144

4.7 based on 144 customer reviews

113
21
6
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best oled tv in 2018

A8F Series 12/04/2018 by Aikoku (USA)

This tv has an improve panel than the previous A1E. My 65” doesn’t have vertical banding problem. Pic quality is as greater, clearer than A1E, although Sony said they use the same panel and same tech on A8F. I don’t know why, because I use both 65” and in action movie with high noise, A8F will give better pic without vertical banding on dark grey color screen. The only thing I don’t like is Android TV, it’s not good as LG owns OS. But it’s not really important because pic quality is the most important for me when choosing new TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

it was possessed!

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/12/2018 by kimchee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This television turned itself on when ever it felt like it. Middle of the night, 2 hours after Geek Squad came to check it, early morning...It's really unnerving to hear voices coming from the living room in the middle of the night, or walk in to an empty house with the TV on. Cannot customize homescreen to display my favorites where I want them. Remote control options were not the same as the ones shown on UTube video that explains how to customize. Geek Squad was not able to figure it out either. Picture is excellent, but how long could it last if it is on 24/7 ? Finally had it replaced with a new one. I hope my review will change with this one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

162 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Screen burn in.

55" class (54.6" diag) 01/12/2019 by LoosingSonyFaith (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a slightly used device from Bestbuy that has screen burn in and had to return it since it’s not covered under warranty which is a shame for a product younger than a year and costing so much. Fingers crossed the second device is better. If you offer the best tech for people to buy and view things as they choose, you should offer warranty of repair for something such as screen burns. It’s 2019, and your top notch product. What’s going on Sony are you telling us cheaper is better?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/12/2019

Hi, LoosingSonyFaith6qw1knaapx1kdcbdrmhoj42h8!

We're sorry to hear the issue with this unit. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Best in the business

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/11/2019 by Unc Mo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A couple days of ownership and this TV is the best in the business. I've owned a lot of high end Sony products that have lasted me a very long time including the still functioning KCL46XBR4 TV it replaces. Fingers crossed, this lives a trouble free life too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Refurbished but Sony says Recertified

55" class (54.6" diag) 27/11/2019 by Angry Juan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After only 30 of ownership was seeing ghost in picture. Was watching Dexter and a diving scene shown "Rocky Mountain Expressc burned into that section of screen. My fault was leaving it boxed while I bought and remodeled my house, 5 months, then mounted to wall, and discovered the burn in. I had never watched Rocky Mountain Express, but you can Google it, it's an HD documentary. Called Sony, and after many angry conversation, no money back, have to take REFURBISHED but they claim it's recertified. No not happy. But replacement works

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2019

Hi, There!

We are sorry for the bad experience. We would like to know more from you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Erin

0

Good tv but......

A8F Series 27/11/2019 by Rockhall (USA)

Bought this tv 15 months ago for good amount of money. Was happy with picture and performance until 2 days ago when the picture went black. Sony customer service gave me tips to reset to no avail. Best Buy Geeks came out and said it was either a power fuse, which would probably cost a couple of hundred to fix, or the picture itself which would cost just as much as buying a new tv. This should NEVER happen to a tv at this price point after only 15 months. I have a much cheaper and older Vizio, which still works fine and a Samsung smart tv that’s about 4 yrs old that also has given me no trouble. Sony has lost me as a customer.

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2019

Hi, Rockhall!

We regret that the TV did not live up to your expectations. We would like to know more from you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Erin

0

Had to return

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/11/2019 by RGCurrin Jr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV worked long enough for the guys who delivered it and set it up to leave, then it turned off except for a blinking red light indicating a problem. I spent about 40 minutes on the phone with support until they suggested I return it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/12/2019

Hi, RGCurrin Jr6018822948!

We're sorry to hear about what happened. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Case Number:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great picture quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 22/11/2019 by ta22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only owned this TV about two weeks but am completely satisfied so far. No problems at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

We love it

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/11/2019 by Qplao (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s an awesome TV. Very happy we bought it and we love the picture!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent picture - but issues after 14 months

A8F Series 12/11/2019 by TJ 87 (USA)

I love the picture quality of this TV (XBR65A8F), and compatability with Google home. However after owning for over a year now, a thin line started appearing that runs the length of the screen vertically. A picture refresh resolved the issue for a couple of weeks, but the problem is back. Given the premium cost of the TV, I would expect the quality of the picture components to be premium as well. Unfortunately the manufacturer only offers a 1 year warranty, and problems started occuring shortly after warranty expired.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2019

Hi, TJ!

