81

4.5 based on 81 customer reviews

64
7
2
3
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

81 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Expensive but an excellent TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 08/09/2019 by Bamajoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had almost a year. Excellent TV. Really shines with 4K DVD’s. Direct TV does not do it justice. Is it worth 4X other 75” TV’s. I’m not sure. If it last 10+ years maybe it was. Sony makes an excellent TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi Bamajoe,

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Many up to date features and futuristic specs

75" class (74.5" diag) 16/08/2019 by JayG3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my Z9D for a few months and after this recent oreo update I have more access to all the latest 4k enhanced movies and games I could ever want. The onboard voice google voice control is a new idea for me and it's beey fun to use, even my kids are getting a kick outta it. I was a skeptic at first and after much research I pulled the plug and am way more enamored with what this TV really offers in terms of visual clarity, both for gaming and movies, and the smart features that will ensure future proofing your purchase. Good luck! I recommend this fully!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/08/2019

Hi, JayG3!

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted knowing that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your recommendation and thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Great features

65" class (64.5" diag) 23/07/2019 by EddyTomfufu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent TV- Brightest screen ever- rivals and beats most 8K TVs out there - Easily the best TV Sony ever produced and it’s got 3D to boot- Just a shame that Sony stopped producing TVs with 3D support - in the US at least - Awesome TV - No equals

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

World class picture!

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/07/2019 by MrSciFi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being both an ex-artist and motion picture special effects technician, I'm appreciably more picky and critical of image quality than your average guy. I must say that the picture quality on my new Sony 4k TV is exceptional! I shopped long and hard before choosing this set and it is everything I'd hoped it would be. The colors are exceptional, the gray scale is just as good and the reproduction of high dynamic range is among the best I've seen! Sony sure knows how to get a TV picture right. Blows away the top of the line Samsung I purchased only a year earlier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 22/06/2019 by Russ2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Bravia 75" Z9D two months ago and finally got is installed by the pros at Best Buy and now have it connected to my audio Dolby Surround sound. The picture is truly amazing! But the other surprise is the integrated controls that make viewing so easy. We stream everything we watch on our smart Sony TV and never use cable channels. our Sony Bravia makes this so easy we just love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

The 3D, 4K picture and the sound.

65" class (64.5" diag) 05/06/2019 by Ironman58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to create a Home Theater in my house, I like to watch movies on the 65 inch screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

cool tv

XBR Z9D Series 12/05/2019 by jack1477 (USA)

i bought it a year ago . works good it doesnt cost alot,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Great TV

XBR Z9D Series 28/03/2019 by VANDAM (USA)

Just purchased a month ago, and already I can see what exactly most everyone is raving about. Bought it due to the fact it's the last of 3'd TV viewing, and had to have it for that reason. Wanted the 65" set, but waited too long and wound up with the 75" which is better yet. Had it put in my basement, and my Sony X940E put upstairs in my TV room. Two great TV's, thank you, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great image, and is the last 3D on the market.

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/02/2019 by nadaway (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy I decide to get the TV, I wanted the 65 in but I waited to long and it was only available on 75 in. I look great on screen and all around. To bad there is no more 3D out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best

65" class (64.5" diag) 16/02/2019 by Miami st sound (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

4K UHD HDR 3D, have all extras like luxury car, if we can to make comparison with car this come to be the Rolls Royce.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Beautiful picture and great features

75" class (74.5" diag) 13/02/2019 by tomo661 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Z9F is definitely the best tv I have ever owned. The 4k upscaling is so good that I replay older shows/movies and it seems I am watching them for the first time because of the fantastic color and detail. Sony rearranged their home screen and the apps and features are very good. The remote lets me control my cable box which is very convenient. I can't wait to see what Sony has in store with the 8K sets they are releasing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

flawless picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 09/02/2019 by Scott2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for 5 maybe 6 weeks I have not had it professionally calibrated yet but, what I can say is out of the box with a few adjustments it is the best looking picture I have ever had on a Television. All i need now is for it to last a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great picture! A person can customize it to their

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/02/2019 by Dodg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the OLED comparable picture, with more brightness. Great 3D feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow!

