57

4.4 based on 57 customer reviews

33
21
0
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

57 Customer Reviews

0

Sony SRS-WS1

SRS-WS1 TW8 23/07/2020 by Psingh4 (USA)

What can I say these Sony SRS-WS1 headphones are pretty amazing! Upon opening the box, I immediately noticed how well put together they are. As soon as I took them out of the box, I could see that they are well-balanced and light weight upon placing them on my shoulders, I felt very comfortable and feel like I could wear these for hours. I especially like the soft lining that they have on the inside so skin to skin contact is with a soft fabric material not hard plastic. Attention to detail is very important when you pay a premium for a product and expect it to perform well. Using traditional headphones or in ear headphones become uncomfortable after a while. I comfortably watched an entire movie without having my ears get tired of wearing a headphone as they were on my shoulders the entire time. The battery lasted the entire time for a 2-hour movie . I got a good three hours out of it before I have to put it back on the charger, but still had a battery life left. I tried the vibration setting on the button on the inside of the headphone, it works well but I usually keep the setting on a low because I don't like the vibration feeling. I even forgot that I had them on and the sound dispersion from the waveguides actually makes a really big difference in the sound quality. I do wish they had more bass, but they still have plenty for most applications. Favorite part of the open-air design is being able to hear your surroundings which is especially important because I have little kids in the house and can still hear what's going around in my surroundings. From a safety standpoint this is great. I highly recommend the Sony SRS-Ws1 headphones.

2

0

0

The Late Night Gamer Speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 23/07/2020 by Tonqueen3 (USA)

I have been using this product for several days now and I am very happy with it so far. Let me start with, I play a lot of video games late at night when everyone else in the house are sleeping and the Sony WS1 works amazing for that purpose. Setup and installation went smoothly, everything you need to get going is included. I can really immerse myself in the game without disturbing anyone else. The sound quality is very clear, and the bass is incredible. I love that they also vibrate with the bass of your game or movie. The Sony WS1 are comfortable to wear and have good volume level. I have not heard any distortion at any volume. The controls and navigating the unit are simple however, there is no way to tell what the volume level is while using the unit, this would be my only con. I would like to say I would recommend the Sony WS1, especially to the late-night gamer.

0

0

0

Good Sound and Not Heavy

SRS-WS1 TW8 23/07/2020 by jomuzzi (USA)

I am very impressed with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker. The sound is very good and the speaker is very lightweight, I hardly feel it on my shoulders. The system is easy to set up and once I figured out how to connect the Transmitter Digital Optical Audio to my TV, mostly where the port was located and that the Digital Optical Cable did actually fit into that tiny port, I was set to listen to my shows! The directions are easy to follow and everything you need to set up the system is included. I love that I can listen to my shows without bothering anyone else or having to turn up the volume so loud that everyone complains that it is too loud. I can actually hear what is being said on the show! I like that I do not have to put anything in my ears to hear my music or my shows. I have had earphones that leave my ears sore and I am always fiddling with them to get good sound quality. Not what I am experiencing with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker, it fits nicely on my neck and with just a push of a button I can increase or decrease the volume, I can even hear that background music or sounds that normally I would not hear with just the volume alone on the TV. They are a bit pricey, but if you can't hear your programs or music and your family gets upset with you for cranking up the volume, I personally feel that these speakers are a great investment.

0

0

0

Sony is giving you a whole new experience!

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by SamIAm3 (USA)

I binge watch a lot of TV shows and play online games on my laptop so this is perfect for me. It gives an excellent surround sound and you feel immersed in it, because of the vibrations you get from the headphones are amazing. You can turn off the vibrations if you do not like them. They are extremely comfortable and lightweight around your neck sitting on your shoulders. Plus it is very easy to set up to your TV or laptop and just as easy to charge the headphones. The battery life is amazing for my lazy day Saturday binges when I catch up on all my shows that I missed that week. I can watch all day and not have any issues. The controls are also very easy to access and work with. I feel like I don't need to work extra hard to get everything the way I want it. It comes naturally and easy.

1

0

0

Opened my Ears to TV!

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by pete113 (USA)

I am hard of hearing in my left ear. I need to turn the tv up very loud to hear the folks speak. These are an eye opening in the way they opened up my listening experience. Tv can be kept at a normal level for my wife now. They are very light that I forget I am wearing them. The setup was a breeze and the distance they cover is very good. The controls are VERY easy to use and very intuitive with soft touch controls. The charging system is easy and the speakers will hold up to seven hours of power. The vibration function gives you a feeling of, sorta, being in the video or music you are listening to. Two things I would change. I would add bluetooth and I would create a wall hanging charging system to recover desk.counter/table space. All in all this is wonderful solution to a problem I have had ALL of my life. Thanks SONY!

0

0

0

Great product

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Medic54lax (USA)

I never thought I would be a fan of the wearable speaker; however, after using it, I love it. I was using the speaker in my room while watching television and the sound quality was great. It is light weight, very comfortable, and no lag at all. It allows me to still hear conversations in the room while listening to the television. It did not disturb any others on the room while I was using it. The set up for the speaker was super easy, and the battery life is great. #InsidersSonyWS1 #SonyAudio

0

0

0

Clean and clear sound quality

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Shashah1 (USA)

Absolutely clear and clean sound quality and moreover its remote speakers. Not only it works with TV, but also it works with phone, laptop and tablet as long as device has audio output (3.5 mm). The speakers comes with audio cable if your tv does not have digital optical output. Range is wide as far as how far from TV you can listen clearly before losing clarity. Slick design fits perfect around neck and speaker has volume control. The vibration and speakers works well. However we just noticed that the speakers are now loosing connections with TV ,that being said there is not change in sound quality or anything but the only thing we noticed is you could hear sound from TV along with speaker which we did not hear sound from TV before when we connect speakers to TV. I am still jot sire if it's the speakers or our TV which is causing this error.

0

0

0

Great for Hearing Impaired

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Vela424 (USA)

My husband has difficulty with hearing and hearing aids are extraordinarily expensive, so he hasn't been able to get a pair. This has been amazing. The TV usually has to be so loud to the point that I have to yell to talk (and my throat gets sore very easily), but with this he can hear it at his own volume. Still working out all the kinks, like the vibration, but this is a great product. And it's a fraction of what we would have needed to pay for quality hearing aids. The basic controls are simple enough for both of us and when he's not using it for the TV, I like to use it for gaming which takes it to another level. The device isn't heavy at all and doesn't get in the way of natural body movements. He is able to watch about 3 full movies (about 6 hours before he gets tired) or his usual nighttime TV lineup from 6 pm to 11 pm or12 am without having to charge it. We haven't had any lag so far, but our home is not that large. Honestly, this is a lot better than I would have predicted it to be. Quality product, definitely would recommend whether you are hearing impaired or just want it for gaming.

0

0

0

Crisp lightweight speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by kristi120 (USA)

When I got this speaker I expected it to be bluetooth enabled. I quickly learned that is not the case. We have toddlers so our house is always loud it has been nice to be able to hear the TV for once. The sound is crisp and immersive. We have used it while playing video games on our playstation and its almost like you are in the game. The vibrations while playing certain games is really cool. We even tested the speakers out with our toddlers and they loved being able to have the sound "on them". We love that as you are walking around the house the sound still stays the same even if you are moving around. Its really cool the volume buttons on the speaker.

