280

2.9 based on 280 customer reviews

48
55
56
51
70
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03/11/2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07/12/2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

280 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound and great fit but....

WF-1000X 13/02/2019 by Washroom (USA)

I purchased these and was very excited since nuance the wi1000 over the neck ones as they sound amazing. These truly wireless fit good and sounded very good. The only real issue with these is that they have a super bright blue blinking light that just doesn’t stop. Every time I touch skip to next won’t or noise cancelling or just any button it blinks for 30 seconds. This is terrible to use in public and especially at night. Forget about using in dark room to watch videos. It lights up the whole room. I notice people staring at me all the time at the freaking constant blinking. Very distracting. Returned them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfortable, with some minor flaws to iron out

WF-1000X 12/02/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The positives; great and comfortable earbuds. Sound quality is good. Battery life is reasonable, and case holds a few recharges. The earphones come with numerous buds - more than enough to ensure a comfortable fit and a good seal. There are some great aftermarket buds that fit this model, also. The sound quality is great, as I have always expected of Sony products. The audio is crisp and clear, and the bass is responsive. These earphones stand up to competition - not as good as my V-Moda cans sound-wise, but more than adequate for my use (commuting, office, and gym) and super-portable. The adaptive sound profiling does a good job of matching your environment, also. The other benefit for commuting is the battery life (approx two hours of full playing with noise cancelling enabled), and you get a few charges from the case (relatively quickly, too). I find if I religiously plug the earphones in to charge whenever I am not using them (while I am in meetings/on calls in the office, for example) I don't run out of battery. For longer journeys its certainly worth taking some manual headphones to preserve the battery life when you are up and moving. The downsides; connectivity, noise cancellation, and notifications. Bluetooth connectivity is not overly robust (especially to the right hand ear bud), and seems to struggle in locations with a lot of digital interference (trains, for example). This is despite me enabling the app to prioritise signal quality over sound quality. The noise cancellation is not as effective as other Sony noise cancelling products (and certainly does not eliminate background noise, to manage expectations). While background noise is masked whilst listening to music or movie, they do not work robustly to just give you some "quiet headspace". Finally, the notification LED (that flashes when there is a notification... really pointless, as you can't see it) and chime (that cuts in over audio... really annoying!) can't be deactivated in the app. This would be a really sensible software feature. I haven't been able to work out if using a single bud switches to mono sound automatically (if not, this would be a great feature). Overall, I would definitely recommend - especially for the price. Specifically, if you are after use in the gym, the office, or on your commute (up to two hours). I would not recommend if you need continual use for more than two hours regularly, or if noise cancelling is your key reason for buying - especially if its for the silence! I hope that if Sony take anything from this review, it is to update the firmware/software to improve the noise cancelling, the notification options, the Bluetooth connectivity, and single-bud-use-to-mono. These four changes would make these little earpieces stand up to serious scrutiny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Useless and overpriced

WF-1000X 08/02/2019 by JohnV320 (USA)

Opened the box and 1 hour later updates were finally complete. I’ve had them two days now and still can’t get them to play sound continuously out of the right bud. Cuts in and out all the time. Bluetooth is so bad that if you pass your hand by one of the buds the sound stops. An 86 page manual downloaded for help was useless. Now I’m just trying to figure out how to give these worthless earbuds back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Poor battery

WF-1000X 05/02/2019 by Miamale (USA)

The battery dies in 60 minutes or less, that's not enough for watching a movie, or any normal usage. On the other hand the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sound quality is perfect

WF-1000X 02/02/2019 by Leeglock (United Kingdom)

I have Sony headphones that are 30 years old and sound as good as new . Hope these are as good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awful product for expensive price

WF-1000X 29/01/2019 by Ryan1231 (USA)

