99

3.5 based on 99 customer reviews

35
21
14
12
17
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Almost Perfect and improved from previous models

WF-1000XM3 01/08/2019 by ArchETech (USA)

1) Active Noise Canceling improved over previous 1000 and 700 models. 2) Battery life greatly improved and impressive recharge quickness with case. 3) Not quite as secure in the ears as the 700n model but lighter, smaller and stay in nearly as well during movement. I have jogged in these and had no issues with staying in or being loose. They don’t quite stay in as tight for isolation as the 700n when exercising but the extra noise canceling and wider sound field make up for it. 4) Sound quality and width/ depth of field is very much improved. The sound is expansive and articulated. The 700n was very good but sometimes had too much bass with a tight figment and perhaps slightly muddy with some of the EQ settings. The new 1000xm3 are not quite as bass heavy but have just as much power on the really low end without being muddy. They also respond to EQ settings better and have options now for custom EQ settings to be saved. 5) They are not listed as moisture resistant so I’ve just been careful during exercise and hope for them to hold up. I wear and sweat band to keep them dry. I find it hard to believe that they took a step backwards in this regard, so perhaps they had issues with the performance and water resistance of the 700n relative to warranty repairs and just elected to take that rating off in order to make sure it’s not abused....who knows! In any case this is a trade off that’s worth the other improvements. 6) They are not cheap but are priced competitively especially with the offered features. 7) Case looks great and works well. They magnetic lid and magnetic fit for the buds in the case is a considerable upgrade to the 700n. Charging in the case as previously mentioned is also impressively quick. These are THE ear buds to own right now and will help to push other brands technology. These with water resistance and an ear hook design like the 700n would be perfection. Please spend me the next prototype to demo and review!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Quality check failed

WF-1000XM3 31/10/2019 by Prem1921 (USA)

I bought it around 2 months ago and already given 2 times to the service centre and didn't get a chance to use it properly. The right earphone do not work to pick the call and disconnect the call. It is the basic functionality which should be tested before releasing it to the market. I don't know how bad is the quality check has been has been done by the company. Really, it is the worst experience from a high end earphone from a brand company. I really want to refund it and need my money back. Please let me know if there is any procedure for it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

147 Customer Reviews

0

Unacceptable call audio

WF-1000XM3 18/11/2019 by AP0LL0 (USA)

These headphone only provide good audio for the listener, when making phone calls, voip calls or video calls the feedback i've received from the party on the other side was "please do not use your headphone". My wife made a comment when calling her " I can hear everything but you" I wish I could return these, they are not worth the money. Hope someone at sony reads this and offera a fix. Should've learned my lesson after buying the mdr-zx770bn, same issue with call quality. Sony of you are reading this, please fix it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi, AP0LL0!

We regret to hear about what happened. Please make sure that the software of the unit is up-to-date:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/downloads/00016370

You may also reset and initialize the headset to help isolate the issue:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289925.html
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289926.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Really wanted to love them but they kinda suck

WF-1000XM3 17/11/2019 by David91800 (USA)

They are very buggy the touch pads don’t always work, they don’t always connect to my phone and it takes forever to mess with them to the point that they will connect, and the right earbud randomly goes out for some reason, and they get out of sync a lot, I really wanted to love these sense I have the wh-1000xm3 and I love those, maybe my earbuds are broken but I baby my electronics so I don’t know how they woulda broke, unfortunately I don’t have a good experience with the Sony wf-1000xm3

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi, David91800!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. The WF-1000XM3 have a new Bluetooth chip and an optimized antenna design to provide a stable connection for hours of wireless streaming. To ensure you get the best Bluetooth connection, please set the headphones Bluetooth Connection Mode to “Priority on stable connection, https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289921.html

And for the right earbud that randomly disconnects as well as the out of sync issue, please make sure that the firmware is up to date. Please visit this link for instructions on how to install the latest firmware:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/downloads/00016370

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Love them!

WF1000XM3/B 15/11/2019 by Texas transplant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have multiple wired headsets and one Bluetooth headset. These are magnificent! I bought them refurbished from Amazon and so far they are doing a splendid job. Forgot to bring them on a 4-hour flight and really missed them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Call quality poor, audio quality superb

WF1000XM3/B 14/11/2019 by ppriyank (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this prodcut 2 months back, though I'm really happy with the sound quality but I'm having a huge problem with the call quality. As opposed to to the advertisements, its virtually impossible for me to talk on these earbuds while connected on the phone. Multiple people have complained it to me to take them out. Initially I thought it might be a sony bug and earbuds aren't upto that level but recently one of the friends who is also using the same product pointed out the anomaly since he isn't experiencing any such problems. If you do buy it from BestBuy take that 2 year warranty since it gurantees replacement (else its an unreliable product)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/11/2019

Hello, ppriyank!

We sincerely regret your experience with our product. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can assist you further.

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

I love it.

WF-1000XM3 14/11/2019 by Joe135 (USA)

I just bought me the new wireless earbuds from Sony. Let me tell you , these gadgets are the bomb. They’re pricey but you get what you pay for. Excellent, love all features and improvements made to them. I also, own a set of earbuds wireless first generation and the difference is from night and day. This time Sony nailed it with sophistication. I would definitely recommend the new earbuds wireless. Thank you Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The mic needs fixed...

