379

4.3 based on 379 customer reviews

241
67
31
19
21
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

GREAT FEATURES, EXCELLENT GRAPHICS

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/07/2017 by GIGGLES (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I JUST BROUGHT THIS TV AND IT MADE ME FEEL AS IF I WERE AT THE MOVIES

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great picture, horrible sound

49" class (48.5" diag) 21/01/2019 by TrishV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture is amazing, very clear and crisp with vivid colors. But the sound is terrible. Very tinny and hollow. I have to keep adjusting every time I watch, but nothing sounds good. Worst sound from a television I've had in years. I have a Sony tv in my office that I've never had to adjust the sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

379 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Great features

49" class (48.5" diag) 16/08/2019 by Mark8647 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great picture and sound. All the features you are looking for. You might pay a little more for a SONY, but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/08/2019

Hello, Mark8647!

We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Awesome

55" class (54.6" diag) 12/08/2019 by Jstyle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a year ago and it’s been great to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, Jstyle!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Nice TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 12/08/2019 by BeKind (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture. Easy to figure out!! Many freebies!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, BeKind!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Love it!

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/08/2019 by Jonnysunshine (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Some issues w getting the sound to interact with my sound bar, but the pictures are beautiful. It had been a while since my last upgrade and I couldn't be happier with the new tech. Minus one start for the remote--which I tossed in right seconds, but video games, movies, Netflix--all look great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2019

Hi, Jonnysunshine! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. If you need further assistance, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com.

~Ralph

0

Awesome picture ease of use and features

43" class (42.5" diag) 31/07/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got my tv 2weeks ago, luv it. Sony simply does it better. Check one out u'll we what I'm talking about. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the box didn't have some of the hardware for the stand in it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, Christopher!

We’re glad you like the product! Regarding your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

So far so good, but my TV came with some spots...

43" class (42.5" diag) 25/07/2019 by cacaorock (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

...on the screen I cannot remove. I am trying to clean them with a soft cloth dampened in warm water and soap... but so far no luck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2019

Hello, cacaorock!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

TV turn ON and OFF by them self

55" class (54.6" diag) 22/07/2019 by CETB56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My concern is why the TV that is new turn On and OFF 2 or 3 times a day.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/07/2019

Hi, CETB56!

We are sorry to hear what happened with your TV. If you haven't set any sleep timer, we recommend following the steps on the link below to troubleshoot the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00032613

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Defective

49" class (48.5" diag) 21/07/2019 by DrMrMojo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is a small annoying white line at the bottom of the screen that distracts from the picture. This is repeatedly described in the Community--how could it not be resolved??

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/07/2019

Hello, DrMrMojo!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please try following the steps on the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00109671

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

nice

55" class (54.6" diag) 19/07/2019 by chunkieD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice enough set. It's my first flat screen so I can't really give a great review and compare it to others. If it lasts a long as my old Trinitron I'll be tickled.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, chunkieD! We appreciate your time in writing this honest feedback about the TV. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Sony Is Always Awesome

49" class (48.5" diag) 12/07/2019 by o131r (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love Sony TVs. I will not buy a tv if it’s not a Sony. I always have and always will

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User-friendly

55" class (54.6" diag) 11/07/2019 by Big Bad Bill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

User-friendly, Hook up all the cords turn on the power start serving what a gorgeous picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

After a year is not working

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/07/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Suddenly it goes mute, then black screen, then sony logo, then 4 colorful images as rebooting or upgrading software, comes back and after a few minutes do the same fit again and again. Please help us, we love this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2019

Hi CamiloPerdomoLLM,

I understand that your xbr55x800e is having issues with a reboot loop. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Just beautiful

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/07/2019 by Styles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for the ps4 pro 4k, and cant get enough of this tv. Wish i bought another!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent TV for the price!

49" class (48.5" diag) 03/07/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV 2 years ago and I can't be happier than this purchase. This TV has sufficed all my needs including Apps across the globe, VPN access, chromecast features, good audio output options and excellent video quality. The only thing I hate about this TV is the bluetooth limitations. The TV can't be connected to headphones/external speakers via bluetooth. I have heard about TV connecting to Sony's proprietary selective headphones but those cost $200+ (not my buy).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

55" class (54.6" diag) 01/07/2019 by RandyIce (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to configured and put together. The picture quality is amazing. The android TV apps are very intuitive. The TV control menu are very to navigate. Plus the design is to died for. I pick this over a Samsung 8 series and I am so happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture, ok sound!

