidentally. I am trying to be conscious of this whenever im typing, but Im hoping theres a way to just turn that button off permanently. All in Im okay, with this phone, there are lot of features I will never use and more I will struggle to get the best out of, but I know its in the top of its range for everything, except the Music Player, which Sony seem to have done as an after thought. Of all the people to get this so wrong, I would never have thought it could be Sony.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

21

20

0

Quality/design/operation.

Xperia 1 II 02/07/2020 by McPor (United Kingdom)

Product report. Breakthrough by Sony. A phone which has taken me away from big competition. Love this phone but had taken me a week to get the best out of it & it gets better. Have used the larger phones when they first came out 'really liked the screen size for pictures & You Tube" but for the rest of the time it was always a pain to use single handed. The other issues were that they were just too awkward to put in pockets or car dash mountings so reverted back to standard size phones. The Experia X1 11 is the perfect size for me, large screen but can be used single handed & still fits into pockets & car mounts easily. Forward facing speakers allow wide screen hand held viewing without covering speakers,"why doesn't everyone do this?" Thought Multi Window was a gimmick initially until I started to import some of my old apps from a different os so used this function to have log in details from original app in one screen to new app in lower screen. Use this function probably on a daily basis now. Battery over first week lasted until late in evening but as week went on battery life just seemed to get better & better now usually leaving me with about 40% at night. What brought me to this phone was the Photo Pro camera app. Currently I use a Sony A9 with 100/400 & 16/35 Sony lenses which is a great combination for just about everything from landscape to Formula 1 photography. Unless I am doing long exposure photography with filters I have started to leave my 100/400 lens on my camera constantly & use my Experia 1 11 for everything else. It is never an A9 but I am now taking more close up & wide angle photos without going to the bother of changing lenses. The phone layout mirrors the screen settings of the Sony camera which is great. This phone is also a work tool for me & must earn its keep & be reliable. It is used to make & take calls, emails, download attachments, & take photos from 8am to 8pm. It can be used hands free as the speaker is loud as well as being clear to the person you are speaking to. It has been dropped twice with no harm done thankfully. I ordered a non Sony cover which protected the phone & made it grippy to hold but Side Sense stopped working & the screen started playing up when taking calls, so be careful with your covers. I have now reverted back to a bare phone. I am in the fortunate situation where I could go back to my original phone as it is in perfect condition, & to be honest in the first few days of use I thought I just might go back. But now after a few weeks use & setting things up just the way I like I will staying with my Experia 1 11 it is perfect for me. Well done Sony, this is just a great quality device, it's possible this is the start of doing for phones what you have done for cameras.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

24

11

0

Excellent Phone!!

Xperia 1 II 02/07/2020 by RanmalGamage (USA)

This is the best phone I’ve ever had yet!! Great phone!! Wish it was less expensive than this though! But I’m not disappointed!! Good job Sony

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Good camera, poor auto mode

Xperia 1 II 30/06/2020 by shazaa (USA)

The phone provides very good manual control and fast capture. But when it comes to auto mode its average. No night mode either. Front facing camera is average. over all phone software is good and fast. Since the phone is being marketed as the best camera phone by Sony, I expected better. Sorry Sony. You need to actually improve the auto camera mode. This is normally what average people use. For fully manual control we have pro cameras.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi shazaa, Awesome! We're glad to hear you like the camera function of your Xperia 1 II. We appreciate the feedback. There is not a dedicated night mode. Rather, the phone can take low-light shots with the main camera app. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Very good except overheating issues

Xperia 1 II 25/06/2020 by Kaiyum Miah (USA)

The camera is awesome and it's substitute my Sony a6300 already. Display and sound system is the best but only problem is overheating with limited uses of camera apps.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi Kaiyum, We're glad to hear you like your Xperia 1 II. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Could be better

Xperia 1 II 22/06/2020 by Somiran (USA)