0

0

0

Personal Speakers Bring the Action Closer

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by iroboi (USA)

I am really happy that I was selected to be part of this Sony WS1 campaign because I have trouble hearing the TV at home and think these will help me when I watch TV at night. PROS: The Sony WS1 sound fantastic. I think the sounds are crisp and it definitely helps when I am watching TV - I don't have to turn the volume all the way up. It is ideal for people who don't want to wear a headset while at home. I can also get up and run to the other room and take the audio with me so I don't miss anything. It is also an added plus that they have dynamic vibration so when I play video games or watch a movie, it feels like I am part of the action. All the parts of the speaker are durable and well made. The speaker set up was very simple and all the cables and transmitter and chargers are included. I connected the transmitter via optical wire to my TV. The speakers are heavier than I expected but they sit on my shoulders just fine. CONS: We have a sound system set up at home and we use a soundbar. When we connect the transmitter via optical connection to to the TV, we only have the option of using the TV speakers and the Sony WS1 together. We cannot use the soundbar AND the Sony WS1. When we plug our Sony WS1 transmitter into our soundbar, we can only get sound from EITHER the soundbar or from the Sony Sony WS1 - not both. While it's okay if I am watching TV alone, it's troublesome if there are others over and we want to use both the soundbar (for better overall experience) AND I want to use my Sony WS1. My hearing is pretty bad and when I wear the WS1, I notice that it sounds better / louder when I adjust the device so that the speakers are right underneath my ears. The way it is designed now, the speakers are in the front of the device, meaning they are under my chin, not under my ears. I also wish the speakers were a darker color. It sometimes sits against the back of my neck, my hair touches it and I take it on and off while watching TV. I'm sure it will be come dim and dingy looking fast. Finally, my biggest pet peeve about this is that there is no Bluetooth on here. However, I can understand why Sony chose not to include this as Bluetooth connectivity can buggy and iffy at times. However, Bluetooth would have solve my problem of being able to connect to the soundbar AND my Sony WS1. I am still giving Sony a high rating of 4 stars because it is very helpful to me and it's wonderful to be in the middle of all this audio action!

0

0

0

So convienant

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by autumn115 (USA)

We live in a pretty small home which limits me watching tv at night because of waking up my kids, these wireless wearable speakers are a great solution. I can fully emerse myself in my movie or video game without disturbing anyone in my household. I like the vibration feature as it keeps you even more immersed in your movie, although it can br startling when you first use it They fully charge in about an hr, which is great, but they need to be recharged every 5or 6 hrs. Also they easily connect to my smart tv and i even use them with my peleton. One criticism I do have with this device is they disconnect when you walk away or close the door I would say 25 to 30 feet away from the device your connected too. This isn't a huge issue if you're sitting and watching television but if you are listening to music and cleaning they do shift around your neck and you could lose connection, the buttons seem adequate for the size of the device. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anybody who wants to enjoy entertainment while the kids are sleeping.

0

0

0

Wonderful Sony Audio Sound!

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by sugarbelle7 (USA)

The Sony WS1 Wearable Speaker really brings the sound closer to your ears along with the vibrations. All this without disturbing others in the room. Thanks to Sony (one of my favorite brands), I no longer need to read captions in order to understand the dialogue. I am hearing background sounds I never noticed before. It's opening a whole new world of sound! I can use the Sony wearable speaker when others are watching with me or I can change the TV output to play only through the wearable speaker so I don't disturb others. This is a nice feature for those with a sleeping partner or a busy family. The volume + and - controls are easy to find and use. I tried the vibration control and will experiment on it when watching something with a lot of bass. I could still hear clearly through the speaker when going into another room away from the transmitter. I have not needed to recharge the battery during use. I put it back on charge when not in use and it never lets me down. I have known people who would blast the sound on their TVs to ridiculous volumes that would greatly benefit from the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker. Unfortunately, it was not yet on the market at that time.

0

0

0

It has potential

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Cyndikins (USA)

Overall, this is a great wearable speaker. I did have some initial issues connecting to Bluetooth, but it resolved quickly. The sound quality is pretty good, but I did have some issues with range. You do have to be in close vicinity of the Bluetooth device you are connected to. I did like the volume controls as well as the charge that it held. I would recommend this, but I think with some updates or tweaking it would be a lot better.

0

0

0

Great for Gaming

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Jodys1278 (USA)

Using the WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker by Sony is definitely a unique experience. My initial reaction to them is that they looked pretty cool and that they were a little heavier than I expected. The fact that it is not Bluetooth enabled was really surprising because of the quality and retail pricing of the speakers. Not having the Bluetooth capabilities made it much harder to use the speakers on our TV. We have a toddler and our TV is barricaded meaning it wasn’t a simple task to move the speakers around easily. In order to sit in a room with someone else and watch our TV, we had to share the speaker.  It was either we both listen though our TV or the speakers. The speakers’ volume would be too loud in when one person wore the speakers while others also listened through the speakers from a distance. The speakers worked perfectly though my cell phone. I loved the vibration of the bass bumping in my music. It made me feel younger, like I had my boom box on my shoulder…lol.  However it was really hard for me to get used to the vibration while watching TV.  Gaming on the other hand is a completely different story. I also think these are perfect for those whom are a little hard of hearing or have the problem of movies getting too loud with music but quiet for talking. I was able to hear everything without it being crazy loud on music. I truly think these speakers work the best for gaming. The sound quality is great. They make the games feel more intense by being immersive. The battery life is great. They definitely are more comfortable than wearing headphones on your ears. They are more for just one person to enjoy which many video games are one player.   Overall my opinion is good on these speakers. I will definitely be using them while I’m gaming. However I will most likely just keep them on the TV with my console vs moving it around throughout the house. My main recommendation is that you need to consider making these Bluetooth enabled.

0

0

0

Easy to use and Great Sound

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by angeldianedylan2011 (USA)

Well, well, well, this is a pleasant surprise. I am in awe with this product. This speaker is well constructed and produces a great sound. I immediately used it for a movie that has a lot of sound effects and it worked flawlessly. Later I used it with my PlayStation 4 and the sound was amazing. This speaker is great in size and the quality is phenomenal. I don't have to have a loud surround system in my house anymore. I can use it and minimize the loudness in the house. Its been a while. I have continued to use them for everything and I can't stop using them. For the quality of the sound is very crisp and detailed.

