135

3.7 based on 135 customer reviews

55
34
18
7
21
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good system but remote control Concerns

HTX9000F 23/09/2018 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just hooked this up with my 900F Sony 4K TV using HDMI/ARC connection. I also have my 900F hooked to my Cable Box via TVs HDMI1 port. For some reason a number of actions using the SB remote dont work, i.e. Display, changing the Pic mode to Cinema, etc., dont work. I realize some capabilities of the SB are not available w/o having a 4K input stream but not sure why some basic remote commands dont work or you see ALL the indicator lights flash. Cannot always see the indicator lights on top - would have preferred the lights to show partly down on the front/top of the SB.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sound Cuts Out

HT-X9000F 10/01/2020 by TylerHen (USA)

I have the soundbar set up through the eARC input on my brand new Sony Bravia x950g television. When watching Netflix through the television, the sound from the sound bar periodically cuts out. I have to restart the soundbar or the TV in order to get it to work again and I usually have to do this several times during a show. It's very frustrating. I've installed the latest software update to the soundbar but this didn't resolve the issue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

17

0

135 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound

HT-XF9000 05/10/2020 by JACKOSBACK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this system for one year now and I'm I'm quite pleased with the sound and quality bearing in mind and that I've come from a 9.1 home cinema system. I would personally like to see in the future maybe the volume bass and treble sounds to be seen on the TV when adjusting, which at present is not there.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Sounds great

HTX9000F 04/10/2020 by Geosan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this one day ago and connected to the tv to watch football. Awesome sound. Love the feature to hang directly on the wall w/o Having to buy a wall mount.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great futur

HT-X9000F 24/09/2020 by Jeanpp (USA)

I bought about a year ago work great. The only issue I have is the volume went up by itself I don't what wrong.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Popping sound, low volume when connected to Sony t

HTX9000F 06/09/2020 by jajam002 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

About this a year ago and it is not as good as my samsung system curved sound bar. I bought with the Sony Bravia oled TV as a package deal from best buy. Poor quality sound and adjustments are not working . I hear a popping sound from the sub woofer that scares the dog. I will go to Bose or Samsung next purchase since I did not get any resolution from Sony tech support.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Poor

HT-XF9000 18/08/2020 by Kc123 (United Kingdom)

Never had quality sound from sub woofer. Very poor for the cost.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Decent Soundbar but has it's flaws

HT-XF9000 27/07/2020 by AndyXkr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to compliment my Sony kD-49XG9005 TV, it fits nicely between the splayed legs of the telly and looks neat sitting under the screen. Movies and Dialogue from the TV via the ARC HDMI connection were good and a big improvement over the built in TV speakers but nothing fantastic. Playing music via Bluetooth or TV soundtracks were great and what this Soundbar does best. Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility was OK but with just two front-facing drivers and a subwoofer. it was never going to be great, however it was loud enough with an impression of the sound coming from above the bar but not close to a full surround sound. Overall I was pleased with the capabilities of the Soundbar especially when paired with the Sony TV However there is one annoying feature of the the Soundbar and that is when you are watching TV from a satellite receiver connected to the HDMI ARC input and then select APPS or the ACTION MENU on the TV Remote and then switch back to TV the Soundbar doesn't automatically switch the sound back to TV and you have to use the Soundbar remote to select HMDI input or no sound comes from the speakers, considering this Bar is designed to compliment the Sony TV this is a huge bugbear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Bluetooth is awesome

HTX9000F 24/07/2020 by keto1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

clear sound and the base volume lvl control, great thinking sony, for a sound bar and sub sounds like a complete home theater set up, you get that surround sound system effect honestly really surprised me, for those looking for a clean look this unit is all u need bluetooth, atmos u name it all right here, this is not for them .00005 percent audiophiles that have ears from another galaxy, this is for people that enjoy beautiful clear, sounds with that base, for music it is a dream movies well when u lvl that base u will feel the movie...smiling Great price great system if u need more power buy another upgraded sony sound bar..highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony HT-9000F sound bar

HTX9000F 09/07/2020 by Surfinratt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had it for a few weeks, preforms well. Only quirk is once and a while a static pop will happen. I have the Bravia series’s TV 4K connected with HDMI not sure where the noise comes from.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Well designed and user friendly.

