177

3.6 based on 177 customer reviews

79
29
20
19
30
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best 4K I've ever owned

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought 5, 4K TV's and this one is finally what I have been after. Due to size restrictions the 55" is my only option for now. I always buy Sony products but this TV is exactly the one I finally am able to say is without flaw.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

HDMI ARC Randomly Stops Working

65" class (64.5" diag) 14/04/2017 by Sony Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture is great. HDMI ARC unreliable. Sony XBR65X930D (HDMI 4 ARC) connected to Sony HT-ST9 (HDMI Out ARC). Occasionally, no sound comes out of the soundbar. To resolve, I have to either unplug / plug in or do TV reset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

177 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

18 months, bad LED panel

XBR X930D / X940D Series 20/07/2018 by lcomment (USA)

Purchased the 55X930D in December 2016 and now we are dealing with a bad LED panel. The image is distorted with horizontal lines throughout (creating a blurry double image). The TV was only used on average between 10-15 hours per week. The purchase price is not worth the short life (18 months) of the product - especially compared to two other Sony TVs we have in the house that are in perfect working condition after 10 years. It would not be worth the high cost to repair this product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/07/2018

Hi lcomment, we are sorry to hear what happened. The link below will help us isolate the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00109671

If the issue persists, please have the service.
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl

Regards,
-Erin

0

Delays in powering on

XBR X930D / X940D Series 03/07/2018 by Shannon C (USA)

Purchased this television a little over a year ago and it started having problems with turning on and constantly rebooting. Tried resetting back to factory settings but nothing works. Need advice on what can be done, because I paid a good amount of money for this television.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/07/2018

Hi Shannon,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit, we can try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps provided on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00159487

0

930E SERIES GREAT 65"

65" class (64.5" diag) 21/06/2018 by SONY RIDE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

PURCHASED THE SET 6 WEEKS AGO POWER SUPPLY WENT DEAD CALLED SONY THEY HAD A FREE CALL BACK TILL 2021 EVEN IF IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY FREE IN HOUSE FIX TOOK 3 WEEKS NOW FIXED IN HOUSE LM.JUST THE 930E SERIES. GREAT PICTURE LOVE IT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

beautiful picture quality

65" class (64.5" diag) 21/06/2018 by Kymbali (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love our new TV! beautiful clear picture, easy to install, overall happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not the best for the buck

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/06/2018 by jjhues39 (USA)

The apps need updates. You can't get premium android apps. 3D was better on my old TV

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/06/2018

Hi jjhues39, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Great picture quality, great color, great upscalin

75" class (74.5" diag) 11/06/2018 by Moe14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV 1.5 years ago and very happy with it,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great tv display

XBR X930D / X940D Series 26/05/2018 by Romu len (USA)

Bought the tv last year and love it , i would recommend it to a friend

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

TV has issues after the 1 year warranty!

65" class (64.5" diag) 25/05/2018 by Paul13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased in Dec of 2016 and shortly after 1 year warranty expired, the TV now has horizontal lines and the picture is distorted. Geek Squad came out but could not guarantee they could fix the TV based on what they diagnosed. Happens every day and makes watching TV irritating.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/05/2018

Hi Paul13, we're sorry to hear about what happened to your TV. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

It’s okay wish 3D looked better

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/05/2018 by Tim1124 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it in November 2017 5 months later power supply board went up. Sony said there was issue with Sony 55-65 inch 930D power supply board. If the TV has no power on. Basically the TVs are covered until. 2021. And a slight issue with the 3D think it’s not calibrated right. 3D 1-10 I give it a 4 1/2, sorry Sony, Samsung has you beat on 3D TVs. But now 3D out and 4K is in. But Directors are still making 3-D movies. HDR looks fabulous and fantastic. I give rating of xbr55x930d 1-10, 6.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/05/2018

Hello Tim1124, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

Great picture, 4K and HDR awesome

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/05/2018 by AWLV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in 2016, at that time was one of the higher rated 4K sets. HDR is fantastic and overall SDR picture is great. Only issue is set tends to reboot once a week on its own, which is a pain. Took a long time with all the software updates before Android became stable otherwise eveything is fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/05/2018

Hello AWLV, thank you for providing your feedback. We sincerely value customers feedback such as this, as it helps us gauge consumer's interest in our products. This will surely be forwarded to the development team.
Regards, _Bob

0

TV was great until I came home to no power to it!

