207

3.9 based on 207 customer reviews

110
36
22
12
27
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09/09/2018 by CD427 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Horrible Long-Term Buy - Buyer Beware!

HT-Z9F 24/11/2020 by ThePrEPDoctor (USA)

This item seemed OK at first, and for the first few months, it worked as promised and delivered solid sound. I purchased this item with a SONY Bravia TV thinking that they would work well with each other. Then, after a few months, the sound started going out for a few seconds. No matter what I tried (unplugging, updating software, factory resetting both TV and soundbar, replacing the cables), nothing worked. I cannot get this to resolve to the point where I had to buy another company soundbar and magically it works. Buyer beware!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

207 Customer Reviews

0

A nightmare on every level.

HT-Z9F 08/04/2021 by Martin D (USA)

Let me start the review by saying that I have very low expectations for a soundbar. I don't expect to be impressive and playing music, or need a home theater experience to wow me. I was just looking for good compatibility with my new Sony television and improved dialogue sound which is allegedly one of the selling points of this sound bar. Frankly, if this $900 sound bar was compatible with the new Sony TV, boosted dialogue somewhat, and sounded as good as a $100 soundbar, I would have been fine. Instead, I got a soundbar that sounds weaker and thinner than a $20 Bluetooth speaker, or a ten year old $250 television. I know this because I compared both side by side. Also music streamed from any source sounds dramatically worse than the $20 Bluetooth speaker. As mentioned in other reviews, the subwoofer (which is 5 ft from the soundbar) constantly becomes disconnected. The soundbar also frequently becomes disconnected, no matter which method you use to hook it up. Resets don't help either. How can It be so completely incompatible with my new Sony TV? Unfortunately, I had gotten Covid shortly after buying it, so I didn't get to hook it up and check it out before the return period ran out at Best Buy. Now it now sits unplugged on my mantle, just so that we can watch TV with sound. It is literally a $900 piece of junk that will end up in a landfill, which is an environmental nightmare. I wish I could at least recycle it. I don't now what has happened to Sony. They used to make quality products that worked. Instead

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2021

Hi Martin D,

We regret to hear that the soundbar is not performing to your standards. Make sure that the software version of the soundbar is up-to-date. This improves the overall performance and stability of the unit:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads/00016893

To have the best sound experience, you can use the sound settings of the soundbar to tailor-fit the sound quality to your needs. Please refer to pages 49-50 of this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf

To help improve the connectivity, you may refer to these steps:

Turn on the RF Channel.
-On the supplied soundbar remote control, press the HOME button.
-Select Setup.
-Select Advanced Settings.
-Select Speaker Settings.
-Select Wireless Speaker Settings.
-Select RF Channel.
-Select On.

You may also refer to this link for more information:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429

For additional subwoofer troubleshooting steps, refer to pages 72-73 of the manual:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf

If the issues are still not resolved, please let us know so we can turn your experience around. Please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Soundbar Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,

-Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent Dolsy Soundbar

HT-ZF9 06/04/2021 by SwLondon65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this soundbar for around a week now and am so far am extremely hasty with it. The build quality is great, as you'd expect from Sony, set up it fairly straight forward, I'd advise that you use good quality Interconnects, it comes with 1 x Optical cable but I'd recommend using quality HDMI cables where possible. There are 3 x HDMI ports, as follows: - 1 x HDMI ARC / EARC - Connect this to HDMI port on TV ( marked Arc / Earc) in / Out 2 x HDMI ports, connect 1 to Sky / Virgin box etc. and 1 to Blu Ray player / Games console 1 x Optical port 1 x 3.5mm Aux Port 1 x Wired ethernet port Once all connections have been made, following the instructions, set up is fairely easy. Connect to WIFI network etc. (Wireless Sub connects automatically.when switched for the first time). Sound quality is great, although I think it will take a while to tweak the settings and find which suit your own taste. The Sound from the sound bar is easy on the ear for film and music and had more than enough power to fill a large room, I do think the optional wireless speakers will be well worth adding attached later date though. All in all I am very happy with this soundbar. Once connected set up i

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28/03/2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound, awkward user interface

HT-ZF9 14/03/2021 by Jaylo33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound from this, it's got great bass and really clear dialogue. My only negative is the user setting screen that comes up on my Sony TV, it is really small and the navigation keys really don't work very well, with the screen going blank intermittently. I need to speak with Sony to understand if this is a fault or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

GREAT QUALITY

HT-ZF9 12/03/2021 by Spursy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my new Sony TV and to replace an existing Sony home theatre to save on space. Works very well and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sound bar

HT-ZF9 10/03/2021 by Ray 56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar fill in so many sounds that you miss when watching normal TV. Quality product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Better than most

HT-ZF9 08/03/2021 by Allan65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Heard this on a demo instore and just had to buy it. Amazing clarity and sound quality. Also well made. Remote could be a bit more upmarket if I’m going to be picky. Overall really happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good depth of sound

HT-ZF9 05/03/2021 by Davy20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with Sony Bravia TV. Size length wise is a good fit for the TV. Setting up was not straight forward but contact with Sony solved the problem. (Info bar kept popping up randomly. A factory reset on the TV was needed. There is plenty of power. I don't have the rear speakers so can't comment on their effectiveness.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

very very poor performance

HTZ9F 27/02/2021 by hamidjj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound bar always disconnect from the TV and force me to restart the TV

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/03/2021

Hi hamidjj, We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the HTZ9F Soundbar disconnecting from your TV. We'd love to troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. In the meantime, please follow these steps to troubleshoot the issue if you are having with the Soundbar.