HT-XF9000 05/07/2020 by Cal81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to my previous soundbar to have use of the eARC function. the setup was easy and the audio quality is excellent, providing full lossless Dolby sound from my TV. My only slight complaint would be that sometimes dialogue is lost when using the 3D surround settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound but connectivity with TV is unstable

HT-XF9000 13/06/2020 by Touchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality id excellent and can be 'tailored' to your viewing. However there have been a few occasions when the wired connectivity with my Sony Bravia TV has become unstable and switching between channels results in a loss of sound. This can normally be resolved by turning off/on the TV but it can be disconcerting. The user manual offers numerous 'fixes' for this situation and it's a matter of trying out the different suggestions until the sound is re-established.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Too soon to be exact

HT-XF9000 05/06/2020 by DJ Steve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a few weeks now and I have probably not explored or heard all it is cabable of, however it does kick butt is extremly bassesy when it is cracked up and I find I am constantly having to turn the sound down in case I distiurb the neighbours. The sound is excellent in all areas from low to high . Not had a chance to try the Atmos yest as I have seen nothing with it to watch or listen too. I will get around to it someday soon though. Although not cheap this sound bar and sub is excellent quality and sound, I listen through it all day and night now wheter on PC or TV and or movies, Noting to complain about as yet :) Most annoying thing is no onscreen display so you never no what mode you are in so minus points for that!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound.

HT-XF9000 31/05/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have now had this system set up for a week and in that time I have used for day to day tv and also 4K Blu-ray films along with 4K Netflix and amazon prime. The sound quality is great very rich and clear tones are not a problem for this system Dolby Atmos also sound fantastic. 10 out of 10 upto now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent sound, distorted sub and quirky HDMI

HT-X9000F 25/05/2020 by ATLHDGuy (USA)

Sony usually engineers a good product and on paper this unit is very advanced. eARC, Dolby Vision, Dolby ATMOS, DTS:X and so on. The vocals are so so even when cranking up the voice option. The real weak spot in this product are the sub, which bottoms and distorts when pushed. Also the HDMI functions are quirky. IT struggles to detect when I switched the TV back to the input that the bar is on and gets confused and puts the menu up to have me choose.Even if I never change the TV input when I power everything up it will get confused and again put menu up to select the input, TV or HDMI.This forces me to disable HDMI controls (CEC) and also to disable the sub going to standby, this wasting power. I have a competitors bar on another TV of same brand and it switches and detects flawlessly. They need a firmware to fix the quirkiness of the HDMI and then I might enjoy this, but now I am thinking or replacing it and donating this one.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2020

Hi ATLHDGuy, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may do a power reset to your unit by unplugging it from the power source to better isolate the issue. If you haven't downloaded the latest firmware yet which improves the HDMI connectivity of the unit, then we recommend checking this link for the latest firmware of this model: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/downloads/00015967

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Easy setup

HTX9000F 22/05/2020 by Lynnyboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought sound bar a month ago and very pleased with the clarity of sound so far.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/05/2020

Hi Lynnyboy, we're glad you like our product. The 2.1 channel Dolby Atmos/DTS:X soundbar with Vertical Sound Engine, our latest surround technology, lets you enjoy the thrill of Dolby Atmos from a single slim unit. No matter what type of room you're in, two front speakers reproduce "vertical" audio, creating virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Ehhh

HT-X9000F 15/05/2020 by Chalkra (USA)

I just bought this sound bar and subwoofer combo and honestly I expected more for the price

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Chalkra, we regret to hear that the soundbar did not meet your expectations. This soundbar makes your content come alive, with 2.1 channel Dolby Atmos and DTS : X compatibility. Utilizing our Vertical Sound Engine technology, it can reproduce sounds that seem to come from above, beside and behind you for an immersive experience. With full 4K HDR passthrough support as well as a Bluetooth connection, your movies will sound like real life, and your music will feel like a concert, all from the comfort of home.



Feel free to reach us if you need further assistance and drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Random, popping, loud thud sound.

HT-X9000F 10/05/2020 by Pat225 (USA)

Bought Sony System 65" TV including HT-X9000F in January 2019. Excellent sound but one week later after install in 2019 a sudden loud pop, thud sound from speaker. After that the pop, thud sound occurred maybe every 2 to 3 months I dismissed the problem as an internet problem? Now in May 2020 same noise becoming more frequent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi Pat225, We regret to hear about what happened. Please follow the steps provided on the link below to resolve this issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00025299

Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great TV sound addition

HTX9000F 07/05/2020 by AndjR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It works well... for all of my sound needs. Some compatibility issues with sound-based-search featured remotes ie: Amazon's Fire Stick ko

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi AndjR, We’re so glad to hear you are enjoying your HT-X9000F Dolby Atmos soundbar. The compatibility between the supplied remote control and third-party products cannot be guaranteed.

