83

4.3 based on 83 customer reviews

50
21
6
0
6
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17/09/2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23/09/2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

83 Customer Reviews

0

X8500 Soundbar

HT-X8500 19/11/2020 by Phil C 88 (United Kingdom)

We are very pleased with our purchase overall. However, there were conflicting connection instructions which was frustrating to say the least The printed leaflet supplied in the box said to connect my existing Sony DVD Player X500 to the Soundbar HDMI slot which caused the speaker to crackle. However,Sony Support on 020 7365 2810 advised me to connect it directly to my AG8 OLED TV and it now works fine. I wish the colour of the Sounbar was Black rather than Grey so that it matches my AG8 TV I have it connected to. The lights on top are difficult to understand and remember, it would be so much better to have a small digital display on the front.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

No Dolby Atmos for me!

HT-X8500 17/11/2020 by Cinema2020 (USA)

just purchased this bar to pair with an LG CX for surround sound. The Dolby Atmos light is lit up on the bar but there is no feeling at all of surround sound or sound bouncing off the ceiling. Yes, speech is better with this bar than with the tv's built-in speakers but I expected to hear surround speech. Can't figure out if i have a bad bar or just bad marketing or human error.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/11/2020

Hi Cinema2020, Thank you for purchasing the HT-X8500 soundbar. If Dolby Atmos effect is not sufficient, please use a Premium High-Speed HDMI®️ cable with ethernet and Connect the Sound Bar HDMI OUT eARC/ARC port and the TV HDMI IN eARC/ARC port using the Premium High-Speed HDMI cable. Please make sure that the eARC function is set to ON if the TV has eARC port.

When the Sound Bar is connected to a TV that is not compatible with HDMI (eARC). You will not be able to play Dolby Atmos format content output from the TV.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.

please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:
Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Carl

0

Excellent Soundbar - Great Value for Money

HT-X8500 16/11/2020 by Swervynmervyn (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my Sony KD55XG8505 TV. It fits perfectly between the TV stand legs. The sound from the TV was very good for a flat screen TV, but I decided I would like a little more depth of sound. The soundbar linked very easily with the TV, although an on screen display would have helped as I experimented with the various sound options. The soundbar feels very well made and gives an excellent depth and field of sound. It provides a real cinematic experience when playing a Blu-ray DVD. If you do not want a number of speakers dotted around the room to give surround sound then this provides almost as good an experience in a soundbar that will sit neatly under your TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT SOUNDBAR WITH GREAT FEATURES.

HT-X8500 28/10/2020 by Goldwater (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT DOLBY ATMOS SOUNDBAR FROM SONY. MOVIE WATCHING HAS BECOME FUN AGAIN WITH CINEMA SOUND. IT PAIRS EASILY WITH A SONY TELEVISION SO YOU DON'T NEED THE SOUNDBAR REMOTE UNLESS YOU WANT TO PLAY MUSIC OR CHANGE SETTINGS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HTX8500 28/10/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from Amazon Australia. I received the American model with incorrect mains plug. Had to find adapter. Registration without a US zip code was prevented as well. Had to find a work around. The sound system is really good though, so, happy with the result. Amazon should send the correct model, they had an order from Australia and delivered to correct address.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2020

Hi Frank, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your HT-X8500. We're glad to hear you're enjoying your new soundbar. Cinematic audio with built-in subwoofers, in a compact package. The all-in-one X8500 Soundbar features 7.1.2 channel sound, Vertical Sound Engine technology, and Dolby Atmos /DTS:X compatibility for a cinematic, three-dimensional surround sound experience. The elegant, compact design fits perfectly in front of your TV, especially in places where space is at a premium. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam


0

Very disappointed!

HT-X8500 20/10/2020 by NeilS9 (United Kingdom)

So, so disappointed with the HT-X8500 – I expected so much better from a Sony product. I’ve never bought a sound bar before so I was swayed by reading some excellent reviews about this one …but after buying it I found it hard to believe the reviews were about the same thing I’d bought. Physically the HT-X8500 looks and feels good, but the overall sound quality is really poor – there is little clarity and no dynamic range to speak of …my Samsung TV speakers sound better, so for me this was a complete waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good listening

HT-X8500 06/10/2020 by Tallone16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent from switching it on. The sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WOW

HT-X8500 06/10/2020 by Stan_of_Saxons (United Kingdom)

What a unit... 1st class. It's better than the Sky Sound box I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25/09/2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

HT-X8500 22/09/2020 by meganw3f43 (USA)

This sound bar has provided great sound quality. Its so much more clear and cleaner than sound bar we had previously. When using the base it gives almost a surround sound experience. Very pleased with this product but would expect to be considering it was close to $2k. I thought it worth the splurge because I use my TV a lot for gaming and watching TV and I happen to hate headsets so good sound is important... such a nerd. Would recommend if you are wanting a good quality sound bar, are willing to spend a little cash on one, and also it looks nice!

