Skip to Content
45

4.2 based on 45 customer reviews

23
15
3
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

46 Customer Reviews

0

Sony soundbar

HT-CT290 10/12/2017 by Wend (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought the sound bar two weeks ago and we are very happy with the sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor sub volume

HT-CT290 05/12/2017 by Pwfirst (USA)

I bought this unit for my new tv, sound from the bar was clear with ample volume. The sub volume was weak. I returned it for the Visio, very happy now.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent product

HT-CT290 04/12/2017 by Klippies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It looks to be a great product and came free with our TV purchase. I have plugged it in and set it up, but frnkly the sound on the Sony Bravia we purchased is soo good that we seldom use this item.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

first sound bar

HT-CT291 03/12/2017 by Yondan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to install and what a difference to just using the TV's sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great good sound

htct290-b 03/12/2017 by Pwfirst (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read some of the neg reviews, i can find no fault. The bass is great. The vocals are clear and distinct.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and neat

HT-CT290 02/12/2017 by DyhK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar to replace a wired 2.1 system makes it so much tidier in terms of cables and speakers. The Bluetooth subwoofer works very well and out of the way. My wife finds it so easy to use as not having to remember to switch to the correct audio inputs from various devices.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound & no wires !

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Cookie57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product came as a package when i purchased the Sony t.v. I’ve had a Panasonic surround sound before I got this , & it was hard to hear the voices when watching a movie with action or music as it was very boomy I tried all settings but still was not very enjoyable to the point I wouldn’t turn it on .This Sony sound bar with Bluetooth is very pleasing to listen to use it every time with tv highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Anglngbob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product came as a deal with the Sony Bravia TV we bought and we are happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy installation

htct290-b 29/11/2017 by jross61975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after a youtube review had it sounding fantastic. However this is not really my case it sounds OK at best I should have bought the Klipsche same money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple hookup. Good sound

htct290-b 27/11/2017 by Bill 47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

since both my HDMI jacks were already in use I utilized the Optical audio cable that was included in the box. The connections were easy. Although the sound is not as good as a 5.1 system it is a definite improvement over the TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks and sound great

htct290-b 26/11/2017 by TPO64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What an upgrade to my slightly older TV set up now I can experience theater type sounds and the bonus is the blue tooth option where it doubles up as an audio system where I can enjoy my tunes and there is no clunky reciever just one stream line looking unit that tucks away out of site, simply installs in minuites and your enjoying the great sounds........LOVE IT

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

as good as the best

htct290-b 25/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

my first choice was bose or samsung but somebody told me to buy the same brand which i did. i do not have any regrets because the quality is as good as the top brands and the price was right. not a lot of bells and whistles but who needs them ? what you need is something simle not to complicate your life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound & fits in really well with system/TV

HT-CT291 23/11/2017 by Xxxxvvvv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up, & sounds great; blends in well the rest of my system/TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So frustrating!

HT-CT290 23/11/2017 by PL2212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the sound is fairly good, this sound bar’s height is a good half inch above the bottom of the new Sony tv it came with. This means that when it is in front of the TV on a table top set up, it prevents the TV remote connecting with the TV - an amateur design fault in my opinion. We’ve had to raise the TV so unless you are in the minority and are wall mounting this set up, expect much frustration and fiddling!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent value for money

HT-CT290 23/11/2017  (USA)

