234

4.0 based on 234 customer reviews

123
57
15
17
22
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Phenomenal

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/10/2016 by RyanK2012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV specifically for the upcoming 4k / HDR consoles, and I am absolutely blown away by the Reality Creation Feature and the upscaling of Regular HD content. The Android Smart Service is hard to get used to at first, but once you learn to navigate it, it is awesome. The only downside would be the sound quality, which is actually pretty decent for such a thin panel TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Glitchy Android platform

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/07/2017 by Bob333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're an Android phone user, this might be ok ok for you, but as an Apple user I am less tolerant of software glitches that frequently occur with this unit. We have business class internet 50+ Mbps service, hard-wired ethernet connected directly to the TV and still it pauses and the sound cuts out intermittently. If working ok, don't change the volume or the connectivity issues will return for a few seconds.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

11

0

234 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Not happy

XBR X850D Series 09/07/2018 by Verne (USA)

I bought this tv 15 months ago and it’s broke I’m not happy

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2018

Hi Verne, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. We want to hear more from you, Kindly contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com.
Regards, _Bob

0

My Sony Bravia 4K HDR 65in TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/06/2018 by Bjhuevel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well made TV and great quality but a lack of instructions and how to operate it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

D best

75" class (74.5" diag) 25/06/2018 by sonero (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv a year ago so far no issues, love d pic quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4k smart tv except wifi

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/06/2018 by Ubermensch1975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely great tv, however wifi is unstable. Hopefully Sony will upgrade software to remedy problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HANDSHAKE PROBLEMS

XBR X850D Series 18/06/2018 by Rut22 (USA)

I have all NEW (within last two years) Sony equipment- Bravia 850D, Sony 2800ES receiver and a sony blueray player. I am CONSTANTLY having handshake problems between them, and yet that is precisely why I purchased ALL Sony. Great products when I can see them, but to regularly I have to work HDMI ports to get it run. Very aggravating.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

crackle sucks

XBR X850D Series 13/06/2018 by crackle0 (USA)

I bought over $10,000 of Sony TVs for my new home. I can't watch a movie from Netflicks or Amazon without it being interrupted by a crackle commercial. this sucks

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/06/2018

Hello crackle0, we're sorry to hear that. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

Versatile TV with excellent picture quality.

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/05/2018 by Mnight56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television in August of 2017, and have been extremely happy. I use multiple game consoles, computer, and Roku. The 4 HDMI inputs keep me from having to change cords to accommodate these devices. Sharing from other devices is simple. Overall an excellent TV that will be useful foryears to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best TV ever

85" class (84.6" diag) 02/05/2018 by Jossie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We recently brought this tv and it is the perfect size for our living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

hdr on net flix is terrible i wish i could disable

XBR X850D Series 04/04/2018 by christoph54 (USA)

the high dynamic range on Netflix on .my x850d 4k is terrible

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/04/2018

Hi christoph54,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with your television, please check the links below to isolate and fix the issue with your Netflix application.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00174432
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00097418

0

Beautiful, clear picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/03/2018 by BGoodspeed (USA)

Broke my heart when my plasma died before I bought this Sony. I Loved it for smooth motion and great colors. Looked around at various LED tv's for a replacement and compared various models and narrowed my choices to LG, Samsung, Sony. This model is from 2016, just hit the floors after debuting at CES and I could not be happier. It is as close as possible to my plasma smoothness and the picture is outstanding. Movies look fantastic as well. I've heard it's hard for a LEDtv to look as good as a Plasma, but the picture on this Sony is great for viewing live sports AND movies. Voice control on some of the apps via Android TV is fun. 4k stuff is expanding and the few things we have watched are spectacular. This tv is also capable of updating itself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

0

Good Television. Terrible running system.