0

0

0

Nice niche product

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020  (USA)

So I am writing my testimonial without an opportunity to use the Sony WS1 how I planned, which was in my hotel while travelling, thanks to COVID. I have been testing it around the house and I think it will work great for that. It is pretty cool looking but definitely not discreate. More importantly is that it is very comfortable to wear and the sound is fantastic. It is nice to be able to have the volume at a setting I can hear clearly without having to “blast” it from the TV. Also adding the immersive vibration to the bass is pretty cool and gives some additional punch while watching a movie (I turn it off for music). It really is like sitting in the middle of a listening room and you do not have to have the perfect seat to get great theater sound. I was hoping it would be more universal in being able to also listen to music while working in my hotel room, but the unit does not connect directly via Bluetooth. I have found a work around which is to stream to my Bluetooth speaker and connect teh WS1 to that, but I was hoping to leave the speaker at home and bring this instead (you can also attach to a phone with USB-C but I didn’t want my phone connect to cables). The sound quality it better with the Sony WS1, I can move around the room and without having the volume too loud. There is no microphone so when a call comes in so I have to turn off Bluetooth. I tried answering a call with the WS1 connected using the Bluetooth speaker phone connected but I got a lot of feedback. And without Bluetooth you still have to use a remote (or phone) to control pause or stop on what you are listening to . As far as portability it is definitely not designed to be packed in your suitcase and will take up some room. My son used it with his Xbox and thought it was really cool when not being in a chat game, but without a mic built in it had limited uses with the Xbox/gaming system. Overall it does exactly what it says it does and does it well. I think without Bluetooth it will be a niche product for those with bad hearing or maybe if you like to have the TV on while cooking in the kitchen. PROS: - Sounds great/looks cool - Easy to set up and use - Serves it purpose – comfortably listen to TV without keeping other awake CONS: - Really wish it had Bluetooth - Travel case or little better portability would be a plus - Kind of expensive for what it does (Bluetooth would justify the price)

0

0

0

Awesome sound quality

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by amanda675 (USA)

I am in love with Sony Immersive Wearable speakers. They have an amazing sound quality and they fit so comfortably. They are easy to setup and use. I love that I can control the volume and can watch movies really late or early and not disturb my family. These are a really great way to enjoy games, movies and television.

0

0

0

Good but not great

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by VegasInsider (USA)

Headset is mediocre at best I was able to set up the wireless RF receiver. Trouble is I believe if you are not someone who understands audio and is not a techie, may have trouble setting it up. When it comes to sound. The stereo separation and imaging are good. The sound from the speaker is “small,” lacking the immersive sound of speakers and even headphones. The speakers lack bass. The mids of voices and the highs overwhelm the bass, which feels light even with the vibration mode set to maximum. I also don’t believe the vibration mode makes movies 100% more immersive like it claims. If you bought this to not disturb your significant other you may be disappointed. The speakers do not necessarily isolate the sound solely to the person wearing the headset. Pretty much everyone can hear what you’re listening to. The speaker is great for walking around the house without cranking the TV volume all the way up to hear dialogue. I’m able to walk into the kitchen and still hear the voices. That is a plus. The battery life is also very good and I can almost go a day without charging it as long as I shut it off. the lack of Bluetooth and a microphone are inexcusable. For something that cost so much money. That is the main reason why I would not necessarily recommend this product. It is good in a lot of ways. But no Bluetooth or microphone takes the cake *update* the more I use it the more I like it and although it still doesn't have Bluetooth I'm starting to think I might be able to recommend this product now. My initial reaction was to not recommend that I think I've had a change of heart

0

0

0

Great product

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Nursemomof3 (USA)

This product is new and amazing. I have tried many different headphones and such. None of them fit my ears and tended to be very uncomfortable. This one, I don’t have to worry about them hurting my ears. They are a bit heavier than I expected but they are great for enhancing the sound for me without having to blast the tv. I wish I was able to use them with my phone as well.

0

0

0

Great Experience

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by amyeve13 (USA)

This is truly so unique and specific to your needs. It is a personal and inviting sound bar. I can’t believe how crisp the sound is and I love that I can understand all the words in shows and movies. The gaming aspect of it brings excitement and adrenaline to the experience! I have sensitive ears and love that I don’t have to put them on my ears. I can’t wear headphones because they irritate or make my ears sore. These are so comfortable and enjoyable. I love that I am able to still be aware of my surroundings and completely hear the outside world. They charge so fast. The design is perfect for any activity you’re doing. Only complaint is I wish they were Bluetooth!

0

0

0

Great for those hard of hearing

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by nicoley523 (USA)

I got this wearable speaker specifically for my boomer father, who is hard of hearing. My mom's always complaining about him having the TV up way too loud, and he can't hear it otherwise. He loves to watch The History Channel and Games specifically, which can have their loud moments. Even when they have company over, my dad will be watching a game too loud, and it's hard for everyone to visit over the volume. Last year for the holidays, I got him a headset to help with this, but it wasn't the greatest. When I saw these, I knew they'd be perfect for him! I've tried them out with multiple types of media. I will say this, if you like listening to your music really loud, with rich sound, these might not be right for you. They do have nice bass and vibrations, but the sound isn't as rich when you turn up the decibels. I highly recommend these for watching TV or movies. My dad will have the sound right next to his face, so he doesn't have to turn the TV volume up too loud, and he can still pay attention to company and not feel isolated. My mom will also be able to enjoy watching movies with him without feeling blown away. I can't wait to see how much he loves them! They are a sturdy material, and you can tell they are very well made. Sony never disappoints. They charge wirelessly, and they have a new technology that ensures the sound links up with what you're watching. There's no delay like you sometimes get with Bluetooth (I repeat, these are NOT bluetooth). They will connect to virtually any TV or electronic with an audio output port. Which is also nice, because some headsets don't. All in all, I highly recommend for those who are hard of hearing and just need to be able to hear their entertainment more clearly! Disclaimer: I received this product at a reduced price in exchange for my honest review.

0

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by Rachele412 (USA)

Having a mix of ages in the household we all do not want to watch the same thing. Now everyone is on their phones playing games. I love to watch TV, so its nice to have everyone in the same room still and I can watch TV as loud as I like to and not disturb everyone else. Its nice I can still hear them talk to me, and the volume is easy to adjust. Its lightweight so I can usually watch an entire movie without feeling the weight. My kitchen is attached to the living room so is nice I can get up and start cooking dinner and still hear the TV with perfect sound. It has a great amount of bass still, and the words come out very clear. I do wish it was blue tooth so I could pair it with my phone. My son who is 15 wishes it has a mic so he can play games with his friends!

0

0

0

Wow!

SRS-WS1 TW8 20/07/2020 by rkorba (USA)

Just got these and they are really excellent! design, sound, everything. Could use for hours and hours without any problem I’ve been using primarily for music and audio books but really excellent for TV particularly since my wife likes the volume louder than I do so I can use these and sit further away to reduce my volume They do have pretty good range as long as you’re not blocked by walls and the vibration cues and volume controls are pretty good

0

0

0

Immersible Wearable Speaker

SRS-WS1 09/07/2020 by Glscott22 (USA)

This speaker is great for gamers! The sound is high quality and doesn't require the tv volume to be turned up so loud. Even if you don't play video games, it's great for being able to hear the tv anywhere in your home. You don't have to miss a thing to go get a drink. It is a little heavier then expected but not uncomfortable. There are volume controls on the unit which makes it very easy to adjust volume. I used the speaker both alone in living room and when other family members were present. Everyone was amazed and how clear and loud the speaker can go. The vibration control on the speaker is amazing. You honestly feel immersed into your game with this feature. I am very impressed with how much base this unit has. I am very happy I purchased this speaker and I would recommend this speaker for everyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound but May Not Be for Everyone

SRS-WS1 TW8 08/07/2020 by DrVaro (USA)

