Skip to Content
198

4.2 based on 198 customer reviews

111
50
12
13
12
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Phenomenal

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/10/2016 by RyanK2012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV specifically for the upcoming 4k / HDR consoles, and I am absolutely blown away by the Reality Creation Feature and the upscaling of Regular HD content. The Android Smart Service is hard to get used to at first, but once you learn to navigate it, it is awesome. The only downside would be the sound quality, which is actually pretty decent for such a thin panel TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Glitchy Android platform

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/07/2017 by Bob333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're an Android phone user, this might be ok ok for you, but as an Apple user I am less tolerant of software glitches that frequently occur with this unit. We have business class internet 50+ Mbps service, hard-wired ethernet connected directly to the TV and still it pauses and the sound cuts out intermittently. If working ok, don't change the volume or the connectivity issues will return for a few seconds.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

11

0

198 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Sony tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 17/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it for about 6 months now and it is absolutely stunning. After buying an LG, and 2 sharp 65 inch 4k tv's I finally settled on the Sony, and wasn't disappointed, 0 backlight bleed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/11/2017 by Akimoko12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this thru Dell Advantage inline store. It’s was a perfect size fir my room. The pictures are great and sound is fine. But but the system upgrade the TV turn on but itself. At first I thought it’s just the remote control but its not. It turn on by itself several times. I tried resetting to original setting so far its not turning by itself. Now its the Wireless connection that require attention. The whole online apps require reset everytime you watch especially Netflix. I hope no more issues later.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can’t use Bluetooth headphones with tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/11/2017 by Littlepitt75 (USA)

I purchased this tv since it advertised Bluetooth. After trying unsuccessfully to connect my Bluetooth headphones with this tv I discovered SONY made this model tv not include the A2DP Bluetooth technology thereby making it not possible to connect Bluetooth headphones to the tv. Sure I could buy a Bluetooth audio transmitter and connect it to the audio output jack of the tv, but I did NOT but this tv to have to do this with. Sony has disappointed me. Sony has lost me as a future customer.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Beautiful Color

75" class (74.5" diag) 14/11/2017 by SammyT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV on December 26, 2016. Replacing my 50" Sony TV. I bought it because I wanted a larger screen & of course 4K feature. The picture out of the box is stunning. the color is natural. I mostly watch Basketball and movies & of course youtube. Because of the clarity it is like you are in the game or you are at the movie theater.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HDMI Issues

XBR X850D Series 09/11/2017 by Neal1 (USA)

Bought TV last Black Friday. Worked fine for 11 months. Now HDMI not compatable with cable provider. We have tried replacing the cable box 3 times, and replaced HDMI circuit board to no avail.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2017

Hi Neal1, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. -Erin

0

Great Picture, nice features, not overly stable

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/11/2017 by Underdogdb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the picture on this screen, 4K detail is amazing and the colors are bright and vivid. The ability to add software to the android platform is also an excellent bonus feature, and I like the fact that the unit adheres to standards rather than being super proprietary. My only problem with the unit is that it's not overly stable. When I first got the unit I would be watching a movie and the screen would display "no signal detected, shutting down in 60 seconds". The countdown would continue even though the movie was clearly playing. So I disabled the "feature" that turns off the screen automatically when no signal was detected. Now my only gripe is that when I switch between inputs (AT&T UVerse and Xbox One) the unit frequently just displays a black screen as if it is receiving no input, I think this is likely the same problem that was causing the problem above, but that is pure speculation. I can usually switch it back and forth a few times and it will suddenly recognize the video stream and begin displaying, but sometimes I have to fully reboot the TV (not simply turning it off and on, but hard rebooting the Android platform. Once I do that, it will always recognize the video signal on reboot. I regularly check for updates in the hopes that a patch will come down that will correct this issue as quite frankly this is all that's standing in the way of a five star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor picture quality

XBR X850D Series 04/11/2017 by asharpe225 (USA)

