71

3.9 based on 71 customer reviews

35
13
10
5
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Picture, Great Price, Great Value

xbr65x850g 24/07/2019 by Ken11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the 65X850 via Costco and have been very happy with it. I will say that i had to purchase a brand new wall hanging unit (not cheap)... because of lack of flexibility in the 4 screws Sony provides on the back to hang the unit. I think Sony could have easily added 2 more bolt holes to provide a little more mounting flexibility and options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Garbage

xbr65x850g 12/12/2019 by CW2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful picture, seem very niche. BUT, TV stopped working with less than 8 hours of use. TV would power on, but only black screen, nothing should show up, powered on and off a dozen times. No settings, volume, etc. Did not have time to mess with for a couple of days, tried one more time and it started working again. Will be returning to store. Cost too much not to trust the reliability.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

72 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Not Reliable

xbr55x850g 27/01/2020 by Rich41 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv to replace an old Sony Bravia that I had purchased many years ago and enjoyed without issue. I was expecting the same quality and performance but in a much newer model. Unfortunately, my wife and I have experienced many issues with the tv in a short amount of time. We've experienced the tv cycling between powering down and powering up on it's own and multiple times during a single program. In addition, the unit will occasionally power on without volume and it needs to be manually reset. Netflix can only be accessed through the cable boxes voice feature as the Netflix button from the home screen or remote will only bring you to a permanent black loading screen. And most recently the screencast feature stopped working. I would like to return this lemon and buy a different brand that is more reliable.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beware of Apps problem

xbr65x850g 24/01/2020 by Barac Obama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good 4K UHD Tv. The three main apps I use all lost sound when using external AVR sound system. If you use only the internal speakers then you’ll be fine. I found it quite disappointing Sony has been aware of this problem for and a long time and still has not resolved it. This I returned the Tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hi, Barac Obama6019150352!

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony StoreUsername:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great picture, Android TV is lacking

85" class (84.6" diag) 24/01/2020 by khickson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful picture. That's one of my favorite things about the tv besides the size. However, the smart functionality often leaves something to be desired. My remote randomly quit working as a universal remote for my cable box and would not let me set it back up, the apps randomly freeze or crash or just don't load at all. There's also instances where the app randomly will pay audio but no picture then you have to go and "force stop" the tv and relaunch the app. The audio is average but most tv's don't have great speakers by default so that wasn't a concern for me honestly. When the tv works it's great and I really enjoy it. The android tv experience has so much potential and is so nice to not have to rely on a apple tv or some other smart device for that experience. However, it isn't as stable as some of the smart devices I have used. It can be so frustrating at times just to get basic things to work. The manual and documentation on all of this is very slim as well. It's brings this down from a 5 star tv to a 3 star for me just because I feel it is so core to the functionality of the tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hi, khickson6019151367!

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Review Sony TV.

xbr65x850g 21/01/2020 by Bernman402 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am disappointed that the TV does not have blue tooth.if I did not have it mounted on the wall I would return it. How can a $1,000 tv not have blue tooth. I cannot use blue tooth speakers or headphones I purchased. Man at Costco told me it had it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/01/2020

Hi, Bernman402!

The 850G has Bluetooth and will support certain Sony Bluetooth devices. Other Bluetooth devices that support A2DP may work with your TV. However, we don't guarantee its operation. You may refer to this link for more information:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-65x850g/articles/00159290

~Ralph

0

Awesome TV Sony XBR-75x850G

xbr75x850g 20/01/2020 by DEA1967 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased The Sony XBR-75x800 and was very disappointed. I returned it and purchased The Sony XBR-75X850G It was amazing the difference was night and day. Absolutely love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I’m still learning how to use

xbr65x850g 20/01/2020 by Jamc04 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I change my X850D 55” Sony to X850G 65” I hope I don’t get blind

