82

4.2 based on 82 customer reviews

49
14
12
3
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09/09/2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sync Problems

HTZ9F 22/02/2019 by Bill52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought xbr55x900f TV and Sony ht-z9f sound bar. The HDMI ARC function between TV and sound bar will not work. I have spent hours on this nothing works! Finally the sales person I bought the TV and sound bar from at Best Buy in Naples, Florida went way beyond resonable expectations and came to my house and put together a work around. The sound bar and TV now work together but still are not properly synced so that sound bar can be controlled by the TV remote. The amount of time I have spent on this is ridiculous. Sony and Best Buy should refund my money and take these defective products back. I purchased a 5 year service contract at Best Buy but they say this isn't covered. Defective products are not covered by Sony or Best Buy? Then what is covered?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

83 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

HTZ9F 06/04/2020 by N2scbaff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this a month ago and would highly recommend it with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi N2scbaff, Great! We're very pleased to hear you're enjoying your soundbar. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

Sony Has Outdone Themselves Again!

HTZ9F 01/04/2020 by Lainiie (USA)

I am so impressed with the Sony HT-Z9F 3.1 Ch. Dolby Atmos® DTS:X™ Wireless Soundbar. Sony has always been a brand I trust when it comes to quality products and they have once again shown me why I always go back to them for electronic purchases. This soundbar is better than what I imagined. The setup was very easy and took hardly anytime at all. Just a few plug ins here and there and I was ready to go. I only needed to review the manual once or twice, because I have a 8K Smart tv and needed to do a few extra settings to make sure everything synched correctly. My tv is a 75 inch and I needed a really good soundbar that would provide amazing sound quality for such a large television. This soundbar definitely made that happen. The look is the soundbar is simple and sleep and looks great against my full entertainment system. I do have to use two remotes to control the tv and soundbar separately, but that really isn’t an issue. In the beginning I did gave problems with the subwoofer cutting out just during movies. It would happen 2-3 times and for only a few seconds. I even moved the subwoofer to the back of the room to provide a larger space for sound, but it still continued with the cutting out. After a little research and digging I found that this was a common issue with a simple reset fix. After resetting the soundbar I have not noticed it cutting out anymore. Everything is perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better sound quality! I would definitely recommend it!

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi, Lainiie, We are glad to know that you are impressed with your new soundbar. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience using your HT-Z9F and thanks for choosing Sony! Enjoy! -VIncent

0

Good sound but poor connections

HT-Z9F 19/03/2020 by David in Illinois (USA)

The sound is very good and I like this bar more than any I have had previously. The main problem I, and others, have found is the connection to rear speakers and the subwoofer. Unfortunately, the system drops connection to the wireless speakers a lot and it makes enjoyment difficult. The only remedy is to daily turn the RF signal off and then back on. It's pretty silly and should be remedied. However, tech support from Sony has been frustrating and unhelpful. Other than this problem, I would get the system - just know that according to your environment, you may have to deal with this issue. There are sound system websites that have discussions on this issue and can provide you some information if it occurs with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/03/2020

Hi David,

I am glad that you like the sound quality of the HTZ9F soundbar. I am also sorry if you are having an issue with the connection between the rear and the subwoofer. We can try following some steps available on the manal.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Seamless Sound

HTZ9F 16/03/2020 by jcgoyanes (USA)

My new Sony HT-Z9F system was a breeze to setup, especially with my Sony TV. The setup was seamless and the design is very minimalistic. The sound quality is superb for my game room and the kids enjoyed the sound effects from Lion King on it. All in all great design and not bulky.

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

@jcgoyanes, we're glad that you like the sound quality of the soundbar. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Sony HT-Z9F

HTZ9F 10/03/2020 by rws2285 (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F was incredibly simple to setup and get running. It took me longer to pull out my old receiver and 5.1 speaker setup than it did to unbox the Sony and start watching a movie. The sound was pretty impressive for a soundbar, and even slightly better than my previous 3 year old, mid-range 5.1 speaker setup with a dedicated Dolby Atmos receiver.

