Article ID : 00023208 / Last Modified : 08/16/2015

How to protect existing user data when installing or removing the Palm Desktop or Palm Desktop for CLIE® software.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

  1. Click the Start button, point to All Programs, point to Accessories and click Windows Explorer.
  2. In the Windows Explorer window, in the left pane under Folders, double-click the My Computer icon.
  3. In the right pane under Hard Disk Drives, double-click the Local Disk (C:) icon.
  4. On the menu bar, click File.
  5. On the File menu, point to New and click Folder.
  6. Type Handheld Backup to name the new folder.
  7. In the right pane under Hard Disk Drives, double-click the Local Disk (C:) icon.
  8. In the right pane, double-click the Program Files folder.

    NOTE: If a These files are hidden message is displayed, click the Show the contents of this folder link.

  9. In the right pane, double-click the folder containing the handheld user files.

    NOTES:

    • If uninstalling the Palm Desktop for CLIE software, the appropriate folder to double-click is the Sony® Handheld folder.
    • If uninstalling third-party Palm Desktop software, the appropriate folder to double-click may be the Palm folder.
    • If a Palm folder cannot be found, contact the manufacturer of the third-party Palm Desktop software being uninstalled for further assistance.
  10. Click to select the desired user folder.
  11. On the menu bar, click Edit.
  12. On the Edit menu, click Copy.
  13. In the left pane, under Folders, double-click the Handheld Backup folder.
  14. On the menu bar, click Edit.
  15. On the Edit menu, click Paste.
  16. Double-click the user folder that was just copied.
  17. Click to select the Backup folder.
  18. On the menu bar, click File.
  19. Click Rename.
  20. Type Backupold to rename this folder.
  21. Repeat this procedure with all other username folders to protect the associated data.