244

4.7 based on 244 customer reviews

189
36
14
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

My first OLED TV

KD-48A9 24/11/2020 by Mr Cheesecake (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really wanted to love this television and luckily I do. This is an upgrade from a 49 inch that is 5 years old so I am losing an inch. My previous television had very poor sound and I therefore used a 2.1 soundbar which provided great sound and especially bass. I was intrigued therefore whether I would be able to use the television sound now instead of the soundbar. The sound from this television is very impressive, however it doesn't provide the same levels of bass as the soundbar. However after adjusting the bass frequencies in the QE in the settings I am happy with the sound and have stopped using the sound bar. My opinion on this is as follows. If you haven't been using a soundbar then you won't need one now. If you have been using a soundbar because the sound from your television is poor and you are not worried about having cinematic sound, then the sound from the television will likely suffice. If however you added a soundbar to give you cinematic sound then you are still going to require a soundbar because as good as the sound is, it won't be as good as you are used to. I didn't think that OLED was going to make much of difference to my full array television, but I was very wrong. The picture quality is stunning and the colours incredible out the box without changing any settings. The interface is nice and has much less lag than my previous android television. Also the remote feels good quality. Overall I am very happy with the television as it has simplified my setup without the need for a soundbar. Because of this the sound and picture are now always in sync which was a problem that I had with a separate soundbar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing features

KD-48A9 13/12/2020 by john102 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very disappointed unable to receive teletext in spite of sony helpline saying you can also no manual telling you what buttons on remote do and plan of back of set showing what goes where'

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

259 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant

KD-48A9 28/01/2021 by shurl77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this TV, picture quality is remarkable as is the sound, love the stand too, looks impressive and indeed is impressive, only downside is the cost but you can't have everything, on the whole worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply stunning

KD-48A9 27/01/2021 by Sid B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing picture with a sound that is so much improved we have dispensed with the sound bar. Android platform far out performs the competitions own in house attempts. Its slick, quick and with built in Chromecast it really is all you need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The picture and sound are both outstanding

KD-48A9 26/01/2021 by Strongdarm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the OLED Sony KD48A9BU for the UHD and from Richer sounds for the class leading 6 year warranty with unexpected next day delivery (included). At less than a month old and I am still mastering its settings and adjustments. The sound quality is excellent for speech recognition along with a depth of the sound that has made my sound bar redundant. The picture quality is on a level of brightness drive and clarity I’ve not seen since the old Cathode ray tubes days or my Panasonic Plasma TV but with all the advantages of a high definition reception a very thin flat screen and running costs, yes very thin display that’s even good on standard pictures (none HD). HD and UHD are in a different league the detail and colours are brilliant, no going back now

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Aesthetic looking tv

KD-48A9 26/01/2021 by WooseyWoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this around 2 weeks ago and am still playing around with the tv. It took me a while to get the perfect sound whilst playing around it’s the equaliser, then under settings once I accepted the tv to use the microphone I noticed a much better sound quality at once. It’s a fantastic tv and watching football on it is excellent. The only downside is that I’ve had to get used to the vibrant, quality picture after my 12 year old Sony tv died. Other negative is that the picture and sound on the apps is sometimes different so you might have to adjust constantly, and of course the price, for some reason the 55” tv was £100 cheaper that the 48”. I thought it would overhang my tv cabinet by a lot and look unsightly but the tv is so slim lined that it just overhangs by an inch either side and fits in perfectly in my lounge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent.

KD-48A9 25/01/2021 by Cguzzler1690 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality straight out of the box with minimal set up or adjustments. Sound very good. User interface slightly clunky and i've not found a use for the voice control (unless you want to search for youtube videos).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great definition and sound clarity

KD-48A9 25/01/2021 by Aerobatic Ace (United Kingdom)

I bought this television a month ago after pontificating at length about the cost; however, the subsequent pleasure of watching such a great picture and benefiting from all the TV entertainment on offer through this excellent medium make it worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice TV shame about the apps

KD-48A9 23/01/2021 by Buster52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and am happy with its performance apart from one very very important aspect. Unless the TV is connected to a terrestrial aerial, and mine isn’t, it’s impossible to access The ITV hub app. For such an expensive TV this is ridiculous and needs sorting out by Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture

KD-48A9 23/01/2021 by Lee68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Went for this model for the picture quality. Great picture and high quality product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

KD-48A9 22/01/2021 by Wba fc (United Kingdom)

Brought it 3 days ago solid TV easy to use and set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning picture!

