Skip to Content
49

4.3 based on 49 customer reviews

27
17
2
1
2
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Not too shabby at all!

HTCT770 02/04/2015 by Antron (USA)

Bought this bad boy a month ago and I don't think I could be happier. Much better than the sound coming out of the TV and the wireless sub is a bonus. I run a gaming system and cable through it and have had no issues. Great job Sony!

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound, but audio drops out intermittently

HTCT770 27/09/2014 by Tombekarc (USA)

I thought I would love this. A Sony sound bar attached to my Sony Bravia TV. I attached it using the optical cable and whenever I use it to watch a movie, the audio drops out repeatedly. Resetting it doesn't do anything. It works fine via Bluetooth. Now I hardly use it and am very disappointed. I do not recommend it.

5

3

49 Customer Reviews

0

Sony bar subwoofer won't pair

HT-CT770 17/11/2017 by Tavio (USA)

So my Sony bar and subwoofer won't pair and I can't find the remote! Some one help me please

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/11/2017

Hi Tavio, Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. In this issue, you can check manual and refer to page 14/ 96 from this link. https://docs.sony.com/release//HTCT370_EN_ES_FR.pdf
Regards,-Jay

0

Big Sony Fan

HT-CT770 07/09/2017 by Shaun2264 (USA)

Initially, a great product, too loud per the family. Then I lost the connection from bar to subwoofer. Tried to reconnect per instructions. No Go.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/09/2017

Hi,Shaun2264, We are sorry for the inconvenience that you encountered with the unit. Kindly check the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
https://docs.sony.com/release//HTCT370_EN_ES_FR.pdf see pages 18 to 20.
Best Regards, _Bob

0

"Prtect" Signal locked

HT-CT770 09/07/2017 by Johadj (USA)

Hello, I bought this Soundbar 2 years ago, everything was ok so far, Last week I wanted to connect my computer with bluetooth as usual, and now when I unplugg for few minutes and re plug in its the same thing, i tried to push every button, put some air in the ventilator.. Nothing work, Please help

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, Johadj, You may isolate the issue by trying to connect different devices to this unit. If that works then it is possible that the issue is with your computer. Try to reinstall the Bluetooth driver of the computer or update it. For further steps, you may visit this page: https://docs.sony.com/release//HTCT770_QSG_EN_ES_FR.pdf. Regards, Vincent

0

Sony surprise

HT-CT770 04/07/2015 by Bill210343 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just moved home and not wanting to mess around with a tangled mass of wires when setting up the t.v. sound system, I crossed my fingers and purchased the Sony 2.1 soundbar. I could not have been more surprised. The ease of setting up (just plug-in and connect one cable to the back of the tv) the sleek appearance and the quality of sound are all excellent. Very pleased. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Highly recommend

HTCT770 23/06/2015 by tpierce (USA)

Great sound at a reasonable price! I love all the sound adjustments that I can make to micro it to my liking.

2

2

0

SIMPLY THE BEST FOR THE $$$

HTCT770 10/06/2015 by GrantLambo (USA)

I'm one of those guys that does months worth of research before buying something and boy, I'm glad I did. This unit sounds a looks like units double the price with more tech features, inputs, and support than anything else out there on the market. The sound on sports is fantastic, music thumps and provides monstrous bass and tight clear highs, and movies sound better than most theaters. You will no be disappointed whatsoever!

4

1

Response From Sony Support
10/06/2015

Hi GrantLambo, Thank you for taking the time to tell us what pleases you with your subwoofer. We’re happy to hear that you are very satisfied with the sound quality.Enjoy listening!

0

Not too shabby at all!

HTCT770 02/04/2015 by Antron (USA)

Bought this bad boy a month ago and I don't think I could be happier. Much better than the sound coming out of the TV and the wireless sub is a bonus. I run a gaming system and cable through it and have had no issues. Great job Sony!

1

0

Response From Sony Support
07/04/2015

Hi Antron, thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear that you're pleased with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Sony! Regards,

0

Twice as lucky the second time.