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/03/2018 by Corbmad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this television just over one year. Television has completely locked up a second time due to firmware updates. Television picture quality is great. Whatever program, software or firmware is running the television is garbage. Stuck on the original Welcome screen again within two months after the same problem and the remote won't work. Would not recommend this product .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/03/2018

Hi Corbmad,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with your television. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check the links below:


https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1727&mdl=&kbid=00165623
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00166315

Thanks,
Zac

0

Honest Review

XBR X850D Series 13/03/2018 by De949576 (USA)

The image is truly excellent. The interface is rather well laid out on the home screen. The remote control lag however can be rather frustrating. I’m not the most impatient person, but to some degree, when my television that cost one eighth the price responds quicker, it can be a bit disappointing. It can take several seconds for the tv to mirror what I am trying to do on the remote. Although this tv is not top of the line, it costs quite a bit when compared to a Hisense tv which is $900 cheaper for the same size tv. I’ve had both brands and although this tv’s remote is truly garbage in comparison, it’s picture is by far more pleasing. I am very happy with the quality of the image. If you could fix the remote issue, I would give a 5 star rating a hundred times over.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

11

0

DUMB "smart" TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/03/2018 by overstim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all. the picture quality is great. Colors, contrast, brightness, clarity, all of it. Its a very very good looking TV for the price. But Lots of TVs are good looking now, you need more. Thats where the smart features come in, right? Well this thing's operating system is TERRIBLE. One reason I opted for Sony is because I thought Android TV would be a reliable bet., but it has been anything but. Its crashes, it pops up notices and messages in the middle of my shows, it constantly tells me some google app or another have crashed- Apps I NEVER USE and dont want. And the navigation menu is awful- I see settings to put my favorite or recent apps first, but they dont. I have to sift through dozens of apps I DONT WANT and cant get rid of. Lately it has started to not turn on at all. until I un plug it from the wall for 5 minutes. Ive had countless Sony products over the decades, and this is the worst.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/03/2018

Hi overstim,


We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced with regards to your television, Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details so we can further assist you.


Thanks,
Zac

0

Good picture. After 1.5 year the arc freature stop

XBR X850D Series 26/02/2018 by Gbird (USA)

Ok tv arc feature stopped working after 1.5 years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2018

Hi Gbird, we're sorry to hear that. Kindly check the link below and follow the steps to isolate the issue with the TV:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36501

If the issue persists, you may contact and locate one of our authorized servicers on the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

SONY is the BEST

55" class (54.6" diag) 03/02/2018 by Ken F (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV 16 months ago, still Great!!!!!!! NO, I do not work for Sony!!! Just think they are GREAT PRODUCTS!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

13

0

Not Happy Campers

65" class (64.5" diag) 02/02/2018 by kelly29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a year of having the X850D 4K HDR with Android TV we are not pleased. We cut the cable and use streaming and casting for our entertainment and over the air for local channels. This X850D 4K HDR with Android TV has a very weak tuner and when the product updates the software its a iffy as to what will work. We have LG and Samsung TVs in other rooms of the house and don't have these issues with them. We have had mixed results with Sony products in the past are likely done with Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

13

0

Not sure if X850D with AndroidTV is great..

XBR X850D Series 28/01/2018 by AudioDisabled (USA)

Great TV, great features to have, but overall user experience sucks with this TV. It would crash a few minutes after boot up. Tried to reset/reinstalling the TV software, but it would still crash. At one time, TV would have a line of stuck pixels across the TV on any inputs, any channels. For it to go away, I had to restart, but to do this, you have to navigate to a specific setting to restart - not by powering down, powering on! There was one time the picture settings went out of wack, and I had extremely hard time reverting back to the way it was. I have 2015 model, bought in November 2016. Hulu app is not up to date as of present date. Have this TV been obsoleted already? When opening home page of AndroidTV on X850D, it would take a while, slow response. Slow to change inputs. From time to time, apps would crash. Overall user experience sucks with X850D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/01/2018

Hi AudioDisabled, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. For further assistance, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and kindly include the product information such as the model and a serial number.


Regards,
-Erin

0

Awesome Picture & Sound

55" class (54.6" diag) 21/01/2018 by Route 66 Purchase (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is one of the best I have purchased. We almost to a year since purchasing this TV & have decided to purchase the XBR-43X800E as well to replace an outdated TV. This TV is our first smart tv purchase & now will not go purchase anything less. Although this model is probably no longer available for purchase the Sony Brand I would recommend to anyone. The one fallback is the newest update changed the look of all setting design location & look & now must learn where all the settings are again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

nice tv, few issues trying to resolve sony

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Appears that a few pixels are burnt out also the TV abruptly turns off when various button (voice talk) are hit at least twice on the remote. The software is up to date and I have reset the TV multiple times with no resolve. Working with customer support to figure out a solution... stay tuned.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