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Awesome powerful soundbar, quick and easy to setup

HT-XF9000 07/05/2020 by mattdkuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a week ago and its absolutely brilliant, it was nicely packaged,easy to unbox and setup. I am using it with a Sony Bravia Tv, it looks brilliant, great accompaniment to my audio visual setup. I have a sky q box connected by HDMI, when it turn the sky q box on it automatically turns the tv on which automatically turns the sound bar on and the wireless subwoofer so don’t have to turn it on manually as i was doing with my old sony cinema sound system and the volume control sync aswell, so adjust the volume on the tv and the soundbar adjusts its volume. It has Dolby Atmos which sounds awesome, you can connect phones, tablets etc via Bluetooth so play sounds wirelessly as well as it having an audio port so can connect products with a cable. I cannot be anymore happier with the purchase, its just all round great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Who needs to go out to enjoy a movie?

HT-X9000F 30/04/2020 by Fred_69 (USA)

Not me! Superior sound and so easy to setup. A perfect compliment for my Sony A8! I would like to expand with a set of wireless rear speakers. Is there an option for this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/05/2020

Hi Fred_69, we're glad you like our product. The 2.1 channel Dolby Atmos/DTS:X soundbar with Vertical Sound Engine, our latest surround technology, lets you enjoy the thrill of Dolby Atmos from a single slim unit. No matter what type of room you’re in, two front speakers reproduce “vertical” audio, creating virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. Unfortunately, you cannot use wireless rear speakers with this unit as it does not support multiroom or wireless surround function. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Awesome sound!

HTX9000F 16/04/2020 by ShurMack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looked for awhile before I purchased this unit. Nice quality sound and easy to connect. Think I made a great choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi ShurMack, Great! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your HTX9000F. The 2.1 channel Dolby Atmos/DTS:X soundbar with Vertical Sound Engine is the perfect complement for BRAVIA’s legendary picture quality and has been design-matched with the TV for seamless style. Thank you for choosing SONY. -Sam

0

Awesome sound and Bass is on point

HT-X9000F 16/04/2020 by Gemaz11 (USA)

I bought the Sony Soundbar a week ago. I love everything about it. My one concern is geting the sound to sync with the picture on the screen. I have made the adjustments shown in the manual. It is still not syncing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/04/2020

Hi Gemaz11, We’re glad you love of our HT-X9000F soundbar. Please try following the troubleshooting steps on our support website to try and remedy your syncing issue.



Sincerely,
Sam

0

You will need a new TV

HT-XF9000 05/04/2020 by Bertie 33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After initial set up and testing the sound l was very happy however when I tried to change the sound modes and try out the vertical S mode I couldn't hear any difference to the sound, I bought this to replace my Sony surround sound system to Minimise the clutter of speakers and wires and on my previous system it was very obvious when I changed the modes It would appear that the only way I will be able to experience the Atmos sound and vertical S will be by replacing my existing Sony TV which is only 5 years old! I purchased this from John Lewis prior to the temporary closure and would probably have taken it back if they were still open as I had not been made aware of this at the time! It is also worth pointing out that I have exchanged numerous emails with Sony who constantly gave me the wrong information referring me back to the product manual which I pointed out states on page 43 that pressing the home menu doesn't allow you to access the sound modes!! it was only after a 40 minute phone call that I managed to get more information leading me to conclude that I need to purchase a new TV which I have done.. If you Google this problem you will see many forums on the subject along with many unhappy customers!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-X9000F 24/03/2020  (USA)

I just bought it, and i love the way it sounds, the bass and the quality of sound is just perfect . I highly recommend this soundbar if you getting one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi Saroj, Wow! We're pleased to know you're enjoying the audio quality of your soundbar. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

Great Sound & Features

HTX9000F 07/03/2020 by Disfan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this Soundbar less than 24 hours but i'm am blown away with how easy it was to connect and setup. Everything connected right up and the Bluetooth connection with my iphone X was very easy. I have an older Sony Bravia LED TV so I had to purchase and use the optical digital cable but everything is working great! Couldn't be happier!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2020

Hi Disfan, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the overall performance of this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! ~Earl