I’ve had these headphones for about a month now and I’ve never been more displeased with a product in my life (not exaggerating at all). Not even considering sound quality, comfort, etc; these headphones struggle to perform the FUNDAMENTAL TASK of reliably playing music through both your ears. I’ve never had to struggle so hard just to LISTEN to my music. Right ear pod disconnects almost every time I use these. Other times they will cut out music entirely out of nowhere and I will have to completely re-add the Bluetooth to my iPhone. It blows my mind that these are basically twice as expensive as AirPods. Totally overpriced product that BARELY works. Not to mention battery life is significantly less than AirPods, and the microphone for phone calls is garbage. I really did try to give these a shot because I wanted noise cancellation, but I would never want anyone to have to deal with the types of issues I have since purchasing these. Not even trying to be dramatic with this review, just absolutely stunned that these are $300 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

Response From Sony Social Support
31/01/2019

Hi Ryan1231, we regret to hear that your headphone failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

So much potential but not delivered

WF-1000X 26/01/2019 by SimonPN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was really looking forward to trying these out as a loyal Sony fan. The battery life managed 55mins at most (without noise cancelling). The noise cancelling was very ineffective. Build quality great as you would expect. But features didn’t work out for me and sounds quality (loudness) could have been better. A real shame.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice design but poor performance

WF-1000X 23/01/2019 by coyote_lolo12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very disappointed by this product, the performance of the noise cancelling is very poor, battery does not stand long, blue tooth is disconnecting all the time on the right headphone, and it is complex to use

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 22/01/2019 by IanT 64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and very comfortable to wear. Sound quality is great. I have thoroughly recommend these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

OK

WF-1000X 21/01/2019 by a1s2d3f4g5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These work fine on android devices but I can't get them to work on a windows desktop.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great sound quality

WF-1000X 20/01/2019 by Ishable (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a present to my wife as she uses public transport and listens to music and audio books. The noise cancelling is great and sound quality is superb and choice of buds to fit your ears. The charging station is neat, compact and easy to use but sometimes the charge goes even after they been on charge all night but may be doing something wrong as the instructions are a bit vague. Overall top quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Awesome

WF-1000X 18/01/2019 by Kikiloveme (USA)

Very nice, bought them a few months ago, very well working device

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound, not so great battery life

WF-1000X 15/01/2019 by 3Se7ens (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones about a month ago and have used them quite a lot in the interim period. Good points: easy to use and setup, great sound quality, lightweight and comfortable to wear, compact carry/charger case. Bad points: battery only last for a max of 2 hours on normal use. I like to go for long walks but find the charge cannot keep up with the time I'm out walking. Overall though I am pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 14/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these as a Christmas gift. Really happy with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 11/01/2019 by Pizzapreacher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had hoped for something better than my AirPods but I’m not sure I got it. Having to sacrifice quality for connection is such a shame. Even then there is still some swinging side to side of the sound balance as the right earphone struggles to stay connected.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Absolute Trash

WF-1000X 07/01/2019 by marissapy (USA)

I am lucky if both headphones connect. Takes at least three to four attempts to get them to connect, then that only lasts for about three minutes, MAX, until one cuts out. This is the most disappointing purchase I have ever made. I bought these because I lost an airpod, was curious about the noise canceling. Foolish and stupid move. I should have stuck with Apple. Shame on me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
11/01/2019

Hi marissapy,


Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 07/01/2019 by Martiewill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was bought these as a gift and I never put them down. The sound is great as is the usability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect headphones

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Shanta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was my 2019 Christmas gift from my sister. I simply loved it. These headphones are not only smart and clever design but also powerful compare to its size. Exceeded my expectation :) I used my headphones while I am at gym or travelling but not when I am driving or walking. Noise cancellation is too good so I don’t want to take risk. It also has an ambiance sound option which is effective while you are on the move. Only thing is that it has 3 hrs battery backup, maybe in future this will improve. Sony is a brand to trust. I wish if I could give more than 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Absolute garbage

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Sucker19 (USA)

I bought these today and they might have the worst instructions since the stone age. The instructions are pictures with no words to describe what to do. Then after connecting to my iphone they told me to get the apps which I did. It said please update the headphones. I did at 50% it said please reinsert into the case the right ear never connected again. These are going back.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
10/01/2019