Hi Sony, To start off always have been a Sony fan. I truly believe Sony is one of the truly amazing technologically advanced companies that delivers the best out there.  Had the pleasure of checking out a review unit in store before pre-orders. Have to say XPERIA 1 II is one of the best designs Sony has come up with in recent times.  But I want to ask what are you competing against? I know you want to create the best gadget possible without thinking about what anyone else is doing but to a user they will compare and check what else is there in the market before investing over 1000€ on a smartphone.  Having said that things you have got it right. Amazing 4k display. Please don't change that unless you decide to move to AMOLED screens. Slimmer taller display is much easier to handle than the now increasing wider displays also asthetics are more pleasing with 21:9. Maybe the total brightness could be a little better but honestly no complaints with the display. Amazing software keeping it nice and clean as close to the stock Android version as possible. That's one of the things I love the most about Sony. Coming to the design. It's amazing. Great that you went with a slim camera system instead of the huge ugly looking abominations out there like example s20 ultra. Love the camera shutter button. But ergonomically speaking I feel it would be better if you moved the camera button a little further down. Why? Because I think it produces less shake when taking a picture while pressing the button parallel to the phone instead of perpendicular right now. Just something for you to consider. Thanks for bringing the headphone jack back. Amazing pre-order offer with the wh-1000 I almost bought the phone just to get those headphones. I hope you can come with similar bundles in the future, making it worth the value.  But few complaints. I truly believe it needs at least a minimum of 5000 mAh battery to begin with for such a beautiful display. For browsing watching movies and easily lasting all day without having to worry about the camera. Then a little bit improvement in the fast charging would be appreciated. If you say it affects the battery life with what the competition does then I would believe you.  Coming to the camera. Good main camera but could be better. Also Sony produces the best camera sensors in the market so why would you use something as useless as the Samsung sensor in your best phone? Do you not trust yourself? I would have loved it if you would have managed to used your own better Sony sensors for the other two cameras as well. The pictures were good in pro mode but not outshining the competition with normal pictures. I would say you have gone above and beyond with the ability to capture fast moving objects so clearly. But for someone like me who loves to do landscape still photography it doesn't help much. Would love to have a camera where after taking a picture could zoom in a bit still having crispy great details. But right now no one does that. So a bit disappointed there. Ultra-wide and telephoto lenses are equally important. I hope this is something you would consider in the future. Why does something like an iPhone that uses Sony sensors produces Better pictures. I truly hope Sony would beat them. Considering the price tag competition with s20 ultra which does so many things wrong than right and LG v60 which does so many things right and only failing with a useless screen I would say Sony you are still not quite where you could be.  I just keep wishing someone would come up with a perfect smartphone and if someone could do it I believe it's you.  Over the last 15 years I have used Motorola, Samsung, Sony , OnePlus and without any hesitation I can say the best phone with the most beautiful design that I have ever used was Sony Xperia Z1. Please bring back the good old days and provide some good value for money then I'm sure everyone will be able to trust Sony more and become a fan like me.  Giving a pass on the Xperia 1 ii but hopefully it'll be better next year. 

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi, Somiran,

We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your Xperia 1 II. Enjoy movies as the creators intended and experience a cinematic aspect ratio with a 21:9 CinemaWide 6.5" 4K HDR OLED display. The new Motion blur reduction technology reduces the in-between frame lag for clearer image quality. Coupled with Dolby Atmos.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Jay

0

Body design

Xperia 1 II 21/06/2020 by N Vinay (USA)

I'm telling simple Sony Xperia is back But I need only Made in India

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

15

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/06/2020

Hi N Vinay, we're glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Please keep aiming for higher

Xperia 1 II 17/06/2020 by falco708 (USA)

Perfect Phone yet but it's still only a phone. Sony has best technology for DAP, Camera, Phone, etc... Why should we bother carrying all of them all time ? Please Sony can you build a perfect device that can have the absolute best of everything without any hardware downside ? (I don't care if it's thick or doesn't look like a phone) Thanks.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi, falco708, We appreciate your time sharing this review. The Xperia 1 II has a Triple lens camera with several features. Thank you for choosing SONY. Jay

0

failing by the antenna

Xperia 1 II 16/06/2020 by F1Racer (USA)