We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your TV. To isolate the issue further, we suggest visiting this link for troubleshooting steps: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00032635. If the TV menu still displays odd lines, repair may be required: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

Regards,

Vincent

0

The best on the market!

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/11/2019 by clairtx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought one of the first Sony Bravia tvs made and had it forever. I would still have it but I wanted one with all the bells and whistles and boy does my new one live up to its promises! I love having all the apps available without having to have a universal remote. One of the things I love the most is the ability to 'cast' whatever I am watching online to the tv. The quality of the picture is outstanding also. I couldn't be happier and will have this new one for many years to come, just like the first one I bought. Bravo Sony Bravia!.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Awesome picture and features

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/11/2019 by BTez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a month and love it. My previous TV was also a Sony XBR but 15 years old. Picture quality is great for TV and sports. The 4K and HDR are amazing. Buying it is a no brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Love the sound!

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/10/2019 by Mountaineer45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Geek squad was very efficiency and came when they said.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

7

Response From Sony Social Support
01/11/2019

Hello, Mountaineer45!
Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Horrible TV! Even worse customer service!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/10/2019 by stc27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this tv for 2 days and it has severe dark brown spots covering half the screen. I reached out to customer service as it has a year warranty and was told that this is normal; there's nothing we can do. If this is normal for you, I will never buy a Sony product again!!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

Response From Sony Social Support
28/10/2019

Hello, stc27!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Beautiful television. Speakers are awesome.

55" class (54.6" diag) 23/10/2019 by smandal123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television about a month ago and from the beginning it put my family in awe. The color, speaker, darks were all outstanding. Before connecting it to my BOSE sound system we used the built-in speakers and it was more than sufficient. If someone doesn't want wires running around the house, or you are in a rental apartment, or small space, the built-in speakers might be sufficient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, smandal1236018540741!

Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for sharing this review and for choosing SONY!

0

Mike

A8F Series 23/10/2019 by Mike1963 (USA)

Purchased the Tv August 18th 2018. Had trouble from day one returned the TV for an exchange. Started having trouble with it intermittently. Was not positive it was the TV replaced HDMI cables did factory reset etc. Confirmed it is the TV HDMI ports 2,3 and 4 do not work. Sony does not have a local repair center and told me to locate one myself. They would not cover it under warranty. Poor customer service! We now have an expensive paper weight.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, Mike1963!

We are sorry for what happened. If you haven't tried using the authorized service center locator yet, we suggest visiting this page: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US. Looking for a local technician or service center is another option.

We appreciate your feedback, and we will forward your feedback to the relevant department.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great features and great looks

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/10/2019 by Iroc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I'm very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2019

Hi, Iroc! That's great! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great Picture and Many Options

A8F Series 06/10/2019 by JoeJoe8484848 (USA)

Wonderful picture, no problem there. I bought this TV (Bravia) in particular so I could connect to wireless (bluetooth) headsets or earbuds. So far, I've been unable to find any compatible bluetooth headsets or earbuds that can work with this TV. VERY DISAPPOINTING. Sony, can you let me know what items can pair to this TV?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, JoeJoe8484848!

There are Sony headphones that are tested to work with Sony Android TVs. Please visit this link for more details: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00159290.

Regards,

Vincent

0

This unit is great !!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 05/10/2019 by T 105 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great pic and sound !!! Color is so sharp !!! The unit is great!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, T 105!

Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Best sony has and still affordable

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/09/2019 by Jahshua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buying a second model for the theater room very intense picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, Jahshua! That's cool! We're truly happy that you're having an enjoyable experience with our XBR-65A8F! We're looking forward to more 5-star reviews from your future Sony units. Thank you so much for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

Challenges loading SlingTV and FuboTV

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/09/2019 by Consumer1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice picture quality. Ease of use is moderate. AppStore works well, but appears unable to locate my favorite Apps (FuboTV and SlingTV) despite having advertising for both in its preloaded SonySelect section.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hello, Consumer1!

We're sorry for the inconvenience. As per checking, you can download and install the FuboTV and SlingTV from the Google Play Store. Once the application is installed, you can put it on the home screen by following the steps below:

select apps category> highlight the application> press and hold the select button for 2 to 3 seconds > select favorite> the application that you selected will be shown on the end of the apps row.

for more information, please visit the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-55a8f/articles/00150371
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-55a8f/articles/00201152

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great picture, the best in the market

A8F Series 10/09/2019  (USA)

Bought this Tv a year ago , so happy, no better quality in the market. I have the APPLE TV 4k pared with 2 HomePods . Love my setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi, Chris!