WF-1000XM3 13/11/2019 by TimO21 (USA)

So I ended up buying a pair of these about two weeks ago now because I also bought the over ears noise canceling headphones that I loved(apart from the mic again..) and will never get rid of. The noise canceling is top notch. Period. So, naturally I trusted that the same quality would be in these earbuds. I am happy to say that they sound amazing but there a few things I’d like to point out. First. The noise canceling is not close to the quality of Sony’s over-ears, which is understandable I think. They are earbuds, they don’t cover your ear and they are just small. It’s unfair to compare them to over-ears but the difference is noticeable for me. Second. They are big. The case is big and the earbuds themselves stick so far out of my ears that it looks weird. Third. The paint on the case wore out sooooo fast! I think this is another disadvantage oh having such a large case! I used the headphones at work for a week, the case stayed in my pocket and after the week was over the case had friction marks on all of the corners. But maybe I’m asking too much from the paint though. I don’t know. And finally, and frankly the biggest issue I have with these and the over-ear headphones, the microphone simply sucks in every environment you can imagine!!! In my car, people can’t hear me clearly. In my loud truck, people can’t hear me clearly. In my quiet house, people can’t hear me clearly. Its so frustrating to pay so much for quality tech that excels in so many aspects and totally blows off one of the more important features. Honestly, I’m going to get my money back. I need good quality earbuds AND a perfect microphone. For the price of these, I shouldn’t have to compromise. That’s just my opinion. Moral of the story is, these are great at canceling outside noise and have fantastic sound quality but if you need a microphone DO NOT get these. They aren’t for you. Hope this was helpful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/11/2019

Hello, TimO21!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services.

We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4


For the microphone issue, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can assist you further:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Poor

WF-1000XM3 11/11/2019 by RavMat (USA)

I have a pair of these and since new I have been having issues pairing them to any device. I continue to have to reset them in the case in order to get them to recognize another device that I am trying to connect to.  Also when using for phone calls the other caller can always hear me.  I feel I will have to give them up and buy another brand.  I wouldn't even try and sell to another person since it is such a poor device.  

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/11/2019

Hi, RavMat!

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Ear hooks for WF-1000XM3

WF-1000XM3 10/11/2019 by stanemil10 (USA)

The sound is great,battery life is wonderful and with classy aesthetics. My only concern is the security from damage because it needs ear hooks to secure the unit on your ear. Pricey items like this needs a better feature and improve security.But generally, I'ts a great product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi, stanemil10! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

ANC is good but poor call quality.

WF-1000XM3 10/11/2019 by Vishal73 (USA)

The person on the phones other side always listen more surrounding in noise than my voice.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2019

Hi, Vishal73!

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Overall, they're kinda worth it

WF-1000XM3 10/11/2019 by Gerryl (USA)

Seems like the vast majority of people are more likely to focus on the negatives in a review, because people love to complain. Someone who is happy with the product won't feel like taking the time to write a review, because why would they? So to anyone researching reviews online, like I was, take everything with a grain of salt. I was looking for something wireless, portable and most importantly, with good noise isolation/cancellation. These headphones were more or less the only option. Everything else in this category came with compromises (for me) - like not being truly wireless, mediocre sound quality, bad or no sound isolation, bad designs or atrocious longevity (some of the Bo*e stuff). Pros: Noise isolation and cancellation - like normal earbuds, I would say they remove 30-40% of sounds just with proper fitting ear tips, and a further 40% with the ANC on, witch is more than I expected Sound quality Weight Looks (not the physical shape, more on that below) and build quality Features (although some things don't seem to work - like the DSEE HX or "Focus on voice" witch doesn't do anything with normal voices in your proximity, it may work however with louder stuff like announcements, haven't tested that yet) Battery life Cons: Design/shape - although they look good, the shape is just not working for me (and many others); they stick out too much and even while walking, it feels like they bounce up and down, problem reported by some reviewers as well. It seems like the stem(?) is too long or the rubber thing that sits on the bottom of the ear too bulky. I may be able to mitigate this by cutting the tube of the ear tips a bit, so it goes down further, although I was hoping things like these won't be necessary after paying over $200. That being said, they may fit like a glove for other people. *Note: I'm pretty sure Sony is aware of how bulky they came out, so they rarely (or never) use actual devices in their presentation photos, they're all edited in and sometimes 50% smaller than the actual thing... Price (I guess they can kinda justify asking this much, as these are 1 of only 2 truly wireless earbuds with real ANC) It would have been fantastic if they were a bit more modular, like other devices in this category, so you could really get the best fit - arguably one of the most important things. Other than that though, they're pretty nice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hello, Gerryl!

Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you're having an enjoyable experience with our newest earbuds. We will surely take note of your feedback and use it to improve our products and services.

We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

In any case, you need assistance, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Not for simpletons

WF-1000XM3 08/11/2019 by ak265 (USA)

This is an awesome kit - the noise cancelling function is impressive, considering the fact that these are wireless buds! The sound quality is simply excellent! Deep quality bass through to crisp high notes. Now I've noticed a few negative reviews from users on places like amazon etc, many of which I feel is unfair. I've come to the conclusion - those who are disgruntled are not technically capable of using the device to it's full potential. Most of the complaints appear to be resulting from a lack of understanding on how to actually fine tune the buds to your liking and playing with the settings - which is the fun part! If you're not capable tuning and playing around with settings, it may not be for you. But if you appreciate a sophisticated device, get it and enjoy!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

wow, amazing sound quality!!!

WF-1000XM3 07/11/2019 by rmarsha1 (USA)

I had originally bought the Samsung and Amazon earbuds, but returned both because the sound quality wasn't as premium as I expected. Ok, so I've only had these for a few minutes at this point, but I had to write a review because, WOW, what a difference in sound quality! I am so impressed. I have the Sony WH1000XM3 headphones, and I have to say the sound quality is pretty close, which is to say, very good. Pairing the earbuds with my phone was quick and smooth. Amazingly (after my previous experiences), these fit in my ears very well, and while they are bigger than most truly wireless earbuds, they really don't feel bulky. These are worth every penny, so start looking between the mattress cushions for change and get a pair of your own!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just a marketing hype

WF-1000XM3 07/11/2019 by True review (USA)

Doesn't stick in ear, over priced, sound only good if you home or office. Don't buy it if you a runner because they will not flow the sound at a continuous bases, you'll hear some cut offs now and then.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2019

Hello, there!