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2020

Hello rws2285, it's nice to hear you have an easy setup experience with your new Sony soundbar. Thanks for sharing this cool feedback! - Romeo

0

Good but I expected better

HT-Z9F 09/03/2020 by Disappointed Sony Fan (USA)

I've had the HT-Z9F and the SA-Z9R rear surrounds about 6 months now and bought it to replace a HT-NT3 that was beginning to have problems when changing input from streaming Netflix back to the cable box. For the price of the sound bar with the rear surrounds, which should be included with the Z9F since its the only bar they can be paired with, I don't believe Sony gave me what I paid for. It has the latest technology with eARC, 4K HDR, the newer Dolby formats, Hi Res Audio, the ability to fine tune for each speaker distance and control the volume of the main bar, sub and surrounds independently and so on. I would give it 5 stars for all of this but the actual sound just isn't worthy of 5 stars, not to mention the Dolby Atmos reproduction leaves a lot to be desired. I read reviews, researched and listened to the in-store demo's prior to purchasing so I had a decent idea of what I was getting but I've been left disappointed with the end result of the sound that I hear in my home. I'm a Sony fan and have bought Sony products for the last 20 years and will continue to do so even though the Z9F hasn't met my expectations. I have the Z9F paired with a XBR830C TV but intend to move it to the bedroom and purchase the XBR950H when it becomes available in the near future and honestly, I was hoping Sony would introduce an upgrade to the Z9F for 2020 but it appears they will not. The older NT3 provided a fuller, richer overall sound than the Z9F. The slightly larger mid's with independent tweeters provide a cleaner, sharper sound then the single 2" cones used in the Z9F. I really believe this sound bar could make a significant step forward if it had 3 of the 2 way speakers used in the NT3 and the ST5000. Bottom line, if Sony had put the attention into the speakers they used for this bar as they did making sure it had the current, up to date technology and the latest set of features, they may have produced a top of the line sound bar whose sound actually matched the feature set that they built into the unit. Unfortunately, I don't believe the sound produced matches all the features this unit has.....especially when the rear surrounds have to be purchased separately. It has a premium price tag for a little above average sound quality. Sony, please take the Z9F package and upgrade the speakers used in the main bar and you may just hit the mark for the audience the unit is intended for.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/03/2020

Hi there,

We appreciate your feedback about the sound quality of your ht-z9f. You can choose from different sound modes on your soundbar to ensure you're getting the optimal sound experience with different sound sources.

Ref: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf (page 49)

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam


0

Good but bad

HTZ9F 06/03/2020 by svenergy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speaker when it works is a top notch speaker, but the bluethooth cuts out a lot and have to always go in and switch from auto to manual it is very annoying. Wish there was a way to fix that. It works for a day or so then it starts to cut out again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/03/2020

Hi svenergy, I understand that your htz9f is having issues with Bluetooth. Please try following the steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00175201

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200425

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

great sound

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by Edward55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was easy to install and sounds great. Glad we decided to purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/03/2020

Hi Edward55,

Thank you for your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest theater audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you.

Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Love the Sound!!

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by alicia124 (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar and I must say it is outstanding. The sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple and the sound so clear. We also enjoyed karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it. The movie sound is just like being in a theater, I am quite pleased with this soundbar. We look forward to movie nights with the family, experiencing the effects of actually being in a theater, but enjoying in the comfort of your home.

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi alicia124, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the sound quality of this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! ~Earl


0

Excellent Soundbar

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by Jlm80 (USA)

This soundbar puts out great sound and looks wonderful on our mantle. Setup up was easy as we followed the simple instructions to connect the soundbar to our TV. The sound is clear and the surround speakers add a great theater like quality. We watch TV and listen to music pretty much every day, this soundbar makes our experience outstanding.

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi Jlm80, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate the sound quality of our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl




0

Dolby Atmos With Just 2 Separate Speakers

HTZ9F 05/03/2020  (USA)

When I first read that this speaker has Dolby Atmos in just a sound bar I was a little apprehensive. When I set it up, cranked up the volume and played some Dolby Atmos videos, I was thoroughly impressed. Now I don't want to say that it's as good as a full surround system with ceiling speakers but for someone who just wants amazing sounding audio without the added cost of an entire sound system, this is certainly the sound bar for them. A week after my purchase I also purchased the rear speakers and those definitely completed the package but are by no means mandatory for great sound. I highly recommend this sound bar to anyone looking for a sound bar that can get close to the sound of a full system.

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi mattpayne92, that's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Truly awesome sound quality

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by contactmanish (USA)

I am totally impressed by the sound quality of this sound bar. The 3.1 channel output gives a top notch sound giving an immersive TV watching experience .The sound bar is easy to setup and use. The bluetooth setup was also very easy. I tried the sound bar in different sound mode ( Movie, music and others) and the sound quality is very impressive. Totally recommend this soundbar to anyone looking for theater like sound quality at home.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi contactmanish, awesome! We’re glad you like the sound quality of our product. Thank you for choosing Sony.