HTCT770 02/04/2015 by giddyup (USA)

After purchasing the HTST7 for our main living room I was looking for a less expensive alternative for our basement TV room. Given I had such a positive experience with the 7.1 surround version of the Sony soundbar I figured I would look at the less expensive alternative. I did my typical research on top selling soundbars and subsequently went to the local electronic store to listen to the quality. We have a 60" sony smart Tv so I was thinking I needed something large despite the relatively small space in the basement. After much deliberation I settled on the HT-CT770. I loved the look and simplicity of the wall mount application. Being a former employee of a top manufacturer of speakers I have relatively high end tatse when it comes to being impressed. After plugging in the soundbar and getting it setup (all of 10 minutes) I was simply amazed by the quality of sound! I immediately played some old favorite moves, sound tracks and was immediately impressed. After 2 hours of sitting on the floor being totally immersed in my experience, I decided I would write my first ever review and thank Sony for this wonderful product.

9

3

Response From Sony Support
03/04/2015

Hi giddyup, We are glad that the unit met your expectations. Thanks for choosing Sony and for the positive feedback.

0

Pleasantly Suprised

HTCT770 28/03/2015 by Linearbandit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and deep bass from such a slim design. Easy to connect right out of box. Wireless sub made it even easier. Bluetooth connectivity to phones is great for house parties too.

0

2

Response From Sony Support
30/03/2015

Hi Linearbandit, we're happy to hear that you're pleased with your purchase. Thanks for sharing your experience and also for choosing Sony. Enjoy! Regards,

0

Excellent sound

HT-CT770 13/03/2015 by Royboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought a month ago, very impressed with the sound bar, sound is very clear, looks great with my Sony 4k TV, I now have all Sony equipment TV,DVD,3d blue ray, so cannot go wrong, would recommend this soundbar, 5 stars, remote is small. Which is ideal for ease of use,wifi is a added bonus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superb sounds from my new Sony HT-CT770

HT-CT770 04/03/2015 by Tazman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar 3 weeks ago and on opening up the box it was well packaged. Unpacking and setting up the soundbar was easy. I did not even need the instructions for setup and once i got this beast wired up and powered on it was easy to change settings to set base etc to my ear. I also love the wireless Sub which i have behind and this produces some good base. I have used the ARC connection and other devices connected into the soundbar like sky+ and blu-ray player and is easliy recognised by the soundbar which changes over to this unit. The different sounds like music and movies makes a big difference and i like the night mode where base is reduced but speech is clear and this is good so not to wake the kids. Overall this is a nice piece of sound kit and compliments my Sony 4K tv. The sounds are clear throughout the lounge although surround sound is not fully possible it comes as close as possible. I will never go back to using tv speakers as they are so tinny and lack base. Soundbars are the way to go if you want decent quality sounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Satisfactory replacement of frontal speaker on tv

HTCT770 10/02/2015 by qwertytweety (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Installation went smootly, Sound is good, android application could be improved by providing more equaliser like ajustements

0

1

Response From SonySupport
12/02/2015

Hi qwertytweety,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

Great sound quality for the price

HTCT770 27/01/2015 by JKphoto (USA)

I got this bar for Christmas and am blown away by the sound. If you are looking for an upgrade to you current tv and sound system this is definitely a good contender.

1

1

0

worth every dollar

HTCT770 25/01/2015 by SONYJOEY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good sound and looks. Only downfall is my older LCD HDTV.

2

1

0

Not bad for the price

HTCT770 24/01/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar sounds great the sub woofer is what you pay for. If your looking for more lows (bass) spend the money. This set up is great for the price and enhancing the lack of sound flat screen tv's can't provide.

1

1

0

as the song goes.its all about the base

HT-CT770 23/01/2015 by hartleyhare (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The bar is alot better than tv on its own but the sub is great.u can feel it vibrate through room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound!

HTCT770 22/01/2015 by Dash (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup. Sleek design. Overall, it's a quality product. I enjoy it a lot.

0

1

0

Sony sound bar HT- CT770

HT-CT770 22/01/2015 by ArnoldH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic sound, the TV sound is now excellent with the sound bar even my wife who is not fussy about TV sound is very happy with this sound Bar ( HT-CT770 ). Watching films is out of this world it sounds as if you are in the Cinema Hall. Very pleased with it. Arnie

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome... thoroughly enjoying this sound bar.

HTCT770 21/01/2015 by Polkavin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Honestly, the concept of a soundbar never impressed me. When I first saw this soundbar I was first impressed by the design. I decided to give it a try and from the time I turned it on I enjoyed every minute of using this. In one word, this is "incredible". I am not comparing this against any other sound bar. All I can say is you WILL be happy with this purchase.