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/05/2018 by Sarge73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV March 26, 2017, I purchased it because it was the last 3D TV Sony made and I have a 3D movie collection. Today, May 3, 2018, the television will not power on, does not display anything and of course, the warranty is about 1 month and a week past due. I have been a loyal Sony buyer for 20 years and am very disappointed with this. I want the unit repaired or replaced as they do not make the 3D televisions anymore.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/05/2018

Hi Sarge73, That is definitely not the news we like to hear. Let's see what we can do. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information on this issue you are having. Thanks. -Erin

0

Glitchy. Freezes. Reboots randomly

XBR X930D / X940D Series 05/04/2018 by TVJr (USA)

Bought this TV January 2017 and ever since then I’ve had problems with it freezing, rebooting and slow performance. New software updates keep coming out to try and improve the problems but never definitely solve the problem. I bought Sony because it was the “best” TV to buy and not have problems with it, but I guess I expecting too much.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2018

Hi TVJr, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your TV. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. . You can reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. Thank you.

-Erin

0

No Power

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/03/2018 by Rodo1117 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great product for the first 16 months, today the power doesn't work and i'm currently on hold for over 30 minutes trying to talk to customer service

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2018

Hi Rodo1117, we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you. Thank you. -Erin

0

Has now died twice.

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/03/2018 by Troy916 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it in Dec 2016, June of 2017 it died and had the power supply board replaced. Now again today (Mar 2018) it seems to have died again (will not power on).

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2018

Hi Troy916, we are sorry to hear that the TV will not power on. This article will help us troubleshoot the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00023331

If the issue persists, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com

Regards,
-Erin

0

Quality is bad

XBR X930D / X940D Series 23/03/2018 by Snorky (USA)

This TV has been gltchy from day one, less than a yera later it died an irrepairable death. We bough extended warranty and warranty company has given 100% credit. I won’t be buying Sony TVs again.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2018

Hi Snorky, we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number. Thank you. -Erin

0

4K TV

XBR X930D / X940D Series 07/03/2018 by Jbudd (USA)

so the TV was good for a year but during that year the Netflix wasn’t working and WiFi wasn’t connecting. Also the tv was rebooting and cutting off for it self

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2018

Hi Jbudd,


We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with your TV. You may try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps provided on the links below:

Network:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75355

Netflix:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55501

Turning on/off:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42970


Thanks,
Zac

0

Dead after 18 months

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/02/2018 by edak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this brand new 18 months ago. During that time, there were 4 times that the TV would not accept an HDMI signal. Luckily, others had same issue (ha!) and found how to reboot TV. Now, no power. Also known issue. I thought I was buying quality with Sony. So now I am thinking about other brans to replace this TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2018

Hi edak, thanks for bringing this to our attention and we're sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can review your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 17/02/2018 by Bdtn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So pleased with Sony and my new tv. The best picture i have ever seen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Should have stuck with our Samsung

XBR X930D / X940D Series 12/02/2018 by GregTh (USA)

We've only had this TV for 18 months and are extremely disappointed. We've already had the motherboard replaced! This TV is constantly freezing or having internet connectivity issues. Trouble streaming as well, while other TV's in the house have not trouble. We did homework, then listened to the salesman about this one. What a mistake.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2018

Hi GregTh,


Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Display stop working after one year and one month.