10

0

Screen went bad -distorted and straight lines

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/01/2018 by Rick A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought online from my United Mileage Store and picture stopped working in less than a year.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2018

Hi, Rick A, We apologize for any inconvenience. These issues can be isolated by following the troubleshooting steps here: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55005/
We appreciate your feedback and this will be forwarded to the proper department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Android glitchy

75" class (74.5" diag) 16/01/2018 by Pruggy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall good, but a lot of room for improvement. Feels like some features were rushed to market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

13

0

Fantastic clarity and definition

85" class (84.6" diag) 15/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love it. Great definition. 4K is the best we have ever seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

17

0

Sony 850d

XBR X850D Series 13/01/2018 by Jortiz88 (USA)

This TV was not what was promised look grainy once I brought home didn't think much of it said it did well in all lighting not true it was horrible in the dark and a year later it's only gotten worse with clouding stay away from this TV

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

22

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2018

Hi Jortiz88, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. You may refer to the link given below to know more information regarding this issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41819
Regards, _Bob

0

Blinking Screen

75" class (74.5" diag) 09/01/2018 by llebocat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV will intermittently blink when turning the device on. It is a known issue by Sony and is not being taken care of. We have attempted to contact Sony regarding this issue and they have stated that we should call back later and maybe they'll have a fix at that time. I purchased a TV near $3k to have it not working properly and to have the manufacturer not support the product. Not recommended at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

22

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2018

Hello llebocat, we are sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Let us help you. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can take a closer look at your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Good TV, Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/12/2017 by John2184 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the tv in May of 2017 (I also bought another one for a sales contest I ran). It's my third XBR in 30 years. The first tv was recycled recently, and it was still operational. The 2nd tv (40"XBR was purchased 13 years ago, and only lasted 3 years. I decided to give Sony another try after 10 years of other models. I must say the picture quality is awesome, however I am starting to have issues with the tv shutting itself off. Sometimes it restarts on its own, other times it needs to be turned restarted. Other than this issue, great tv!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

24

0

5*

55" class (54.6" diag) 21/12/2017 by Blvdal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best TV I ever purchased. Cant wait to upgrade in 2018

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

28

0

Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone do not get connected.

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/12/2017 by XBR55X850D missing A2DP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone do not get connected. A2PD profile is missing. Can you please update firmware to make this model compatible with Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone?

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

23

0

do not buy

XBR X850D Series 20/12/2017 by radria82 (USA)

We bought this tv black Friday 2016, December 17 2017 screen went black, called for service determined the panel is bad. Past warranty by 22 days, phone support referred us to online chat, would not assist, site down. Thought we were buying a premium product, obviously not.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

20

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/12/2017

Hi radria82, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file. Thank you, _Bob

0

Great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/12/2017 by DoxieMomma (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and has all the apps I need without having to use a Fire Stick or an Apple Tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

20

0

BEST OF THE BESTT TV EVER LOVE IT

XBR X850D Series 16/12/2017 by blankito (USA)

This Tv is wonderful the sound the picture easy imput I can download app and games works fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

0

Not impressed

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/12/2017 by BigFatDad1968 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV about 6 to 8 months ago. Not impressed. At first, you would press the input button on the remote and it would take OVER 20 seconds for the menu to come up. It would lock up and I would have to unplug it and wait the extremely long time for it to boot. A firmware update fixed the input menu issue but apps frequently crash or the TV quits responding to anything regularly. I am powering it off (unplugging the power supply) at least twice a week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/12/2017

Hi BigFatDad1968, we apologize for the bad experience. You may consider following the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
1. You may update the application on the Google Play store: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/58747
2. You may also need to clear the data and cache of that specific application (this troubleshooting applies to all applications): https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail
Regards, _Bob

0

Great picture, but it needs rebooted often

75" class (74.5" diag) 27/11/2017 by Handsome Rob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this TV about a year. It is great when it is working correctly. Sometimes when I turn it on, the picture flickers, and I have to turn it off, and back on. Other times the sound bar goes out, and I have to unplug the TV and reboot it, kind of frustrating. But over all a good TV