1

1

0

Great Sound bar at an excellent price

HTCT770 18/01/2015 by BigDWF (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony HTCT770 Sound Bar is an excellent system at a very reasonable price. It makes a huge difference from the standard built in speakers by filling the room with sound. Sports games sound great as well as movies. It was easy to setup using HDMI cables and seamlessly integrates with my Sony 70" TV (KDL70R550A), Blueray player (BDPS5100), and DirecTV box. The Wireless Subwoofer is also great as it allows placement without running wires. I also like the Bluetooth feature so that we can stream music to it from our phone or tablet.

0

1

0

Great sound

HT-CT770 17/01/2015 by Dee1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my music, kids love the sound when playing PS3 and sound like if your in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Helps the viewing experience

HTCT770 15/01/2015 by DCOK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A big improvement over the speakers in the the tv. The Bluetooth is great to play music from an iPhone or iPad. Overall it is worth the money. It makes watching movies and sports a better experience. Is it a surround sound system for thousands of dollars, no but for a sound bar it is very good.

0

1

0

Great Soundbar!

HTCT770 14/01/2015 by AudioVideoLover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An admitted audiophile, I needed a soundbar for the family room- mainly for the kids to watch TV and add more to the anemic internal speakers. After auditioning many systems, some costing 3 times as much, I was very surprised with this system. Highs are crystal clear, bass is ample for my room, and the multiple HDMI inputs made setup and auto on/off/volume control a breeze. Operation is transparent to the user, thanks to the HDMI control- we can still use the TV remote to adjust volume which now controls the sound bar. The only time we use the remote is to switch inputs or enable 'Night" mode when the kids watch in the early mornings. When the kids aren't watching TV, I love streaming music from my phone or MacBook to the bar- sound fills the room and, again, is crystal clear. You can even use the previous and next transport controls on the remote to move through your library. Great job, Sony.

7

1

0

HTCT770 08/01/2015 by Driversk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a Christmas gift from my wife I have to say an excellent choice. This Sony replaces an old Panasonic that lost its arc ability and this arc works flawlessly. Clean crisp sound and the bass is fantastic at both high and low levels with the ability to cut back some bass without losing overall sound quality with the night option. The only negative is that if you mount the sound bar on the wall your HDMI cable will appear from the top of the sound bar and will not be completely hidden.

0

1

0

Codes for Cable Remotes

HTCT770 08/01/2015 by Robert99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unit sounds terrific. Easy to connect tp my Sony smart TV. No reference to code for cable TV remote. Had to call to get. Why?

0

1

Response From Sony Support
13/01/2015

Hello Robert99!, Each manufacturer set specific codes to detect the infrared signal from other manufacturers, depending on the remote commander that you want to program that is where the codes should come from in this case since you wanted to program your cable TV remote the provider needed to check the codes to detect the Infrared signal from this Sound Bar since they are not universal codes.

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/29978/p/41901,44406,92955,91673/c/65,66/kw/third%20party%20remote

0

Sound is great

HT-CT770 08/01/2015 by Weldun84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

simply a very good sound system and worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Liked well enough to buy a 2nd unit

HTCT770 02/01/2015 by Hergy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have previously reviewed this item and I will briefly review my likes. I like this device or I would not have purchased a 2nd one. The first unit replaced a 5.1 surround system. This new one was purchased to replace a very poor soundbar from another manf. This new unit provides the same room- filling sound as the 1st unit. The larger sub woofer as compared to the CT330, is why I picked another CT770. Sony, typically on all of its devices, provides, a good array of inputs. I have made good use of the Bluetooth input. The sound provided by the CT770 appeals to my ear. Is it Audiophile quality? Probably not since sound appreciation is so subjective. The bottom line for me is that it sounds good to my ear and enhances the TV viewing experience. You can pay more and you can pay less for soundbars, but after listening to a number of brands, this unit provided good sound and features for the money.

3

1

0

HELP!!!!!

HTCT770 31/12/2014 by Theresita (USA)

Sound quality is excellent, but can't set up all components properly! Sooooooo......I used the optical cable from sound bar to my cable box and have volume from sound bar when input is on TV, but now how do i set up the ps4 to the sound bar? The HDMI cord from the ps4 has to go into the TV to get picture....the ps4 has an optical input, but I can't connect that to the sound bar, cause the optical cord from the cable box is going into the sound bar!! I have: TV (Sony Bravia Full 1080 HD)(does not have HDMI arc) Sound Bar (HT-CT770) Cable Box (Shaw digital PVR) Ps4 (that we also use as our BluRay) Please help!!!! I really don't want to spend more money to hire Geek Squad!

