42

4.1 based on 42 customer reviews

26
6
3
2
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome sound

HT-CT800 23/11/2017 by Sprakey (USA)

Please tell me which Bluetooth rear speakers to buy to go with this I bought last week and was blown away by the sound quality I always had Samsung before but this is a million times better than that

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Breaks down after 8 months

HT-CT800 27/03/2018 by johnnyfl (United Kingdom)

I bought this 11 months ago and for the first 8 months it worked fine. Then it developed a fault with the HDMI inputs because the poor right angled design of the inputs places unnecessary stress on the HDMI circuit board connections causing them to fail. It is in for repair but because of the design fault I doubt it will last very long.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

42 Customer Reviews

0

Soundbar

HTCT800 13/10/2018 by WARD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this item for 2 months and very satisfied, with one exception. I cannot see the voice type from my sitting position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

"Sony Is The Best"

HTCT800 03/10/2018 by Babydoll 53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of this product is perfect. The sound is super clean so what else can I say but it's a SONY!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT sound!

HTCT800 11/09/2018 by East Berlin Pap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once again Sony lives up to it's reputation! I need to get two wireless rear speakers to make my system complete! THANKS SONY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

subwofer

HTCT800 08/09/2018 by Ron5720 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

less than 6 months no sound coming out of the subwoofer ....try everything according to Sony and didnt work

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/09/2018

Hi Ron5720, we regret to hear that your soundbar failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Great sound system for TV

HTCT800 31/08/2018 by Randy52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a retirement gift and am very pleased with the features and performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Greatly Disappointed

HT-CT800 30/08/2018 by RKelly1000 (USA)

I purchased from Best Buy/Magnolia about six months ago. The soundbar worked fine until a week ago when the sound and picture (Cable TV, Apple TV, DVD, etc.) got out of sync. Also I get Please Wait and Standby messages when powering up and down for up to 5 minutes. I have tried troubleshooting following the manual and nothing helps. I have not even been able to get the Home screen up on the TV. Best Buy wants half the cost of a new unit to even look at it with no assurances of a fix. At this point its pretty much useless.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2018

Hi RKelly1000, we regret to hear that your sound bar failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

not worth the money

HT-CT800 29/08/2018  (USA)

I bought this one and 65 inch tv at the same time love tv sound bar is poor bass and sound i bought a klispch sound bar to it kicks sony to the curb and they was same money hate sony sound bar compair to klipsch

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2018

Hi ron fuller,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations.
Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Great Value For the Price

HT-CT800 26/06/2018 by Nunya Biniz (USA)

Crystal clear, plenty of power and lots of bass. I love it!!! My girlfriend bought one on a whim because we walked by one in the store playing music and she said, "I want one of those!" LOL I got a case of sound bar envy and had to buy one for myself. Very happy with my purchase. After reading through the negative comments, most of the problems reported can be solved by reading the manual which is included. Educate yourself on your new toys folks. If you spent as much time learning how to use them as you did on writing negative reviews, you'd be much happier with your purchase!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great soundbar, can't say the same for the TV

HT-CT800 17/04/2018 by NotsureaboutSONYanymore (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the conectivity, bluetooth in and out for instance. Sound quality is good. Appearance is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features easy to use and Sony quality

HT-CT800 17/04/2018 by Jafster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned this unit for about six months now and very pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Breaks down after 8 months

HT-CT800 27/03/2018 by johnnyfl (United Kingdom)

I bought this 11 months ago and for the first 8 months it worked fine. Then it developed a fault with the HDMI inputs because the poor right angled design of the inputs places unnecessary stress on the HDMI circuit board connections causing them to fail. It is in for repair but because of the design fault I doubt it will last very long.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

having issues

HT-CT800 27/02/2018 by FlaKer (USA)

We purchased this sound bar to go with our Vizio Model E55-E1. We cannot get to sync the sound with the broadcast. There is a long delay when turning on the TV until the sound comes on and the sync is always different! Help!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT800 19/02/2018 by Mark209 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought I would add to the sound experience by trying a sound bar .... glad i did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

For me wasn't worth it

HTCT800 05/02/2018 by Zion Sparky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to go with my new Sony TV. I have yet to be able to get the sound to sync with the news people

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/02/2018

Hello Zion Sparky, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate the issue, kindly refer to the links below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39698
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32837
Regards, _Bob

0

Great soundbar

HT-CT800 04/02/2018 by Britroon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup with plenty of connections. Very impressed with sound options and happy with the sub output, sky movies action is crisp and punchy. Thought I had an issue with the sound dropping out but setting the sky remote with the correct code fixed that issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

System Failed, Sub was very weak.