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

11

0

Great Picture Quality

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/11/2017 by Xcv4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this TV for a year now and when it comes to picture quality, I don’t think it can be beat for the price range it is being sold at. I have absolutely no complaints with picture. I love the picture quality. However, the TV has been giving me lots of problems since the last update. Specifically not switching from Netflix to TV and not recognizing the HDMI inputs. I often struggle with TV not seeing my Sony Blueray Player resulting in having to unplug the TV from the wall and plugging back in. This causes the TV to do a clean reboot. After it comes back from a clean reboot, it will then decide to recognize a signal front the BD player. Most annoying. I don’t know why it’s doing that. Not sure if just mine or something that is wrong with the software inside the TV. It didn’t matter witch HDMI inputs I plugged into when it goes into it’s Bad moments. If you decide to get this TV, you may have to deal with my issue of TV not always recognizing the HDMI inputs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2017

Hi Xcv4, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You may consider the steps from this link to isolate the issue. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61396


Best regards,
-Erin

0

Nice screen, janky OS, voice search won't work

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice screen etc., but I'm really disappointed with the quality of the Android TV OS. The voice search feature is particularly hard to use. The remote is slow to respond a lot of the time, the TV can take ages to reboot, and even though I have a PhD in Computer Science I can't for the life of me get the voice search to work on the remote control - all updates are applied, I've combed the help center, unpaired and re-activated the remote/voice feature. I'm on the verge of returning the TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/11/2017

Hi rickschmoo, we are sorry to hear what happened. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. In relation to your concern, kindly refer to this article to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55282


Best regards,
-Erin

0

Nice screen, janky OS, voice search won't work

XBR X850D Series 24/11/2017  (USA)

Nice screen etc., but I'm really disappointed with the quality of the Android TV OS. The voice search feature is particularly hard to use. The remote is slow to respond a lot of the time, the TV can take ages to reboot, and even though I have a PhD in Computer Science I can't for the life of me get the voice search to work on the remote control - all updates are applied, I've combed the help center, unpaired and re-activated the remote/voice feature. I'm on the verge of returning the TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/11/2017

Hi rickschmoo, we are sorry to hear what happened. In relation to your concern, kindly refer to this article to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55282


Best regards,
-Erin

0

I Love sony

XBR X850D Series 23/11/2017 by Niaki (USA)

I have it and very very good,and very beatiful,show mkv and I am happy,,thank you SONY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Sony tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 17/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it for about 6 months now and it is absolutely stunning. After buying an LG, and 2 sharp 65 inch 4k tv's I finally settled on the Sony, and wasn't disappointed, 0 backlight bleed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Very good Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/11/2017 by Akimoko12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this thru Dell Advantage inline store. It’s was a perfect size fir my room. The pictures are great and sound is fine. But but the system upgrade the TV turn on but itself. At first I thought it’s just the remote control but its not. It turn on by itself several times. I tried resetting to original setting so far its not turning by itself. Now its the Wireless connection that require attention. The whole online apps require reset everytime you watch especially Netflix. I hope no more issues later.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Can’t use Bluetooth headphones with tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/11/2017 by Littlepitt75 (USA)

I purchased this tv since it advertised Bluetooth. After trying unsuccessfully to connect my Bluetooth headphones with this tv I discovered SONY made this model tv not include the A2DP Bluetooth technology thereby making it not possible to connect Bluetooth headphones to the tv. Sure I could buy a Bluetooth audio transmitter and connect it to the audio output jack of the tv, but I did NOT but this tv to have to do this with. Sony has disappointed me. Sony has lost me as a future customer.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Beautiful Color

75" class (74.5" diag) 14/11/2017 by SammyT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV on December 26, 2016. Replacing my 50" Sony TV. I bought it because I wanted a larger screen & of course 4K feature. The picture out of the box is stunning. the color is natural. I mostly watch Basketball and movies & of course youtube. Because of the clarity it is like you are in the game or you are at the movie theater.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HDMI Issues

XBR X850D Series 09/11/2017 by Neal1 (USA)

Bought TV last Black Friday. Worked fine for 11 months. Now HDMI not compatable with cable provider. We have tried replacing the cable box 3 times, and replaced HDMI circuit board to no avail.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2017

