131

3.6 based on 131 customer reviews

60
17
19
15
20
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

X690E4K HDR

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 17/09/2017 by none 2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

KD60X690E tv this tv is beautiful, picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

6

Most Helpful Critical
0

Worst TV EVER!

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 10/04/2018 by jamm247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Skip this piece of garbage. You're better off staring out your window for entertainment than trying to watch anything through this box. It won't stay connected to any streaming services for more than a few minutes and the jitter is horrible.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

18

0

132 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

I don't get the negative reviews...

X690E Series 19/07/2018 by Stonewahl66 (USA)

I've had this TV for several months and have really enjoyed it so far. I take one star off because it doesn't get very bright compared to my Sony x900E but I did my research and knew that when buying. I don't get the negative reviews other than people just not doing their research before buying a TV. I knew it didn't get too bright and I knew the apps weren't that great. Reviewers have said it doesn't have HDR. It does (in a way) and I can tell the difference between a HDR and SDR source , the problem is the brightness and lack of options so it is not that evident. That being said...it has been a great TV and it has a fantastic, clear picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful Image

70" class (69.5" diag) 15/07/2018 by Mikebox77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

beautiful colors, 4k videos look awesome, video games with HDR look beautiful, it is a pleasure to watch my favorite movies on usb or external hard drives, I could not have chosen a better tv!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

LIFE SPAN - 6 DYAS

70" class (69.5" diag) 12/07/2018 by GGBR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WAS DELIVERED JUL 6 2018, JULY 12, 2018 - NOT WORKING ANYMORE

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/07/2018

Hi GGBR,

We regret to hear about thi. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac

0

Only model that isn't compatible with Direct TV

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 11/07/2018 by Jim Bo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and then found out it isn't compatible with Direct TV 4k receiver, and Amazon Alexa voice commands. So it basically isn't a Smart TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2018

Hi Jim Bo,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. You may check our Android TV models that are compatible with Amazon Alexa, those models usually starts with XBR.

0

Missing M4X12 Screws

50" class (49.5" diag) 10/07/2018 by bc08jh207 (USA)

I opened the box to set up new Sony TV but I could not complete because the M4X12 screws are missing.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2018

Hi bc08jh207, thanks for bringing this up. Please send us an email regarding this issue so we can further assist you.Please also include your contact and product information as well as a copy of the receipt. We will do our best to help. ^Ron

0

Love it

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 09/07/2018 by Chrissybeth54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and love it. Great quality picture, and easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Seriously, you can't add apps

X690E Series 09/07/2018  (USA)

Why would a TV being made in 2017 not allow new apps to be installed.Terrible interface. TV stopped working 2 months in, and stuff with the 6 terrible apps they preinstalled.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2018

Hello SonyCanSuckmyD, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number.
Thank you, _Bob

0

that's not what I expected

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 06/07/2018 by ales_ve (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

is not what I expected the software fails the app does not work correctly, does not play HDR, does not update the software version

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/07/2018

Hello ales_ve, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may reset the TV to its factory default settings. Kindly refer to the link below to know how:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00124595

Also, regarding updating the software, you may this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00028577
Regards, _Bob

0

Dead

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 05/07/2018 by noname33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV two weeks ago and may as well have mounted a dead deer on my wall. No picture, backlit with sound. Useless. Because it's mounted I now have to have geek squad kids come and charge me $$ to replace it. Not good

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi noname33, That's definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Kindly check on this link for troubleshooting steps to further isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00153674
~Ralph

0

Great display but ok smart technology

70" class (69.5" diag) 02/07/2018 by DCAZ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 70" to replace a 55" and it terrific from a pure display perspective. The remote is nice and feels good in the hands too. The issue is with the limited smart TV software that comes with it. I understand that you have to buy the next tier up of Sony TVs to get the fully capable Android version so beware. We have an Amazon FireTV and do not rely too much on the built in TV smart functionalities so it didn't matter as much to us.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

70" class (69.5" diag) 30/06/2018 by Joker92 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV to replace my old one best upgrade

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad sound card within 6 months

70" class (69.5" diag) 22/06/2018 by SergioB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv 11/24/2017 I was very happy to own, It's an amazing tv. But about a month ago it lost it's sound, because the sound card went bad on it! Now i have to call for warranty which I hate because of the language on this warraty contracts.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2018