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good TV With Useful Features

xbr65x850g 20/01/2020 by LoyalForever (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV because it has a good picture and good internal speakers. I did not want to add a soundbar or other audio system to the TV. The sound is excellent and no need to add a separate sound system. The TV uses Android TV as it’s smart tv system. This is better than a proprietary system and has good app availability (however the Apple TV app is not yet available). An unexpected benefit - the TV is Airplay 2 compatible, which allows you to mirror your iOS device screens to the TV over WiFi. Only downside is that remote is somewhat finicky and has to be re-paired for the Bluetooth signal.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture, remote doesn't control other equip

xbr55x850g 19/01/2020 by Tom6228 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a Christmas gift for the family. It has a great picture. I like the fact that Netflix, Amazon Prime, YouTube, PBS etc. can be controlled by the TV seamlessly. The 4k on these apps is great! I was disappointed it the remote controls operation of the other devices on my home theater. Example, I have a Sony Blu-Ray player. This is plugged into my Denon Receiver. The remote will control most of the features of the Blu-ray player, but it will not start the video from the main menu screen? Non of the remote keys will send an enter to start movie? This means I can use the Sony remote while I watch the movie, but the remote control for the player has to be available to start the movie? Not very convenient! Other than the operation of the remote I am satisfied with my purchase. I took one star away for this shortcoming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Restart tv

85" class (84.6" diag) 19/01/2020 by Montsee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have to restart my tv most of the time due to apps not working and it’s only on the tv , it’s bothering to be having to do restart everytime.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/01/2020

Hello, Montsee!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Not so great tv

85" class (84.6" diag) 14/01/2020 by Jack15983 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not happy with the picture quality nor the refresh rate., pictures seems to be stuck in a fast paced video

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/01/2020

Hi, Jack15983ib5iw3v4x19wmt4lr8gx7mxb9!

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. For more details, you can check the link below on how to Adjuts Picture Setting on your Android TV:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-85x850g/articles/00190409

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Nice picture

xbr55x850g 12/01/2020 by Maya 11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought after Black Friday. TV is high quality, but does have to be reset sometimes . Like no picture or sometimes no sound. Had to just remove from power 10 seconds and reset it self. Not sure if TV . Internet or cable box, but TV always comes back on

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, Maya 11!

That's definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please try following the steps on the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00153674
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00023579

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great buy

xbr65x850g 11/01/2020 by New Jersey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price, love it. So easy to set up. Love Sony TVs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Why did I wait so long??

xbr65x850g 05/01/2020 by Gatorboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased our new Sony TV on the Saturday after Black Friday. It is a 65 inch smart TV with a lot built it. The picture is amazing along with all the apps built in. It is wonderful. Our previous TV was a Mitsubishi 55 inch rear projection TV. It lasted 17 years. It still works but the Sony's price was too good to pass up. Now we are amazed we waited so long to get a new TV. Love the new Sony. Are enjoying all the new features. You wont be disappointed!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
09/01/2020

Hello, Gatorboy!

Awesome! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

great quality tv

85" class (84.6" diag) 03/01/2020 by BhanuBommakanti (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I took this TV last month from Costco , replaced with my Bravia 55" TV purchased in 2012 still working great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Another Excellent Sony TV

xbr65x850g 03/01/2020 by louie1487 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from an XBR65X850B to this. I had been waiting on an Android TV with and good processor. This TV is fast, turns on quickly, works just fine with my aging STRDN1080 receiver using HDMI arc connection. 4K content from Prime and Netflix are phenomenally better then my old 850G. TV is also much lighter. I can't think of one negative comment. Google Assistant and Alexa work flawlessly. You can even have your TV turn on in a routine if you set one up with Google Assistant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/01/2020

