80

4.0 based on 80 customer reviews

37
23
9
4
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

81 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

HT-CT290 21/02/2018 by Defender110 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lip sink issues with sound. Still not worked out how to adjust. Tried just TV speakers lip sink fine ( Sony bravia 55 inch ) so not TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor quality soundbar

htct290-b 14/02/2018 by Dickey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for my winter home figured it would be adequate. After 1 month, I've disconnected the unit. Its sitting in a closet collecting dust. Cant hear audio clearly and the sub booms far too loud and in comparison to the bar. Not making a fair comparison, but I have a Definitive Tech Soundbar as well. You get what you pay for. Stay away from the Sony soundbar and make the proper investment if you care about audio quality.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/02/2018

Hi Dickey,

We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your soundbar. Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. You can follow the troubleshooting steps from the links below:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/69487
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39055

Thanks,
Zac

0

Great features and sound

htct290-b 13/02/2018 by Angel Alex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this for use with our treadmill tv and boy does it make you want to cardio!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible Subwoofer

htct290-b 13/02/2018 by sstan084 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The subwoofer did not power up after only three months of limited use. Very disappointed in the quality of the product. The system did provide an incredible sound, but the product durability remains to be seen. I would not purchase another Sony Home Theatre System.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2018

Hi sstan084 ,


We regret to hear about this issue with regards to your home theatre system, our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details so we can further assist you.


Thanks,
Zac

0

Would have given more stars but goes out of sync!

HT-CT290 11/02/2018 by FarryB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Satisfactory, prefer to have sub behind sofa but cannot hear it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound but some lip sync issues

HT-CT290 10/02/2018 by Djbongos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the depth of sound, but on some channels (skyoneHD ) lip sync is out. Looking for a work around

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good sound for the price.

HT-CT290 09/02/2018 by EvilC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this sound bar for a few weeks now. It was very easy to set up and the Bluetooth sub woofer connected without problem. I think the general sound quality is good although I was disappointed with the poor strength of bass sound even when purposely playing a heavy bass sound track. I have had subwoofers before and this is probably the weakest output of them. Otherwise a good quality product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound

htct290-b 09/02/2018 by mary5758 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 months ago and finally got time to hook it up to my Sony 4K Bravia TV. The instructions were easy to follow and the sound quality is wonderful!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality sound

HT-CT290 06/02/2018 by Maple B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar along with a new Sony tv, it was simple to set up and has great features. Volume controlled by tv remote, hence no need for two remotes. Very easy to Bluetooth phone, tablet etc.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An 'OK' Sound Bar that could have been better

HT-CT290 05/02/2018 by BonBon68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good looking sound bar that sits discretely in front of the TV although sometimes it's positioning can obscure the line of sight for controlling the TV. I found it quite difficult to set up- suffering lag between the sound and vision which I could only resolve by using a bluetooth interface between the TV and sound Bar (as well as the sub-woofer). Unfortunately this meant a 5 second lag between the TV picture appearing and the bluetooth link being established (and sound appearing). I was a bit disappointed by the lack of adjustments available for the sound itself these being limited to a few very similar options all of which contained more treble than I'd prefer, also the maximum subwoofer volume was quite low.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Epic

HT-CT290 05/02/2018 by Nosmarb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was frankly shocked by the quality of the sound now available in my home. Like watching a movie in a cinema, every gunshot and explosion is not only heard, but felt. It's like someone thumps you across the chest with a bag of flour. The first evening I watched a Star Wars movie. Not something I'd usually want to watch, but it had lots of explosions. Loved it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great sound bar but must use optical cable

htct290-b 02/02/2018 by marc2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to call up SONY to help me set it up. I hooked up the hdmi cable I bought separately and found out that this soundbar does not work with an hdmi cord. The SONY tech was very nice and I hooked up the optical cable and it works perfectly BUT you must use the remote for the sound. No big deal. Overall, SONY should clarify better the product does not work with hdmi cable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

HT-CT290 27/01/2018 by zhanmushi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar is fantastic value. It transforms the audio output from the TV and makes all types of viewing so much better with the sounds it provides . It's Bluetooth feature allows you to listen to your phone, tablet etc. with a great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Unsatisfied

HT-CT290 27/01/2018 by Oh_Yazz (USA)

I'm incredibly disappointed with this product. I bought it in November and it's already broken. The subwoofer died on me about a Month in a half after I bought it now the whole thing is dead. Not worth the money I paid for it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/01/2018