First, the review of the speakers themselves. They provide great sound in a small, comfortable package. The set up is very simple and intuitive (also well described in the directions). Also, Sony provided everything you might need to connect to a number of devices via the primary optical audio, or through an audio jack. I was very impressed with the sound quality and comfortable wear, even for long periods. Next, in comparing these to the other alternatives for television/movie watching, they do find some unique usefulness. Compared to speakers/soundbars, they do allow the primary user to listen at a higher volume than they likely could if they are worried about disturbing others. There is a decent decibel drop off as you move away from others, much more so than would be the case listening with surround sound or TV speakers. Comparing these with headphones, the Sony Immersive Speaker is definitely louder for those in the room who aren't interested in listening to whatever content you are viewing. I found these to be more comfortable to wear long term than headphones, and this did allow for some chores/leaving the living room, etc. while still listening to the content (like headphones). The openness of the speaker, does make it easier to listen to others, and this is where we found a niche for this product. After putting kids to bed, these allow for louder listening to television, while still allowing us to listen for our young children. We also weren't able to test this, but the speakers allow for pairing with another speaker, which would allow for two listeners to the same content. Also, if you have your head on a pillow, these blow headphones out of the water. It was great to not have to constantly worry about adjusting these, or leaning your head on a pillow, these stayed in place and comfortable. Some may not like the bluetooth (which does limit it's usefulness in some cases), I actually liked this as when we go to turn these on, we don't have to worry about it pairing with our phones or going into the TV to change the settings. Once you set this up with a tv you have the option to listen via normal speakers/soundbar or mute the tv and listen through these, pretty seamlessly. Plus with bluetooth, then do you need to add a microphone, etc. To summarize, these produce a great sound, that is less disruptive than listening through tv speakers and more comfortable than headphones. Once set up, it is easy to turn these on and enjoy!

0

0

0

Small Speaker; Big Sound

SRS-WS1 TW8 08/07/2020 by Boxcarspawn (USA)

My intended use for the Sony Wearable speaker was to be able to play games and enjoy movies with crisp sound detail without bothering my roommates. Overall, the experience has been great and the WS1 has met my overall use. Setup was simple and everything you need is in the box including power cables, an optical cable, and 3.5mm audio cable. Getting everything connected took about 5 minutes. The only trouble I had in the setup process was that my LG TV kept putting out sound, but a quick google search and adjustment in the settings fixed that quickly. The first movie I tried out was Avengers: Infinity War. The dialogue was crisp and the action scenes were full of bass. The best part was I could enjoy full sound and anyone outside the room barely heard anything. I also tried this out with Fallen Order on my Xbox One X. Again I was impressed with the detail and impression of full surround sound. It made the gaming experience very immersive without the need for a full on sound system. A couple things I noticed, the speaker does put out quite a bit of sound. So, if you're trying to use it while a spouse is sleeping this might not be a good alternative to headphones. Also, to minimize input lag the speaker uses RF signals for its output as opposed to traditional Bluetooth. While this provides a great experience for video and audio sync it does limit its uses. The nice thing is that they do allow for the ability to connect the speaker to another source via a standard headphone jack. This way I was able to listen to music from my phone when I was anywhere outside my bedroom,. Overall, this is a great personal speaker with a ton of sound. If you're looking for something to use for a great audio experience without bothering others in the house then look no further. There are a few limitations, but don't really take away from the experience.

0

0

0

Your Personal Soundbar at Your Service

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by chrisdinky (USA)

There are numerous personal audio products available and having used the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker, I can definitely say it is a rather unique product. Think of it as your personal soundbar. It's not quite a traditional headset as you 'wear' the speaker system around your shoulder. The sound quality is pretty good though not great compared to a good quality over-the-ear headphone set. However, what you give up in sound quality, you make up in being able to still be aware of your surroundings and interact with others while wearing your Sony speaker. There is a vibration setting that allows you to feel the sound similar to when you hear a subwoofer thump...pretty cool. Ironically, the biggest benefit thus far is using the speaker in while in bed. My schedule requires me to get up much earlier in the morning, and so my wife uses the speaker system with the TV audio muted. She is able to listen to the TV while I can go to sleep without the sound disturbing me! Set-up is relatively straightforward. There is a transmitter that you hook up to your TV via the supplied optical cable or an audio cable. The signal is transmitted via RF wireless signal so there is no lag in the audio. The TV audio and your speaker audio can transmit audio simultaneously. You can also hook up your speaker to your phone or tablet provided they have an audio jack. Overall, I like the Sony Wearable Speaker. I would recommend it based on your needs. If you're a hi-fidelity audiophile looking for top-notch sound quality, this is probably not for you. If you're looking for a way to listen to your audio while being able to interact with your surroundings, this may just do the trick.

1

0

0

Great for gamers

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by glscott (USA)

This speaker is great for gamers! The sound is high quality and doesn't require the tv volume to be turned up so loud. Even if you don't play video games, it's great for being able to hear the tv anywhere in your home. You don't have to miss a thing to go get a drink. It is a little heavier then expected but not uncomfortable. There are volume controls on the unit which makes it very easy to adjust volume. I used the speaker both alone in living room and when other family members were present. Everyone was amazed and how clear and loud the speaker can go. The vibration control on the speaker is amazing. You honestly feel immersed into your game with this feature. I am very impressed with how much base this unit has. I am very happy I purchased this speaker and I would recommend this speaker for everyone.

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi glscott, good to know that you're having a great time using the SRSWS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Excellent for gaming!

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by veropitre34 (USA)

The WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is easy to install and makes gaming a more personalized experience! Between the vibration and the sound, games seem more intense, especially if playing shooter games! My stepdaughter also enjoyed the sound when she or I was using it while the other person was next to it. The setup and the controls are very simple! It has the volume buttons, on/off button and the vibration button. You don’t need to take off the speaker in order to work with the buttons. The buttons are easy to identify just by touching them. The battery life is amazing! It works for quite a couple of hours before hearing the low battery. Compared to other devices, it is very good for a personalized gaming experience.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi veropitre34, good to know that you're having a great time using the SRSWS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

I can't hear you

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by Meischet (USA)

The Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is a great idea and concept. With a few updates it has super potential. I will start with the connectivity. With Bluetooth being standard on most platforms it seems Sony missed their mark with RFID. With optical being my preferred method of output on most of my TVs, I found I had to get up and unplug and plug back in the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker from my soundbar which makes the sound for other viewers go through the TV and therefore losing the ability of surround sound. Also having to change the TV sound mode to PCM was also frustrating. If you have a hearing issue or constant noise around you, Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is perfect for that. It sounds like the TV/radio/game is turned up to 11. I found myself having to adjust the volume on the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker down. Once a nice volume was attained, I was able to enjoy myself while others around me carried on conversations and such. The vibration on the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker through me for a loop. I thought it was going to be immersive (4D-ish) but instead Sony is using it to immolate bass and the feel you will get if you have a big sub-woofer. Cool idea! I did not have any problems connecting the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to my TVs or stereo. Since there is no 3.5mm jack on my phones and no optic connections, I was not able to test the sound or use with my cell phones. The distance of the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is awesome. I was able to get up and go use the facilities about 40 feet from the RFID puck and I was able to tool around in the kitchen (30ft from the RFID puck.) Charging was no problem and I found my specific pair of Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to hold about an 8-hour charge when only using a few hours at a time. I do not see where there could be a way to change the battery once it has depleted life and needs changed. That might be something for Sony to investigate and include on the next iteration. Falling asleep with the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker on is as one would expect. They are big, and you will notice them while sleeping. They are a tad on the heavy side, and they bugged me after a long period of use. But nothing one could not get used to. All in all, I give these a 4-star rating simply because Sony chose RFID over Bluetooth, they could have better sound (surround or Dolby) and they could be lighter.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/07/2020

