250

2.8 based on 250 customer reviews

39
51
52
49
59
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03/11/2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07/12/2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

250 Customer Reviews

0

Dissapointing

WF-1000X 07/12/2018  (United Kingdom)

The sound is fine and the noise cancelling works as well as can be expected given the nature of the device. I wear them when riding my bike, running and in the gym and I am constantly having to fidget with them to make sure they don't drop out of my ear. I also wear them on the train and when flying and granted they perform better. I think the flimsy piece of rubber that is designed to help them stay in the ear is poorly designed and already one of them has stretched.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound but drop-out annoys.

WF-1000X 06/12/2018 by Jimbo55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very stylish and the sound quality is excellent. The problem is the sound drops out on the right side almost constantly. This is too annoying to really enjoy music or movie but just manageable for telecoms.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Wireless in-ears I have heard!

WF-1000X 02/12/2018 by SRMT123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking for a pair of truly wireless in-ears and must have auditioned 10+ pairs, all of which had some kind of drawback; poor sound, not truly wireless (neckband isn't my idea of wireless), poor fit or poor battery life. These, however, changed my opinion, they are excellent in every department!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lag!

WF-1000X 01/12/2018 by z_fa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is aight but videos are generally unwatchable due to the delay between mouths moving and sound coming out.. Connection can be a bit wobbly for periods of time too

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Poor Performance

WF-1000X 30/11/2018 by Techky (United Kingdom)

I'm quite disappointed with the product as it hasn't been as good as what the specs say. The battery doesn't last for 3 hours I have used it in a 2-hour lesson that I sit in every week and it lasts for 1 hour 15 mins before I have to sit listening to people talking. It's also disappointing that the Bluetooth connection only functions when the left earpiece is out of the case and not the right.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good quality and neat but battery life is poor

WF-1000X 29/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the noise cancelling and love the wireless connection so very good quality and hassle free so ideal for travellers. However the advertised battery life is 'up to 3 hours' but in reality the charge frequently does not last a 2 hour flight. Then have to place back in the case which holds some further recharge but means the headphones cannot be used.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

they work better with the galaxy note 9 no problem

WF-1000X 28/11/2018 by stanley821 (USA)

problems with skipping, one ear piece cutting out

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value

WF-1000X 27/11/2018 by Micky24601 (United Kingdom)

I'm using these with my Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact Phone. THey work just fine, and the sound is superb - especially with Tidal high-res streaming music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too bulky

WF-1000X 27/11/2018 by Malcev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For me this product is too heavy and bulky. The units don't stay in my ears and fall out when I bend my head forwards. In other respects they are easy to use and sound is good but I purchased them in order to be able to move around freely so are a disaappointment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound, disappointing ANC and cut outs

WF-1000X 26/11/2018 by mcwildcard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these to wear for my commute, the ANC is quite low level, and so although it takes the edge off the noise on public transport, it doesn't block it out by any means. The most disappointing problem is the frequent cut outs on the right ear, which can only be partially remedied by switching off ANC and reducing the sound quality. The sound quality is the best thing about these, as it's surprisingly decent for wireless in ears.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery drains in case

WF-1000X 25/11/2018 by Pixlwurks (USA)

Battery drains in the case. Latest firmware, 2.0, reset left & right several times, (15 sec). No go. Overnight, goes from "battery level high" to "medium". VERY Disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds good, doesn't work well

WF-1000X 17/11/2018 by dlormans (USA)

I purchased these to replace AirPods. I regret it, and wish I'd kept the Apple headphones. They sound fine, but connectivity issues plague this device. The right ear-bud constantly drops out. I can not update the firmware (it always fails.) There is no way to tell how well charged the case is, which is an absurd oversight. I understand some people think these are more comfortable than AirPods, but I had the opposite experience - I have had difficulty choosing the correct tips for my ears. The audio quality on calls is very poor (people can't hear me), and the call only comes through on the left side. On top of all this, the "noise cancelling" (a major point of difference between these and AirPods) is very poor. The difference between turning it on and off is minimal at best. As a "premium" product with a "premium" price tag, these faults make this product very poor value.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/11/2018

Hi dlormans , we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
-Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Great In Ear Phones