I bought this TV from a box store April 2017 and I am not happy with this picture at all. I had been researching a 65" TV for my Home Theater. I wanted a Sony because it is suppose to have one of the best pictures and great motion. The motion is the only thing that is good about this TV. My TV has an extremely bad light that beams up from the bottom of the screen as seen in the picture. I have called Sony and they informed me that the "light bleed" is exceptable. I don't think so.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/11/2017

Hi asharpe225, We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience with this TV. You can check the information and troubleshooting steps from these link.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/74377
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55005
Regards, -Jay

0

Sony - X850D 4K HDR with Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/11/2017 by KEVIN123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT 6 MOS AGO, NOW HAVING ISSUES CONNECTING TO HDMI PORTS. HAD TO GO THROUGH 1HR PHONE CALL 10/29/17 TO TROUBLESHOOT AND RESOLVE ISSUE (RESET FACTORY SETTINGS). HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY 11/2/17 AND HAD TO DO SIMPLE POWER RESTART. CALLING INTO TECH SUPPORT DIFFICULT BECAUSE CONNECTION OVER PHONE (FROM LANDLINE) IS TERRIBLE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I KNOW THERE ARE BEST BUT "SONY" IS SONY!

XBR X850D Series 30/10/2017 by GEMTIAN (USA)

QUALITY , CUSTOMER SUPPORT , AND ONE OF THE BEST IN OVER ALL "SONY" MY ONLY COMPLAIN IS THE REMOTE CONTROL IS COMPLICATE TO TYPE, AND AT NIGHT MAKE NOISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just a fantastic picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 29/10/2017 by Larry W (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic picture quality. Normally I wear glasses to watch TV, but I don't need them with this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good 4k Tv but flawed

XBR X850D Series 24/10/2017 by Ruff (USA)

Great color accuracy with 4k content an 720/1080p content. Sounds is very decent, most of the time I have no need to turn on surround sound system. Lots of inputs to wire almost everything an there tuck away behind the TV , which is awesome an it's so hard to find TV's with 4 HDMI inputs. HDR picture is very dark an color suffers tremendously when using this picture mode to watch 4k content , so I usually have to use standard mode , after less than 1 yes of use my UI is constantly freezing an my TV resets at least 5x weekly.... My TV an apps are all up to date by the way. Tons of apps to use but 4k content again looks terrible in HDR viewing mode. I really want to switch to a different model because I'm disappointed in Sony . If other models have similar issues I'm seriously considering selling my 850D an switching to Samsung.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Tv ever

55" class (54.6" diag) 22/10/2017 by Malik14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a while ago but all my PS4 Pro game titles look amazing on it. I am also taking advantage of the 4K HDR Netflix content. This is a feature packed Tv and looks and sounds amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glitchy, poorly executed, UI a disaster.

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/10/2017 by buick301 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the money, I expected a whole lot more. The UI is trouble. Sometimes it accepts my commands, sometimes it doesn't. In several instances, I have had to pull the power plug to reset the TV in order to get control back. The remote has also become unresponsive several times. Applications seem haphazardly strewn across multiple "feeds" on the home screen. It is not user friendly. The picture quality is okay but only with tweaks. You have to turn off all kinds of automatic picture controls or else the picture becomes washed out in certian conditions. One of the auto picture features, I forget which, wreaks havoc on the picture when closed captioning is selected. Every time closed caption text appears on the screen the entire image becomes brighter and then darker as the closed captioning goes by. The latest issue is the set will turn itself on after you turn it off. I feel like the remote is repeating power toggle requests for some reason because if I cover the ir LED after I request a power off, this doesn't happen. So far this set is much more trouble than I thought Sony was going to bring me.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/10/2017

We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you,buick301. We would like to let you know that your feedback matters to us because it helps to improve the performance and quality of our products. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Nice tv

75" class (74.5" diag) 16/10/2017 by Vic2day (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lacks customization fratures with all apps and Android settings

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2017

Hi Vic2day, we thank you for taking your time to let us know your feedback about the TV. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be a big help in improving the performance and quality of our products.

