16

4.4 based on 16 customer reviews

13
0
1
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This TV is very impressive!

XBR X950H Series 16/05/2020 by Siddg (USA)

The picture quality out of the box is excellent. With a few minor tweaks it is even better. Sony's motion engine is best in class. I was effortlessly able to adjust the settings to see movies without any soap opera effect or too much judder. In my view this is the most important feature to master. The TV is amply bright, and HDR content when played doesn't seem dull in a bright room. The TV automatically adjusts the picture settings when playing HDR content. I also looked at OLEDs when deciding, but Best Buy puts their OLEDs in a dark room for a demo and in retail mode settings; so I didn't have a good comparison. I like the Android TV layout. Its fast, and intuitive as well. Picture settings and apps are neatly layed out, and the google assistant is very handy for searching things. Google assistant is again the best assistant out there, and so much better than Alexa on Kindle Fire (Alexa doesn't understand context and voice as well). Kudos to Google! My only gripe with the software is on searching within the Apps. It seems Netflix and Prime Video apps are not searchable. i.e. when you search for a movie, it will not search within these apps. I understand Prime video probably cripples this feature as it already has a competing platform but Netflix should certainly have worked! Overall, I think this TV is a really good investment and should certainly last a good number of years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No VRR or ALLM on their premium model, the X950H..

XBR X950H Series 06/03/2020 by Don D (USA)

But the one below has it. What genius came up with that? Why does the most expensive version lack features that a cheaper model has. What kind of business model is that?!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

81

71

16 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Smart television

49" class (48.5" diag) 28/05/2020 by Chief Green (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is what I wanted as my Mother’s Day present. Fantastic price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/06/2020

Hi, Chief Green, We're glad you are happy with your purchase of the X950G 4K HDR TV. We always strive to deliver the best picture quality with our TVs. The X950G’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness while the X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor ever, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to near-4K HDR. Jay

0

Great Android TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 28/05/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 4th Sony Android TV and each new model improves

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/06/2020

Hi, DQ James, We are happy to hear you are enjoying the picture quality of the X950H 4K HDR TV. Thank you for your continued support throughout the years! We always strive to deliver the best picture quality with our TVs. The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes (except 49”). The X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor to date, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to near-4K HDR. Jay

0

Awesome Upgrade

49" class (48.5" diag) 18/05/2020 by GEPman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this TV early May and I'm very pleased with the improvement compared to my 900F.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi, GEPman, We are glad that you are very pleased with your brand new Sony TV! We always strive to deliver the best picture quality with our TVs. The X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor to date, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to 4K HDR. The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes. We appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Awesome TV

49" class (48.5" diag) 17/05/2020 by 00008 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the features of this TV (audio settings especially, don't even need a sound bar)! Also love the lack of a boarder around the screen (minimal foot print)!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

We are glad that you like your new Sony Bravia TV, 00008! The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes. By upconverting inputs, S-Force Front Surround virtually reproduces a multi-surround speaker system within your TV so you can enjoy all the thrills of more immersive sound. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Outstanding!

XBR X950H Series 17/05/2020 by BOBYLICIOUS (USA)

Another reason to stay home. Perfect image and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi, BOBYLICIOUS, We are glad you like the picture and sound quality of your new Sony TV. We always strive to deliver the best picture quality with our TVs. The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes. The X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor to date, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to 4K HDR. Stay at home and enjoy your new X950H. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

This TV is very impressive!

XBR X950H Series 16/05/2020 by Siddg (USA)

The picture quality out of the box is excellent. With a few minor tweaks it is even better. Sony's motion engine is best in class. I was effortlessly able to adjust the settings to see movies without any soap opera effect or too much judder. In my view this is the most important feature to master. The TV is amply bright, and HDR content when played doesn't seem dull in a bright room. The TV automatically adjusts the picture settings when playing HDR content. I also looked at OLEDs when deciding, but Best Buy puts their OLEDs in a dark room for a demo and in retail mode settings; so I didn't have a good comparison. I like the Android TV layout. Its fast, and intuitive as well. Picture settings and apps are neatly layed out, and the google assistant is very handy for searching things. Google assistant is again the best assistant out there, and so much better than Alexa on Kindle Fire (Alexa doesn't understand context and voice as well). Kudos to Google! My only gripe with the software is on searching within the Apps. It seems Netflix and Prime Video apps are not searchable. i.e. when you search for a movie, it will not search within these apps. I understand Prime video probably cripples this feature as it already has a competing platform but Netflix should certainly have worked! Overall, I think this TV is a really good investment and should certainly last a good number of years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi, Siddg, We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your new TV. We always strive to deliver the best picture quality with our TVs. The X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor to date, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to 4K HDR. The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes. By upconverting inputs, S-Force Front Surround virtually reproduces a multi-surround speaker system within your TV so you can enjoy all the thrills of more immersive sound. Regarding your concern about specific apps, please make sure they are updated. The updates of the apps include bug fixes that may resolve the issue. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Family fun

49" class (48.5" diag) 14/05/2020 by Old Phil (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

if you need a TV that well hock to a Ethernet hock up. Do not get this.. Sony has still not responded to there own help dept. Box says its it capable but didn't work.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

18

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Old Phil,

Thank you for choosing and purchasing our Sony X950H Ultra HD Smart TV.