Hi SergioB, we are sorry to hear what happened. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. -Erin

0

Lots of features for the price

50" class (49.5" diag) 19/06/2018 by Old Duffer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony TV was easy to set up and performs well with great picture quality

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

BAD WIRELESS CONNECTION

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 16/06/2018 by Mars Flowers (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS TV LAST YEAR AND WIFI STOP WORKING A MONTH AGO, I DID SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO CONNECT THE TV TO WIRELESS INTERNET WITH NO RESULTS. ALSO SOMETIMES THE TV TURNS OFF, WITH NO REASON.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Clear but lacking

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 16/06/2018 by Ninek vt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it last week. Picture quality is far better than previous LG TV, but lacking application options. Plus Hulu and Netflix lags and freezes up the unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

The picture is great

50" class (49.5" diag) 14/06/2018 by tommy24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this tv for about 5 months and I've had no issues, it works great the picture is awesome and the internal speakers are bearable compared to other flat screen televisions I've had and the small border around the tv makes it feel bigger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great TV

50" class (49.5" diag) 10/06/2018 by Bravtyr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had always trusted Sony's products and Love this tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Love my new 4K HDR Sony TV.

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 08/06/2018 by Trhodes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this TV, so many wonderful features and the picture is absolutely clear. The sound is as a movie theater. Awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Awesome picture!

70" class (69.5" diag) 04/06/2018 by Teach6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had this TV about a month and love the picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great pic

70" class (69.5" diag) 04/06/2018 by Jj114 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

HAPPY with product very beautiful picture great choice Wii buy again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

clear picture

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 02/06/2018 by ced7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

To be honest, first one I bought did not last 2 weeks ! Black screen no picture !! Second one is working fine so far !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

50" class (49.5" diag) 01/06/2018 by Do not have a nicknamedoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this TV for 3 weeks and absolutely love it. Great pictures and features. I had purchased a different brand 1st and was not satisfied. I brought it back and after turning this Sony on it was a wow factor, glad I made the switch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Disappointed

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 01/06/2018 by Oextrader (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd Sony tv since 2013. BUT, I am quite "disappointed" with it (Since I bought it online, I'm now stuck with it) I bought a Sony 60" model 610B 2 years ago -- and it is wonderful. Recently, I tried to find another one for my bedroom -- but could not. So, I bought, a month ago, what I thought would be just as good -- But the new 60" Sony model 690e IS NOT -- even though it is "4K HDR". Which my model 610b IS NOT. The new Sony model 690e's picture is not nearly as clear even after all the settings have ben tried. The 690e's picture looks like it has a slight "haze" over it. My Sony 610b's picture is "clear as a pane of glass". My new 690e's picture IS NOT! What can I do? I'm very discouraged...

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/06/2018

Hi Oextrader, we're sorry to hear that. Have you tried adjusting the settings? You can try the following adjustment.

- Reduce the Backlight Level in the Picture Settings Menu.
- Turn the Light Sensor setting to On in the Setup Menu.
- Change the Power Saving setting to Low or High in the Setup Menu.
- Set the Picture Mode to Standard in the Settings Menu.

Regards,
-Erin

0

Issues already!

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 22/05/2018 by Hill861a (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned it for 3 weeks and I already have an appointment with geek squad to examine it and possibly replace internal components. NOT HAPPY! I’ve been a strong proponent of Sony products for many years, BUT this one is a disappointment so far. Hoping for a good resolution or Samsung, here I come!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

15

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2018

Hi Hill861a,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information and let us see how we can be of assistance.

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2018

Hi Hill861a,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information and let us see how we can be of assistance.

0

EASY TO SETUP. GREAT PICTURE.

70" class (69.5" diag) 20/05/2018 by AKM1519 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT THE TV FOR THE NEW HOUSE AND LOOKS GREAT EASY TO USE WITH GREAT COLOR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Love this TV going to buy the 60"

X690E Series 18/05/2018 by RichTx6 (USA)

Bought the 50" last week for my bedroom and love it. Easy set up and fired it up. After a few personal adjustment the picture is a killer. No problems with the apps but I use almost of the time. Going to buy the 60" this week for the living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Wow! This Is Just Like Being At The Movies

50" class (49.5" diag) 11/05/2018 by gemrob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My friend dropped by for a regular weekend visit. I turned on my television, The movie began and the sound system kicked in. She looked at me, smiled and said, “wow! This is just like being at the movies. Where is the popcorn?”