Taken from influenster.com

0

2

0

HT-X8500 14/09/2020 by giselleg39 (USA)

We use this one for our tv, it is pretty nice and has nice sound. We got this one in a garage sale which is a steal if you ask me.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Love the sound, love the bass undertones.

HT-X8500 13/09/2020 by Ste701 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality soundbar and this is just the ticket. Lovely bass sound, different sound features depending on what you are viewing or listening to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Difficult to setup

HT-X8500 10/09/2020 by Mal0122 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Difficult to setup but once it was working with my 3 year old 4K UHD curved Samsung TV, after buying a high speed hdmi lead and starting the setup from scratch, it works fine. The sound quality is adequate but disappointed with Dolby Atmos as it is not as I thought it would be. I nearly returned the soundbar but decided to see how it goes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

So far - very happy

HT-X8500 10/09/2020 by Bravie (United Kingdom)

We bought this as a partner to our Sony Bravia KD43XH8196 which we bought two weeks ago and so far we are very pleased with it, although I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

HT-X8500 04/09/2020 by jamieleenc (USA)

This Sony soundbar works great, was a nice addition to my tv a few years ago. Minimalist design.

Taken from influenster.com

1

0

0

Good Product.

HT-X8500 31/08/2020 by Cuke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product to use with my smart TV and I and I am quite impressed with the sound and features. No issues with lip sync at all and the soundbar works well with the tv's builtin apps. I would be happier if there was a little more bass and if I could add a separate bass speaker I would but unfortunately I cannot do this. Over-all though the soundbar is good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great quality

HT-X8500 27/08/2020 by andy d to bad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am happy i bought this item and iam very happy with quality of the item

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

HT-X8500 14/08/2020 by member161bc1 (USA)

We love our sound bar! It is such a nice touch to our living room! We wont use anything other than sound bar with surround sound! We can have the tv turned so low and hear so well! We recommend to ALL our friends!

Taken from influenster.com

1

0

0

Great Soundbar but

HT-X8500 05/08/2020  (United Kingdom)

the main reason to buy this was to compliment my new tv and upgrade from an old sound system. The sound is great and makes tv programmes better, so i would recommend it for that. The down side is that it doesn't come with an onscreen display. this means that you never really know what setting you are on or what the setting was the last time it was used. This leaves to a lot of guess work and pushing of buttons. I probably would have bought something else had i know this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

HT-X8500 04/08/2020 by elisad23 (USA)

This was a great purchase. We use it all the time. Great sound quality, no issues when connecting to blue tooth.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great Sounds

HT-X8500 04/08/2020 by Yorkiecherry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds are brilliant but disappointed with lack of onscreen display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Not impressed.

HT-X8500 28/07/2020 by Swstn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with high expectations. I found the background sounds completely over powered the voices making it virtually impossible to follow storylines.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

HT-X8500 25/07/2020 by kandysmit68 (USA)

Good product. i would recommend them to others. They sound good. Very good quality. One of the best. I would make them more versatile and more easily. They are very comparable to all others. One of the best. I would buy them again and recommend them.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Easy Setup

HTX8500 24/07/2020 by LilBear11963 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago. 1st took time to set it up today. Took me about 20 min. by myself and I'm picky about cords not being tangled or showing. The quick setup sheet was a big help. I'm also using a Sony 4K tv with this. I'm very happy with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/07/2020

Hi LilBear11963, we're glad you're happy with your new soundbar. The 2.1 channel Dolby Atmos/DTS:X soundbar with Vertical Sound Engine is the perfect complement for BRAVIA’s legendary picture quality and has been design-matched with the TV for seamless style. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

HT-X8500 20/07/2020 by kenziel23 (USA)

worked just fine for watching a movie with a group of people. could have been louder, good for a tv stand or any flat surface

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

HT-X8500 14/07/2020 by martinez21112 (USA)

I have had this sound bar since I got my tv and that was 4 years ago. Still works perfect. I totally recommend because it has held up and it is on the cheaper end of things. I would recommend because who does not love SONY. Come on lol.

Taken from influenster.com

0

1

0

HT-X8500 09/07/2020  (USA)

This has to be the best sound bar I have heard. My parents got it after we got the big screen TV. The sound is amazing. You can everything clearly even when the volume is turned way down. It was worth the price. Definitely would recommend for someone who is looking for quality sound.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 27/06/2020 by Fabby 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar a few weeks ago, the sound is very good, loud and crisp especially connected with a 4k blu ray player. But the functionality is not impressive with no display on tv, the flashing lights on the top of the bar are confusing at best and they should have been on the front to be easily seen while seating down. So to summarise, this bar produces great sound, and I'm happy with it, but the lack of tv display is a real let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beyond expectations

HT-X8500 22/06/2020 by Babs16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound when playing films is out of this world. Could be sitting in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