0

Awesome Sound

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by cyber99cobra (USA)

This thing is amazing! The sound quality is unmatched and the connectivity just makes things so much easier. We had been using the television speakers and when we installed this soundbar we were blown away at the difference. We are no longer backing up scenes to try and hear what is said because the voice feature that this has makes talking much clearer, not to mention everything louder and clearer overall. I don't know that we could ever go back to not having external sound again after this. It also is a beautiful peace that just compliments our setup. Absolutely love this soundbar and now we are already talking about getting the rear speakers just to add to it.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi cyber99cobra, we appreciate your positive feedback regarding the sound quality of our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Great Soundbar!!

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by kacherry25 (USA)

Wow what a great sound bar! From the moment it arrived we were so excited to try it out in our basement. It was super easy to set up and didn’t take more than 30 minutes from start to finish. Once we had it set up we tried watching a movie to hear the sound quality. It was awesome and honestly felt like being in a movie theater! We then listened to music and it was just as impressive. You can certainly tell the difference between something of this quality and Wonderful brand. This sound bar really completes our basement, and I am so happy we got it!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi kacherry25, that's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Amazing Sound with Lots of Features

HTZ9F 05/03/2020 by amersonmd (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F is an amazing device! From receiving the box to watching a movie while listing with the sound bar took about 45 minutes. Instructions were clear and concise and having the wall mounting template made the install process much easier. The ability to pair speakers wirelessly made the install of the sub-woofer a breeze. Once installed the onscreen menus for the sound bar and set up process were great. Having the option to auto power on the unit when my TV is turned on was a welcome surprise. The sound is immersive and the base is deeper and rounder than I expected. I'm still playing with the Chromecast and Bluetooth music streaming. So far being able to access my Spotify has been amazing. I punch a couple quick buttons on my phone and I' rocking out to my playlist. Pros: Quick set up Seamless integration with my TV Ability to stream my Spotify account Overall sound quality Cons: Yet to find any I would happily recommend this to anyone looking for great sound quality and ease of use.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2020

Hi amersonmd, thanks for the cool review! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our product. Thanks for choosing Sony! ~Earl

0

Next best sound compared to the movie theater.

HTZ9F 03/03/2020 by Sugarmedic23 (USA)

Sony products are all amazing and this one just sealed the deal. I love that it has different modes. Each sound excellent. It pairs well with my Samsung tv also. My favorite feature is that it is wireless. Easy to set up. Great product. Have already recommended to all my family and friends. Thank you Sony and Insiders!

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/03/2020

@Sugarmedic23, Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Awesome Soundbar for Flats

HT-Z9F 26/02/2020 by Chottu (USA)

I bought it two months back and I am happy with it as it delivers great sound but the left speaker alone crackles when there is more treble or base. It’s very disturbing in the middle of an action scene or music. I tried reducing the db level to -4 And keeping the volume below 25 so it’s less. Kindly help. Is it a defect Piece or it’s common ? I had been to the “Extra Stores” again,That’s where I bought it from and checked another piece but it also had the same issue. Please help.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi Chottu,

Try to reset the soundbar to factory default settings and try again. Also to isolate the issue, you may try different sources such as cable box, Blu-ray or DVD player and etc. See page 78 on how to reset.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 

Sincerely,
David

0

Okay bar

HT-Z9F 18/02/2020 by aakar (USA)

Have this with the x-tension speakers, sound quality depends on source (doesn't it always) if you watch TV shows, you may forget it is on, but comes alive with movies and sports (motorsports are stunning). biggest complaint is lack of tone controls and rear speakers not playing loud enough @ full volume setting.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/02/2020

Hi aakar,

We appreciate the feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Regards,
David

0

Sony Sound Bar

HTZ9F 16/02/2020 by Gera23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with our Sony TV. Works and sounds great. Easy to use. Gives you surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/02/2020

Hi Gera23,

Thank you for supporting Sony and enjoy your soundbar.