Hi Neal1, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. -Erin

0

Great Picture, nice features, not overly stable

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/11/2017 by Underdogdb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the picture on this screen, 4K detail is amazing and the colors are bright and vivid. The ability to add software to the android platform is also an excellent bonus feature, and I like the fact that the unit adheres to standards rather than being super proprietary. My only problem with the unit is that it's not overly stable. When I first got the unit I would be watching a movie and the screen would display "no signal detected, shutting down in 60 seconds". The countdown would continue even though the movie was clearly playing. So I disabled the "feature" that turns off the screen automatically when no signal was detected. Now my only gripe is that when I switch between inputs (AT&T UVerse and Xbox One) the unit frequently just displays a black screen as if it is receiving no input, I think this is likely the same problem that was causing the problem above, but that is pure speculation. I can usually switch it back and forth a few times and it will suddenly recognize the video stream and begin displaying, but sometimes I have to fully reboot the TV (not simply turning it off and on, but hard rebooting the Android platform. Once I do that, it will always recognize the video signal on reboot. I regularly check for updates in the hopes that a patch will come down that will correct this issue as quite frankly this is all that's standing in the way of a five star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor picture quality

XBR X850D Series 04/11/2017 by asharpe225 (USA)

I bought this TV from a box store April 2017 and I am not happy with this picture at all. I had been researching a 65" TV for my Home Theater. I wanted a Sony because it is suppose to have one of the best pictures and great motion. The motion is the only thing that is good about this TV. My TV has an extremely bad light that beams up from the bottom of the screen as seen in the picture. I have called Sony and they informed me that the "light bleed" is exceptable. I don't think so.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/11/2017

Hi asharpe225, We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience with this TV. You can check the information and troubleshooting steps from these link.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/74377
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55005
Regards, -Jay

0

Sony - X850D 4K HDR with Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/11/2017 by KEVIN123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT 6 MOS AGO, NOW HAVING ISSUES CONNECTING TO HDMI PORTS. HAD TO GO THROUGH 1HR PHONE CALL 10/29/17 TO TROUBLESHOOT AND RESOLVE ISSUE (RESET FACTORY SETTINGS). HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY 11/2/17 AND HAD TO DO SIMPLE POWER RESTART. CALLING INTO TECH SUPPORT DIFFICULT BECAUSE CONNECTION OVER PHONE (FROM LANDLINE) IS TERRIBLE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I KNOW THERE ARE BEST BUT "SONY" IS SONY!

XBR X850D Series 30/10/2017 by GEMTIAN (USA)

QUALITY , CUSTOMER SUPPORT , AND ONE OF THE BEST IN OVER ALL "SONY" MY ONLY COMPLAIN IS THE REMOTE CONTROL IS COMPLICATE TO TYPE, AND AT NIGHT MAKE NOISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just a fantastic picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 29/10/2017 by scruff08 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic picture quality. Normally I wear glasses to watch TV, but I don't need them with this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good 4k Tv but flawed

XBR X850D Series 24/10/2017 by Ruff (USA)

Great color accuracy with 4k content an 720/1080p content. Sounds is very decent, most of the time I have no need to turn on surround sound system. Lots of inputs to wire almost everything an there tuck away behind the TV , which is awesome an it's so hard to find TV's with 4 HDMI inputs. HDR picture is very dark an color suffers tremendously when using this picture mode to watch 4k content , so I usually have to use standard mode , after less than 1 yes of use my UI is constantly freezing an my TV resets at least 5x weekly.... My TV an apps are all up to date by the way. Tons of apps to use but 4k content again looks terrible in HDR viewing mode. I really want to switch to a different model because I'm disappointed in Sony . If other models have similar issues I'm seriously considering selling my 850D an switching to Samsung.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Tv ever

55" class (54.6" diag) 22/10/2017 by Malik14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a while ago but all my PS4 Pro game titles look amazing on it. I am also taking advantage of the 4K HDR Netflix content. This is a feature packed Tv and looks and sounds amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glitchy, poorly executed, UI a disaster.