Hi Sucker19,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

Defective Unit - Disappointed

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Racha (USA)

Excited to receive a new set. But one of them won't even charge. Left headset keeps blinking in red and never charges. Right headset got charged fine. Extremely disappointed that Sony like company sends a defective unit. Need to work on returning it now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
10/01/2019

Hi Racha,

We regret to hear that the unit needs to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Really good set of head phones

WF-1000X 05/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these for Christmas and I'm so pleased. They have great sound on them and anyone who says differently need their ears checking. I get the train to work through London every morning and cant hear a thing around me. The only down side to the sound quality is that in some areas with lots of interference such as wifi's or train lines. The right ear cuts out so that they can prioritise some noise to the left. It doesn't cut out completely and normally only last a few moments while it establishes a new connection. Can be very annoying but overall something I can deal with. They have an ok battery life, believe it's 3 hours in the headphones and also 3 hours in the charge pack that comes with it. For me this is more than enough, however if you are a person to listen to them all day then you'll probably want another set. They sit really nicely in the ear. However, if you use them for running like I do and you sweat, then they are not great at staying in the ear. Saying that, when I changed the ear buds to the black foam like buds, they stayed in much better during my run and barely had to move them. They could do with just something that made them hook into the ear just a little better. They look great, especially in rose gold, so liberally I am really happy with them. They don't have volume control so you still need to change that on what ever device you're listening to, but you can skip replay and pause songs via the headphones. Also there is an ap the updates the software in the headphones. Sound quality: 5/5 Sound consistency: 4/5 Look: 4/5 Price: 3/5 Fit: 3/5 Battery life: 3/5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Nice looking not too big

WF-1000X 04/01/2019 by Apple9686 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only tried it a couple of times but all.seems pretty good. Nothing to complain about yet .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed

WF-1000X 01/01/2019 by Mhaddrell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was expecting a lot from these little fellas ie Great sound, great noise reduction, basically all the things it says on the tin. Alas, it wasn’t to be. Virtually non existent NR (Yes, I have tried the different settings & the various sized buds), low volume et all. Will be sticking ‘em on eBay pretty sharpish.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Annoying in combination with film

WF-1000X 29/12/2018  (USA)

The sound is good. But bought it to watch movies while traveling. The sound has a delay to the movie, witch is very annoying. Tried the EarPods of a friend. These do not have this problem. So payed lots of money for the wrong product. Should have bought the Apple's

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/01/2019

Hi Matt Lindy,

We regret to hear about what happened. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

0

Sound problems

WF-1000X 29/12/2018 by Orik (USA)

The right earphone keeps disconnecting. The sound is delayed so watching videos is impossible. Also low battery life makes this a waste of money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Worst Headphones I Have Tried.

WF-1000X 23/12/2018 by npkw (USA)

I received these as a gift about a year ago. I was immediately frustrated with them, as I could not get the to connect properly. I put them away and told myself I'd give them another shot later. Being a Sony product, I have had nothing but good experiences with their previous products, so I assumed this was an error on my end, maybe I wasn't using them properly? When I pulled them out to give them a second chance, they sincerely disappointed me. The original problems I was experiencing we're connection related, as the right earbud would constantly cut out at random intervals. Overall, I would estimate that the right earbud was actively producing sound for 40% of the time. Not only were they having the same connectivity issues as before, but they had worsened. I updated them over the Sony headphones app, and switched the connection priority to stable instead of sound quality. Nothing really changed, except they seemed to cut out more. Concerned that this was a problem with my phone, I tried with my friends phones. I have an Android, so I figured maybe it would react differently when paired with an iPhone. Unfortunately, the same result persisted. I googled this problem to see if there were any other fixes or similar cases. It turns out this is a very common problem. When they do work, the headphones sound pretty good. The form factor is great for exercise, and the active noise canceling is great. However, the connection issues that I (and others) have been having completely ruins the product for me. I ended up throwing these out because they frustrated me too much to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/12/2018

Hello Npkw, we're sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your personal and product information.