Regards,
David

0

Different sound channels

HTZ9F 09/02/2020 by william86 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the soundbar from Best Buy this past December and it better than the Samsung N-650 soundbar, that I purchased in August 2018.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/02/2020

Hello william86,

That's awesome! We're happy to hear that you're satisfied with the sound quality of our latest Dolby Atmos soundbar, the Sony HT-Z9F.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Romeo

0

Awesome sound

HTZ9F 26/01/2020 by Dlbb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this soundbar with my new x950 tv because of the discount you could get and the salesman demonstrated the differences of each one and this hit the mark for me, when I got everything out and connected it was even better than in the store, and I also purchased the two rear wireless surround sound speakers and these took it to another level the sound is crisp and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2020

Hi, Dlbb!

Awesome! Good to know that you're happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Awesome sound

HTZ9F 25/01/2020 by Doreen214 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for Christmas to go with my tv and it just elevate the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Nice Unit could use Equalizer

HT-Z9F 23/01/2020 by Vic_likes_Sony (USA)

I purchased this unit on New Years eve together with a new Sony 65inch and needed something to enhance the sound. Its a very nice sound bar but I must agree with a few of the comments made on this post. An Equalizer is absolutely needed. It would address a few of the comments posted here an some I read elsewhere on the web stating the unit didn't produce enough base. An EQ would allow them to adjust sound to their liking and should be something relatively easy to deliver through a software upgrade.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great Sound

HT-Z9F 28/12/2019 by Billyxox (USA)

I purchased this unit 11 months ago, so have had a solid experience with this unit. As with other comments, Sony could add treble and bass controls... that is my only advice. This system sounds great especially with NetFlix atmos content. I highly advise buying the additional 2 rear speakers as it will then fill the room with sound separation. Finally there have been comments about losing speaker connections. The simplistic fix is: 1) unplug the unit for 30 seconds, 2) replug while depressing and holding the (-) negative button on the console. 3) Then hit the on button while holding down the - button. As it powers up the word "reset" appears and all speakers will work again. In conclusion I love this unit and have received many compliments.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great buy

HTZ9F 28/12/2019 by Eastonac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice sound bar great features quality again from Sony. Priced a bit high but worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Wireless subwoofer constantly cuts out

HT-Z9F 24/12/2019 by td57 (USA)

Worked for a while then started cutting out. Reset system, moved subwoofer, it works for a while then starts cutting out again. I have seen many comments online from people having the same issue.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

Response From Sony Social Support
24/12/2019

Hello, td57!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Good Sound

HTZ9F 20/12/2019 by Golf Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar a few weeks ago as part of a package deal with a Sony TV. There was a substantial discount for purchasing them at the same time. When I first hooked it up, I had the cable box and Blu Ray player connected to the TV and then connected the TV to the sound bar. The sound was not in sync with the people talking. I went back to the store and was advised to buy a higher quality HDMI cable than the one provided with the sound bar and also to connect the cable box and Blu Ray player directly to the sound bar. That resolved the problem. Works great but Sony could have supplied a better HDMI cable for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Very good sound, but seems to have some bugs

HTZ9F 02/12/2019 by Duntzman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 months ago. The sound is very good, but so far every few weeks I have had to factor reset due to issues. First it kept dropping connection with the sub, but was fine after a reset. A few weeks later it started randomly dropping all sound for a second every 15 mins or so. Again a reset seemed to fix it, for now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Duntzman!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

great features

HTZ9F 01/12/2019 by talltex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this soundbar after getting my new tv. Sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple. I also enjoy karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

MAKE A SOUND SOUND WITH EVERY DEVICE...

HTZ9F 01/12/2019 by R WE SET FOR VIEWING (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is so pour and great when it hooked up with every device nice and clear and sharp you can't go wrong with this Soundbar model. Especially when you can easily find the blue Tooth to connection. This is a great unit so you should get one too...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No more CC's !!!

HT-Z9F 10/11/2019 by AlexP712 (USA)

First of all this is a very high quality device. It is beautifully made it like what you expect from a Bentley. Setup was seamless and I literally had to do nothing but plug it in. The subwoofer was automatically paired before I could even find the manual page on the topic. My test BD is the Eagles Farewell tour concert in Australia. I very demanding disc since the recording quality is so good. It sounded so good my wife and I sat down and listened to the entire concert - even though she had other things to do at the time. Next, I put in Spectre. I had the sound low and she was in the other room, She came out and said "That is so clear" Lately, we seemed to have to watch movies with the CC turned on, maybe a little age thing going on here, but these days movies and shows tend to deemphasize the dialog tracks or that dialog gets lost in the other sounds on the movie. Not so with this soundbar. It has the smoothest and most precise sound I have ever heard, easily cinema-quality or better. Plus with this, we can listen at more moderate volume levels and not miss a thing that is said. There is a "voice up" function that helps with the dialog but with this, you don't even need it. The overall sound is an airy openness that I find very pleasing. The bass is tight, on the Eagles disc I could practically count the cycles on the low end. I experimented with the different sound settings but honestly "Standard" sounds the best to me whether movies or music. Last night we re-watched The Bourne Legacy with no CC's first time in a long time. Later I think I will invest in the rear speakers, but it is hard to imagine how the experience can get much better. As we were watching my wife said she thought she heard something in the bedroom! It was in the movie! After she went to bed I watched Spectre again n "Night" mode. This evidently compresses the dynamic range where you keep the sound down at lower levels and not miss any dialog and also avoid rattling the windows. I could not be more pleased and this soundbar is worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sub cuts out constantly

