315

2.8 based on 315 customer reviews

56
58
63
56
82
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03/11/2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07/12/2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

316 Customer Reviews

0

Love it

WF-1000X 20/04/2019 by Nadavi (USA)

Love it, comfortable, amazing sound. You’re getting the full Sony experience

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible Wireless Connection - Sometimes screeches

WF-1000X 18/04/2019 by Justus13 (USA)

I bought these headphones 2 years ago and about a month in noticed consistent connectivity issues. This ranged from the right headphone muting out, to popping noises, to flat out loud screeching that was deafening to the ears. It also can be difficult to charge the headphones when compared to some other competing products that have magnetic charging. Originally I bought these because their over the ear bluetooth headphones are fantastic, but these come up short drastically. Probably the most ripped off I've felt from a product. Next I'll be looking at Bose vs. Airpods for wireless sport headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
19/04/2019

Hi Justus13,

We regret to hear that you're having this kind of issues on your headphones. To further assist you with this, Let's try to isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps on the link below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000x/downloads/00016024

Regards, Sam

0

DO NOT BUY IF YOU PLAN TO USE THEM!

WF-1000X 15/04/2019 by Bootdogg (USA)

I wish I was still within my 30 day return policy with Best Buy because I would take these back as fast as possible. I have had them for nearly 2 months now and travel every other week. These things are horrible. They are constantly going out and disconnecting. It is either one or both and I feel stupid shaking my head hoping that it connects again. I even have my phone in my hand as I write this review and it has disconnected wife already. I even have it in the lower quality setting which is supposed to focus on keeping a good connection. Don’t ever use them in high quality mode unless you take a headband and strap you phone to your head. I have the newest iPhone XS Max so it isn’t like I have some cheap phone. This is just horrible. Oh, there goes the connection again. Oh, it is back. Just a bad bad bad product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/04/2019

Hi Bootdogg,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/downloads/00016024

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support


0

Excellent Sound and fit

WF-1000X 14/04/2019 by lowlandbaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buds are a good fit (has some alternative bud fittings if you need them) and the sound is excellent. Setup on my Samsung was really easy and I was up and running in to time. I mainly use them on flights where the active noise suppression is really good. Battery life is not the best but meets my needs perfectly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Poor battery life, erratic connection.

WF-1000X 12/04/2019 by Kilmonster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These sound ok for the price (bought new for about half of RRP) but even new the battery is only lasting a couple of hours and the right earbud regularly glitches its connections, which is pretty annoying especially if you’re trying to relax. It’s got the bare bones of a great product but just isn’t there yet.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb

WF-1000X 09/04/2019 by dukesaeed (USA)

Fully satisfied with quality and design of this headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphones 1000X

WF-1000X 08/04/2019 by Lynne D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product. Really enjoy using them. First set of wireless headphones I have owned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

a little short of being great

WF-1000X 07/04/2019 by lancaster (USA)

I go t these for a gift for myself I already have 2 sets of Jabra's the elite sports and the active 65t with are great I was hoping the Sony's would be like the Mx3's or the Wi-1000 that I own but these need more development the BT drop outs are frustrating and they don't go loud enough. the sound quality is good when you add Comply sport pro tips they make a huge difference and should come with these the size of the unit is good the noise cancelling is ok but the WI-1000 and the Mx3's blow these away I am hoping software update will improve the performance and Yes mine are on the current version I expect a lot from Sony these aren't Beats so my expectation are the Gold standard because that is what Sony used to be. I own lots of Sony items. when I want the best I look at Sony first but this item need a little more work to be up to the Sony standard that I expect . I also think they need to sort testing these types of items in the real world

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
09/04/2019

Hello lancaster,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

I wish I never bought them

WF-1000X 01/04/2019 by TMFerry (USA)

For what I paid for these headphones, I regret the purchase. It kills me that i have to spend the money to buy another pair of headphones because the battery doesn't work, people can't hear me and the sound cuts out. Sony, what did you do?!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/04/2019