Such a lovely setup! We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Great TV with Great Features

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/08/2019 by rishii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV several months ago and I have never seen a better picture. The over all picture is great, great contrast, great brightness, and great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Rishii!

That's great! We totally agree! We would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review of the product.

Regards,
Sam

0

The Sound is Unbelievable

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/08/2019 by InsipidVirus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV has far surpassed my expectations. The sound it produces is almost perfect! I use it everyday and I’m glad I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hello, InsipidVirus! Thanks for the review! It's nice to hear that you're having an enjoyable experience with your TV. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Pretty good

55" class (54.6" diag) 11/08/2019 by xXDXDXDXx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pretty happy with the TV. Looks good and very good picture!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, xXDXDXDXx!


We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 06/08/2019 by rsii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture, very clear with excellent contrast. Best picture I've seen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hi, rsii!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Extremely good picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/07/2019 by Elton35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality of this TV is beyond belief. Colors are true and everything is clear and sharply defined. It's easy to use, even for an Android based machine. Updates are applied as needed and only make things better. Sound is clear, too. I hope to enjoy this set for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2019

Hi, Elton35!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Amazing Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/07/2019 by Jenn63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had our TV for three months. The picture clarity is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

love this Tv!

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/07/2019 by SandiB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My brother was soimpressed with the quality of the picture that he went out and purchased an idential one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

Great Monitor

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/07/2019 by txbham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few months ago and couldn't be more pleased. The picture is clear. It comes with all the apps that most people would require.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

Great Sony Quality

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/07/2019 by RoryW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initially thought about returning the TV after watching a few shows on U-verse. My older Sony HX800 was showing better but then I started watching Netflix and the picture quality came to life. The saying stays true, the picture quality is only as good as the stream.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

An Amazingly Fantastic Smart 4K UHD TV from SONY!

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/06/2019 by PM2013SD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought a SONY 55" A8F OLED 4K Ultra HD Smart TV back in December 2018. Simply it is OUTSTANDING! We had different SONY TVs over the past 40 years and all have been great, specially the XBR series. But this OLED 4K UHD TV is on a different level and is unbelievably good. The picture is the best that we have ever seen and the audio coming out of the screen is magical. It is a smart TV with lots of installed applications and you can easily add other applications as you like. It is also very fast to search and stream movies. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

8

0

OLED 55” TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/06/2019 by MoneyPenny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV has great quality, but my one complaint is the remote needs to be backlit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2019

Hi MoneyPenny,

We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

Regards
Earl


0

Great Features

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I bought this TV it is a great product in every aspect sound and video quality are un match by any other name brand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

One stuck pixel and vertical banding

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/06/2019 by Rwdpt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago, the TV is great but I do have one stuck pixel I've tried to fix and vertical banding with grays most visibly on the screen. It's only noticable when the screen is uniform in color, but frustrating that both of these issues came out of the box. Otherwise, picture quality is great and so is Android TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

8

0

About as good as it gets

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/06/2019 by RMVJoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first had this TV installed, I wasn't too impressed (unable to tell the difference from LED). After the updates and a couple days, I swear it changed and the picture became something I had never seen before in any of my LED models. The new android operating system is super smooth and fast. Compared to my 4 year old Sony 75" 4K model, the new operating system is like Windows 93 vs Windows 10. But the HDR picture is where this TV really shines. It is amazing. And surprisingly, 720 or 1080 content via cable from Cox looks way better than any other TV I own. I highly recommend even though this is a 2018 model. Oh, one last item, the sound from this TV is boomin (as AB would say)!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

9

0

First Sony Oled 4K TV exceeded my expectations!

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/06/2019 by SalCat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Purchased this TV about 2 months ago to replace a 12 year old Sony LED TV, and this TV exceeded my expectations in terms of viewing angle, deep blacks and amazing contrast. And the colors are simply amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

Drooling is ok

65" class (64.5" diag) 12/06/2019 by Guznnar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was blown away by the picture and the sound. I also like my sony soundbar connects right to it with no issues

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Wonderful Picture, Awsome Sound

A8F Series 05/06/2019 by Big Poppie (USA)

So I have owned an OLED TV since 2016 first one was an LG c6 3d Curved. Wow just wow. Then went shopping for another but got an awesome deal on an A8F. The picture is a little drier on the Sony, I haven't figured out if it will be adjusted in the settings or not but it is still one of the best pictures I've ever seen. The sound blows everything out of the water. Truly perfect sound I would expect from a Sony product, and anyone should from any high end high dollar purchase. Remote and OS leave a little to be desired but definitely not a deal breaker. Overall very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Excellent picture colors.