Hi Oh_Yazz, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused. Let's isolate this issue by following the guidelines from this link:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40345
If the issues still persist, please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thank you. -Jay

0

Subwoofer out of Sync with music

htct290-b 24/01/2018 by hookster84 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is fine, but the subwoofer is not in sync with the music when it comes to the bass, a lot of the time. I'm not a picky person, but I can't deal with this. Wish I would have bought a non-bluetooth subwoofer because the technology clearly doesn't work well, and there is nothing online, or in the manual that explains a fix for this issue. There is even a spot for some sort of plug in the subwoofer, but no explanation of what it is, in the manual. I am guessing there may be a way to plug the subwoofer into the soundbar to avoid this issue, but no mention of it in the manual or online, and I have never seen a plug like that, so I can't go purchase it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

nice

htct290-b 19/01/2018 by dex45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very easy to install the remote will take a while for us old to learn but thinking about getting another one for our New York home ty

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Instructions were weak

htct290-b 18/01/2018 by MrGB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is good .. design is simple, uncomplicated ...clean

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2018

Hi MrGB, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Budget Soundbar

HT-CT290 17/01/2018 by Chxncelove (USA)

I am a college student living in a townhome with roommates. I have my 60” 4K tv wall mounted with my computer desk under the tv in my bedroom. I have a triple monitor computer setup. The soundbar sits behind the monitors and I can use the soundbar to watch tv or switch it to my computer when I’m sitting at the desk. It handles lower volumes very well. Since I have roommates I can’t outback the volume more than a 1/3 of the way up, but it’s clear and crisp for how smaller spaces like this 10x11 foot bedroom I have it in. Hands down the best thing I bought while at a University.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Some issues with syncing.

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by NRGray (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am very happy with the sound, and love the fact the Sub is wireless that requires no set up. However, I do have two problem with the sound bar. 1. I have a syncing issues with the sound from the Sky box. I can not find anyway on the sound bar to adjust this, no problem with the other sources, and no problem when using the TV speakers. It only occurs when using the HDMI cable rather than the optical. I prefer to use optical however the I loose the auto power / arc feature, bit of a design floor. 2. Then arc auto power on / off feature seems to loose it's memory evrytime I turn the system off by the mains. I have everything on and if I turn the TV to standby the sound bars goes off as one would hope. When I turn the TV on again the sound bar follows, great. However then at night when I turn everything off by the mains, the following morning I turn the power on and the TV on and no sound bar! It would now need to be manual powered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great value

HT-CT290 16/01/2018 by Marvell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to team with my new 55inch Sony 4K TV. I already have experience of how good Sony soundbars are, as I have had them for previous Sony TVs. This new one has an amazing sound range. The cinematic sound encompasses dimension and proximity such that one has the effect of being with the situation playing in the video screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT290 15/01/2018 by Papa2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 6 weeks ago, very pleased with the sound quality and connectivity. Sound goes out of sinc with tv picture after a time and turning off/on resets it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony sound bar,

HT-CT290 09/01/2018 by Nikon810 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sound bar to go with a new tv I bought just after Christmas, overall the sound is great and it does exactly as it should. However the sound keeps on going out of sync and is very frustrating trying to watch the tv with mouths opening and sound coming slightly after. I bought the unit to replace an old surround sound system that had given years of great sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Like the sound

htct290-b 06/01/2018 by Gillesagogo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it , very satisfye of the sound and design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound when in sync

HT-CT290 02/01/2018 by Maxwellplum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Keeps losing sync with dialogue in programmes, so have to keep turning off and back on. Very frustrating and if continues will return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good sound bar

htct290-b 01/01/2018 by mbmull (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had a couple of days, but sound is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Looks good

HT-CT290 31/12/2017 by cobbie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

not had it long not really tried all the features, but will be shortly

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound bar an a sub woofer

htct290-b 31/12/2017 by Duron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product today got it hooked up and working same day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great system for the money.