We'll do our best to help you with this concern.
Regards, _Bob

0

Good but not for videos

WF-1000X 22/12/2018 by Mickf_666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great headphones for music and I use them on a daily basis. Case battery has a good life span. Found that there is too much latency when watching video and updating version is a little sensitive to other Bluetooth devices but it’s worth it for the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Garbage.

WF-1000X 17/12/2018 by Ankhati (USA)

Noise cancelling is not really effective. On phonecalls people wonder if it is raining in the background and only one headphone is active. utterly disappointing.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
18/12/2018

Hi Ankhati,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

0

Good earphones but with some flaws

WF-1000X 17/12/2018 by Consumer199 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like these earphones but there are some issues I have to point out. First of all it loses Bluetooth connection from time time and second the ear pieces does not hold securely in the ear (especially if you are moving). I don't use this device very often but those are the issues I have noticed. Overall despite the negative aspects of this product I am quite satisfied with the earphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great portable bluetooth headphones

WF-1000X 11/12/2018 by pg12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a travel option alternative to on-ear noise cancelling headphones that can be quite bulky. Love neat design, large range of fitting options, comfort over long periods (couple of hours, so far) and noise cancelling abilities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointing

WF-1000X 07/12/2018  (United Kingdom)

The sound is fine and the noise cancelling works as well as can be expected given the nature of the device. I wear them when riding my bike, running and in the gym and I am constantly having to fidget with them to make sure they don't drop out of my ear. I also wear them on the train and when flying and granted they perform better. I think the flimsy piece of rubber that is designed to help them stay in the ear is poorly designed and already one of them has stretched.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound but drop-out annoys.

WF-1000X 06/12/2018 by Jimbo55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very stylish and the sound quality is excellent. The problem is the sound drops out on the right side almost constantly. This is too annoying to really enjoy music or movie but just manageable for telecoms.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Wireless in-ears I have heard!

WF-1000X 02/12/2018 by SRMT123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking for a pair of truly wireless in-ears and must have auditioned 10+ pairs, all of which had some kind of drawback; poor sound, not truly wireless (neckband isn't my idea of wireless), poor fit or poor battery life. These, however, changed my opinion, they are excellent in every department!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lag!

WF-1000X 01/12/2018 by z_fa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is aight but videos are generally unwatchable due to the delay between mouths moving and sound coming out.. Connection can be a bit wobbly for periods of time too

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Poor Performance

WF-1000X 30/11/2018 by Techky (United Kingdom)

I'm quite disappointed with the product as it hasn't been as good as what the specs say. The battery doesn't last for 3 hours I have used it in a 2-hour lesson that I sit in every week and it lasts for 1 hour 15 mins before I have to sit listening to people talking. It's also disappointing that the Bluetooth connection only functions when the left earpiece is out of the case and not the right.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Good quality and neat but battery life is poor

WF-1000X 29/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the noise cancelling and love the wireless connection so very good quality and hassle free so ideal for travellers. However the advertised battery life is 'up to 3 hours' but in reality the charge frequently does not last a 2 hour flight. Then have to place back in the case which holds some further recharge but means the headphones cannot be used.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

they work better with the galaxy note 9 no problem

WF-1000X 28/11/2018 by stanley821 (USA)

problems with skipping, one ear piece cutting out

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value

WF-1000X 27/11/2018 by Micky24601 (United Kingdom)

I'm using these with my Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact Phone. THey work just fine, and the sound is superb - especially with Tidal high-res streaming music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too bulky

WF-1000X 27/11/2018 by Malcev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For me this product is too heavy and bulky. The units don't stay in my ears and fall out when I bend my head forwards. In other respects they are easy to use and sound is good but I purchased them in order to be able to move around freely so are a disaappointment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound, disappointing ANC and cut outs

WF-1000X 26/11/2018 by mcwildcard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these to wear for my commute, the ANC is quite low level, and so although it takes the edge off the noise on public transport, it doesn't block it out by any means. The most disappointing problem is the frequent cut outs on the right ear, which can only be partially remedied by switching off ANC and reducing the sound quality. The sound quality is the best thing about these, as it's surprisingly decent for wireless in ears.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Battery drains in case