0

Sounds Beautiful and Awesome Features

HTX9000F 07/03/2020 by circlingwater (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I set the HT-X9000F up in a few minutes. It makes connecting my Blu-ray and TV together a joy, along side the satellite box, especially with the wireless sub woofer. Hooking up third party extra-insulated HDMI cables with a higher data support than the ones that came with the sound bar, was a bit challenging based on how the connectors are all huddled together. The sound bar strangely doesn't sit perfectly flat. The center cushion/or padded foot is longer than the ones on the ends. It seamless connected to my iPhone 7 for playing music, which sounded awesome. The Soundbar makes a huge improvement over the built-in speakers of the XBR-X950G, and well worth-it when watching premium movies with rich and beautiful music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2020

Hi circlingwater,

Wow, Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a Soundbar. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

easy to use.

HTX9000F 05/03/2020 by mrod6970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this in December, and it had to go in for repairs. It sounded good when it worked.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/03/2020

Hi, mrod69706019540680!

We're sorry to hear about what happened. If no sound to this unit, please follow the troubleshooting steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00023449

0

Easy to use

HTX9000F 26/02/2020 by TV TOM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound way better than just tv speakers. sound is rich and has more depth. If it had a 3rd speaker in the sound bar would be easier to hear dialogue watching movies, but I went over buget on the tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi TV TOM,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Quality Sound

HTX9000F 14/02/2020 by glocnikar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't played a movie with Dolby Atmos yet, but this bar has nice, clean, crisp sound. The sub puts out good base for the size and I love that it's wireless so I can have it next to the couch without a cable running up to the TV. Great value!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/02/2020

Hi glocnikar,

We are happy you are enjoying your HT-X9000F Soundbar with Dolby Atmos.
We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Great when it synchs up to the TV

HT-X9000F 06/02/2020 by mico12 (USA)

Bought the soundbar and have it attached to a brand new xbr65x800g. Bought Sony components hoping for seamless operation. On the most this is true. However, we cannot get the sound to synch up. Works pretty good over wireless connection for netflix, fails to synch up when we switch to the cable sound box. Turn off soundbar and sound is fine through internal speakers. Taking it back if I dont hear a resolution. We have it on optical connection and verified software up to date

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

@mico12,

We're glad that you like the product. I understand that your ht-x9000f is having issues with the sync. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00198068

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Great output for the price

HTX9000F 26/01/2020 by UTguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decided to add this a week after getting a 950 65 inch to enhance the experience. Okay the sound difference over the built in TV sound is deeper and richer and yes it will put out if you want to crank it for theater like boom. Love how it intigrates perfect with the TV to turn on and off with it. No adjustments needed, plan on just having an HDMI cable which this one included, the bluetooth lags and sometimes won't match what you see on the screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Pure Garbage!!!

HT-X9000F 23/01/2020 by Leroy88 (USA)

Have had this sb for 10 months. Purchased with sony 75” tv. Neither have ever worked correctly. Sony tells me even though they are defective they don’t really care!!! They no longer honor “warranties”.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/01/2020

Hello, Leroy88!

I sincerely regret your experience with our product and services. We would like to know more about your issue and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case Number
Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Major Issues with eARC

HT-X9000F 23/01/2020 by Sony2114 (USA)

If you have a Sony TV then I advise you not to get this sound bar. The eARC issue with the sound cutting out is real and super annoying. I've only had the product for a month and my sony tv is also only a month old. This product has been an absolute nightmare. Please do not respond with the same trouble shooting guide and phone number that you've provided to the other reviewers. I've already tried both.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

2

Response From Sony Social Support
25/01/2020

Hello, Sony2114!


We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Sound new dimension

HTX9000F 21/01/2020 by Millted6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hooked it up to Apple TV HD and perfect match atmos

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/01/2020

Hi, Millted6!

We are glad to hear that! We appreciate your positive feedback on your new Sony soundbar. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Good products

HTX9000F 15/01/2020 by Jeff 706 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was hoping for better results , not much better than the Sonya tv I have

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

sound cutting out.

HT-X9000F 15/01/2020 by Leebo424 (USA)

I purchased this sound bar along with my Sony X950G. I have changed every setting and get minimal sound from subwoofer. However, the main problem is that approximately 15 seconds after pausing and restarting a show, the sound cuts out briefly. Also, while streaming shows, the sound will cut out all together and the only way to get it back is to turn off the sound bar and then restart it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi, Leebo4249rnjwdgo7jh0b5yegfiei0b6d!