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

12

0

Fingers Crossed, But...

X690E Series 10/05/2018 by PeterSony (USA)

Purchased the 50" version for my parents to replace (believe it or not) a 20+ year-old Sony Trinitron "tube" set. It was still going strong but wanted to upgrade them. On day 2 of them using it the picture went out. Audio only. Brought it back to Best Buy the next day and exchanged it for another set. Today they tried plugging in the Sony MDRRF995RK wireless headphones I purchased for them and it automatically mutes the speakers on the television. As far as I know, that's not supposed to happen. Typically, you're also able to play the sound out of the tv AND wireless headphones simultaneously - they need to use it that way so my mom can listen off the tv and my dad can get extra assistance from the headphones. The next time I'm there I'm going to check and play with settings to see if there's something to do about it. If not this set, too, will get returned and we'll go with a Samsung. Sorry Sony, but our time is too valuable to go back and forth to Best Buy to make exchanges for faulty sets. Two strikes and you're out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2018

Hi PeterSony, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We just have to change some settings in order to hear the sound from the TV speaker and the Headphones at the same time. To know more about it, kindly check this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00049501

Regards,
-Erin

0

TV Freezes and shuts off, unable to turn back on

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 10/05/2018 by Mattie81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this TV for about a month, It looked great and then it started to freeze and shut off frequently. Sony's customer support is less than helpful i'm very dissatisfied and i'm steering away from sony products in the future

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

20

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/05/2018

We are sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you. Also, kindly include the case number so we can review your file.
Regards, _Bob

0

Lagging WiFi on built-in apps

X690E Series 08/05/2018 by Ron3azy (USA)

Picture killer. Built-in apps for YouTube especially, none stop loading. Hulu and Netflix same problems. Other devices in apartment running same apps have no problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

8

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2018

Hi Ron3azy,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this television. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00108468
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00013427

Thanks!

0

great TV

50" class (49.5" diag) 07/05/2018 by Gofish57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture , easy to maneuver through the menu. Easy to hook up to Wi-fi. Fantastic price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

2nd tv from Sony in 2 1/2 months

X690E Series 05/05/2018 by bcall99 (USA)

2nd tv only worked 1 day. 1st tv 2 1/2 months. Poor

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

15

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/05/2018

Hi bcall99, we're sorry to hear what happened. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. Thank you. -Erin

0

Is the best tv I ever have

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 02/05/2018 by Adelaida (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have experience with Sony and is the best not even a lightning or storm will damage the TV Sony is the best I highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

OK

50" class (49.5" diag) 26/04/2018 by wrw600 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm picky so this set didn't do it for me I upgraded to the x900e series. Now that's a winner

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/04/2018

Hi wrw600x900e, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found the TV that suits your need. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Looks decent

X690E Series 24/04/2018 by Codyh (USA)

Not very bright, and it gets jitters a lot. Screen also flickers occasionally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Great picture and features.

50" class (49.5" diag) 15/04/2018 by Iowa Chief (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has a very good picture and lots of good features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Nice

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 15/04/2018 by bcall99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked great for a couple months but problems now.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2018

Hi bcall99,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details and let us see how we can be of assistance.


0

Excellent value

50" class (49.5" diag) 14/04/2018 by Shipwrecked53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s been about a month since I bought this tv. Enjoy the picture and all the features. Most of all it was an excellent value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Set-up

50" class (49.5" diag) 13/04/2018 by Tommmmm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set-up instructions were very poor and poorly illustrated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

Worst TV EVER!

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 10/04/2018 by jamm247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Skip this piece of garbage. You're better off staring out your window for entertainment than trying to watch anything through this box. It won't stay connected to any streaming services for more than a few minutes and the jitter is horrible.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

18

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/04/2018

Hi jamm247,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00151038

0

Disappointed

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 06/04/2018 by JLMB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost 5 months ago and it appears the picture may be messing up already. I'm very disappointed. I thought Sony was one of the best brands I could purchase and now I wonder.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2018

Hi JLMB, we're sorry to hear that. You can reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. Thank you.