-Erin

0

Sony tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/10/2017 by Pebbles124345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always shots off randomly because it freezes. Has ok picture quality and sounds ok. Would recommend a lg tv over Sony

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2017

Hi Pebbles124345, we are sorry for the bad experience. If the TV shuts off randomly, we recommend isolating the issue by following the guidelines from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42970.

Please note that the TV software must be up to date for best performance.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40952.


Regards,
-Erin

0

beautiful picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/10/2017 by C DOG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the quality of the picture and features are nice. My only concern is sound quality is definitely low. I expected a better sound considering the sony brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost a great TV

XBR X850D Series 04/10/2017 by FajS (USA)

I bought this several months ago. Picture is fantastic, sound is very good, BUT... I have 50MBPS cable internet, and the TV is hardwired into the network, even so, quite often, it tells me that it needs an internet connection to connect to Netflix. Netflix will randomly stop working, and I have to unplug the TV and let the software reset. Watching Amazon TV, the program will freeze while it tries to adjust volume. Often enough to really be annoying, it will stop working while watching TV, or playing a game on the PS4 connected to this TV, and I have to unplug the TV, wait for it to run through set up again, and then, most times, it will work for at least a day or 2 before it happens again. Sad, because I have had only Sony TV's for decades, and I have a Sony sound system that integrates with the TV remove (and vice-versa).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi FajS, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

Fantastic Picture, Questionable Support Staff

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/10/2017 by Norris575 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought this Android based Sony TV in December, and it was so good that she bought me the SECOND TV in August for the bedroom. Now that is a 55" bedroom MEDIA CENTER. With this TV you can watch television from around the world. Internet television is a whole new world and is now at your fingertips. If you can add an "APP" to a telephone, you will be able to set up this TV for services around the world. From Ireland, Britian, Germany, well you name it and you will be able to watch it for a small subscription fee, and I do mean small. With the 4K, your picture is fantastic, even while using the internet for your services. Also you will find Netflix, Hulu and about 1500 more App's that you will be able to use. The single draw back is, you cannot ask SONY for help on these. I have called numerous times and the agents have either no knowledge of how they work, or they have been told to keep it quiet. The owner's manual, on line or internal is the same way, you are going to need U-TUBE for your education. However, there are lots of videos to guide you, just don't stay with the Sony name when searching, use the key word of Android and you will be just fine. Make sure to shop around and you will enjoy this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great tv

75" class (74.5" diag) 29/09/2017 by Bigjim 408 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thi tv about 4moth ago still trying to figure it out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid picture. Great features. Ho-hum Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/09/2017 by WhyLieDude1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this T.V. in December of 2016. The 4K truly stands out when compared to a 1080p picture. The amount of control you have over the fine tooting of the picture is fantastic. The only downfall of the TV is that the Android feature is subpar. I have a hard time streaming games and any other kind of media with Android TV feature otherwise the Sony television is fantastic and a must-buy for anybody looking for a cheap 4K television

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good tv but the apps are limited not very good

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it in January like but like I mentioned the apps are limited and not vary appealing. Tried to go to google play could not download new apps. Stuck with the ones installed on tv, not good

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SONY XBR65X850D

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/09/2017 by ROBCENTRAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS TV 5 MONTHS AGO. GREAT PICTURE BUT NOW IT WONT TURN ON. ONLY 5 MONTHS OLD. 3-5 DAYS BEFORE SONT WILL HAVE SOMEONE CALL ME. AAARRRGGGGHHH!!!!!SEND ME A NEW ONE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi ROBCENTRAL, we are sorry to hear that the TV is not turning on. let's isolate the issue by following the steps from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38329. Best regards, -Erin

0

Motion blurring watching football

XBR X850D Series 10/09/2017 by justin405 (USA)

Great true cinema experience when watching movies, but watching live action sports creates issues with motion blurring or ghosting. The smooth setting doesnt seem to do the trick either. Anybody had any luck?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Not bad when the HDMI works.