WF-1000X 09/11/2018 by Gazbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace my Bose and am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible Bluetooth connection

WF-1000X 06/11/2018 by Viv30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a frustrating pair of headphones, great sound quality but let down by terrible Bluetooth connection which render them useless when walking through train stations or busy streets, e.g. commute to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Horrible

WF-1000X 05/11/2018 by lilic (USA)

I bought these three months ago and the first day I used them they were not to bad since I was just watching a show at the airport but after the 1st week the battery would not stay charged for its "up to 9 hours play time." I would charge the case and them charge the head phones that seemed to to stop charging half way through and needed me to take them out an reinsert them. The "play time" last 2 hours tops and that is if I'm lucky. The instruction pamphlet it came with made no sense as it was a few pictures not detailing what it did. I will need to look up how many clicks does what. Also the right headphone does not automatically turn on like the left and you both of them at the same time unlike with others you could keep one off and the other on so you wouldn't waste battery life on both. The design is nice but the performance for $200 headphones sucks. AIso there is no way from what I found to change the volume using the headphones. Wasted $200 on these when I could have bought something cheaper that would have worked better. Regret this purchase 100% to bad that Best Buy only has a 14 day return policy. One good note, when they do work the sound is pretty good until it cuts off on one of the earbuds.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/11/2018

Hi lilic, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number. Thanks!

0

Like em. Fit well and noise cancelling v good feat

WF-1000X 01/11/2018 by baker76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

See above. Like the charging box. Great fit and excellent sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great when it works

WF-1000X 31/10/2018 by Notoriousvak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and it had to be returned. The right channel kept dropping out when walking even if I had the device in my jacket's breast pocket. Really disappointed as the sound quality was great but not suited for a life with movement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Almost a Great Set of Headphones

WF-1000X 26/10/2018 by eMTG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With so much to love it's a great shame these headphones let themselves down in both battery life and with odd connection issues and the strange choice to have call audio in just one ear. The delay in audio when watching video is very disappoint for a premium product too. Wonderful sound and solid noise cancelling matched with a comfortable fit is compromised by these issues.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Passive noise cancelling

WF-1000X 22/10/2018 by vilepill (USA)

There is no active noise cancelling, you just fill your ear with the plug and do not hear...

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Battery case won’t charge.

WF-1000X 21/10/2018 by Amy P (USA)

Usually don’t write reviews, but when I pay $200 for headphones, I expect to get at least a year or two out of them. I got 7 months. I’m extremely disappointed. they won’t charge anymore :-(

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2018

Hi Amy, we regret that the unit failed to meet your expectations. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email to further assist you. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Sony, noise cancelling headphones

WF-1000X 21/10/2018 by LTLF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst these bluetooth ear pods are useful when travelling on the tube / train and they recharge well in the recharge box. I would not say their noise cancelling ability, matches Bose. Tried on long distance train journey with both and Bose still No 1 for noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 09/10/2018 by Soggy (United Kingdom)

As a replacement for my Bose earphones , I found the noise cancelling not as good , poor battery life and a significant latency delay when paired with my iPad .

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Video out of sync

WF-1000X 06/10/2018 by Komec (USA)

Sound quality if just fine and ear fit is ok, but show stopper for me is that the video and sound are completly out of sync, making these headphones useless for me atleast.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2018

Hi Komec,

We regret to hear about what happened. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

Poor connection and very limited noise cancelling

WF-1000X 05/10/2018 by Ally1903 (United Kingdom)

I bought these after speaking to the Sony rep in store at John Lewis in Glasgow. I explained I wanted a decent noise cancelling feature and stable connection. I was leaving on holiday the following day and wanted to watch a few movies to take my mind off flying (which I hate). I guess if I had more time I might have searched for more reviews but here’s my thoughts on these earphones. First thing I noticed was the noise cancellation feature is poor to the point I’d question its fit with the definition. The rep said once activated it would easily cancel the ambient noise of the plane. This was not the case. In fact I couldn’t get the volume on my iPad loud enough to stop the in-cabin background noise interfering with the movies I attempted to watch. Second big issue is connection. It dips in and out even when sitting still so you can forget about listening to anything for a prolonged period of time without the frustration of losing connection in the right bud. I like the recharging/carry case and the build quality feels good. The sound quality is good when working but this product has really significant flaws that cancel any positives. Kind of feels it’s been rushed to market without a comprehensive test. Sadly as a customer I’m trying to avoid a guinea pig experience. Once I’m home and the holiday wash is on I’m popping down to JL for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Do not live up to expectations

