Skip to Content
36

4.3 based on 36 customer reviews

24
5
2
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Won't launch NETFLIX

65" class (64.5" diag) 12/12/2017 by none34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a special buton and in the app list but won'tstyart

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hello none34, we're sorry to hear that. You may check the link below on how to resolve this kind of issue regarding the Netflix application:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55501
Regards, _Bob

0

SONY FAN

75" class (74.5" diag) 07/12/2017 by Kawua12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased online two days before thanksgiving online and I received the TV on Dec . 4th, 2017. We purchased the Sony after reading a lot of information online and inquiring at local store about the capabilities of this Sony XBR75Z9D. We found it to be one of the most capable and visually enhanced for our needs the clarity and colors are fantastic and of course all the wifi capability it has to stream movies. This was a treat for us since we've owned a Sony Bravia XBR 65inch since 2003 and it still works but the colors are no longer there along with it being too dark but the TV still works and is in excellent condition and that is the other reason we purchased this 75inch Sony its a brand that has worked for us far beyond what most people have their TVs for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Best of Both Worlds

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/12/2017 by kingskid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like OLED, but not sold on the longevity of it yet, because it's organic. I bought the Z9D and I have the best of both worlds. Deep blacks and great shadow detail come very close to oled, without the blacks crushed and the option of great brightness levels for HDR. The colors are true and depth of picture is amazing. At times 2d is like watching 3d . The picture is very crisp and a pleasure to watch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

10

0

Top of the line

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/12/2017 by CRCO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find one word to describe my new Sony Z9D 4K HDR “Superlative”!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

12

0

Flawed Beauty

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/11/2017 by Roundtop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gorgeous picture compromised by bright green blown pixel. Terrible quality control for the price. Buy something else.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

20

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2017

Hi Roundtop, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great picture quality!

75" class (74.5" diag) 14/11/2017 by musicaddict25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The TV is easy to set up. I like the 4K HDR color too. Very realistic-looking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

21

0

The BEST picture, period.....!!!!

XBR Z9D Series 26/10/2017 by rmyAddison (USA)

Shopped everything, LED/LCD, OLED, Qled, it is the best picture. Once adjusted. presets are all "too strong" to me, brightness turned down to the 15-20 range kills any LED/LCD backlight haze, and the picture transforms to amazing !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

49

0

Z9D SONY 75 INCH TVSTAND FOR TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 25/10/2017 by COCKROACH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

STAND FOR TV VERY WEAK,POOR DESIGN,FEATURES ON REMOTE ON COMPLICATED

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

47

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi COCKROACH, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team if ever changes are needed as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thank you very much for your input. ~Ralph

0

Best TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/10/2017 by Chino 5388 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best tv ever. A little costly but worth every dollar. You will be happy with it believe me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

58

0

75 inch Z9D

75" class (74.5" diag) 08/10/2017 by Mark512 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product has a great picture but it also has significant problems. It turns on by itself at random times and nothing I have been able to do will stop it. A second problem is that it does not interface well with certain receivers and disc players. When I have all three components on, everything works well BUT if i want to listen to a cd only (therefore not needing the tv to be on since it s only music) and am using only the disc player and the receiver, the tv MUST remain on. If I attempt to turn it off the disc player will show "dropouts" in sound. This sounds like a bit of an odd problem but my dealer says it is a result of the tv port remaining "hot" and searching for a signal. This hdmi "renegotiation" apparently causes the sound dropout. I do not have the technical expertise to know if this is actually the case but I do experience the dropouts so you can judge for yourself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

57

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/10/2017

Hi Mark512, We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.
First, we need to verify your set up between the television, Blu-ray player and your receiver. The set up should be the television and Blu-ray player is connected to the receiver. If the TV is turning on by itself, kindly follow the troubleshooting steps from this link.
1. Power off your TV and connected HDMI devices.
2. Unplug the power cord from the electric outlet.
3. Disconnected the HDMI cable connected to the TV.
4. Let the devices no power for 10 minutes.
5. Plug the power cord back into the electrical outlet.
6. Power On the TV, let the HDMI devices disconnected.
7. Once the issue is resolved, connect and set up your HDMI devices.
Regards, -Jay


0

Great Picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 05/10/2017 by JKUCSMA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Picture,so lifelike and real.Android system works ok,little slow sometimes,waiting for Dolby Vision update.Very nice looking bezel and seems well built.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

57

0

Upscaling is very good, but no Dolby Vision yet

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/10/2017 by Rob0270 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the tv. It was between this and an OLED. I backed off those though since I know they get burn in. I wish the remote was the kind that lit up at nite. I enjoy Android but no Directv Now ap is a bummer. Make sure you have a receiver because you will need it. The sound is okay but the volume just isn’t their for a movie like experience. Black levels are not as good as an OLED but the upscaler is probably the best I’ve used. I think they should make the HDR menu more easily to get to and the same for apps. The picture performance is very good but don’t expect the tv to get as dark as an OLED because it won’t, but the brightness is superior. It would of been nice to have an HDMI connector in the front of the tv. Purchase the tv for the picture and not so much for Google Play. I’m not sure why we don’t have access to all the apps.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

52

0

=))))))))))))))

XBR Z9D Series 29/09/2017 by Ariakiller (USA)

Great , i have this TV and Recommend to my friend to buy this TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

44

0

Best LCD television I ever bought.

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/09/2017 by Popcornrobert (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When hook up to a 4k DVD player, the picture quality is amazing using 4k movies with HDR. Everything seems so realistic from the bright sky to shadow details all the way down to incredible blacks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

40

0

Love my SONY Z9D!