XBR X850D Series 03/09/2017 by soccerglue (USA)

I love the picture on this TV but for some reason the sound on HDMI 1 goes out from time to time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2017

Hello, soccerglue, We are sorry to hear about the bad experience right there. Kindly check if the TV has the latest software, Also, you may consider performing the steps given on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38453.
Regards, _Bob

0

great product

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/08/2017 by obwan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this TV. Picture is bright and clear. The value for the price cannot be beat

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent overall, but Android apps/search lacking

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/08/2017 by NobodyInParticular (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV has a great picture and generally good functionality. Even reproducing standard 1080p is far superior to what I experienced with my older HD Panasonic. I found though that the Smart TV features are lacking as they are so Google specific, not having the search features of a normal Roku, and some of the apps are not as updated under Android as I would have liked as compared to a Roku (having one, I use it instead of many of the Smart TV features). Also, the newer Roku up-samples all content to match the 4K capability of this TV, making for a better streaming experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Wonderful

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/08/2017 by RichH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I compared Sony with Samsung for my 4k TV. Sony's provided a natural color to the images and Samsung was just over processed. Both are good choices however the Sony edged out Samsung for my viewing. The Anroid feature works flawlessly with no issues. I like the fact that Sony continues to update the product via software updates. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony never disappoints

55" class (54.6" diag) 25/08/2017 by ELSAGIRL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very please with this TV. Sony never disappoints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just as expected

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by sam5454 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had numerous Sony Tvs over the years with great results. Our newest one is just wonderful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Tv HDR

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year for xmas it's great product 4K experience very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great except for light bleed

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by Bf5502 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome tv but it has terrible light bleed on the edges and corners. Too bad it has this issue, otherwise it would be a 5 star product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2017

Hi Bf5502, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We'll make sure this reaches the team for investigation.

0

Complete TV. COMES WITH MORE FEATURES

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/08/2017 by TampaGR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television over a month ago after I compared all the brands and all the TVs. This was by far the best value but the most features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SAY "NO" TO ANDROID

XBR X850D Series 23/08/2017 by Bizzee1 (USA)

This TV has a beautiful picture. Sound is OK though I use a sound bar and sub-woofer with it. My problem is that it is CONSTANTLY crashing. TV shuts off and reboots while watching it. Apps close randomly - even when you're not using them. Another TERRIBLE flaw with this TV is that you have to go through several steps to set the "sleep timer". Generally there is a button or 1 step to set on the remote control, however, with this TV you have to stop watching the TV, go to settings and set the sleep timer from there - a bit inconvenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2017

Hi, Bizzee1, We're sorry for the inconvenience and for this bad experience of yours. Let us turn this to a good one. You may check the link below on how to get rid of those error messages that you've encountered:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/76165.
Regards, _Bob

0

Needs Help

XBR X850D Series 16/08/2017 by wild0110 (USA)

Does Not work with Alexa as previously advertised. Only the 750 does. Sony is promising to update these but it has yet to happen... I am patient but slowly losing respect for Sony as time passes. Probably will sell on Craigslist and buy a Samsung at the end of summer is it's not updated yet...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2017

Hi wild0110, we regret that the TV failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Terrible light bleed !

XBR X850D Series 08/08/2017 by Dbarb (USA)

I bought this a couple months back and while I think the picture is great the black light bleed is terrible. When the closed caption is on and the little white words pop up the whole screen gets brighter ! Really annoying. Also on a straight black screen with a title name you can see light spots ! Also called sony and they claim this is normal instead of apologizing and trying to fix the situation. I have pictures but it won't let me post

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV / Terrible Manual

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by GRooks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great screen and features, however the manual is a generic manual to cover several models, i have extra parts that aren't identified in any of the paperwork. they're very brief on instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Slow performacne

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by Sgadewar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV is very poor in performance in terms of Apps. Everything is super slow in terms of operation of apps. ALso when I increase the volume of TV the apps on the TV freeze. Very annoying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2017

Hi Sgadewar, we regret that the TV did not live up to your expectations. Especially in terms of app playback and its Android operating system. We'll make sure that the team is well aware of your feedback and have them make improvements for this model. For now, you may follow the steps in the link provided to address the issues you're currently experiencing with this TV. Regards.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38403/p/61659,95543,96008,96058/c/65,66/kw/slow%20tv
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/58030/p/61659,95543,96008,96058/c/65,66/kw/slow%20tv

0

Great Product !