HTCT800 24/01/2018 by RRamos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the design of the bar itself. I had it sitting on my granite entertainment center counter top. Under my 75x940d wall mounted TV. But the soundbar was not premium quality, nor the sub. I have a warranty issue now where the bar is stuck on HDMI 2 for some unknown reason. input button on the bar doesn't work blue-tooth and music service doesn't work. Touch pad does not work either. Tried everything in the book time to send it back.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

HTCT800 20/01/2018 by Littleyaky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was easy to set up, sound is amazing. Slim feature is a big plus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT SYSTEM FOR THE PRICE

HTCT800 18/01/2018 by 123 YOUNG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

VERY NICE SOUNDING SYSTEM AND THE BASS FILLS THE ROOM. IT'S NICE TO BE ABLE TO CUSTOM SET MY PERSONAL SOUND FOR LISTENING.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound, easy set up!

HTCT800 14/01/2018 by JackNorfolk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We use this soundbar in our family room, about 20x20 ... has very good full range of sound. It was very easy to install with our Sony smart TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!!

HTCT800 03/01/2018 by jmhmom2001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and price. We bought one for our son and one for ourselves. We love it!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AMAZING

HTCT800 28/12/2017 by r1juan09 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the soundbar a few months ago and the sound quality is amazing. Setup was very easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product but could have had more bass

HT-CT800 27/12/2017 by CamG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it nearly a month ago and very happy with the product specially clarity of the sound but haven't yet found a way to increase the bass

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Product Poor design integration with TV's

HTCT800 26/12/2017 by Bob63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two weeks ago and have been pleased with the sound and performance. I am disappointed with the integration of this product with my Sony TV. I bought it to work with my XBR55x700D however it does not fit well with the TV's stands I have to place it in front of the stand and it looks stupid. Not well designed at all. In addition it blocks access to the IR port to control the TV with the remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2017

Hi Bob63, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Thanks again, _Bob

0

Awesome soundbar

HT-CT800 23/12/2017 by Aaron 97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great, easy to use if you're somewhat knowledgeable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Performance and Value

HTCT800 18/12/2017 by AJamsion (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've been listening to our new soundbar system for a few weeks with great results. The system provides life-like sound and is easy to use with our Sony TV. Thank you Michael V. and the Best Buy on Elston in Chicago for the recommendation!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

HTCT800 16/12/2017 by Makemake (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the easy setup and sound quality, SONY Quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HTCT800 12/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Sony Sound Bar and I am glad I did, it was so easy to hook up and I was enjoying the sound within 10 minutes!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Karoke

HTCT800 10/12/2017 by pinonboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had tbl setting up to get a good sound of the ON STAGE plug in karoke mike. It is hooked up to the Sony 900e.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great sound

HT-CT800 02/12/2017  (USA)

Had this for a month now and so far it's pretty good. The only thing that's a pain is Co trolling hdmi inputs using the TV remote which is a Sony android smart TV. From the TV when selecting inputs you have to select the sound Bar, then wait for it to connect and hopefully allow you to scroll through the sound Bar inputs on a separate screen. It's annoying at best. But atleast it has good sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good quality nice looking

HT-CT800 01/12/2017 by Fgnhj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Improved sound quality considerably excellent for price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome sound

HT-CT800 23/11/2017 by Sprakey (USA)

Please tell me which Bluetooth rear speakers to buy to go with this I bought last week and was blown away by the sound quality I always had Samsung before but this is a million times better than that

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great sound great price

HTCT800 22/11/2017 by Goozilla1978 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I played the opening scene of Star Wars at level 30 and my 10 yr old went nuts it was awesome by the way 50 is max volume 30 was more than enough it was better than a theater

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound for the price

HTCT800 13/11/2017 by ngels (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better sound and features than my previous sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good value

HT-CT800 10/11/2017 by TomTait7 (United Kingdom)