WF-1000X 25/11/2018 by Pixlwurks (USA)

Battery drains in the case. Latest firmware, 2.0, reset left & right several times, (15 sec). No go. Overnight, goes from "battery level high" to "medium". VERY Disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sounds good, doesn't work well

WF-1000X 17/11/2018 by dlormans (USA)

I purchased these to replace AirPods. I regret it, and wish I'd kept the Apple headphones. They sound fine, but connectivity issues plague this device. The right ear-bud constantly drops out. I can not update the firmware (it always fails.) There is no way to tell how well charged the case is, which is an absurd oversight. I understand some people think these are more comfortable than AirPods, but I had the opposite experience - I have had difficulty choosing the correct tips for my ears. The audio quality on calls is very poor (people can't hear me), and the call only comes through on the left side. On top of all this, the "noise cancelling" (a major point of difference between these and AirPods) is very poor. The difference between turning it on and off is minimal at best. As a "premium" product with a "premium" price tag, these faults make this product very poor value.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/11/2018

Hi dlormans , we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
-Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Great In Ear Phones

WF-1000X 09/11/2018 by Gazbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace my Bose and am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible Bluetooth connection

WF-1000X 06/11/2018 by Viv30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a frustrating pair of headphones, great sound quality but let down by terrible Bluetooth connection which render them useless when walking through train stations or busy streets, e.g. commute to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Horrible

WF-1000X 05/11/2018 by lilic (USA)

I bought these three months ago and the first day I used them they were not to bad since I was just watching a show at the airport but after the 1st week the battery would not stay charged for its "up to 9 hours play time." I would charge the case and them charge the head phones that seemed to to stop charging half way through and needed me to take them out an reinsert them. The "play time" last 2 hours tops and that is if I'm lucky. The instruction pamphlet it came with made no sense as it was a few pictures not detailing what it did. I will need to look up how many clicks does what. Also the right headphone does not automatically turn on like the left and you both of them at the same time unlike with others you could keep one off and the other on so you wouldn't waste battery life on both. The design is nice but the performance for $200 headphones sucks. AIso there is no way from what I found to change the volume using the headphones. Wasted $200 on these when I could have bought something cheaper that would have worked better. Regret this purchase 100% to bad that Best Buy only has a 14 day return policy. One good note, when they do work the sound is pretty good until it cuts off on one of the earbuds.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/11/2018

Hi lilic, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number. Thanks!

0

Like em. Fit well and noise cancelling v good feat

WF-1000X 01/11/2018 by baker76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

See above. Like the charging box. Great fit and excellent sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great when it works

WF-1000X 31/10/2018 by Notoriousvak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and it had to be returned. The right channel kept dropping out when walking even if I had the device in my jacket's breast pocket. Really disappointed as the sound quality was great but not suited for a life with movement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Almost a Great Set of Headphones

WF-1000X 26/10/2018 by eMTG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With so much to love it's a great shame these headphones let themselves down in both battery life and with odd connection issues and the strange choice to have call audio in just one ear. The delay in audio when watching video is very disappoint for a premium product too. Wonderful sound and solid noise cancelling matched with a comfortable fit is compromised by these issues.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Passive noise cancelling

WF-1000X 22/10/2018 by vilepill (USA)

There is no active noise cancelling, you just fill your ear with the plug and do not hear...

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Battery case won’t charge.

WF-1000X 21/10/2018 by Amy P (USA)

Usually don’t write reviews, but when I pay $200 for headphones, I expect to get at least a year or two out of them. I got 7 months. I’m extremely disappointed. they won’t charge anymore :-(

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2018

Hi Amy, we regret that the unit failed to meet your expectations. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email to further assist you. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Sony, noise cancelling headphones

WF-1000X 21/10/2018 by LTLF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst these bluetooth ear pods are useful when travelling on the tube / train and they recharge well in the recharge box. I would not say their noise cancelling ability, matches Bose. Tried on long distance train journey with both and Bose still No 1 for noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 09/10/2018 by Soggy (United Kingdom)

As a replacement for my Bose earphones , I found the noise cancelling not as good , poor battery life and a significant latency delay when paired with my iPad .