We sincerely regret that our product did not meet your expectations.

We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

For Bluetooth connection issue: The WF-1000XM3 has a new Bluetooth chip and an optimized antenna design to provide a stable connection for hours of wireless streaming. To ensure you get the best Bluetooth connection, please set the headphones Bluetooth Connection Mode to “Priority on stable connection”, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289921.html.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Cast improvement over the first gen

WF-1000XM3 07/11/2019 by Joey B (USA)

Purchased upon release and not surprised at how Sony does it again in the audio dept with these excellent pair of noise cancelling earphones. Sound profile and quality that only Sony can deliver in such a small form factor. Battery life is much better than the first generation. Truly Sony's best yet for only music and nothing else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/11/2019

Hi, Joey B5wo68hhxrqp3men7fjzwyclso!

Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for sharing this positive review!

0

Good But Not Great

WF-1000XM3 06/11/2019 by Malakite (USA)

I bought this just to try out. The main use in mind was to wear at work and at the gym. Sound quality is very good, however, for me positioning them to sound the best in my ear requires a few minutes of twist the earpiece back and forth. Call quality is hit or miss. On my end, I never had an issue. The person I'm talking to I would sound robotic. Most of this was due to a connection issue or the unit updating randomly. To talk about the connection issue it may vary. At the gym is where most issues would happen the bluetooth signal struggled with interference. Once the gym died out no more connection issues. What I was most impressed with is the sound. The depth of field, noise cancellation, DSEE, and adaptive sound control are amazing. So if you can get over the connection issue, the lack of more controls to forward and change volume, and calling issue; these are the best audio sounding true wireless earbuds I have ever used.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hello, Malakite!

We sincerely regret your experience with our product. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can assist you further.

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Love the sound but......

WF-1000XM3 04/11/2019 by Jill N (USA)

Bought the WH 1000XM3 noise cancelling wireless headphones as a gift for my son. A few months into him using them the left sided speaker joint broke with normal use. I contacted Sony and was told they will not cover any repair due to it being a physical breakage? Really? I guess just putting them on your head is considered physical. We purchase a lot of Sony products and I am really disappointed they are not standing behind the durability of these headphones. They do sound great but they really should hold up better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/11/2019

Hi, Jill!

We regret to hear about this. We would like to know more about this and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Music on Android = Good, Everything Else = BAD!!!

WF-1000XM3 31/10/2019 by Swardan (USA)

I have tried every imaginable pair of “studio”, wired headphones, and always come back to my tried and true MDR7506s. I demoed wireless, noise cancelling, over-the-ear headphones from every major manufacturer and I chose with the WH-1000XM3s. I love them! I was so excited when the WF-1000XM3s came out (even more excited when I could actually find a pair available to purchase). Then I got them… and I am entirely disappointed. They really do sound good. They are a little beefy, but fit well. However, every other aspect of these headphones is lacking, if not entirely awful! They will not stay paired with Windows for more than 30-40 seconds (in identical environments where my WH-1000XM3s work perfectly - and yes, I am running 1.3.0), so they are relegated to only be used with my Android devices. There is extreme latency no matter what platform I pair them to, so I cannot use them for watching video. Finally, the call quality is atrocious!!! The mics cut in and out, and when they do work people tell me I sound like I am in a wind tunnel, when I am actually sitting in my perfectly quite living room. There was a long wait to get these… Maybe Sony should have made us wait a little longer and released a product that does not suck.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Swardan!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Quality check failed

WF-1000XM3 31/10/2019 by Prem1921 (USA)

I bought it around 2 months ago and already given 2 times to the service centre and didn't get a chance to use it properly. The right earphone do not work to pick the call and disconnect the call. It is the basic functionality which should be tested before releasing it to the market. I don't know how bad is the quality check has been has been done by the company. Really, it is the worst experience from a high end earphone from a brand company. I really want to refund it and need my money back. Please let me know if there is any procedure for it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Prem1921!

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Sound quality is crisp, at times.

WF-1000XM3 28/10/2019 by KydBuckeye (USA)

I’ve been trying so hard to enjoy these earbuds, but the connectivity is such a nuisance. My right earbud will randomly just mute for about 5-10 seconds then it cuts back on. The app doesn’t seem too efficient either an update would be nice. The design and comfort are up to par by my standards. Also at times audio sounds to crackly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/10/2019

Hi, KydBuckeye!

I understand that your wf-1000xm3 is having issues with right earbud. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00229323

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

~Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Not good

WF-1000XM3 27/10/2019 by Mg alsen (USA)

I was bought from best buy and i used 3 days i was faced too much connectivity problems 7

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

4

Response From Sony Social Support
28/10/2019

Hello, Mg alsen!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Best earbuds out there

WF-1000XM3 26/10/2019 by West coast lance (USA)

I Purchased these yesterday and the sound is amazing the app is easy to load and needs to use the case is very small I noticed on the reviews people were complaining that the case was too big it is not big at all fits in your pocket and the earbuds stay securely in the case

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, West coast lance! Thanks for commenting! We're glad to hear that you're happy and satisfied with our newest earbuds. Thank you so much for your appreciation and for commending Sony! - Romeo

0

Not perfect but still amazing

WF-1000XM3 26/10/2019 by Dazzahh (USA)