WF-1000X 03/10/2018 by TonyKH (United Kingdom)

Earphones don't sync properly and right earphone cut out. They are also not noise-cancelling

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Huge drop out in the right ear piece

WF-1000X 01/10/2018 by Jimbo77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On day one of having these, I noticed huge drop out in the right earphone. It'd happen before I hit the end of the street, and would generally continue for the remainder of the journey. Could be a hardware fault. They went straight back to Sony for a repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good fit. Great sound but sporadic drop outs

WF-1000X 28/09/2018 by Koda2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had about 2 weeks to replace AirPods. More comfy to wear and the sound is fantastic. not particularly good noise cancelling (which was main reason for choice) & they periodically drop out - usually for milliseconds but noticeable. I’m happy with them but not sure I would recommend - this is a very personal choice & I am more than happy to choose to keep them with all their capriciousness.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good Sound

WF-1000X 20/09/2018 by Jez131166 (United Kingdom)

Acquired because of reviews on Utube, they match everything I require, comfort, sound quality and most of all noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not worth the money.

WF-1000X 17/09/2018 by Gwood (USA)

About this product 7 months ago, after 3 months the right earbud stopped working properly. When I contacted Sony about it they told me to get an app that we should fix it, but it never did. And now after 7 months, my batteries won't even fully charged. No matter how long I leave it plugged in it only charges to medium. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2018

Hi Gwood, we're sorry to hear about this. However, you may visit the link below for more information on how to fix the charging issue of your headphones. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html

0

Nearly Perfect

WF-1000X 15/09/2018 by Patton77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, build, but battery could be better, and sometimes the right ear bud cuts out for a few seconds every now and then

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unacceptable bugs, don’t buy

WF-1000X 13/09/2018 by Sam75017 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in August 2018 and I truly regret this decision. The right-ear device is very often disconnected and this turns my experience upside down. AND the micro is that poor that people don’t hear me when I am on the phone. I make many phone calls on the go and I can NOT use my device when in the phone. Compared to my (awesome) previous Bose device, this is black and white. For EURO 200, i would at least expect from a wireless device, well, NOT to have connection issues, and to have a microphone that works! I am very disappointed in Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

RIGHT EARBUD HAD CONNECTION ISSUES

WF-1000X 13/09/2018 by JALEXANDER (United Kingdom)

RIGHT EARBUD HAD CONNECTION ISSUES, AND THERE IS NO APP TO CONTROL THE HEADPHONES FROM A LAPTOP

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 27/08/2018 by Zanzibobstar (USA)

For a top-range audio experience, i would look elsewhere. Poor charge, dropped connections, latency on video/audio, even noice cancelling not their best. There is little to recommend, unfortunately.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2018

Hi Zanzibobstar,


Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

One earpiece not functioning

WF-1000X 23/08/2018 by Prazu (United Kingdom)

Not so happy with purchase. Sound is good, power is great 3hrs but one ear stopped producing sound just like that

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 23/08/2018 by Gabi07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

when you’re watching youtube or any other video streaming you will have a big sound delay that is so annoying .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Small and comfortable

WF-1000X 21/08/2018 by Not So Good Sony (USA)

I've had these for about six months and have found a number of thing I really don't like 1st the headphones don't fix into the charger tight and come lose in travel killing the battery. Can't tell you how many times I've charged these before leaving for the airport and upon take off putting them on to find there dead or close to it. 2nd when listening to with these a number of time one ear or the other will cut out for a second to two just enough to drive you crazy, and mine you my phone is only 2-3 feet away. 3rd the noise canceling it is ok I guess for such a small headphones but for the price I think they could of done better. All in all I would not buy again, I could spend a little more and get better performance or buy a cheap brand and get the same performance as these.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2018

Hi Not So Good Sony, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Good earbuds but not without flaws