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Video out of sync

WF-1000X 06/10/2018 by Komec (USA)

Sound quality if just fine and ear fit is ok, but show stopper for me is that the video and sound are completly out of sync, making these headphones useless for me atleast.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2018

Hi Komec,

We regret to hear about what happened. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

Poor connection and very limited noise cancelling

WF-1000X 05/10/2018 by Ally1903 (United Kingdom)

I bought these after speaking to the Sony rep in store at John Lewis in Glasgow. I explained I wanted a decent noise cancelling feature and stable connection. I was leaving on holiday the following day and wanted to watch a few movies to take my mind off flying (which I hate). I guess if I had more time I might have searched for more reviews but here’s my thoughts on these earphones. First thing I noticed was the noise cancellation feature is poor to the point I’d question its fit with the definition. The rep said once activated it would easily cancel the ambient noise of the plane. This was not the case. In fact I couldn’t get the volume on my iPad loud enough to stop the in-cabin background noise interfering with the movies I attempted to watch. Second big issue is connection. It dips in and out even when sitting still so you can forget about listening to anything for a prolonged period of time without the frustration of losing connection in the right bud. I like the recharging/carry case and the build quality feels good. The sound quality is good when working but this product has really significant flaws that cancel any positives. Kind of feels it’s been rushed to market without a comprehensive test. Sadly as a customer I’m trying to avoid a guinea pig experience. Once I’m home and the holiday wash is on I’m popping down to JL for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Do not live up to expectations

WF-1000X 03/10/2018 by TonyKH (United Kingdom)

Earphones don't sync properly and right earphone cut out. They are also not noise-cancelling

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Huge drop out in the right ear piece

WF-1000X 01/10/2018 by Jimbo77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On day one of having these, I noticed huge drop out in the right earphone. It'd happen before I hit the end of the street, and would generally continue for the remainder of the journey. Could be a hardware fault. They went straight back to Sony for a repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good fit. Great sound but sporadic drop outs

WF-1000X 28/09/2018 by Koda2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had about 2 weeks to replace AirPods. More comfy to wear and the sound is fantastic. not particularly good noise cancelling (which was main reason for choice) & they periodically drop out - usually for milliseconds but noticeable. I’m happy with them but not sure I would recommend - this is a very personal choice & I am more than happy to choose to keep them with all their capriciousness.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good Sound

WF-1000X 20/09/2018 by Jez131166 (United Kingdom)

Acquired because of reviews on Utube, they match everything I require, comfort, sound quality and most of all noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not worth the money.

WF-1000X 17/09/2018 by Gwood (USA)

About this product 7 months ago, after 3 months the right earbud stopped working properly. When I contacted Sony about it they told me to get an app that we should fix it, but it never did. And now after 7 months, my batteries won't even fully charged. No matter how long I leave it plugged in it only charges to medium. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2018

Hi Gwood, we're sorry to hear about this. However, you may visit the link below for more information on how to fix the charging issue of your headphones. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html

0

Nearly Perfect

WF-1000X 15/09/2018 by Patton77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, build, but battery could be better, and sometimes the right ear bud cuts out for a few seconds every now and then

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unacceptable bugs, don’t buy

WF-1000X 13/09/2018 by Sam75017 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in August 2018 and I truly regret this decision. The right-ear device is very often disconnected and this turns my experience upside down. AND the micro is that poor that people don’t hear me when I am on the phone. I make many phone calls on the go and I can NOT use my device when in the phone. Compared to my (awesome) previous Bose device, this is black and white. For EURO 200, i would at least expect from a wireless device, well, NOT to have connection issues, and to have a microphone that works! I am very disappointed in Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

RIGHT EARBUD HAD CONNECTION ISSUES

WF-1000X 13/09/2018 by JALEXANDER (United Kingdom)