XBR Z9D Series 30/01/2019 by Engs (USA)

I have had this tv for about 3 months now and continue to be blown away by the incredible picture. 4K HDR movies and 4K HDR shows on Netflix, Prime etc. are stunning and truly give you that hard to find sense of solidity, vibrancy and dimensionality that make you feel you are looking out a window to the image on the screen. Prior to purchasing this tv I read numerous reviews (both user and professional) and some felt that the motion processing was its weak link. It may be that Sony has improved the motion processing with firmware updates since the tv was first introduced but my experience has been that the motion processing as of today is excellent. I should qualify this by stating that i watch a wide variety of program material ranging from movies to sports. I do not watch test patterns. Maybe this is where some of the criticism comes from. All in all an incredible tv and easily the best tv I have ever owned. It is always exciting when you purchase something that ends up exceeding your expectations. This particular set is getting very difficult to find new but if you have the chance do not hesitate. You will be thrilled when you get it into your own home. I have seen the new Z9 F and it appears to be very good but I have yet to see it in a home environment. I have seen the 65 and 85” X900F in a home environment and have to say that I consider them to be the best bang for the buck 4k set on the market. If you cannot find a Z9D and do not want to invest in the Z9F then the 900F is the way to go. Well done by Sony on all counts. Truely excellent products!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

This TV proves nobody can make a TV like Sony

XBR Z9D Series 27/01/2019 by MikeFromSoCal (USA)

This TV is a work of art. That sounds pretentious but I mean it when I tell you this TV's picture quality is so impressive, you'll forget what you're watching and hearing on the screen and just lose yourself in the details and the contrast. You get the intense, saturated elements of brightness and color that LEDs are known for, with the uniform, deep and inky blacks that aren't far behind OLEDs. Except that the brightness this TV can produce is unlike anything you'e ever seen. The best way I can describe the overall image of this TV is three dimensional. Motion on this TV is buttery smooth... and let's be honest, the motion of a Sony TV is distinctly refined. I know OLEDs have perfect black, but that's not everything that makes up an excellent picture. With the 75" Z9D that I'm a proud owner of, you get the best of both worlds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Best overall, all around TV, still 2 years later.

XBR Z9D Series 08/01/2019 by joro0414 (USA)

MicroLED is the future, but until then OLED technology just can’t top this TV for HDR, and one word sums it up, BRIGHTNESS. Yes, infinite contrast ratios and basically 8.3+ million local dimming zones (since OLEDs, each pixel is it’s own light source) are nice, but OLEDs just don’t get bright enough to show HDR in most movies correctly. Any HDR movie mastered over ~650 cd/m2, nits, won’t be shown correctly on OLED panel TVs. If you are considering a high end TV like an OLED or this Z9D or even the newer Z9F (I recommend the Z9D over the Z9F as far as picture quality anyway) then basically the list of movies you are interested in, mastered under even 800 cd/m2, nits is incredibly small. I’m not saying this Z9D is perfect, no TV is yet, but until MicroLED TVs at 4000 cd/m2, nits, the Z9D is pretty darn amazing, especially in HDR. This Z9D has amazing local dimming with its high zone count and an incredible algorithm that controls the Master Back Light Drive system. It basically has OLED quality blacks, but it gets more than three times as bright then your average OLED. When you combine the two (local dimming and brightness) you get the best overall HDR picture available to this day, and it’s considered a 2016 model, two years old tech now. (Mine was built July 2018, purchased in August 2018, but all Z9Ds are considered 2016 models.) This Z9D was way ahead of its time, and for good reason it was so expensive when first released. I remember $5400 for the 65Z9D, $9000 for the 75Z9D and a whopping $60,000 for the 100” Z9D. While OLEDs are better than all IPS panel LED/LCD TVs, and better than all most every VA panel LED/LCD TV, there are a few, select VA LED/LCD TVs on the market that have a better overall picture then OLED panel TVs, and this Z9D is the overall best of the best, especially in HDR. And another great thing about VA panel LED/LCDs, no temporary or permanent image retention (the threat is real) like OLED panel TVs. Don’t have to worry about baby sitting your TV or worry about the way you watch TV. To me that’s scary and crazy. Few drawback to the Z9D, and this is more Sony then just the Z9D, more limited wide color gamut compared to Samsung, LG, even Vizio. This is me nitpicking, the WCG is still very, very good, just other manufacturers are a little better. Sony’s Trulumions (however it spelled, lol.) from what I know is the original quantum dot technology, maybe it needs an update. IDK? I did see better numbers in the Z9F, but still other manufacturers are better, really not a big deal, again nitpicking. As far as for the Z9D’s motion, stop people, the Z9D’s real world motion is fine, is it the best, no, but unless you bring up a fast moving white ball on a complete black screen, (like a YouTube text) or even vise versa, there is no motion issues with the Z9Ds panel. A lot of TVs will fail that test, not just Sony TVs, and the “F” models (900F, Z9F etc.) are even better then the “D” and “E” models) My bedroom LG, IPS panel failed this test also. Real world motion on the Z9D works great. Some people have mentioned better motion on the 75Z9D over the 65Z9D (75” vs 65”) I don’t know about that, both side by side looked exactly the same to me, again this was “real world” TV viewing. Sound quality is lacking, but honestly most TVs are from their internal speakers. For watching everyday cable TV it’s fine, but for watching movies, you are going to want at least a 2.1 sound bar or even a 5.1 sound system. I actually set up both a 5.2 all in one system (HDMI), and a 2.1 sound bar with an external sub. (Optical/Toslink) If you took the time to read all of this and if you want the best overall 4K HDR picture, I highly recommend this Z9D, if you can still find one, (supply is diminishing) and definitely over the Z9F even. While the Z9F has many improvements across the board, The Z9D has the better picture. I’ve done 11 months of TV research and been through three other TVs in the 18 months before I bought my Z9D. This is the TV I plan to keep until MicroLED is available and affordable, even if 8K HDR is at an affordable price before MicroLED is. That being said, I believe affordable MicroLED is at least five years away (probably more) and 8K will be the norm by then anyway. See you in 2024.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