Let's start with the things I do not like. Adaptive Sound Control. When I was watching or reading reviews this sounded like a great thing, I may in the future use it should I be going through a train station or airport when it would be good to have it monitoring the environment and allowing announcements to come through clearly but on my regular commute (taxi or bus mostly) this is not needed. The reason I find this so annoying is that the transition from one setting to another is painful with the tone being played and then a brief moment of silence. None of the reviewers had described that so it surprised me. Lack of volume control; Come on Sony, seriously? I am really hoping that this function is going to be added with a firmware update that will make me very happy. Play/pause is the number one thing I will use the touch control for, volume would come a close second. What do I love? Firstly the design is top-notch. I have seen people complain that they accidently touch the touch-control when handling these, I have no problem with that, there is ample room to hold either earpiece between thumb and two or even three fingers. They sit comfortably in my ears and I have found that once they are seated correctly they will stay there. I don't exercise so I don't know about them holding fast during the vigour of sport or such. The case is beautiful if a little bulky but the earpieces are quite large compared to many others so it has to be that way, I wish the hinge on the lid had a little resistance when it was operating, I don't like how the lid will swing freely. I have bought a silicone sleeve to hopefully avoid scratching the lovely copper top, I just wish there was an official Sony case, I would have dropped a bit more money on buying that. This is by far the most expensive pair of headphones I have ever purchased but they are certainly the best sounding that I have ever used by far. Sound quality tends to be quite hard to judge as it is subjective and personal to the listener, especially if you have no idea about bit-rate and what that means to what comes out of the speakers/ headphones. I listen to FLAC, I have a good set of speakers (2.1) attached to my PC and I appreciate the full sound you get with hi-def audio. That being said I wasn't expecting to hear anything new when using these, but I did. It would be cliché to say that it is like listening to music for the very first time but the experience has really been enhanced. I have heard some vocals where I could tell who it was singing, in the past I thought it was a guest artist on the backing vocal but it was clear that there was only one person singing. I have heard instruments that I never knew where there in the studio. I even heard a short conversation between two tracks that I’d never heard in the 18 years since that album came out. This could all be put down to the headphones I had used in the past being nothing special, but I had been happy with those and now I am amazed and ecstatic with these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, Dazzahh!

Thanks for commenting! We're glad to hear that you were having an enjoyable experience with our newest earbuds. We will surely take note of your feedback and use it to improve our products and services.

On this site, we can assist customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Mediocre

WF-1000XM3 25/10/2019 by Vooch (USA)

I bought these hoping that they'd be an improvement to my older set. The run time for the battery is only about an hour to hour and a half at best. They are a good fit and have a great sound but when you think of the price...too much. Over priced and not enough bang for the buck. I have a cheap $30 knock off that last 3 times as long.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/10/2019

Hi, Vooch!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. We would like to know more about this and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Incredible sound stage.

WF1000XM3/B 25/10/2019 by ltmoe1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The noise cancellation, sound stage and high quality audio on these wireless earbuds are just incredible. If I had one word to describe the sound of these wireless earbuds it would immersive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, ltmoe1!

That's cool! We are glad to hear that you were happy and satisfied with our newest earbuds. Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

0

An honest review

WF-1000XM3 23/10/2019 by Alex Badiu (USA)

Ive owned both the WF-1000X and the WF-1000XM3 set of earbuds. Let me start by saying, I have also owned 7 different brands of true wireless earbuds directly competing with these. The WF1000XM3's blow the competition out of the water when it comes to sound quality and the ability to customize the sound to your own preference. BUT. There are two major flaws. 1) they do not stay in your ears, and i dont have abnormal sized ears. I understand they arnt made for working out or lots of movement with your head, but these things fall out just sitting in a chair! I would go as far as to say they stay in even worse than the old WF-1000X. 2) the connection cuts out, not as bad as the the previous model, but still bad, sometimes even when the phone is 2 feet away from my head laying in bed. You may be thing, its my phone, but its not. I had the Samsung S9+ and now Im using the Note 9. These 2 things ruin these earbuds. I want to add, The solution is not to bring them beck to Best Buy and get a new pair, ive done that 4 times with the old ones and twice with these. Same problems every time. Until Sony takes steps into fixing these issues, I will have to switch to something else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

9

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, Alex Badiu!

We regret to hear about what happened. We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:

1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

For the connectivity issue, please refer to this link for troubleshooting steps:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00097458

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Sony does not sell replacements

WF-1000XM3 22/10/2019 by so_hipp (USA)

I accidentally misplaced my left earpeace while on a trip. I tried contacting sony in Semptember asking if I could purchase a left relacement earpeace but they do not sell any. This is really unfortunate becuase you cant listen to just one earpeace, both have to be connected to the phone. I am out a lot of money now and the only way to replace them is to buy a new complete set, which feels like a waste. Don't buy these if you are a person prone to misplaceing items. you can get single replacments for airpods and samsung headphones. this is something a company like Sony should offer (im not taking about just the gums, im talking about the entire left earpeace unit)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

23

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2019

Hi, so_hipp!

We are sorry to hear about what happened. To further assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Regards,

Erin

0

Great heaphones, weird lifespan

WF-1000XM3 19/10/2019 by iChris121 (USA)

Bought this headphones on August since it tackled my needs, long battery, good audio quality, etc. Now, October and I find myself charging my headphones after 3 hours of playback even with NC off. I've also been dealing with random disconnects as well having one earpiece... doesn't matter which since both have done it where they completely stop working and even charging unless I do a hard reset. I've owned different Sony headphones in which I haven't been dissapointed; however with these I felt confident to the point I didn't put warranty on them and now I wish I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/10/2019

Hi, iChris121!

We regret to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Unbelievable noise cancelling.