KD-48A9 22/01/2021 by Markvet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely brilliant TV. Amazingly clear picture with vivid colours. Te sound is amazing too, and i do not feel I need a soundbar with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightens our darkness!

KD-48A9 21/01/2021 by BOF2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for 2 plus weeks and absolutely delighted - it replaced our 13 year old Sony Bravia which was struggling with the proliferation of “noir” output which frequently had us looking at a black screen with little definition, the built in technology copes brilliantly and we can enjoy the darkest the channels can throw at us. The 48 is the same overall size as previous fits the room and our old stand but edge to edge gives us so much more, the Netflix button is a boon in the current pandemic lockdown - one reservation it could be made clear in the manual that the ribbons that appear when Netflix filming aspect differs from viewing aspect is not harmful - the pixels are not in use in the ribbons, this took a bit of research to discover.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv and so much more

KD-48A9 21/01/2021 by DSCI (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This tv is brilliant although a little pricey. The picture and sound quality is beyond expectations. A very neat product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best TV we’ve ever had

KD-48A9 20/01/2021 by Mcn80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s been few weeks since we bought it and no issues so far, setup wasn’t too complicated, the remote can control set top box and blue ray player so no more juggling remotes. Picture is just amazing, compared to our old plasma hd ready it really makes a huge difference, sound is really good too, no need to use soundbar. Android tv is easy to use. Overall brilliant tv, it is pricey but well worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great television

KD-48A9 19/01/2021 by Peony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well worth paying £1699 for the 48 inch. The picture is so clear and detailed, I feel like I am behind the camera! It is like having a home cinema. Go for it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TV with Potential

KD-48A9 19/01/2021 by Raspberry58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased in November 2020, this seemed the best TV in a realistic size (though it initially looked massive compared to our old 37"!). Appears well built with a sleek remote (but no button illumination?). The picture quality is potentially excellent, but it is best to remember that no amount of up scaling will make ITV3 look good. Also, sometimes the quality of the screen highlights even normal HD channels' weak areas. Sound quality is vastly better than our old Samsung, benefitting from the screen/speaker technology. I would judge the Android operating system to be partial success, with a few teething troubles like sometimes losing sound to the catch-up apps. Overall, a very stylish capable TV, but also very expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb TV

KD-48A9 19/01/2021 by adam211111111111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A vast improvement on my previous Sony TV. The picture quality is stunning, interface easy to use, overall just a great tv. Sound is average but you should expect that and be using a soundbar or other audio system if you're serious about home cinema.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good looking set and features but poor power cable

KD-48A9 19/01/2021 by Atr01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a well made product with good features - excellent picture. But the power cable is very short with a 3 prong plug and cannot be changed. Makes wall mounting very difficult.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Picture

KD-48A9 17/01/2021 by Willie62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replace a failed Bravia 3D TV which looked and performed great, this one looks better has far more functionality but has a slight niggle in that it won’t maintain a lock on the HD channels all the time. All other HD TVs in the house cope with a slightly weak signal but this one struggles for some reason. The remote control is stylish and easy to use apart from finding buttons such as the guide or mute in low light, needs backlighting. All other aspects of this TV are nothing less than brilliant so I’m hoping it’ll settle down with use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

KD-48A9 17/01/2021 by Paul the builder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The tv is really amazing, the colours and the sound justify the he title of the tv ( The Master Series) I am no tv technician I just watch movies and listen to loads of music and this tv delivers on everything I need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning TV

KD-48A9 17/01/2021 by KTGEORGE11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a Christmas gift for myself- really happy I did. Sound and picture are gorgeous, great functions, great remote which I can use for everything, even my Sky box and 48 inch is the perfect size for my lounge...didn’t want a TV that overpowered the room. Debated long and hard between this and the LG but this won in the end due to advice from Richer Sounds, Windsor (where I bought it) and I’m so pleased it did. Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

KD-48A9 17/01/2021 by Cambridge66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought early Jan and am very pleased with the picture quality which is excellent. The sound is good enough for me without sound bar which is what. I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture good But App issues

KD-48A9 17/01/2021 by Gobed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3 weeks ago. Picture quality is very good. Issue with geo location in software means that ITV Hub app not working and BBCi player not playing local news. Contacted Sony about problem but not resolved as yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

48" A9S

48" class (47.6" diag) 17/01/2021 by BodineTX (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality. I was lucky to be able to get one late 2010 as it was scarce at the stores. Picture quality is beyond any I have seen. I am happy with the connectivity and ease of setup. Sound quality is good but I have the TV hooked up to my surround sound system for an even better surround sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

KD-48A9 16/01/2021 by Tony F (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an old Sony obviously the picture is brilliant and the sound coming from different parts of the screen it almost like being in a cinema

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 48” OLED

KD-48A9 16/01/2021 by Ajr99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have been waiting for the 48” inch version and not disappointed which the colours and particularly handling shades of black.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent tv...a little pricey..