WF-1000X 20/08/2018 by pj9876 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own a pair of over ear noise cancelling Sony MDR 1000X headphones for day to day commuting. I chose those over the Bose equivalent and am extremely happy with my choice. However for when I wanted to travel lighter or for use in the office when I want a bit of piece and quiet, I decided to buy a pair of WI-1000X noise cancelling earbuds. The noise cancelling on the ear buds, unsurprisingly, is not of the same quality as their over ear cousins. Nevertheless they are impressive for the size. The battery life works OK for me as I wouldn't want to wear earbuds for more than 3 hours anyway and I've not run out of charge so far with the charging case. The flaws are the same as the ones you'll no doubt read in other reviews. Firstly, they are laggy when it comes to watching video. I don't have that problem with my over ear headphones (so no, it's not just Bluetooth) but these certainly lag - 0.42ms to be precise. Whilst you can compensate for that in some apps, that's not always an option (such as with Netflix). The other flaw is the one I'd heard about before I bought them - that the right earpiece (the slave to the left earpiece) drops out from time to time. Mildly annoying but nowhere near as annoying as the audio lag.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Unstable connection with poor microphone

WF-1000X 18/08/2018 by Blomster (USA)

Tried this for 1 month (2 different units after the stir claimed they where malfunctioning) but same result in both. The stable connection feature does not work at all in crowded areas, and the connection between the units breaks every time the phone try’s to WiFi or let boost.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2018

Hi Blomster,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~ Zac

0

OK product

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by T1677 (United Kingdom)

There is issues with headphones stability they keep disconnecting from each other then coming back on they cost a lot of money so this issue needs putting right and I would recommend to a friend only if the stability is put right

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nearly perfect

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by JoeyB (USA)

Sound quality is the best of them all. Noise cancelling is good. Connection is good for me. Battery isn't nowhere near 3 hours as advertised -- after 90 minutes you're definitely going to need to charge up. Hopefully there's a fix in the next update for the mediocre battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Wireless Freedom Like No Other

WF-1000X 14/08/2018 by Joey Luu (USA)

Just for my pair of the WF 1000X and already I am in utter love with it. Sound quality is pure aces, the noise cancelling is unparalleled, and the Sony connect app makes it more brilliant to use. Looking forward to the Google Assistant integration adding an even better experience just like my 1000Xm2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2018

Hello Joey Luu, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 12/08/2018 by Basshead27 (United Kingdom)

I brought these about 3 months ago, great sound, good noise cancelling, but frequent drop outs, but I can live with it due to great sound and good noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sent them back !!!!!!

WF-1000X 12/08/2018 by Maximum Bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to give zero stars as the system won't allow it. £150, and the product did not work. Sound kept cutting out every 15 seconds or so. Not what I would expect from Sony but there you are, won't go back, it's Apple all the way for me going forward

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Nice try.

WF-1000X 10/08/2018 by D Ray (USA)

I purchased the sony 1000x around 2 months ago. I'm a bose lifer. But decided to try sony. Big issues the headphones do not stay communicating with each other. I've had to factory reset 4 times.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best of best

WF-1000X 08/08/2018 by Ken1002 (United Kingdom)

I love it so much so i have to buy imedenly and i have no request

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Performance vs battery life

WF-1000X 07/08/2018 by DB49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works very well, small, comfortable fit with overall good sound performance. Charging case is a good solution for frequent travel

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Custom made, as if, for me, my ears and my turban!

WF-1000X 30/07/2018 by BhaiBS (USA)

The product is well designed and the featured assets like the ambient sound and NC are indeed worthy of note. I am uncomfortable about the latency when watching videos online or from personal video clips. I have read a few reviews complaining about the audio levels, but having anything louder would not only be hazardous to the eardrums but also endanger road safety. I had wanted to have a wireless earphone which would comfortably settle in under my turban - I am very glad to have purchased these!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Looks good but fails to deliver

WF-1000X 27/07/2018 by flexiboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these 2 help me on the tube as I need noise cancelling and I normally by Bose. The sound quality on these is awful and just about ok with no equaliser settings enabled. I had them on max volume and still couldn't hear anything on the tube coming home. Noise cancelling none existent. I also kept getting drop outs between buds. In the end I took them back as not fit for purpose and am now back to Bose.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great sound and fit... patchy connectivit