Hi, louie1487!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Awesome TV when watching, frustrating after update

xbr55x850g 02/01/2020 by Jkui5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first big TV purchase and the world of TVs have changed. The build quality and picture is great and i appreciate the little things such as the amount of HDMI ports, cable management in the feet of the TV, small physical border around the screen, etc. However, things became very frustrating after a week of having the TV. At first, i connected my TV to the internet via WiFi so i can watch Youtube, my online subscriptions, etc. I'll admit, my WiFi router at the time was pretty old and needed updating however my TV was able to connect to it without any trouble without any lag or buffering issues when watching internet videos. That all changed after the TV did an automatic update. The TV's internet connection was extremely slow and at times, couldn't connect to the internet despite being connected to the WiFi. Checked all of my other devices at home and no issues. Internet was fine, it was just the TV. Restarted the WiFi router, did a factory reset of the TV. No success with either. Decided to get a new router with a powerful range with dual band, however the TV still had the issues mentioned above. Finally connected the TV via ethernet cable and that did the trick, but it defeats my purpose for trying to have a wireless setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
07/01/2020

Hello, Jkui5!

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Beautiful Picture

xbr65x850g 02/01/2020 by MIKEY0545 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my Sony up on the wall and setup in less than 40 minutes! Really satisfied with the picture quality and all the built in program apps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Poor black levels, dirty screen effect at night.

xbr65x850g 01/01/2020 by Nick993 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at Costco after about 6 months I’ve noticed dark scenes are hard to make out regardless of adjustments. Viewing angles are poor unless you’re right in middle. The opposite side that you’re watching from has a dirty screen making things hard to make out. Sony upper management has been contacted and has decided that it’s normal operation. My hx800 from 2010 has better screen quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2020

Hi, Nick993!

So sorry to hear about what happened. We'd like to know more from you. Please drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Case Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Good TV But Less Functionality

xbr65x850g 31/12/2019 by Meycro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV a month ago and the picture appears to be fine. I have been a Bravia fan for several years. I completed the installation and proceeded to connect the blue tooth headset I had attached to my previous Bravia. I use the headset to allow me to listen in private when my wife is sleeping. Or to give me a little more volume due to my hearing issues. Unfortunately the headset connection is different than prior model and I could not get the volume control to be independent of the TV volume control. I had a support rep from Sony on the phone for over an hour, allowing her to take control of the TV remotely via the internet to try and find the proper control settings to make this happen. Finally I had to stop due to an appointment I had. The support rep was very nice and apologetic and sent me an email with some documentation describing settings that might help. They did not help.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi, Meycro!

I’m so sorry that you are having an issue with your TV. Please allow us to help you and drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.comUsername:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great picture, inadequate speakers

xbr55x850g 31/12/2019 by kennykVA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I value true skin tones and smooth motion and this set has both. But it is disappointing that a tv of this calibre has such poor sound. I had been using an old Bose sound system on my older tv to provide better sound and I thought that I could hook it up to my new tv, but soon discovered that it was obsolete because the new tv only has an optical audio out connection, while my old sound system only had RCA plug connections. It would have been nice if Sony had responded to my inquiries about workaround solutions for that problem (which I found on my own) or if they had addressed it in the owners' manual or on their website.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/01/2020

Hello, kennykVA!

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will surely take note of your feedback and use it to improve our products and services.

You may also find the information below helpful to your concern:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00023605?model=XBR-55X850G&category=televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support




0

Fantastic Product.....when it works.

85" class (84.6" diag) 30/12/2019 by VeroLui (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought it Dec. 1, 2019 because of sale. Returned it Dec. 26th because it stopped working. We got the exact same TV because we really believe in SONY products, and have had them for years. Hopefully, this one won't give us any trouble!! First no picture but sound, then no sound, no picture! Tried everything on website, and everywhere I could find ideas to no avail. First one JUST A LEMON, as can happen with ALL electronics. If it happens again....YIKES hope not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/01/2020

Hi, VeroLuiaruai48gu4e9oheq3hy35eoy8!