75" class (74.5" diag) 01/02/2018 by Hijinks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV was great while it was working. Stop working after one year and one month. No pictures just audio only. Can't recommend.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/02/2018

Hi Hijinks, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate and fix the issue, you may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75501
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41851
Regards, _Bob

0

7 Months old and already acting up

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/01/2018 by 49er (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this TV 7 months ago. A few weeks ago it stopped recognizing the HDMI input from my cable box, now it has started rebooting on it's own several times per day. Very frustrating.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/01/2018

Hi 49er, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. -Erin

0

DESIGN ISSUE: STAY AWAY

XBR X930D / X940D Series 21/01/2018 by SanDiegoDana (USA)

I bought this TV (55" 930d) in November 2016 and got a good year out of it, but since then the PDU has failed and Sony has extended the warranty through 2021 due to the design flaw. Picture is good/great Thickness is amazingly thin Android software is hit or miss: works well when it works, but when it crashes you get ANNOYING popups that you can't disable, even if you're connected to an external HDMI device watching a movie! Power design flaw is a deal breaker.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/01/2018

Hi SanDiegoDana, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Stopped working after 1 year and 5 days

XBR X930D / X940D Series 20/01/2018 by shneb (USA)

This was second replacement...first set, Netflix stopped working after 2 months. This replacement stopped working completely after 1 year and 5 days...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2018

Hello shneb, We are sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number, a brief description of your concern and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

died after little more than a year

55" class (54.6" diag) 18/01/2018 by Sealevel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this TV after much research but it only lasted a year and 10 days. It was great until it died.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2018

Hello Sealevel, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number, a brief description of your concern and a reference number if any so we can take a closer look at your file.
Best regards, _Bob

0

Not up to usual quality

XBR X930D / X940D Series 15/01/2018 by Stanley111 (USA)

Power board died a year and a week after I bought it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/01/2018

Hello Stanley111, we are sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

STUPENDOUS SET!!!

75" class (74.5" diag) 13/01/2018 by Hologram Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saw this in a box store when it was new in early 2016, was floored at the time but way out of my league price wise. I've watched it since then, not looking at new since my young son loves 3D and it's no longer available. Finally found this as a refurb and picked it up. I am in awe!! Both 3D and 4K are superb, 4K HDR looks 3D even when it isn't! I know OLED is the rave and sure side by side one might tell the difference, but I cannot imagine a better picture!! Functions beautifully and fast. Internal functions such as streaming work great but I use external devices, just bought a Sony 4K blue ray that also supports 3D and now Vudu streams 3D (through the blue ray, through Roku and direct to TV both said was not compatible)! Use a home theater with Atmos so don't use the internal speakers, but a few times have switched to it and it's got great sound for a TV. Mounted to wall, thin and edge is so small it disappears, similar to my old projector screen... Seriously great set!!! THANKS SONY!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

18

0

55" 4K

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/01/2018 by Wizard1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The replacement TV is Great. The picture is outstanding. Every once in a while the outgoing optic connecting to the soundbar hiccups and misses a couple of words.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

25

0

Love it!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/01/2018 by Luciilou (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Color is fantastic! Mounted it on wall and it is so great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

24

0

Worked great for first year!

XBR X930D / X940D Series 09/01/2018 by Bmac (USA)

Great TV until one year and two weeks; then it would not power on. after reading these reviews, it appears to be a common problem. Tried all troubleshooting suggested by Sony support - nothing worked. Sony seemed to know right away that the power supply failed and they have agreed to repair it, but still waiting to hear from the service people. Plus they say it has to be off the wall before they will work on it. I am hoping some allowance can be made since I am over 70 yrs old with severe arthritis and have nobody I can ask for assistance in removing it from the wall.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

23

0

Sony will not honor their manufacturer warranty

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/01/2018 by Fammann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The tv has significant issues with motion, blooming, frame rates, and tends to fail leaving a line down the middle of the screen.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2018

Hello Fammann, we apologize for the inconvenience. You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42981

If the issue persists, please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number. Thank you, _Bob

0

Great Features

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/12/2017 by Dragaonmaster_jt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago and I'm happy I did because it was great picture and value for the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

22

0

Power Issue

XBR X930D / X940D Series 26/12/2017 by Sanj719 (USA)