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/05/2019 by Jeff 37 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product after comparison shopping and I'm not disappointed. The color and sound are excellent. If there is one complaint, its that the instruction about the remote are not detailed enough about the functions of the buttons on it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

Sony A8F 55 inch OLED Television

A8F Series 19/05/2019 by Gary006 (USA)

I purchase this TV in July 2018, and what an experience it has been for me. I would hear all of the reviews about the A8F in the past and I say to myself a TV can't be that good. However, on a personal note;this TV is better then what everyone is saying about it. The appraisals have been strong for this OLED. After lots of research on TV's in general, I'm glad that I was able to comprehends the magic OLED technology incorporated in A8F. My viewing experience has been utterly described as totally astounding. I'm very happy with A8F it is the the best television I ever own. Five stars!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

3

0

Great Future , Excelent

55" class (54.6" diag) 19/05/2019 by Henryfua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product , one Year ago, and I ‘m very happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Love it

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/05/2019 by MailmanDave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a different model,it stopped working after only 11 days,was given this model because other one was out of stock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Great features

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/05/2019 by Emma420 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture Crystal Clear Easy to adjust the picture Great price I love how thin it is !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great features

65" class (64.5" diag) 28/04/2019 by Hormoz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I extremely happy & love it. The slim & clean look of TV is a very nice feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

GREAT TV!

65" class (64.5" diag) 25/04/2019 by Jaylito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images on my new Sony OLED are outsatding and incredibles. The TV has a beautiful frame and gives a modem style to my living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Quality plus

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/04/2019 by ArnKnee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After 30 days of dealing with the problems of an inferior brand TV I immediately returned that TV replacing it with my usual choice of electronics, SONY. It did cost me a bit more but, I am now at ease with my SONY TV. Quality at its best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Incredible Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/04/2019 by Peteeeee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is no substitute for Sony’s color control .Since my first Trinitron in 1975 There is no better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Awesome picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 18/04/2019 by Sal285 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv about a month ago and it changed my viewing experience, blacks are actually really black.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great entertainer!

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/04/2019 by ahmada (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this TV for a while now and I'm pleased with it. The Android TV experience is great and the picture quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Sony tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 13/04/2019 by Not got none (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great customer service with an issue I had with my new tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

SONY owns the IRON TV Throne!

A8F Series 11/04/2019 by Tigerhawk09 (USA)

I have never owned a SONY TV as they were simply out of reach for the everyday consumer when it comes to price. This isn't a knock on SONY, it's just a reality of the market. SONY takes the APPLE approach and is not always worried about being the first, but rather about being the best at what they do. LG is the maker of the OLED panel in all of SONY's OLED line up, so you would figure that LG would have the upper leg in this market (this isn't the case). While LG is a very fine competitor and rivals the cost, SONY has engineered the processing power and Picture modes to make the User Experience the very best when viewing Movies, Sporting Events, and Gaming. Because of this processing power and attention to detail, the outcome is beautifully processed 4K content with HDR and Adolby Vision. I'm not a fan of the Android platform as I am more geared to Apple, but with software updates they continually get better as time moves forward. Many have been concerned about the brightness levels with the A8F and even the A9F. Sony doesn't appear to be bothered by this, and I'm not either. When using their picture adjustments I can see the leveling details for each picture mode. Pushing the over all light and Ambient light to the levels in which LG has seem to wash out a bit and the over all blending of the picture is lost. While some find the over saturation visually appealing, (I do at times as well) it's not a accurate color template for the picture displayed and accuracy is what it's all about. Getting the panel to produce the true to life color is always the battle, and although OLED screens do this better than any other, not all processors are created equal for this task. Sony's X1 Extreme processor and X1 Extreme Ultimate processor are a cut above. The cost of this television is not all due to the name on the box, (but yes, some of it is). One of the main reasons I can see is that they are paying royalties to LG for the production of the panel, so, naturally SONY has to up-sale their sets to off set this cost. SONY isn't always about BANG for your buck, but like all things at the top, they rarely ever are. The A8F is the middle ground that still sits nicely at the top for it's processor and price point. While there may be other options for OLED, you won't regret the purchase of this SONY if you have the means to do so. Like Ferris Buller said. . . (It is so choice, if you have the means, I highly suggest you pick one up). Start enjoying TV and Movies they way they were meant to be watched. (Game of Thrones is coming up April 14th, 2019, do yourself a favor and watch it on this stunning TV).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Love the Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/04/2019 by williams64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony TV las month and am amazed with the quality of the picture and the new technology.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Great tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/03/2019 by MandoTRND (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After debating on which tv I should get, it did not take me too long, after hear the sony expert at the store, to make my decision. Certainly I have not use all features yet it's a great tv. Andriod/google tv be prepared with your login accounts.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Excellent