RIGHT EARBUD HAD CONNECTION ISSUES, AND THERE IS NO APP TO CONTROL THE HEADPHONES FROM A LAPTOP

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 27/08/2018 by Zanzibobstar (USA)

For a top-range audio experience, i would look elsewhere. Poor charge, dropped connections, latency on video/audio, even noice cancelling not their best. There is little to recommend, unfortunately.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2018

Hi Zanzibobstar,


Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

One earpiece not functioning

WF-1000X 23/08/2018 by Prazu (United Kingdom)

Not so happy with purchase. Sound is good, power is great 3hrs but one ear stopped producing sound just like that

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 23/08/2018 by Gabi07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

when you’re watching youtube or any other video streaming you will have a big sound delay that is so annoying .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Small and comfortable

WF-1000X 21/08/2018 by Not So Good Sony (USA)

I've had these for about six months and have found a number of thing I really don't like 1st the headphones don't fix into the charger tight and come lose in travel killing the battery. Can't tell you how many times I've charged these before leaving for the airport and upon take off putting them on to find there dead or close to it. 2nd when listening to with these a number of time one ear or the other will cut out for a second to two just enough to drive you crazy, and mine you my phone is only 2-3 feet away. 3rd the noise canceling it is ok I guess for such a small headphones but for the price I think they could of done better. All in all I would not buy again, I could spend a little more and get better performance or buy a cheap brand and get the same performance as these.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2018

Hi Not So Good Sony, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Good earbuds but not without flaws

WF-1000X 20/08/2018 by pj9876 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own a pair of over ear noise cancelling Sony MDR 1000X headphones for day to day commuting. I chose those over the Bose equivalent and am extremely happy with my choice. However for when I wanted to travel lighter or for use in the office when I want a bit of piece and quiet, I decided to buy a pair of WI-1000X noise cancelling earbuds. The noise cancelling on the ear buds, unsurprisingly, is not of the same quality as their over ear cousins. Nevertheless they are impressive for the size. The battery life works OK for me as I wouldn't want to wear earbuds for more than 3 hours anyway and I've not run out of charge so far with the charging case. The flaws are the same as the ones you'll no doubt read in other reviews. Firstly, they are laggy when it comes to watching video. I don't have that problem with my over ear headphones (so no, it's not just Bluetooth) but these certainly lag - 0.42ms to be precise. Whilst you can compensate for that in some apps, that's not always an option (such as with Netflix). The other flaw is the one I'd heard about before I bought them - that the right earpiece (the slave to the left earpiece) drops out from time to time. Mildly annoying but nowhere near as annoying as the audio lag.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Unstable connection with poor microphone

WF-1000X 18/08/2018 by Blomster (USA)

Tried this for 1 month (2 different units after the stir claimed they where malfunctioning) but same result in both. The stable connection feature does not work at all in crowded areas, and the connection between the units breaks every time the phone try’s to WiFi or let boost.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2018

Hi Blomster,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~ Zac

0

OK product

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by T1677 (United Kingdom)

There is issues with headphones stability they keep disconnecting from each other then coming back on they cost a lot of money so this issue needs putting right and I would recommend to a friend only if the stability is put right

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nearly perfect

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by JoeyB (USA)

Sound quality is the best of them all. Noise cancelling is good. Connection is good for me. Battery isn't nowhere near 3 hours as advertised -- after 90 minutes you're definitely going to need to charge up. Hopefully there's a fix in the next update for the mediocre battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Wireless Freedom Like No Other

WF-1000X 14/08/2018 by Joey Luu (USA)

Just for my pair of the WF 1000X and already I am in utter love with it. Sound quality is pure aces, the noise cancelling is unparalleled, and the Sony connect app makes it more brilliant to use. Looking forward to the Google Assistant integration adding an even better experience just like my 1000Xm2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2018

Hello Joey Luu, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 12/08/2018 by Basshead27 (United Kingdom)

I brought these about 3 months ago, great sound, good noise cancelling, but frequent drop outs, but I can live with it due to great sound and good noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1