Skip to Content
28

3.9 based on 28 customer reviews

13
5
6
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good quality

49" class (48.5" diag) 29/07/2017 by DGgranny71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a week ago. very happy with the clarity of the picture. the colors are intense. happy that I paid a little more for Sony quality. the only con I have is the fact that the set up directions were very complicated even for some one tech savy. over all though I would rate this tv 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good for a PC Monitor

49" class (48.5" diag) 24/09/2017 by Cholo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good looking TV (PC monitor is what i'm using it for), it needs some software updates as of now. The automatic changing of scene selection is a pain in the butt and it lags for a while sometimes after it comes on, but after that, you can use it fine. You can also switch to Netflix and back and it stops lagging. I'm sure it can be fixed with an update since the hardware can clearly handle it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

31 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Value for money

49" class (48.5" diag) 14/12/2017 by Jimolaoren (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product.love it. Great picture quality. The only thing tats not as good is it’s sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Netflix does not work.

49" class (48.5" diag) 13/12/2017 by Clari (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Less than a month since purchase and we cannot watch Netflix because it constantly frrezes

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hi Clari, we are sorry to hear that. If you are still having concerns with the TV regarding the Netflix application. You may check the link provided below to isolate and fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/list/kw/55501
Thanks, _Bob

0

Great TV for PC 4k monitor.

49" class (48.5" diag) 12/12/2017 by enorl76 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great TV. Using it for my PC as a 4k monitor. Hoping for an update to fix an issue with scene selection "forgetting" the input lag setting. When I select Game or Graphics the input lag seems to drop. However, when the PC and TV goes into sleep mode and turn off, when it comes back on, I have to reselect Game or Graphics mode to get input lag to go away. Please fix! :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 06/12/2017 by Daveid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV is working good..................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DISPLAY

43" class (42.5" diag) 29/11/2017 by CharlieA1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy the fact that i can turn the display "OFF."

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Right side of screen is dim when TV is turned on.

49" class (48.5" diag) 26/11/2017 by DME1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the TV new and an issue with picture started in the first 30-45 days. The right side of the TV screen is darker when you first turn on the TV. It eventually becomes normal. It has also reappeared after the TV has been on for a period of time. Very disappointed...I have owned Sony TV's my entire life.

Picture Quality

Poor

0

3

0

Nice Picture, Not So Smart

X720E Series 23/11/2017 by 503NNEP (USA)

Purchased this TV as an upgrade replacing an older Samsung. Set up was easy, picture out of the box connected to DirecTv service looked good, slightly bright if anything. There are sites around that provide calibration settings to really dial in the picture. Connecting to the internet was easy, but once there, EXTREMELY disappointed in the VERY limited number of apps for streaming channels. Basically, YouTube, Amazon, and Netflix, then a few more "who cares"... Compared to the 800 series, which is our main TV, the apps available in the 700 series are seriously lacking. No PS Vue, no Sling, none of the ESPN's, no HGTV, etc... the only way this TV will enable a viewer to "cut the cord" is to purchase a streaming box or stick, or use a previously purchased one that is 4K ready. The OperaTV App store has lots of empty shelves. Very disappointed in that aspect with this Sony TV. Otherwise, set up was easy, the picture is good, and the sound passable. Hope Sony can provide a software update to include more popular streaming apps. Mixed on recommending this TV. If you already own a streaming devise that is 4K capable, this TV will be very, very good, but until the apps are upgraded on the 700e, spend a few more bucks and get into the 800 series.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/11/2017

Hi DukFan , we regret that the TV failed your expectation but appreciate your feedback nevertheless. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Great PC Monitor

X720E Series 22/11/2017  (USA)

I was looking for a big display for my video and photo editing and im also a casual gamer,i found this monitor did a little research and end up being the best rated TV for use as monitor,Colors pop out of screen,the only down side is that has a bug right now that the no lag mode turns off by itself you have to change the scene mode to Graphics,Game or HDR to re enable it,Sony please make an update for this please.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

just purchased

43" class (42.5" diag) 11/11/2017 by tony42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

new purchase set up was easy, hope this product works as well as all my other sony products

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good picture, not really smart tv.

X720E Series 07/11/2017 by Apla77 (USA)

Bought tv a month ago, please with picture but not happy with "smart" function. Can SONY send an update providing HBOGO and Showtime apps, that will make a huge diference. Thx

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Configuration

43" class (42.5" diag) 04/11/2017 by Josh7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv three weeks ago. Sony has done nothing to help. Have configuration problems.

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/11/2017

Hello Josh7, please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great 4K tv

49" class (48.5" diag) 02/11/2017 by Joe 74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like it super sharp color and sound great size and weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/10/2017 by mar43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First day with T.V. am pleased.Hope T.V. keeps me happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture quality (color, clarity,) not wavy

49" class (48.5" diag) 28/10/2017 by Pinkie Bee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared this Sony to many other models and brands in the price range I had chosen. This one had excellent screen color and clarity. Also had noticeable brightness with no fading or distortion when viewed from a side angle. Is not blurry or wavy when viewed face on. Has a great picture at close range or farther back. Surprisingly pleased with the sound, very clear with no muffling effect. And lastly it has a center base which grabs the stand for greater stability..very hard to push or slide, which is a great feature for young children ! I give it 5 stars, and am very satisfied with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good brand.

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/10/2017 by Gambler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony TV for years finally gave out had no problems with it so we thought we would try a larger Sony TV. Just got this TV hooked up so I hope everything goes OK.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Where's the negative reviews?????????

X720E Series 12/10/2017 by JJJJJ65656 (USA)

Love the picture...apps are below average...way below average

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2017

Hi JJJJJ65656, we're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! Regards, ^Ron

0

Great picture....TERRIBLE apps

55" class (54.6" diag) 12/10/2017 by JJJJJ65656 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

like the picture but the apps on this TV are freaking terrible No HBO and You Tube is unusable..."ERROR please report" over and over again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2017

Hi JJJJJ65656, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We highly suggest performing some troubleshooting steps to help fix this issue. You may refer to the link below. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75534/

0

Okay for the price

X720E Series 02/10/2017 by robhog (USA)

Weak stand. Poor picture quality when not receiving HD. The 4k does appear to be a much clearer picture than standard HD

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2017

Hi robhog, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. To isolate the issue, you may refer to the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39841

Regards, _Bob

0

Cool Television!

X720E Series 02/10/2017 by Cooldann99 (USA)

I bought this today to replace a 10 year old 1080p LCD T.V. And I’m very happy that I did, however there’s one disappointment that I experienced...it’s not HDR10 compliant. I bought this to experience this feature on my Xbox one S, but it’s not compatible the Xbox says lol. Anyway though it still look so phenomonal. Can’t imgine what HDR on this TV looks like with the PlayStation. Luckily I have a 4K Sony blu Ray player that partners up with this T.V. like they were meant for each other.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Good for a PC Monitor

49" class (48.5" diag) 24/09/2017 by Cholo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good looking TV (PC monitor is what i'm using it for), it needs some software updates as of now. The automatic changing of scene selection is a pain in the butt and it lags for a while sometimes after it comes on, but after that, you can use it fine. You can also switch to Netflix and back and it stops lagging. I'm sure it can be fixed with an update since the hardware can clearly handle it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/09/2017

Hi Cholo, we're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! Regards, ^Ron

0

Good quality

43" class (42.5" diag) 24/09/2017 by Tuyet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I happy to have this TV in my bedroom. I always like Sony products.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture. What happened to Android TV?

X720E Series 27/08/2017 by efg5195 (USA)

Just got this tv delivered. Amazing picture quality. Apparently no longer runs Android TV ? Is there anyways to download apps ? Seems like a missed opportunity here

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

3

0

Great features and picture!

43" class (42.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by Lance01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just love all the features, ease of use, on-screen apps, beautiful 4K picture. Have owned Sony in the past, so was expecting the best. Not disappointed at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Incredible picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 23/08/2017 by Koolkenny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced a 7 year old Samsung 50 inch plasma TV. This new Sony has a vibrant, extremely sharp picture. It's easy to operate and was set up without any problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

So Far So Good

55" class (54.6" diag) 19/08/2017 by Feraydune (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV after 20 years. I never had TV and lived without very happy and peaceful. But the Sony Bravia made me anxious and tempted. I like it. I hope that Sony customer service and tech support be friendly and supportive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Room for improvements

55" class (54.6" diag) 18/08/2017 by doo dah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This stand could be more stable if longer and wider...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2017

Hi doo dah, thank you very much for your feedback. We'll inform the team regarding this for improvements and possible changes. Your input is greatly appreciated. Regards.

0

Typical Sony Quality- Great!

55" class (54.6" diag) 18/08/2017 by machineman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased a Sony 55" 4k smart tv after visiting my brother in-law in Florida. He has a 65" Sony Bravia and the quality of sound and picture was outstanding. After doing some research it was down to a Samsung and a Sony, both of which have a great reputation for quality and unsurpassed picture quality and both were priced the same. I decided to go with the Sony because it has a few more options and a little bit better picture quality. Very satisfied !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

mounting hardware

49" class (48.5" diag) 09/08/2017 by Dangit 50 (USA)

mounting hardware should be included for wall mount.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2017

Hi, Dangit 50, Thank you for the feedback. The compatible wall mount for this unit can be purchased here: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-accessories.pl. We will forward your information to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

great features

49" class (48.5" diag) 04/08/2017 by ctommyf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this tv for our living room and it looks great and I am really pleased with the performance of the set. Colors really pop and so vivid. The sound from the speakers is better than any other tv I have ever had. I haven't had it long enough to experiment with all the settings. Bottom line I am totally satisfied with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Good quality

49" class (48.5" diag) 29/07/2017 by DGgranny71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a week ago. very happy with the clarity of the picture. the colors are intense. happy that I paid a little more for Sony quality. the only con I have is the fact that the set up directions were very complicated even for some one tech savy. over all though I would rate this tv 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great TV for the price.

X720E Series 16/07/2017 by Timberlane (USA)

This 2017 model arrived earlier than expected and we are delighted. Great TV for the price. Direct access to Netflix, Amazon, Hulu. Works well with Apple TV. East set up even for codger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1