Hi TMFerry, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectation. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com for further assistance. Regards, Erin

0

Volume

WF-1000X 01/04/2019 by Fatboy98 (USA)

I purchased two sets of these one for myself and one for my wife who is slightly hearing impaired. I have not found a away to make the volume higher and I dont think they will work for her. This is concerning because i have had the headsets for a while and wanted to surprise her with them when she returns home. This will put us past the point of return and just would hate to get stuck with headphone for over $400.00 dollars. Can you please tell me is there any way to bypass the volume so that i can make them louder so they will work for her.

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/04/2019

Hi Fatboy98, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectation but appreciate providing us your feedback nevertheless. In relation to the low volume, we can also adjust the volume from the connected device to achieve the desired volume level.

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000x/v1/en/index.html


Regards,
Erin

0

sony support was useless

WF-1000X 30/03/2019 by bklyn (USA)

took me 4 months to make them work with my galaxy s8 sony tech support was useless. did not help at all. I will never buy sont again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
03/04/2019

Hi bklyn,

We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent sound quality, but...

WF-1000X 29/03/2019 by N1gel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am very pleased with the sound quality but with battery life about 30% of a transatlantic flight, less with noise cancelling on, they are an impractical travel option.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fit for purpose

WF-1000X 29/03/2019 by Sevener (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise Cancelling excellent and sound quality good for wireless headphones. Good comfortable fit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound but battery life is horrible!!!

WF-1000X 27/03/2019 by Morgan0311 (USA)

I’ve had these for about six months now. I was very impressed with the sound quality and noise canceling I travel a lot and when flying they are great to cancel out sound. But the battery life is not as advertised. I can maybe get an hour of use before I have to recharge them. Plus sometimes the right earpiece won’t connect and when turning my head I lose connection. I like Sony products but I’m very disappointed with this product. Wish I could return them or sell them but nobody wants them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
29/03/2019

Hi Morgan0311, we regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectations. In relation to the battery life, usage hours may be different depending on the settings and conditions of use. Please check our Help Guide for more details:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000x/v1/en/index.html


Regards,
Erin

0

Worst heaphsones ever

WF-1000X 25/03/2019 by Jnrogers (USA)

Constantly skips in right ear even when I have it in the right settings. My 10 dollar headphones work 10x better then these 200 dollar worthless ones. Don't buy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
29/03/2019

Hi Jnrogers, we regret to hear that your headphones failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Underwhelmed & Disappointed

WF-1000X 19/03/2019 by Sony User 111111 (USA)

--> The battery life is terrible. I am a student and tried to use these to study. After 45 minutes to an hour of use, the battery dies. I guess they're good for walking to class but for the price I paid for these, I have higher standards for how long these can last. Even if all of the other features were perfect, such a bad battery would nearly offset the other benefits...what's the benefit of the earphones if I constantly have to take them out to charge? I haven't even bothered to try them on a plane ride because I don't want to be disappointed further...I resort to my over-ear headphones (not Sony). --> Noise cancellation is OK at best. Granted, I currently live in NYC so I suppose I am exposed to more noise than what is standard. While studying, noise still penetrates through but at least some of it is blocked out. --> Microphone is terrible. Perhaps this has something to do with the noise cancellation, but when taking phone calls the person I am speaking to can never hear me. I always get "I can't hear you, are you speaking into the phone?" I then have to disconnect from the earphones, put them in their charger, then talk from the phone the standard way. --> Sound quality is OK, nothing special at all. Sometimes the earphones somehow get bad connection to the phone (not sure how) and the quality of sound turns bad. --> There is always lag in the earphones--the activity/output displayed on a phone does not match the audio heard in the earphones. I'd say it's half a second to a second behind what it should be.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
22/03/2019

Hi Sony User 111111, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Kindly send us an email socialsupport@am.sony.com for further assistance. Regards, Erin