Check the type and connection of the HDMI cable, optical digital cable, or analog audio cable that is connected to the system and the TV
Disconnect the cables that are connected between the TV and the system, then connect them firmly again. Disconnect the AC power cords (mains leads) of the TV and the system from the AC outlets (mains), then connect them again.
When the system and TV are connected with an HDMI cable, check the following.
– The HDMI jack of the connected TV
is labeled with “eARC” or “ARC.”
– The Control for HDMI function of the
TV is set to on.
– The eARC or ARC function of the TV
is enabled.
– On the system, [Control for HDMI] is set to [On] and [TV Audio Input Mode] to [Auto]
If your TV is not compatible with eARC, set [Setup] - [Advanced Settings] - [HDMI Settings] - [eARC] to [Off]
If your TV is not compatible with eARC or ARC, connect the optical digital cable (not supplied). If the TV is not compatible with eARC or ARC, TV sound will not be output from the system even if the system is connected to the TV’s HDMI IN jack

You may also refer to our troubleshooting article https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00137387

Should you need further assistance, please contact us for help.

Please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com

Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Best Buy Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

Regards,
Carl

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 25/02/2021 by TonyT23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A massive improvement in sound quality over my previous system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Awesome when it works...

HTZ9F 19/02/2021 by TonydJalisco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this to go along with my Sony TV since I'm OCD and felt it would be wrong to mix with another brand. This unit gives great immersive sound that fills in our open concept living room so good I wanted to get another one for our bedroom. I was so happy until it started acting up... so this unit will run like a charm and then just cut out for lapses of 1-4 minutes while it reconnects to both the wireless subwoofer and the television. So imagine watching a movie or a series and then loosing sound as if someone hit the mute button. The best thing I have found to work around this is disconnecting the home theater system threw the tv settings and then switching back from tv to home theater, but having to do this 2-4 times threw a 2 hr movie is unacceptable for a unit of this price point. No fixes for this have been found on Reddit or other forums as of yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/02/2021

Hello TonydJalisco,

We do apologize for the inconvenience. You may find this link helpful on how to resolve your issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00020051


If that didn't work, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
David

0

Didn’t Last A Month

HT-Z9F 17/02/2021 by Cowtown (USA)

This sound bar lasted three weeks and Sony will not replace with a new sound bar. I am completely underwhelmed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2021

Hi Cowtown, We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the HT-Z9F Soundbar. This is usually not the case with our products and we would like to make that you are taken care of. May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

Regards,
Carl

0

Excellent Sound Quality - Tricky to Use

HTZ9F 15/02/2021 by Terrysz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchase this unit approximately two months ago, and are more than happy with the sound quality and features it provides. We have it connected to a Sony XBR55X950G smart television, and a Tivo Bolt. Installation / connection instructions were vague and confusing for this set up and not what we were expecting for a Sony-to-Sony connection. We eventually stumbled upon a set-up that works, kind of. Switching inputs to the Tivo requires multiple menu selections as well as setting changes EVERY TIME! There is a momentary delay between each menu selection, while (I suppose) the devices recognize each other, so if you press buttons too fast the changes don't work. Nothing's more fun than looking like a tech moron in front of family and friends. Once you make the connection, everything is great. Switching back to TV mode requires but one press of a button, and is instantaneous. I expect that the elaborate ritual involved in switching to Tivo will eventually become second nature. Until then, this unit must be rated as extremely frustrating to use, while producing excellent audio. We are very happy with the quality of the video and audio from all of Sony devices, but they have all suffered from vague,confusing and quirky set-up and use issues. They remind me of the bad old days with computer peripherals, before Plug-n-Play.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/02/2021

Hi Terrysz,

We're glad that you like the sound quality of the soundbar. It's unfortunate that you are not having the best experience when switching inputs. We would like to know more about your review and turn your experience around. Please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com:

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Soundbar Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HTZ9F.

Sincerely,

-Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

TRULY NEXT LEVEL TECHNOLOGY!

HT-Z9F 06/02/2021 by Buckbuck 1 (USA)

I was persuaded by a Best Buy sales rep to take this soundbar with the purchase of my XBR65X950H television. He said to try it out, you have 15 days and if you don't like it return it. I own a Bose cinemate system that was installed with the previous TV that I was very happy with and I would use that on the next TV that I purchase. I hung my new 950H TV on the wall and installed my Cinemate system and was Very satisfied with an awesome picture and great sound, No need to really try out HTZ9F. The next day I decided to take it for a test drive, I installed the Soundbar and subwoofer got everything working and I have to say I was not impressed, I tried all the speaker modes, and to me, it was your average soundbar. It was when I pushed the button on the remote that read Vertical S, this is what separates it from being just your average soundbar, "Game Changing Technology". How you are able to get surround sound out of the front-firing speakers is very impressive! I will continue to move forward with the HTZ9F and also add the Z9R wireless speakers for that room-filling experience. Thank You Sony for your continued efforts to be the "One & Only!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/02/2021

Hi Buckbuck 1,

Awesome! That's Great! Thank you for your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you for choosing Sony. Jay

0

Great all round performance

HT-ZF9 06/02/2021 by Johnboy65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from a sony and q acoustic separates which are going in a dedicated room and remodelling the living room I must say I am really impressed with the sound quality and scale this bar produces.Also bought the wireless rears to go with it.Had no issues with the wireless connection of speakers.Over all really happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Garbage - aweful sound