HT-CT290 30/12/2017 by Teacher Charlie (USA)

Just bought my system for an early Christmas. Very pleased with the sound given the price tag and compliments my 2 year old Sony 40" Bravia TV very well. At the time I bought my TV in Thailand, they were just marketing a sub woofer. Recently, got off my duff and mounted TV on wall and wondered if I really needed anything except a sub woofer. Glad I sprung for the whole system as the speakers are far superior. Except, yes except.....Sony, why didn't you sync sound system so I have a graphic or numeric indication of my volume setting? Literally, playing it by ear! And why not allow sub to completely shut off vs standby? Mounts easily and a snap to connect. Chose to skip HDMI and use optics cable (provided), thinking I'm not missing much if anything. Thanks

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Subwoofer is pointless

HT-CT290 25/12/2017  (USA)

I have to be honest I'm really annoyed will Sony right now. I bought this sound bar as a Christmas present for my dad because he loves deep sound during movies and live concerts. They have a really nice Sony TV so I figured I'd match the brand. The subwoofer even when turned all the way up, you can barely hear it. Extremely subtle.. I have a cheap LG soundbar at home that shakes the room and the sub is tiny! The large sub the Sony comes with made me assume it was the right choice for my dad. Really bummed out with the results.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2017

Hi EricHuff, We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We can isolate the issue by following the steps from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/69487

Regards,
-Erin

0

love the additional sound depth and looks great!

HT-CT290 20/12/2017 by T1m_2k2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this as part of a deal with my new Sony television, i'm extremely happy with the product. It adds great depth of sound and bass to the television, looks great with my media unit. Very happy, no issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

htct290-b 19/12/2017 by vprrbits (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enhances sound output of 75 inch SONY 4K UHD TV that I purchased.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony sound bar attached to son6 tv

HT-CT290 15/12/2017 by Poor man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this with a Sony tv. It took a while to set up! It may be me but only managed to get it working well after I bought a HDMI Cable. It can not be beyond the manufacturers to include a HMDI cable with it. The remote did not work which was part of the difficulty in setting it up. The sony rep in the shop where it was bought was of little help apart from saying contact Sony. At the suggestion of a younger person in the household, replaced the supplied Sony batteries with new ones and the remote came to life! A working remote made setting up a lot easier. Now that it is working we are enjoying the sound quality which is very superior to that of the tv speakers. Would recommend it but buy a hdmi cable at the same time and perhaps have alternative batteries at hand!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Voice Lag frustrating

HT-CT290 13/12/2017 by jakmon (USA)

I like the sound but the voice lag is driving me crazy. What can I do to sync the lips with the sound?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hello jakmon, we are sorry to hear that. You may try to troubleshoot the unit by following the steps on the link provided below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39698
Regards, _Bob

0

Smart

HT-CT290 13/12/2017 by Poorross (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can now hear what they are saying on the TV also great sound listening to music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

htct290-b 13/12/2017 by Warrior09 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sounds bar is everything I needed and exceeded my expectations. It's simple setup, just plug everything in and turn on and everything works perfectly. This is improved and updated version . Buy it and you will like it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony soundbar

HT-CT290 10/12/2017 by Wend (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought the sound bar two weeks ago and we are very happy with the sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor sub volume

HT-CT290 05/12/2017 by Pwfirst (USA)

I bought this unit for my new tv, sound from the bar was clear with ample volume. The sub volume was weak. I returned it for the Visio, very happy now.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent product

HT-CT290 04/12/2017 by Klippies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It looks to be a great product and came free with our TV purchase. I have plugged it in and set it up, but frnkly the sound on the Sony Bravia we purchased is soo good that we seldom use this item.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

first sound bar

HT-CT291 03/12/2017 by Yondan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to install and what a difference to just using the TV's sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great good sound

htct290-b 03/12/2017 by Pwfirst (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read some of the neg reviews, i can find no fault. The bass is great. The vocals are clear and distinct.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and neat

HT-CT290 02/12/2017 by DyhK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar to replace a wired 2.1 system makes it so much tidier in terms of cables and speakers. The Bluetooth subwoofer works very well and out of the way. My wife finds it so easy to use as not having to remember to switch to the correct audio inputs from various devices.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound & no wires !

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Cookie57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product came as a package when i purchased the Sony t.v. I’ve had a Panasonic surround sound before I got this , & it was hard to hear the voices when watching a movie with action or music as it was very boomy I tried all settings but still was not very enjoyable to the point I wouldn’t turn it on .This Sony sound bar with Bluetooth is very pleasing to listen to use it every time with tv highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT290 29/11/2017 by Anglngbob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product came as a deal with the Sony Bravia TV we bought and we are happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy installation

htct290-b 29/11/2017 by jross61975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after a youtube review had it sounding fantastic. However this is not really my case it sounds OK at best I should have bought the Klipsche same money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple hookup. Good sound

htct290-b 27/11/2017 by Bill 47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

since both my HDMI jacks were already in use I utilized the Optical audio cable that was included in the box. The connections were easy. Although the sound is not as good as a 5.1 system it is a definite improvement over the TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks and sound great

htct290-b 26/11/2017 by TPO64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What an upgrade to my slightly older TV set up now I can experience theater type sounds and the bonus is the blue tooth option where it doubles up as an audio system where I can enjoy my tunes and there is no clunky reciever just one stream line looking unit that tucks away out of site, simply installs in minuites and your enjoying the great sounds........LOVE IT