Giant dead black monolith now stands in my parents living room. Was a gift last Christmas I gave to my parents and went to their house as usual with the fam to find the tv is now dead. Tried every tactic in the support community to no avail. It seems it is a fairly common problem and Sony either replaces the power unit or TV. This is the first TV I have ever experienced having this type of issue, owning multitudes of brands and types over the years. Unexpected and very disappointed especially for the children who couldn't play Star Wars Battlefield 2 together on the attached PS4 Pro no less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

18

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2017

Hi Sanj719, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. You may troubleshoot the TV by visiting the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75501

If the issue persists, you may visit this link to locate an authorized servicer near you: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

Waited for a Sony 4k

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/12/2017 by JR Goody (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it love it...still many features I don't know how to work and my understanding is there is a update with goggle assist..but my TV says it's current...oh well picture is beautiful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

14

0

Great pic sound and 3D

65" class (64.5" diag) 17/12/2017 by Hydrozyfa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buy in nov and i have no regrets i love it everything is how the item discreption indicated image sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

14

0

TV worked great for a year and a half, then...

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/12/2017 by asolano (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The X930D was great for the first 1.5 years. I bought in May 2016. I finally upgraded the Andriod software in October 2017. In December 2017 the TV ceased to "power on". I checked the electrical outlet and AC to VDC adapter and am still unsure what the problem is. I am attempting to contact Sony this week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

12

0

Great TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/12/2017 by celli20959 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great TV. I bought it a year ago and haven't have any problems. The picture is amazing. I gave it 5 stars for every category except for sound quality. I have my TV hooked up to a Denon receiver and that is how I get my sound. But the speakers on the TV are adequate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

0

Impresive

65" class (64.5" diag) 06/12/2017 by Vero_8287 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good, look impresive but the remote is ancient

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

11

0

Pretty panel, horrible software.

75" class (74.5" diag) 30/11/2017 by glashoppah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful panel marred by horrible software. Plug in Apple TV, HDR is automatically enabled. Plug in SONY PS4 and it reports that "your TV does not support HDR". These types of issues along with the fact that it reboots itself randomly a dozen or more times a day and random processes crash and lock it up so that I have to power cycle it to get it to work means I feel like I didn't get my money's worth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

13

0

Almost Great TV

XBR X930D / X940D Series 28/11/2017 by GoldenStateWarriorsFan (USA)

I bought my XBR 75X940D in January of this year. So far I am very pleased with it. The overall exterior design is great and I also like that it allows you to hide the cables in the back with a cover. Picture quality is remarkable on this TV because the colors are extremely accurate and the blacks and whites contrast are amazing. The 4K upscaling is exceptional because even my ATT UVERSE cable HD channels are awesome to watch. Netflix Ultra 4K shows are considerable too on this TV. Although some are grainy like Daredevil but I don’t think it’s the TV because Marco Polo show in Ultra 4K is amazingly awesome! Blu Ray movies are excellent as well on this TV. When I bought my SONY UBX800 4K ULTRA BLU RAY player and connected it to my XBR 75X940D TV and played a 4K movie, my whole experience went to another level. Two words to describe my aha moment, REMARKABLY AWESOME! You have to see it for yourself. Overall this TV is amazing. In my humble opinion, it’s comparable to an OLED TV. However, I do have a few gripes. I have my TV connected to a SONY STR DH770 receiver. When I change source from cable to my 4K player to watch a 4K movie, sometimes it doesn’t detect it being a 4K HDR movie so the picture setting on the TV doesn’t automatically change it to HDR VIDEO. I have to do it manually to change it. It does it too when I play a regular BLU RAY movie. I would have to change it from STANDARD to CINEMA or CINEMA PRO or if the last movie I played was a 4K, I have to change it manually from HDR VIDEO to CINEMA or CINEMA PRO. I also noticed horizontal lines in the background when I’m watching a 4K movie. It isn’t visible to the eye unless you focus on the background. You can’t see it on the main scenes. But people who watch with me can’t see it so it’s not too conspicuous. Only myself noticed it. I also read in a HD forum for this TV that some people has seen the horizontal lines. Hey SONY, do you have a software fix for this? I would have given it five stars but the horizontal lines took that one star away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Sony X930D 4K HDR tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 13/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my tv about eight months ago. I am somewhat disappointed in this tv as the sound does not start when you change channels and you miss the first three to four words being spoken.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Great features with excellent video, sound clarity