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by Ardy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture Quality is excellent.Connectivity is well. Remote Control ease of use is not Good. Hard Drive filing manager is not Good. all other function working well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/07/2017 by dan4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i purchased it thinking it would work with my wireless head phone but even the geek squad could not make it work so i returned it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2017

Hi dan4, we regret that the TV failed to meet your expectations as it does not have the feature that you require. We hope that you still consider getting another Sony TV that will meet or exceed your standards. If you're looking for a set that will work with your wireless headphone, we recommend the XBR-65A1E. Additionally, the XBR55X850D also supports headphone connections via Bluetooth, the menu may just have confused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we hope that the next Sony TV you get will make up for this experience. Regards.

0

Sony Quality!

75" class (74.5" diag) 29/07/2017 by CarlsbadSam17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Sony brand guy for 50 years now, always impressed with their products and the two latest tv purchases are no different - excellent products, I just hope the OS is not buggy!! : (

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Glitchy Android platform

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/07/2017 by Bob333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're an Android phone user, this might be ok ok for you, but as an Apple user I am less tolerant of software glitches that frequently occur with this unit. We have business class internet 50+ Mbps service, hard-wired ethernet connected directly to the TV and still it pauses and the sound cuts out intermittently. If working ok, don't change the volume or the connectivity issues will return for a few seconds.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2017

Hi Bob333, thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we regret that the TV is acting differently on your end. Please allow us to help you by emailing us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a description of the issue. Hope to hear from you. Regards.

0

TV looks good. But, Operating Sys is Poor - read!

XBR X850D Series 24/07/2017 by cpierre (USA)

I bought this TV in November 2016. The TV operating system reboots all by itself and right in the middle of a program or movie. This happens at least 6 times each week. Sometimes it reboots several times per day. Additionally, when Sling TV plays, we need to manually reboot the TV just to be able to select Sling channels. This is very disappointing. I would have bought a comparably priced LG or a Samsung and I believe that I would have been happier and had a better TV.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2017

Hi cpierre, this is obviously not the experience that we want you to have with the TV. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and we'll help you address the issues that you're experiencing with it. Hope to hear from you. Regards.

0

Great TV to behold

XBR X850D Series 23/07/2017 by Nochie1 (USA)

After going through reviews by both tech experts and owners, I decided to take the plunge. So far so good. The issue I have is that the speaker system is not so good. I already have LG sound bar which I have attached to the tv via bluetooth.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/07/2017 by tewjax (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 5 months ago and love TV and features. I have an issue however with the TV rebooting - it shuts down then immediately powers back up to the Android screen. So far no resolution!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

BRAVIA's Best

55" class (54.6" diag) 14/07/2017 by ziffle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

while browsing 4 a nu t.v. came across the 850d i was impressed with features! also the price was right love the picture,and the voice remote works great, blows me away! GREAT product whats next?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 4K 55'' TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/07/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Product! Very easy to set-up to include pairing the internet and connecting to your cable box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is a GREAT TV

XBR X850D Series 02/07/2017 by OK73072 (USA)

I purchased this tv on sale and it has exceeded all expectations with video quality and ease of setup. I'm a 63 yo lady and was able to connect all my components including legacy speakers, streaming device, DVD etc. to function together. I've had no quality issues at all with screen or software problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 23/06/2017 by gunny56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this TV for 7 months no with no problems. It's very easy to set up and has a great picture. Sometimes it is a little slow to warm up (I guess) but still only about 30 seconds or so. The sound is the only thing that could use improvement but I usually use speakers anyway.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