0

Not as good as expected

WF-1000X 19/03/2019 by Hammer0112 (USA)

Poor integration, only hear left ear when calling, and I'm using Sony smartphone. Sound quality is not even close to a wi-1000x. No ldac, no aptx, no dsee hx. I ended up using the wi-1000x a lot more. And noise cancelling is not that good.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
23/03/2019

Hi Hammer0112, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your headphone. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. Regards, Erin

0

Awful headphones

WF-1000X 18/03/2019 by awful_headphones (USA)

These headphones work for an hour at most before they need charging. In addition, they cannot be used as normal headphones when connected to a Windows computer, they are stuck in "hands-free" mode, with awful quality and only the left unit working. DO NOT BUY. shame on you Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/03/2019

Hello there,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with these Headphone. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513176.html

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Simple but effective

WF-1000X 18/03/2019 by Danieltatham1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only issue is when I turn my head with the headphones in,the connection goes weak and I lose sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best headphones I’ve owned

WF-1000X 18/03/2019 by Roberto4340 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can use the app on the iPhone to vary how the sound is delivered, battery life is long, good fit for the commute to work, great deal on them at Costco as well. Overall a decent purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality sacrificed for features

WF-1000X 17/03/2019 by Reee (USA)

First off, I had really high hopes for this set. Sure, they were more expensive than the compeating Apple product (which is really hard to do), but I really wanted noise cancelation. I have a Sony camera, and I absolutely love it. I have heard good things about Sony audio systems. Therefore, I thought Sony’s headphones would be a good buy. I was very, very wrong. The first thing I noticed when I opened the (brand new) package was that the hinges on the case were loose. I could ignore this though, as long as the earphones worked good. They never even stared. 24 hours later, I gave up on them and returned them to the store I got them from. I realize that I was just unlucky to get a bad set, but this seems to be a fairly common problem. Even the professional revews I read mentioned, in more than one may I add, that their first set was also defective. In retrospect, these were not for me, because they are not sweat proof, and I do a lot of intensive lawn care. Also, the app is trash and the instructions are in some wierd picture format that I could not understand, and no actual writen instructions were included. Poor experience. DO NOT BUY!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/03/2019

Hi Reee,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent sound but ...

WF-1000X 13/03/2019 by Bijko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding sound quality. Let down a little by intermittent loss of Bluetooth connection with R ear. Noise cancelling 4/5.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sounds great..!

WF-1000X 10/03/2019 by DazzaH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these now for a few months, the sound from these little earphones are amazing, the noise cancelling is also impressive. Only down side is the right hand earphone sometimes disconnects and then reconnects, not very often but it’s annoying sometimes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful sound quality

WF-1000X 10/03/2019 by Oeurf (United Kingdom)

I was fortunate enough to acquire these as a special offer from Sony with my Xperia phone. I hadn't previously been convinced by Bluetooth earbuds and I have a pair of Klipsch earbuds that I usually use. I have to say that the sound quality from the Sony buds is fabulous! Very comfortable and I love the flexibility of not having wires! A number of reviews mention connectivity issues although I haven't experienced this myself...and the settings can be changed within the app to prioritise connectivity. This appears to have no impact on sound quality. You can also adjust the equalisation by using the sound effect settings within the Spotify app so there's no problem getting dollops of bass and searing treble if you want it, without using the settings in the headphone app. Battery life is ok but I have found it necessary to take the charging case with me for the odd top up...pretty quick to charge though. Overall a lovely product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not good for smaller ears! & Horrible Sony Service

WF-1000X 08/03/2019 by PaigeNC (USA)

I bought these less than 3 months ago at a big electronics store - they stopped holding a charge and they really hurt smaller ears, especially while running. I now cannot return to BB and Sony wont work with me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
28/03/2019

Hi PaigeNC,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support


0

Very very disappointing

WF-1000X 07/03/2019 by NickW62 (United Kingdom)

Noise cancelling virtually un-noticeable on any setting, especially compared to the Sony wired earbuds I also own (MDR EX750NA) - by comparison, the noise cancelling on these are quite good. Equalisation settings via app are all but useless. Low bass, and hence wanted to use Bass Boost - however on this setting, all channels are set to zero - effectively off. Latency is dramatic, making the earbuds unusable for watching video. Firmware upgrade to v2.0 had no effect.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

0

Very good, but.