55" class (54.6" diag) 10/11/2017 by PCMVM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Andriod TV that comes with easy setup and navigation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Maintenace Technition0[+9ws

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/11/2017 by Verners (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sm very happy with this product am happy that we bought this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Great features

65" class (64.5" diag) 03/11/2017 by man child (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product one year ago, it is the perfect size for my den. The picture and sound quality is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great TV I have nothing but praise for this TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/11/2017 by Milster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this tv when Samsung TV's Back lights failed just after it run out of warranty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

Great TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/10/2017 by Osh55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony big screen and I'm very please with it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Fantastic pictures and apps. Bad 3D.

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/10/2017 by sinseven (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the TV picture. Been some hiccups along the way, but the latest firmware seems to be doing well. Once in awhile I have to reboot the tv by holding the power button for 10 seconds. 3D has too much ghosting, I've given up on it. Ultra app is not that great, own a few UHD movies on there and they don't play back well on LAN. Vudu UHD plays flawlessly on my Roku device that's on WiFi. Still I would recommend the TV, however, I think there are newer better models now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

Waiting patiently for Firmware Update

75" class (74.5" diag) 27/10/2017 by JackPeter (USA)

I love the product but I am a bit frustrated due to not receiving a Dolby Vision Firmware Update. I spend a lot when purchasing Sony products due to their high quality. They have always done me right and I expect no less this time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

0

Great Picture but Android TV keeps locking up.

65" class (64.5" diag) 26/10/2017 by XD29NET (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has always been amazing when it comes to picture quality but the Android TV OS is really slow and resets a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

15

0

Awesome

55" class (54.6" diag) 25/10/2017 by Gunz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't stop watching this amazing TV from Sony! If you have the money get the 65"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

15

0

High quality features

XBR X930D / X940D Series 22/10/2017 by Gomez79 (USA)

A year ago and amazingly spectacular. So beautiful

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

19

0

Slow operation, very dumb "smart tv"

55" class (54.6" diag) 14/10/2017 by atoungette (USA)

I have been a fan of Sony products for years, always trusting them for TVs, VCRs, DVDs, even computers. So I was comfortable purchasing this smart TV and trusting the Sony reputation. I was wrong. This TV is horrible. It's amazing in 2017 that a product could operate so poorly. From the get-go, the remote sometimes just doesn't work. No battery issue, nothing blocking the TV....it just doesn't work. Also sometimes when you turn the TV off, it comes right back on again. Audio is subpar, but the smart TV features are disastrous. Very slow to load, laggy in operation, constant connection problems. Netflix crashes at least half the time, or shows a connection issue. That's another thing, it takes a long time for the TV to realize it has wifi connection after you turn the TV on. Going from an app (YouTube, Netflix, etc.) back to satellite/cable input is ridiculously slow. You think something has gone wrong, but then nope there you go your signal is back.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

25

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/10/2017

Hi atoungette, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. This problem is due to network connection and system software. You can isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps from this link.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75355
Regards, -Jay

0

Great TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 12/10/2017 by sinajina (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very great TV worth the price, I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

22

0

Bad TV faulty components

XBR X930D / X940D Series 11/10/2017 by Jaison (USA)

I bought the TV in Qatar just 7 months now LED panel faulty. It has problem Power supply unit as well. Another nightmare service. Any problem we have to break our head after buying this expensive TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

21

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2017

Hi Jaison, We're sorry to hear about what happened. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/ ~Ralph