WF-1000X 26/07/2018 by velvettank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great headphones which are marred by signal drop too often for such a high-end wireless product for my liking.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Frequent disconnects

WF-1000X 26/07/2018 by Dr Hemmert (USA)

When they work, sound quality is ok with deeep, powerful bass and crisp (albeit screechy at times) treble. Problem is - they usually don't work - the right earpiece frequently disconnects and reconnects, like once or twice every few minutes if you move around. Staying perfectly still is better, but it will still disconnect. There's a setting to prioritize a stable connection (why would they have that as a setting?? A stable connection is mandatory!), But then you get really bad some quality with audible compression artifacts. There are lots of good things to say about these earphones, but they don't really matter if the right piece can't stay connected, or if you have to settle for bad sound quality... The noise cancelling is ok, but slightly gimmicky, as these are in-ear and provide excellent passive noise canceling anyway. All in all not worth the premium price

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2018

Hello Dr Hemmert, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab
Regards, _Bob

0

One of the best pieces of electronics

WF-1000X 24/07/2018 by Mat3 (USA)

Bouth them at launch last year. The sound is perfect for the size. The noise cancelling does a moderately good job but combined with the in-ear insulation the external sounds get filtered really efficiently. Phone connection quality is great. Even the lag when watching video is almost gone with the firmware updates. Fit firmly and comfortably. I guess some of the lower ratings are connected to earlier versions of the firmware

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great !!!!

WF-1000X 21/07/2018 by Falcon123 (United Kingdom)

Great Sound. Balanced Bass, Midrange and clear trebles. I have no drop outs or connectivity issues but a software update is recommended. So comfortable to wear and battery life is around 3 hours. The case is handy. It can charge the earbuds again in 1.5 hours and a 15 minute quick charge gives you around an 1 hour of extra play. A really good premuim product with Sony quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not the best product

WF-1000X 20/07/2018 by pupuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To me this item was a HUGE waste of money, so much so I took it back. They say "Noise cancelling" the only form this worked on was volume, I set them up and made sure it was on noise cancel and until I got the volume to a set level they didn't cancel the noise out, I put my old wireless headphones back on and the same volume and no outside noise; I actually managed to turn the volume down without hearing background noise. The main reason I purchased them and probably the same reason others will buy them, also they cannot work independent of each other so you have to have both in and on. I know everyone has different shaped ears but the way they are held in is all well and good until you sweat and then they fall out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

1/10

WF-1000X 18/07/2018 by Yohane (USA)

First and most annoying thing about these product is the disconnection of the right earbud most of the time. Second is the delay on the voice while watching online. Third is that sony say you need to choose the "Priority on stable connection" on sound quality option. But that doesnt work. Then we need to update the buds to fix these. And nothing change but one thing (more problem). Forth after the update one more adds up to the problem. The unknown beep/tone that keeps on popping for who knows the reason. Summary is - dont get these until SONY fix their pair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/07/2018

Hi Yohane, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Also, regarding the audio lags, kindly refer to the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1727&kbid=00186134&mdl=WF1000X
Regards, _Bob

0

These things drive me crazy!

WF-1000X 16/07/2018  (USA)

When I first got these they worked beautifully. They would pair as soon as they came out of the charger and sound was pretty good. Battery life was OK tho not the 3 hours they claimed. But after a few weeks, they started spontaneously turning themselves off and on. They pair and unpair, they start and stop spontaneously. The have become completely useless. Help!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/07/2018

Hi Whydoyoucare,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab


Regards,
-Erin

0

Good earphones but limited battery life

WF-1000X 16/07/2018 by Baghdad Bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these earphones for a month and use them every day. I charge them each evening overnight, they are fully charged in the morning but the battery is dead before I get home. I only use them for 1 hour in the morning and maybe 1-2 hours during the day but they never get through the whole day. also the instructions are useless. they need clear written explanation on how to charge them and how to use them; both earphones have on/off buttons, not clear at all what each function is.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Excellent sound, battery life very poor

WF-1000X 15/07/2018 by Thross (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these 2 weeks and the claim is that they will give 3 hours of battery life. With noise cancellation on I have a grand time of 50 minutes. With all features disabled, 1 hour 55 mins. Not sure where the 3 hours comes from! The sound quality though is excellent, just a shame the battery life is so poor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nicely priced for a noise cancelling earbuds!

