Skip to Content
61

4.3 based on 61 customer reviews

33
19
4
2
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sound

HT-CT380 16/05/2016 by redspion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound reproduction enhancing the experience when listening to movies, football matches or television programmes Excellent sub woofer which complements the soundbar Volume setting does not have to be high to enjoy the sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Problems

HT-CT380 11/09/2015 by Orient_Traveller (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in May 2015 to use with my Sony KD49X8309CBU. The HTCT380B of course has its own remote control, but really I have enough various remote controls without having an extra one for the HTCT380B. In the Sony Shop they advised me that if I bought a QE5015 cable to connect between the TV and the Sound bar then I would only need to use the TV Remote to control the sound level of the Sound Bar. However, frequently when powering on the TV with its remote control, the Sound Bar does not power up or allow the level of the Sound Bar to be controlled, even when I then reluctantly use the Sound Bar Remote to power on the Sound Bar on. Sometimes after say 30 mins I get a message on the TV screen saying that the "Audio System is Active" and then I can control the Sound Bar from the TV Remote, but it is not consistant. When the Sound Bar is not activated by the TV Remote and I select 'Stettings' on the TV and 'Sound' and 'Audio' I cannot make changes to the Audio Device (HTCT380) and a list of compatible audio devices comes up, but the HTCT380 is not in the list. Can I assume that a software update is required and will soon be available (in 2015?) to make the HTCT380 a compatible device for my Sony KD49X8309CBU and make the Sound bar function as it should. The TV and Sound Bar are both made by Sony, so one would expect them to be compatible! A reply to my problem would be appreciated.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

61 Customer Reviews

0

Worked great for awhile

HT-CT380 14/08/2017 by out1rider (USA)

I bought this in Nov 2015 and it worked flawlessly until about a month ago. Now the sound will increase by itself to 50 (Max). I will turn it down, sometimes it is good for an hour or so other times it immediately turns itself back up. Sometimes I can't turn it down at all and have to turn the sound bar off then back on. I called customer support and they gave me directions on how to permanently fix the problem by unplugging the TV and the sound bar. That worked for a couple hours. After fighting with the sound bar for a couple hours it will function properly. The unit turning itself up to max happens after it has been on for anywhere to say an hour or a couple of hours. It's driving us nuts...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2017

Hi out1rider, we regret to hear that the sound bar failed after a very short period of time. Based on your description, there is a chance that something within your setup is sending erroneous IR signals to your sound bar, thus, the volume increase. We suggest changing the placement of your sound bar and monitor it from time to time. I will then inform the team about your experience for investigation. Best regards.

0

Awesome Sound!

HT-CT380 16/07/2017  (USA)

Exactly what I needed for my bedroom! Excellent and loud! No need for the volume to be high to receive the bass experience I wanted. So in love with this.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SOUNDBAR

HTCT380 03/04/2017 by SONYCUSTOMER99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT SOUND, EASY AND SIMPLE TO USE, CONNECTING TO TV NOT SO MUCH, AND COULD BE LOUDER.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love the sound, No problem connecting.

HTCT380 18/02/2017 by sunray50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product today, I had heard clear sound and Loved it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

HTCT380 28/01/2017 by R8Meows (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hooked it up as instructed but the SamSung tv picture is now somewhat deteriorated. Not as sharp and background light in shows seems to wash out the picture. Also, using the remote there is a time delay before the sound level changes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

It's okay

HTCT380 22/01/2017 by Dump Trump (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's okay for a small room, I should've bought the more expensive model. It works off and on... it's okay

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great sound

HTCT380 01/01/2017 by l1lhazel1l (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very good sound bar for the price love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

COMPUTER CONNECTION

HT-CT380 24/12/2016 by John2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

IF YOUR HAVING PROBLEMS USING YOUR SOUND BAR WITH YOUR COMPUTER.THEN DO NOT CONNECT WITH THE HDM1 CABLE BUT PAIR WITH BLUETOOTH IT WORKS FINE THEN AND THE DRIVER DOES NOT GET KNOCKED OUT AND YOU END UP WITH NO SOUND OR PICTURE.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very good

HT-CT380 01/08/2016 by Alan60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a JVC which was quite frankly, not all that good. Transformation in sound and ease of use and no more waiting for the soundbar to find everything connected to it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good for price

HT-CT380 13/06/2016 by Golfcranky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good all round audio,not that simple to sync to Sony TV and doesn't always come on when TV is switched on (but that maybe me not setting it up correctly)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Its Sony brilliant readilly comes to mind.....