HTZ9F 30/01/2021 by jd1969 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I hooked this up, which was very easy, I thought I needed to adjust the EQ. Tried all the remote 'settings' (cinema, voice, etc.) but there is ZERO midrange response from this system and at full volume, the sub is woefully inadequate for a 10x10' basement. Better for a coat closet. My 20-year-old Yamaha/Polk Audio 3.1 runs circles around the Z9F, save for the sound reflecting tech. Even our first gen Bose Soundock sounds better. Only registered the product so I could write this out of sheer frustration. Back to Amazon... Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/01/2021

Hi jd1969, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your HT-Z9F. We regret to hear that the unit had to be returned. This is usually not the case for our soundbar nor the experience we want you to have. To ensure you're getting the optimal listening experience, we suggest adjusting the sound quality settings on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf (page 49)

Check that all the cables and cords of the system and connected device are
firmly inserted.

And make sure that the firmware version is up to date.

We hope you consider our products in the future. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Regards,
Sam

0

Sound Cuts out for 1 second a few times per Hour

HTZ9F 28/01/2021 by Ryan29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have connected with an optic cable and eArc hdmi to a 950G 65" Sony TV, wired internet connection at 300 mbps, and still cuts out sometimes. The sounds great, but it cutting out randomly is very frustrating and would not recommend unless this is fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/02/2021

Hi Ryan29,

Thank you for reaching out. While we are glad you like the sound quality of our HTZ9F we are sorry to hear you're having an audio issue. There are some things we’d like for you to try and see if we can resolve your audio cut off.

First, verify the HDMI cables you are using are rated for high speed and are at least 18 Gbps cables. Try replacing them if you have not. Next, ensure CEC control is enabled on the soundbar and your TV. For the soundbar, it’s on page 64 of this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf.

If the issue persists, please update the firmware of your TV and soundbar to the latest version. Please refer to the following links for instructions:

HT-Z9F - https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads
XBR-65X950G - https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-65x950g/downloads

You can also try this procedure in case the drop off is being caused by wireless interference within your home: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Love the sound when watching sports or movies.

HTZ9F 18/01/2021 by Tommy M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received the sound system as a gift and love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/01/2021

Hi Tommy, Wow! This is a nice gift and we are glad that you are loving the htz9f. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

So much better than expected!

HT-Z9F 18/01/2021 by Aufderheide (USA)

The system set up was so easy. The system settings give a wide variety of configurations for cinema, music, gaming, etc. Once I had it all set up, I tested with Demos for Atmos on YouTube! WOW! The system packs a punch! Now all we need is more content supporting Atmos!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/01/2021

Hi Aufderheide, Awesome! We are glad that you like the ease of setup and settings configurations of your soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Great sound, sound cutting out issues galore....

HT-Z9F 13/01/2021 by TyrionL (USA)

No much to add to other reviewers mentioning this unacceptable issue, the sound bar sound will cut out randomly, sometimes very frequently others every 5-20 minutes, it seems to me that it gets worse with Dolby Atmos content? Not sure, but whatever the cause it's unacceptable that Sony pretends to charge a high price for a flawed product. By the way I bought it, like many others, thinking that it would work better with my Sony TV (9000H) and what a fool I feel now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/01/2021

Hi TyrionL, Thank you for choosing and purchasing our HT-Z9F Soundbar. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing audio cut out issues with the soundbar. We'd love to troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. In the meantime, please follow these steps to troubleshoot the issue.

Don't block the soundbar and the connected device.
Place your soundbar near the connected device.
Try a wired connection instead of wireless connection.
If using wireless connection, make sure there are no other devices near the soundbar.
Devices such as microwave oven and routers produce electromagnetic waves may that interfere with your soundbar.

Turn on the RF Channel.
On the supplied soundbar remote control, press the HOME button.
Select Setup.
Select Advanced Settings.
Select Speaker Settings.
Select Wireless Speaker Settings.
Select RF Channel.
Select On.

Note: It may take one minute to reconnect after you change the settings.
If you unplug the power cord, the frequency settings is deleted. Turn the RF Channel to On again.
Your soundbar automatically selects the best channel for transmission when RF Channel is set to On, which makes it stronger against wireless interference.
If the issue still occurs, set the RF Channel to Off.

May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

Regards,
Carl

0

great value for the oney

HTZ9F 11/01/2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few weeks ago and already enjoying the theatre like sound....watching movies with surround sound amplified/multipied many times than simply listening the sound of TV...worth every penny and does not have to spend thousands to get that experience...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2021

Hi Srini, Perfect! Thank you so much for the 5-stars review and for sharing your awesome experience with our Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. We're really glad to hear you are happy and satisfied with the incredible sound quality of the soundbar. Good to know that your investment is worth it. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Does not sync properly with my Bravia TV

HT-Z9F 09/01/2021 by Pete01460 (USA)

I have been a loyal Sony customer for years. Although this sounbar is listed as compatible with by Bravia XBR65850F, it will not sync properly. Sony telephone support had me reconnect and said they would call back; the connection was not maintained and the tech never called back. Email support was worthless, and the telephone support is not available on the weekends - which, for someone working Monday - Friday is not a viable option. If this was my first experience with a Sony product it would also be my last.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/01/2021

Hi Pete01460,

We are really sorry you are encountering a sync issue with your HT-Z9F when connected to your XBR65850F. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have in our product. To get the most out of your HT-Z9F, please update its firmware to the latest version (v2.315). The software includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. For instructions, please refer to this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads.