WF-1000X 06/03/2019 by TimPT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These buds are very discrete and offer very good sound. They are let down, badly, by connectivity issues. They will drop sound in one ear, generally right, for no apparent reason. This could be something as simple as turning your head even when the source device is in open air less than a metre away.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Needs firmware update

WF-1000X 05/03/2019 by RonB99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over three weeks ago, and it's fine if I'm sitting still on a bus or train. The problem starts when I use it while walking, as the audio cuts out from the right speaker every second track (and sometimes in the middle of one). I can hear a click at the end of each song and I assume it loses its connection with my MP3 player and re-establishes it when the next track starts. The left is solid, but if there is any interference or I'm moving, the right only wants to play alternate songs. Other people have reported similar problems.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent

WF-1000X 04/03/2019 by Mikefree99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good design and features for the price, could do with volume control on earpiece though

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Im sorry to disappoint

WF-1000X 27/02/2019 by 1983FcoG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These where purchased for me for me as a gift. The sound quality is on point. However the issues i face is that the left ear bud cuts in and out, even after a full charge,. appears to easily get interference when in public places, tube st, underground. These are the 1st for me i usually just stick to the factory headset from the phone,. overall impression is that this tech still needs work. Big Media

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great!!!

WF-1000X 24/02/2019 by baer19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delightfully comfortable to wear, blessed with impressive sound capabilities (that can be further improved - to some extent - with the Boom app), they are also very good for an extremely immersive movie watching experience. Upgrading to Version 2.0.0 of the Firmware (i managed to finally install the update on the units by ... wearing them (!!!) during the update process ... otherwise it stopped at 50% all times) did not much to reduce the distracting cut-offs that sometimes happen on the right Unit, but finally the issue is more than compensated by their outstanding qualities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Battery life is disappointing

WF-1000X 22/02/2019 by shellyb (USA)

The only thing I can say positive about the are the fit. They come with multiple size choices for the buds. However, the life of the battery is certainly not worth the cost. I should have done my research. I would never recommend paying $179 for wireless ear buds that only gives you 3 hours of playback at BEST. There are way more cheaper ones that give 12 hours of playback. Do your research and don't waste your money on these!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/02/2019

Hi shellyb, we regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback as it helps us in improving our products and services. We'll pass this to a relevant team.


Regards,
Erin

0

iv

WF-1000X 20/02/2019 by Ivose (USA)

very bad, I do not recommend anyone. Thrown out money

3

4

Response From Sony Social Support
09/04/2019

Hi Ivose,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Regards, Earl

0

Great sound quality and truly wireless

WF-1000X 19/02/2019 by Gaz 8187 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well balanced sound and true wireless convenience neat charging holder and noise cancelling an all round great pair of headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Keeps dropping sound

WF-1000X 18/02/2019 by Philippejsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from amazon as wanted to go wireless. Was impressed at first with the ease of connectivity. That was when the realisation hit that they are not up to the job. Walking down the road with one ear cutting in and out is not great. Returned after less than a week. I have the latest phone with latest Bluetooth, I also had is set to connection priority. The performance was bad. Expected more.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Good sound spoilt by poor bluetooth.

