12

4.3 based on 12 customer reviews

8
1
1
2
0
Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

12 Customer Reviews

0

Superb device, in a small form factor!

Xperia 5 09/10/2020 by Johnny085 (USA)

As a long time Xperia user and upon seeing the reviews of the Xperia 5, I decided to give it a try. This was something new, original, and reminiscent to Sonys' previous generations of phone's, to which I enjoyed using. Astoundingly, this phone is small in size, comfortable in hand, but, with a large screen. While taking a different approach in terms of aspect ratio, the 21:9 form factor is very convenient under many situations, ones that I'd never thought to be useful. Movie watching, browsing the web, reading emails, text, just to name a few. Battery life is better that I initially expected. I'm able to get through most of the day without a charge. And if, I'm in need of charging, the quick charge will fill up the battery in no time. Did I mention the camera is astounding? Cinema Pro is something else entirely, truly innovating. Overall, I enjoy using this phone, and recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a new mobile device. Sony is heading in the right direction, and I believe it's worth your consideration.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One Hand is a great feature!

Xperia 5 09/09/2020 by Kairuz (USA)

So I switched from an Iphone, 7 plus years with apple. My main reason what that I could no longer do things with one hand with Iphone. I am always on the go and this phone fits in one hand, and that is amazing to me.. Also I would like to note the camera on this thing is amazing. And the software that comes with it is too..

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Praktický a krásný

Xperia 5 16/08/2020 by Ondra369 (USA)

Telefon užívám rok, jsem neskutečně spokojený s poměrem stran 21:9 a jiný už bych do ruky nevzal, telefon mám rád hlavně kvuli jeho jednoduchosti, nezatěžuje mě přebytečnými aplikacemi všechno funguje jak má a to znamená intuitivně snadno a rychle. Fotograf moc nejsem ale s fotoaparátem pracuju výhradně v manuálním režimu.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No band71

Xperia 5 23/06/2020 by Bobby42 (USA)

no band71 support for rural areas in New Hampshire and Maine

Performance

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi Bobby42, We regret to hear about this. Unfortunately, this unit doesn't support 5G. However, 4G LTE connectivity is supported so you should still be able to get good signal coverage in your area. -Sam

0

Tmobile support??

Xperia 5 05/06/2020 by LNes (USA)

Terrible oversight from Sony. No support for Tmobile's band 71(600 mhz spectrum) is a deal breaker. Having band 71 in New York City is the difference between good service and great service.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/06/2020

Hi LNes, we regret that the phone did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Allow us to help you and please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely, Erin

0

GREAT POCKETABLE PHONE

Xperia 5 28/05/2020 by 0684 (USA)

I bought this phone last december, and I´m pretty satisfied with it. Good cameras,and great performance. Im wondering if its going to get the Photo App from X1 mk 2 and nightmode trough updates, since they had impoved the fingerprint sensor, at least in my case.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi 0684, We're glad to hear you're satisfied with your purchase. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. Should you need further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Great phone but Faulty finger scanner

J8270US/B 13/05/2020 by Armond (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The phone is nice fast and takes great photos which is what I got it for only problem the fingerprint scanner is faulty and unusable based off forums it's a very common issue with the Xperia 5 and Xperia 1. I'm hoping it's just an update fix and not a phone repair issue.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi Armond, we're glad you like our product. We're sorry that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may follow this link to better isolate the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00235699

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Super satisfying

Xperia 5 07/05/2020 by KatherineK (USA)

This is my 3rd Xperia. Though the price is super high for me and the less expensive one (Xperia 10) is not available in my country, I had no choice but to buy this one as I totally don't want to use any other brand. Xperia's design and camera has never failed to amaze me. Its durability is another point that keep me stick with the brand.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2020

Hi KatherineK, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Xperia 5

Xperia 5 12/04/2020 by Claire56857 (USA)

There's no headphone jack and the dongle doesn't work. Other than that it's a very fast phone with a good battery.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2020

Hi, Claire56857, We appreciate your feedback. We cannot guarantee if a third-party will work well with this unit. We suggest using a Bluetooth headphones instead. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.-Vincent

0

Amazing phone

Xperia 5 11/11/2019 by AH (USA)

The phone looks very smart, it’s nice and thin and lightweight too, it is quite big but actually fits in your hand fine. It has 3 cameras on the back which take the best quality photos I’ve seen for a phone. The battery life on this phone is very good too, which is important for me as I’m constantly on the go. The sleek design stands out as a Sony product which I like. The split screen app is also a great feature meaning you can have Twitter & a YouTube video up at the same time for example. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Slim and sleek design

Xperia 5 08/11/2019 by Fizz1122 (USA)

camera Quality is great ,and phone is amazingly fast and good, Video playback in the player amazing quality, the vibration for added sound bass feel was good, Removing the phone from the box was a good experience and felt like a really good premium product, Glass is hard wearing, aluminium frame will wear down over time but for now looks superb. Added length of the phone doesn’t make it something that fits well in a pair of jeans though, size wasn’t well thought out. Battery life is great . [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony all the way

Xperia 5 07/11/2019 by Gary (USA)

After I put my hands on this, I was very excited to open it up. Great packaged phone and very easy to set up. Once powered on, run through a few Google set up points and then hey it’s done your google assist is set up and speaking to your phone is good also. The Split screen App features brilliant, u can have both YouTube and Facebook open at the same time. The OLD 4K screen is awesome, sound is great also. Easy to navigate round and the cameras 12MP is amazing [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0