HT-Z9F 03/11/2019 by Desperado2583 (USA)

For nearly a year, I've tried every fix I can find online. Moved the sub as close to the sound bar as it can possibly be. Still sound cuts in and out several times per minute. Makes movie unwatchable or game unplayable. End up finally shutting it off in frustration every time. Wouldn't want it if it were free.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/11/2019

Hello, Desperado2583!

We're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Upgrade from 2015 system.

HTZ9F 29/10/2019 by Moomba (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perceptible improvement over older system. Designed to work with specific Tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Moomba!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

What A Surprise

HTZ9F 06/10/2019 by gclarkins (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar was purchased because on a recommendation from a Sony Rep working in the store where it was purchased. I was hesitant to purchase this sound bar at first but, its totally blown away my expectations on sound and build quality. This unit was easy to set up and use. It absolutely rocks the room with stunning sound from high's too low's. Previously I had always perceived Sony products as low end or cheap quality. I can tell you that today Sony has changed my mind about them starting with this sound bar. I think I'm going to be purchasing more Sony products in the future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, gclarkins!

We are glad that the soundbar didn't fail you. Thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Sound immersion!

HTZ9F 08/09/2019 by Big TexEman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had surround sound before, but this system is fantastic. It’s so good I had to buy some old war movies with big helicopters roaring to re-experience that good old cinema feeling. Do get the rear speakers as well for the complete effect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/09/2019

Hello, Big TexEman!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Great sound

HT-Z9F 08/09/2019 by Mackel (USA)

Have had for about 6 months. Great sounds especially with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
12/09/2019

Hello, Mackel!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

No trebles

HT-Z9F 08/09/2019 by AudioGuy2000 (USA)

I got this soundbar along with rear speakers. Trebles are non-existent. Hi hat sounds more like ch-ch-ch instead of ts-ts-ts. A simple software equalizer would correct that and I hope Sony could roll it out as a firmware update. You can raise upper-mids by pressing “Voice” button twice to set it to “up 2”. It helps somewhat but it is no replacement for a proper equalizer. Lows are no problem. You have a dedicated subwoofer volume rocker on the remote. After paying a thousand dollars for an audio system I am upset that I don’t have complete control of the output. Presets are great, but they can’t cover every use case. I have faith in Sony engineering and my house is filled with Sony gear for a reason. I believe that we are going to see equalizer - a basic feature found on even the cheapest sound bars in the next software update. Dear Sony, I hope you are listening.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hi, AudioGuy2000! We regret to hear that it's not living up to your expectations. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thanks for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

Great bar

HT-Z9F 07/09/2019 by fcabalm (USA)

Excellent bar for enjoying Dolby ATMOS and DTS X I enjoy this along with my Xbox one X and a Samsung Smart TV and the Z9R surround speakers It is almost perfect except for the fact that when playing music you cannot hear it in the surround speakers and finally the ATMOS is little or at least I have not been able to configure the bar to enjoy the inmersive sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hi, fcabalm!

We are thankful for your feedback. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Erin

0

Troubleshoot Sync Issue

HT-Z9F 05/09/2019 by Blst (USA)

I see many uses are experiencing occasional sync disconnects, and this is one of the biggest concerns when buying this soundbar. I tired many solutions for hours and hours and found that TURNING OFF RF channel in the advanced option (attached pic) almost always fixes it. While RF channel option is provided to secure stable connectivity, ironically it seems to cause this issue. Wish Sony can update firmware and to solve it in the future. Otherwise, with rear speakers, this soundbar not only has an excellent sound quality among other soundbars but also gives nice integration with other Sony devices when used together. My wish list includes a control of equalizer but not a major issue. Menu is simple but not intuitive. Display of video and sound source format. Optimization tool to configure distance of speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hello, Blst!