KD-48A9 16/01/2021 by Lesk70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking at two tv's to compare.... The Sony A9 and the LG. After reading loads of reviews and assessments I opted for the Sony A9.... It is fantastic, picture quality is superb and the sound projection is brilliant. We sit a little further back from the recommended distance but it suits us.. The remote is slightly different from Panasonic tv we had for years however with patients it's good. The set up menu was very easy and everything connected... I did find that because of the position of our tv (Sat on shelf within a piece of furniture with vertical sides to left and right) it was a little difficult to find and connect the cables at the bottom of the set. (Reaching over the top and finding the hdmi cables ..working blind sort of thing). That was only our site condition,anyone with lots of space would be no problem . Takes a few days of viewing to get used to the menu but it all happens after a while.. The on-board Chromecast is great as we used this on our last tv.. All in all very pleased..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely clear picture

KD-48A9 16/01/2021 by 1001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with our new TV, it was easy to set up, and has a lovely clear picture, and excellent sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excelent resolution, color wonderful

KD-48A9 15/01/2021 by Lulli (United Kingdom)

I bought the TV in my town. A TV shop called Device. Very good service and advise

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super TV

KD-48A9 15/01/2021 by AM CUMBRIA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV purchased about 6 weeks ago - absolutely superb - from set up to picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super 48 inch Oled tv

KD-48A9 15/01/2021 by Tezza L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this tv for a month now . Love the features and the 4k picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would love a manual?

KD-48A9 15/01/2021 by Mr Searles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great everything TV. But if things go wrong as they did we prime the other night very difficult to find information.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great looking TV with a good picture

KD-48A9 14/01/2021 by Monty99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the look of the TV (like the way it sits very low on the stand (thus hiding the wires at the back). I like the picture which has excellent detail, contrast, and colour. I would prefer to be able to increase the brightness which is sometimes OK and sometimes lacking (even though on MAX). The sound is better than a standard LCD mid-range set but speech is sometimes too strident and the base, although an improvement, is still not good enough to make music exciting. For me a soundbase or external amplifier/speakers is still a requirement.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Frustrating tv

KD-48A9 12/01/2021 by Phillc (United Kingdom)

I purchased this tv early December and after spending quite a bit of time adjusting the picture settings to my preference I was pleased with the picture quality that was until I started to watch live sport mainly football this is when the tv becomes frustrating after about 2 minutes at normal good picture quality the brightness automatically reduces to a level that really is unacceptable the only way to get it it back to a normal level is to go back into picture settings and then come out without adjusting anything this bring things back to normal for another 2 mins then same again obviously this not acceptable having tried a soft reset and full factory reset the problem still exists and so regrettably until a solution is found I wouldn’t recommend buying this tv.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

KD-48A9 11/01/2021 by David 71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am happy with the product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great oled

48" class (47.6" diag) 10/01/2021 by Ralph S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding picture! Worth the additional cost. Really enjoy watching TV again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality product

KD-48A9 10/01/2021 by Biggie 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought myself this product because you know what you are getting when you buy Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best TV I’ve ever owned!

KD-48A9 10/01/2021 by Matteo68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been wanting a 4K TV for a while having seen the ‘even better in UHD’ for Sky Sports F1 and have always had Sony Bravia TVs but didn’t want a 55” or bigger (ours have been 37” and 40” most recently). I read the glowing review in What HiFi and decided this was the one for us as it had very little against it. Straight out of the box I wasn’t disappointed - very easy to set up with our Sky+HD, Blu-Ray player, PS4 and full Sonos 5.1 home cinema audio. The built-in Netflix, Disney+ and YouTube only increased our satisfaction with it. The picture in UHD / 4K HDR is astonishingly good with deep blacks vivid colours and excellent motion control. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

quality of the picture

KD-48A9 10/01/2021 by Coventry west midlands (United Kingdom)

i have just bought the tv yesterday and cant believe to quality of picture especially watching wild life programmes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great television

KD-48A9 10/01/2021 by Dartmoor Deano (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had this tv for just over a week and have not been disappointed. Superb picture quality and definition and clear sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Different world of viewing

KD-48A9 09/01/2021 by Fitzybaby (United Kingdom)

Too much to take in at the moment but with all the features it will take the boredom from lock down

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Software Issues

KD-48A9 09/01/2021 by Nick49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and sound, when it works. We have had the TV 10 days and have already had 2 occasions where the sound did not work and required switching off at the plug to rectify. The internet has plenty of forums with reporting of issues relating to software updates to confirm it is not just us. Could be a 5 star but - Sony, please sort out your software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

I’m now watching far too much TV!

