12

4.2 based on 12 customer reviews

6
3
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

12 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Good Picture but Sound, not so much...

85" class (84.6" diag) 13/09/2020 by nljgimd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality in this television is outstanding however the operating system and audio characteristics leave a lot to be desired for a device of this projected quality. The Android operating system cripples this television and the sound is not as robust as one would expect of a television of this ilk. The remote control is not backlit illuminated either. As I stated at the outset, there is no doubt that the picture quality is definitely superior, the physical appearance is also very robust and if you are not mounting the unit, the legs allow for a sound at that you will need. TV is expensive and for the price Sony should have provided a whole lot more processing options in the menus to permit better optimization of the operating system, the way Sony used to in earlier times. I have owned several flagship units made by Sony and this is somewhat disappointing in terms of system flexibility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Super sharp bright picture.

85" class (84.6" diag) 20/08/2020 by DJRC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Definitely has some candlepower. I was getting tired of not being able to view dark scenes. This tv definitely brightens things up. Great upscaling. Not much more you could ask for except some true 8K content. A little disappointed that Sony doesnt provide a demo for customers that purchase this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

14

0

Superb picture with great sound -

KD-85ZG9 20/04/2020 by Ian_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a 65"4K TV that had failed. On researching all the TV types of 65" and over, I came across several five-star reviews for this 85" monster and thought, why not. Wow, is all I can say, I have had the TV for ten day's now and can say this, it has the best picture I have ever seen, period. For me, any noticeable DSE (Dirty Screen Effect) would have been a massive negative, this screen is an absolute gem, No visible DSE at all, just pure white all over and so bright. Positives for me are - No visible DSE just a pure white screen, major importance for me. Fantastic whites that pop at you from the screen. Great colours and skin tones. Good contrast. So bright a picture and can be used in a normally bright room with no problem, unlike some OLED TVs that are better in a dark room. Great black depth. Very good TV speaker sound. The speed at which this TV works with the Android system is a pleasure to use with No lag in response to the remote control command and you can scroll through the apps at great speed. On updating the firmware to the latest version the Home screen apps appear to be of a higher resolution than before with clearer on-screen icons. The motion handling, normally I would turn off any motion handling as I dislike the 'soap opera' video effect, But on this TV and with Sony's excellent algorithm it is very good indeed and I use it at a low setting. Blooming is not a noticed issue for me with general viewing being excellent all round. The perceived Negatives for me were - The quoted electric consumption of 636 watts, with the brightness set to a normal level for standard viewing without the need for the viewer to wear Sun Glasses it uses electricity at a much more friendly rate of about 235-250 watts, so this is a bonus for me. It will, of course, use more in electricity in HDR mode, but that is not normal day time viewing, only from HDR BluRays. The top and bottom black bars on a widescreen presentation in a normal daylight lit room are fine, in a totally dark room they are affected by adjacent white scenes and some minor blooming being evident by making the bars slightly lighter at times, some soft lighting in the room takes care of that for me and is not a big issue if it was a big issue I would have gone the OLED route, but then I would miss out on the punchy brightness and colours of the KD-85ZG9 which is wonderful to watch. Also on day one, the 85" TV looked massive in comparison to the old 65" TV that it replaced, but as before two or three days later you get perfectly accustomed to the newly acquired audio-visual experience. I did not go out specifically looking to buy a monster 85" TV and would probably have gone for a 75" upgrade in size, the Sony Master series 8K TV only comes in 85" or 98" so if I wanted the best TV Sony currently offer within my price range this has to be it. On reflection, I'm glad that my hand was forced to buy a bigger screen size than I thought I needed because once it is set up you soon get used to the bigger size, yes it dominates the lounge, so what, bigger is better in my view and with that lovely 8K resolution even though there are currently no 8k sources, my photos look lovely when presented on the TV screen, buyers remorse, none, if you can afford it, just get it, you won't be disappointed, it is built to a very high standard and totally solid, and heavy. Almost forgot about the lovely new metal-faced remote which is voice-enabled, you press a button on the remote and speak, Google will find what you require on youtube, etc, also because it is an Android TV you can download apps from the Google play store to add to the TV's functionality. Overall, extremely pleased with my lovely New Sony 85ZG9

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

7

0

Awesome TV

XBR Z9G Series 01/03/2020 by Paco G (USA)

I got this tv for my 50th birthday as a present to me it was this or a brand new car and I’m totally very happy with my Z9G 8K TV, before this I had the Sony XBR79x900B That I purchased in 2015 and it was awesome too but this tv takes it to another level in definition and quality you can’t compared a Sony with a LG tv it’s comparing a BMW with a Ford, Sony in my mind is the best Tv company ever. Thank you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

83

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/03/2020

Hi, Paco Gmf70hffk9gcq90cz63scmjn9n!