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

as good as the best

htct290-b 25/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

my first choice was bose or samsung but somebody told me to buy the same brand which i did. i do not have any regrets because the quality is as good as the top brands and the price was right. not a lot of bells and whistles but who needs them ? what you need is something simle not to complicate your life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound & fits in really well with system/TV

HT-CT291 23/11/2017 by Xxxxvvvv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up, & sounds great; blends in well the rest of my system/TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So frustrating!

HT-CT290 23/11/2017 by PL2212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the sound is fairly good, this sound bar’s height is a good half inch above the bottom of the new Sony tv it came with. This means that when it is in front of the TV on a table top set up, it prevents the TV remote connecting with the TV - an amateur design fault in my opinion. We’ve had to raise the TV so unless you are in the minority and are wall mounting this set up, expect much frustration and fiddling!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent value for money

HT-CT290 23/11/2017  (USA)

I bought this Sony HT-CT 290 Soundbar two weeks ago for my new 55’ Sony 4K HDR XE85 TV. I hooked up the Soundbar to the HDMI ARC TV’s connection using a single cable, powered it and the wireless subwoofer automatically linked itself without any issues almost instantly (2 to 3 seconds). With this configuration, powering the TV automatically starts the whole sound system too, very nice and effective feature. The sound quality is actually very good for such an affordable Soundbar. Movies comes to life through a virtual surround sound effect, you can really feel things like explosions or thunderstorms with impact. Music sounds pretty good too for casual listening in the living room, bass is deep enough to enjoy your music, no matter what genre it is. I actually never push the overall volume over 60% because it sounds pretty loud and powerful at this point already, it’s quite impressive for a Soundbar. It’s very easy to listen music through Bluetooth wireless connection too (I use iPhone, only have to select the Soundbar on my Bluetooth connection and it is instantly linked) I only noticed sometimes a slight delay in audio sync in certain TV shows (not on movies) but it’s probably just because I haven’t bought yet a category 2 high-speed HDMI cable to link the Soundbar to the HDMI ARC connection (which Sony recommends), I’ve been using only a regular HDMI but I’ll upgrade that soon. In the end, in my opinion, this Soundbar is an excellent value for money, it’s powerful, have a very good sound quality, useful sound effects features, several inputs like Bluetooth or USB, great minimalist design, easy to use, I’m very satisfied with it. If you have a Sony TV, even better, you’ll have a perfect home theater setup all synchronized to enjoy movies and music. I definitely recommend. Greetings to all.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice quality sound around the room

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Man72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this along with my Sony 4K 55 inch screen, the sound quality with the sound bar is good quality and highly recommend if you got good ears for the quality sound

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant clear screen

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Britgirl19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

True to natural colours. The sound bar is out of this worlf

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

htct290-b 20/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We wanted a nice sound bar that wasn't bulky but had a great sound. Once set up we were not disappointed. Great sound and looks great. It's more than enough sound in our apartment complex. It gets so loud we still have not had it to the max.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound was great until Bluetooth did not work anymo

htct290-b 19/11/2017 by JGOMEZ90 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product relying on the brand and thinking what can go wrong. well I've had it just 25 days now and the blue tooth is no longer staying connected to my tablet, I phone or a pc. This has been a very annoying experience because it syncs up for like 30 seconds and then the CT290 drops the connection. Bummer I had hopes of enjoying this as the sound is really good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2017

Hi JGOMEZ90, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. In relation to the Bluetooth issue, please refer to this link to troubleshoot the problem:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41837

Regards,
-Erin

0

GOOD

HT-CT290 16/11/2017 by iandmcc1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago to replace an older system I had. The Sound bar looks very good and was very simple to set up and having the Subwoofer Wireless is Brilliant no Wires showing the sound Quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound bar

HT-CT290 15/11/2017 by Roming 10 (United Kingdom)

Brought this to go with tv works great, sounds fab

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to use

htct290-b 14/11/2017 by Nick Pop Pop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it, I am able to hear the voices clearer, with just the TV, I would miss much of the dialogue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great!

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by msm83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth capability is awesome! Sony always delivers reliable products that look and sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grate sound

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by tom46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it. Working my way through all the features. Give my time to enjoy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0