HT-X8500 20/06/2020 by alexc102 (USA)

its a pretty alright speaker for people that need one i think that its pretty good compared to other products but the quality of the sound is good and i would recommend this speaker to other people that need a speaker/soundbar.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

HT-X8500 15/06/2020  (USA)

My Sony Soundbar really pumps out the sound! I absolutely love it. I cant imagine a life of just using the tvs built in sound anymore. The quality is fantastic and next I want to get surround sound!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

HT-X8500 11/06/2020  (USA)

I like my sony sound bar, the quality of the sound is perfectly great specially when watching a movie the sound is great. In my opinion this is no improvement needed. also for the price is great Sony sound bar. if anyone is looking for a sound bar with high quality sound this one would be the to go to. :)

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Compliments the TV

HT-X8500 10/06/2020 by Del5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar in a word is ”Billiant” and ands to the experience when watching various types of programmes from movies to sport.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HT-X8500 09/06/2020  (USA)

I personally do not own this product but a close friend of mine does and boy does it sound great!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

HT-X8500 05/06/2020 by kailync11 (USA)

This is a really good quality sound bar and I love that it is Bluetooth and can connect to my devices from pretty far away. I would recommend this product.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Excellent sound but lack of inputs.

HT-X8500 05/06/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So what can I say about the htx-8500. Well it's a lovely looking bar, nice rounded edges and a very simple but sleek design. One earc/arc output and one hdmi 2.0 input to connect a single device to. I would have liked one or two more inputs but I can live with only one. The input is 4K and hdr pass through, I have gotten hdr and hdr 10+ but it will not pass through dolby vision. The output handles all of the major codecs including dolby atmos. Now to the sound, I'm a little of a Sony fan boy so perhaps a little bias, but the sound quality on this is really breathtaking. You can get a good sense of height for atmos and it really shines through. I have no hesitation in reccomending this at all. Oh and if Sony wanna send me anything to review please feel free lol.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30/05/2020 by saintybalboa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Excellent first step into Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500 21/05/2020 by Gdawson (United Kingdom)

I have had this soundbar for a week now and on the whole I am very impressed . Unfortunately Earc is very buggy and I am forever having to switch the tv off then on to get any sound from the soundbar when switching to Netflix via the onboard app?! I had bought new high speed Hdmi cables and foolishly thought buying a Sony soundbar with a Sony tv would make the Earc process Seemless ?. How wrong I was !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Neat one piece sound bar built in subwoofer

HT-X8500 07/05/2020 by Discerning (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quickly elevates the TV watching to an amazing immersive experience Pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound and easy setup

HTX8500 29/04/2020 by buckhunter67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after reviewing several soundbars, I liked the fact that it has a built in subwoofer, so nothing else to clutter up a room. The easiest set up I ever had, plugged into an LG 4k television through the ARC, and I had to do nothing after that. It does have great sound and the bass, though limited, is sufficient to fill my tv room. Now I need to get Netflix again and watch some Dolby Vision and Atmos. Should be awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/05/2020

Hi buckhunter67, we're glad you like our product. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 28/04/2020 by Carol1teach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to go with new Sony tv. Very impressed with Sony as usual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 21/04/2020 by Deano 7762 (United Kingdom)

Very good soundbar good features. Would recommend this soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Soundbar HT-8500

HT-X8500 21/04/2020 by Gilliarno (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant sound from this Sony HT-8500 it looks smart as well easy to set up good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Good product

HT-X8500 16/04/2020 by Bas23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a while ago and all seems ok. Not sure I have it set right as I don't seem to be getting surround sound. My music from iPod is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

pure rubbish

HT-X8500 09/04/2020 by Shod (United Kingdom)

possibly the worst thing i have ever purchased. With the soundbar connected and playing Netflix, Amazon Prime etc and selecting the pause button all sound is lost. the fix is to turn Sony Bravia TV off and on again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Tv excellent but sound bar exceptionally disappoin

HT-X8500 06/04/2020 by Ricardo46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tv has been excellent and all that I expected. Colours amazing and easy to set up and operate. This is our third Sony Bravia. Sound bar arrived in packaging that had been opened. I should have returned at the time. Base is overwhelming and unsuitable for a medium sized property. I have hardly used it because it because it spoils all tv and most music. Very disappointing Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

9

0

Superb Sound

HT-X8500 29/03/2020 by Orac1024 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Soundbar two weeks ago with a 65" XG95 what a combination superb vision and ATMOS Sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great Sound, Easy Setup

HTX8500 02/02/2020 by snowinjuly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product has great sound and is very easy to set up. Mounted to the wall easily and connected to my Sony Bravia TV right away via Bluetooth. This is a major upgrade in sound compared to the TV speakers and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hey snowinjuly, That's cool! We're glad you're happy with the sound quality and design of this soundbar. Thank you so much for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28/01/2020 by nicky177 (United Kingdom)

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26/01/2020 by Max03 (United Kingdom)

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15/01/2020 by William the conker (United Kingdom)

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6