Hi Meischet, we appreciate your time in sharing this honest review. Rest assured that this will be helpful in improving the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for your feedback and for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound quality

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by HolgersenFamily (USA)

If you're looking for a great way to enjoy uninterrupted sound, this speaker is the way. I have kids who can drown out sound when I'm trying to listen to something. This wearable speaker brings the sound right to me, so I don't miss anything. The speakers seem to be well made, with quality materials. They were easy to charge and set up. All the necessary charging equipment was included in the box. I didn't need to buy anything extra to use these. I have them plugged into my smart TV. The buttons are straightforward and simple to use. The sound quality on these are amazing! Watching a television show, it feels like you're right in the same room as the action. For even richer, more immersive sound, use them for listening to music. You can actually feel the beats in the song. It's intense. If I can make a recommendation to really hear and feel the potential of these speakers, listen to the song Weightless by Marconi Union. It is an amazing experience. My only displeasures is that the speaker is a little uncomfortable to wear for an extended amount of time and that it does not have Bluetooth capability. The lack of Bluetooth, I think, is the biggest downfall. It would have made it available to enjoy it in many other uses. All in all, I like the wearable speakers.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/07/2020

Hi HolgersenFamily, we're glad you like our product. We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. The longer you wear headphones, the more your ears may hurt. You may need to limit your headphone usage. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Late night tv watching

SRS-WS1 19/06/2020 by Csilas (USA)

I am a night owl. Most everyone else in my home go to bed at a typical bed time. My husband gets up super early for work so I don't watch TV in bed, much. This device has made my late night TV watching so much more enjoyable! I usually have to keep the TV at a low volume to prevent waking everyone and that makes it hard to actually enjoy what I am watching. This device has changed that completely! I am able to watch and enjoy my shows, late at night, wearing these speakers and actually hear it loud and clear. The best part is I dont have to worry about waking anyone! I am considering getting a set for my Dad, who is hard of hearing. I think this would make his TV watching much more enjoyable. I like that the buttons on the speakers are slightly raised so I can feel the plus or minus symbol. If I need to adjust the volume, I can I that without having to remove them. I place it on the charger after each use but, so far, I have used it for 2-3 hours each day without it showing any signs of low battery. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to it not being bluetooth capable. I would love to use these for music on my smartphone. Otherwise it is an outstanding product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi Csilas, Awesome! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our srs-ws1 Wearable Speaker. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great audio and useful product

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by BrainApps (USA)

Opening up the Sony SRS-WS1 speaker, you can instantly tell it was a quality speaker. It looked great. Picking up the speaker, they were heavier than I had imagined… they felt solid and nicely built. They also had a slight springiness to them so they could be slightly pulled apart to wrap around bigger heads/necks, like mine. Underneath, there was a good assortment of cables and an instruction booklet. No cable for the new USB-c style jacks on the new phones. You will need an adapter to use them on these devices. FIRST IMPRESSION. I hooked everything up as fast as I could and wrapped them around my head and started a movie. The vibration for the bass sounds caught my attention first and the surround sound was very impressive. I was hearing a definite front/rear and right/left audio which sounded amazing. The vibration had 3 settings and I liked the mid setting best. I felt immersed in the movie. Removing the speakers and walking a few feet away, you can tell these are not a private listening device like earphones… I could hear the audio quite well from 10-12 feet away. PROS. The speakers were built nicely and they felt good around my neck and weren’t too heavy. The sound was amazing and they immersed me in the movie. They connected well to the audio source and never lost connection. I had my whole family try them and they all agreed they sounded nice. They fit, comfortably, a 6-year-old child also. Music was tested and it sounded great too. CONS. The fabric used on the inside of the speaker rubbed against the scruff of my stubble and I was afraid it may start to wear out the fabric from moving my head around too often. The charging stand charges with the speakers laid flat… so it takes a bunch of desk space. I wish they hung down, or on the wall even. The biggest con, in my opinion, they aren’t Bluetooth, so you have to either move the audio sender device from source to source or plug the dedicated audio cable directly into the speakers. Overall, I liked these speakers a lot and I have used them for many hours so far. They definitely are great for movies, if you are alone, or hard of hearing. Currently loving these speakers but would love a Bluetooth version a lot more! I use them daily while working and listen to music along with the email alerts, etc. from the computer. Email alerts never sounded so good.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi BrainApps, thank you for sharing your detailed review of the srs-ws1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Erin

0

A True Game (And Movie) Changer!

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by MandaJo1981 (USA)

Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker This lightweight speaker (11.82 oz) is beyond amazing! You can hear your surroundings while you wear it, but you also can turn up the volume of the television, game system, or other devices, without bothering those around you. You can even connect 2 devices at once if you want. To really add to the immersive quality, this wearable speaker from Sony has a vibration control. This means you really feel like you are part of the movie you are watching or the game you are playing. I must admit, I wore it while watching a scary movie, and was nearly scared to death more than once. However, the best thing about this wearable speaker for me, is that I can watch tv without disturbing others in the household. Not only do I have trouble hearing, but I also work the night shift. That means I am often awake while others are asleep, and I like to watch movies when I am off work. Everyone knows that movies just aren’t the same at a low volume. And I have a beautiful 4K TV to watch on, so I don’t want to be limited to my phone or computer to watch movies just because others are asleep. This has solved my issue. So even if someone has a migraine, or is sound asleep, I can still enjoy my movie without bothering them. An added benefit is that I can walk around the house while wearing them and still hear the TV as clear as day. Truthfully, I am a constant multitasker. I rarely sit down and just watch TV. That means I may be up cooking or doing laundry while watching a show. The great thing is that the sound comes with me. I no longer have to ask my family what was just said on the TV or have to rewind the show or miss out on something important. I can even go out on my deck to grill and I can STILL hear with my Sony Immersive Wearable Speaker clear as day! This is truly a game-changer for me! changer for me!