-Erin

0

Beautiful picture

50" class (49.5" diag) 04/04/2018 by DRIVRED (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a competitor product that was damaged by s power surge. Easy setup with extremely clear sharp picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Horrible smart tv

X690E Series 02/04/2018 by Rey007 (USA)

I am on my second 2017 version of the Bravia 60” 4K tv from Sony. The first one lasted 38 days before the usb and WiFi features stopped operating. I returned it and was able to exchange for another one. I have this one for about 25 days and the YouTube app is now completely frozen and will not load nor will it work after I did a full reset on the tv. I have another Sony 42” and have had it for over a year with no issues at all. So I am not sure if it is this specific model or just the new software causing this issue. Either way, I will be returning this second tv and likely getting a 75” to see if I have better results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/04/2018

Hi Rey007,

We regret to hear that you will be returning this television, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

style and quality

50" class (49.5" diag) 20/03/2018 by Bison (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a proud owner of Sony TV's since to 70's. The quality and style of the televisions is fantastic. Nothing out there can compare to a Sony no matter what product it is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Waiting for 4K program's to watch.

50" class (49.5" diag) 19/03/2018 by john1233 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is working properly.The instruction book has a few confusing steps.It does not have an audio output, other than headphone jack.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Beautiful picture

70" class (69.5" diag) 17/03/2018 by wavemia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the TV. Beautiful large high definition picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Excellent!

50" class (49.5" diag) 16/03/2018 by Kevie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great all around television for watching movies, sports & live events. Well balanced 4K picture with excellent image brightness, contrast & color balance. Haven't viewed much yet, but HDR looks good so far. Best digital smoothing effect I've ever seen on an LED TV. Set fits in well with my decor with a wide & sturdy pedestal stand. No cheap-looking gangling legs on either end like so many sets have these days. Sound is OK but get a soundbar. Very happy with this set.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

So glad I bought it!

50" class (49.5" diag) 14/03/2018 by TLH2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 12 year old Sony direct view HD TV stopped working even though it was still performing well. Now I'm glad it did. Buying this TV exceeded my expectations! HD material looks stunning. I have limited 4k sources, but they look great as expected. Analog cable channels look ok, but I seldom watch them. Sound was average, but adding an external subwoofer made it quite acceptable. No regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Low cost Sony 4K HDR tv

50" class (49.5" diag) 12/03/2018 by VisionKill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great 4k tv, solid picture. It does have a few faults. The hdr doesn't get as bright as my 930d & not an Android tv.But it's only 1/3 the cost of that set. Some people couldn't get the 5ghz band to recognize. I'm one of them. Still, the picture is great. Buy a media box for this tv & you won't run into any problems after that. It is a very basic smartv with a few of the most popular apps. Most people would be happy with those apps. I had the chance to buy an LG, TCL or a Hisense around the same price but I know that Sony is one of the top brands with the least problems of breaking down and best quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Highly disappointed

X690E Series 11/03/2018 by Whowerter (USA)

I have had the TV for a couple of days. I am not happy with it. I got this TV thinking I would be able to watch my Movies from Sony. How ever I can not add apps. I love the tv the picture is great. But not being able to watch my movies from makes this TV fall very short.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

9

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/03/2018

Hello Whowerter, this TV doesn't have the capability to download or install applications. However, it has a lot of pre-installed applications that you may utilize. Moving on, we do appreciate your feedback and for bringing this up.
Regards, _Bob

0

Good TV For the Money

50" class (49.5" diag) 09/03/2018 by Norm T (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thus set to replace a 42 inch LG. This set does not have a IPS panel so viewing from an angel is poor. I had to do a lot of tweaking of the picture controls to get a clear picture. Out of the box Picture was terrible. After much tweaking I got this set to emit a great picture. Sony should have added one more HDMI port as there are only two and this is very restrictive as to any add on's.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2018

Hello Norm T, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

USB***

X690E Series 06/03/2018 by RoshanGr (USA)

Picture Quality of Sony Tv's are always have been good but what's the point of Making a 4k tv and not able to get the content to play in it? The Tv i got is "sony kd60x690E" apparently it only supports usb drive of max 4 Gb or something because i just could't play any 4k movies via USB or HDD. and Im trying to get it to work and i'm tired of doing my research this just doesn't work and i got the Latest version of the software as well. Ps. Even after having High streaming network connection from xfinity i can't often fully load 4k stream of Netflix.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

It had the potential to be a great television!