MajorTelevision Software Problems

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/06/2017 by gmutz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a loyal Sony customer since before the Trinitron days and so I bought this 4K HDR with Android TV (XBR-55X850D) with a Sony soundbar 2 months ago. The software on this product is terrible!!!! It worked fine for a couple of weeks but soon after, when turned on, the TV startup became intolerably slow (up to 20 minutes) and includes multiple error messages saying multiple programs are not working (program guide, leanback, etc.) and eventually asks for input (wait or ok) for each of the non-functioning programs which is a long, slow, tedious process. The TV automatically updates (so it says) & when I eventually am able to get to settings it indicates system & apps are up to date.. Very frustrating & completely unenjoyable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2017

Hi gmutz, we regret that the TV did not turn out to be as expected. If it is exhibiting the same problem, kindly email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the TV's and your information and we'll help you out.

0

Outstanding Television

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/06/2017 by michey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are no words. This t.v. has exceeded our expectations and more. We are thoroughly enjoying it. Sony is the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/06/2017

Hi michey, we are glad that the TV exceeds your expectation. We appreciate the good feedback and thank you for choosing SONY! ~Erin

0

Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 15/06/2017 by Rezzy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at Best Buy a few weeks ago, easy setup, great picture, great fit and finishings as expected when buying a Sony. Only negative is the remote. Remote is missing back light. Overal great TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great colors when watching HDR content but........

XBR X850D Series 13/06/2017 by jbicon (USA)

This TV has horrible light bleeding from all 4 corners when there are black bars or dark scenes.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/06/2017

Hi, jbicon, We apologize for any inconvenience. We recommend following the guidelines here to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41819/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38985/
Regards,
Vincent

0

Glitchy glitchy glitchy

XBR X850D Series 10/06/2017 by Johnny J Mac (USA)

Bought this product as a Christmas gift for my family and the Magic is gone. Turns off by itself, glitchy error codes which won't go away without hard reboots. So frustrating

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/06/2017

Hi Johnny J Mac, we recommend making sure that you're TV has the latest firmware installed. For the TV that turns off by itself, you can refer to this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42970/p/61659,95543,96008,96058/c/65,66/kw/turns%20off%20by%20itself. Best regards, ~Erin

0

Marshmallow Update Ruined It

XBR X850D Series 31/05/2017 by Pre86 (USA)

Bought this TV in November and it worked well until the Marshmallow Update. Experiencing many of the same problems as others since the update. Also, Sony Sideview app no longer detects TV since the update. Multiple factory resets have not helped. Would hold off on purchasing this TV until Sony hopefully addresses the issues with a future update.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/05/2017

Hi Pre86, we apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused. You may follow the guidelines here in troubleshooting the Video & TV SideView App: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75553/p/61659,95543,96008,96058/c/65,66/kw/TV%20sideview%20app. Regards, ~Erin

0

Great for a year

XBR X850D Series 30/05/2017 by Dave8469 (USA)

It was great for a year, then all of a sudden the remote lags with sound, input, and arrow buttons, I have a remote that comes with the cable provider I have and lags with this remote also. Earlier I was staring at a blank screen after I had hit the power button but yet the sound was still on and on numerous occasions there's picture but no sound and the only fix is to unplug the tv and plug it back in. Not to mention all the times I get saying watch tv or settings has stopped working. I owned a Sony Bravia before this one and has absolutely not issues.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/05/2017

We are sorry to hear your experience, Dave8469. Please visit the links below to access the articles that will help us fix the issues:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38403/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40952/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61396/
We do appreciate providing us these feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

More S/W Issues........