If the issue persists, please follow the steps provided on the links below to isolate the problem:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00198068
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00249832

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can better assist you. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Issue:
Model Number:

We value you being a Sony customer. Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak directly to try to resolve this matter.
 
Thank you for letting us help assist you.
 
Sincerely,

Romeo

0

WASTE OF MONEY!! SUBWOOFER CUTS OUT!

HT-Z9F 03/01/2021 by EAchicago (USA)

Three months after I bough the HTZ9F sound bar the subwoofer cuts in and out. According to reviews I have read, I am not the only person who has issues with the subwoofer. I have try everything I have come across online to try to fix this issue but nothing works. It is terrible that this unit was SO EXPENSIVE and it broke on me right away. I expected better reliability from a brand such as Sony. Even more when they are selling a sound bar for $700 that broke right away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/01/2021

Hi EAchicago,

Thank you for purchasing the HT-Z9F 3.1ch Dolby Atmos / DTS:X Soundbar.

We're sorry to hear about the sound issue of the unit. Please check the following if the sound cuts out or noise is heard from the subwoofer or rear speaker of your HT-Z9F 3.1ch Dolby Atmos Soundbar:

- Don't block the soundbar and the connected device.
- Place your soundbar near the connected device.
- Try a wired connection instead of a wireless connection.
- If using a wireless connection, make sure there are no other devices near the soundbar.
- Devices such as microwave oven and routers produce electromagnetic waves may that interfere with your soundbar.
- Turn on the RF Channel.
1. On the supplied soundbar remote control, press the HOME button.
2. Select Setup.
3. Select Advanced Settings.
4. Select Speaker Settings.
5. Select Wireless Speaker Settings.
6. Select RF Channel.
7. Select On.

Note:
- It may take one minute to reconnect after you change the settings.
- If you unplug the power cord, the frequency settings are deleted. Turn the RF Channel to On again.
- Your soundbar automatically selects the best channel for transmission when RF Channel is set to On, which makes it stronger against wireless interference.
- If the issue still occurs, set the RF Channel to Off.

In any case that you need our assistance, please follow the instructions below on how to contact us.

May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com or chat with us from Sony’s e-support webpage. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F:

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Jay

0

Leaps and bounds better than the competition

HT-ZF9 02/01/2021 by Coatsy79 (United Kingdom)

Tried this in a local store and it was noticeably better than anything else at the same price, sound is rich and balanced with good punchy bass and the virtual surround is very convincing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Jagged speech

HT-ZF9 02/01/2021 by Stevew7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this (Sony's top end) sound bar to go with Sony's 55XH9505 Hi end TV. It is connected via the ARC HDMI sockets on both devices and TV speaker are set to OFF (Audio system speakers enabled) The sound bar can certainly pump out a lot of volume with depth, but speech from regular TV channels, in particular like the News or Game shows, is very rough, jagged and prickly. Using the Voice option makes it worse. In TV costume dramas the speech is marginally better, but this impediment detracts heavily from getting engrossed in a program. If there were a EQ available, perhaps some of the speech high frequencies could be reduced, but that may have a detrimental effect on other sounds All of the many sound modes, effects and compatibilities, on this device, fade into irrelevance when trying to just improve the speech. This isn't a cheap sound bar, and it's very disappointing

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Problem with sound. The sound was paused 1-2 secon

HTZ9F 02/01/2021 by Narin94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound was cut off 1 second every 5 minutes. Try to fix but it does not work

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Narin94,

We regret to hear that you're having sound issues with the soundbar. You may refer to the troubleshooting steps on this link to help resolve the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429

If still not resolved, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Soundbar Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,

~Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Too much money, Too many problems.

HT-Z9F 28/12/2020 by vbm85 (USA)

I purchased this soundbar and rear speakers and when it works it is amazing! The Atmos leaves something to be desired but the sound is in general is just fantastic. Powerful sub, voices are clear and, setup was extremely simple. However, for whatever reason when I cast media to my A9G everything will be fine and then the sound just disappears. Reboots of the TV and soundbar don't fix the issue. Fiddling with the eARC, PCM, everything just don't fix the problem. I thought perhaps it was the app (Disney+) because when I played a different movie sound was heard. When I switched apps and even going to the cable box there was sound output. We watched WW84 and every 20 mins or so the sound would cut out for about 2-3 seconds. This soundbar costs too much dang money to be having these problems. I will be returning this unit very soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/12/2020

Hi vbm85,

We're glad that you like the sound quality of the soundbar. It's unfortunate that you are already looking to return the soundbar because of sound issues. Make sure to install the latest software version of the soundbar for optimum performance:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads/00016893

You may also refer to the troubleshooting steps on this link to help resolve the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429

If still not resolved, please let us know. May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Soundbar Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,

~Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Reboots itself every 30-60 minutes

HT-Z9F 28/12/2020 by Dan_photog (USA)

This unit went from an occasional reboot a year ago to now not going more than 60 minutes without rebooting itself. Followed Sony recommended procedures plus some internet ones and getting worse. Sony told me to contact their authorized repair facility for a repair for what looks like an engineering problem that many are seeing. Very disappointed in Sony!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/12/2020

Hi Dan_photog,

We are sorry to hear what happen. To further assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
[Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Hope to hear from you,
David

0

Favorite Brand

HTZ9F 27/12/2020 by Edaj12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this brand when it comes to electronics (tv, camera, amplifier... ) love the sound quality. hope i get the surround speakers today. can't wait for the tv tomorrow....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/12/2020