0

Love this TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 10/10/2017 by grumpyoldfart (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was going back and forth between this model and an LG OLED. I went with the Sony because of the great reviews regarding the 4k upscaling, the black levels being competitve with the OLED, and this model was 75" compared to the 65" OLED. I made the right choice. The picture is amazing and I havent even played any native 4k content on it yet. The upscaling is that good. My only gripes so far are blooming issues in scenes with shadows (hardly a deal breaker) and glitchy Android TV. The apps will randomly stop working and I've had to restart the TV to fix. But doing so requires me to setup the TV from scratch again. Very irritating, hopefully its just a software issue in Android and not the TV itself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

16

0

Life is better with HDR

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/10/2017 by GeeDee813 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was already familiar with the Android TV interface, as I bought a 810C set a year ago. It is very user friendly and easy to use; however the DirecTV RVU on this one did not work at all, which forced me to remove the receiver from my account. However, it does well with OTA channels if you use a good antenna. The 3D is good, and although the glasses are a bit expensive, you get what you pay for. The reviews I read were fair, because they mention that viewing at an angle can hinder its amazing capabilities. But, since it stands right in front of my recliner, it is not an issue for me. Affordable, and high quality; who could ask for more?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

10

0

Great tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 08/10/2017 by Ken l (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 2 months ago and I love it. Great picture cool design nice apps. East to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

0

BAD TV, Not performing as committed

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/10/2017 by maytru (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was my bad decision to purchase such expansive TV from Sony. I am having hard time to deal with Sony support. they can not replace defective TV with new one. only eligible with re-furbished. This TV have issue. TV stand about 100 degree vertically instead of 90 degree. Means it lean towards back. my tv Screen start getting curved backward. TV also have Bad Back light... Local Deeming is worse. it create cloud effect. loosing connectivity frequently

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2017

Hello maytru, We apologize for the inconvenience. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and reference number so we can review your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 03/10/2017 by MimiJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv a couple of months ago when my Sharp Aquos died. It is packed with the latest features and capabilities and has been a solid performer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

14

0

not so great

65" class (64.5" diag) 30/09/2017 by TBIRD123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase 8 month ago and having trouble with it. It lost power and would not come back on. But when it was working it has a great picture Also I purchased a sony sound system and can not seam to get it to work right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2017

Hi TBIRD123, we are sorry to hear what happened. With regards to the TV that lost its power, we recommend following the steps from this link to fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38329. If the issue is unresolved, please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com so that we could assist you further and also include the issue you are experiencing with your soundbar together with the exact model number. We hope to hear from you. Regards, -Erin

0

Excellent

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/09/2017 by DonZies (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Bravia 4K 65 in TV last year and it is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

10

0

Great picture!

65" class (64.5" diag) 25/09/2017 by AudioGuy2112 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a year ago and am very happy with the picture quality and features. The Android TV has had issues and overall stability of the TV is average. It reboots periodically. Amazon and couple of others have streaming issues. Overall disappointed with Android TV and Sony support. I have bought Sony products for any years and had great results but this one is a dissapointment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi AudioGuy2112, we are sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Below are the troubleshooting steps that will help fix the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42696 and https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/73740. Regards, -Erin

0

Great features, great picture, have one issue

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/09/2017 by Markorz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great device, easy to setup, lot of features, lots of ports. One of my favorites if optical (Toslink) out. I can have a HDMI matrix feed any device I want this television with uncompressed audio and video and with one Toslink optical cable out I can have any one of those device's audio pass through the television to my home theater receiver. Saves a tone of cabling when you have a large room setup.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

SONY XBR55X930D TV Dead after 9 months

XBR X930D / X940D Series 22/09/2017 by SRM1 (USA)

Power Board Died after 9 months - Do not Buy I bought a SONY XBR55X930D TV after much research in Nov 2016. The TV worked great for 9 months and it just went totally dead/dark - no power. I checked the power supply and it had 24V but nothing after that. It was repaired after 5 days. It is working now..but don't know for how long. I have stayed with SONY TVs for years but now I think the quality is very poor and I think this will be my last Sony unfortunately.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi SRM1, we're sorry to hear about this. However, if you still need further assistance regarding your TV, please don't hesitate to reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