I bought this Sony HT-CT 290 Soundbar two weeks ago for my new 55’ Sony 4K HDR XE85 TV. I hooked up the Soundbar to the HDMI ARC TV’s connection using a single cable, powered it and the wireless subwoofer automatically linked itself without any issues almost instantly (2 to 3 seconds). With this configuration, powering the TV automatically starts the whole sound system too, very nice and effective feature. The sound quality is actually very good for such an affordable Soundbar. Movies comes to life through a virtual surround sound effect, you can really feel things like explosions or thunderstorms with impact. Music sounds pretty good too for casual listening in the living room, bass is deep enough to enjoy your music, no matter what genre it is. I actually never push the overall volume over 60% because it sounds pretty loud and powerful at this point already, it’s quite impressive for a Soundbar. It’s very easy to listen music through Bluetooth wireless connection too (I use iPhone, only have to select the Soundbar on my Bluetooth connection and it is instantly linked) I only noticed sometimes a slight delay in audio sync in certain TV shows (not on movies) but it’s probably just because I haven’t bought yet a category 2 high-speed HDMI cable to link the Soundbar to the HDMI ARC connection (which Sony recommends), I’ve been using only a regular HDMI but I’ll upgrade that soon. In the end, in my opinion, this Soundbar is an excellent value for money, it’s powerful, have a very good sound quality, useful sound effects features, several inputs like Bluetooth or USB, great minimalist design, easy to use, I’m very satisfied with it. If you have a Sony TV, even better, you’ll have a perfect home theater setup all synchronized to enjoy movies and music. I definitely recommend. Greetings to all.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice quality sound around the room

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Man72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this along with my Sony 4K 55 inch screen, the sound quality with the sound bar is good quality and highly recommend if you got good ears for the quality sound

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant clear screen

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Britgirl19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

True to natural colours. The sound bar is out of this worlf

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

htct290-b 20/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We wanted a nice sound bar that wasn't bulky but had a great sound. Once set up we were not disappointed. Great sound and looks great. It's more than enough sound in our apartment complex. It gets so loud we still have not had it to the max.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound was great until Bluetooth did not work anymo

htct290-b 19/11/2017 by JGOMEZ90 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product relying on the brand and thinking what can go wrong. well I've had it just 25 days now and the blue tooth is no longer staying connected to my tablet, I phone or a pc. This has been a very annoying experience because it syncs up for like 30 seconds and then the CT290 drops the connection. Bummer I had hopes of enjoying this as the sound is really good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2017

Hi JGOMEZ90, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. In relation to the Bluetooth issue, please refer to this link to troubleshoot the problem:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41837

Regards,
-Erin

0

GOOD

HT-CT290 16/11/2017 by iandmcc1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago to replace an older system I had. The Sound bar looks very good and was very simple to set up and having the Subwoofer Wireless is Brilliant no Wires showing the sound Quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound bar

HT-CT290 15/11/2017 by Roming 10 (United Kingdom)

Brought this to go with tv works great, sounds fab

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to use

htct290-b 14/11/2017 by Nick Pop Pop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it, I am able to hear the voices clearer, with just the TV, I would miss much of the dialogue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great!

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by msm83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth capability is awesome! Sony always delivers reliable products that look and sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grate sound

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by tom46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it. Working my way through all the features. Give my time to enjoy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

We love it!

htct290-b 11/11/2017 by Felixoxo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought an LG soundbar initially and had 2 issues. The dialogue couldn't really be heard in adjoining rooms (like when we went to get something in the kitchen) and we had to constantly adjust the volume due to variations in sound between shows and commercials, etc. We got the Sony HT-CT290 and both of those issues have gone away! It seems to be a better product and we are very happy :-)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds Great on music, TV is above average

htct290-b 05/11/2017 by Buck615 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the sale price that I bought this Sony Soundbar for, I think I got a great bargain. Even though my Smart TV is a Samsung, I usually try to fit all the same manufacturer but after listening to both Sony and Samsung sound bars, the clear choice-for me-was Sony. Both for the size and fit on my entertainment center and the sound. To be honest-The Sony & Samsung sound bars both sound great w/music but only above average on the TV-which is better than the sound from the TV's.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great addition

HT-CT290 31/10/2017 by Harleybot (United Kingdom)

This has great sound and syncs brilliantly with the tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Average

HT-CT290 31/10/2017 by w4rrn (United Kingdom)

Reasonable sound for a soundbar, better than the TV itself. Very basic controls on the remote. The system sounds better the more you turn the volume up.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Terrible,3 months it doesn't work,terrible support

HT-CT290 29/10/2017 by rickyricky (USA)