0

0

0

Works good for what it was made for

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by robert271 (USA)

I use these headphones on a daily basis for about 2 weeks now. Right off the start I will say Sony did a good job with designing the packaging and the headphones look like a cool piece. I listed below what I feel are the pros and cons. Some of the pros I like: The headphones are easy to set up and easy to use. They provide a clear sound and it is nice to hear all the miscellaneous type of noises like footsteps and rain! They are great for people like me who have a harder time hearing. If you want to get quality sound and keep the tv volume low/off so you don’t disturb others then these headphones are for you. My wife says she can’t hear it that much and likes the fact she can sleep besides me without the tv being so loud. The vibrating is a neat feature and makes the viewing more dimensional. Not only do these headphones work well for movies but work pretty good with tv network shows and music stations. They have good battery life to them so I don’t feel like I constantly have to recharge them. Some of the cons I like: The headphones do not have Bluetooth. These would be 10x better if I could connect them to my phone without wires. They would be much more versatile. Unfortunately, they do not have a mic so I unable to answer phone calls and I can not talk to others while gaming. They are a bulky and large to store. I think if they folded this would help take up less storage space. They get to be heavy and become uncomfortable after wearing them for a whole movie. The price seems high for a TV type ONLY speaker product.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi robert271, thank you for sharing your detailed review. We appreciate highlighting what you love most on the SRSWS1. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Life Changing

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by christopher135 (USA)

Let me just start by saying this speaker is awesome. I started experiencing hearing loss about 10 years ago but didn't really notice it until my wife and kids would get up during the middle of a movie and go in another room to watch it. Finally I asked why they didn't want to stay in the room and watch a movie with me that they told me that I have it up so loud that it hurt their ears with my wife commenting that she couldn't even pay attention to the movie or Television we were watching. This speaker from Sony has really changed our life. Installation and set-up was very simple by just following the easy to read and very comprehensive instructions that are provided with the Speaker. The Power button and volume controls are very inconspicuous but also easy to locate when reaching or feeling for them which in my opinion allows for a very sleek looking device.Since receiving it a few days ago we have been able to have Family Movie Night twice and they actually are willing to stay in the Living Room while I watch Television. I recommend purchasing this item for you or the person that you care about if you have ever experienced the same as my family and I. This will change your life for sure. Thank you Sony for creating this item.

0

0

0

Late night tv watching

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Csilas20 (USA)

I am a night owl. Most everyone else in my home go to bed at a typical bed time. My husband gets up super early for work so I don't watch TV in bed, much. This device has made my late night TV watching so much more enjoyable! I usually have to keep the TV at a low volume to prevent waking everyone and that makes it hard to actually enjoy what I am watching. This device has changed that completely! I am able to watch and enjoy my shows, late at night, wearing these speakers and actually hear it loud and clear. The best part is I dont have to worry about waking anyone! I am considering getting a set for my Dad, who is hard of hearing. I think this would make his TV watching much more enjoyable. I like that the buttons on the speakers are slightly raised so I can feel the plus or minus symbol. If I need to adjust the volume, I can I that without having to remove them. I place it on the charger after each use but, so far, I have used it for 2-3 hours each day without it showing any signs of low battery. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to it not being bluetooth capable. I would love to use these for music on my smartphone. Otherwise it is an outstanding product!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi Csilas20, thank you for sharing your detailed review. We appreciate highlighting what you love most on the SRSWS1. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Amazing sound

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Cheyenne72 (USA)

We can't say enough about these amazing Sony Immersive Wearable Speakers. The sound is incredible and it's a theater experience in your with the added vibration. You can adjust the volume without taking them off because the controls are big & easy to feel, even in the dark. It's easy to connect and comes with a variety of cable's to use. What blows us away is how you can still be interacting with everyone and hear the tv!! These have excellent battery life. How awesome is that!! These are very comfortable to wear for long periods of time. I've used them with my TV & my tablet to listen to music. You need to buy these.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi Cheyenne72,

Awesome! Good to know that you're happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

An interesting product that enhances gaming

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by metalmancpa1 (USA)

I was lucky enough to receive the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to play with and test. I immediately was excited for a specific purpose (will explain later - and see the picture). I am an audiophile junkie, and have more headphones and buds than I care to admit. I had missed out on a Sony buds campaign, so this made me feel a tad better getting picked. ***** In the box: SRS-WS1 unit, charger base, audio transmitter, (2) AC adapters and micro USB cables, (1) digital optical cable, (1) audio cable, (1) dedicated audio cable. ***** Immediate weakness/wish: You must use the cabled transmitter in order to receive audio. No bluetooth or any wireless stand-alone connectivity. Bluetooth would be nice. ***** Test #1: I plugged the transmitter into my cellphones headphone jack, amazing that I still have one, in order to stream some metal music to check out pure audio. The sound does not rival cans or buds, and truthfully not that close. When I turned up the vibration level (which effects bass) from weak, to middle, to strong, the sound definitely got better. I found the vibrations down the front of my shoulders and around the neck to be interesting. For me though, in listening just to music, I didn't feel this offered that much. My buds sound much better and offer more audible bass. ***** Test #2 (the reason I really wanted to try these): In the picture I am wearing an Oculus CV-1. When playing games like Beat Saber, in truth the headset on the CV-1 doesn't sound that bad. When I purchased the WS-1's, I honestly didn't know if I could stream CV-1 and SRS-WS1 at the same time. Luckily my Alienware Aurora R6 has a digital/optical output. I set the CV-1 to be able to hear audio from CV-1 and PC, and set the PC to optical output. Then I played Beat Saber again, and WOW. The combination of the decent CV-1 sound along with the additional audio and vibrations took the gaming experience up several notches. Synced to the bass of the games, the vibrations fit perfectly to the feel. ***** Final thoughts: For pure audio there are better choices. For movies, if you lack a good system these add an interesting punch. For gaming, love them. *****

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi metalmancpa1,

Awesome! We're happy to know you're satisfied with the overall performance of our SRS-WS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there.

We will surely take note of your feedback for the improvements to our product.

Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

0

Life Changing For Me

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Pamiamfree (USA)

Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is an amazing concept! I've had a hearing loss since childhood. It's not bad enough to warrant a hearing aid, but it does interfere with my day to day life at times. I have a partial tone loss, meaning I miss certain levels of sound. I have a few reality type TV shows that I enjoy watching from time to time. Those shows, I've noticed, I have to either turn my TV up to very high level, which is unfair to others in the household, or as I usually do, I just miss parts of what is being said, or key background sounds. Until NOW. First of all, these are surprisingly comfortable to wear. They rest comfortably around my neck, or you can place them nearby on a side table. They have a raised volume control, that allows me to easily raise or lower the volume as needed. They also have a very cool vibration feature that immerses me into the action. They are fun to wear while gaming too. I can feel the vibration, but it's not overwhelming or annoying, it just adds to the excitement. I was impressed as I unboxed these stylish speakers. The first thing I did was to charge them on the included charging base as the detailed instructions mentioned. Next, I read the instructions and connected the receiver. I discovered that the TV in my living room could not connect to them unless I disabled the built-in TV speakers, which would make other people unable to watch TV along with me. At first, I was disappointed. Then I realized that I like to watch most of those shows in bed at night any way, and decided to try that TV and it worked immediately! And it worked GREAT! For me, it was like really hearing TV sounds for the first time! I could hear everything I had been missing, and others got to hear all along. I felt jubilant.. That's the only word that comes close to expressing the emotion that I felt. The Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker does not interfere at all with my hubby's listening pleasure. Since it doesn't cover my ears, I didn't lose the ability to also hear normal sounds and talking around me and carry on normal conversations with my surroundings. As I previously mentioned, the speaker itself is lightweight at approx. 11.82 oz. It's an easy and convenient wireless connection to your (compatible) TV. Also, you can connect two devices simultaneously. It comes with hard wires to also directly connect to my laptop and tablet, and... Wait, there's more.. It connects to my cellphone!! Now I can finally hear those social media videos!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi Pamiamfree,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Sleek, Futuristic, and Great Bass

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by saumyag81 (USA)

The Sony WS1 headphones are all about quality, form, and function. The deign of the speakers is very intuitive - they dont block your ears and have a comfortable fit without being obtrusive. The mesh cover on the speakers feels really nice and the bass control button is something I never realized I was missing from other speakers until I had used it myself. I really like that I can chose to use the speakers with my TV as well as directly though my phone using the different cables that were provided. I have never ran out of juice, but thats because after a few hours of use - when Im done watching TV, I just put it back on the dock - which recharges it. The audio can be turned up loud enough that it won't bother most people around you while giving you a premium audio experience. On the plus side, the speaker is also the perfect size for my dog! She absolutely loves the speakers too! I have no hesitation recommending this product to anyone looking for quality, innovative, and comfortable speakers!!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi saumyag81,

Aweseome! We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony and enjoy your headphones.

