Article ID : 00009710 / Last Modified : 08/09/2016

How to delete all of the restore points in the System Restore feature.

    IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check Applicable Products and Categories for details.

    Follow these steps to delete all of the restore points in the System Restore feature.

    1. Click the Start button, and then click Control Panel.
    2. In the Control Panel window, click System and Security.
    3. In the System and Security window, click System.
    4. In the System window, on the left side of the screen under Control Panel Home, click System Protection.

      NOTE: If prompted for an administrator password or a User Account Control prompt is displayed, type the appropriate password, click Continue or click Yes.

    5. In the System Properties window, on the System Protection tab, in the Protection settings section, click to select the drive you wish to configure, and then click the Configure button.
    6. In the System Protection for [the selected drive] window, to delete all existing restore points, click the Delete button.
    7. In the System Protection warning window, read the warning and then click either the Continue or Cancel button.
    8. At the System Protection prompt, click OK.
    9. In the System Properties window, click OK button.
    10. In the System window, click the X in upper-right corner to close the window.