I must confess I'm a big Sony fan, I've got everything Sony, and have been one of those die hard mobile users, desperately trying to hang on to Sony Xperia's, waiting each year for the latest greatest, for Sony to dazzle me, but I've been disappointed ever since the Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium, where Antenna signal strength has gone away, the XZ3, even the Xperia 1 had the same issues, so I'm actually going backwards to the XZ Premium, the last generation of Sony phones that has a halfway decent antenna. I'm with Tmobile, and have even gotten an extra ATT prepaid service to augment my signal strength, and you may wonder I must love in the sticks, but NO, I live in the 2nd largest city in the U.S., I'm in LA Metro, Orange County, and the city of Irvine, where Bio-tech Science, tech giants are all present, a minor tech hub if you will. The biggest problem with Sony is that I think they're doing great with design and screen resolution, even audio, but WHY IN THE WORLD do they not make sure that their phones have all the 4G LTE and 5G bands that T-Mobile or AT&T has?????? how difficult is this???? in 2020????? I went over and looked at APPLE IPHONE, and they have all the 4G bands on their US versions. HOW HARD IS IT TO ADD extra BANDS to US carriers? the cost must be negligible, as with the tech implementation. I've tried so hard to hang on to Sony, I've bought and sold the Xperia 1 three times, and finally could not stand it anymore, and went back to the XZ Premium. Although it's missing the 66 band and 71 band on T-Mobile, I still seem to get a stronger signal around my neighborhood ( I'm right off the I-405 Freeway where I-5). I don't care how faaaassst Sony's new camera auto focus is, if it can't even pickup a signal in 2020, well, it's just paper weight. I'm writing this because looking at the specifications, The long awaited Sony Xperia 1 MK2 will again not have all the ATT or TMobile 4G bands, forget 5G, that's why Sony is doing so badly compared to Samsung. I'm going to probably have to go Apple from now on, because they just seem to get it right more often than not. I have not used an Apple product since 2010. byebye Sony when you make a product that has the right antenna 4G and 5G bands, I may return. But keep in mind you're not just loosing a mobile customer, you're also loosing a headphone customer. I have just about every kind of Sony headphone, WF1000XM3, WH1000XM3, WI1000X, wired MDR1AM2, all the Sony bluetooth speakers, TVs, Blurays, Alpha mirrorless cameras. I'm ozzing Sony out my IT closet. My point is LISTEN TO YOUR MOST LOYAL CUSTOMERS, GET THE ANTENNA situation UNDER CONTROL, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

10

28

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

F1Racer, We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. This is usually not the case for our Smartphones nor the experience we want you to have. Unfortunately, Xperia 1 II that was purchased in the US does not support 5G. But 4G LTE signals are definitely supported. Also, contact your network operator if you don’t know which network types are supported. Make sure you've installed the latest software update to if you're having issues getting a 4G signal.

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

it looks like game changer. Awesome features...

Xperia 1 II 15/06/2020 by Vivek132 (USA)

I have used 3 smartphones n 1 sound box of sony. Big fan of Sony product . [[When you are launching in INDIA]]

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi Vivek132, Thanks for your interest in Sony products! We recommend visiting our Global website to locate local stores and dealers in your region: http://www.sony.net/electronics/


Regards,

Erin

0

we seriously need the purple one

Xperia 1 II 09/06/2020 by lyw07 (USA)

Pre-ordered mine on bhphoto, I don't mind lacking 5g in the US, it's not that much faster or reliable anyway. But I DO want the purple one instead of the black one. I mean how much more does it cost Sony to give a purple option? Come on Sony you can do it!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi, lyw07, You may contact the seller directly to check out the stock to other Sony authorized dealers instead: https://www.sony.com/electronics/retailers.Thank you for the feedback and for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Pre-ordered and then found out no 5G in USA!

Xperia 1 II 09/06/2020 by Dickens11 (USA)

Who comes out with a flagship phone in 2020 with no 5G in the USA? Geez.

16

77

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2020

Hi Dickens11,

We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We appreciate this feedback which will surely help us in improving products. 5G will be an important part of our story moving forward.

~Ralph

0

Great Phone But

Xperia 1 II 07/06/2020 by DCNATS1 (USA)

This is tbd Sony phone everyoone has been waiting for! With that being the case why is Sony not allowing major retailers like amazon and best buy to participate in the the free earbud promotion? This is a major disservice to loyal sony customers.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

12

45

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi DCNATS1,

We appreciate your anticipation of this Xperia phone and for being a loyal customer. Unfortunately, each dealer has its own promotional packages and bundles. You may want to check with your dealer for the availability of such promotions.