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Redrick888 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned a B&O television, so was a little concerned with purchasing a much cheaper Sony to replace it. The quality of the picture is amazing and the sound is pretty good too. The controls are very simple and straight forward and love the one touch button to access Netflix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Rolls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this product about a month ago and it’s totally enhanced our tv watching experience

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pleased

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by None11111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All very good, very pleased with all aspects except could do with a manual that is easy to understand!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A9 48 OLED

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Davidb2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and it is great. It sounds much better through my sound system, although there are problems because it is an old system.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning picture and sound

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Nickystick2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for an OLED TV of a sensible size for our room, and this is it! Easy to set up straight out of the box. The depth of colour, definition and smoothness of motion are stunning. The sound coming off the screen rather than speakers produces a clean simple design. It brings a new level of realism into our living room, without dominating the space. Expensive, but the quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant in every way

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Nigel617 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this TV a month ago. The picture, sound and ease of use are all excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning television

KD-48A9 08/01/2021 by Savage_TM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've had this TV for two weeks and I have to say I'm blown away by the picture quality & ease-of-use. Installing the television took less than an hour. The on-screen guide walked us through all the connections to our TV box, games consoles and receiver; and helped us choose appropriate settings for each (although we tweaked those a little in the following days). I was particularly impressed that the Sony remote could control our Virgin Tivo box. The picture is incredible, particularly on HD and 4K content. I wasn't sure we'd notice too much difference from our old plasma television, but everything was so much sharper and detailed, even sitting at a distance. While watching a David Attenborough documentary, our kids commented that it was like "looking through a window" into the rainforest. The set struggles a little more with SD content - especially via our Cable box. It occasionally looks "smudgy" or blocky, depending on the channel. However, I think this is more to do with the source than the TV itself. DVDs, for example, look crisp and detailed compared to some lower-bitrate broadcast channels. In terms of sound, the "acoustic surface audio" - which produces sound from the screen itself - is impressive compared to the competition. However, I would still argue that a home cinema system or soundbar give a vastly superior experience, especially at low volumes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great OLED Television

KD-48A9 07/01/2021 by PRAfiddlers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not only is this a great TV with a fantastic picture quality it was also easy to self install. The menu system was easy to follow and connect to my Freesat and DVD devices as well s the internet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic screen with depth of colours

KD-48A9 07/01/2021 by HLD1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was tempted to go for the cheaper QLED option and glad I didn’t.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

B l o o d y Brilliant!

KD-48A9 07/01/2021 by Supacabby (United Kingdom)

Upgrade from a 5y old Sony that had served me well, Oled is fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incompatible for BBC UHD with HT-G700

KD-48A9 07/01/2021 by AWK01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved the tv so much I bought a Sony soundbar HT-G700 and it stopped being able to show BBC UHD. Bbc-UHD works fine on the tv alone But connected via hdmi using the eARC link as advised in the instructions BBC-UHD fails. This is a repeatable behaviour and not related to my internet - I can make bbc uhd work any time when set for tv speakers on the tv but as soon as it is paired with the soundbar it stalls

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Wow! What a fabulous box!

KD-48A9 06/01/2021 by Pinfold (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ok I k ow this is an expensive box, but considering I will have this for the next ten years plus, God willing, I am very happy. I still cannot get over the quality and sound, it’s just amazing. Also all dvds on my old DVD player are enhanced. Love the way Sony walk you through it’s features, by email once registered and I have never felt I could not find answers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Outstanding.