75" class (74.5" diag) 15/05/2017 by CRPs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV replaced my one year old KDL-75W850C which had so many S/W issues that it was not reliable from day to day. After six attempts to solve with Sony CS they sent me a new 4K (Nice Picture) to replace the old one. Unfortunately is had the EXACT same issues of turning off by itself, rebooting, not turning on and having to wait for 10 minutes, error messages, S/W app instability, not remembering where the TV input is set to, etc. But ti does have a beautiful picture when it is working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/05/2017

Hi, CRPs, Thank you for sharing your input, we are sorry to hear this. The links below will help us isolating and hopefully resolving the issues:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38403/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40952/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61396/
We will make sure this will be forwarded to the proper department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Amazing picture and sound. Great quality product!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/05/2017 by Apope111 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a samsung fan but when I saw the overall features and overall quality of this TV I couldn't pass it up. The installation and setup was simple and I couldn't be more satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Overall Good but expected more

75" class (74.5" diag) 10/05/2017 by eso20 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall good but I'm not satisfied with some of the issues having. 1. Frequently the TV "freezes" up and have to unplug it and plug it back in to re-boot it. Screen gets stuck on "program guide not responding". Has happened about 3 times now. It's difficult because I have it on the wall with a ultra slim mount w/ a recessed outlet and having to take down the TV to unplug it. When its frozen no buttons work on remote to turn it off. 2. How do you get the picture everyone is mentioning and speaking of? Are you watching movies? Screen is great for movies, streaming content. For everyday TV/Sports picture is okay but seems dark around edges and overall. I purchased a $200 cable that is supposed to upgrade HDMI signal/output and be good for 4K content but I have not seen any 4K content to date. Not getting the vivid/clear picture I'd expect. I also have not changed much of the color, contrast, etc. settings for fear I won't get it back to factory settings. Changes around the TV adjustments from vivid, to sports, to standard and none are like I gotta have this setting. This could all be user error but if anyone has any suggestions, ideas I'm ready for them.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very impressed with the picture and features

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/05/2017 by AIR RACE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Sony believer since I purchased an old KV-XBR36450 in 2001 or 2002

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Incredible picture, sound so-so

65" class (64.5" diag) 03/05/2017 by bsimmons01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture is really nice, true realism in content. The apps/Android ecosystem is pretty nifty. I'm happy with it. I'd give it 5 stars, but the sound stinks so you have to get a sound bar for sure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

OUTSTANDING PICTURE AND FEATURES

75" class (74.5" diag) 03/05/2017 by 1browni (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very good product for the money. This television has a plethora of controls and functions. This will enable any user to fine tune to what looks best to them. I viewed many TVs of this size before this purchase, Sony had the best picture at the store and at my home. The only thing I found lacking was the inability to sync with a wider array of audio/video receivers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great overall, but an early glitch.

55" class (54.6" diag) 23/04/2017 by kjinohio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought set about 2 months ago. Love the picture and sound, and the "smart" features. However, I did have an issue where the TV stopped working. Had to have service to my home and they had to do a hard reset of the TV due to a bad software update. I fear that this could be a recurring issue, although I'm hopeful it won't be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

spectacular technology

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/04/2017 by albaruka (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

all areas backgrounds are perfectly brighter than any models of Sony TV I had purchased before; Sony spoils us because each model is so improved---we consistently holds them to putting out something even better each time; well, this time I'm not asking anything else for a while, well done Sony--as always.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice TV but has a few issues

65" class (64.5" diag) 21/04/2017 by Alwood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this TV back in November 2016 and Loike the tv but i have had some problems with my sound. Sony tells me its not the Tv which I agree and my cable provider is telling me its the tv. The sound just goes out for a second randomly. now i am having an eror message appear saying Interactive TV platform has stopped.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Picture looks really good for an edge lit panel.

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/04/2017 by 210RG3 (USA)

Went to buy the 55x700d left with this one. Picture looked better on the x900d but cost more, I'm more than happy with this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture - very clear for HD TV channels!

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/04/2017 by JulianF (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about 3 weeks ago and am very pleased so far. Excellent clear picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Beautiful picture and great sound

65" class (64.5" diag) 14/04/2017 by keenertx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very great TV. Very happy with purchase. Was super easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Love my X850D 4K HDR Android TV!