Excellent overall quality and value

XBR X930D / X940D Series 20/09/2017 by jaffreydc (USA)

My initial feedback based on a couple of days of usage: Good: 1. Styling is Sony at it's best. Minimalist and solid build quality 2. Excellent picture quality and viewing angles are better than any of the other higher end LED I looked at. At current prices, the 930D is probably the best PQ/$ in the market today. Workarounds that help: 3. I avoided setting up the Android apps and instead connected it to an Apple TV. The Sony remote controls the Apple TV very well and the overall UI/UX of Apple TV and the 3rd party apps are much better implemented on Apple TV than Android TV. As a result I have had no crashes or slow downs. The Apple TV can be hidden from view and I leave it on all the time. 4. One reason I got the 930D over the 930E is because I am able to use my wireless Bravia Subwoofer with the 930D (does not work with 930E). The subwoofer + built in speakers gives the TV pretty decent audio for a very clean look without any external speakers. Without the subwoofer the audio is sub par. Other features that may be of interest: 5. The 3D implementation is easily the best I have seen. An older Sony active 3D glass worked well and it's much better than the 1080p 3D I had experienced in the past. 6. Cinema Pro settings for movies is close to OLED (IMHO) in a dim but not totally dark room. In a bright room, the 930D can get very bright and the picture is crisp making this an excellent all purpose display.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

SHARP PICTURE

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/09/2017 by Blacknite (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

IAM VERY PLEASED WITH MY SONY 55 INCH 4K TV.THE PICTURE IS VERY SHARP AND CLEAR . I ALSO LIKE THE THE VOICE FEATURE ON THE REMOTE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Worked fantastic until warranty expired

75" class (74.5" diag) 17/09/2017 by Westie Love (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We really loved our TV until this week. The picture quality, especially 3D feature has been outstanding. Fifteen months after purchase we're seeing a vertical green line from the top of the screen to the bottom. After owning and being extremely loyal to all Sony products, this is the very first time in 30 years that we've seen any defect in their electronics. Too bad, since this is the most expensive purchase we've ever made.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2017

Hi Westie Love, we regret to hear what happened. Let's troubleshoot the issue by following the steps from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42981. Regards, -Erin

0

The Best ever in my life just out standing

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/09/2017 by Butch22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always love Sony. Most of the movies that are made they used Sony camera's to shoot most movies . So in my heart why not get the best to look at any movie in my heart it must be Sony it is just excellent in any world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Unbeatable Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/09/2017 by dolfan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture is remarkably crisp and clear. The only drawback is typing in domains on the browser search bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Bright & Sharp

55" class (54.6" diag) 03/09/2017 by BillyO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it and playing with with it today can't wait to learn all that it can do!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

PRODUCT

XBR X930D / X940D Series 01/09/2017 by Donna6 (USA)

HAD THE PRODUCT LESS THEN A YEAR AND SINCE THE BEGINNING NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS, ABOUT 5 - 6 MONTHS AGO THE SCREEN STARTED BLACKING OUT, THEY JUST WANT TO GUESS ABOUT WHAT IT IS AND KEEP REPLACE PARTS AFTER PARTS. WE HAVE ALWAYS HAD SONY WITH NO PROBLEMS.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/09/2017

Hi Donna6,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

0

great picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 25/08/2017 by jdsr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv because it had 3-D ability. This feature work great for me. I am not to happly that some of the things that are signed into stop working without knowing how to restart the features that has stopped or an indication that they have automatically restarted. The picture quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

sharp picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 25/08/2017 by johnc123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a year and 1 month ago. The smart TV feature has problems. For example if you want to watch Netflix it will switch back to TV by itself. Also the internet always disconnects. TV recycles every day mostly when you try to use the smart TV function. Picture quality is great but the other features have problems. First Sony that I've had so many problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony
26/08/2017

Hi johnc123,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.