Well, that's not the kind of experience we wanted to hear. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. In this case, please follow the troubleshooting steps from the link below to isolate this issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00019675

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Excellent Television

85" class (84.6" diag) 29/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Biggest Screen I have ever seen! Real life picture! Great for watching football!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Awesome

85" class (84.6" diag) 28/12/2019 by Mwsubway (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome tv experience! I came from an aged Mitsubishi 80 inch TV to this and it is outstanding !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blah blah blah

XBR X850G Series 28/12/2019 by Pootis (USA)

So not impressed - wish I had bought a Samsung blah blah

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/01/2020

Hi, Pootis!

I'm sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about your concern and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great design and software.

xbr55x850g 26/12/2019 by Hashimoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with my tv. Excellent picture quality and android software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some problems

xbr75x850g 25/12/2019 by MJ1964 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My tv keeps going off the internet connection! It says, “ WiFi not connected to the internet!” Then the voice activation doesn’t work!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony 65

xbr65x850g 25/12/2019 by GDS8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my new Sony 65 inch for a month now and it is excellent. I enjoy the bright colors in the picture. The sound produced without a sound bar is great. I would recommend Sony products to family and friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sharp picture

xbr65x850g 20/12/2019 by Rivercity (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with the features but having trouble getting the tv remote to change the shaw cable channels

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture, easy to navigate inputs and Apps.

xbr75x850g 19/12/2019 by NapaMark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with all the features and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is a great tv!

xbr55x850g 17/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this about a month ago after we had purchased another brand and after two weeks it quit working so we took it back to the store. We then purchased this Sony and have been very happy with the picture and the features. It is easy to use and to view our channels and movies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great TV and what a picture.

xbr75x850g 17/12/2019 by DarrylDuane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this sony tv and the colors are very bright. I also love the android operating system, it is way better than Samsungs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture, terrible android TV implementation

XBR X850G Series 16/12/2019 by pklein3 (USA)

Garbage review system says I have profanity in my review, so can't post here. Nice censorship Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2019

Hi, pklein379fxn3kspfq6my8sgfec94eb3!

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great!

xbr75x850g 14/12/2019 by Desertjime (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No problems, seems like an excellent TV! Good apps too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

xbr55x850g 13/12/2019 by Curly headed kid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this TV about a month ago and we love it. We connected it to a small Bose sound bar that sits in front. Both video and audio are great. I’ve only had Sony TVs for about 35 years. They never die.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

xbr55x850g 12/12/2019 by Big Couch Potato (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couple problems. Turn on one day no picture just black screen. Turned off and unpluged restarted and has been OK since. My Alexa is hard of hearing and doesn't understand English very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Garbage

xbr65x850g 12/12/2019 by CW2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful picture, seem very niche. BUT, TV stopped working with less than 8 hours of use. TV would power on, but only black screen, nothing should show up, powered on and off a dozen times. No settings, volume, etc. Did not have time to mess with for a couple of days, tried one more time and it started working again. Will be returning to store. Cost too much not to trust the reliability.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2019

Hi, CW2019!

We are sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with your Sony TV. If you still have the unit and experience the same issue again, we suggest visiting this link for troubleshooting steps: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00153674. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Great TV! Nicer picture than S.........

XBR X850G Series 12/12/2019 by Philfromatlanta (USA)

This is a great theater TV. It replaces my 75inch Sony which, unfortunately failed (Geek Squad replaced power supply to no avail.) 2 years and 3 months after purchase. But the 75inch had a great picture as does 85inch. I returned my 82inch. S...... a few days after I bought it because I was spoiled by the quality of the Sony picture. I also bought a 5 year extended warranty. Sorry Sony... a great TV, but it should have lasted longer. But the picture is just too nice to buy another brand!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great 85” 4k tv value

XBR X850G Series 04/12/2019 by shop per (USA)

great pic....but it took lots of settings tweaking to get it “just right” very bright pic....(even say = it can be too bright, set at level 2) bad pic view from side angles....it fades out still waiting for firmware update for Airplay2 function tv price is dropping...now less than $2k, an even better value (Dec 2019)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Does not disappoint !