Hi Sonyjade, Excellent! Good to know you're satisfied with your purchase! We are glad to hear that your entire entertainment setup are all Sony brand. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with the Sony HTZ9F soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thanks for trusting Sony! -Jess

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 17/12/2020 by SG son (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the same as a Sony TV and the total package is excellent quality and we are very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Love the sound

HTZ9F 09/12/2020 by pastort (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on Cyber Monday, I had a demo a couple of weeks earlier and I am very pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/12/2020

Hi pastort, Awesome! We're glad to hear you're satisfied with your purchase. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Good sound, poor connection

HT-Z9F 29/11/2020 by kidfastball (USA)

I've had this system for about two months. The sound quality is great. There is an issue where the subwoofer cuts in and out. It is not consistent and I can't pin down a reason. Maybe interference, but I've moved the subwoofer around and it hasn't helped.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/12/2020

Hi kidfastball,

Thank you for taking time to review the HT-Z9F Sound Bar. While we're glad that you like the sound quality, we regret to hear that you're having issue with the subwoofer sound cutting in and out. We'd love to troubleshoot the issue and make this more a better experience for you. Check the following if the sound cuts out or noise is heard from the subwoofer or rear speaker:

If there is a device nearby that generates electromagnetic waves, such as a wireless LAN or a microwave oven in use, locate the system apart from it.
If there is an obstacle between the main unit and the subwoofer, move or remove it.
Locate the main unit and the subwoofer as close as possible
Change the [RF Channel] setting

Turn on the RF Channel.
On the supplied soundbar remote control, press the HOME button.
Select Setup.
Select Advanced Settings.
Select Speaker Settings.
Select Wireless Speaker Settings.
Select RF Channel.
Select On.

Turn on the RF Channel.
On the supplied soundbar remote control, press the HOME button.
Select Setup.
Select Advanced Settings.
Select Speaker Settings.
Select Wireless Speaker Settings.
Select RF Channel.
Select On.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Kris

0

Horrible Long-Term Buy - Buyer Beware!

HT-Z9F 24/11/2020 by ThePrEPDoctor (USA)

This item seemed OK at first, and for the first few months, it worked as promised and delivered solid sound. I purchased this item with a SONY Bravia TV thinking that they would work well with each other. Then, after a few months, the sound started going out for a few seconds. No matter what I tried (unplugging, updating software, factory resetting both TV and soundbar, replacing the cables), nothing worked. I cannot get this to resolve to the point where I had to buy another company soundbar and magically it works. Buyer beware!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/11/2020

Hi ThePrEPDoctor,

Good to know that you like the sound quality of the soundbar. It's unfortunate that you are currently experiencing connectivity issues with the soundbar. Make sure to also follow the troubleshooting steps on this link to help resolve the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429

If still not resolved, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Soundbar Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,

~Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Wow!

HTZ9F 22/11/2020 by Kyzer LSFG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar is awesome! Awesime surround sound, great voice clarity and the subwoofer rumbles like thunder. Great experience all around....literally.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/11/2020

Hi Kyzer LSFG, we're truly happy you're enjoying your new Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great sound when it works!

HT-ZF9 17/11/2020 by BTK187 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second one of these I have bought, the first being two years ago, it is already displaying the same problem of sound to the rear surround speakers cutting out, as the first one which is really annoying as this is a quality unit and sounds superb when it works properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Sub and rear speakers disconnect constantly!

HT-Z9F 17/11/2020 by Jon Lombardi (USA)

The software is defective as Sony will not fix it. The sub and rear speakers cut out and disconnect CONSTANTLY! As in 5-10 times every 10 seconds. If you do a factory reset they'll work fine for a few hours then stop again. This tells me that a firmware update could fix the issue. Sony knows but doesn't care. Would rather just discontinue the model and push out a new one.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/11/2020

Hi Jon, Thank you for purchasing the HT-Z9F Soundbar. We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the sub and speakers disconnecting.

Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products and services.

If there is a device nearby that generates electromagnetic waves, such as a wireless LAN or a
microwave oven in use.

If there is an obstacle between the main unit and the rear speaker, move or remove it.
Locate the system apart from it.
Locate the main unit and the rear speaker as close as possible.
Switch the network connection of the TV or Blu-ray Disc player from wireless to wired.

If the issue still occurs, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:
Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Carl

0

sony’s reputation

HTZ9F 11/11/2020 by oscara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s really good, but a adding back speakers make it sound so much better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/11/2020

Hi oscara,

Thank you for your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Regards,
David

0

Pretty good

HTZ9F 04/11/2020 by mw12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for the price, Make sure you have it professionally installed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/11/2020

Hi mw12, we're truly happy you're enjoying your new Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Amazing sound

HT-Z9F 31/10/2020 by Roy1979 (USA)

We just got this sound bar along with a Sony 65" A8H OLED a little over a week ago. The sound is amazing whether we're listing to music, movie or TV. The bass is room shacking. By far the best sound bar w/sub we're ever had. Super easy set up with the TV. If you follow the prompts, it's foolproof. Only issue we've had is with Hulu Live. From time to time the sound cuts out and won't come back until we go to settings, speakers and cycle between TV speakers and back to Audio System, then the sound comes back. Not sure if that's a sound bar issue, TV issue or Hulu live issue. Other than that, this sound bar is well worth money. Amazing sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/10/2020

Hi Roy1979, we're truly happy you're enjoying your new Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