We're sorry to hear the issue with this unit. You can isolate this issue by following the troubleshooting steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00023449

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Sound Cuts Out

HT-X9000F 10/01/2020 by TylerHen (USA)

I have the soundbar set up through the eARC input on my brand new Sony Bravia x950g television. When watching Netflix through the television, the sound from the sound bar periodically cuts out. I have to restart the soundbar or the TV in order to get it to work again and I usually have to do this several times during a show. It's very frustrating. I've installed the latest software update to the soundbar but this didn't resolve the issue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

17

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, TylerHen!

This is not the experience we want you to have. Please try following the steps on the link below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4725/f2b4b4d72ab146ed2b0d3292528a4d63/47258651M.pdf


If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

A great addition to my 65 inch Sony TV

HTX9000F 06/01/2020 by harold135 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this speaker set as a super Christmas gift this year.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing

HTX9000F 05/01/2020 by Sal92 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar is amazing the sound is awesome really fills the room bass is great as well Dolby Atmos really is amazing I love this sound bar unit very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good support of HD Audio formats and 4K

HT-X9000F 04/01/2020 by hdtvguy (USA)

I needed a new soundbar to support HDR and the HD audio formats and came across this right after Christmas on sale. for the price you can't beat it, but it has its share of quirks. My old CT660 setup sub had better deep bass without bottoming out. This sub you have to go at least to +6db to get any real low end response and then you risk the sub distorting and bottoming out ruining the lowest lows. While I appreciate the the on screen menu system and set up the darn thing always put upt he choice to pick HDMI or TV even though I have an inout signal coming from the HDMI. I often have to select this on the remote. It would be good to have a setting to default to whichever you want or do a better job of auto-detect.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/01/2020

Hello, hdtvguy!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Good for the price

HTX9000F 27/12/2019 by cblattmann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It had brought new life into our TV! Great Sound!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound for music

HTX9000F 26/12/2019 by geobod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound especially for music. The only problem is sound bar is not quite synced up to tv picture. Have tried adjusting the delay several times but can't get it just right.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Nothing Surprised for a sound bar at $600

HTX9000F 07/12/2019 by Sound bar fans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this about a month ago with high expectation on this product from Sony as the price is above an average one. Instead of going for one at $200-$300, I picked this model thinking the sound effect should be great. Yet in reality, it gave me no surprise on its performance. The subwoofer seems not working at all for most of the time even in watching action movie. The stereo effect is also poor and makes no big difference than using the sound system of the TV. Listening to music is also not much better than a small Bluetooth device. On the whole, I do not see why it worths to spend $600 on this HT-9000F while a $200-$300 sound bar may have the same quality. Think twice before spending your money on this product.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Sound bar fans!

Thanks for the feedback! Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Regards,
David

0

Great sound, Very Loud

HT-XF9000 17/11/2019 by DLaw81 (United Kingdom)

Love the sound goes very loud woofer is loud and deep. Thank again for a great Product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SONY TV AND SOUNDBAR

HTX9000F 14/10/2019 by MARKTHEGREAT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE 3 SONY SMART TVS AND A SOUND BAR.THEY ARE THE BEST THAT YOU CAN BUY

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hello, MARKTHEGREAT!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for supporting Sony.

Regards,
David

0

eARC is unreliable

HTX9000F 13/10/2019 by Badger44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had nothing but problems with this sound bar dropping audio. I have it connect via eARC input on my Sony TV (XBR-65X950G). I have tried multiple fixes with sony support and it still drops audio. Best Buy rep told me they don't even use the eARC feature. They said to hook up the optical connection and use the sound bar remote control for volume adjustment. I bought all sony components to avoid conflicts like this. Big let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2019

Hello, Badger44!

We are sorry to hear that you were having issues with our products. Let's try to isolate this by performing some troubleshooting steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00020051
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00173195

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Good product but could be better

HT-XF9000 05/10/2019 by Dougalm (United Kingdom)

Overall it is a good system but the well documented lyp synch issues are problematic and have not been adequately sorted by Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

lip sync issue

HT-XF9000 07/09/2019 by Biffo54 (United Kingdom)

Only issue is getting the lip sync right via a Sky Q Box

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great Product ...

HTX9000F 27/08/2019 by Larry B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are very happy with the sound bar. I really like the base .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2019

Hello, Larry! Thanks for commenting! We're glad to hear that our product meets your expectations. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Immersive sound!