very sharp screen

65" class (64.5" diag) 03/01/2019 by Nick4461 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was on a sale and I took advantage ,few years ago I bought Sony 65' XBR850B,but this one is something else-much more stuff OMG!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 27/12/2018 by BobHUSMC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the System connected to a Bose Suround Sound and between the TV (65 inch) and the Bose Suround Sound I feel like I am at the Movies. The TV does deliver the picture. I am very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

OLED or TLED

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/12/2018 by Gman1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When the price dropped on the Z9D, it was time to upgrade, thank you Sony ! Undecided between the Z9D and an OLED, I viewed both side by side. Yes, the OLED can give slightly punchier colors and blacks but, OLEDs still have a lot of problems with image retention, burn in and a few others. When I first turned the Z9D on, the picture looked great and it wasn't even calibrated ! Adjustments were made to deepen blacks and turn the color up before watching some Blue ray movies, My jaw dropped while watching Star Trek beyond. The picture is every bit as vivid as an OLED. Sony uses Tri-luminous display technology and calibrated LEDs to make colors pop. Christmas Chronicles was amazing. Lots of dark scenes with eye popping holiday lights. Streaming is another strong point of the Z9D , I went on YouTube and streamed some 4k videos, they were very clear and vibrant. Black levels are deep and blooming really isn't an issue Z9D. Haven't tried a 3D movie yet but will be viewing soon. Adding this feature is a strong selling point most manufacturers dropped in favor of higher resolution or smart features. 3D movies are exciting. Watching objects float off the screen makes an immersing experience. The design of the Z9D is well done! The pedestal is elegant and strong, keeping the tv stable on flat surfaces. The leg versions on many tvs are ugly and wont work with many set ups. I know a legged tv wont fit my entertainment center, not enough surface area for the legs. The thin bezel, colored a flat black/gray color doesn't interfere with viewing. A rectangular shaped remote is easy to use and has most/ all functions well organized. An improvement I would suggest is slightly change the shape. Grabbing the remote without looking at it allows a 50/50 chance of holding it upside down without realizing it and push the wrong button as a result. Removable panels on the back of the Z9 are a nice touch. After connecting your cables, installing the panels adds a sleek look while covering the cables. Sony has done a great job designing and specing the Z9D. With is lower price point, the Z9D with its 3D feature is a viable alternative to OLED tvs for viewers concerned about their investment going up in smoke due to burn in issues. There is not a better LED tv out there. Sonys TLED breaths new life into LED tvs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I love the HDR & the 3D features..

65" class (64.5" diag) 24/12/2018 by chicmagnet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I called around to find this 2016 model that included the 3D feature. I still think that watching movies with that option will still be a niche market & a wanted commodity down the road!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best tv

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/12/2018 by Jds1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this tv and it way way beyond my expectations..fantastic picture and ed comes out of the screen..literally..best tv ivy ever ownef

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

picture quality is second to none

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/11/2018 by Rj solis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I will save cable technician for 31 years and I have looked at a lot of TVs every time I walked in to Best Buy the z9d caught mine it's an outstanding TV picture quality performance take it from someone who actually looked at the thousands of televisions throughout the years the best TV I ever seen and I seen them all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Best T V I've owned.

75" class (74.5" diag) 02/10/2018 by TheReviewdator (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm looking forward to watching 4 K discs on this TV

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best LED tv!

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/09/2018 by jetroy240 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best video quality for an LED tv, good upscaling feature. Just very expensive for an LED tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great images and features

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/09/2018 by Miss Shiri (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about three weeks ago. I went back to Sony because I think the quality is the best. I had a Samsung curve, which broke down two and a half years after I got it. And they are asking me for thousands of dollars to get a new panel. My first Sony Bravia tv, is 10 years old. And I have never had any problems with it. I hope this one will last me that long too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Two Months Old and Needs Service

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/09/2018 by techsavvy123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture went out after two months, up until now the picture qualify was superb, sound was okay, I would recommend secondary audio, 3d is good but lacks 3d simulation like a previous set I had that was damaged in a move.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2018

Hi techsavvy123,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Zac

0

GREAT PICTURE QUALITY

65" class (64.5" diag) 30/08/2018 by PHOENIX 721 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE HAD MY EYE ON THIS TV SINCE IT CAME OUT,GLAD I MADE THE DECISION TO BUY I. I STILL LOVE 3D MOVIES..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

GREAT for every dollar

65" class (64.5" diag) 30/07/2018 by IDONTKNOW2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

in 2011 i purchased my first 49 inch 3d tv i've ben hooked ever since an so 7 years later im on the market for a new one and i herd the ZD9 is the Last of the mohicans of 3D tv with 4k HDR capability. When the "Z" line released this was the top of the line of TV's before OLED release in late 2016. This was the end goal of me owning the most top their line of Bravia TVs since i could remember . Long story short ( XD) the Z9D will compete still with most OLED on the market my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Incredible TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 19/07/2018 by Doggg1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for the 25 - 3D movies we have. Samsung 3D no longer operational. Great 2D Great 3D - MLB - Golf - DirectNow - Netflix - HBOGo etc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

4

0

Picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/07/2018 by Johnv6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality is Better than even going to the movies!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Excellent product with great feature!!!

75" class (74.5" diag) 19/06/2018 by Latinlover1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and I’m totally enamored. This is a great choice! Looks absolutely stunning!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

not worth the money

65" class (64.5" diag) 15/06/2018 by sonyshopper6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i wanted so much to love it, but the picture is often grainy, there are blury spots on the pictures (usually on peoples forheads) and it definitely has issues with motion. sometimes there is a trail behind something moving. i have 5 year old samsungs with as good a picture, except in 4k. i've tried calibrating it per online settings but no real change. sony will come out with an improved version at some point. i went away on business and too much time has lapsed so can't return it. i'm stuck with it. spend your money on something else.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

13

0

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING TV!

65" class (64.5" diag) 19/05/2018 by Astroidor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV because I wanted a 3D replacement TV and none are produced anymore. I sat this TV right beside a 4K TV and had both on. The difference was like when I switched from 480p to 1080p years ago! Unbelievable difference in the picture. Highly recommend this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

Brightest TV I’ve ever seen and Great 3D.

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/05/2018 by ScottNakamichi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have own this TV now for three weeks absolutely love it!! Also it’s your only choice for 3-D currently.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Great gameplay

XBR Z9D Series 15/05/2018 by nasifsinha (USA)

I bought this with PlayStation 4 Pro and am so happy they are performing very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Z9D is the best!

XBR Z9D Series 12/05/2018 by Tobee123 (USA)

I bought this last year (2017) and I am glad I did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

11

0

Exceeded Expectations

75" class (74.5" diag) 04/05/2018 by TravelagentRalph (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my Samsung 9500 UHD and I was blown away with the superior video and audio. This was coupled with my Marantz receiver and Martin Logan speaker system. I could not be happier and I wish I would have originally purchased a Sony UHD 4K!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

6

0

The best all-around TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 25/04/2018 by Verlin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even after 2 years Samsung still hasn't dethroned the Z9D as the best overall large TV. While the Q9FN has as good of picture quality, it lacks two important features. Dolby Vision and 3D support. Even if it was missing just one of them it would be enough to sway me to the Z9D. With both of them it's a no-brainer. Hopefully with the next model Sony delivers another knockout and keeps 3D support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

8

0

BEST TV I HAVE EVER SEEN

XBR Z9D Series 29/03/2018 by mntwister (USA)

I have had this great television for 2 months now and every time I turn it on I am amazed at the pure blacks, the sharpness, the great 3D, the huge selection of controls and apps, and the easy to use remote. I have been to many stores to see many televisions and I can't recommend this one any higher than I am. EXTREMELY happy customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

11

0

Sony 4K/3D TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 28/03/2018 by RPMJR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've got a Samsung 1K/3D TV that's 4 years old I compare picture & can see the difference in detail watching Native 4K UHD/HDR movies on disc. I have updated the firmware also to Dolby Vision with support from CS. I don't have the Oppo UDP-203 & waiting on Panasonic DP-UB820 to be produced to see the even better detail & brilliance this TV is capable of watching Dolby Vision and HDR10+ when that becomes mainstream production (Sony firmware update also required). I understand the reason for the panels on the back (hide cables for hung TV) but they are a nuisance for my TV on a stand when I need to access the back panel ports. It's uncluttered in front viewing appearance & I like the light that comes on center bottom when powered up. I'm impressed with all the select-ability in the menus and the TV over all. I feel lucky to have this since I own about 200 3D movies and now that I'm into the 4K world it would be disappointing to not be able to view 3D on my 5.4.1 system, unless I would have to swap TV's back and forth. Thank you Sony, I don't have to do that!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

13

0

Best lcd TV

XBR Z9D Series 16/03/2018 by Cb718 (USA)

I knew it was a good product from the start. But now that I have it I am truly amazed at the quality. Sony has a winner here. Wish they could improve on their marketing efforts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

7

0

Great industry leading features, great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 20/02/2018 by Douggie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my choice of the Z9D and the features it provides

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

13

0

Already broken

65" class (64.5" diag) 06/02/2018 by Mike S in Fl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the TV seven days an it's already not working properly. There is a line down the center and one half is clear and the other fuzzy.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/02/2018

Hi Mike S in Fl, we are sorry to hear what happened. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and attach a photo showing the issue, the model, and the serial number. Regards, -Erin

0

Amazing TV

XBR Z9D Series 05/01/2018  (USA)

This TV is amazing and should only be purchased in the 100" size. I was able to purchase 3 of the 100" screens and placed them in a triangle position. I sit in premium leather chair made of the finest Damascus leather in the middle of this 4K triangle of pure joy. With Sony's HDR and X1 chip even the Golden Girls looks amazing inside the Triangle of Joy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

92

0

XBR65z9D

65" class (64.5" diag) 29/12/2017 by Rkirt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent TV replacing a Panasonic plasma. Picture quality, day or night, bright or dark is outstanding. Pricey.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

40

0

Won't launch NETFLIX

65" class (64.5" diag) 12/12/2017 by none34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a special buton and in the app list but won'tstyart

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

61

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hello none34, we're sorry to hear that. You may check the link below on how to resolve this kind of issue regarding the Netflix application:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55501
Regards, _Bob

0

SONY FAN

75" class (74.5" diag) 07/12/2017 by Kawua12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased online two days before thanksgiving online and I received the TV on Dec . 4th, 2017. We purchased the Sony after reading a lot of information online and inquiring at local store about the capabilities of this Sony XBR75Z9D. We found it to be one of the most capable and visually enhanced for our needs the clarity and colors are fantastic and of course all the wifi capability it has to stream movies. This was a treat for us since we've owned a Sony Bravia XBR 65inch since 2003 and it still works but the colors are no longer there along with it being too dark but the TV still works and is in excellent condition and that is the other reason we purchased this 75inch Sony its a brand that has worked for us far beyond what most people have their TVs for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

44

0

Best of Both Worlds

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/12/2017 by kingskid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like OLED, but not sold on the longevity of it yet, because it's organic. I bought the Z9D and I have the best of both worlds. Deep blacks and great shadow detail come very close to oled, without the blacks crushed and the option of great brightness levels for HDR. The colors are true and depth of picture is amazing. At times 2d is like watching 3d . The picture is very crisp and a pleasure to watch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

50

0

Top of the line

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/12/2017 by CRCO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find one word to describe my new Sony Z9D 4K HDR “Superlative”!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

52

0

Flawed Beauty

75" class (74.5" diag) 18/11/2017 by Roundtop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gorgeous picture compromised by bright green blown pixel. Terrible quality control for the price. Buy something else.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

60

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2017

Hi Roundtop, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great picture quality!

75" class (74.5" diag) 14/11/2017 by musicaddict25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The TV is easy to set up. I like the 4K HDR color too. Very realistic-looking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

60

0

The BEST picture, period.....!!!!

XBR Z9D Series 26/10/2017 by rmyAddison (USA)

Shopped everything, LED/LCD, OLED, Qled, it is the best picture. Once adjusted. presets are all "too strong" to me, brightness turned down to the 15-20 range kills any LED/LCD backlight haze, and the picture transforms to amazing !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

58

0

Z9D SONY 75 INCH TVSTAND FOR TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 25/10/2017 by COCKROACH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

STAND FOR TV VERY WEAK,POOR DESIGN,FEATURES ON REMOTE ON COMPLICATED

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

64

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi COCKROACH, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team if ever changes are needed as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thank you very much for your input. ~Ralph

0

Best TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/10/2017 by Chino 5388 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best tv ever. A little costly but worth every dollar. You will be happy with it believe me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

59

0

75 inch Z9D

75" class (74.5" diag) 08/10/2017 by Mark512 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product has a great picture but it also has significant problems. It turns on by itself at random times and nothing I have been able to do will stop it. A second problem is that it does not interface well with certain receivers and disc players. When I have all three components on, everything works well BUT if i want to listen to a cd only (therefore not needing the tv to be on since it s only music) and am using only the disc player and the receiver, the tv MUST remain on. If I attempt to turn it off the disc player will show "dropouts" in sound. This sounds like a bit of an odd problem but my dealer says it is a result of the tv port remaining "hot" and searching for a signal. This hdmi "renegotiation" apparently causes the sound dropout. I do not have the technical expertise to know if this is actually the case but I do experience the dropouts so you can judge for yourself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

61

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/10/2017

Hi Mark512, We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.
First, we need to verify your set up between the television, Blu-ray player and your receiver. The set up should be the television and Blu-ray player is connected to the receiver. If the TV is turning on by itself, kindly follow the troubleshooting steps from this link.
1. Power off your TV and connected HDMI devices.
2. Unplug the power cord from the electric outlet.
3. Disconnected the HDMI cable connected to the TV.
4. Let the devices no power for 10 minutes.
5. Plug the power cord back into the electrical outlet.
6. Power On the TV, let the HDMI devices disconnected.
7. Once the issue is resolved, connect and set up your HDMI devices.
Regards, -Jay


0

Great Picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 05/10/2017 by JKUCSMA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Picture,so lifelike and real.Android system works ok,little slow sometimes,waiting for Dolby Vision update.Very nice looking bezel and seems well built.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

59

0

Upscaling is very good, but no Dolby Vision yet

65" class (64.5" diag) 01/10/2017 by Rob0270 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the tv. It was between this and an OLED. I backed off those though since I know they get burn in. I wish the remote was the kind that lit up at nite. I enjoy Android but no Directv Now ap is a bummer. Make sure you have a receiver because you will need it. The sound is okay but the volume just isn’t their for a movie like experience. Black levels are not as good as an OLED but the upscaler is probably the best I’ve used. I think they should make the HDR menu more easily to get to and the same for apps. The picture performance is very good but don’t expect the tv to get as dark as an OLED because it won’t, but the brightness is superior. It would of been nice to have an HDMI connector in the front of the tv. Purchase the tv for the picture and not so much for Google Play. I’m not sure why we don’t have access to all the apps.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

55

0

=))))))))))))))

XBR Z9D Series 29/09/2017 by Ariakiller (USA)

Great , i have this TV and Recommend to my friend to buy this TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

47

0

Best LCD television I ever bought.

