220

4.5 based on 220 customer reviews

171
25
7
7
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Faithfulness to the mastering monitors is superb

XBR A9G Series 31/05/2019 by MartinM21 (USA)

I recently purchased this TV because I was told it holds true to the mastering monitors used in shoots. As someone who works in Film/TV I can confirm that this claim is true. Having worked on Netflix projects I also enjoy the Netflix calibrated mode and recommend that everyone experience it. I will say I’m missing a very small feature that I had on the A9F. The A9G doesn’t seem to throw up a little notification in the top right corner of the screen indicating you begin watching something in Dolby Vision. It’s a small touch but one that I think is good to have to just indicate to viewers that the TV has entered a more advanced mode. This TV also seems to have solved a problem I noticed on the A9F which was that during sports games bright color jerseys seemed to bleed out into little blobs with fast moving action. All in all this television is a great viewing experience and it’s wonderful to see the hard work we put into shows and movies faithfully displayed on screen. Next up on my testing list is eventually getting the Sony HTST5000 soundbar. I’m very curious to test out how the soundbar and tv hold up with carrying over Dolby Atmos sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Defective out of the Box - Borderline Fraud

XBR A9G Series 08/05/2020 by LetDownBySony77 (USA)

I bought this earlier in the year and it was defective straight out of the box. The bottom right corner of this unit was bent (manufacturing defect which Sony passed off as perfect anyway) which makes pictures look awkward - like a person standing straight seems to stand normally except the part in the bottom corner where they appear to be leaning unnaturally. There was no damage to the box or delivery, and I discovered this when it was professionally mounted. I complained immediately and opened a ticket with Sony only to be told that this is considered "perfect" and this is not covered under warranty. Its not a cheap TV either - I paid over $5K for this and I can't even look at it without noticing the defect every day. Be VERY careful if you're considering making a purchase - If SONY sends you a defective piece, you're stuck with it and they will not take any ownership for the defect.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

1

220 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Probably Smarter Than Me

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/08/2020 by Ziggy47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great TV and knows how to tune for the best picture. Is there such a thing as Vivid Black, if so this has it as well as all the colors that become so rich

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2020

Hi Ziggy47,

We are so glad you are pleased with the performance of your xbr65a9g. We appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great Features

77" class (76.7" diag) 08/08/2020 by Kenn157 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Almost two months with the 77 A9G and I love this unit. I did have a problem 3 times where I'd power on the unit and the LED power light came up red. Got real worried the unit was defective. What I did was hold down power on the remote and the TV would boot up. Other then those instances the TV is absolutely great with the best picture I've ever seen and I've owned Sony's my entire adult life and I'm 62.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

great picture

77" class (76.7" diag) 08/08/2020 by matt 28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sony a9g has the best picture of any television i have ever seen, lots of settings to customize picture quality and almost any app that you can think of, the only two downsides to this tv is that the remote isn't back lit, and the tv is a little pricey compared to similar high end brands, but if you want the best picture the a9g is the way to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Absolutely Love It!

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/08/2020 by unforgivableone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is truly amazing. Every time we watch it, we're amazed with the picture. It simply just does an amazing job with picture quality, detail enhancement, color balance, black contrast and realism. Out of all of the TVs we tested, we came back to this one every time. The LG was close, but the Sony X1 processor was the winning factor because the picture was most accurate. You definitely won't regret the investment and obvious upgrade in picture quality. HD 1080p upscaling is incredible and 4K content is unreal! We absolutely love our choice and everyone comments on the picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

First large tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/08/2020 by daw1950 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far it is absolutely beautiful. Have not had it long. Remote control has no real instructions. Will take this old geezer awhile to learn all it will do. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Best picture ever

55" class (54.6" diag) 05/08/2020 by CMV1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love everything except the location remote control sensor. It is on the bottom so if you are not sitting higher than the TV ie; on the couch, you have to hold the remote over your head to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

77 greatness

77" class (76.7" diag) 04/08/2020 by Louie94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 1 month a g o to replace my 55 inch sony Bravia which is still going strong over 7 years. But this 9g is a game changer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Simply Great !

55" class (54.6" diag) 01/08/2020 by John_Tenaglia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV looks great but I haven’t really had a lot of time to explore a lot of his features. If you have a really fast Internet connection it speeds up to 4K really quickly on your streaming devices. I have cable with charter communications spectrum. It’s a bit slow and doesn’t take advantage of 4K yet so I’m really looking forward to that whenever they decide to upgrade to 4K. However overall the contrasts the deep blacks and surprisingly the sound is really nice. Overall I’m impressed for the price which is quite expensive but worthwhile. I always prefer to have a 10 rather than two fives. And the TV is definitely attend. I look forward to explore it more when I have more time and highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Like a Movie Theater in my Living Room!!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 31/07/2020 by Khal_Dragon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

unbelievable picture. And the sound is fantastic. I have 2 issues. 1 the streaming sound can go out at times? Have to power tv on off. 2nd the have this imax enhanced but they offer zero movies for it??? They had a promo but then stopped??? Why not just preload it. Advantage 4k would be awesome and such a money maker if it had any movies

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Excellent TV - Expensive BUT worth it

77" class (76.7" diag) 30/07/2020 by Nevada Steve (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this A9G to replace my 8-yr old Sony Bravia LED 65". Picture on the A9G is excellent. The basic speaker sound is excellent. The sound actually does "radiate" from the entire 77" panel. No need for a sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

gorgeous pictures....when it works...

77" class (76.7" diag) 28/07/2020 by cowby tata (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

unit plagued with hdmi issues...i knew about it before buying but took a chance anyways...constantly having to reboot tv....come on Sony, this is a known issue...please get the updated firmware specific to this model out there!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Fantastic at first...

XBR A9G Series 28/07/2020 by Mike271 (USA)

I purchased the Sony A9G 65 inch tv based off of my first impression that this is an amazing tv with all the features I wanted with excellent picture and audio, especially the center channel option. That said about two weeks after my purchase, the HDMI started acting up. Intermittently, the video would drop out, then on start up the tv wouldn’t recognize HDMI inputs. At first, I thought it was a “handshake” issue, so I replaced my audio receiver and my HDMI cable with an active 48gbps HDMI cable to make sure I could support 4K at 60hrz and Dolby Vision, no change. The only method that would take care of the issue was to unplug the HDMI from the tv, and plug it back in this method would solve it for a couple of days or sometimes weeks. If I unplugged it from the source as recommended, it wouldn’t change the issue After throwing money at it and not resolving it, I called Sony support, which was friendly and thorough. After an hour with them, they ordered a main board. The Sony choice repair facility replaced the main board no video, reinstalled old board, audio and video, attempt #2, ordered another main board, no video. Repair provider took my tv on 3rd attempt, ordered another main board and several stripped screws later, no video. Throughout this process the repairer has been walking through the process with Sony Tech support to no avail, then they decided that it had to be my HDMI cables, so Sony is in the process of getting those to the repairer. Needless to say, this process has been going on since June 2020 and I am going on week two without my tv waiting on cables that won’t take care of it, because my original cables were Sony recommended cables in the first place! How about we address the 3 inop main boards, maybe there is a greater issue with the tv! Been a Sony fan for majority of my life, but this is nonsense for a tv of this caliber!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Never Really Experienced Watching Real Quality TV!

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/07/2020 by LTHandle2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received on May 9th and initially mounted upstair on my family room wall. I made too many trips, the first two days, going up and down the stairs getting drinks and snacks to eat while watching the stunning pictures this TV displays. So I called the Geek Squad to schedule another install for my livingroom wall. It's hard to believe what I've been missing all these years, by not purchasing a true quality TV. I was sceptical about paying so much at first, but after experiencing the breathtaking images and quality sound that this TV produces without an added sound system attached, I don't regret a penny I spent on it. I'm almost 62 years old and I've never had this thrilling of an experience watching a TV any where else and I own it. By no means is this an inexpensive TV for my budget, but for me it was money well spent with no regrets! WARNING! Making this purchase will cause you to watch TV more....MUCH MORE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Love how you can use google to control the tv ..

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/07/2020 by Ajordan2342 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost a month ago ,this tv is incredibly easy to use and the picture is incredible and in the middle of the night or early morning I just say hey google turn bedroom tv off or in the morning turn tv on without looking for remote and you can control this tv with just your voice ....best tv ever..!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great image

77" class (76.7" diag) 23/07/2020 by Pabs1247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible image quality. Very thin and easy to set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Nice TV

77" class (76.7" diag) 18/07/2020 by NTChip (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this TV. Would have given it 5 stars but there are some issues with the sound & it's a bit pricey. Sometimes the sound just stops & the only way I have found to fix it is to unplug the TV & plug it back in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

XBR-77A9G

77" class (76.7" diag) 18/07/2020 by phil7788 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

love the picture. like the sound. But the ARC sound is not working. Sony support shut down. I tried all help options, nothing seems to help. very disappointed. menu system also not very intuitive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Video is outstanding. Audio not so much

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/07/2020 by 100oscar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality - outstanding. Audio for able hearing-- very good Audio for hearing impaired-- non existent. Great bluetooth connection for hearing aids, but when used, no other audio available for other viewers. Solo viewing only. Most good TVs have an audio output for connection to hearing aid transmission devices. Not this one. One of the reasons I bought this TV was the Bluetooth capability. Sadly disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

The TV is great. Great picture.

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/07/2020 by Barbara904 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SONY SHOULD HAVE INCLUDED AN OPERATING MANUAL. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO ACCESS INTERNET.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

All around great television

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/07/2020 by Acba (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just like to thank the Sony engineers on an incredible job that they did on this TV!! Thank You

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Stunning picture!

77" class (76.7" diag) 14/07/2020 by Don715 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love it. The quality of the picture is unbelievable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Great Overall Television

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/07/2020 by FoolsGold279 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television about a month ago and so far I have had zero issues with it. Great picture and love the features. It replaced my plasma VT60 and I would say was a great replacement/upgrade. Definitely a step above what it replaced. I do not use the internal speakers, hence why I rated them as average. I guess I should have not rated them, but I am unable to change the rating back to no rating. My only complaint so far is in regards to the owners manual (Ease of Use rating). It is not really an owners manual, in my opinion, but a basic setup guide. The online help function is also very lacking. I have many questions about the television features/settings and there is little to nothing explaining them in the manual or in the online help features. The television has so many features/settings, and no place to locate the information on what they do or how the settings affect the picture/television. As an owner, I should not have to find other advanced owners/online to explain the features/settings to me AND hope they are correct with their responses. Other than that, I love the television! Now for the test of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

It came defective

77" class (76.7" diag) 13/07/2020 by Adriana Carrizales (USA)

I bought this tv, 7 months ago and after 2 months start showing problems, is still broken.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Another great Sony TV!

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/07/2020 by Kimberly321 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is our third Sony TV in the past 30 years. Like our previous Sony TV’s, the picture is the best available at this time, the sound is great and theTV is easy to navigate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Beautiful picture, great sound

55" class (54.6" diag) 06/07/2020 by PghHLT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I suspect at this level of TV it is likely that few consumers can tell a difference in picture quality from one model to the next but I will say that what is see is amazing. The Google TV interface is only adequate is far as ease of use but the interface is very zippy which helps. The internal screen is the speaker center channel option is good enough that I retired my center channel. That is a nice space saver and now the center channel is literally coming from the screen. It's a little weird that it sits nearly flush against the stand but still love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Just not worth the purchase price. Miss my LG

77" class (76.7" diag) 03/07/2020 by BobbyBoi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

1000.00 more than the LG and nowhere near worth the cost

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Amazing picture, but TV struggles as internet only

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/07/2020 by Turtle27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've had the TV a little bit short of 1-month. The picture quality is amazing, the sound is also amazing but can hear that there is very little bass during action movies. This would have been an amazing TV and electronic investment if not that the TV struggles as an internet/streaming only device. The TV Apps (especially HULU) continue to lag, lock-up and freeze, which we had no issues when using an Amazon FireStick. Also, if used as an internet/streaming only device, the user has be very careful not to select the "TV" button on the remote because will then need go on adventure thru settings and input to get out (because TV recognizes no channels found or connected). By the way, we subscribe to an internet plan with a download speed up to 1000 Mbps, and own an Arris SB8200 DOCSIS 3.1 modem -- we should not be have any of these streaming issues. We truly hope Sony resolves its APP issues (lagging, freezing and crashing) very soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Absolutely stunning TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/06/2020 by Danner5780 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a game room / home theater room. We have an LG OLED in our living room and after putting up the Sony it outshines the LG on many levels. Of course this comes at an added price, but in my mind, well worth it due to the picture quality and overall performance. I highly recommend it and truly believe it’s the best OLED TV in the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

All Time Best Picture

77" class (76.7" diag) 28/06/2020 by GBolles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No buyers remorse here. Very pleased with the SONY OLED TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Worth every penney

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/06/2020 by challenger19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

took 2 months comparing all the top TV's in this price range. Found that even though there are a little cheaper but the options that come with this set are fantastic. It is fast acting and has the best picture i have ever owned. sounds great as i was unsure of the technology Sony is using but it is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great Picture with lackluster software

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/06/2020 by cosmonarrat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv about a month ago and I have been having some concerns. I haven't tried to reset the tv yet, I'll wait till a new update comes through first. The first issue I started to have was that the sound would completely cut out. I would have to restart the TV to have to making sound again. The next issue I've been having is that when streaming the picture will freeze but the audio will continue. The only solutions I've been were to restart the tv or reset it. It's disappointing that I've been having so many audio and visual issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2020

Hi cosmonarrat, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. We're also sorry to hear that you're having issues with the TV. Please ensure that the TV version is v6.3626.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/oled-tvs-android-a9g_ag9-series/xbr-65a9g/downloads/00016725


Regards,
Erin

0

Clarity like no other

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/06/2020 by ljphas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this during Black Friday deals 2019, very apprehensive about the cost, but definitely got talked into it. Not disappointed at all. The black is very black, which is nice when we watch movies in the dark. If there is a black scene, with the lights out, the room is completely dark and I mean completely. This also makes for watching Netflix higher quality content very good. The clarity and detailing is amazing. Overall, great investment! PS, also pretty heavy. When having such a great product, use the professional installers if they offer. The TV is very heavy and it was stressful to mount on the wall to say the least. Very thin too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/07/2020

Hi, ljphas, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Thank you for sharing this feedback. Jay

0

Best TV ever!

65" class (64.5" diag) 25/06/2020 by Ed K S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent several months researching OLED TV's. I finally decided on the Sony A9G 65" TV. I bought it from BestBuy and had it delivered and installed because of the Covid-19 isolation requirements. This went very well and I was surprised that the picture was even better than what I observed at the store. The dynamic range is outstanding and the detail is better than I imagined. Since we are house bound we are watching much more TV than normal. The very best performance is from 4K material but the up-scaling of HD video is so good that it looks like 4K. I was concerned that the pictture might not be bright enough. This is not the case. The picture is brighter than my previous high end plasma TV. I use my own 5.1 audio system but the built is sound is very good. I highly recommend this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi Ed K S, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Erin

0

Incredibly Great Picture!

77" class (76.7" diag) 24/06/2020 by Crocboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've been enjoying our Master Series 77" TV for about a month and find it to be as good as the reviews claim. The sound is surprisingly good for a TV as well. We are using the TV speakers about as much as we use our Sonos soundbar! The TV remote works by Bluetooth and the Sonos is infrared so the TV remote won't work the Sonos. To avoid multiple remotes we just use the TV speakers most of the time. My three wishes for this TV are 1. Fix the remote situation, 2. Add Apple TV as an app, and 3. Allow two Bluetooth headsets, or AirPods to connect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi Crocboy, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Great tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/06/2020 by Movienight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old XBR was good for 15 years (still working with a great picture). But 55 inch seemed small. This new Sony is even better. The blacks are blacker the colors are richer. But what I like is the sound is facing forward (like my old XBR). If I don’t want to turn on the external sound system I don’t have to. The built in sounds works pretty good (ok real good). I have two other tv’s that have rear facing sound and they suck. You have to turn on the the sound bar if you want to hear what your watching. Again, this is a really nice tv! It’s picture is excellent, the front facing sound is excellent, the external connections are excellent (like most sony’s, good into the future). I am extremely pleased!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi, Movienight, We are glad that you are extremely pleased with your new Sony Bravia TV! The A9G is choice for an upgrade. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Disappointed with brightness!

77" class (76.7" diag) 21/06/2020 by zuko23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two months ago and I am disappointed so far. Even with max brightness, the TV is not bright enough to watch during the day time in a well lit family room. I upgraded from Sony X850G series 75" LED TV. I used to watch TV without closing my curtains before. Now, I no longer able to do so. In a dark room, or during evenings the picture looks stunning though. I'm having difficulty only during the day time.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi zuko23, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may find this link helpful with your issue on brightness:

https://helpguide.sony.net/tv/gusltn2/v1/en-003/01-03-09_03.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Great TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/06/2020 by FO13f11b2P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am Glad I bought this TV the Colors are Great I would recommend this tv 2 everybody

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi, FO13f11b2P, We are happy that you are glad about your new Bravia TV. Thank you for your positive feedback and for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Exceptional TV!

XBR A9G Series 18/06/2020 by Kingsnake (USA)

Very happy with this TV. Audio and video both outstanding, apps work great, love the voice recognition feature, and the wall mount was an easy install. The swivel feature is great for ease of plugging in the connections. I highly recommend if you want the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi, Kingsnake, We are glad to hear that you like almost all of the features and capabilities of your new Sony TV. Thank you for trusting Sony. Enjoy! -Vincent

0

Very Pleased with my Purchase

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/06/2020 by Kawikid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Audio and Contrast.....a bit of a criticism though, the upscaling leaves a little to be desired.......unless I have it set up wrong!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/06/2020

Hi Kawikid, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series OLED TV, especially in regards to Acoustic Surface Audio+ and pixel-by-pixel contrast control. To adjust picture settings including upscaling, please visit the Picture Adjustments under the Settings menu. If you need additional assistance with the TV, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 17/06/2020 by Wireless Dan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement TV. as the one I bought 5 months ago stopped working

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi, Wireless Dan, We are happy you like the picture quality of your new Bravia TV. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Great TV Picture - App performance not so good

65" class (64.5" diag) 17/06/2020 by AsaMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture Quality is off the charts!! But Apps keep crashing when coming out of standby. Amazon Prime is the largest offender. I press select to start playing and I get bounced to Live TV, And I do not know where to post bugs other than just posts to groups. Without a backlight, local dimming is not an issue as compared to other backlit TVs. Expensive for a 4K TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2020

HI, AsaMan, We are happy you like the picture quality of your new Bravia TV. Please make sure to download and install the latest firmware for your TV, and the apps to isolate the issue.

If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Best picture you’ll ever see

77" class (76.7" diag) 17/06/2020 by Copwriter (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV as part of an upgrade of a 14-year-old home theater system. I was torn between this model and the comparable model from LG (LG makes OLED panels for itself and for Sony). The home theater dealer said the Sony software was worth the added investment. I now concur with her. This is the best picture you’re ever going to find on a TV. I purchased a new home theater receiver/amplifier and monitor-grade speakers at the same time as the TV, so I can’t speak to the speakers integrated to the display panel. I’ve watched everything from basic DVD-grade movies to 4K streams and Blu-Rays. The difference between these program sources is barely noticeable. This TV does not disappoint on any level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi Copwriter, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. -Sam

0

Scary its so good

XBR A9G Series 16/06/2020 by SonyLover2020 (USA)

I've had good experience with Sony in the past so when my Samsung failed I searched the market for a replacement. The Sony was a few hundred Euro more than the LG but I have to say the picture quality...SOUND, and ease of use is far and above what the Korean manufactures offer. LG does make the screen for all OLED TV's from what I have read but the processing and sound of the Sony is unsurpassed. Anyone in the market for a new TV, spend the extra money and you will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi Sonylover2020, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. -Sam

0

Simply the best

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/06/2020 by Pchin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it for about a month, first had some trouble setting it up but after a few times finally it works perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi Pchin, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Why go out to the Theater?

65" class (64.5" diag) 14/06/2020 by Nate33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A9G is truly deserving the title Master Series. If you are a Movie lover this is the set to save for. The picture is amazing even on legacy content such as SD HD even black and white. The X1ultimate chip makes the Android features seamless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi Nate33, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Superb picture.

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/06/2020 by jdirvin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb picture. Using the center channel setup sounds good and the location of the sound is great, but sound does not match my Klipsch. Setup a bit difficult, especially to stream Plex and use pass-through for Dolby-HD and DTS-HD, but after a few days I think its working fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

what happen...

55" class (54.6" diag) 11/06/2020 by sobeit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything was great.!One week after I set it up,I had no sound on the wifi only.Sound on cable tv,but that's it.Picture was perfect. I purchased it from Amazon,thank god! I was able to ship it back.If I would have purchased it in a big box store they would have sent out a repair person.You don't repair BRAND NEW. I am actually disappointed.Thank's!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

A9G was my choice

XBR A9G Series 08/06/2020 by Yossi3 (USA)

I bought the A9G 65" 2 weeks ago after find out that it will not be A9H this year mine was made in Mexico March 2020. its picture is good and the TV is cold not like my summing 60" plasma one that was generating a lot of heat.also the plasma I would say was a better TV just the vertical lines that show up after 2 years made me to buy the Sony no parts or repair to this plasma, I just hope this TV will last longer I will update this revue every few month

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/06/2020

Hi Yossi3,

You definitely made the right choice. The TV is powered by our best processor to date, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered and factory calibrated to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

I’m in love with the 77 inch A9G

XBR A9G Series 07/06/2020 by Lsolor (USA)

We wanted a 77 inch OLED and this tv delivered and exceeded our expectations . It’s amazing picture quality is just outstanding and the Android software has much improved from the A1E. It looks sexy even when it’s off. I highly recommend if you’re going to get it wall mounted, you get the wall mount made just for this tv by Sony. Sony’s processing is incomparable. It’s bright where it needs to be. The colors are vivid. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi Lsolor,

Good Day! We are happy that you love it. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Best tv I’ve ever owned blows all other TVs away !

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/06/2020 by Francisco27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow just can’t get enough of this amazing tv it’s picture is so amazing I’m in love with this tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/06/2020

Hi Francisco27, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Erin

0

Great TV, Best so far

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/06/2020 by Andrew C T (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did not think it was gong to be possible to surpass the warmth and dark tones of a Plasma such as my Pioneer Plasma I still operate after 18 years. But the new TV from Sony is really a Masterpiece. Picture is the best I have ever seen on a TV. I can't wait to get the larger one for my living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/06/2020

Hi Andrew C T, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! ~Earl

0

Best TV I've ever owned

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/06/2020 by bIGbUCKy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgrade my monitor technology about every 3-4 years. I'm a Pioneer Plasma fan and having gone through 2 4k TV's since that time (the last one being a Sony X900c) I can say that Sony's take on OLED technology is unbeatable. Fantastic HDR implementation and incredible processing of SD signals (we watch quite a bit of cable and older shows). I also have a C9 in the den as a PC monitor and gaming monitor. If gaming is your thing, go that route, but for a family room/living room/home theater TV the Sony OLED's win hands down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/06/2020

Hi bIGbUCKy, we are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen.


Regards,

Erin

0

Stellar picture. Complicated setup.

77" class (76.7" diag) 31/05/2020 by Soapman72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV, based on many excellent reviews. I have to say that coming from a Panasonic Plasma that was cutting-edge in 2013, this is a serious upgrade. The experience has not been flawless. however, frequent audio glitches due to eARC have proven frustrating. Finding the correct settings, buried in the sound menu seems to have fixed the main issue, but i still have to reboot the TV periodically, to get sound back

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/06/2020

Hi,Soapman72, We are happy to hear that you like the picture quality of your new Bravia TV. To make sure your TV runs smoothly, please download and install the latest firmware for the TV: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-77a9g/downloads.


If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/05/2020 by PJJoker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is supposed to be Sony's top of the line TV. Justin, a sales rep in the Magnolia Department at the Elkridge, MD store, referred this TV to me. Justin informed me that this TV was the ultimate TV, has a crystal clear picture and a fast processor. Once I purchased the TV, got it home and set it up, it became evident within a few days that this was not entirely true about this TV. BLURRY PICTURE ON VARIOUS CHANNELS: The first issue was the blurriness on various TV stations. This blurriness came as the entire picture being blurry or if the picture moved to quickly, it would cause the picture to be blurry for 3-5 seconds and then clear up. For a $3,500 top of the line Sony Magnolia TV, this is ridiculous. Justin told me, that this could be fixed by turning off the two motion features of the TV. Unfortunately, this did not work at all. Therefore, I called Sony support to get help with this issue. After various changes to the settings on the TV and two software updates, there was no improvement and I still had the same issues with the TV. From this point, I contact Justin a few more times in reference to the same issue, but all he did was inform me of more adjustments to do on the TV instead of just returning or exchanging the TV for something else. Still today, I am having the same issue with this TV. TV TURNING OFF AND WONT TURN BACK ON: The second issue was the TV would turn off by itself and would not turn back on with the actual Sony TV remote or my Xfinity cable remote. I tried researching this online and on Sony online forms, but found no information on how to fix this issue. No matter what I did, the TV would not come back on or respond to neither remote. So another call out to Sony support I had to make. Once my call was answered, the rep informed me that there was no fix for this issue at this time. He did some trouble shooting steps with me while on the phone, but none of this was helping. Finally, he transferred me to someone else who was able to help me after 15 more minutes more of trouble shooting. I had to unplug the TV from the outlet and let it sit for approximately 20-30 minutes. From there, I plugged the TV back up, pressed the power button on the remote and the TV came back on after that. This situation has happened 4 times since purchasing this TV. REMOTE CONTROL NOT FUNCTIONING/SPORADIC FUNCTIONING: The third issue with this TV is the remote control. The remote either does not work at all period, functions sporadically or has slow function. For this issue, I called my sales rep Justin, but he was not able to provide me with any help. So again, I had to call Sony support. They referred me to a Sony forum where it had various information on trouble shooting various Sony TV remotes. From what I have read, this seems to be a constant issue. There are various instructions on how to fix the issue, and after various tries with different directions, I was able to find the right instructions to fix this issue. However, my remote continues to have the same issue and I have had to reset the remote over 7 times so far. When I later explained this to my sales rep Justin, he then admitted that he had heard that there were issues with the remote controls for this model. My question is why wasn't he upfront with this information when he was explaining the features of the TV and remote control???..........go figure! GOOGLE VOICE/TALK WORKS WHENEVER IT WANTS: The Google voice feature is just ridiculous on this TV. It obeys your commands close to 80% of the time, but at other times, it will just come on by itself. It has also come on during a TV show if a key word is used to make it activate or if you are in the area of the TV and having a general conversation with someone who says a key word. This is weird, confusing, and scary all at the same time. There is no current fix online or from Sony support at this time. RETURN OR EXCHANGE POLICY: So this is where I get very upset about this purchase. BestBuy is supposed to have the best return or exchange policy, as well as the best warranty policy out there on the market today. Since I have had this TV, no one has asked, offered or even instructed me to return the TV for a replacement or exchange for another product. All I have got or been offered is trouble shooting steps from Justin, told by Geek Squad that they were too busy to help me, other reps telling me that I am out of my return policy window when I was not, even though I have been having issues with this TV from day one. The store manager Alan did not help me whatsoever and pushed me off back to the Magnolia rep Justin. The Magnolia rep Justin then pushed me off to his manager John, who was absolutely no help with getting this issue resolved. He would not allow me to return or exchange the TV, only to suggest that I call the BestBuy repair center to have them look at it because I am out of my return policy window when I was not, even though I have still been having issues with this TV from day one. At no time did anyone of these individuals or departments inform or allow me to return this TV, even during my return period. Now that the COVID-19 issue came about, which made the process even harder to exchange or return an item to the store, both managers are refusing to let me return or exchange the item and the sales rep Justin will not fess up about me calling and texting him numerous times in reference to all these issues. In closing, I would not recommend this TV to anyone based on the above issues. I currently have a Sony Brava TV that I purchased back in 2010 and it is still going strong. I never had an issue with the picture or the remote control in all these years. This is why I decided to upgrade and stick with the Sony brand. But now after all this, I will do more research on other brands for TVs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi PJJoker.

Thank you for choosing and purchasing our Sony A9G Master Series OLED TV.

We’re sorry that you’ve run into these issues and have not been able to get the help you need.
Please contact us and we’ll help you troubleshoot your TV and see if a replacement is needed if it’s under warranty.

May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com or call us at 1-800-222-7669.
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Best Buy Username:
Telephone Number:

Sony TV Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the A9G

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.
We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Fantastic Picture

77" class (76.7" diag) 19/05/2020 by Gino55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I never imagined I would have such a large and stunning movie screen in my home.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Gino55, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great picture - problems w/YouTube & Prime Music

77" class (76.7" diag) 17/05/2020 by TX Sony Viewer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

YouTube and YouTube TV apps freeze playback and live TV. Cannot load Amazon Prime Music App

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2020

Hi TX Sony Viewer, we're glad you like the picture quality of our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. Please follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-77a9g/articles/00141896

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Wow Great Tv experience

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/05/2020 by Curt flirt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Best viewing TV I ever own and experience. I ya wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Curt flirt, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. -Sam

0

Vibrant colors and great sound

77" class (76.7" diag) 16/05/2020 by Mtaylor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a sorry Tv fan it totally blew me away picture quality and sound tv can handle great sound on it own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi Mtaylor, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen.


Regards,

Erin

0

Now this is a television.

77" class (76.7" diag) 13/05/2020 by JustJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly wonderful picture. The better the signal, the better the picture. I have been watching again many of my favorite movies and have noticed many details that I missed before. Amazing would describe it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi JustJ, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. Erin

0

Useful apps that save time

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/05/2020 by Litefoot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television about a month ago because I own only the best in tv’s. Sony. Like my automobiles I purchase only the best based on performance style and overall usefulness with latest high tech.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi, Litefoot, We are happy to hear your feedback. You chose the best brand! Thank you for the positive feedback and for trusting Sony! Enjoy! -Vincent

0

Defective out of the Box - Borderline Fraud

XBR A9G Series 08/05/2020 by LetDownBySony77 (USA)

I bought this earlier in the year and it was defective straight out of the box. The bottom right corner of this unit was bent (manufacturing defect which Sony passed off as perfect anyway) which makes pictures look awkward - like a person standing straight seems to stand normally except the part in the bottom corner where they appear to be leaning unnaturally. There was no damage to the box or delivery, and I discovered this when it was professionally mounted. I complained immediately and opened a ticket with Sony only to be told that this is considered "perfect" and this is not covered under warranty. Its not a cheap TV either - I paid over $5K for this and I can't even look at it without noticing the defect every day. Be VERY careful if you're considering making a purchase - If SONY sends you a defective piece, you're stuck with it and they will not take any ownership for the defect.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi LetDownBySony77,


Thank you for choosing and purchasing our Sony A9G OLED Master Series Ultra HD Smart TV.



We’d like to help you double check your TV and get some better information.


May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com or call us at 1-800-222-7669.
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Best Buy Username:
Telephone Number:

Sony TV Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the A9G.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Awesome television!

65" class (64.5" diag) 06/05/2020 by Happy Mimi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality is incredible. We especially enjoy the bluetooth capability. My husband and I are in our 70s and this television will probably be the last we will ever need or want!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi, Happy Mimi, Thank you for sharing your experience with your new Bravia TV. We are glad you and your husband are enjoying your new A9G TV. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Best TV Every.

55" class (54.6" diag) 06/05/2020 by Abadboy1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best TV I’ve ever owned. I bought my Dad this same tv and I liked it so much I bought one for my self.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi, Abadboy1, You just showed how much you love your dad for buying this TV for him. We are glad that both of you liked the A9G so much. Thank you for the feedback and for trusting Sony! Enjoy! -Vincent

0

Love my Sony but it goes to a Bravia screen!

XBR A9G Series 04/05/2020 by Mayostudent (USA)

TV is amazing but the screen goes to a Black screen with Bravia written in the lower Right corner all the time! I have to push a button on the remote to get back to what I was watching! Happens during Apple TV, Sony 4K Ultra viewing, I think anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2020

Hi Mayostudent, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Great picture bad android

77" class (76.7" diag) 03/05/2020 by cplbar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

always wanted a sony tv because of quality of picture did not dissapoint on that account but android tv leaves a lot to be desired quits working after three days like clockwork.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2020

Hi cplbar, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY. You may perform a power reset to better isolate and fix the issue by unplugging your TV for 60 seconds. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Bright Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/04/2020 by k8ger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this last fall. Perfect timing for the winter closing in and now the pandemic. Not sure what happens when I change back from apps to TV. The video shuts down after a minute or so and must turn the TV off and back on again to get it to stay on. If I hit the TV on button it does not change a thing. But all in all living with it. Not sure how to get help... Locks up sometimes. Have to reboot the TV. That clears just fine. Very nice. First new TV in about 15 years...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/04/2020

Hi k8ger, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-65a9g/articles/00032613

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: Sincerely, ~Earl

0

Love Picture and Sound - Firmware - not so much

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/04/2020 by 123nb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sadly we had to return our Master series Sony TV. It was just too frustrating to try to use. After the firmware upgrade, the system kept locking up and we had to do several hard restarts. This was even after a full factory reset. We waited over a year to purchase the TV until the Apple firmware update was available. The Sony proprietary software limits capability too. The sound and picture however - when it's working, cannot be matched.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/04/2020

Hi, 123nb, We are sad that the TV had to be returned. Although you experienced a bit of an issue, we are glad you loved the sound and picture quality of it. Thank you for your feedback. -Vincent

0

Remote Control

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/04/2020 by Raysubaqua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The remote control stopped sending IR signals so the TV is not usable. I bought it last month and now in the middle of our home confinement, I cannot use my TV. I am 77 years old and must remain at home unless there is an emergency. Sony does not answer the phone, email in not available and chat is disconnected every time I use. HELP

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2020

Hi Raysubaqua,


Thank you for purchasing and choosing our Sony A9G OLED Master Series TV. The best of the best!



We’re sorry that you were unable to reach us and for any inconveniences that may have caused you.



To help with your remote IR connections. Please try the solution from this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00117038



You can also use Bluetooth connect instead for your remote. For pairing information, please go here https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00231689.



If you need more assistance from us please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com or call us at 1-800-222-7669.
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Username:
Telephone Number:

Sony TV Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the A9G.



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great features and easy setup.

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/04/2020 by JStraw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and set it up today, so can’t yet comment on reliability. Setup was extremely easy and included panels for concealing cords/connections provide a very nice touch (TV would look good in the middle of room). On screen setup using remote control was very quick and easy, and picture is fantastic. Very importantly OLED brightness and screen material significantly reduce reflections.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/04/2020

Hi JStraw,

We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen.


Regards,

Erin

0

Very nice picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 21/04/2020 by Geo3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Largest and 1st smart tv in home Love features. I’m a Sony guy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi Geo3, We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. -Sam

0

Awesome colors

77" class (76.7" diag) 19/04/2020 by tangocharlie999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two months back. Was just amazed at the picture quality and the vibrant colors. I am able to connect to all the apps that I used before. No longer need a separate Roku box. The TV connects to Android phone and iPhone without any issue. All 4k contents looks amazing. Only thing I will ask for a change is, there is very little customization I can do to Google products. Like wanted to remove YouTube app. But I cannot do it. Maybe it's more of the Google TV change as compared to Sony. But need more flexibility on home screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/04/2020

Hi tangocharlie999, That's great! We're glad to hear you’re enjoying your A9G MASTER Series TV. The TV is powered by our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, for an unbelievable 4K HDR picture quality with absolute black levels that can only be delivered by an OLED TV and vibrant colors. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen. -Sam

0

Отличные возможности

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/04/2020 by VLADIMIR210272 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Я приобрёл через Амазон и доволен покупкой. Правда выбор модели я сам определил по своим професиональным способностям. спасибо.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi VLADIMIR210272,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Erin