WF-1000X 15/02/2019 by Tugs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While the sound is very good, as is the fit, the amount of drop outs that occur is really very bad considering the price I paid for them... £130 odd pounds. Even if I am sat still in my own home listening, drop outs occur if even i move my head a fraction one way or another. Then at another time I can be walking around and everything is fine with my phone in my pocket and then again for no reason it drops out again and then picks up again a little later. Very very annoying. Tried it with my phone in different positions/ pockets etc, and again I get stops in playback. Tried toggling bluetooth on/off, and resetting phone, and downloading the firmware, but to no avail it still lets me down. I thought maybe that the device was at fault, and went back to the shop and exchanged it for another identical pair, but it's just the same. It's such a shame because sometimes it works flawlessly for maybe an hour or two, but then off it goes again. I really like them other than that, and I'm hoping that maybe Sony can fix it with an upgrade. Come on Sony, I expect better from you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good sound and great fit but....

WF-1000X 13/02/2019 by Washroom (USA)

I purchased these and was very excited since nuance the wi1000 over the neck ones as they sound amazing. These truly wireless fit good and sounded very good. The only real issue with these is that they have a super bright blue blinking light that just doesn’t stop. Every time I touch skip to next won’t or noise cancelling or just any button it blinks for 30 seconds. This is terrible to use in public and especially at night. Forget about using in dark room to watch videos. It lights up the whole room. I notice people staring at me all the time at the freaking constant blinking. Very distracting. Returned them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Comfortable, with some minor flaws to iron out

WF-1000X 12/02/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The positives; great and comfortable earbuds. Sound quality is good. Battery life is reasonable, and case holds a few recharges. The earphones come with numerous buds - more than enough to ensure a comfortable fit and a good seal. There are some great aftermarket buds that fit this model, also. The sound quality is great, as I have always expected of Sony products. The audio is crisp and clear, and the bass is responsive. These earphones stand up to competition - not as good as my V-Moda cans sound-wise, but more than adequate for my use (commuting, office, and gym) and super-portable. The adaptive sound profiling does a good job of matching your environment, also. The other benefit for commuting is the battery life (approx two hours of full playing with noise cancelling enabled), and you get a few charges from the case (relatively quickly, too). I find if I religiously plug the earphones in to charge whenever I am not using them (while I am in meetings/on calls in the office, for example) I don't run out of battery. For longer journeys its certainly worth taking some manual headphones to preserve the battery life when you are up and moving. The downsides; connectivity, noise cancellation, and notifications. Bluetooth connectivity is not overly robust (especially to the right hand ear bud), and seems to struggle in locations with a lot of digital interference (trains, for example). This is despite me enabling the app to prioritise signal quality over sound quality. The noise cancellation is not as effective as other Sony noise cancelling products (and certainly does not eliminate background noise, to manage expectations). While background noise is masked whilst listening to music or movie, they do not work robustly to just give you some "quiet headspace". Finally, the notification LED (that flashes when there is a notification... really pointless, as you can't see it) and chime (that cuts in over audio... really annoying!) can't be deactivated in the app. This would be a really sensible software feature. I haven't been able to work out if using a single bud switches to mono sound automatically (if not, this would be a great feature). Overall, I would definitely recommend - especially for the price. Specifically, if you are after use in the gym, the office, or on your commute (up to two hours). I would not recommend if you need continual use for more than two hours regularly, or if noise cancelling is your key reason for buying - especially if its for the silence! I hope that if Sony take anything from this review, it is to update the firmware/software to improve the noise cancelling, the notification options, the Bluetooth connectivity, and single-bud-use-to-mono. These four changes would make these little earpieces stand up to serious scrutiny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Useless and overpriced

WF-1000X 08/02/2019 by JohnV320 (USA)

Opened the box and 1 hour later updates were finally complete. I’ve had them two days now and still can’t get them to play sound continuously out of the right bud. Cuts in and out all the time. Bluetooth is so bad that if you pass your hand by one of the buds the sound stops. An 86 page manual downloaded for help was useless. Now I’m just trying to figure out how to give these worthless earbuds back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Poor battery

WF-1000X 05/02/2019 by Miamale (USA)

The battery dies in 60 minutes or less, that's not enough for watching a movie, or any normal usage. On the other hand the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sound quality is perfect