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/03/2019 by Albs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and sound, although I am using my Klipsch Energy power base sound bar. My only complaint is the remote. Buttons are too small and clumsy to navigate, also it should be lighted like my Xfinity remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Outstanding picture!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/03/2019 by clay66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did quite a bit of research on 55 inch models before purchasing. The older I get the worse my hearing is which played a large role in this model. This coupled with the processor made it an easy decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Smoking television Sony is still number one

A8F Series 24/03/2019 by Buckone (USA)

Replace our 10 year old plasma for an Sony OLED 55 incheTV..talk about high definition..WOW..4K ..unbelievable ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Put down the cash finally A8E

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/03/2019 by Mark Hydro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been wanting to pick this up since it came out. Got the cash and did it.Love this TV with all its hidden features. Like headphone output that can changed to subwoofer output. Makes.it better then a lot of sound systems. This is the 4th sony tv I have owned. Have never regretting buying any one of them. Thanks you sony. Could not be more happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Sony the one and only...

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/03/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased The Sony A8V around Thanksgiving 2018...I’ve been very happy so far. My only issue was updates, I’ve had to call Sony 2x from the unit getting hung up after an update...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

9

0

Great image quality and contrast,lοw brightness.

A8F Series 18/03/2019 by Shamrock (USA)

Perfect contrast and blacks but low brightness and lagy ui cause of android

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

7

0

Great picture great sound

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/03/2019 by Jeffw24312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always wanted a OLED went in wanting a LG E8 but saw the A8F sitting a little ways away and after looking at both a few minutes I couldn’t help thinking the Sony had a better picture even though they are the same OLED panel it just look im looked like the Sony has deeper blacks and more natural looking colors so I went with the Sony and have loved it fir the few weeks I’ve owned it .. and with the recent update works even better ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Excellent Features

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/03/2019 by Porto san (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this last month and we are amazed at the scenery...clear vivid colors

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Excellence!

A8F Series 08/03/2019 by Markvm (USA)

Best tv I ever bought. All I owned was Samsung ang when it developed a large dark circle in the middle of the screen I decided to purchase a Sony OLED. I didn’t realize what I was missing. It overwhelms any of my Sammy’s.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Exceptional quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 06/03/2019 by Texas33 (USA)

After 2 months of watching tv. I can say that the picture quality is outstanding. Audio coming from the entire screen is simply amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

0

Awesome

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/03/2019 by PapaKim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony products have worked for us a very long time. Thank you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

THE BEST

55" class (54.6" diag) 27/02/2019 by Jerry from Marquette (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am 65, and had a lot of top end TV's. This is buy far the best one!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

8

0

Great picture - Clumsey operating system

55" class (54.6" diag) 25/02/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony has excellent picture quality and acceptable sound for a small room, although a little light on bass. The Android operating system is very confusing and clumsy to navigate. There is also no built in web browser, which must be downloaded from the Google store. I was told before purchasing that the TV would connect to my Bose headphones for night time listening. After being unable to connect, I returned to the store and was told this commonly occurs with Bose, and they recommended I purchase Sony headphones. Not the answer I wanted to hear ! Next purchase I will go back to Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

8

Response From Sony Social Support
01/04/2019

Hi Ray Huntingdon, We are sorry to hear about what happened. The connection depends on the compatibility of the connections. You can check the information from this link for your reference: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-55a8f/articles/00159290

0

Great

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/02/2019 by Corvette Rich (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV a month ago and I just love the picture and also the great sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Gorgeous Picture, Great Style

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/02/2019 by scott_c (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent OLED TV with a beautiful picture. The Andriod OS is a bit slow, but I don't access it that often so I can look past the slowness. Overall features are great. Motion handling is fantastic and I recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Very good picture and better sound.