WF-1000X 13/07/2018 by dborg01 (United Kingdom)

I bought these almost a week ago and they have been under constant use. I use them on a plane, while cycling from and to work, while in a taxi, at home, on trains, on bus. My main uses are simply to cut out the noise at work which is a constant nuisance, to listen to music or podcasts, and to be connected with my phone mainly to answer calls and to use Siri...which I heavily use. I wanted this kind of gadget, firstly because it gives a better use of technology such as Siri. I also needed them for my workplace as the noise is too tiring. I have reviewed and re reviewed all the major brands. The outstanding differences between Sony and the rest is very simple...the rest almost never offered noise cancellation unless you are ready to have a neckband (which I am fine with but I didn't want) and unless you are ready to pay £100 or above more than the Sony cost. Some do offer better features like better battery life, water resistance, volume control and a smaller carry case. I was already thinking of buying a set in the future as the price for me at the moment was prohibitive...until I came across the Sony ones. I honestly didn't even know Sony did them and I was happy to find about it from a shop at the airport. So I thought of checking the price and the details. They had active noise cancellation and the price was superbly feasible for me! So without further questions I got them. I had Sony earphones since the 1990s. I didn't own a lot of models as they seemed indestructible...well...I still have some of them! My review...I love the sound. One of the best I have ever heard...ever....I love Bass rich sound which doesn't compromise with the mediums and high frequencies and these are perfectly balanced. They are light and comfortable enough to wear and forget and my ear sockets are quite a bit smaller than average. But using the small ear rubber provided in the package made it possible to fit them, even if they're a little tight. The noise cancellation is a great feature and it works very very well. Obviously it won't turn a noisy place into a super quiet place but my noisy workplace became very bearable especially if I allow some low music or podcast to play. The iOS app does a good job too to vary the noise cancellation level. The battery carry case gives some good extra juice for a longish trip. Haven't tested them to the full as I use over ear headphones with noise haptic feedback on a flight...I love feeling a movie rather than just listen to it. The little button on the right ear bud works great too. It helps to quickly pause music and resume when needed. It also helps to quickly skip to the next song. Taking a call seemed very good too. I could hear the caller very well and they could hear me well too. I must say that the taxi driver did mistakenly understand the place I mentioned I'm going to over the phone but I am not sure if it has anything to do with the quality of the ear buds. I can only say that I haven't tested them for long enough in this area. Overall I love them and for the price they are worthwhile. Now...the lowsides: Battery life is extremely short...too short, around 2 hours if no noise cancellation is used but with constant listening to music. The battery carry case charges the earbuds quickly and with a quick short charge you'll get a very good listening time once again. The case itself however takes a long time to recharge....and the biggest downside is that you have no way of telling how much charge is left in the carry case, sadly. This should really be taken into account. The case itself seems a bit too long but I have found that although it looks weird it's easier to carry if you are not a big person! The earbuds themselves do have one big downside....the right side cuts off a lot more than I would like I happily accept. There are many moments when listening is flawless from both sides but at moments the right just decides to keep cutting off. It did improve with the software update and by adjusting the position in my ear. Switching off and on again sometimes helps too. Performing the software update was a pain. I had to try several times and methods until I got through to it...but at least it is doable. My biggest suggestions would be a battery level indicator on the case and that the iOS App supports 3D touch on iPhones. Using 3D Touch to quickly adjust the noise cancelling level would be the perfect addition. Having a Widget and Apple Watch support, even if it is just for the volume and active noise cancellation levels would be another very powerful addition. If you are on a budget and want noise cancelling these are the earbuds for you. But Sony please hear us...please do make an App which suits us better and try to update the earbuds software to reduce the noise cutting from the right earbud! There again...these earbuds are worthwhile. I have already spoken to two of my work colleagues who are set to get them as well very soon!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Noise cancelling & Wire free!