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/06/2019 by ShurMack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I extremely impressed with the visuals on this tv! The sound is much to be desired, but it goes extremely well with my external sound system. Overall very satisfied with this product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony's The Best

43" class (42.5" diag) 23/06/2019 by Operator542 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful Picture & Smart Also, The Sony Company Works For Me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and easy to use

43" class (42.5" diag) 17/06/2019 by Bobz1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy with setup and ease of use. The clarity of picture is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Satisfied

49" class (48.5" diag) 16/06/2019  (USA)

Great picture with all the modern wireless features you could want. Android TV, Chromecast, easy to navigate, and not hard to figure out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV

43" class (42.5" diag) 14/06/2019 by Rosene (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture with perfect color and clarity. Easy instructious especially with software download and switching back and forth from Smart TV to regular TV, Has superb reputation as a TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The picture quality is excellent

49" class (48.5" diag) 13/06/2019 by JPJ340 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my purchase due to picture quality and features second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve always been a Sony fan and love my new TV with all the new features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture! Great design!

55" class (54.6" diag) 05/06/2019 by StuartR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very happy with this new TV. It's main strength is the overall quality of the picture. The darks are dark, and the detail is great. There are no motion artifacts. Although the screen is big, and can get pretty bright, you can watch for a long time without fatigue. The overal mechanical design is very nice, including the stand which mounts in the center of the TV, rather than the edges. This way it fits on a smaller stand than other TVs this size. The Android TV user interface is not perfect. It's definitely not as friendly or slick as the competitor TVs. It looks and feels clunky. This is the tradeoff for the benefit of the versatility and tons of apps available in the Google Play store. Many of the features are very highly integrated into the Google universe, so if you use other Google applicaitons (YouTube, photos, assistant, etc.), you get a lot of added functionality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Unit failed in 2.5 months

49" class (48.5" diag) 03/06/2019 by Old man 71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Television has many good features and beautiful picture. Unfortunately the mother board ceased to function in 2.5 months after purchase. It has been repaired, but this was a huge disappointment for an owner who really liked Sony products and has had them for over 20 years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/08/2019

Hello,

We are sorry to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, we need to check your file on our system. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case Number:
Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

0

Android O.S. frustrating, constant factory resets

49" class (48.5" diag) 31/05/2019 by Phildo 59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture but unfortunately I suspect the O.S. would make t.v. operation slow, apps would freeze and found daily operation frustrating, frequent calls to tech support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super Smart TV Interface

43" class (42.5" diag) 28/05/2019 by PeeJay 1013 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Samsung Smart TV developed a "Lamp problem", ie, the lamps that live behind the screen occasionally become "visible" and need to be replaced. Only problem is NO ONE repairs these units. I really loved my 40" Samsung and even though I tried to "not notice" the intrusive lamp glow through my screen it was apparent that I would need to replace it. Off to Best Buy to seek a replacement. I found one but between my original purchase date and now, Samsung changed their leg support configuration and the new one would not fit on my "shelf". Without a leg to stand on, literally, I had to change brands. Sony offered what I needed in support as well as the screen upgrade. Sony is a great brand and I have many fine Sony products but this is my first TV. Had to upgrade to a 43" and I was worried it would be too big. But we got it home, plugged in everything (lots of plugs!!) and turned it on. First off, the picture was amazing but we'd seen that in the store so no surprise, what was a very pleasant surprise is the "Smart TV" experience. So much easier to manage/utilize than my old set. Admittedly the other set was old but even with "updates" nothing really improved. Sony's GUI was light years ahead of my old set. Simple, straightforward and all inclusive from the get-go, I intuitively set up what was needed and added my streaming player (although with this built in interface I hardly see the need!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for vibrant colors, TERRIBLE black contrasts

43" class (42.5" diag) 27/05/2019 by thestoddcast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in fall 2018 and everything looks great aside from VERY poor black contrast. The contrast issue makes it nearly impossible to watch darker scenes in an average lit room. Dark room would be the best fit for this problem. If I could do it over again, I would go for the X900F in a heartbeat.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/05/2019

