Article ID : 00016950 / Last Modified : 11/28/2012

How to manually remove (forget) a Wi-Fi network connection.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

If you need to temporarily or permanently switch to a different Wi-Fi network connection, or as a network connection troubleshooting method, you may find it necessary to manually remove (forget) a Wi-Fi network connection. Follow this procedure to forget a Wi-Fi network connection:

  1. On the desktop, tap the Home icon. Image
  2. In the upper-right corner of the desktop home screen, tap the Apps icon. Image
  3. In the Apps screen, tap the Settings icon. Image
  4. In the Settings screen, tap to select Wi-Fi.
  5. In the Wi-Fi screen, tap and hold the wireless network you wish to forget.
  6. In the [Network Name] prompt, tap Forget network. Image

You can now try to reconnect to the same network or connect to a different one.