HTZ9F Soundbar

HT-Z9F 25/10/2020 by James Venice FL (USA)

I've had multiple sound bars with Sony. This is the latest one we bought just about a year ago. Evetime the one year manufactures warranty expires the sound bars die on us. Spending 900 dollars on a sound bar, I expect to last for several years. This is not the case with the sound bars we have purchased. I would not recommend this sound bar to any. Save you money and spend the extra on a hard wired system.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2020

Hi James, we are sorry to hear that the soundbar dies after a year. This is definitely not the news we'd like to hear from you. If the soundbar doesn't turn on, please try following the steps below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00223977

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

SWEET SOUNDS

HTZ9F 12/10/2020 by ONLYSONY4MEPLEASE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT SOUNDS SET UP IS EASY CONNECTS TO MY X900H PERFECTLY

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/10/2020

Hi ONLYSONY4MEPLEASE,

Awesome! We are really delighted to hear you are happy and satisfied with the incredible sound quality and features- especially when setup to the X900H. If you haven't yet, purchasing the SAZ9R wireless rear speakers will really enhance your surround sound experience! With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for trusting Sony!

- Romeo

0

Garbage

HT-Z9F 12/10/2020 by BenG1234fg (USA)

I bought this at Best Buy to go along with my new Sony tv. The sound is not warm at all, sounds like tin and the subwoofer is the worst. I have it as high as it will go and you barely hear any base. I had a friend over who asked if it was even working. As well,, I have the 2 rear speakers. You cannot make any adjustments to the tone at all. For as much money as this costs I would expect a lot better. Don't waste your money, buy something nicer. Btw- sounds great in the store which is how they got me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

7

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2020

Hi BenG1234fg, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your HT-Z9F. We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. To ensure you're getting the best sound level on your subwoofer, please refer to the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/results?query=low+subwoofer+sound

Unfortunately, volume adjustments cannot be made when the rear speakers are connected to the soundbar. Please use the soundbar adjustments control to increase the level of the rear speakers.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great Features

HT-ZF9 09/10/2020 by islawight51 (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with the quality of the Soundbar, the sound is amazing. I can hear very clearly the speech on movies now, using the cinema setting, which in the past have been drowned by background music. T.v. is good in standard, the depth of sound is superb in all features. would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

11

0

Terrible sound.

HT-Z9F 05/10/2020 by Saxmangreg (USA)

I bought this six weeks ago with a 65" Sony Bravia TV and it's awful. The music floods out the voice, I've tried adjusting every aspect of this system, followed all the directions and it's just terrible. Don't waste your money. The picture on the TV is excellent but the sound is just awful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2020

Hi Saxmangreg,

We sincerely regret to hear our HTZ9F did not meet your expectations. Some of this issue happened if the soundbar is not setup correctly. The HT-Z9F features customizable speaker settings where you can set the speaker distance from 0 ft to 33 ft for much richer sound quality. You can raise the level of the soundbar and subwoofer an additional 6 dB in the user interface menu. This will allow you to fully experience the rumbling lows during explosions of a movie, and the clarity of the string instruments during an orchestral performance. To round out your listening experience, we recommend adding the SAZ9R wireless rear speakers.

Despite the issues, we really appreciate you like the outstanding picture quality of your 65" Sony TV.

For reference on how to adjust the levels of the soundbar and listening distance, please use the following link :

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4727/d3668cdaf4f83107b52ee9bdb84fa5a0/47275331M.pdf (Pg.59)

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Amazing Sound and Great Google Integration

HT-Z9F 05/10/2020 by SonyJohn17 (USA)

I am loving recent Sony products with Android TV and casting built into the Sound Bars. All my devices integrate easily with my Google Assistant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2020

Hi SonyJohn17!

Wow! Thank you so much for the 5-stars review & feedback! We're extremely pleased to hear you are happy and satisfied with the incredible sound quality and features of your new Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. If you haven't yet, purchasing the SAZ9R wireless rear speakers will really enhance your surround sound experience! With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Sound bar with rear speakers

HTZ9F 03/10/2020 by CGMANOF6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I am in the movie theater in my living room!! Love this system........Sony never disappoints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/10/2020

Hi CGMANOF6, Thank you for your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thanks for shopping Sony! Erin

0

Horrible, do not buy this product!!!

HTZ9F 30/09/2020 by malcala63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit new along with a Bravia XBR-65X950H so as to ensure no compatibility issues. Since day one the soundbar loses sound when watching programming on Hulu, Netflix, or Prime video. Sound will lost two or three times during a movie. You have to go to TV setting and select TV speakers and then go back to those settings and select external speakers to get sound to return to the soundbar. Very frustrating having soundbar with no sound! Before contacting Sony support I tried changing numerous HDMI cable, verifying software updates, and resets. Performed these again with Sony Support. Now I find out that I need to send this unit in for repair. Looking on the forums, it appears that I am not alone with this issue. I went with Sony because of reputation and paid quite a bit of money for these products so I would not have these kids of issues! I will definitely rethink my next purchase.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2020

Hi malcala63, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your HT-Z9F. This is usually not the case for our soundbar nor the experience we want you to have.