Thank you so much for this helpful review! We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services. You may also check out the links below for other troubleshooting steps in out of sync issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00198068

Firmware update version 2.220
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads/00016242

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Good SB but Prefer Full Home Theater Setup

HTZ9F 22/08/2019 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased when I got my 900F 4K TV because it has 2 HDMI inputs - 1 for Cable Box and 1 for 4K Player. The 1 HDMI output then goes to TVs HDMI3 ARC High Speed input port. Unfortunately the SB partially blocks the 900F infared signal from the remote. I initially purchased the SB designed for the 900F but it didnt support multiple HDMI inputs. I also added on the Z9F wireless rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2019

Hi, jghsony!

We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for all of your inputs. Enjoy your soundbar.

Regards,
David

0

Awesome Sound

HTZ9F 20/08/2019 by ULTRASOUND (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a 65x900f television and what is essential to pair with such a great TV you need great sound so I listened to several soundbars and I kept going back to the Sony HT-Z9F this was a perfect marriage. Very happy with my purchases so far they are only three months old and I think they will last 300 months based on my experience with Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
22/08/2019

Hello, ULTRASOUND!

We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Almost fool proof

HTZ9F 01/08/2019 by Lake0453 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing the sound you get out of a bar. I read all about the set-up, but it MUCH easier than I thought it would be.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Lake0453!

Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David

0

When It Worked, It Was Great. I Need Support

HTZ9F 22/07/2019 by DJervis11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product worked great for about 6 weeks. Now the after some time, the voice starts to get muffled. I have confirmed that it happens on all input sources, HDMI-1. HDMI-2, and Pandora. I remove the sound bar, and the TV speakers are normal and muffled. I unplug the sound bar for some time, and the sound comes back to normal. The issue almost seems as if there is something that overheats, but I could be making this up. I am an engineer, and I have not been able to figure out how to get Sony's support. When the product worked, it was absolutely amazing. I may have received a lemon, but I am trying to rectify this problem. If Sony can issue a replacement, this is a 6/5 star product. It is an amazing product. I am not an audiophile, but I think this sounds better than other companies that rhyme with pose. I will change my review if I can.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/07/2019

Hi,DJervis11!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the troubleshooting steps on the manual to isolate the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf (pg. 69).

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Great features.

HTZ9F 21/07/2019 by Bartlch2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am so glad I did! The 3.1 channel with atmos and wireless subwoofer is awesome! I added the two wireless rear speakers...totally awesome sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound/footprint; poor software & Bravia Sync

HT-Z9F 07/07/2019 by fjho2000 (USA)

I bought this sound bar with its rear speakers as well as the Sony BDV-S6700 Blu-ray to replace a 3D Sony home theater that stopped working and couldn’t be replaced. I connected the sound bar to my Sony xbr-55x850a Bravia tv. The connection was flawless and the Bravia Sync worked as it should: when I turned the sound bar on, the tv speakers would turn off and vice versa. Then I connected the blu-ray player to the sound bar to its HDMI 1 input and as soon as I turned the sound bar on, the tv displayed a message that the device couldn’t be found and then the tv speakers would remain on while the sound bar was on, creating an echo and I had to manually mute the tv for it to stop. After resetting the sound bar, I connected the blu-ray to the HDMI 2 input, but got the same problem. I factory reset the tv and the sound bar, and same issue with both HDMI inputs. I then factory reset all, and then connected an Apple TV to the sound bar input (all these with the required HDMI cables) and got the same issue, and so far all I get from Sony support is to do factory reset, which doesn’t solve the issue. If these products are from the same company and are Bravia Sync compatible, they should work without issues. Disappointed on that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, fjho2000!

We are very sorry to hear what happened as well for the inconvenience this caused you. To further assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

turns itself off all the time

HT-Z9F 25/06/2019 by artdavinci (USA)

I am going crazy having to listen to white noise when the sound bar decides to turn itself off

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Needs ability to disable touch buttons

HT-Z9F 08/06/2019 by Tbear678 (USA)

I would’ve loved this system, however Sony does not include the ability to disable the touch buttons which is a huge problem for me considering my cat loves to sit on things.....including this soundbar thus turning on the system and my tv or even blasting the volume up to maximum. Most manufacturers include a Child Lock in order to turn off the touch controls and just use the remote to control the system, for almost $1000 that feature should’ve been on the system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/06/2019

Hi Tbear678, thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about your soundbar. Rest assured this will not be seen and reaches the proper team for future improvements.