Hello thestoddcast,

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. You can try to adjust the picture setting on your Android TV to enhance your viewing experience. Please take your time reading the articles below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-43x800e/articles/00190409

https://helpguide.sony.net/tv/eusltn3/v1/en-003/01-03-09_03.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

True to life picture quality

43" class (42.5" diag) 26/05/2019 by NadarAndar19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am amazed with the quality of the picture on the Sony that I purchased. The colors are realistic, there is depth of field, with clear, crisp images. The sound is excellent. i am very pleased with this product and definitely recommend the Sony 43X800E.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the price

49" class (48.5" diag) 24/05/2019 by Swellens (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picked it up for under $500 at Costco. Good picture, speakers are acceptable.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony So-NICE!

43" class (42.5" diag) 23/05/2019 by BillyRay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago and have had an exceptional experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES,EASY SET-UP

43" class (42.5" diag) 20/05/2019 by GOMER59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT PRICE, GREAT TV.SUPERB BLU-RAY PICTURE AND EASY HOOK-UP

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very nice product

XBR X800E Series 20/05/2019 by Bayliner Captain (USA)

I purchased this 6 weeks ago and am very happy with the Sony 49X800E. Once set up i was perfect and no adjustments needed. The picture is amazing and we are very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Choice

43" class (42.5" diag) 19/05/2019 by Cookie1979 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant Choice. Brilliant Color & Definition. Great Price for the size. We are glad we made this choice to replace a television that was playing out after three years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

nice picture,plenty of options

49" class (48.5" diag) 15/05/2019 by pitzy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm happy with the TV but apps are frustrating to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Value

49" class (48.5" diag) 11/05/2019 by Shari777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best TV for it's size and price. I was looking for a smaller TV for the bedroom and almost went with an inferior brand to stay under $500. Then I found this Sony and I'm so glad I did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I was living in the past

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/05/2019 by Philvet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Now watching the dream, picture and accessories the best, easy setup. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture & sound

43" class (42.5" diag) 02/05/2019 by neversonyagainno never (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchase. Tried to find a workable app for internet- none!! Remote poor layout and not designed for ease of use!!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
05/05/2019

Hi there, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a brief description of the issue you have experience for further assistance.


Regards,
Erin

0

great picture

49" class (48.5" diag) 28/04/2019 by whocares3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture is great. Sound is not so good. May need to buy sound bar to improve sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 27/04/2019 by Eugeneyk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv a month and I am still satisfied.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/04/2019 by dvnpalv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy television,and no need for firestick! enjoy all functions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/04/2019 by pete4594 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

much better picture than lg 4k was always to dark in movies

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best TV Ever!!!!!

43" class (42.5" diag) 18/04/2019 by Barbie07 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love, love, love our new Sony!!!! Beautiful picture, great sound, easy to set up, recommend highly!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 14/04/2019 by JFagundo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Certainly an awesome TV, picture quality is amazing, great colors and definition. The factory default settings are perfect, I didn't have to make any adjustments to my taste, it was just perfect for me. I'm very satisfied with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/04/2019 by Aprilfool18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the picture and the remote is easy to use. Great value!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love this Sony TV

43" class (42.5" diag) 07/04/2019 by Adztec (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had bought a 65” Sony last year for myself for Christmas and love its 4K picture. The only lacking feature were a schedule for what was showing on that TV. So I bought the X800 4K and it does just about everything even features that my 65” doesn’t .... all in all Sony makes a fantastic video product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Way too dark to see shows where to scene is dark

XBR X800E Series 06/04/2019 by Lyn111 (USA)

I bought this tv two weeks ago and am trying to watch game of thrones seasons, but most of them are too dark to see. I’ve turned the brightness to max but it didn’t help much.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hi Lyn111, we regret that the TV failed to meet your expectation. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com . We hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Best 4K TV Experience

XBR X800E Series 06/04/2019 by bigdog805 PS4 (USA)

I'll be honest with you all. I'm one of those persons that talked smack about having a 4K TV. Lol and I end up buying one smh. I apologize for being a stubborn person. You were right! Once you experience your own 4K, you will be amazed. Especial with this unit by Sony. Has really great natural colors and good motion picture, its like having a personal cinema. When it comes to gaming OMG crazy....just perfect. I love it and I highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not trying for a third time.