We want to make sure that you’ve been taken care of by your authorized servicer. May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the HT-Z9F:

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Sam


0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 30/09/2020 by Bill26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Accompanies Sony tv. Surround sound good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Sounds great

HT-ZF9 29/09/2020 by KB10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall it sounds and looks great although I seem to have a slight sync problem with my Sky Q programmes which I cannot rectify. The remote speakers keep dropping out at start up and I can’t get any sound when starting my tv until I reboot the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

7

0

Sounds Great

HT-Z9F 22/09/2020 by Delaina (USA)

I've had this soundbar along with the wireless speakers that work with this soundbar and I absolutely love this system. The fact that it has vertical sound included, which does not require speakers in the ceiling, and bounces all over the room, makes this a great system for movies,music and other things. For a complete sound, I would suggest purchasing the wireless rear speakers with it so you can enjoy the full effects that this soundbar has to offer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Delaina,

Wow! We're extremely pleased to hear you love the amazing sound quality and features- especially the Vertical Surround Engine function of your Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar & SAZ9R wireless rear speakers. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for the 5-stars review & feedback and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Excellent

HT-Z9F 21/09/2020 by Jose626 (USA)

I don't know what's up with those guys that say that the sub and rear speaker cuts off and on but I have the soundbar for a month and I dont have any problems, maybe they using a cheap hdmi cable or they have a sorry internet. No matter what 4k or blueray I play it works perfectly. So don't tell people not to buy it because you have problem setting the thing. I will recommend this soundbar to anybody is a winner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Jose626,

Thanks for the 4-stars review and for sharing your amazing experience with our Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. We truly appreciate your great feedback with our product. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Atmos Soundar and rear surround speakers

HT-ZF9 17/09/2020 by Khy786 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ve had this 2 weeks now, bought the rear surround speakers which I say definitely helps with the surround sound. The sound bar is a little difficult in set up there is an easy set up feature but I found that it wasn't performing to its best, so I manually adjusted the distance and dB levels on all speakers and what a difference. Really impressed with the sound. Would of liked a bit of extra bass output like an extra bass button but its sufficient. The rear speakers are priced pretty high but I got £100 off buying the soundbar and surround speakers together. Overall great sound and quality and also goes well with my 65 inch TV but a little pricey but thats Sony products for you. You know that you've bought quality which will last years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

Sounds great

HTZ9F 03/09/2020 by BrdyMama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar has really improved the audio quality of our Sony Bravia tv. Even news programs sound so much better. Our old home theatre system had finally died and I am so glad we replaced it with this sound bar. We may even get the back speakers for it later.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2020

Hi BrdyMama,

We're glad to hear that you appreciate the improved audio quality of this HTZ9F. Thank you for your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you for choosing Sony! Jay

0

Great Sound........

HT-ZF9 02/09/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this few weeks back and pleasantly surprised...........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great sound but problem linking to LG OLED TV

HT-ZF9 28/08/2020 by PhilA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older soundbar hoping to get better sound and full surround by adding rear bluetooth speakers. After linking it via the HDMI ARC socket on my LG OLED55CMLB TV the sound was excellent and the surround sound reasonable.Unfortunately when I switched the TV on, which automatically switches the soundbar on the sound started then muted then restarted again. After a few weeks the sound started as uual then stopped but did not restart. I tried switching the TV, soundbar and STB on and off a few times which helped previously when I lost sound but the only way to get it to work again was to unplug it leave it a few minutes then restart it. It is a real shame that this issue has arisen on such a prestigious brand. I am very disappointed. This is the second SONY electronics item with which I have had problems so I won't be buying anything electronic from them in the future

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

3

0

Good when it works.

HT-Z9F 27/08/2020 by Zacht26 (USA)

I bought this several month ago to pair with my Sony 75” X950G because that is what I was recommended. We get it home and set it up super easy and no problems. Then a few days go buy and it will not pair to the TV and there is no sound being put out. It would switch to Tv and audio system and the would say that audio system is unavailable. We called Magnolia and they said to bring it back since it was only a week so we are now on our second system. We have still had trouble with the sound being put out to the system. It has trouble connecting off of any thing we use to watch Tv. I will have to turn the system off. Then unplug the hdmi from the sound bar then turn the tv back on and plug it back in then change it in the setting to the audio system and it only works sometimes. So I have no clue what to do but for the price it should not be messing up!!!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2020

Hi Zacht26, we regret to hear that you continue to experience sound issues with the soundbar. You may find the troubleshooting steps on this link helpful:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00020051

The unit comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

The Best

HT-Z9F 24/08/2020 by ZaboGuy (USA)

my favorite soundbar, because of the possible rear speakers. The 3.1 is amazing and the control over the center channel is refreshing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi ZaboGuy!

Wow! That's awesome! We're really glad to hear you're satisfied with the great sound quality and features of our Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. Purchasing the SAZ9R wireless rear speakers will really enhance your surround sound experience! With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

not good

HTZ9F 07/08/2020 by ray810 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

unit will work sometime and other time it changes mode by it self.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2020

Hi ray810, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. This is not the experience we want you to have. We need more details to isolate and fix the issue. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Love the sound!

HT-Z9F 01/08/2020 by Thanos123 (USA)

Bought it last year and still sounds like new wohoo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2020

Hi Thanos123!