Regards,
Erin

0

Treat sound at a reasonable price

HTZ9F 05/06/2019 by Colorist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Z9F is a very versatile sound bar that delivers excellent sound in many ways. Whether you are watching a movie in 5.1 or a sporting event, you get great sound with excellent definition. I love the center channel control to bump up the dialog. It really helps when the dialog track is coxed down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality but...

HT-Z9F 04/06/2019 by David899 (USA)

I have to say: I love the sound features but Sony PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE add a functionality on the remote control so I can switch the dolby speaker virtualizer function with the Sony Sound mode WITHOUT have to go to the configuration menu in order to change my audio experience. It's a big waste of time to do that every time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Unbelievable Awesome Sound!!!

HTZ9F 17/05/2019 by Vegasmike60 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar system is AMAZING!! It puts out sound that I thought only a professional sound system for a recording studio could put out. I could seriously blow out the windows with this! In addition, this compact and very sleek design looks fantastic and is a most welcome addition to my entertainment system. Sony, you have come up with an Amazing product that satisfies both my TV and You Tube sounds. THANK YOU!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Z9F

HT-Z9F 16/04/2019 by Oscarr09 (USA)

Does not have the Full Atmos experience, but does a great job virtually creating the experience and beats the heck out of many sound bars out there, the rears are a plus and definitely give it the true immersive sound. Id reccomend to anyone looking for a good theatre quality set up for decent sized rooms or living rooms.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Early Disappointment

HTZ9F 15/04/2019 by SamWill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this a week with the new Sony 4K Ultra TV. They really don't work well together using eARC.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
16/04/2019

Hi SamWill, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your soundbar. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include a brief description of the issue for further assistance. Regards, Erin

0

Sounds Great!!

HTZ9F 31/03/2019 by Stats (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You can feel the sound. Excellent addition to our new 75 in Sony Bravia TV. I added the rear speakers but realize now, I didn't need to, the soundbar and the subwoofer alone, create the great movie theater sound experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Features in a little package !!!

HTZ9F 30/03/2019 by Jimmy S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago, almost bought a Bose system instead. Very Happy I bought this Sony system instead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sync Problems

HTZ9F 22/02/2019 by Bill52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought xbr55x900f TV and Sony ht-z9f sound bar. The HDMI ARC function between TV and sound bar will not work. I have spent hours on this nothing works! Finally the sales person I bought the TV and sound bar from at Best Buy in Naples, Florida went way beyond resonable expectations and came to my house and put together a work around. The sound bar and TV now work together but still are not properly synced so that sound bar can be controlled by the TV remote. The amount of time I have spent on this is ridiculous. Sony and Best Buy should refund my money and take these defective products back. I purchased a 5 year service contract at Best Buy but they say this isn't covered. Defective products are not covered by Sony or Best Buy? Then what is covered?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/02/2019

Hi Bill52, we are sorry to hear what happened. For Sync related issue, we recommend following the steps below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00191214

Hope this helps.


Regards,
Erin

0

Surprisingly easy to install and work CORRECTLY

HTZ9F 30/01/2019 by Retired Maggot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the HT=Z9F today after reading a number of reviews. We installed it. We prefer HDMI over Bluetooth as we have enough electrical waves in our house so we had to get an optical digital cable and an additional HDMI Cable, but it all works great. We checked it on regular TV, Blue Ray, Apple TV (News and a movie) and so far it works perfectly. We are not "audiophiles" but we like the improvement. Most of all, it was near painless to hook up and get working CORRECTLY with our Sony KDL-52V5100 TV and Sony Blue Ray UBP8X00! We paid $649 for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Perfect For Some, Great for Most, Headache for Few

HTZ9F 17/01/2019 by CombatKeeler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Soundbar to compliment our z9f tv and I must admit, I was pretty frustrated with it at first. The sound from the soundbar kept cutting out and even the bass from the subwoofer would cut out at times. I informed Sony of these issues and about a month and a half later they sent me a replacement. This was only after a Sony represtative and I exhausted every possible fix for the soundbar. Right now it works like a charm and is perfect for the apartment my wife and I live in. I should note that it’s possible the early issues could have been due to the hdmi cables used to connect my devices. I bought the belkin ultra fast speed hdmi around the same time I received my second soundbar so I could enjoy the Dolby vision/atmos media I was trying to watch before. As of today (2 months after arrival of replacement soundbar) I am super happy with this product. The reason I didn’t give 5 stars is because of the early frustrations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Amazing Sound Bar