HT-CT380 21/05/2016 by merlin cardiff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had it a few weeks performance is really great............

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sound

HT-CT380 16/05/2016 by redspion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound reproduction enhancing the experience when listening to movies, football matches or television programmes Excellent sub woofer which complements the soundbar Volume setting does not have to be high to enjoy the sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Well happy!!!!!!

HT-CT380 09/05/2016 by chefj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent picture quality, and, with the sound bar, sound is great too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Awesome Soundbar

HT-CT380 22/04/2016 by Zafrad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a replacement for an earlier Soundbar, there is no comparison between the two, as the new Sony bar is superior in every way, setting up was a painless experience, and sound quality is unbelievable, it also works extremely well with my Sony Bravia TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Quality product

HT-CT380 12/04/2016 by Bignige124 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied and excellent sound and sub is great being wireless

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great buy

HT-CT380 21/03/2016 by geoffnewblue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this sound bar to replace my 5.1 surround sound system and am not disappointed. With easy set up and a choice of mountings it fits in perfect. The sound bar gives a great sound reproduction and with the remote bass bin gives a perfect set up. You want quality and valve for your hard earned money then trust Sony to give you quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Good, well-connected product

HT-CT380 17/03/2016 by Jb245 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A decent solution if you need 3 HDMI inputs and good quality sound. Wireless subwoofer is very smooth. Only problem is there seems to be too much HDMI control - e.g. sound from PC cuts out temporarily when TV screen is switched off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing sound!!

HT-CT380 15/03/2016 by Jeeves198311 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing product and sound. Comes into its own when connected to other Sony products such as phone/TV/ps4.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great sound!

HT-CT380 15/03/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using for over a month now and the sound is excellent. Some reviews suggest the base is too much but I don't think so. The only problem I had is that it covered the TV remote sensor when placed in front of the TV. The sound bar is slanted by design but it still covered the sensor and I had to place the TV on some wood so that it sat a bit higher. Other than that I'm really pleased with the unit and would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

1st time user

HT-CT380 08/03/2016 by You do not need to know 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting used to the features, but so far no complaints

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Buy something else

HT-CT380 24/02/2016 by Gary2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

HDMI link to a Sony TV does not operate correctly. Additionally, obscures signal from remote to TV. Sorely disappointed. Can take 20-30 minutes for TV to detect soundbar, and Sony have been unable to resolve this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

15

0

sound bar and woffer

HT-CT380 14/02/2016 by jimbo 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in Jan 2016. I found it a bit sonfusing when I run the HDMI connectios via the sound bar as you always needed two controlers. I have changed back to Hdmi connected to the tv leaving I hdmi from the bar to the tv for sound. I find the quality of sound only comes in when watching dvd's or films. The Sub woffer I find has to be switched off mannually rather than auto matic. The sound bar I had to move from the bottom front ot the Tv as it blocked the control sensor in th bottom centre of the tv . I dont want to hang it on the wall so I have had to use up valuable space on the bottom shelf of my tv table.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

0

Sounds great

HT-CT380 11/02/2016 by Stupot48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a canton dm50 as I couldn't always make out what people were saying,This item for me is far clearer watching tv and the music sounds very crisp and punchy ,I am very pleased with it and would highly recommend this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony HT-CT380

HT-CT380 08/02/2016 by Synapse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound for price paid. The power cable is quite short, and is hard wired with a moulded plug. This has caused issues for me wall mounting, running power - as I don't have a socket behind TV I had to run extention cable and tuck behind. Cutting plug off to extend would invalidate warranty. Would have liked a longer power cord with detachable fitting. This only works with ARC connection if you have a high speed cable (Bravia sync does not work without it). I bought HDMI cable with Ethernet to be sure and finally got it working (3rd time lucky). Some Cheap cables are cheap for a reason! Volume on TV displays twice that of Soundbar - annoying and can't find fix! Minor points, overall very happy