First of all I found this product very easy to set up strait out the box. Connecting my game consul, satellite box and USB drive which are all attached using HDMI through the sound bar proved no problem and I was ready to go within minutes. Once set up and working the instruction manual allowed me to fine tune things like sound and picture very easily and seamlessly and I have not encountered any issues so far. As for the sound I am very impressed. Watching movies, especially in 4k, the sound is very clear with deep impact full bass, this is also true when gaming on my consul. Again music comes over really clear especially when using the features that enhance MP3's. I have not used the blue tooth features as yet but hope to do this in the future. I like the fact I could add some rear speakers like the SRS-ZR5 or 7's in the future which would give me a fuller surround sound but I am very satisfied with the product and would say it is value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

superb sound

HT-CT800 23/10/2017 by chippie59 (United Kingdom)

had the ht-ct800 about 2 weeks after returning the ht-ct790 which developed faults, and as i had already bought a couple of speakers to go with the ht-ct790, i needed a soundbar to work with the speakers and though the ht-ct800 was more expensive i believe it is money well spent. Sound, base and connectivity are excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best purchase

HTCT800 17/10/2017 by LDoone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my new TV, features are great, would recommend it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

poor understanding of features

HTCT800 09/10/2017 by None xxxxxxxxxx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No printed instructions addressing setup and useage of my Sony TV, Sound Bar and DVD.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hello None xxxxxxxxxx, we apologize for the inconvenience. Here is a helpful link for you to set up your soundbar properly, kindly visit the link below:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4687591121.pdf see pages 18 to 23.
Regards, _Bob

0

Great Sound!

HT-CT800 17/08/2017 by oldsoul1951 (USA)

Purchased this soundbar one month ago. Easy set-up and great sound. When the soundbar actually linked, it was set on 47, and nearly blew me out of the room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sucks

HT-CT800 09/08/2017  (USA)

Horrible the audio just cuts off thru optical and on bluetooth there is this ringing sound very bad speaker!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2017

Hi, MartinWake, We are sorry to hear this. Make sure the software of the unit is updated by downloading and installing the latest software version. To further isolate the issue, you may follow the steps here: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38388. Regards, Vincent

0

Easy to stream your music and excellent sound

HT-CT800 18/07/2017 by Mr Green (USA)

Just bought this and the sound coming from this are so much better than the old amplifier I had. And also the streaming features are nice touch. I like products that I can upgrade over the internet with ease (firmware).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Better Than Expected

HT-CT800 13/06/2017 by Oatmealsmoothie (USA)

I use this soundbar with my Sony 65" 4K TV in a room that's about 12' x 20'. It hangs on the wall just below the TV. I'm blown away by this soundbar. The sub is punchy with music and rumbles solid for movies. It's more powerful than I expected from a 6" woofer. The bar itself has 2 tweeters that get the job done. I'm not sure how Sony expects to get any midrange out of them unless the sub handles it (the specs don't show the crossover frequencies). Overall though it's and excellent sounding system with more than enough volume and shake (I haven't turned it past 50% yet because that's plenty loud). It integrates perfectly with my TV over the HDMI (ARC) link. That means anything I connect to an HDMI port on the TV plays through the soundbar and anything I connect to the 3 additional HDMI ports on the soundbar will show on my TV. Setup was a breeze. The soundbar options and inputs are accessed right on the TV. Plus there's a readout on the front for input selected, soundscape (equalizer) and volume. All I had to do with the sub was plug it into an AC outlet. No configuration needed at all. The light on the front turned from red to green and - boom! Done. There are separate volume controls on the remote: overall volume and subwoofer volume. My sub is usually on 10 (max is 12) and it borders on punishing! You can use WiFi or Ethernet to connect to your home network (and beyond, for services like Spotify). It found my DLNA and Logitech media servers so I can blast my stored music. I haven't tried Bluetooth or the built-in Chromecast or the USB yet because I don't need them at the moment. There are a lot of soundbars on the market and I could have paid half as much as I paid for this. But after getting the big TV, I wanted sound to match. No sense in cheaping out now. Plus after reading the specs and features (not many reviews available because it was new), there was no question that this is the best bang for the buck. I'm very happy with this soundbar and sub combo and would definitely recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

2

0

Great sound

HT-CT800 08/05/2017 by Tonycandy51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement for my previous Sony sound bar that unfortunately developed a fault. Although somewhat more expensive I feel it was well worth the extra cost. Brilliant sound many good features easy setup blends in well with Sony 55" tv. My only criticism would be that it is a dust magnet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

29