WF-1000X 02/02/2019 by Leeglock (United Kingdom)

I have Sony headphones that are 30 years old and sound as good as new . Hope these are as good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awful product for expensive price

WF-1000X 29/01/2019 by Ryan1231 (USA)

I’ve had these headphones for about a month now and I’ve never been more displeased with a product in my life (not exaggerating at all). Not even considering sound quality, comfort, etc; these headphones struggle to perform the FUNDAMENTAL TASK of reliably playing music through both your ears. I’ve never had to struggle so hard just to LISTEN to my music. Right ear pod disconnects almost every time I use these. Other times they will cut out music entirely out of nowhere and I will have to completely re-add the Bluetooth to my iPhone. It blows my mind that these are basically twice as expensive as AirPods. Totally overpriced product that BARELY works. Not to mention battery life is significantly less than AirPods, and the microphone for phone calls is garbage. I really did try to give these a shot because I wanted noise cancellation, but I would never want anyone to have to deal with the types of issues I have since purchasing these. Not even trying to be dramatic with this review, just absolutely stunned that these are $300 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

Response From Sony Social Support
31/01/2019

Hi Ryan1231, we regret to hear that your headphone failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

So much potential but not delivered

WF-1000X 26/01/2019 by SimonPN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was really looking forward to trying these out as a loyal Sony fan. The battery life managed 55mins at most (without noise cancelling). The noise cancelling was very ineffective. Build quality great as you would expect. But features didn’t work out for me and sounds quality (loudness) could have been better. A real shame.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Nice design but poor performance

WF-1000X 23/01/2019 by coyote_lolo12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very disappointed by this product, the performance of the noise cancelling is very poor, battery does not stand long, blue tooth is disconnecting all the time on the right headphone, and it is complex to use

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 22/01/2019 by IanT 64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and very comfortable to wear. Sound quality is great. I have thoroughly recommend these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

OK

WF-1000X 21/01/2019 by a1s2d3f4g5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These work fine on android devices but I can't get them to work on a windows desktop.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great sound quality

WF-1000X 20/01/2019 by Ishable (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a present to my wife as she uses public transport and listens to music and audio books. The noise cancelling is great and sound quality is superb and choice of buds to fit your ears. The charging station is neat, compact and easy to use but sometimes the charge goes even after they been on charge all night but may be doing something wrong as the instructions are a bit vague. Overall top quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Awesome

WF-1000X 18/01/2019 by Kikiloveme (USA)

Very nice, bought them a few months ago, very well working device

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound, not so great battery life

WF-1000X 15/01/2019 by 3Se7ens (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones about a month ago and have used them quite a lot in the interim period. Good points: easy to use and setup, great sound quality, lightweight and comfortable to wear, compact carry/charger case. Bad points: battery only last for a max of 2 hours on normal use. I like to go for long walks but find the charge cannot keep up with the time I'm out walking. Overall though I am pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 14/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these as a Christmas gift. Really happy with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 11/01/2019 by Pizzapreacher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had hoped for something better than my AirPods but I’m not sure I got it. Having to sacrifice quality for connection is such a shame. Even then there is still some swinging side to side of the sound balance as the right earphone struggles to stay connected.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Absolute Trash

WF-1000X 07/01/2019 by marissapy (USA)

I am lucky if both headphones connect. Takes at least three to four attempts to get them to connect, then that only lasts for about three minutes, MAX, until one cuts out. This is the most disappointing purchase I have ever made. I bought these because I lost an airpod, was curious about the noise canceling. Foolish and stupid move. I should have stuck with Apple. Shame on me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
11/01/2019

Hi marissapy,


Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 07/01/2019 by Martiewill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was bought these as a gift and I never put them down. The sound is great as is the usability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect headphones