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

great sound

HT-CT380 31/01/2016 by winefood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

what a sound bar that workswell with the Sony T V and this sound bar does the trick

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A*************

HT-CT380 26/01/2016 by BIGALHOMER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a few weeks ago and the sound bar is spot on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good looking

HT-CT380 25/01/2016 by duffy123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the same time as a sony 49 tv the problem with it is the sound bar hides the signal from the remote control to the tv I had to raise the tv so the remote control would work

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Loud!

HT-CT380 21/01/2016 by TV Reviewer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with TV as joint family Christmas Present with teenagers. Easy to set up and place wireless base speaker anywhere. TV room 3.5 X 4m with 2.1m ceiling; so this 300w system is too loud for the room and the sound is easily distorted though poor room acoustics; it is too early to give a sound quality review. Otherwise a great Sony quality product as it does enhance the sound otherwise obtained from the inbuilt Sony TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy set up and crystal clear reproduction

HT-CT380 19/01/2016 by StMartins (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well packed, nice and easy to set up and the sound is superb far better than I had anticipated. The Bass woofer is set behind our viewing settee and produces a gentle added base response in all the right places

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good features

HT-CT380 19/01/2016 by Ronto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this product to improve the clarity of the speech from our television and we are very disappointed that it has not improved the quality of speech or volume of sound. In fact the volume is not as good as the TV itself.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Excellent Sound

HT-CT380 12/01/2016 by Dubbs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this Sound system through the same company we bought our TV. Listening to music or watching a film with this system I find is so much better than the old 5.1 system, the finish quality and the tone is brilliant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Wow! My sock are well & truly blown off

HT-CT380 11/01/2016 by jvjp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a difference a sound bar makes. The setup is so easy just up and running in minutes. So full of features at a price that sees the competition off. Whatever you watch in movies, TV or listening to your favourite music through your mobile. This sound bar makes you think you are there and in the middle of the action... Well done Sony...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent clear surround sound.

HT-CT380 08/01/2016 by MKplus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with my purchase. The setting up of the equipment was very easy. The sound reproduction is top class.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well made

HT-CT380 25/12/2015 by grease monkey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buying this sound bar has let me ditch my old system and the wires laying all over the place. Very easy to setup and looks great as well. The only down side I have found is it could do with more volume.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super

HT-CT380 23/12/2015 by garfield333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have many product the sony and i very happy oooooo!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up

HT-CT380 22/12/2015 by Stnpaul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this sound bar a few weeks now and I'm well impressed, great sound, easy to set up and easy to use. I wasn't sure it was going to be as good as my old surround sound but when playing dvds it fills the room with quality sound. I keep getting told off by my wife now for having it too loud lol but jokes aside you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all rounf quality

HT-CT380 12/12/2015 by gwr360 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thid two weeks ago and the products add to the sound quality of my TV

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT380 24/11/2015 by Daveyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

only had it a week but very impressed only problem is if you sit it in front of the tv it blocks the remote control sensor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

exellant

HT-CT380 20/11/2015 by grippo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

absoluteley delighted with the sony tv and exellant sound bar

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Audio Enhancement

HT-CT380 19/11/2015 by MacUK77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this product for a few weeks now and I am delighted with the range of audio enhancement it provides for my Sony TV. Using the HDMI ARC link between TV and 2.1 channel sound bar means the TV remote takes control of volume adjustments. The sound bar remote is clear and simple to use allowing selections of alternate sound themes for Movie, Game etc. There are three voice settings and variable setting for the sub woofer and clarity. My initial thoughts were that there was insufficient bass. However when listening to TV without any music it is clear and contains sufficient bass. When music is being broadcast the sound is greatly enhanced and in some instances the bass has to be reduced, so there is lots in reserve when required.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing

HT-CT380 17/11/2015 by woody50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are over the moon with this product. It truly is amazing. The sound quality is beyond belief and it looks so sleek. WOW!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0