The TV has a Ethernet port in the back of the TV for wired internet connection.



We’d love to help you out with your connect needs.


May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com or call us at 1-800-222-7669.
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Username:
Telephone Number:

Sony TV Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the X950H.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great TV Nice and bright and clear colors.

49" class (48.5" diag) 10/05/2020 by ssgjay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The TV was easy to set up. I am very pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/05/2020

That's great! We are happy that you are very pleased with your new Sony TV, ssgjay! The X950H’s Full Array Local Dimming and Boosting technology provides a dramatic increase in contrast and brightness from anywhere in the room thanks to X-Wide Angle technology that is now offered in additional screen sizes. The X1 Ultimate Processor, Sony’s best processor to date, delivers a picture with ultimate realism and upscales everything you watch to 4K HDR. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Disappointed

XBR X950H Series 03/04/2020 by oskirkland (USA)

The set offers up a nice picture, all the current HDR bells and whistles, and I'm pleased with the overall performance of Android TV. I really wanted to like this set more, but at the moment I'm regretting it. Things I don't like: There is MAJOR blooming on the screen, which is very distracting. Areas that are supposed to be dark (black bars at the top and bottom of the screen) turn gray if there is any light text nearby. I don't know what the issue is, the number of backlight areas, bad software, etc. I don't remember my Vizio being this bad unless it was a bad software build. No HDMI 2.1? It's 2020. If you have Xfinity, don't plan on using HBO GO. Xfinity doesn't support Sony televisions for some reason. Per a support agent at Xfinity, supposedly Sony and Xfinity aren't able to come to an agreement about support for the app.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi oskirkland, thank you so much for your very detailed review. This will help us in improving our products. Erin

0

Beautiful TV!

XBR X950H Series 02/04/2020 by RECN (USA)

The best Sony TV I've ever had! Very satisfied with the product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi RECN, Awesome! We're happy to hear you're satisfied with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

The XBR85X950H is FANTASTIC !!

85" class (84.6" diag) 31/03/2020 by JeiJae (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over Christmas 2019 I. purchased a 65" Bravia TV for my bedroom. Great TV, but I thought it was too small. So I looked, and low and behold Sony announced new 85" LED TV. Purchased it for receipt on March 12. It is perfect for the place. I moved the 65" to a smaller bedroom. Each TV is exactly as advertised. I did set it up myself, and that was a little tricky, but once setup, it has been GREAT. This is great for watching while we suffer through this Covid 19 situation. I did already have the HT-Z9F sound bar, and two wireless speakers. They are PERFECT for this TV!! Great going Sony. Keep it up !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

18

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi JeiJae, Awesome! We are thrilled to hear you’re enjoying your X950H TV. We pack a lot of technology into our TVs to ensure you get incredible picture quality. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great feature except hdmi 2.1

XBR X950H Series 30/03/2020 by Gamesendo (USA)

When will the Sony X900H be available in the United States and what will the prices be? I’m so pumped and excited for this tv because it has full array local dimming and has 4K 120fps for PS5! I just wished it would have the Sony X1 Ultimate processor but hopefully Sony will add more 4K support for their 2021 tv models! I’m talking about the Sony X900H tv here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

25

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/03/2020

Hi, Gamesendo, The availability, and prices will depend on the authorized dealers. You may coordinate with them directly. We will pass your feedback to the right department. Thank you for the review. -Vincent

0

No VRR or ALLM on their premium model, the X950H..

XBR X950H Series 06/03/2020 by Don D (USA)

But the one below has it. What genius came up with that? Why does the most expensive version lack features that a cheaper model has. What kind of business model is that?!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

81

71

0

Awaiting for the 2020 models.

XBR X950H Series 01/03/2020 by gle_kirb (USA)

I am waiting on a 65" X950H with X-treme sound Sony, if you are listening I need info when the 2020 year units are for sale. In all my research this is the one I have chosen to purchase in April time frame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

39

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/03/2020

Hi gle_kirb,

We appreciate your interest in our new models. You can visit our website or check with your nearest dealer for availability. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

I think exelliant picture quality,

XBR X950H Series 26/02/2020 by Subhash Das (USA)

I also waiting for the model and should be buy this model (65 inch)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

44

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi Subhash,

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

great picture quality

XBR X950H Series 22/02/2020 by Rammstein89 (USA)

I just bought this wednesday and it is best tv i have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

26

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/02/2020

Hi Rammstein89,

That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the product. Thank you for choosing Sony.

~Earl