~Ralph

0

Excellent Flagship

Xperia 1 II 07/06/2020 by AlexPP (USA)

I got pre-ordered this amazing design. Beautiful phone

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi AlexPP,

Awesome! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Preorder bundle options please

Xperia 1 II 07/06/2020 by eax53 (USA)

I've been waiting to upgrade my trusty workhorse XZ Premium (yes, it's still working!), and this could be it. Can you have new bundles in the preorder? instead of the WF-1000XM3, kindly consider the WH-1000XM3 over ear head phones. I already have the WFs as an early adopter, hope you can give more preorder bundle options. thanks and more power Sony!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi, eax53,

We are glad your liked your XZ Premium Xperia and your WF-1000XM3 headphones. We suggest contacting the Sony authorized seller directly to address your concern properly.

For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Amazing phone!

Xperia 1 II 06/06/2020 by Nmchha (USA)

From Apple to Sony might think I am crazy but this phone is a game changer!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2020

Hi Nmchha, We appreciate the feedback. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. Should you need further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Great Features no 32 bit MQA support.

Xperia 1 II 04/06/2020 by Mark 24 (USA)

Great phone but for audiophiles looking for 32 bit MQA support this isn't the phone for you.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/06/2020

Hi Mark 24, we appreciate your positive feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. ~Earl


0

$1199? and no 5G

Xperia 1 II 03/06/2020 by oscuro29 (USA)

nice camera but too expensive. $1200 US and no 5G?

18

49

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2020

Hi oscuro29, We appreciate the feedback. The Xperia 1 II actually supports 5G network.

Regards,
Sam

0

OH LORD

Xperia 1 II 02/06/2020 by Dave509 (USA)

I CAN'T WAIT TO BUY IT I DONT WANT USE IPHONE ANYMORE I HAD EXPERIENCES WITH SONY ERICSON ALREADY

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Dave509,

Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Greatest

Xperia 1 II 12/05/2020 by ArtA110 (USA)

Smoothest, with outstanding camera even better than best iPhones and Samsung S20 which my friend have

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

83

56

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi ArtA110, we are glad that you are enjoying your Xperia smartphone. The Xperia 1 II sets a new bar for speed in a smartphone. It packs the latest cutting-edge technologies and a camera developed with our Alpha engineers to deliver exceptionally fast autofocus in a smartphone. And with a 21:9 CinemaWide 6.5" 4K HDR OLED display1 you can stream and watch everything in stunning cinema quality. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Indonesia

Xperia 1 II 07/05/2020 by Pedok (USA)

Love sony xperia series, hope come to indonesia, many indonesian loves xperia series.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

79

118

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi Pedok, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Cool

Xperia 1 II 06/05/2020  (USA)

Welcome back Sony. Require google assistance quick access. Preinstall google hangout meets news and other.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

101

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi RaghavPatel, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.Erin

0

Best of Sony

Xperia 1 II 06/05/2020 by Bishal (USA)

It's a best product of SONY. But why Sony is not announce their products in our India? It's not fair. If your products are premium then send some pieces to premium one who uses your product... Please

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

75

102

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi Bishal, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Great feature

Xperia 1 II 04/05/2020 by 1Sunny (USA)

This phone is an excellent... No words to describe..

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

70

134

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi 1Sunny, We're glad to hear you like the overall feature of your Xperia 1. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Sony

Xperia 1 II 04/05/2020 by Arungraphs (USA)

I always like Sony product's... And this phone Xperia 1ii

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

90

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Arungraphs, We appreciate the feedback. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. Should you need further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Great Great Great

Xperia 1 II 03/05/2020 by Dunkin111 (USA)

I do not regret buying this product. I first bought a Sony product. Great

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

72

163

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi Dunkin111, awesome! We are glad that you are happy with your new phone. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Flagship

Xperia 1 II 01/05/2020 by Srivathsan M (USA)

The Specs looks awesome. Particularity when other mobile brands moving toward megapixel Sony did a great move in sensor. Appreciate it.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

49

89

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Srivathsan, We appreciate the feedback. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. Should you need further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Great features and best for gaming and photography

Xperia 1 II 01/05/2020 by Manan008 (USA)

Great features and best for gaming and photography thanks Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

47

124

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/05/2020

Hi Manan008, we are glad that you like the phones feature. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin