20

4.0 based on 20 customer reviews

11
5
0
1
3
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

20 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

IMAX and Dolby Vision / e-arc support

65" class (64.5" diag) 07/09/2019 by Jacked up muscle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What is television a month ago the picture is outstanding Dolby Vision and IMAX are great features in the Netflix calibration mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi, Jacked up muscle!

We are glad you like your new Sony TV. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Z9F TV

75" class (74.5" diag) 10/08/2019 by Sonyman 007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent 4k HDR picture and with Dolby vision gives you everything you would want a tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, Sonyman 007!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl



0

Sony Z9F LED - Best LED TV!

XBR Z9F Series 19/06/2019 by Grandpa Pat (USA)

In my opinion the Sony Z9F is the best all around LED TV. Due to outstanding reviews, I first purchased the Samsung Q9FN. Although the picture quality was outstanding, the motion handling was inferior to the motion handling on two older Sony TVs I own. Watching sports was just too distracting. After first using the factory presets on the Q9FN, I adjusted the motion settings to those recommended by RTINGS and Consumer Reports. No noticeable improvement - which is what drove me to the Sony Z9F. The motion handling is the best of any TV I have viewed (LED or OLED). The picture quality is outstanding, and does not lose any color or clarity when viewing at an angle. 4K content viewing is simply STUNNING. Up-scaling is OUTSTANDING. I have watched the TV for several hundred hours and simply do not understand the review comments from some of the professional review services - about contrast not being the best. The blacks are black; the whites are white and the colors are vibrant and deep. I have the picture mode set to VIVID and love it! What is the complaint about contrast? I think the TV is perfect - and the proof is my wife. Over the years every TV I have shown her in a store "looks good" (they all look the same to her). Now she watches everything on the Z9F. And I do not have to worry about "burn-in"!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

7

0

LED TVs HAVE RUINED MY TV EXPERIENCE

XBR Z9F Series 02/06/2019 by HAMBONE2422 (USA)

IF THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST LED TVs MONEY CAN BUY IM NOT IMPRESSED!!! my plasma recently went out so I purchased this tv from Best Buy and the picture quality sucks , the motion is blurred and all programs look like they were filmed on a cheap camera. Geek Squad has come out to try and fix the picture and they ended up telling us that this is the best it gets. I am extremely unhappy with this tv.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/06/2019

Hello HAMBONE2422,

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Zac

0

Too Much Light Reflection

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/05/2019 by DickBobG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this television a month ago, and I like everything about it except for the sunlight reflection I see on the screen. I did not have this issue with my LCD Sony television that I replaced with this new one. I am not sure why this is. I do have a lot of windows in my home, since I live in sunny Florida. I sure wish there was a way of eliminating this problem, short of putting blinds on all of the windows.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

10

0

Great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/05/2019 by Oooppppppppppppppoop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loved both the picture and the overall look of the tv. It is a great tv with all the bells and whistles.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

This TV is amazing!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 28/04/2019 by King Ghidorah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If I could rate it, I"d give it a 4.5, the only thing that keeps it from being a perfect 5 is the fact that the blacks aren't as inky black as it's predecessor the incredible Z9D. The picture quality of this tv is impressive. The HDR experience is wonderful and the tv actually has shockingly good audio. This tv was definitely underrated by many. I'm very happy with this product and look forward to the Z9G.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Great TV (with a major manufacturing defect)

XBR Z9F Series 25/04/2019 by Thomasfxlt (USA)

I’ve discovered a significant lamination defect in the polarizing layer of this tv that I purchased last fall. Impossible to see without natural light reflection on the display. Sony is dismissing as “user damage” without physically seeing the tv and refuses to send anyone out after looking at some poor cell phone pics I sent them. Impossible to properly photograph. Do the right thing Sony. Come and see your manufacturing quality issues and replace my display. While otherwise a fantastic television, this physical defect is unacceptable and more unacceptable is Sony dismissing it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

Response From Sony Social Support
26/04/2019

Hi Thomasfxlt,

We regret to hear that you have an issue with your SONY. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Earl



0

Unrivaled picture quality. Beats OLED in my view.

XBR Z9F Series 10/04/2019 by Doctor B (USA)

The picture of the z9f is extraordinary. I've owned high end Sony televisions beginning with the first available 1080p set. I replaced the 930c with a 930e and now I have the z9f. I've studied rival sets from other companies and also OLED televisions, and the z9f wins hands down for the quality of the picture, the brilliance of the color palette, and the quality of its black reproduction. As I use an external sound system, I am not interested in how it reproduces sound. There is in my view nothing on the market to rival the z9f. I will eventually move to a Master Series G model when prices come down and sizes are more appropriate to my television theater room. I am distressed to hear the chatter that Sony is discontinuing the z9f. While some negative reviews have cast a cloud over the z9f market, there are enough enthusiastic owners to testify to the sheer excellent of this television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

No peer

XBR Z9F Series 18/03/2019 by AMG7 (USA)

Amazing Tele. Sony truly is the very best. This is for the purist.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

Extreme Disappointment

XBR Z9F Series 12/03/2019 by pateljr5 (USA)