xbr65x850g 30/11/2019 by John123s (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent upscaling , features and peace of mind in the Sony brand. The market is flooded with entry level televisions but it comes down to something that dazzles the eye ,not necessarily specs and this set is a beast of a performer for the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Features and Picture

XBR X850G Series 30/11/2019 by Guero2961 (USA)

I love this TV, the Features and Picture are great, works great with wifi no buffering. another thing I like is that it does not have the Soap Opera Effect. the tv can be viewed from any angles. Sony no Baloney.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

WiFi connection

85" class (84.6" diag) 29/11/2019 by smitty94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Smart TV has lost connection with Wifi three times since purchased. I've has to reset TV and re-enter all the external apts to reset. Is there a fix other than erasing all entries ?

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/12/2019

Hi, smitty94dttuxliy46vyeeda791eijteu!

We're sorry to hear about what happened. In this case, please perform network diagnosis to troubleshoot internet connection: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00184280

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great picture

xbr75x850g 27/11/2019 by Sony850 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Vizio and had to return it, so glad we did Sony is much better TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Poor manuals

xbr65x850g 24/11/2019 by none76qbc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Manuals are OK for setting up, but nothing (or not easily found) for setup menus and troubleshooting

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/11/2019

Hi, none76qbc!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. For setting up the menu and for troubleshooting guide, please refer to the link below:

https://helpguide.sony.net/tv/gusltn2/v1/en-003/index.html

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Sam

0

Great TV...

xbr55x850g 19/11/2019 by SouthWestFreedom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago. My first hope is that this one lasts longer than my last Sony 55". So far so good...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great picture

85" class (84.6" diag) 18/11/2019 by Jdegraft (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the picture quality. I am noticing more details that never drew my attention with my old tv

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Expected more

xbr55x850g 12/11/2019 by Imua7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice picture, energy efficient. Sound mediocre despite trying to adjust equalizer etc. Volume bar and remote has to be aimed to bottom of this TV or cannot adjust (our sofa arm blocks spot so we must stand up and angle remote to change volume). No time or channel displayed. TV has one yr limited warranty...bought Costco warranty plan. Hope This Sony TV lasts longer than the warranty? Might need to buy a surround sound system?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Got a Lemon

85" class (84.6" diag) 01/11/2019 by AvgJonDoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had issues with connectivity, TV shutting off in the middle of watching a DVR program,had to have it replaced, keeping my fingers crossed on this one.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
02/11/2019

Hello, AvgJonDoe!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Was hoping for more

85" class (84.6" diag) 28/10/2019 by Jander (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the picture 70% of the time, but dark scenes are terrible

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/10/2019

Hi, Jander6014691562!

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. In this case, you can check the Picture Setting on your Android TV. Please check the link below for your reference:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-85x850g/articles/00190409

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great Picturs

85" class (84.6" diag) 28/10/2019 by RichardRK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago Great Picture Smart features are easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, RichardRK6012410480!

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing SONY!

0

Good TV

xbr55x850g 22/10/2019 by JPN33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an older TV that was having picture problems. First of all We had to buy a center stand that mounted on the wall mounting on the back to accommodate our existing tv stand in the space available. Also, had to buy a digital to analog converter to accommodate our older existing Bose sound system that we wanted to continue to use verses living with the built in speakers or buying a new sound bar or whatever. It took a little while to figure out how to set up and use the sound convertor. Since getting it set up with the above we have been very satisfied with the performance of the TV. We have no way explored the many capabilities of this TV set.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi, JPN33!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl


0

Documentation is BAD Particularly as to Setup

xbr55x850g 19/10/2019 by Unhappy99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice Product...when it Works. The problem is that the technical documentation is nearly non-existent. What there is of it is poor and insufficient to support setup and operation. For instance, there are no available programming codes to support setup of a remote control. The automated setup routines don't work so you end up with a complex computer controlled box that you have to turn on or off with a switch on the back...like a very expensive light bulb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/10/2019

Hi, Unhappy99lruct5fgadkmbereis7lac8ts!