HT-X9000F 08/08/2019 by KaiserJeff1986 (USA)

I must say that I am enjoying the very immersive sound that this sound bar is producing. I bought it on sale from Amazon and never doubted that decision. It has mostly all the Dolby and DTS sound codecs and Sony's own vertical sound engine and s-force pro is quite amazing. It's not going to bounce sounds at walls or ceilings but it uses digital sound processing which is convincing to my ears. It's just what I needed and the good thing is also less wires in my living room. I only have a thing to say is more HDMI inputs would be great but I'm happy with the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/08/2019

Hi, KaiserJeff1986!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Great update

HT-X9000F 27/07/2019 by Yunrok (USA)

I bought this about a 3 weeks ago after doing the update too use the arc as a Dolby Atmos is great. The sound is amazing and rich. I think people are missing to keep up with firmware upgrade it works.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Compatibility Issues with my OLED LG B8

HT-X9000F 13/07/2019 by Mandals (USA)

Soundbar sound profiles like "Cinema" don't work. Entering modes other than "News" produces muffled sound. I don't want to watch movies on the "News" mode.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2019

Hi, Mandals!

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

~Earl

0

Great Soundbar!

HT-X9000F 10/07/2019 by Cast2Brian (USA)

Was looking all over for a new soundbar. Previously had a 5.1 vizio soundbar (VIZIO - SmartCast™ 38" 5.1-Channel Soundbar System with Subwoofer - Black) I liked the way the vizio sounded it was perfectly fine for me. I needed something simple not super crazy. I bought the soundbar to watch movies and play games. The reason i got a new soundbar was because i needed more HDMI inputs a pass through. My number one request is a 4K HDR pass through. I've seen the adapters and HDMI Hubs but trust me these do not pass full 4K HDR or dolby vision. The only solution was getting a soundbar that does that same. The reason why i went Sony is because i bought a Sony 930E 65in TV. We all know how great Sony works with one another so i decided to stick with Sony. I have had pretty good luck with them. I was nervous in the beginning not having dedicated back speakers. I'm used to the Vizio's 2 back Satellite speakers. Long story short. This is a great soundbar! I am literally in Awe of this soundbar. Playing a video game like God of War brings the game to life. Every sound and explosion just shakes the entire house. Amazing Sub and sound quality is superb. The HDMI pass through works great! I can control the soundbar and have a 4K UHD player connected. Both can be chosen and the soundbar, UHD player and TV can all be controlled through one remote! AMAZING how Sony works together. I would highly recommend this soundbar. The 2 back speakers of the Vizio did not matter when compared to this Sony soundbars vertical surround sound. Don't hesitate to get this soundbar you will not be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Difficult Product Manual

HTX9000F 09/07/2019 by RAC004 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sound Bar works great with the DVD player but I have not been able to get the sound to sync with the TV or the PS4. Still waiting on the store to help troubleshoot the issue. The manual is simply horrible!!! It is poorly written and very unclear to aid in issues like this. The only reason I am giving it a fair is that it works with the DVD player.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2019

Hello, RAC004!

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-x9000f/articles/00198068

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound, but does not sync with my Sony TV

HTX9000F 29/06/2019 by Trisha VA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this sound bar to use with Sony TV XBR55X800E 4K HDR. The sound is very good, but the timing of the sound does not sync with my TV. I had purchased tech support from the retailer, but they were not able to fix it either.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/07/2019

Hi, Trisha!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this issue may have caused. Please try following the steps on the link below to correct it:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00198068

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Atrocious lip sync issues

HT-XF9000 12/05/2019 by Andy75 (United Kingdom)

Purchased this last summer. I sold my Sony av receiver and 5.1 system for this as I’m not that interested in speakers behind me anymore. So I knew not to expect too much. However, what I never expected was the shocking lip sync issues. We’re talking unusually video before the audio. Of course there is no way to delay the picture to bring it in line with the audio. And before Sony asks, YES. I have installed the latest firmware, and factory reset, and everything else. I do know what I’m doing. Ive been seriously into av for years. I’ve even resorted to bringing the soundbar forwards and adding more video processing to the XF90 tv, which is supposed to work beautifully together as they’re matching products. It’s such a shame because the actual sound quality is really impressive. It’s just the audio sync, which is mentioned on many av forums, and Sony are absolutely no help at all. They have seriously dropped the ball on this product and have no way to resolve it. I wish I could return the product. In fact I might try.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great sound

HTX9000F 28/04/2019 by Gbandy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is fabulous and being able to adjust the sub woofer makes it even better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0