That's great! We're really happy to hear you love and you're enjoying the outstanding sound quality of our Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Good But some Issues

HT-Z9F 31/07/2020 by timstack709 (USA)

I purchased this SB 2 weeks ago from Best Buy. When I first Power on TV (Sony A9G) and Sound bar the Input settings from SB comes on with "TV" not HDMI 1 with my Tivo. I have HDMI cable from sound bar (ARC) to TV (ARC) and the other HDMI input into back of HDMI 1 port with back of TV. Also have a PS3 connected to back of HDMI 2 port of Sound bar. On the TV Inputs I see 3 HDMI inputs connected (ARC, Player 1 & Player ) I tried setting the TV input to say "Player 1" but the next day it goes back to HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC) Is this correct? Should the HDMI Input always be using HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC)? Also Firmware of both TV and SB are up to date.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2020

Hi timstack,

Thank you for reaching out to your concern, and we're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. As part of normal operations, our soundbar is designed to display the settings and home menu when connected to the TV via HDMI. However, if you disable HDMI control on your TV and soundbar, you can use the soundbar’s remote to operate the soundbar. The Input will not change if you turn on your TV, but you will need to manually power on and off the soundbar with its remote. Also, when using the TV driven content last (not his TiVo or PS3), then the soundbar will default to whatever the last input used was prior to shutting off. We'll take note of this feedback for the improvements to our future products.

Should you need more assistance or information, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

Great Soundbar

HTZ9F 29/07/2020 by Cham123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As with all Sony products, the Soundbar is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/08/2020

Hi Cham123, Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Clear sound

HTZ9F 29/07/2020 by Southern Gal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the sub-woofer to accompany our new Sony Brivia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/08/2020

Hi Southern Gal, we're glad you like our product. With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great system

HT-ZF9 23/07/2020 by ceebee49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an oldish quite expensive surround system and was a little apprehensive that it wouldn’t sound as good. After setting it up I am very impressed by the ease of set up and quality of sound. I’ve yet to try it on a decent movie but am confident it will be impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

9

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 22/07/2020 by Nurse23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoying the sound quality and smart looks. Great connectivity to various sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Sound disappears-TV restart needed-Great sound

HTZ9F 14/07/2020 by Areview (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar along with XBR65950G and have both of them since 6 months now. The sound is amazing from the sound bar. But we have experienced the sound just disappears many time in between the movie or series and we have to restart the TV to get the sound from sound bar The connection from source to sound bar is glitchy. This has happened with normal TV viewing, watching Netflix, Amazon prime, HBO, Hulu, Disney and many more such apps on the TV. The sound of the sound bar is amazing. But this issue of sound going completely out and needing to restart the TV in the middle is very frustrating. Hope Sony does something about this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/07/2020

Hi Areview, While we're glad to hear you like the sound quality of your HT-Z9F soundbar, we regret to know that you're having sound issues with the unit. Please ensure your TV and soundbar are up to date with the latest firmware. The latest firmware versions can be found here :

65X950G Firmware Update : https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/lcd-tvs-android-xg95xx_x95xxg-series/xbr-65x950g/downloads/00016819


HT-Z9F Firmware Update : https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/downloads/00016671

Once your TV is updated and both units are powered on, please remove and re-connect the HDMI cable from both the soundbar and TV to establish their “handshake” once again. You may need to clear the BRAVIA sync settings in the TV and then resync the soundbar to it. Once you have done this, check the audio again.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Best for Small Living Room Experience

HT-Z9F 10/07/2020 by Ravkar (USA)

Bought this as open box from best buy, hesitate to buy at first, now its one year old, I'm glad my purchase was good.This sounds great, when you turn on vertical surround, sounds way different. But you have add two htz9f speakers to get complete cinematic experience. Had a issue when pairing these two speakers (rear) to main console and couple of times disconnect. After software upgrade seems this issue was fixed. Make sure you followed the guidelines as shown in the TV, for first time setup. If you have a perfect distance btw your main and rear speakers, you will feel the difference. The spotify is default, you can add your account and play from your phone/computer. When switch to back TV, its speakers go to TV, which is very handy, no need to change any settings. Noticed, sound experience is differences in some apps, may be depends on apps that your are using. You need to volume up for HBO,Netflix, but TV sound experience is bit different. Overall decent buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/07/2020

Hi Ravkar,

We're really happy to hear you're satisfied with the great sound quality and features of our Z9F Dolby Atmos soundbar. We are also glad your connection problem with the rear speakers has been fixed after the firmware update.

With max 7.1.2 surround sound and our Vertical Surround Engine technology, you can enjoy the latest 3D audio formats like Dolby Atmos and DTS:X – with virtual surround sound that seems to come from all around you. It has eARC support to allow you to enjoy Dolby Atmos from your compatible streaming providers, bringing a cinematic experience to your home.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Sound cuts out on the unit. known issue

HT-Z9F 09/07/2020 by nate11 (USA)

The soundbar cuts out. Customer service has been less than adequate.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/07/2020

Hi nate11,

Thank you for reaching out to your concern. We're sorry you're having an audio issue. There are some things we’d like for you to try and see if we can resolve your audio cut off.

First, verify the HDMI cables you are using are rated for high speed and are at least 18 Gbps cables. Try replacing them if you have not. Next, ensure CEC control is enabled on the soundbar and your TV. You’ll need to refer to the manual of your TV, and for the soundbar, it’s on page 64. We’re not sure which brand of TV you have your soundbar connected, however, please ensure both are on the latest firmware.

You can also try this procedure in case the drop off is being caused by wireless interference within your home: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-z9f/articles/00200429.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case Number (if any):
Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Also, please let us know which brand and model the TV is that your soundbar is connected to.

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Awesome!

HT-ZF9 06/07/2020 by TheCheese (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 2 weeks ago. I did alot of research before purchasing. At first I was going to be looking for a Bose as that's what I had before. That is before I heard the Sony! You really have to hear them ALL before you buy. The sound of the HT-ZF9 is amazing! It has great features and very easy to set-up. Go and have a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8