Regards,
David

0

Great if you have issues hearing the tv

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by bnb2005 (USA)

As I get older, I cannot always hear everything on the tv. Sometimes, I have to put the closed caption on just to know what is being said. These headphones have helped me with these issues! The sound comes in crystal clear. I like that they are not covering my ear because I can still hear other things going on in the room. The control buttons are easy to push. I can walk into another room with the headphones on and still clearly hear everything. Charging is very simple. Setting up the transmitter to the tv was a little confusing. It would have been nicer and easier if these had blue tooth connectivity. Other than that, they are a big help hearing the tv without have to blast the volume.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi bnb2005,

Thank you so much for your honest review. We're happy to hear you're satisfied with the crystal clear sound quality of your SRS-WS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there.

We'll have your feedback noted for the improvements to our product.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Amazing Wearable Speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by PsalmO (USA)

I so love my Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker! It is so easy to set up, amazing battery life and amazing sound quality. What I really love about it though is that it makes listening to any audio piece enjoyable. I dont have to blast whatever device I'm listening from anymore. With WS1, I can hear and feeeeel the sound so well without being the annoying person who can't hear well so she turns up the volume to the max. It really is a big help for me to enjoy listening to music, watching movies and gaming. At first i thought there was something wrong with the connectivity but i learned that if the audio source is on the minimal level, it tends to disconnect. i turned my audio source just a couple of level and then just adjust the WS1 volume accordingly and everything worked out well.. I also enjoy nonstop, no lag audio even when when I am far from the transmitter. Did i mention i love my #SonyAudio? If there's one thing that I can add to it though is for the next versions to also have bluetooth connectivity and possibly syncing controls as well to allow us to pause whatever we're listening to without having to reach for the audio source ^_^

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi PsalmO,

Awesome! It's nice to hear you're having an enjoyable experience with our SRS-WS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there.

We'll have your feedback noted for the improvements to our products.

Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great for hard of hearing

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Ashley637 (USA)

I received my Sony immersable wearable speaker and immediately had to test it. The unboxing is very easy and there is no hard plastic to cut. The set up was also surprisingly easy too. The instructions were easy and concise to follow. Only a few steps to set up, charge your speaker and be ready to rock! I have a mother who is hard of hearing and I thought these would be great for her. You can wear them without having something in your ear to further block your hearing when someone walks in your room and wants to talk. No need to take out headphones! They are loud enough to hear the tv and it doesn't bother anyone in my house. The clarity on the immersive wearable speaker is awesome! I have had no issues what so ever. I have personally hated headphones. The ear buds never stay in my ear and they get uncomfortable, and regular over the ear headphones start to make my ears hurt from wearing them too long. These are going to make a great alternative to those. Personally I think the weight is fine. You don't want something too lightweight so they feel flimsy, these feel great! I have watched regular TV, movies and have a great experience so far.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi Ashley637,

That's awesome! We're really glad to hear you're satisfied with the features and performance of our SRS-WS1. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there.

Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

0

Unique audio!

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by luvmylife12 (USA)

I have owned quite a few audio devices. They range from headphones to ear buds and everything in between. Some are wired and some wireless, however nothing is like the WS1. The Sony WS1 is a unique over the shoulder immersive headset. Out of the box the Sony WS1 is very easy to set up. The raised buttons for volume make it easy to find your perfect level for listening. I am even able to leave the room and walk to my daughters room about 15 ft away and still hear my favorite show. There is no feedback or interference which is fantastic! The headset is a little on the heavier side for a headset but it isn’t uncomfortable. The sound is clear and definitely makes watching tv shows and movies quite enjoyable. The sound vibrations make you feel like your in a theatre when watching movies. I love being able to hear what I’m watching over my kids the dogs and the air blowing. Overall the Sony WS1 is a nice device! My only con is the lack of Bluetooth connectivity.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi luvmylife12,

We are happy that you love it! We also appreciate your time sharing this positive feedback about the unit. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Innovative Immersive Wearable Speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Sealhealer (USA)

I have now used the Sony Speaker on several occasions. After setting up the equipment which was very simple and charging overnight, I rented a movie and proceeded to turn the speaker on. The volume controls are on one side using a + or - sign for up and down . It’s unfortunate that there is no way to tell how much you have gone up on the volume or down . I find it difficult to adjust unless I remove the speaker from my neck, press a button and then put the speaker back on to see if I have it right. Other than that, I really like that I can more clearly hear the sound from whatever I’m watching. The really neat part is that I hear so many background sounds, like little birds chirping or a dog barking which I’m sure I missed before using these. Also, it’s fun to feel the vibrations from the music or loud sounds from the movie, in which there were a lot of explosions. I learned quickly to turn the TV down, as there is a distinct echo if it is still up too loud. I do not like the way the speaker sits on my collar bone . It is uncomfortable, so I put some padding under each side and it was better. I think this product works better with a movie than regular network shows, but all in all I like the simplicity of its use, the ability to adjust the vibration button so the intensity can be magnified for really scary movies, and how easy the recharging cradle is to use. I now look forward to watching my favorite shows and being able to hear more clearly without having to strain.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi Sealhealer,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Futuristic Sony Wearable Speakers

SRS-WS1 TW8 09/06/2020 by pochuram1 (USA)

If you have young kids who play video games, then Sony’s wearable SRS-WS1 speakers are for you. As a parent you always worry about kids wearing headphones and in the long run possibly causing damage to their ear drums. Then on the other side when you inform the kids to not wear headphone then the TV sound is quite loud and disrupting. Sony has come up with an excellent solution to this issue. These are speakers that you wear around your neck. Comfort level – it is light enough with a lot of padding to rest on the neck without causing any discomfort. Sound level- the speakers on these Sony are amazing. The person wearing can turn up or down by pressing on the elevated volume buttons. These Sony speakers also have three vibration settings (low, medium, and high). The kids really enjoyed this vibration options when playing their video games. I also had the opportunity to test these while watching some action movies. I can tell you the sound is crisp and clear and when there are explosions you can feel the rumble all due to the vibration settings offered on this headset. Another feature of these Sony speakers is that the bass level is outstanding. Setup- This was a little challenging as this Sony headset is not Bluetooth compatible. You can either use connect using optical or 3.5mm input to the TV. In our household we connected using the optical connection. Once it is connected to the base of the adapter you simply press the button to pair with the headset- Simple!!! Overall a solid speaker by Sony which is conveniently configured to rest on your neck – parent approved !!!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/06/2020