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Shanta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was my 2019 Christmas gift from my sister. I simply loved it. These headphones are not only smart and clever design but also powerful compare to its size. Exceeded my expectation :) I used my headphones while I am at gym or travelling but not when I am driving or walking. Noise cancellation is too good so I don’t want to take risk. It also has an ambiance sound option which is effective while you are on the move. Only thing is that it has 3 hrs battery backup, maybe in future this will improve. Sony is a brand to trust. I wish if I could give more than 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Absolute garbage

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Sucker19 (USA)

I bought these today and they might have the worst instructions since the stone age. The instructions are pictures with no words to describe what to do. Then after connecting to my iphone they told me to get the apps which I did. It said please update the headphones. I did at 50% it said please reinsert into the case the right ear never connected again. These are going back.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
10/01/2019

Hi Sucker19,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

Defective Unit - Disappointed

WF-1000X 06/01/2019 by Racha (USA)

Excited to receive a new set. But one of them won't even charge. Left headset keeps blinking in red and never charges. Right headset got charged fine. Extremely disappointed that Sony like company sends a defective unit. Need to work on returning it now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
10/01/2019

Hi Racha,

We regret to hear that the unit needs to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Really good set of head phones

WF-1000X 05/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these for Christmas and I'm so pleased. They have great sound on them and anyone who says differently need their ears checking. I get the train to work through London every morning and cant hear a thing around me. The only down side to the sound quality is that in some areas with lots of interference such as wifi's or train lines. The right ear cuts out so that they can prioritise some noise to the left. It doesn't cut out completely and normally only last a few moments while it establishes a new connection. Can be very annoying but overall something I can deal with. They have an ok battery life, believe it's 3 hours in the headphones and also 3 hours in the charge pack that comes with it. For me this is more than enough, however if you are a person to listen to them all day then you'll probably want another set. They sit really nicely in the ear. However, if you use them for running like I do and you sweat, then they are not great at staying in the ear. Saying that, when I changed the ear buds to the black foam like buds, they stayed in much better during my run and barely had to move them. They could do with just something that made them hook into the ear just a little better. They look great, especially in rose gold, so liberally I am really happy with them. They don't have volume control so you still need to change that on what ever device you're listening to, but you can skip replay and pause songs via the headphones. Also there is an ap the updates the software in the headphones. Sound quality: 5/5 Sound consistency: 4/5 Look: 4/5 Price: 3/5 Fit: 3/5 Battery life: 3/5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Nice looking not too big

WF-1000X 04/01/2019 by Apple9686 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only tried it a couple of times but all.seems pretty good. Nothing to complain about yet .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed

WF-1000X 01/01/2019 by Mhaddrell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was expecting a lot from these little fellas ie Great sound, great noise reduction, basically all the things it says on the tin. Alas, it wasn’t to be. Virtually non existent NR (Yes, I have tried the different settings & the various sized buds), low volume et all. Will be sticking ‘em on eBay pretty sharpish.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Annoying in combination with film

WF-1000X 29/12/2018  (USA)

The sound is good. But bought it to watch movies while traveling. The sound has a delay to the movie, witch is very annoying. Tried the EarPods of a friend. These do not have this problem. So payed lots of money for the wrong product. Should have bought the Apple's

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/01/2019

Hi Matt Lindy,

We regret to hear about what happened. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

0

Sound problems

WF-1000X 29/12/2018 by Orik (USA)

The right earphone keeps disconnecting. The sound is delayed so watching videos is impossible. Also low battery life makes this a waste of money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Worst Headphones I Have Tried.