50" class (49.5" diag) 26/02/2018 by Geo_Dude (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First I want to write the positive. The colors are great and quality 80 percent of the time from my personal experience. Now off to the bad. My Netflix often lags at the start and it crashes, once you get the film going its fine for the most part. Also during some dark scenes it goes from darker to lighter within the same shot and its incredibly distracting. There is also the occasional odd jitter that doesn't happen too often but still. I love sony products for they are durable, but this T.V was a bit of a disappointment, thinking of switching or upgrading.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2018

Hi Geo_Dude,

We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your television, please make sure that you have the current Software version installed on your TV (v4.100). Kindly visit this link for instructions:

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=KD50X690E&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Thanks,
Zac

0

Good Equipment

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 24/02/2018 by Candyman57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m happy I purchase a Sony , I believe in Sony products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Web browser & app

X690E Series 22/02/2018 by Sameh (USA)

Can't access web browser or install new apps . Can you guide me please

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/02/2018

Hi Sameh, can you please provide us the exact model number of your TV? Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

-Erin

0

Wide & Screen options not working

X690E Series 18/02/2018 by timpet (USA)

On the KD-60X690E is just bought, the Wide Option does not work. The menu choices that control the Screen are all grayed out, no matter what content I am viewing. Therefore, the Full, 16:9, Wide and Zoom feature cannot even be used. This means I cannot fill up the entire screen when watching movies with the black bars at top and bottom. Sony Support seems unable to help.

5

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2018

Hello timpet, we do apologize for the inconvenience. To isolate the issue, please refer to the links below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40227
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42806
Thanks, _Bob

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2018

Hello timpet, we do apologize for the inconvenience. To isolate the issue, please refer to the links below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40227
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42806
Thanks, _Bob

0

Geat picture

70" class (69.5" diag) 18/02/2018 by rluz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just installed along with a Sony sound bar. Work great together

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Good features!

50" class (49.5" diag) 17/02/2018 by Jamielt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Sony KD-50X690E 50-inch 4K HDR Smart TV in February 2018. This is a good tv for the price. You have to experience the picture quality with your own eyes to appreciate what you get for the price. The only real downside is the narrow viewing angle. But I also noticed the same viewing angle degradation on more expensive lcd TVs.Overall picture quality is very good in my opinion. In low light the black are dark and true. White is not great but bright enough for a thumbs up. Gaming on this set is better than average for sure. I think that most reviewers are not rating this set high enough. This tv is good overall and the sound can be adjusted with the built-in equalizer for better output.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Picture is awedome

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 14/02/2018 by Roiu80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to navigate is a short amount of time for a beginner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

large screen -50"- worth the money, great color

50" class (49.5" diag) 13/02/2018 by diburch (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Customer service, great. Delivery on time as expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Good TV

50" class (49.5" diag) 12/02/2018 by Lucthom77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this TV for a few weeks and so far we love it. The picture is great and it was easy to set up. The sound is okay, although we already had a sound system that we hooked up to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Great pic

50" class (49.5" diag) 12/02/2018 by Stevey l 1959 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great pic so life like glad the old tv went out lol

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Good Quality Tv for the Money

X690E Series 11/02/2018 by Airborne091011 (USA)

Bought this tv two days ago to replace an old Samsung that we have had since 09. No major issues except that I have notied that youtube and Netflix pops up, here I thought it was one of my kids that's changed. But the picture is very nice, wish there was more setting to tweak it, but it will suffice till we move into our new house in a couple of years. THE ONLY CON!!!!! is that the sound sucks. Its flat, if theres a way to change it I havnt figured it out yet. Its ok cause I use a sound bar with it. IF YOU OWN A PS4, USE THIS TV. It works flawesly with the PS4. For the money I would say this is a good tv to buy, its no OLED, but a good upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Poor Lighting