WF-1000X 13/07/2018 by PeterFK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Audio books are clearer and no extraneous noise. The cancelling and ambient sound system is great. Stereo drops very occasionally; a bit annoying. The recharging carry box is very convenient. A great product, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

wow

WF-1000X 12/07/2018 by Stevie65 (United Kingdom)

the headphones are awesome. fantastic sound and quality. found them very eady to et up. very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Game changer

WF-1000X 10/07/2018 by sturat (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased these after careful consideration and I made the right choice. After the initial setup they come into their own and I am impressed with the quality and sound performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Right ear issues

WF-1000X 10/07/2018 by PK9999 (USA)

Have had this now for 24 hours, and they are practically useless. I’ve done the update as advised (and as Sony think is the solution to all the worlds problems!) yet the right ear drops out every few seconds! Useless. What is the fix Sony??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

6

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2018

Hi PK9999,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

Make sure that you have the version: 2.0.0

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

0

Really wanted to love these...

WF-1000X 09/07/2018 by nunyazz (USA)

I really wanted to love these earbuds but... they keep disconnecting. I love the fit and the sound, but am very disappointed in the battery life and connection between each of the earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic overall

WF-1000X 08/07/2018 by Kopthelot1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought them 5 weeks ago fantastic, i have had 4 other wireless ear phones nothing has compared to the Sony ones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good sound, poor performance

WF-1000X 08/07/2018 by jmal86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these and like a lot of other people there is an ongoing issue with right earbud connection dropping out. Ongoing complaint with Sony about this and keep just referring me to resetting the headset...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 05/07/2018 by Mr Pizz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these I consider Sony to be a good make. Unfortunately the earphones consistently loose connection, so one side drops out.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

10

3

0

Worse I've had

WF-1000X 05/07/2018 by Nilab06 (USA)

I've used all kinds of wireless earphones, and these are by far the worst I have ever bought. The noise canceling constant changes distorting the music. The earphones would also just cut out, or lose connection.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi Nilab06, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes! https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Regards,
~Ralph

0

It is good but could have been better

WF-1000X 03/07/2018 by Snazzle (USA)

I bought this over other competitor products because it has noise cancellation. The sound quality is great and the headsets stay put securely when I go for runs and exercise. It also charges very quickly. The bluetooth connects very easily to my Android phone. What I don't like is the short battery life (3 hours + 5hrs when charged with the case), it beeps and interrupts music when a new message arrives. I was also told that when I answer calls using this headset, the sound quality is very poor. Also, when answering calls, the sound is on mono i.e. only the left headset has audio. When charging, the headsets doesn't always snap on securely to charge. So please make sure that it snaps correctly until the light blinks. Occasionally, the right headset does not connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi Snazzle, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

No cables

WF-1000X 02/07/2018 by MX5RS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought on basis of sound quality, not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

An unfortunate purchase

WF-1000X 29/06/2018 by Rouxster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On paper these headphones are premium - in real life they fall terribly flat. Great sound and fairly good noise cancelling. The problem, and I saw this is a general issue in other reviews as well, the right ear piece kept dropping connection with the left ear piece. This makes for a terrible listening experience. Another issue and again a commen issue on the reviews is the audio delay when watching videos. The call centre attempted to resolve the connection problem, but the problem continued. They also tried to explain that the sound delay issue is inherent with all wireless devices...not true as I owned other brand wireless earphones and they worked with no delays. Earphones should be simple and just work - having to do a song and dance detracts from an enjoyable experience. Very disappointing. I exchanged them for the Sony WH-1000xm2...they are far far far better and a redeeming product after the WI-1000x damaged the Sony brand for me

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Terrible product

WF-1000X 27/06/2018 by Hahn1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product at the airport, and to be honest this is the worst impulse buy I’ve ever done. The sound is good, when it works! The drops on the right ear is so bad, doesn’t matter if I switch it to stable priority, doesn’t matter if I switch off ambient sound. When I walk it drops sporadically, I have not had one instance of continued stability unless I sit really still. The product is clearly flawed and should never have been released commercially. I’ve been a big Sony fan since I was a kid, sad to see it go this bad...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1