WF-1000XM3 16/10/2019 by Ddgreen45 (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few days ago and have not taken out of my ears since. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great nc, poor call quality

WF-1000XM3 15/10/2019 by Maffeetoffee (USA)

First off, I love sony audio products. I’ve been a Sony fan since the Walkman partly because the hybrid tips provide the best fit for my ears and therefore optimizes the sound quality. However, the wf-1000xm3 are the only Sony earphones that do not provide that seal for me with the hybrid tips. The triple comfort foams did a better job but I ended up using the foam tips from my Jabras that made it super tight and secure. But they start to hurt after an hour or so ordered the comply true grips to see if they are any better. The noise canceling in great much better than the wf-1000x or sp700n. The sound quality is fantastic but I prefer the wf-1000x just because I can use the hybrid tips instead of foam. The other features are great and work as advertised. I did have to get used to the quick tap on the left bud to change nc levels but that was the only learning curve. The biggest downside is the call quality. Like others have said the robotic voices on the other end happens even in quiet environments. i am on the old firmware and hoping that Sony fixes that with the update. Currently the new update has been pulled due to incompatibility with ios13. All in all a excellent nc bud that deserves its place at the top of the true wireless earbud lists.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2019

Hi, Maffeetoffee!

Although we are glad that you like the headphones, we regret that the call quality did not meet your expectations. To further help you with this, If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

The most amasing earphones ever!

WF-1000XM3 15/10/2019 by Mirakuru_ZA (United Kingdom)

My pair of JBL E500BT wireless over ear headphones broke on my flight to Europe two weeks back for no reason. The left ear just went dud. On my way back home I decided that I'm not going to sit on an 18 hour flight without music. I went into a store at the airport and bought a pair of wf-1000xm3's. Boy... It was the most comfortable flight ever. And the noise cancellation was astounding. I didn't even hear my new wife who was sitting next to me unless I placed my left index finger on the left bud. Needless to say the sound was astounding as well. I'm so happy that I got these and am using it at work now as well to block out the noise in the office area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

Awesome Wireless headphones

WF-1000XM3 13/10/2019 by Von411 (USA)

Just got these and they are awesome. Wireless Bluetooth connection. Easy app to download work great with my IPhone 11 Max. noise canceling is awesome easy to charge lasted around six hours probably a little longer but I decided to charge him anyways. They come in a really nice case turn as soon as you take them out. I love them. They fit great in my ears don’t fall out when I’m exercising. Wiped them clean with an alcohol pad. I love them. Great investment. Last but not least the Sound is Amazing.. two thumbs up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/10/2019

Hello, Von411! That's great! Thanks for the feedback! We are more than happy to hear that you were having an enjoyable experience with our newest earbuds. Thanks for commending Sony! - Romeo

0

Don't stay in...

WF-1000XM3 13/10/2019 by jwitbo44 (USA)

I swapped out Bose wireless buds for these because of bluetooth issues common to many with left bud connectivity issues. That said, the Bose buds, albeit Frankensteinish, stayed in snugly all the time. I used them primarily while working out and they would never fall out. The idea of noise cancelling in buds was appealing. I also have the latest Sony over ear headphones which are awesome. My main issue is that these Sony buds do not stay in. I've worn a handful of buds and these are the worst fitting I've had. I don't want sony respond with the fitting instructions. It does not help. I believe I need bigger attachments. I have tried them all but they consistently loosen up at the most subtle of movements and several times in the first week of wearing, I've had to either constantly adjust them to stay in or I have caught them as they are falling out. For $230 bucks I can't afford to lose one in a toilet or in the yard while mowing. I did buy a Best Buy additional warranty but these will likely have to go back. I have normal sized ears and I believe it is just a poor design. I realize these don't have wings and there a few tip options that come with but it needs a larger size and that may help. Sony, if you have any suggestions please let me know but otherwise will return here shortly. Again, please don't send a link for fitting instructions. That is not going to fix the problem.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

7

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2019

Hi, jwitbo44!

We are sorry for the inconvenience. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Overall sound is good, but mic could be improved

WF-1000XM3 13/10/2019 by Kazuki (USA)

Just bought this last week because my WI-1000X started falling apart. Overall the sound quality is good but doesn't seem as good as the WI-1000X. The worst part is the microphone quality - maybe there is a setting for this but everyone complains about my voice when I use these - so they are non-useable for conference calls which is why I bought them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2019

Hello, Kazuki!

We sincerely regret that our product failed to meet your expectations.

We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)”
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

Concerning the microphone of the headphones, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can assist you further.

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Not all is created equal...

WF-1000XM3 11/10/2019 by Harcon (USA)

I brought this item a couple of days ago to replace my Bose Sound Free and even with the smallest earbuds, for some reason they just would not stay in my ear, they kept falling out. Too bad I couldn't keep them in my ear long enough to pair the device, returning ASAP :-(

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/10/2019

Hi, Harcon!

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1. Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2. Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app
(ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)

Regards,
Sam

0

The best leading true wireless earbuds!

WF-1000XM3 09/10/2019 by warlock907 (USA)

They look vey modern and sleek, the audio is amazing and connectivity is better than ever before! Noise canceling works Nicely, tho a little slow/lacking when moving quickly like, jogging or riding a bike..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2019

Hi, warlock907!

We appreciate your time in writing this feedback about the headphones. We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:

1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

~Ralph

0

Don't purchase until windows is supported

WF-1000XM3 09/10/2019 by Macker202 (United Kingdom)

Excellent audio quality, and noise cancelling and the battery life is superb. The only downside is that they don't show up on Windows 10 as an audio device, and as such you can't listen to music/use them for gaming/etc on your PC. I've been given no date to expect this firmware update so am minded to return them. A real shame really; half a product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

9

0

Terrible Design and Communications Failure

WF1000XM3/B 06/10/2019 by Burderop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These ear buds do not, and by their enclosed and web site instructions apparently were never intended to pair with (in my case MacBook Pro) laptops. Why? This limitation is not mentioned in ads, posters, packaging or reviews. Why? Laptop functionality is absolutely essential. By contrast my aging Trekz and LG buds pair just fine with my phones, laptops and iPad. Needless omissions like this has become a time consuming inconvenience forcing a return trip to the store for credit and/or exchange. Failure to perform as expected is perplexing, but failure to inform is unforgivable. Why SONY, why?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, Burderop!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We would like to know more from you and help you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
The version of your MacBook Pro:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

It looks good until it crumbles!!