I bought this product 3 months ago. Now it stopped working. Device is powering on. But it does not respond to the button or remote. I tried unplug/plug and reset as per manual multiple times, still no luck. Then I tried the online support. The person wasted 40 minutes of mine, and then asked me to call the service number. Now i am afraid that I have to spend another 1 hour at work to call them. Why is their office hour so short? Why isn't a online portal to submit repair request?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT290 25/10/2017 by Shaunchad88 (United Kingdom)

Great sound for such little price, very easy to set up and use takes 5 mins A++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound from sound bar and bass box

HT-CT290 22/10/2017 by Shauno (United Kingdom)

Great sound would have been nice if you could Add another bass box to system

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good soundbar, decent value, hard to hook up...

htct290-b 19/10/2017 by AV Lover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good soundbar and it is a decent value, but the digital optical cable was very hard to hook up. I needed to purchase a longer optical cable and I had to shave it down as the hook up area on the soundbar is very tight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD SOUND

HT-CT290 18/10/2017 by MikeML (United Kingdom)

Bought in conjunction with a 4K HDR Sony XE90 TV. The soundbar fits perfectly below the TV to allow for the use of the infra red handset. Easy to set up and plug in with HDMI (ARC) and bluetooth with the sub woofer which sits on the floor next to TV unit. Synchronisation with TV was faultless. Quality of sound is excellent especially with movies even when used without the sub woofer switched on. Plays music from a plug in USB to the rear with an on screen menu although does not include shuffling of songs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Less than 1 year and doesnt work!

HT-CT290 27/09/2017 by GMJD (USA)

I bought this product because I have always bought SONY products so I felt confident. Less than 1 year old, and it does not work. Ive tried everything, the sound bar does not get power. Going to try calling Sony but I doubt they will be of any help.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/09/2017

Hi, GMJD, We are sorry to hear that. You may consider to check or try to plug your unit into a different AC power outlet to make sure there's no problem with the current AC power outlet then kindly follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/76256

If the issue persists, you may reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you further.
Thank you, _Bob

0

excellent quality product.

HT-CT290 25/09/2017 by sheikh asim (USA)

excellent sound. easy to use. perfect for home. nice design. wireless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product for the price

htct290-b 27/08/2017 by kvvsm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product for the price. Great Sound. Great Design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Sound bar at a reasonable price

htct290-b 10/08/2017 by Jones99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The set up with my TV was straight forward & the sound bar was operational within 10 minutes. In addition, I was able to connect the sound bar with my iPad Air 2 via Bluetooth without any issues & the sound quality is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice

htct290-b 02/08/2017 by 1les (USA)

I Bought It A Couple Of Days Ago. And Love It. I Would Buy Another One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good bang for the buck

htct290-b 31/07/2017 by voicemanb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the product earlier today and it took about 20 mins to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-CT290 21/07/2017 by Harelawn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago, and just love it!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not as good as I hoped

HT-CT290 08/07/2017 by Haiku (USA)

Sound quality is very tinny and has little to no adjustment capability. I can barely tell the difference between modes. Unit has minimal interface capabilities with my Sony XBR-65X930D which is new enough that I still have packaging remnants in my living room. Only a marginal step-up in audio quality from the tv's built in speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2017

Hi Haiku, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We'll forward this to the proper team. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards, ~Erin

0

Sleek design

HT-CT290 05/07/2017 by DC11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for money Sits under the 56 inch TV looks and sounds great Wished I purchased this earlier

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exellent Sounbar

htct290-b 02/07/2017 by NVSTG8TR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my 83 year old dad to be able to hear the tv better and he is blown away by how good the sound is and how clear the voices are. He can watch movies again and the sound doesn't have to shake the walls for him to hear it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ok but it's not surround sound

HT-CT290 29/06/2017 by Elgar1258 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previously used a Panasonic cinema system supplying 5:1 Dolby. The sound bar is neat and ok but does not replace proper surround. It was free with the TV bundle so I am giving it a try. Probably spend some time now looking for a better option....or I may yet reinstate the Panasonic.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

gREAT dEAL

HT-CT290 21/06/2017 by mas1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up easy to switch on and off with one remote save messing with different handsets good performance

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0