WF-1000X 23/12/2018 by npkw (USA)

I received these as a gift about a year ago. I was immediately frustrated with them, as I could not get the to connect properly. I put them away and told myself I'd give them another shot later. Being a Sony product, I have had nothing but good experiences with their previous products, so I assumed this was an error on my end, maybe I wasn't using them properly? When I pulled them out to give them a second chance, they sincerely disappointed me. The original problems I was experiencing we're connection related, as the right earbud would constantly cut out at random intervals. Overall, I would estimate that the right earbud was actively producing sound for 40% of the time. Not only were they having the same connectivity issues as before, but they had worsened. I updated them over the Sony headphones app, and switched the connection priority to stable instead of sound quality. Nothing really changed, except they seemed to cut out more. Concerned that this was a problem with my phone, I tried with my friends phones. I have an Android, so I figured maybe it would react differently when paired with an iPhone. Unfortunately, the same result persisted. I googled this problem to see if there were any other fixes or similar cases. It turns out this is a very common problem. When they do work, the headphones sound pretty good. The form factor is great for exercise, and the active noise canceling is great. However, the connection issues that I (and others) have been having completely ruins the product for me. I ended up throwing these out because they frustrated me too much to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/12/2018

Hello Npkw, we're sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your personal and product information.

We'll do our best to help you with this concern.
Regards, _Bob

0

Good but not for videos

WF-1000X 22/12/2018 by Mickf_666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great headphones for music and I use them on a daily basis. Case battery has a good life span. Found that there is too much latency when watching video and updating version is a little sensitive to other Bluetooth devices but it’s worth it for the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Garbage.

WF-1000X 17/12/2018 by Ankhati (USA)

Noise cancelling is not really effective. On phonecalls people wonder if it is raining in the background and only one headphone is active. utterly disappointing.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
18/12/2018

Hi Ankhati,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

0

Good earphones but with some flaws

WF-1000X 17/12/2018 by Consumer199 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like these earphones but there are some issues I have to point out. First of all it loses Bluetooth connection from time time and second the ear pieces does not hold securely in the ear (especially if you are moving). I don't use this device very often but those are the issues I have noticed. Overall despite the negative aspects of this product I am quite satisfied with the earphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great portable bluetooth headphones

WF-1000X 11/12/2018 by pg12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a travel option alternative to on-ear noise cancelling headphones that can be quite bulky. Love neat design, large range of fitting options, comfort over long periods (couple of hours, so far) and noise cancelling abilities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointing

WF-1000X 07/12/2018  (United Kingdom)

The sound is fine and the noise cancelling works as well as can be expected given the nature of the device. I wear them when riding my bike, running and in the gym and I am constantly having to fidget with them to make sure they don't drop out of my ear. I also wear them on the train and when flying and granted they perform better. I think the flimsy piece of rubber that is designed to help them stay in the ear is poorly designed and already one of them has stretched.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound but drop-out annoys.

WF-1000X 06/12/2018 by Jimbo55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very stylish and the sound quality is excellent. The problem is the sound drops out on the right side almost constantly. This is too annoying to really enjoy music or movie but just manageable for telecoms.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Wireless in-ears I have heard!

WF-1000X 02/12/2018 by SRMT123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking for a pair of truly wireless in-ears and must have auditioned 10+ pairs, all of which had some kind of drawback; poor sound, not truly wireless (neckband isn't my idea of wireless), poor fit or poor battery life. These, however, changed my opinion, they are excellent in every department!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lag!

WF-1000X 01/12/2018 by z_fa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is aight but videos are generally unwatchable due to the delay between mouths moving and sound coming out.. Connection can be a bit wobbly for periods of time too

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Poor Performance

WF-1000X 30/11/2018 by Techky (United Kingdom)

I'm quite disappointed with the product as it hasn't been as good as what the specs say. The battery doesn't last for 3 hours I have used it in a 2-hour lesson that I sit in every week and it lasts for 1 hour 15 mins before I have to sit listening to people talking. It's also disappointing that the Bluetooth connection only functions when the left earpiece is out of the case and not the right.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Good quality and neat but battery life is poor

WF-1000X 29/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the noise cancelling and love the wireless connection so very good quality and hassle free so ideal for travellers. However the advertised battery life is 'up to 3 hours' but in reality the charge frequently does not last a 2 hour flight. Then have to place back in the case which holds some further recharge but means the headphones cannot be used.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0