XBR X800E Series 02/04/2019 by CSR1 (USA)

I purchased my first Sony tv in 2017, everything was fine until all of a sudden my cable box stopped producing sound with the tv. My PlayStation and DVD player would work, even streaming there was sound. I went through the settings of both the cable box and tv. Nothing worked. I changed out the HDMI cables and even the cable box. Still no sound. I tried to connect the cable box to a different tv (insignia) and it worked. The only thing that worked was switching the HDMI cable to a different HDMI port on the tv, which is fine, until it happened again. I switched to a different port and it happened again. I kept doing this until I eventually ran out of ports to connect the cable box to, they all stopped working with my cable box. I called to have my tv serviced, and the tech said it was a bad HDMI board in the tv. They ordered the parts and attempted to fix it. Well when they put the new HDMI board in and put the tv back together and mounted it, they turned the tv on and there were a series of colorful blocks on the screen, then it’ll switch to a red screen, then blue, then black. The tech said the brand new HDMI board that was ordered for me was bad. He put the old board back in so that I could still at least watch Netflix or movies. But once he did that it was still the same thing with the colorful blocks and the screen going from black to blue. They ended up giving me a credit for the tv. Now last year in October I purchased this tv the X800E Series thinking everything would be fine, and everything was fine. Up until two months ago when the same issue came about. The sound just stopping working all of a sudden. So again I switched the HDMI to a different HDMI port on the tv. A week later the same issue. I switched it a final time and it was great, up until yesterday. Again no sound. Everything that I’ve done with the previous Sony I’ve done to this one. Switching out the HDMI cables, switching the cable box, connecting the cable box to a different tv (which worked). It’s literally been 5 months and the tv is doing the same thing. I didn’t even bother with calling to have it serviced because I didn’t get the protection plan. This didn’t happen when I had a Samsung which is still kicking to this day. It was a great tv when it worked. The picture quality was amazing and I definitely love playing my PlayStation Pro on it. This would’ve been the perfect tv if it would’ve worked.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/04/2019

Hi CSR1, thank you for sharing Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your case number if any so we can check and review your file. Regards, -Erin

0

Great viewing experience!

43" class (42.5" diag) 01/04/2019 by Vic52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been a proud owner of this tv set for the last three weeks now, as always Sony's outstanding quality has no competition. Vibrant colors and brigtness with excellent user interface.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but sound does not sync

XBR X800E Series 19/03/2019 by Abo47 (USA)

I have had this tv for a week and on some stations the sound is not synced with the picture. Its It's very annoying. It looks like a badly dubbed foreign language film. But it's great to watch for sports and on those stations where things do sync. Any help from Sony is appreciated because my cable company could not help.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow tunning processor

55" class (54.6" diag) 19/03/2019 by Zee G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little less than a year ago with two years warranty. They replaced my other Sony XBR KDL40 Sound bar long ago so I trus sony. This TV’s color is great, the tunning processor very slow when switching between channels. some times it turned off by itself. May be I picked the bad one? I hope they will fix it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
23/03/2019

Hi Zee G, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Regards, -Erin

0

TV has multiple issues

43" class (42.5" diag) 17/03/2019 by Mark D 123456 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased in October and less than a month later the Sony sound bar connected with the ARC started to cut in and out randomly. The same sound bar worked fine on our old Sony TV, tried a new HDMI cable and problem still there. We need to unplug both to get them working again. Sony support says unplug and plug back in and do a factory reset. We have unplug the system 50 plus times, problem still there. Factory reset several times problem still there, has latest software. So far zero help. Also when changing channels up or down it will randomly jump to 135. As it stands I am looking at moving to a Samsung. Very disappointed

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
27/03/2019

Hi Mark D, We are very sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, -Jay

0

Love this t.v.