Hi, pochuram1, We are thrilled that you like your new wearable speaker. Thank you for choosing Sony! -VIncent

0

Good Sound and Not Heavy

SRSWS1 04/06/2020 by jomuzz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very impressed with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker. The sound is very good and the speaker is very lightweight, I hardly feel it on my shoulders. The system is easy to set up and once I figured out how to connect the Transmitter Digital Optical Audio to my TV, mostly where the port was located and that the Digital Optical Cable did actually fit into that tiny port, I was set to listen to my shows! The directions are easy to follow and everything you need to set up the system is included. I love that I can listen to my shows without bothering anyone else or having to turn up the volume so loud that everyone complains that it is too loud. I can actually hear what is being said on the show! I like that I do not have to put anything in my ears to hear my music or my shows. I have had earphones that leave my ears sore and I am always fiddling with them to get good sound quality. Not what I am experiencing with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker, it fits nicely on my neck and with just a push of a button I can increase or decrease the volume, I can even hear that background music or sounds that normally I would not hear with just the volume alone on the TV. They are a bit pricey, but if you can't hear your programs or music and your family gets upset with you for cranking up the volume, I personally feel that these speakers are a great investment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2020

Hi jomuzz, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

A step in the right direction

SRS-WS1 TW8 03/06/2020 by RoadRashTX (USA)

These speakers are not bad but they are not great. I get where Sony is trying to go with these but these really seem like a beta product. The sound quality is not bad but it is not great. There is quite a bit of bass but the mids and highs are not really there. Do not expect these to give you a private listening experience. They can be heard just like any other external speaker but others in the room. I would love to see the next generation of this device. I think it has potential. My biggest issues with the product are: 1. The size and weight. They are not light and they take up a lot of space wherever you plan to charge them. It would be great if they were foldable. 2. There is a lack of connectivity options that exist is almost every other speaker/headphones - Bluetooth. These really seem to be meant for use on a TV but I also wanted to try them with my laptop. It is cumbersome to have to plug in a device to my laptop when my laptop has bluetooth. 3. No mic - If they also added a mic, these would be great for zoom, gaming, etc. I think this is a good idea and I cannot wait until I see the next version.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2020

Hi RoadRashTX, Thank you so much for your detailed review. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Erin

0

Buyers remorse

SRS-WS1 22/04/2020 by DisappointedBuyer (USA)

I ordered this product thinking i had finally found a solution to having to use headphones for a rich audio experience.. For the most part it does everything it describes, it just doesn't do it well, which is a disappointment all things considered. If you have a thick neck or shoulders this won't feel comfortable, it's certainly a one size fits most experience, since it does not allow you to expand the neck base. The audio quality is surprisingly bad, it certainly feels strong when your wearing them, but if you turn off the vibration (AKA the Bass), expect to get a drive through order experience. The audio sounds airy, empty. At Max Vibrations (AKA BASS) It gets the job done... You hear everything, but it sounds like someone took a drive through menu speaker and decided to give it a bass boost and somehow all together missed their mark. Considering the expected quality level of Sony speakers I'm actually really sadden by this. Although my biggest complaint is the fact that you are unable to pair the speakers to your phone. It only likes to pair to the dock. Why on earth would this not have bluetooth? Which leads me to my next point of dissatisfaction. You have a dock, and a charging station, 2 separate things that need to be plugged in, and vampire energy when your not using them. Why are they separate? Placing the headphones on the charging dock is a little tricky, you have to make sure you hear the sound and the light is on, or else they will not charge. Not a major complaint per se, but given the list of grievances... I got these thinking they were a cool concept, and that i finally found something i could use when i didn't want to put on my headphones. In that regard they are. They are an cool concept, and something i can use when i don't want to use my headphones, but for the price and the sound quality of a PS4 controller, I am left with nothing but buyers remorse. The tragic thing, at least for me, is that they still fulfill the need i got them for, so

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/04/2020

Hi DisappointedBuyer, we're sorry to hear that you have issues with your SONY unit. We appreciate your detailed review. You can only use this unit by connecting the transmitter to the TV with the supplied digital optical cable. The speaker can only be paired with the transmitter. The charging cradle and the transmitter are separated so you can enjoy the speaker around your house with no hassle as only the transmitter sits beside your TV. You may find this link helpful for any other issues you have. (Please refer to page 12-14): https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4699/b5af00f7548ab7adb662006fd5f7f89c/46991021M.pdf

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Better than my reSound hearing aid steamer.

SRS-WS1 17/04/2020 by hal9 (USA)

Installation was straight forward and easy. Only problem was I already had a device connected to the optical cable outlet on the TV (a Bose sound bar). So i had to disconnect the soundbar and use the built-in TV speakers. Only slight negative with some TV shows I have adjust the sound frequently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi hal9, we're glad you like our product. A wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there.~Earl

0

Great for TV

SRS-WS1 17/04/2020 by Maui Jeff (USA)

I have trouble hearing voice dialog on the TV so had to have the volume up too high in order to hear. These speakers solved the problem completely. Not only can I hear dialog but I'm hearing sound details that I've never heard before. I couldn't be happier. The vibration on my shoulder is a little strange but you can adjust the degree of vibration and I find the middle setting is good for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi Maui, we're glad you like our product. We hope you enjoy a wearable speaker that rests on your shoulders, surrounding you in sound and vibrations for a new audio experience that makes you feel like you’re actually there. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Better than I thought

SRS-WS1 03/04/2020 by Quay Hu (USA)

These wearable speakers have been quite an enjoyable experience. Playing COD with these on is life-changing to say the least. Every time I get hit I feel it. It's surprising how much bass comes out of these speakers. In the box comes with all the cables you need. 2 plugs for the chargers, audio cable, 2 usb cables and audio cable that connect your phone to the speaker. Listening to music on these speakers sounds great as well. The highs, mids and lows are just enough and not too overbearing. I also took a phone call while listening to music and it sounded great. The caller had no issues hearing me and said I sounded clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi Quay Hu, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Great for hard of hearing

SRS-WS1 11/03/2020 by Jackson45 (USA)

I bought this speaker and have been very happy with it. I like my tv much louder than my wife and have tried several different items to regulate the volume in the room. This product has been the first one that has actually worked. Definitely a solid buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi, Jackson45, We are glad to know that you've been very happy with your new wearable speaker. You owned a great product. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Bad sound quality

SRS-WS1 06/02/2020 by Tim90210 (USA)

Brilliant design but not for an audiophile. The look and feel are cool, but the sound quality after a burn in is pretty poor, like headphones cranked to distortion levels. I tried to mess with codecs but the speakers are a let down. It make be good for my 71 year old father to watch TV. It might excel at that.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

10

0

Garbage

SRS-WS1 03/02/2020  (USA)

Just got this as a gift and it has ruined my life. Waste of money, cheap Chinese made piece of trash. I wouldn’t give this to my worst enemy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

50

Response From Sony Social Support
04/02/2020

Hello, Howiemandel!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Works well.

SRS-WS1 21/11/2019 by MigNYC (USA)

Had it for a year n the states. Bought this in Ginza. Great sound. Better than competition. No issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

40