WF-1000XM3 04/10/2019 by Hmikels (United Kingdom)

I had this pair of headphones almost 3 weeks ago, and this is my review: PROS ++ Amazing noise cancelling capabilities with thie small size, honestly, a huge part of the job was done here and it is really evident (+3) Although all Internet reviews said don't take it to the gym as the grip is not stable, but it works me and I can exercise with it ( Including running at 12 Km on treadmill) (+0.5) Battery life of this thing is impressive, I charge the case only once a week and I use the headphones daily for at least 8 hours (not continously of course) and I never face a problem with battery life. (+1.5) CONS - - - Very good sound quality when playing music (Expected from Sony), However, music sound extremely boosted when the noise cancelling function is on, so if you are already in a quiet environment and you want to enjoy your music without noise cancellation (To save battery) you will not have the same experience (-0.5) Problems arise when connecting these headphones to mobile phones, sometimes they just don't connect directly and the process has to be done manually (-0.5) Consistent sound distortion during calls that is reported on both android and Iphone, the other party receives a robotic version of my voice in a disturbing amd annoying matter, this is considered an entry level problem amd I can't believe that sony is making it, I tried all kinds of reset and it didn't work, also I have the latest firmware, this is a MAJOR bummer that literally ruins the experience for me (-3) That is why I have give 1/5

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

14

8

0

bluetooth connection and poor noise cancellation

WF-1000XM3 04/10/2019 by sam825 (USA)

Immediately on the first day of use, I realized that the bluetooth connection was sketchy and would disconnect every now and then even on the connection priority mode. The user guide on connecting the device and using the gestures are also very poor (those can be taken care of by searching in the internet though). It took me literally 3 hours to connect these to the MacBook Pro (very poor guide for computer connections). The sound would drop every now and then when connected to the MacBook. The noise cancellation also seems like a gimmick and is subpar. . The cellphone app is also very poorly designed and the earbuds cannot be connected by using the IOS app if it is updated to 13.1, they need connection from the bluetooth setting in IOS itself everytime. Please fix these issues if possible by software updates

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2019

Hi, sam825!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:

Help Guide: https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app: https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial
Instructional Video: https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

Great sound quality, annoying small things

WF-1000XM3 03/10/2019 by Bennn (USA)

These headphones have amazing quality and noise cancelation, when they aren't cutting out. I love these and their convenience, but I am tired of listening to music when they suddenly cut out and stutter music, or don't connect when I put them in my ears right away and I need to go into bluetooth and do it myself. Would love to speak to a Sony rep about it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

Response From Sony Social Support
08/10/2019

Hello, Bennn!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00232102

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



~Zac

0

Excellent sound for true wireless in ears!!

WF-1000XM3 02/10/2019 by DB1984 (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound quality yet again from Sony. Noise cancelling is very useful, although it isn’t as strong as the WH-1000XM3. The best true wireless I’ve tried

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

The best

WF-1000XM3 02/10/2019 by DJpo (USA)

Awesome The best sound so clear and the quality of sound is so smooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hello, DJpo! Thanks for the feedback! We're very pleased and grateful for your kind words. Thank you so much for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

No noise canceling functionality at all.

WF-1000XM3 01/10/2019 by Donttellmeyouwantitunique (United Kingdom)

I'm on my second pair as I thought the NC was faulty, ran through all the trouble shooting (sony's tips shows you NC optimisation function which does not exist: https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00223302 ), tried all the buds, firmware upgrade seems disabled - I'm stick on 1.2.3, the support on the website consists of a lot of 'have you turned NC on' and a set of questions that swap symptoms from 'hearing noise' to 'sounds dropping' half way through. They sound quite good but no NC functionality at all, registered the product for support and there is none, sticking with my chinese NC over ears which cost £50 - really disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

13

0

Great sound with constant dropouts.

WF-1000XM3 01/10/2019  (USA)

I had 2 different WF-1000XM3’s for 3 weeks before returning them. The headphones sound amazing and the noise cancelling is great. The problem with these is that they only function correctly when you are sitting/standing still. I have a 20 minute bike ride to work and every day they dropped out for +/-1 second, 25+ times on the ride. This happed with both pairs and it just made them useless for me. The ambient and noise cancelling doesn’t work when riding a bike as well. The idea behind these headphones is great, but so very poorly executed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hello, BjarneGoldbaek!

We're sorry to hear that our product did not meet your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services.

Concerning the connection drop out issue, the WF-1000XM3 has a new Bluetooth chip and an optimized antenna design to provide a stable connection for hours of wireless streaming. To ensure you get the best Bluetooth connection, please set the headphones Bluetooth Connection Mode to “Priority on stable connection”, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289921.html.

You may also visit https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00097458 for troubleshooting instructions.

About the noise canceling, we provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)”
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

You may also check out this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00229318 for troubleshooting instructions.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Fantastic sound

WF-1000XM3 30/09/2019 by Koleus1 (United Kingdom)

Bought these today and used them on all my Bluetooth gadgets, fantastic sound and all hands free.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great but....

WF-1000XM3 30/09/2019 by bd77 (USA)

Great design & comfort. Left control does not work. Noise canceling does not work. Music sounds great. I bought to replace BOSE QC 30 to eliminate neck band. Maybe this is an out of box failure. I plan to return.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2019

Hello, bd77!