70" class (69.5" diag) 09/02/2018 by ayebrey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 1week ago and all four corners back light is bleeding in. Any black pictures you can see bright white. Pretty disappointed in the quality of the LCD. Also its getting to the point when its dark in the room you can see the white light coming in on any color.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2018

Hi ayebrey,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectation, you can follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the links below to isolate and fix the issue:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41819

Thanks,
Zac

0

TV Quality

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 08/02/2018 by jarhead62 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product after having problems with a Samsung unit I just purchased eight days before. After only 4 days I noticed something on the screen: a thin blue line apprx. 14 inches from the right side, which didn't go away. I returned the product, and am pleased with the new unit I received.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Great picture and sound

50" class (49.5" diag) 08/02/2018 by Seeyacable (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV along with a Omni-directional antenna and Apple TV for streaming to say good by to cable. The picture over the air is excellent and with YouTubeTV for 35 a month I don't miss cable at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Great Picture

X690E Series 04/02/2018 by bluemax0107 (USA)

I have had it about 3 weeks, and after some minor adjustments, the picture is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Youtube times out

X690E Series 02/02/2018 by Mojo jojo (USA)

I just bought the 60" and Youtube times out after 4 minutes on every video and works very slowly to establish... My internet wifi is a business connection and very fast and I don't have this problem while watching youtube on another device in the house... just the TV.... Has anyone else had trouble with the movie apps? Also there is no internet browser either so if I'd known that I would have bought a different brand... The sound is pretty great tho....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/02/2018

Hi Mojo jojo, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include the exact model number of your TV for further assistance.

Regards,
-Erin

0

Problems Playing any Network Media

50" class (49.5" diag) 01/02/2018 by maprich (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the TV overall, however now that I'm attempting to play media via a shared device on my home network (media server) - the TV automatically reverts back to my Cable connection before anything can play - it switches as soon as I move the cursor to choose a media file. I tried turning off the TV - then it wouldn't even respond to the remote or the power button! I had to unplug the TV to get it to respond! It should have been easy to see and view a photo or video using a media server, but after many tries - I give up! I think the next step is to invest in a streaming media device such as Chromecast - a little research first!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/02/2018

Hi maprich, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. Please ensure that the TV has the latest version installed: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=KD50X690E&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab. For additional troubleshooting to follow, please refer to the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/35236/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38404/

Regards,
-Erin

0

Perfect Entry Level 4K set

60.1" class (60.1" diag) 01/02/2018 by Mikeyman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a new Set that had the right features at the right price.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Warranty Sadness

50" class (49.5" diag) 30/01/2018 by Cheryl1966 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hi, I spent extra money for a better quality and better brand television only to be unhappy. The Sony television was a gift to my husband and he has been having issues with the remote since December 2017. I cannot get in touch with tech support or place a warranty claim. So unhappy.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2018

Hi Cheryl1966, we are sorry to hear what happened. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a brief description of the issue you have had with the remote control so we can provide a troubleshooting step to fix the problem.

Regards,
-Erin

0

Common Freeze Issue

X690E Series 27/01/2018 by Mandoobruh (USA)

I bought the 70" version of this TV on January 26th. The picture is amazing! It is the first 4k television I have owned so I can't compare it to others. Pros Price - this TV was on sale due to the super bowl coming up. After looking at dozens of display models this was the best bang for buck. Picture - I didn't have to change any settings for the tv to look good. Once I plugged it in and did the initial set up it looked amazing. Speed - things load and open extremely fast whether it be apps, cable, etc. Unfortunately this has a few issues with the good.. But you do get what you pay for. Cons Freeze - the very first day after set up the television needed unplugged and replugged in. After reading reviews it seems to be a common issue with the same response to some link that doesn't list of resolve this freezing issue. Apps - This has very bare bones in terms of apps. I only use Hulu, Amazon, and Netflix but I can see how other people may be upset not having a Browser or way to add other apps. HBO go for example. Wi-Fi - I don't understand why they would release a tv that doesn't support faster Wi-Fi speeds. Unfortunately it only registers 2.4ghz Wi-Fi networks. Mount stand - it is a cheap stand.. But it does it's job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/01/2018

Hi Mandoobruh, We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. We are glad that you appreciate the picture display. We apologize for the inconvenience that caused due to some issues. For further assistance, Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you. Thank you. -Jay