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/09/2017 by MrChris58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just LOVE my Z9D! Easy to set up and easy to use! It has all the app's that I could ever want or need for that matter. The color is like looking out a picture window. 3D TV makes me want to reach out a touch the objects coming out of the screen! I know that people have turned their noses up at app, but for those of us who LOVE 3D, this is like manna from Heaven! Thank you, SONY for a job well done!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

12

0

Big disappointment...

75" class (74.5" diag) 04/09/2017 by Scgy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unless you never intend to watch any HD cable, network or sports ever again. Their vaunted "upscaling" renders a blurry, fuzzy picture on a par with the old Standard Definition from ancient times. Sony Service says that's the way it is. Don't waste the serious money required to purchase this supposed best of their best 75" model!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2017

Hi Scgy , We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

PICTURE!!

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by johnnygolfs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did lots of research before deciding what to buy - back and forth between various options and manufacturers. Finally settled on the Z9D & WOW is all I can say. This set is the very best I have ever seen & far exceeded my high expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

everything it's supposed to be

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/08/2017 by Donald B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this TV in December,Could not be more happy with the tv, the picture quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Great features

XBR Z9D Series 07/08/2017 by Gopalan (USA)

We are very much happy , this TV provides a awsome experience

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Best TV Ever

75" class (74.5" diag) 05/08/2017 by La30retrop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After going through numerous models by Sony and Samsung, I landed on this Z9D and cannot be more satisfied. With the best picture out of the box with minimal tweaking needed. If you don't want to pay 20k for an OLED at 75" than this tv will give you the same quality for more than half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Truly a Flagship TV!!

XBR Z9D Series 31/07/2017 by Iceman X (USA)

Coming from a XBR 55x850d, i expected a nice update not Major. But what i got was a MAJOR update. This unit was made to go against OLEDs and it does it's job well. Great brights without looking washed out. And VERY good blacks maybe not true blacks like OLED but very close. Colors, contrast and clarity is all great. Very impress with my purchase. Keep up the good work Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

Not as good as it should be

XBR Z9D Series 16/07/2017 by Pizzaman (USA)

I've had Sony TVs for years. The Z9D falls short of expectations especially for an expensive piece of equipment. I returned one and the replacement is worse. Banding and dirty screen effect.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/07/2017

Hello Pizzaman, we regret that the TVs failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Superb

XBR Z9D Series 15/07/2017 by Masenbetta (USA)

Just one word; FABULOUS!!!!! The picture quality is superb, the sound output is add if you are on site of any movie you view. Outstanding! Rated 10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

The best TV for every thing.

XBR Z9D Series 14/07/2017 by i3lack (USA)

4k and none 4k contents are so good. HDR on this beast is a game changer and nothing comes near it. Input lag for games is unnoticeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Z9D thumbs up

XBR Z9D Series 08/07/2017 by Rp22 (USA)

Bought a sony one of the first plasmas and lasted me over 17 years. I know the z9d picture quality is unreal. I hope it'll last me another 17 years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

New TV other one was 11yrs old

100" class (99.5" diag) 08/05/2017 by gr85z (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the TV because we wanted something newer and look at possibility of cutting the cable to watch our show we only have a few select shows we watch and don't need all the extras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

15

0

Best Picture ever!

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/05/2017 by Kevin M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You won't beat the detail and clarity of the XBR65Z9D, hands down it even beats the OLEDS. I drove myself crazy and finally after a side by side nit picking back and forth I realized that I couldn't make the OLED as clean and accurate as the XBR65Z9D.. Make no mistake, this is the Ferrari of TV's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

Awesome TV

100" class (99.5" diag) 23/04/2017 by jorgee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Z9D TV is absolutely awesome. I have never seen better color on a TV. It so crystal clear and sharp. It really makes watching TV enjoyable. I was able to compare this TV with several other TV'S at the store (some Sony some not) and this one was hands down the best picture of them all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

5

0

Fantastic TV! Even better then expected

75" class (74.5" diag) 31/03/2017 by alt_652014 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Of course the 4K movies look fabulous but it turns out they are even more amazing when watching them at home then when we saw a demo in a store. To top that we were surprised and blow away by how Sony's upscaling makes ALL source material (DVD, HD BluRay, 3D and TV shows) look sooo much better. Colors are fantastic, clarity is unbelievable, motion is wonderful. Not to mention that everyday we find some other Sony adjustment (lots of options if you want that flexibility) you can choose to select that can make things better and/or different depending on what you're watching, what your tastes are or if you're just curious. Yes, it is a costly purchase but it's well WORTH IT !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

3

0

"$$ I would cough it up again $$"

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/03/2017 by Jewma46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish it came with the "Playstation Vue" Button, like Netflix" and "GooglePlay" got one on the remote control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

7

0

Fantastic picture quality

75" class (74.5" diag) 15/02/2017 by Uncle C (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything looks and works great! Reasons for only 4 stars: 1. Rare 3D ghosts. 2: Menu navigation is somewhat "busy" (convoluted).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

17

4

0

Amazing!!!

75" class (74.5" diag) 15/01/2017 by Triple R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV last month, and I love it. I love all the features in this TV. Thank you Sony, you did a good job!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

15

0

love XBR tv by far the best

65" class (64.5" diag) 06/01/2017 by Ron 1 (USA)

everything I thought it would be , I have 7 XBR s and 3 of them are high end

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

32

21

0

Great Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/01/2017 by Chuck 48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a XBR65930C 4K with this TV. There is a definite difference in the picture between the 2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

11

0

Great Picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 03/12/2016 by Mikey Q (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This T.V. has a great picture details. There are scenes where color has dark shadows around ears or top of head.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

45

0

Exceptional

75" class (74.5" diag) 07/11/2016 by Deuce912 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Strengths: Just about everything. Exceptional television. Weakness: Android OS is meh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

63

74