0

0

Response From Sony Support
07/01/2015

Hello Theresita! Since you mentioned that you have two devices that you would like to be able to connect to the sound bar, we can recommend if you are looking to get the best sound quality out of all your devices to connect the HDMI out from your Playstation 4 console to the sound bar and a additional HDMI cord from the sound bar to the television while keeping the Optical cord from your cable box connected.

Another option would be to check if your television has a optical audio out port available and connect all the devices into the television and then run the Optical from the television to the sound bar instead. As a third option it would be adding the analog audio out from your Playstation 4 console using a Y cable adapter to be able to connect those cords to the port labeled Analog IN of the sound bar instead since it uses a mini Stereo plug.

0

Enhanced Sound Experience

HTCT770 29/12/2014 by JMG61 (USA)

I purchased this sound bar to go along with a new DVD player. Mated them up to my Sony 60" TV. Now we can really enjoy the HD and big screen! I like watching sports and the sound is so clear you can hear the conversations of the players! Action movies are blasting off the screen. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to upgrade their system for less than $400.

2

2

0

Great Sound System

HTCT770 28/12/2014 by Denfinger (USA)

I have this system sitting on my mantel underneath my Sony 4k TV with the wireless subwoofer across the room hidden behind a chair. It is drect connected to the TV out with a fiber cable and all of my accessories (HD Cable, Blu Ray, Xbox, and Playstation connect to the TV with a HDMI switch. The sound is awsome and replaces a Yamaha Receiver with a full Bose wired speaker sysyem. I was looking for great sound, simplystic wiring and high tech appeal. Success achieved and highly recommended.

3

1

0

Great sound for reasonable price

HTCT770 28/12/2014 by MadisonSoundBarGirl (USA)

I purchased this sound bar system to replace a true surround sound amp/receiver and 5 speakers + sub-woofer. Of course the sound from the sound bar is not as high quality as what I replaced, but I was looking for something simpler and with a small "footprint", but still produced better sound than just the TV. This model has worked out perfectly for me!

2

1

0

Excellent companion for Sony 55inch 4ktv

HTCT770 28/12/2014 by Tjhedgehog (USA)

Easy hdmi connection to TV. Love the easy Bluetooth connection for phone, IPad, etc.

1

1

0

Overall, a good product

HTCT770 26/12/2014 by AZMike (USA)

Pros- Very easy set up, low profile, very good sound for tv & movies Cons- Sound is just ok for music. A very good product for small to medium size rooms where listening to music is not your #1 priority.

0

1

0

Real sound from my TV at last!

HT-CT770 21/12/2014 by Ralph D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My new Sony TV came with a free Sony soundbar - but bottom of the range. I wanted better, so chose the 770, which has proved to be a good decision. The sound has a much richer, rounded bass and less harsh treble. Not the easiest to set up but, once sorted, my TV, Blu-ray player and HD recorder all interact as intended and sound great. Worth persevering!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Worthy Upgrade to ANY HDTV larger than 45"

HTCT770 01/12/2014 by ExtremeElementz (USA)

After an exhausting amount of sound bar homework, I stumbled upon the HT-CT770 and I can say I am very happy with my purchase. Sound quality is far superior to the stock HDTV speakers. Not only does this have more connection options (HDMI - IN) than most. I like the Bluetooth "on" feature that lets me turn on the speaker and control music from my iPhone flawlessly. And the app that you can download is a nice add-on feature to further customize the sound to your liking when listening to music. Nothing fancy, it's not tuning to an audiophiles standards but good enough to crank up the base/treble a bit while using your iPhone if you're not by the remote. I would recommend picking this up if your looking for a high quality mid-tier sound bar, this Sony rocks the house!

9

1

0

Very Happy with Purchase

HTCT770 03/11/2014 by BillSer (USA)

Great sound - much better than my TV speakers. Everything is better - movies, sports, etc. Rich, deep bass and plenty of volume to fill up my 18x20 room. Installation was straight-forward and usability with my Sony TV and remote is simple - one button turns on TV, sound bar and DVR. TV automatically finds sound-bar and uses it instead of internal speakers. Subwoofer automatically plays.