We're sorry for the inconvenience. For the touch sensors to work properly: the single tap must be very short/quick. If the finger touches the sensor “too long” during the tap => it will not work. Ref instructional video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

Note also:

Tap the touch sensor while holding the headset between your thumb and middle finger. If the headset moves when you tap the touch sensor, the headset may not operate, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289922.html?search=tap

When tapping the touch sensor 2 or 3 times, tap it quickly with an interval of about 0.4 seconds between taps, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002395215.html?search=tap “

Concerning the noise cancelation, We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:

1. Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2. Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)”

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great noise cancellation, terrible call quality

WF-1000XM3 29/09/2019 by jayc481 (USA)

I've been using these daily at work and on my commute for about a week now. I can say that listening to podcasts and music on these is fantastic. The noise cancellation works great, and I makes a huge difference. I like the configurability of the ambient sound control as well. The single biggest problem with these is that they are basically useless for phone calls. Literally every single time I took a call w/ them (all in a quiet meeting room, I might add), the person on the other end of the line could not hear me at all. They told me it constantly sounded choppy and broken up. Every single time, I had to resort to turning these off and just using my phone directly. I've also tried recording my voice using the Voice Memo app on my phone to verify that it wasn't a phone connection issue. The recording sounded truly terrible. @Sony - This is not an acceptable user experience. Has anyone at Sony even tried using these for phone calls? How did they allow the release of this product w/ such a huge problem? Please fix this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, jayc481!

We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our representatives will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Best sound for wireless ear buds but not for calls

WF-1000XM3 29/09/2019 by JNHohol (USA)

There are the best sounding in-ear headphones I’ve heard so far. I love the sound stage with great bass and crisp mids and highs. The two biggest complaints I have are the size of the case and the atrocious call quality. I come from AirPods and the call quality with the AirPods is the best I’ve used according to the people I call. The case is also very small and convenient. I would love to give these headphones a 5-star review but there are just too many compromises. These are the best in-ear headphone for listening to music with but they are not good enough to be your only headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/09/2019

Hi, JNHohol!

We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our support team will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Brilliant AirPods slayer

WF-1000XM3 28/09/2019 by ajsaudiswim (United Kingdom)

bought today. Easy to set up, amazing sound, noise cancel good as is voice reception

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

great headphone

WF1000XM3/B 27/09/2019 by daehan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound quality is great and noise canceling is working perfectly when i work out at the gym. One thing i do not like about it is that i cannot control the volume...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/09/2019

Hi, daehan!

We're happy that you're satisfied with your purchase. And with regards to the volume control, the volume can be adjusted from the connected Bluetooth device.

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Sam

0

Terrible call quality

WF-1000XM3 25/09/2019 by Allan110 (United Kingdom)

Music sound very good. Call quality really really bad. Microphones are unable to pick up speech clearly. Voice sounds very distant and muffled. The worst headphones I have used for phone calls! The photos of the earphones on the models make them look small. The models used must have massive ears as the earphones completely fill my ears.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

13

3

0

Great Headphones ruined by Bluetooth Issues

WF-1000XM3 25/09/2019 by jryoung86 (USA)

These earbuds are beautifully designed and the sound quality is amazing... When the Bluetooth connection actually works, which is rarely. The music will stop and the left bud will chime and the connection drops. Furthermore, I have to use the app to get the connection back. Once it is re-established it takes a minute before I can get the music going again. This process happens multiple times per hour which ruins all the positive things these earbuds have going for them. I want to love these but right now it is very frustrating to use them. I would hold off on getting them until the connection issues are fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hello, Jryoung86!

We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. The WF-1000XM3 has a new Bluetooth chip and an optimized antenna design to provide a stable connection for hours of wireless streaming. To ensure you get the best Bluetooth connection, please set the headphones Bluetooth Connection Mode to “Priority on stable connection”, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289921.html

You may also check this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00097458

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Gets a 4 since there's no 3.5 option

WF-1000XM3 23/09/2019 by collegestudent_so_i_getit (USA)

I feel like these need work for the tweaks but have potential to be really useful and cool to use. I've had these earbuds for about a week and a half, so I'm definitely still getting used the to feeling of a wireless experience; however, I was quick to notice the little things after making the transition from apple earbuds (with cord) to these. First, I say earbuds because, honestly, headphones is so misleading: these are little buds that just go in the EAR, not over the head. My most important comment is on the connection. When I set up the earbuds las week, the app was already selected to "focus on connection" (Rather than what? I haven't tested other settings). Even with this setting, I've had issues with the bluetooth connection between the two buds so that for a split second the connection breaks or the sync between the two is off. It's a hard sensation to explain, but ultimately it messes with the listening experience. Interestingly, I haven't noticed this happening with my laptop; perhaps this is because nothing is in the way of the earbuds and the laptop, so the connection can be clear (?). On the topic of laptops, setting up the connection was a pain. They didn't come with any instruction to do this, so I had to look it up. I needed first to disconnect them manually from my phone to connect to my Mac. The overall complaint here is that since there's not a laptop app for the sound, I can't adjust the noise cancelling or sound quality. Boo. The music going from Spotify to my earbuds is all the way up in volume and is still fairly quiet, and I don't have access to the noise cancelling so there's plenty of ambient music coming in. I wish there was a way to adjust volume. Luckily, with my Apple Watch, I can do the volume from there if it's on my phone, but not everyone has an Apple Watch to use this feature. Of course I have some compliments for the product. I'm raving about how cool I look with these guys in. It's pretty typical to see AirPods nowadays so anyone with those is just basic, as we would say in college. These are unique (which means I don't need to cover the case in stickers or anything to distinguish them) and have a modern but sophisticated look. I will say though, I wish there was another option for colors, as I'd probably prefer a silver accent over coppery-pink (?). Once I figured out exactly how they sit in my ear, it's fairly easy to out them in; I've only had one fall out once, and it wasn't even in my ear all the way. I've danced around my dorm room for over an hour without any slippage (the problem here was the connection). On the topic of being a college student, I've been able to walk all around campus without having too much noise cancelling but also not having to listen to anyone around me, and I don't look stupid walking around with a five foot cord connected to my head. When the connection is working properly, the sound quality is amazing, better than any apple earbuds for sure and probably Beats too.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hello, Collegestudent_so_i_getit!