43" class (42.5" diag) 05/03/2019 by Ashleycat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony never dissapoints. First new t.v. in a decade. No complaints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for size

43" class (42.5" diag) 02/03/2019 by Irishtinker057 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just before Super Bowl I have limited space it is perfect for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Power Cord defective

43" class (42.5" diag) 23/02/2019 by Coryfive (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the picture but the power cord was defective. I had to use the power cord from my outgoing TV. Big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/02/2019

Hi Coryfive, we are sad to hear what happened. We would like to know more from you and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. We hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Erin

0

Fairly easy to use & great picture

43" class (42.5" diag) 14/02/2019 by davtv3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this about a month ago to upgrade to a smart hdtv. It's a good size for our family room, and was easy to set up and connect. It operated well right away, but just recently the software on it was upgraded and now it is really nice. Much more intuitive on how to use it and layout of items on screen is better. The built-in Google assistant voice control works well. Amazon Alexa also has some functions that work well on the TV (volume, mute, change channel,) Picture looks really nice. I don't know much about adjusting picture, but there are a couple of presets that look really good, and there are some instructional videos on there that show how how to do things if needed. There are enough apps from Google store to add if want all those.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 12/02/2019 by Mary88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this tv for about a month and love it. The picture is so clear I feel I am in the movie! This is my third Sony tv and the quality of their products is great and they last for decades. Thank you Sony for a great product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY 55IN TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 06/02/2019 by MARKTHEGREAT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I GOT MY 55In SONY TV ABOUT ONE MONTH AGO.I WOOD ONLY BUY A SONY.BECAUSE THEY ARE THE TV .THAT YOU CAN BUY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WiFi Connection Issues

XBR X800E Series 03/02/2019 by Toes1992 (USA)

After the recent update, the keyboard for the wifi password can only be used via the phone app and it does not connect. Where did the keyboard input using the television remote go? I can only input numbers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 31/01/2019 by curt72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our Sony tv is as good has all my research said it would be, picture is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Loads of excellent good features.

43" class (42.5" diag) 26/01/2019 by snuffy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I trust Sony products owned Sony Wega tv prior to this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

All good

49" class (48.5" diag) 24/01/2019 by Star Wars (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had for 2 years and been playing my Star Wars PlayStation 4 Pro and watching 4k movies on my Sony 4k blu ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, horrible sound

49" class (48.5" diag) 21/01/2019 by TrishV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture is amazing, very clear and crisp with vivid colors. But the sound is terrible. Very tinny and hollow. I have to keep adjusting every time I watch, but nothing sounds good. Worst sound from a television I've had in years. I have a Sony tv in my office that I've never had to adjust the sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Starting to Figure it Out

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/01/2019 by Ole Baldy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thanks to Sony Support I now have Great Picture and Sound. Initially had trouble viewing 4K due to DTV settings and my Netflix subscription. This TV is a nice upgrade from my 5 yr old Samsung.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Weak stand and sound

49" class (48.5" diag) 12/01/2019 by Bryan P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it a month and it's a ok tv. I'm disappointed in stand and the sound. I should have kept my old tv. We bought a 4k player so we up to a 4k tv and gave our son our old one. The stand is so weak they want to hook up safety cables. It was a good thing I had a sound bar as sound out of tv is subpar. The picture is ok if you are not watching something with lots of dark images.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

How Great it is

43" class (42.5" diag) 11/01/2019 by The zigster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Improvement from 10 year old Bravia. The Picture is awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super tv!

43" class (42.5" diag) 09/01/2019 by John32257 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only reason i didn't give 5 stars is due to the color washout at times, especially when switching channels.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture

43" class (42.5" diag) 08/01/2019 by JESS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the clarity of the picture on my new Sony television. It was pretty easy to set-up; and, it has alot of technology features. I am sure that I will get many years of enjoyment from this television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Beautiful Picture!!

43" class (42.5" diag) 08/01/2019 by Bea699 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this tv to replace a Samsung 40 inch 4K tv that only last a couple of years when it started to develop dark and pink blotches on the display which you could see while watching tv. I am so happy that I bought this tv . Fantastic picture and great quality all around. The viewing angle is just as good from the side as viewing from the front unlike the Samsung. After a few adjustments in the display,adding other devices and setting up Google to access features and apps and I was done. I have always purchased Vizio tv’s and never had a problem but decided to try a Sony. Great choice and will never ever buy another Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding

43" class (42.5" diag) 07/01/2019 by Jim7875 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My daughter gave this set to me as a gift. It’s magnificent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 06/01/2019 by Nichi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything about this tv is excellent except when turning it off . It takes at least 3 times to turn off completely.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome picture quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/01/2019 by mars92 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm super impressed with the picture quality. Whether it's a movie, sports program or regular program the clarity of the picture is truly impressive. Watching 4K movies on Prime or Netflix is the crowning touch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0