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused. The power reset is the initial troubleshooting in all electronic devices. You can view the manuals, operating instructions, and troubleshooting steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g


0

Excellent picture and great features

xbr55x850g 17/10/2019 by Brillo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't believe how good the picture is and colors are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2019

Hi, Brillo2!

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your new Sony Bravia TV. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Worst Tv

XBR X850G Series 14/10/2019  (USA)

Sony X8500G 65" 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV Worst tv i have ever had, purchased in Aug died after 1 month had a replacement yesterday to find another faulty out of box failure. Never had a Sony TV, always Samsung or LG. What happened to the quality of Sony????

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hi, Frankmaca!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Erin

0

Very disapponted

xbr65x850g 05/10/2019 by angry user (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it only a month ago I alredy looking for support. Both Netflix and Prime apps just stopped working (other apps like youtube, smitsonian are working).

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2019

Hello, There!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the steps below to fix the issue.

Netflix: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00094005
Prime: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00145513

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

Outstanding Picture

XBR X850G Series 24/09/2019 by SCLL (USA)

Love the picture, Built in Cromecast! OTA guild is great for cord cutters. Speakers are very disappointing. Livable after changing the equalizer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
25/09/2019

Hello, SCLL!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Very nice TV

xbr65x850g 20/09/2019 by cordcutter77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always bought Sony TVs. It's more expensive but I know the overall quality is there. So far, this TV is awesome. No complaints. I did buy an inexpensive soundbar because the sound is not great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2019

Hi, cordcutter77!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Disappointing experience

XBR X850G Series 06/09/2019 by Jake68 (USA)

The product just doesn't work when you want it to. I'll forgive technology for a hiccup from time to time, but the user experience is poor, and I've had to to reset the tv multiple times. Basic functions like adjusting the volume or changing the volume are always frustrating 100% of time. The app usage and new interface is nicer but it freezes, lags, casting sometimes works. I've done the diligence on my wireless, internet provider and the faults with this tv are pretty clear. I've had the product for 9 months now and I've given it a fair shot, just a disappointing experience. I would trade off features for a product that worked when i want it to.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
10/09/2019

Hello, Jake68!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with your TV. Please make sure that the Software of this TV is updated, you can visit the link below for the instructions on how to update the TV:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00028577

Happy to help!

0

Great TV would like a few more HDMI ports

xbr55x850g 04/09/2019 by Steve9999999999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy overall will continue to buy Sony electronics

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, Steve9999999999!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

All I wanted!

85" class (84.6" diag) 25/08/2019 by Lopezeto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Picture, super contrast and brightness with excellent separation of colors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2019

Hi, Lopezeto!

We're thrilled to know that you like the picture quality of the TV! Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback!

Regards,
Sam

0

Fantastic picture

xbr75x850g 19/08/2019 by Tess53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a birthday gift that I have tremendously enjoyed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, Tess53!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Fantastic Picture!

75" class (74.5" diag) 12/08/2019 by Amscot56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This fine product is big and beautiful. We couldn't be happier with our latest great television from Sony. Color is vibrant, rendering a full palette of hues with natural finesse. Contrast and vibrance are impressive but don't come at the sacrifice of detail in darks or lights. We are also impressed with the quality of the packaging down to the last detail. Every consideration has been taken to deliver a perfect product in perfect condition.Thanks Sony, once again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, Amscot56!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Awesome Picture

XBR X850G Series 08/08/2019 by Torgy (USA)

Love the picture and really love the android TV......but my inputs don't work and the sony support gave me an article to read thats it. Super disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2019

Hi, Torgy!