HTZ9F 14/01/2019 by Chevyman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar about a month ago. The sound is amazing. Install was a breeze. I only have one issue. I purchased the wireless rear speakers (SAZ9R) with the sound bar. Every once and awhile the sub and rear speakers cut out. This is very discouraging specially in the middle of watching a movie. I reached out to Sony and they helped me do a reset. It helped out temporally and then started doing it again. It sucks that I have to turn unit off and sometimes unplug for it to work correctly. Besides this issue the sound bar is awesome. I just hope that Sony may come up with a solution to fix the connection error with an update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

GREAT DEVICE

HTZ9F 02/01/2019 by CY BOY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I PURCHASE THIS DEVICE 2 MONTHS AGO VERY HAPPY WITH THE RESULT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HTZ9F 01/01/2019 by Billy61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added this to my Sony x900f and it sounds great. Looks good and sound is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Complete Wireless Quality Sound and Bass.

HT-Z9F 28/12/2018 by 0S10D00GIT1TB (USA)

Updates: I can see that as the more we take in to our interest the more our smart devices become exactly what we want for ever. Since 98

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

fantastic sound bar

HTZ9F 04/12/2018 by jetsy61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sounding sound bar, easy setup thanks to sonys well detailed owners guide blows bose 300 out of the room, a much better sound bar !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

More like 5.1 with no Dolby Atmos.

HT-Z9F 24/11/2018 by Atmos fanatic (USA)

Bought this unit over the more expensive 5000 Atmos sound bar from Sony but did not realize this is just a 5.1 setup. I have the surround speakers and listen to plenty of Dolby Atmos and DTS X soundtracks but they are merely 5.1 with no immersion of heights at all. Even with the Vertical Engine on this is disappointing and should not even have the Atmos name on it since there is no height channels and only 3 channels up front. Should have bought the more expensive 5000 for the height channels but there are no surround speakers for that unit. If you are looking for a good 5.1 set up and this is it (but awfully expensive for just 5.1) but if you want Atmos or DTSX surround then look elsewhere. 3.1 and Atmos should not even be spoken in the same description. Thanks for over hype Sony. No give us a REAL Atmos and DTS X soundbar!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

6

0

GREAT SYSTEM

HTZ9F 23/11/2018 by JEFFERSON0428 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I,AM VERY VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SOUND BAR, IT IS ALSOME

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great speakers

HTZ9F 10/11/2018 by Kingcobra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a easy set up and the sound is excellent and have to give it a five because it sounds good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

fantastic sound

HTZ9F 04/11/2018 by tzar1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy set up great features sounds great (so far)..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very Happy

HTZ9F 25/09/2018 by Master 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the sound bar with Sony XBR75900F TV, and it has created theatre like surround sound. The negative is the screen display on the bar, it is almost illegible from the TV viewing distance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Everything Sony

HT-Z9F 17/09/2018 by yads2k11 (USA)

Had mine for a few months now, it's awesome only missing 1 key feature-- "night mode" need a schedule on and off switch. I don't like the sw on at night so I wish it can go on and off on its own, otherwise this thing is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09/09/2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

wonderful product

HT-Z9F 03/09/2018 by stefan james (USA)

I have recently purchased the 3.1ch Dolby Atmos sound for my SONY Bravia ultra4KHDR TV, The sound is awesome. I can feel like I'm watching a movie in the theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

It is ok, servces the purpose but could be better

HTZ9F 23/08/2018 by Kherrm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a couple months ago to upgrade from a Dennon sound bar with wireless sub. It is ok but think it could sound better for the price. I have it attached to a Sony 65" Smart tv. Sound is good but not spectacular. Have an old Klipsch unit with another tv that appears to have better sound depth.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2018

Hi Kherrm, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Great sound but...

HT-Z9F 24/07/2018 by Tvandmusicsametime (USA)

I purchase this an a Sony xbr55x900f Sony 4k tv. Everything fairly easy to set up. Sounds great. No problems in that area. Very satisfied overall. If there is one thing I would like to see added is the ability to watch tv (with the sound turned down) and listen to music via bluetooth. Also listen to music while playing video games (with the sound tunes down). Have tried every possible combination of hookup and cannot seem to make this happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

9