4

1

0

Good middle of the range product

HT-CT770 23/10/2014 by GaryPerth2014 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the product a month ago and installation was a doddle. Up and running within 30 minutes. Central unit sound is a bitty tinny, but the sub-woofer compensates with a rich base sound. Base volume is adjustable which is great. Blue tooth connectivity works exceptionally well and I have paired my IPOD, PC and Windows Phone without any problems. The central unit sound quality is a bit disappointing and my thoughts are that this product compares favourably with other brands priced at 25% less. A bit overpriced but overall very satisfied with the product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Unit

HTCT770 14/10/2014 by Cruiserman (USA)

This sound bar is a good compromise if you do not have the expertise, desire or layout to install a 5.1 or 7.1 system. This is significantly better than any built-in speakers that I have heard but not as good as any decent 5.1/7.1 system.

2

1

0

Sophisticated

HT-CT770 13/10/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about a month ago and I was impressed straightaway with simplicity of setup and sound quality. Good separation of sound allows voices to be heard clearly which with some systems can be an issue unless you spend mega bucks. Good surround sound effects and subwoofer gives me all the bass I need without shaking the windows too much. Overall very pleased not just with the sound but also with it's looks and slimness. Yes some may prefer full sound systems but for me it does what I want without having speakers and cables everywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A step up from POLK

HTCT770 28/09/2014 by TheDeak (USA)

Many pluses with this soundbar: multiple voice settings, music, etc. The low profile is great. I can now change channels without having to move around. I hope the Sony lasts longer than the Polk soundbar 6000 I had. After owning for the Polk soundbar for a year and half, the subwoofer developed a loud hum. It turned out I would need to replace a board in the subwoofer for $250.00! Go with Sony!

2

1

0

Excellent System and still low price

HTCT770 27/09/2014 by Expand3 (USA)

Excellent sound, bass is great. Great difference from the TV's built-in speakers.

1

1

0

Great sound, but audio drops out intermittently

HTCT770 27/09/2014 by Tombekarc (USA)

I thought I would love this. A Sony sound bar attached to my Sony Bravia TV. I attached it using the optical cable and whenever I use it to watch a movie, the audio drops out repeatedly. Resetting it doesn't do anything. It works fine via Bluetooth. Now I hardly use it and am very disappointed. I do not recommend it.

5

3

Response From Sony style
04/10/2014

Thank for bringing this to our attention. We would like you to replace the optical cable and also make sure your Sony TV has the latest firmware version. Then, performing a power reset on your Sound bar system may fix the issue:

1 Press the (on/standby) button on the remote control to
turn the Bar Speaker on.

2 Press the AMP MENU button on the remote control.

3 Press either up or down button repeatedly until “SYSTEM”
appears, then press the (enter) button.

4 Press either up or down button repeatedly until “SYS.RST”
appears, then press the (enter) button.

5 Press the (enter) button after displaying “START.”

“RESET” appears on the display, and the settings of the menu
and sound fields, etc. return to their initial statuses.

6 Disconnect the AC power cord (mains lead).

0

Fabulous product

HTCT770 27/09/2014  (USA)

Although there are limitations to what a sound bar can do, compared to all the other brands in the $300-$1,000 range, this is a winner. Great sound, not boomy, and truly enhances the overall viewing experience. A must have for anyone with a large screen TV who doesn't want a traditional multi-speaker surround sound set up.

7

1

0

HTCT770 26/09/2014 by Chubbscout (USA)

Great sound quality for te price. Only complaint is the Bluetooth seems to cut in and out. Only happens about 1 in 10 uses though

1

2

0

simple, elegant, sounds good, wireless base

HTCT770 26/09/2014 by buckken1 (USA)

easy to setup, simple to use, very good sound, easy wireless base. Includes bluetooth connection to phone for music. That worked well, and easy to do.

3

1

0

Good soundbar

HT-CT770 06/09/2014 by trainersbuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago to replace a wired surround sound. Easy to set up & control. Not as loud as I thought it might be, but still OK for my 15ft X 12ft room. Like the wireless woofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

pretty good system

HTCT770 20/08/2014 by tech25 (USA)

The product is good, eliminate all this mess of wire every where behind the tv and good quality for what I paid.

6

2

0

Missing Parts

HTCT770 15/08/2014 by SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSony (USA)

Missing parts and customer service very bad

2

18

0

Good soundbar

HTCT770 29/07/2014 by RamaSubbu (USA)

This is pretty good soundbar. I bought in sale, so it is value for money. I'm waiting for Windows & Windows Phone app for this soundbar.

1

8