We are sorry to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Case Number:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

Regards,

0

My first Sony and first Android set

XBR X850G Series 25/07/2019 by 1944ret (USA)

It replaced a Samsung 65 QlED series 9, it had a un- repairable shorting out problem. I returned it at Costco and was told about the Sony X850G 65", from the moment it was hung on the wall in the Bedroom, it has been perfect, and getting used to the Android system has been fine. Purchasing your Model X890G that will be replacing my Samsung QLED 8F- 2018 model,from the Living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Picture, Great Price, Great Value

xbr65x850g 24/07/2019 by Ken11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the 65X850 via Costco and have been very happy with it. I will say that i had to purchase a brand new wall hanging unit (not cheap)... because of lack of flexibility in the 4 screws Sony provides on the back to hang the unit. I think Sony could have easily added 2 more bolt holes to provide a little more mounting flexibility and options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features and picture quality

85" class (84.6" diag) 22/07/2019 by Timex2003 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago I really like the tv but was disappointed with the fact that the tv software was glitchy and had to reset it a few times and the software is up to date but over all the tv is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NICE PICTURE

85" class (84.6" diag) 19/07/2019 by Moose123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it over a month ago and it is so nice and clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replaced within the day!

85" class (84.6" diag) 17/07/2019 by Nccap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the tv roughly 2 months ago. Tv looked great when I got it home. Long story short, the remote Diddnt work. Had to go through Sony. First replacement arrived 1 week later and that one was cracked . Second replacement arrived another week and a half later. This is my first week with it on the wall for the whole time I’ve owned it. Yes, picture is amazing, and the remote works... when it wants to. Luckily I bought the 3 year extended warranty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/07/2019

Hello, Nccap!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00032635

0

Great picture!

xbr55x850g 14/07/2019 by Pjbo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony tv has a beautiful picture. I am satisfied with all of its features . Easy setup. Sony products are dependable .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Freezes screen goes black

XBR X850G Series 21/05/2019 by Beachlife10 (USA)

We have had this tv less than a month from the day we bought it there has been a problem with the tv freezing and going black at least every 5 minutes of not more often.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/05/2019


Hi Beachlife10,

I understand that your XBR-55X850G is having issues with the freezing issue. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00167132

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00147463

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent Picture

XBR X850G Series 15/05/2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

This was my very first 4K TV. I was used to a 5 year old Sony 1080p but the 4K was way better in all aspects. In fact everything was better. Especially the picture and the internet. Easy to set-up, and easy to use. There is a small learning curve to be expected. I use this with a Sony 4k DVD player and a Sony Home Theater Receiver with 4K pass through. Everything works seamlessly. The only flaw is the sound but what do you expect from small speakers. I have a 7.1 surround sound system to make up for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Sound Synch Problems

xbr55x850g 05/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Picture. Hooked up to my Sony BDV T10 DVR/Sound System using optical audio cable. Sound worked the first few days. Now the sound will not synch. I have changed all combinations of sound settings. When turned on, initially synched but very quickly degrades. Checked all upgrades for devices. Up to date. Makes TV unwatchable. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

Response From Sony Social Support
07/05/2019

Hi Bill,

We're sorry to hear that you have issues with your SONY products. You can adjust the delay of your sound system to sync on your TV permanently. Please check the link below for the steps. (Refer to page 42):

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4147/41472291M.pdf

You may also check the delay on the TV side by following the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-65x850g/articles/00026069

Hope this helps.
Regards,
Earl

0

OUTSTANDING LED TV!

85" class (84.6" diag) 27/04/2019 by Sconian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The XBR-85X850G contains a new and updated processor making the Android menu system very fast. Picture quality is top tier for this models intended design(Directly in front viewing with moderate indirect light sources). Contrast and color settings are dynamic out of the box. Hire a competent calibrator for greater color accuracy. Audio quality is good in the middle and high ranges. However, as with all flat panel televisions, its low frequency response is lacking depth at higher volumes. This issue is easily rectified with a sound bar and a stand alone bass reflex speaker. Longevity is the unknown factor as with all new models. And is relative based on care, use, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

1