18

4.1 based on 18 customer reviews

12
2
0
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Picture, Great Price, Great Value

xbr65x850g 24/07/2019 by Ken11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the 65X850 via Costco and have been very happy with it. I will say that i had to purchase a brand new wall hanging unit (not cheap)... because of lack of flexibility in the 4 screws Sony provides on the back to hang the unit. I think Sony could have easily added 2 more bolt holes to provide a little more mounting flexibility and options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sound Synch Problems

xbr55x850g 05/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Picture. Hooked up to my Sony BDV T10 DVR/Sound System using optical audio cable. Sound worked the first few days. Now the sound will not synch. I have changed all combinations of sound settings. When turned on, initially synched but very quickly degrades. Checked all upgrades for devices. Up to date. Makes TV unwatchable. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

21 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Excellent picture and great features

xbr55x850g 17/10/2019 by Brillo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't believe how good the picture is and colors are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worst Tv

XBR X850G Series 14/10/2019  (USA)

Sony X8500G 65" 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV Worst tv i have ever had, purchased in Aug died after 1 month had a replacement yesterday to find another faulty out of box failure. Never had a Sony TV, always Samsung or LG. What happened to the quality of Sony????

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hi, Frankmaca!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Erin

0

Very disapponted

xbr65x850g 05/10/2019 by angry user (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it only a month ago I alredy looking for support. Both Netflix and Prime apps just stopped working (other apps like youtube, smitsonian are working).

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2019

Hello, There!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the steps below to fix the issue.

Netflix: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00094005
Prime: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00145513

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

Outstanding Picture

XBR X850G Series 24/09/2019 by SCLL (USA)

Love the picture, Built in Cromecast! OTA guild is great for cord cutters. Speakers are very disappointing. Livable after changing the equalizer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
25/09/2019

Hello, SCLL!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Very nice TV

xbr65x850g 20/09/2019 by cordcutter77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always bought Sony TVs. It's more expensive but I know the overall quality is there. So far, this TV is awesome. No complaints. I did buy an inexpensive soundbar because the sound is not great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2019

Hi, cordcutter77!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Disappointing experience

XBR X850G Series 06/09/2019 by Jake68 (USA)

The product just doesn't work when you want it to. I'll forgive technology for a hiccup from time to time, but the user experience is poor, and I've had to to reset the tv multiple times. Basic functions like adjusting the volume or changing the volume are always frustrating 100% of time. The app usage and new interface is nicer but it freezes, lags, casting sometimes works. I've done the diligence on my wireless, internet provider and the faults with this tv are pretty clear. I've had the product for 9 months now and I've given it a fair shot, just a disappointing experience. I would trade off features for a product that worked when i want it to.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
10/09/2019

Hello, Jake68!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with your TV. Please make sure that the Software of this TV is updated, you can visit the link below for the instructions on how to update the TV:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00028577

Happy to help!

0

Great TV would like a few more HDMI ports

xbr55x850g 04/09/2019 by Steve9999999999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy overall will continue to buy Sony electronics

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, Steve9999999999!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

All I wanted!

85" class (84.6" diag) 25/08/2019 by Lopezeto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Picture, super contrast and brightness with excellent separation of colors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2019

Hi, Lopezeto!

We're thrilled to know that you like the picture quality of the TV! Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback!

Regards,
Sam

0

Fantastic picture

xbr75x850g 19/08/2019 by Tess53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a birthday gift that I have tremendously enjoyed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, Tess53!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Fantastic Picture!

75" class (74.5" diag) 12/08/2019 by Amscot56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This fine product is big and beautiful. We couldn't be happier with our latest great television from Sony. Color is vibrant, rendering a full palette of hues with natural finesse. Contrast and vibrance are impressive but don't come at the sacrifice of detail in darks or lights. We are also impressed with the quality of the packaging down to the last detail. Every consideration has been taken to deliver a perfect product in perfect condition.Thanks Sony, once again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, Amscot56!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Awesome Picture

XBR X850G Series 08/08/2019 by Torgy (USA)

Love the picture and really love the android TV......but my inputs don't work and the sony support gave me an article to read thats it. Super disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2019

Hi, Torgy!