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/02/2019 by semillero (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV on December an until this moment I am happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Vivid picture!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/02/2019 by phzod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Edge of set to edge of screen is almost identical. Picture is very vivid and life-like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Bright enough!

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/02/2019 by mnash3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the tv after easily 4 years of being in the market which means I did alot of research, watched a bunch of reviews, and spent some time at the local store. Pros... 1. If you watch as much anime as I do which has a bunch of dark scenes, well.... You will love this tv!!!! lol... 2. If you are a movie watcher, well... You will love this tv!!!!! lol... 3. If you watch alot of YouTube, this is still a great tv, but see the cons section. 4. If you watch Netflix, guess what? this is the tv! 5. The tv is extremely stylish so it is definitely an upgrade. The thin design is impressive. 6. Google Assistance for doing voice search was surprising accurate and has been extremely an unexpected, but necessary feature. 7. I have a Sony receiver and the A8F directly remote integrates with the receiver with no additional programming. Cons... 1. You need two people for unboxing and setup. Really, you need 3 people because you want to make sure that there is no excessive pressure placed on the tv screen when lifting. 2. The base is not stable so you might have to be creative to get the tv to appear level on both sides. 3. Although not truly distracting, you do have to point directly at these little ball things that represent the infrared for the remote. It is more so annoying than a true con. It would have been nice to be able to point anywhere at the tv for the remote to work. 4. If you are connecting a laptop via hdmi, you will likely not be able to put the cover on for the cable management. 5. If you have an older laptop, you will likely not be able to stream wirelessly from your laptop to your computer. (Note: I have not tried Chromecast to see if it works because I am connected via hdmi.) 6. I am not really impressed with the Sports viewing. If you are looking for a Sport's tv, then you should keep looking. 7. A major con for watching YouTube is that you are not able to leave comments or even see prior posted comments. You can at least rate the video as in thumbs up or down. 8. And oh... When they say that there is not much 4k content, they are not kidding. Do not buy this tv if you are looking for 4k content, but a major pro is that when you are watching 4k video, you instantly become aware that you are as the quality is outright amazing! 9. If you are in a bright room, then know that the reviewers are not playing with you when they say that the reflections of the room windows, etc. can impact image quality. I can go on, but at some point, I am just nit picking. lol... To summarize... It is very important that you understand why you would be interested in this type or any type of tv. I know you are asking... With so many cons, how can this tv still get 5 stars! Easy... After 4 years of watching reviews, etc, I had a good understanding of what I was purchasing. The brightness of this tv can go either way depending on the day, but overall for my purposes, it is bright enough. I specifically wanted a tv for movie watching, ans more specifically, I watch not a little, but alot of anime!, and I wanted a tv for Netflix and YouTube. I do have the other icing on the cake items like Google Play, but I got was looking for and it has more than delivered and exceeded my expectations. As for price... Well... you should ignore me on this one as I believe Sony should have given me the tv for free for as many of their products that I have bought over the years from the Sony z5u to the Sony A7rII. lol... So, yes, I think the tv is expensive and I would even say overpriced because at the end of the day, it is a tv. lol... But I can say this... With Sony and others announcing the release of 8k tvs, you might be able to pick up the A8F at a reasonable price. By the way, I think all technology is overpriced. lol... But do not focus on that... Look at your tv purpose and find the best tv that fits that purpose and your budget. I am very happy with my purchase! Good luck!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best oled tv period

55" class (54.6" diag) 07/02/2019 by minitek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best oled tv on the market, don't believe all the ratings & reviews because i have personally tried the so-called best 4k oled tv to buy.No shadow detail issues or lip sync problems.Best upscaled image 2nd to none.The only issue is that putting 4k content via HDMI the image lacks clarity so best use 1080p hdmi setting on your cable or streaming device.Looks fine if you use the apps on the android platform but needs a firmware update to fix the hdmi 4k issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Stunning picture. Easy setup

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/02/2019 by Trebbleshooter (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this set for 2 weeks now. The picture is stunning with ultra clear pictures and very vivid detail. I am not a videophile so not real sure about the Blacker blacks but it does look great. A little more pricey than the normal LED it is very worth it to me. The A9F was what I went in after I just couldn’t pull the trigger on that set price wise. But this TVcomes at a very close second. Not a gamer so not worried about burn in. And if don’t want to turn on your sound system to listen to the news turn up the TV it sounds great even a movie sounds good on this set.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

6