KD-48A9 06/01/2021 by Billy23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had waited some time before sets became available to purchase. So glad I did. The Sony is a wonderful television with stunning pictures and every smart feature that we require. Takes a while adjusting settings to please individual preferences but once done, WOW. This set replaced a Sony that we had for six years and which gave faultless service. Have no doubt that this new set will as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best tb

KD-48A9 05/01/2021 by Kevvey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best tv I have owned. A bit pricey but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Huge disappointment

KD-48A9 05/01/2021 by Mr impartial (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this item early December luckily from a responsible retailer, i had read the glowing reviews about this product and expected an “award winning “ tv Unfortunately it developed a very prominent screen banding fault within the first Week and due to xmas and covid19 a replacement still has not been delivered This is not the first time Sony products have let me down, however it will be the last !!!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Amazing colours and great definition

KD-48A9 05/01/2021 by CantBeBotheredWithAName (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We decided to upgrade our television as thanks to the ongoing lockdowns we have been watching a lot more television and movies. Colour definition is brilliant. Can’t say we notice that the sound tracks across the screen but maybe that’s because our television isn’t huge. Huge plus is that we can mirror a phone to the tv so can share photo’s etc and we’re able to put gameplay on the tv for Outsmarted. An expensive tv but we feel it is worth it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

KD-48A9 05/01/2021 by Yorks9021 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had the tv for about 3 weeks now and am still amazed every time I turn it on!! Upgraded from a 1080p Sony Bravia lcd and the difference is huge. Sound quality is better than any other tv built in speaker I have heard.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Stunning tv

KD-48A9 04/01/2021 by Selly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Stunning tv, thin and very neat cable area. Flawless in 4K. Only one remote needed as you can put your favourite sites directly on to the tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent OLED Television

KD-48A9 04/01/2021 by Stuey1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago and am very, very happy. So easy to you and the apps are displayed in a very good format.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big television in small size

KD-48A9 03/01/2021 by AngelaG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The clarity of picture and, more especially sound, is a great improvement on our previous television. My husband is deaf and had difficulty in hearing our previous television but with this one, the sound is much clearer. It has features of larger televisions, but in a smaller size that doesn't overwhelm our lounge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

It's a pity there is no instruction manual.

KD-48A9 03/01/2021 by Jimbo38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am sure this product has many wonderful features, but for an 83 year old man to access these features without an instruction manual is very difficult.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Great picture

KD-48A9 03/01/2021 by Mesmo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a lock-down Christmas present to each other... having been long-time Panasonic owners, the reviews of the Sony OLED TVs convinced me to return to Sony. The picture quality is absolutely stunning, with fine detail in dark pictures and brightness that brings a real life like shine to reflective surfaces. My only hesitation from scoring a 5 is high-speed motion, I struggle to find a setting that is free of jitters or artefacts.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great specs

KD-48A9 03/01/2021 by Jim7563 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had for a week but so pleased with the picture quality, sound quality and over all build quality Although costing as much as a much larger oled screen I didn't have room for anything bigger, I have had 1 small issue when the information banner wouldn't go off but this was soon resolved by rebooting over all very pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony KD 48A9

KD-48A9 02/01/2021 by Spud 25 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with this product . Brilliant picture good sound production

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

My Best Sony TV Ever!

KD-48A9 02/01/2021 by chavanow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony A9 48' OLED TV in order to get a much better picture and thanks to the sound quality I was finally able to get rid of my 5.1 Sony Surround system, including rear speakers, a center speaker, and of course a subwoofer. Especially the spoken sound was always a nuisance. Now I am able, whenever necessary, and that's often the case with Dutch drama, to use Voice Zoom which highlights the spoken word. Fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great TV

KD-48A9 02/01/2021 by PJ64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture, No sound Bar required ,Very good audio and fast and easy to use interface.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Super Picture

KD-48A9 02/01/2021 by MJE9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a fortnight ago and the picture clarity is amazing, making nature programmes vivid and enticing to watch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Superb all round!

KD-48A9 02/01/2021 by nmb27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only purchased two weeks ago, but initial response is that whilst is undoubtedly expensive, I am highly satisfied with all aspects of the TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Looks great.

KD-48A9 01/01/2021 by MumD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thoroughly enjoying the smart features of my new tv. Picture is great - impressive colour range and sound handling is good. I wish more apps were available like Apple TV and Amazon music on the App Store though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality OLED TV

KD-48A9 01/01/2021 by Bilmar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased ten days ago so still getting used to it. Pathetic minimal user manual, my previous Sony Bravia TV had a thirty six page user manual. Very good picture, sound a bit variable but early days.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great TV

KD-48A9 01/01/2021 by Travel Gordy (United Kingdom)

We purchased over a month ago now from John Lewis. Very pleased with TV and features. The picture quality is exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0