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/10/2017 by buick301 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the money, I expected a whole lot more. The UI is trouble. Sometimes it accepts my commands, sometimes it doesn't. In several instances, I have had to pull the power plug to reset the TV in order to get control back. The remote has also become unresponsive several times. Applications seem haphazardly strewn across multiple "feeds" on the home screen. It is not user friendly. The picture quality is okay but only with tweaks. You have to turn off all kinds of automatic picture controls or else the picture becomes washed out in certian conditions. One of the auto picture features, I forget which, wreaks havoc on the picture when closed captioning is selected. Every time closed caption text appears on the screen the entire image becomes brighter and then darker as the closed captioning goes by. The latest issue is the set will turn itself on after you turn it off. I feel like the remote is repeating power toggle requests for some reason because if I cover the ir LED after I request a power off, this doesn't happen. So far this set is much more trouble than I thought Sony was going to bring me.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/10/2017

We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you,buick301. We would like to let you know that your feedback matters to us because it helps to improve the performance and quality of our products. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Nice tv

75" class (74.5" diag) 16/10/2017 by Vic2day (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lacks customization fratures with all apps and Android settings

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2017

Hi Vic2day, we thank you for taking your time to let us know your feedback about the TV. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be a big help in improving the performance and quality of our products.

-Erin

0

Sony tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/10/2017 by Pebbles124345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always shots off randomly because it freezes. Has ok picture quality and sounds ok. Would recommend a lg tv over Sony

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2017

Hi Pebbles124345, we are sorry for the bad experience. If the TV shuts off randomly, we recommend isolating the issue by following the guidelines from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42970.

Please note that the TV software must be up to date for best performance.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40952.


Regards,
-Erin

0

beautiful picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/10/2017 by C DOG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the quality of the picture and features are nice. My only concern is sound quality is definitely low. I expected a better sound considering the sony brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost a great TV

XBR X850D Series 04/10/2017 by FajS (USA)

I bought this several months ago. Picture is fantastic, sound is very good, BUT... I have 50MBPS cable internet, and the TV is hardwired into the network, even so, quite often, it tells me that it needs an internet connection to connect to Netflix. Netflix will randomly stop working, and I have to unplug the TV and let the software reset. Watching Amazon TV, the program will freeze while it tries to adjust volume. Often enough to really be annoying, it will stop working while watching TV, or playing a game on the PS4 connected to this TV, and I have to unplug the TV, wait for it to run through set up again, and then, most times, it will work for at least a day or 2 before it happens again. Sad, because I have had only Sony TV's for decades, and I have a Sony sound system that integrates with the TV remove (and vice-versa).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi FajS, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

Fantastic Picture, Questionable Support Staff

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/10/2017 by Norris575 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought this Android based Sony TV in December, and it was so good that she bought me the SECOND TV in August for the bedroom. Now that is a 55" bedroom MEDIA CENTER. With this TV you can watch television from around the world. Internet television is a whole new world and is now at your fingertips. If you can add an "APP" to a telephone, you will be able to set up this TV for services around the world. From Ireland, Britian, Germany, well you name it and you will be able to watch it for a small subscription fee, and I do mean small. With the 4K, your picture is fantastic, even while using the internet for your services. Also you will find Netflix, Hulu and about 1500 more App's that you will be able to use. The single draw back is, you cannot ask SONY for help on these. I have called numerous times and the agents have either no knowledge of how they work, or they have been told to keep it quiet. The owner's manual, on line or internal is the same way, you are going to need U-TUBE for your education. However, there are lots of videos to guide you, just don't stay with the Sony name when searching, use the key word of Android and you will be just fine. Make sure to shop around and you will enjoy this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great tv

75" class (74.5" diag) 29/09/2017 by Bigjim 408 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thi tv about 4moth ago still trying to figure it out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid picture. Great features. Ho-hum Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/09/2017 by WhyLieDude1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this T.V. in December of 2016. The 4K truly stands out when compared to a 1080p picture. The amount of control you have over the fine tooting of the picture is fantastic. The only downfall of the TV is that the Android feature is subpar. I have a hard time streaming games and any other kind of media with Android TV feature otherwise the Sony television is fantastic and a must-buy for anybody looking for a cheap 4K television

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good tv but the apps are limited not very good

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it in January like but like I mentioned the apps are limited and not vary appealing. Tried to go to google play could not download new apps. Stuck with the ones installed on tv, not good

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SONY XBR65X850D

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/09/2017 by ROBCENTRAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS TV 5 MONTHS AGO. GREAT PICTURE BUT NOW IT WONT TURN ON. ONLY 5 MONTHS OLD. 3-5 DAYS BEFORE SONT WILL HAVE SOMEONE CALL ME. AAARRRGGGGHHH!!!!!SEND ME A NEW ONE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi ROBCENTRAL, we are sorry to hear that the TV is not turning on. let's isolate the issue by following the steps from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38329. Best regards, -Erin

0

Motion blurring watching football

XBR X850D Series 10/09/2017 by justin405 (USA)

Great true cinema experience when watching movies, but watching live action sports creates issues with motion blurring or ghosting. The smooth setting doesnt seem to do the trick either. Anybody had any luck?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Not bad when the HDMI works.