75" class (74.5" diag) 12/04/2017 by MJS in LA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous living room television was a Samsung which I loved. My new Sony is even better! It has very crisp resolution, vivid colors and is a joy to watch. I can't get enough of it. You did it again Sony! :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

very happy

55" class (54.6" diag) 06/04/2017 by digumi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

exellente tv 100% recomendable good imagen good sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

WHAT CAN I SAY--SONY DID IT AGAIN

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/04/2017 by TONY258 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE HDR WITH TRILUMINOS DOES IT FOR ME---HANDS DOWN ITS THE BEST ON THE MARKET. GO SONY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Incredible Picture!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 31/03/2017 by Sony Bravia 65 in LED 4K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 4K is incredible which surprised me since these things typically do not sway me to buy a TV as it increases the cost of the TV so much. I'm disappointed in how often I have to reconnect to the wifi which is from Xfinity through a Netgear Cable Modem which is connected to a Netgear Nighthawk X6 Wireless Router which is great because the wifi can easily be connected to any room in the house when it sits in the basement. I don't understand why we have to reconnect the TV often multiple times a week to the wifi when we don't have this issue with the two Rokus on the 3rd level in the master & spare bedroom. That is the MOST frustrating part about this TV which is better than the first few months that we owned it. Sometimes if we wait a second, the TV will reconnect itself & we hoped this would be normal after it did it a few times but it isn't. Positive side, it is incredibly light & very easy to mount to the wall mount needing only person if that's all you have. It has plenty of inputs & outputs too which we like not only because of how they're conveniently located on the back or sides of the TV but they're setup in a way that makes it easy to pull all of the cords together very neatly behind the TV so they can be attached to the wall mount & cleanly taken down to the Marantz Receiver showing only one block of cables which is always nice when often the cables are not placed practically enough to make it this clean. One more negative side is an issue we have because our Blue-Ray DVD player is also Sony. Sometimes the TV's input is not correct which seems to be specifically linked to when the Sony remote for the DVD player is used because it is compatible with the TV as well. I have not been able to easily determine how to correct the input needed to play the DVD player back to the HDMI 4 input when I would expect both Sony remotes would be compatible with the TV & DVD player. Could be user error but I am usually able to figure out the issue eventually but that has not happened. Small issue once I figured out what the issue was & how to resolve it but Sony has been making these products for years so I would expect them to be compatible to other Sony products specifically a TV & a DVD player which were bought with a year or two of each other. In addition, they should be more user friendly like they have always been. Even with those two very frustrating issues (because they're pretty standard "issues" that should have been long resolved by Sony by now), the picture is very clear but not that so clear you can only see the actors pimples, blemishes, etc. for months until you can tune it out. It really is that good & we used to split our TV time between our bedroom & the basement but we hardly watch TV in any of the other rooms that have a TV because we just love to be in the basement watching this beautiful TV. Also, I wish I could modify the Home page more to what I personally would like to see, i.e. certain apps in a specific order, etc. You can do this with Roku & it's quite nice. I don't love scrolling through all these apps of which most I don't care about at all just to get to the 4 or 5 apps I do watch. Again, in this day & age of technology, I feel like this should be a given to modify the Home page or what essentially is the menu so it's personalized to us. Again, it's worth mentioning again that the wifi should automatically connect every time we turn the TV back on but it rarely does this which makes the specialty buttons, i.e. Netflix on the remote moot, since it cannot pull up Netflix without being connected so we have to reconnect again & then you can use the Netflix button or just scroll to the App which is right above the Network Settings so not very useful if the wifi is constantly disconnected. An update would be great to fix these issues!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Awesome TV!!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 28/03/2017 by GaryC357 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well pleased with this TV I purchased to replace a Samsung 55 inch. This TV from Sony is worth every penny I paid for it. Awesome picture & features. Still discovering things that this device can do. It hooks up to every device I own save one. For some reason I cannot get the IR blaster to work with my Infinity DVR set top box, but that's no a deal breaker for me, my Xbox One controls it just fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2