Compared to the Z9D, this TV has an unacceptable level of blooming. I think because it lacks Backlight Master Drive and they skimped on the # of zones. I pre-ordered it rather than waiting for reviews because I trusted Sony. That was a $6,000 mistake. I won't trust them again.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

Response From Sony Social Support
14/03/2019

Hi pateljr5,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

amazing picture

75" class (74.5" diag) 16/02/2019 by MC75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from 900E and am glad I did-- very smooth picture, lifelike color and noticably finer detail- a great set especially in a bright room

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Excellent product

75" class (74.5" diag) 14/02/2019 by JohnSP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly wonderful TV. Picture quality is amazing. Voice remote is great along with the ability to control the cable box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Great for Netflix

65" class (64.5" diag) 18/01/2019 by I like a great TV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a 65" z9d with this tv. I think watching direct tv on a 1080 feed is just ok and not as good as z9d. The images including people on the screen seem to be a little fuzzy and not as crisp as i expected. Where this tv shines is with nexflix viewing.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

11

0

SHADOW OF THE TOMB RAIDER!

XBR Z9F Series 31/12/2018 by STEALTHDRAGON4LIFE (USA)

This TV is a leap forward in technology just look at the precision fully array backlight and the X1 ultimate ship delivers real time processing whether it's the shading the color the HDR everything is in perfect perspective tv I use it for gaming and I am blown away by the color accuracy I prefer realistic color settings and I game on a play station 4 pro this TV really really amazes me every day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

Great tv

75" class (74.5" diag) 05/12/2018 by Walstib (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are looking for an all around family TV in a living room environment this TV can't be beat. It's very bright, the colors are deep and full and the out of the box settings are very. There is no dirty screen effect (DSE) so the panel is excellent. The reason for only 4 stars is that if you typically watch this TV in a dark home theater room environment you will notice that bright objects near the bars on top and bottom of movies tend to bleed into the bars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

18

0

Amazing Picture

XBR Z9F Series 16/11/2018 by RyanH (USA)

Returned my 75- inch Samsung Q9 for the Z9F. Sony’s processor keeps motion blur at a minimum. The Samsung was quite disappointing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

20

0

Happy camper

XBR Z9F Series 25/10/2018 by Gabe99 (USA)

There was only one for sale in all of South Florida's Best Buys, and I got it! I like to buy things at the store. I just set up today and man, I'm happy. Incredible picture. So much brighter than the OLEDs, and the blacks could are as good as can be for an LED. The brightness factor outweighs the need for black blacks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

10

0

This is my first 4K TV and it's like I've never wa

65" class (64.5" diag) 09/10/2018 by dalejoel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this after reading many, many reviews of this and other televisions. The super particular crowd will complain about the blooming and the lack of zones and how the blacks are not "inky black." It's true. There are less zones than on the Z9D. There is more blooming than the Z9D. The blacks aren't as "inky." Also... this TV blows away everything I've used up until this point. Do I wish they had used the Backlight Master Drive system of the previous flagship model? Yes. But in real world terms I barely notice the blooming. The black levels are better than when you go to the theater. And the natural colors of this tv.... the upscaling capability... the brightness... the off angle viewing... the tiny input lag for gaming... the responsive Google TV interface... the voice control... the Google assistant... the eARC... the Dolby Vision support... the full bandwidth HDMI 2.0b ports... the minimal bezels... the just general awesomeness... should make anybody but the most particular among us happy. I ruled out OLED because I game. And no matter what people tell you about it will burn in or it won't burn in... I didn't even want to bother. Also, seeing this tv side by side with the A9F, showing Best Buy's loop of night video panning across Las Vegas... I can tell you, for certain this TV does not get as black as the A9F OLED. But I can also tell you that you see more detail in those dark scenes. They are dark enough. And the pick up of detail makes up for the lack of pure, deep space darkness. If your heart is set on the blackest of blacks... then go OLED. Otherwise, this tv makes me quite happy. I upgraded from a 10 year old Samsung LN52650. The difference is astounding. I turned on my PS4 and was mouth agape. From the menu system. I kid you not. This TV made the menu system on my PS4 look so good I didn't even recognize it. The MENU!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

28

9

0

Brand New Sony Model with bugs

XBR Z9F Series 20/09/2018 by DougW (USA)

I was very excited to get this brand new Master Series model from Sony. I already own an XBR65900D from a few years ago and love the picture. I was considering the XBR900F and the XBR940E 75" models when the Sony Rep told me about this new model. I did a lot of research and was impressed by the two others models when I learned about this new model. My issues may not be the same as others but, in my case, the Spectrum Cable Box would not sync the sound with the TV using an HDMI cable. Also, I tried downloading an app (Kodi) from the Google Play Store which could not be downloaded due to software issues with the TV. I talked to both Tier 1 and Tier 2 support at Sony with no resolution to this problem. So, the TV had to be returned for the other model. Sorry Sony, you need to make sure this TV works before sending it out to the retail stores.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

50

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2018

Hi DougW, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We look forward that the TV replacement works perfectly. Regards, Erin