We are sorry to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Case Number:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

Regards,

0

My first Sony and first Android set

XBR X850G Series 25/07/2019 by 1944ret (USA)

It replaced a Samsung 65 QlED series 9, it had a un- repairable shorting out problem. I returned it at Costco and was told about the Sony X850G 65", from the moment it was hung on the wall in the Bedroom, it has been perfect, and getting used to the Android system has been fine. Purchasing your Model X890G that will be replacing my Samsung QLED 8F- 2018 model,from the Living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Picture, Great Price, Great Value

xbr65x850g 24/07/2019 by Ken11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the 65X850 via Costco and have been very happy with it. I will say that i had to purchase a brand new wall hanging unit (not cheap)... because of lack of flexibility in the 4 screws Sony provides on the back to hang the unit. I think Sony could have easily added 2 more bolt holes to provide a little more mounting flexibility and options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features and picture quality

85" class (84.6" diag) 22/07/2019 by Timex2003 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago I really like the tv but was disappointed with the fact that the tv software was glitchy and had to reset it a few times and the software is up to date but over all the tv is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NICE PICTURE

85" class (84.6" diag) 19/07/2019 by Moose123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it over a month ago and it is so nice and clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replaced within the day!

85" class (84.6" diag) 17/07/2019 by Nccap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the tv roughly 2 months ago. Tv looked great when I got it home. Long story short, the remote Diddnt work. Had to go through Sony. First replacement arrived 1 week later and that one was cracked . Second replacement arrived another week and a half later. This is my first week with it on the wall for the whole time I’ve owned it. Yes, picture is amazing, and the remote works... when it wants to. Luckily I bought the 3 year extended warranty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/07/2019

Hello, Nccap!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00032635

0

Great picture!

xbr55x850g 14/07/2019 by Pjbo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony tv has a beautiful picture. I am satisfied with all of its features . Easy setup. Sony products are dependable .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Freezes screen goes black

XBR X850G Series 21/05/2019 by Beachlife10 (USA)

We have had this tv less than a month from the day we bought it there has been a problem with the tv freezing and going black at least every 5 minutes of not more often.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/05/2019


Hi Beachlife10,

I understand that your XBR-55X850G is having issues with the freezing issue. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00167132

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x850g/articles/00147463

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent Picture

XBR X850G Series 15/05/2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

This was my very first 4K TV. I was used to a 5 year old Sony 1080p but the 4K was way better in all aspects. In fact everything was better. Especially the picture and the internet. Easy to set-up, and easy to use. There is a small learning curve to be expected. I use this with a Sony 4k DVD player and a Sony Home Theater Receiver with 4K pass through. Everything works seamlessly. The only flaw is the sound but what do you expect from small speakers. I have a 7.1 surround sound system to make up for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Sound Synch Problems

xbr55x850g 05/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Picture. Hooked up to my Sony BDV T10 DVR/Sound System using optical audio cable. Sound worked the first few days. Now the sound will not synch. I have changed all combinations of sound settings. When turned on, initially synched but very quickly degrades. Checked all upgrades for devices. Up to date. Makes TV unwatchable. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

Response From Sony Social Support
07/05/2019

Hi Bill,

We're sorry to hear that you have issues with your SONY products. You can adjust the delay of your sound system to sync on your TV permanently. Please check the link below for the steps. (Refer to page 42):

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4147/41472291M.pdf

You may also check the delay on the TV side by following the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-65x850g/articles/00026069

Hope this helps.
Regards,
Earl

0

OUTSTANDING LED TV!

85" class (84.6" diag) 27/04/2019 by Sconian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The XBR-85X850G contains a new and updated processor making the Android menu system very fast. Picture quality is top tier for this models intended design(Directly in front viewing with moderate indirect light sources). Contrast and color settings are dynamic out of the box. Hire a competent calibrator for greater color accuracy. Audio quality is good in the middle and high ranges. However, as with all flat panel televisions, its low frequency response is lacking depth at higher volumes. This issue is easily rectified with a sound bar and a stand alone bass reflex speaker. Longevity is the unknown factor as with all new models. And is relative based on care, use, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1