Good to know that you are happy with this TV. Thank you for sharing this feedback!

0

Great

XBR Z9G Series 27/02/2020 by Arun R (USA)

Sony - Z9G | MASTER Series | LED | 8K | High Dynamic Range (HDR) | Smart TV (Android TV) Very Good Product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

81

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/02/2020

Hi Arun R,

Thank you, we’re happy to hear you love your Z9G MASTER Series 8K HDR TV. We pack a lot of technology into our TVs to ensure you get incredible picture quality. Utilizing our best processor ever, the X1 Ultimate, the Z9G upscales everything you watch to near 8K HDR picture quality, so everything you watch looks absolutely stunning. And, our MASTER Series TVs are meticulously engineered to faithfully convey the creator’s intent on-screen.

~Ralph

0

excellent picture but!

XBR Z9G Series 26/02/2020 by Hi Tech Calibrator (USA)

Excellent picture with the HDR and BT 2020 Bit engage but the 8K port is bad ,can not get a 4K source to play without problems.For example either there is no picture at all or spots all over the entire screen it doesn't matter if a video source is on it or not ,I hope when the 2.1 HDMI port is available that Sony will swap it out! "Note Sony" My My Audio and Video technical skills are Advanced so don't throw up some basic responses you read off a sheet the port is BAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

81

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi, Hi Tech Calibratorb1isfu6oa848t3pyyk0z8jiad!


Thank you, we’re happy to hear you love your Z9G MASTER Series 8K HDR TV. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback.

0

Great picture BUT!

XBR Z9G Series 22/10/2019 by robdman (USA)

Very buggy ,I have done 4 master resets to correct sound, picture twice and just today flashing.for me paying over $13,000.00 I should not have these problems!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

42

106

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/10/2019

Hello, robdman!

We sincerely regret what happened. Let us try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps below:

1. Update the software of the TV (ref: sony.com/electronics/support/lcd-tvs-android-z9g_zg9-series/xbr-85z9g/downloads/00016299)

2. Test other devices to see if it will resolve the issue.

3. Power reset the cable box and the TV.
- Unplug the power cable of the cable box.
- Unplug the TV power cord from the wall and wait one minute.
- Plug the power cords for the TV and the cable box back in.

You may also follow the steps on this link https://helpguide.sony.net/tv/gusltn2/v1/en-003/08-02_02.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Reboot after reboot

XBR Z9G Series 13/09/2019 by Charlie1234567890 (USA)

Had the tv for almost a month. Picture is outstanding. Software is God awful. android tv has to be rebooted and rebooted. Super hard to navigate. Get ready to put your usernames and passwords in again and again. Reset and reboot. Put in passwords again. Reset reboot and repeat. Errors and errors. Why Sony would put this junk software into such a nice tv is beyond me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

37

120

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/09/2019

Hi, Charlie1234567890!

We're sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. Let's isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/lcd-tvs-android-z9g_zg9-series/xbr-98z9g/downloads/00016299

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

disappointing definition

XBR Z9G Series 28/08/2019  (USA)

what good is the 8k OLED tv when your playstation vue streams in 720p?

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

170

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/08/2019

Hello,

Everything is upscaled to get close to 8K HDR with the Picture Processor. Analyzed and optimized individually to adjust the overall contrast, sharpness, and color for a
picture that looks nearly identical to the real thing. You can enjoy a huge range of apps from Google Play.

0

Simply Stunning !!

XBR Z9G Series 17/07/2019 by gab5 (USA)

Am a new owner of this particular model, in the 85-inch class. My self-described review title is worth repeating - Simply Stunning. Viewing this this television, using an upscaled 4K Ultra DVD, almost leads the viewer to believe as though he/she were looking through a window - it's that good. If you desire a no-compromise viewing experience, look no further than the amazing Z9G !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

110

0

Sony 85 Z9G 8K

85" class (84.6" diag) 15/07/2019 by SRS5451 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully designed TV with an amazing picture and excellent built-in sound and Smart TV features. Expensive but as they say-you get what you pay for!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

110

0

Amazing new technologies.

XBR Z9G Series 27/03/2019 by Niapooh86 (USA)

I purchased this about a month ago, and wouldnt trade it for the world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

73

132