XBR X850D Series 03/09/2017 by soccerglue (USA)

I love the picture on this TV but for some reason the sound on HDMI 1 goes out from time to time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2017

Hello, soccerglue, We are sorry to hear about the bad experience right there. Kindly check if the TV has the latest software, Also, you may consider performing the steps given on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38453.
Regards, _Bob

0

great product

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/08/2017 by obwan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this TV. Picture is bright and clear. The value for the price cannot be beat

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent overall, but Android apps/search lacking

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/08/2017 by NobodyInParticular (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV has a great picture and generally good functionality. Even reproducing standard 1080p is far superior to what I experienced with my older HD Panasonic. I found though that the Smart TV features are lacking as they are so Google specific, not having the search features of a normal Roku, and some of the apps are not as updated under Android as I would have liked as compared to a Roku (having one, I use it instead of many of the Smart TV features). Also, the newer Roku up-samples all content to match the 4K capability of this TV, making for a better streaming experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Wonderful

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/08/2017 by RichH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I compared Sony with Samsung for my 4k TV. Sony's provided a natural color to the images and Samsung was just over processed. Both are good choices however the Sony edged out Samsung for my viewing. The Anroid feature works flawlessly with no issues. I like the fact that Sony continues to update the product via software updates. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony never disappoints

55" class (54.6" diag) 25/08/2017 by ELSAGIRL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very please with this TV. Sony never disappoints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just as expected

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by sam5454 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had numerous Sony Tvs over the years with great results. Our newest one is just wonderful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Tv HDR

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year for xmas it's great product 4K experience very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great except for light bleed

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by Bf5502 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome tv but it has terrible light bleed on the edges and corners. Too bad it has this issue, otherwise it would be a 5 star product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2017

Hi Bf5502, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We'll make sure this reaches the team for investigation.

0

Complete TV. COMES WITH MORE FEATURES

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/08/2017 by TampaGR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television over a month ago after I compared all the brands and all the TVs. This was by far the best value but the most features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SAY "NO" TO ANDROID

XBR X850D Series 23/08/2017 by Bizzee1 (USA)

This TV has a beautiful picture. Sound is OK though I use a sound bar and sub-woofer with it. My problem is that it is CONSTANTLY crashing. TV shuts off and reboots while watching it. Apps close randomly - even when you're not using them. Another TERRIBLE flaw with this TV is that you have to go through several steps to set the "sleep timer". Generally there is a button or 1 step to set on the remote control, however, with this TV you have to stop watching the TV, go to settings and set the sleep timer from there - a bit inconvenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2017

Hi, Bizzee1, We're sorry for the inconvenience and for this bad experience of yours. Let us turn this to a good one. You may check the link below on how to get rid of those error messages that you've encountered:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/76165.
Regards, _Bob

0

Needs Help

XBR X850D Series 16/08/2017 by wild0110 (USA)

Does Not work with Alexa as previously advertised. Only the 750 does. Sony is promising to update these but it has yet to happen... I am patient but slowly losing respect for Sony as time passes. Probably will sell on Craigslist and buy a Samsung at the end of summer is it's not updated yet...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2017

Hi wild0110, we regret that the TV failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Terrible light bleed !

XBR X850D Series 08/08/2017 by Dbarb (USA)

I bought this a couple months back and while I think the picture is great the black light bleed is terrible. When the closed caption is on and the little white words pop up the whole screen gets brighter ! Really annoying. Also on a straight black screen with a title name you can see light spots ! Also called sony and they claim this is normal instead of apologizing and trying to fix the situation. I have pictures but it won't let me post

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV / Terrible Manual

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by GRooks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great screen and features, however the manual is a generic manual to cover several models, i have extra parts that aren't identified in any of the paperwork. they're very brief on instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0