65" class (64.5" diag) 22/09/2017 by Popcornrobert (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When hook up to a 4k DVD player, the picture quality is amazing using 4k movies with HDR. Everything seems so realistic from the bright sky to shadow details all the way down to incredible blacks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

42

0

Love my SONY Z9D!

65" class (64.5" diag) 08/09/2017 by MrChris58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just LOVE my Z9D! Easy to set up and easy to use! It has all the app's that I could ever want or need for that matter. The color is like looking out a picture window. 3D TV makes me want to reach out a touch the objects coming out of the screen! I know that people have turned their noses up at app, but for those of us who LOVE 3D, this is like manna from Heaven! Thank you, SONY for a job well done!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

12

0

Big disappointment...

75" class (74.5" diag) 04/09/2017 by Scgy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unless you never intend to watch any HD cable, network or sports ever again. Their vaunted "upscaling" renders a blurry, fuzzy picture on a par with the old Standard Definition from ancient times. Sony Service says that's the way it is. Don't waste the serious money required to purchase this supposed best of their best 75" model!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2017

Hi Scgy , We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

PICTURE!!

75" class (74.5" diag) 24/08/2017 by johnnygolfs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did lots of research before deciding what to buy - back and forth between various options and manufacturers. Finally settled on the Z9D & WOW is all I can say. This set is the very best I have ever seen & far exceeded my high expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

9

0

everything it's supposed to be

65" class (64.5" diag) 11/08/2017 by Donald B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this TV in December,Could not be more happy with the tv, the picture quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Great features

XBR Z9D Series 07/08/2017 by Gopalan (USA)

We are very much happy , this TV provides a awsome experience

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

Best TV Ever

75" class (74.5" diag) 05/08/2017 by La30retrop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After going through numerous models by Sony and Samsung, I landed on this Z9D and cannot be more satisfied. With the best picture out of the box with minimal tweaking needed. If you don't want to pay 20k for an OLED at 75" than this tv will give you the same quality for more than half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Truly a Flagship TV!!

XBR Z9D Series 31/07/2017 by Iceman X (USA)

Coming from a XBR 55x850d, i expected a nice update not Major. But what i got was a MAJOR update. This unit was made to go against OLEDs and it does it's job well. Great brights without looking washed out. And VERY good blacks maybe not true blacks like OLED but very close. Colors, contrast and clarity is all great. Very impress with my purchase. Keep up the good work Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

Not as good as it should be

XBR Z9D Series 16/07/2017 by Pizzaman (USA)

I've had Sony TVs for years. The Z9D falls short of expectations especially for an expensive piece of equipment. I returned one and the replacement is worse. Banding and dirty screen effect.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/07/2017

Hello Pizzaman, we regret that the TVs failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Superb

XBR Z9D Series 15/07/2017 by Masenbetta (USA)

Just one word; FABULOUS!!!!! The picture quality is superb, the sound output is add if you are on site of any movie you view. Outstanding! Rated 10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

The best TV for every thing.

XBR Z9D Series 14/07/2017 by i3lack (USA)

4k and none 4k contents are so good. HDR on this beast is a game changer and nothing comes near it. Input lag for games is unnoticeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Z9D thumbs up

XBR Z9D Series 08/07/2017 by Rp22 (USA)

Bought a sony one of the first plasmas and lasted me over 17 years. I know the z9d picture quality is unreal. I hope it'll last me another 17 years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

New TV other one was 11yrs old

100" class (99.5" diag) 08/05/2017 by gr85z (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the TV because we wanted something newer and look at possibility of cutting the cable to watch our show we only have a few select shows we watch and don't need all the extras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

14

18

0

Best Picture ever!

65" class (64.5" diag) 04/05/2017 by Kevin M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You won't beat the detail and clarity of the XBR65Z9D, hands down it even beats the OLEDS. I drove myself crazy and finally after a side by side nit picking back and forth I realized that I couldn't make the OLED as clean and accurate as the XBR65Z9D.. Make no mistake, this is the Ferrari of TV's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

5