We're sorry for the inconvenience. We will surely take note of your feedback and use it to improve our products and services.

The WF-1000XM3 has a new Bluetooth chip and an optimized antenna design to provide a stable connection for hours of wireless streaming. To ensure you get the best Bluetooth connection, please set the headphones Bluetooth Connection Mode to “Priority on stable connection”, ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289921.html

We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes and an optimal noise-canceling experience. To ensure optimal performance with noise canceling, as well as to obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to one or both of the following:
1.Help Guide https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002392265.html
2.Animated Tutorial on the Sony Headphones Connect app (ref https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0001548864.html?search=tutorial)”
3.Instructional Video https://youtu.be/HnXJ_f2nbb4

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Good headphones.. with a couple of issues

WF-1000XM3 23/09/2019 by Mason M (USA)

Whenever I bought the product I automatically knew if I bought from Sony I was probably going to get a really really good product. These headphones (which I use everyday) have brought a couple of issues. On the phone, I sound like a robot to the people I call (practically scaring them). This issue is not a one time thing either. This happens everytime I call someone or someone calls me. Bluetooth takes awhile to connect to my phone if I already have something playing. Music wise everything is great. The noise-cancelling (in moderation) is pretty good, but the main issues are the calls and bluetooth issues. I would recommend this product if the call issues get fixed since most people buy these for that very purpose.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hello, Mason!

We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Everything is good but battery draining very fast

WF-1000XM3 23/09/2019 by Shebi (USA)

I bought this one week ago the fantastic sound quality and features better than airpod 2,but I getting only 3 hours playback after earbuds recharge may I know which is complaint or any solution

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hello, Shebi!

Thanks for the feedback! We're happy to hear that you're having an enjoyable experience with our newest earbuds! Please note that the usage hours may be different depending on the settings and conditions of use. For more information, please refer to this link https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm3/v1/en/contents/TP0002289868.html?search=battery.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Terrible for calls

WF1000XM3/B 23/09/2019 by Cbcowan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used for 45 days and have only had 20% success on ability to use on calls

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

9

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hello, Cbcowan!

We sincerely regret that our product did not meet your expectations. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Finally True Wireless with Great Loud Sound!

WF-1000XM3 23/09/2019 by TheVinnyRater (USA)

Been waiting for these to restock and now I finally tried them, and I am keeping these! Love the sound signature, ease of use, size, look, and of course, performance! These are the ones I am keeping after trying a few wireless earbuds. Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/10/2019

Hello, TheVinnyRater! Thanks for the feedback! We're happy to hear that you're having an enjoyable experience with our WF-1000XM3! Thank you so much for commending Sony! - Romeo

0

Great for listening, horrible for calls

WF-1000XM3 22/09/2019 by Frustratedbuyer5 (USA)

I came from airpods to these, and it was a huge upgrade in sound quality. I also have the big over the ear headphones which I love. But I make a lot of calls for work and these are not just bad, they're horrible. People said they couldn't understand me and I sounded like a robot. I need to sell these and get back to airpods. Such a headache so far. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/09/2019

Hello, Frustratedbuyer5!

We're sorry for the inconvenience. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Convinced and Surprised.

WF-1000XM3 22/09/2019 by HIghlander2 (USA)

I thought I finally had the best. I had tried every single earphone on the Market and finally figured out that there were only two top brands of truly great sounding earphones. All that changed when I got these earphones. No there is but One at the top of all other earphones on the market, the Sony XM3's. After the Firware the N/c truly made a difference which made the already dominate clarity and soundstage power even better with more silence. Then you add the comfort that I have with these. All ears are different but for me the rubber portion at the base of the plug really added balance and surity that disappeared, leaving nothing but the feeling that sound presence existing inside you mind only and no place else. Finally, the battery life that is said to be 6 or 8 hours. Not sure yet if it's true but I have not needed to find out as my time with earphone only last about 2 hours or so in sessions. So as long as I have 4 hours or more I will never run out throughout the day. Both line, Get them. They may just end up being the very best earphone you have tried. It might even rival your headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hello, HIghlander2! Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are truly happy that you're having an enjoyable experience with the unit. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Outstanding sound quality & great features

WF-1000XM3 20/09/2019 by Ainawi (USA)

Being an audiophile these are one of the best audio quality earphones I have ever heard. Its been 2 weeks since I bought them & every day I get to like them more & more. Apart from the sound quality the self integrated Google assistant take these buds to another level of excitement & fun to operate. I have been bose user for years and I think giving a try to Sony was the best move I made in 2019. Totally satisfied with the performance & quality, plus these are made in Malaysia & not China that further adds to the genuinity. My only concern is the kind of matte finish case which cannot be cleaned for some stains like in my case which got ballnpoint ink stains & my every attempt to clean them were failed. Good work Sony keep it up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/09/2019

Hi, Ainawi!

We are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

My true wireless silence

WF-1000XM3 17/09/2019 by Tomi0211 (United Kingdom)

Good when they work, but very often, actually in time every 60 sec, they stop playing music and there is silence, nothing , then suddenly they go alive again and after another moment of happy mymusic they stop again. so annoyed by them, of course I tried to change settings and chosen connection over quality, never helped. :( :( :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

Best Truly Wireless Earbuds on the Market

WF-1000XM3 17/09/2019 by fronc (USA)

Sony is at it again, dominating a particular consumer electronics market and leading the way in quality and innovation. The WF-1000XM3 earbuds take sound quality, range, and industry-leading noise cancellation and put it all in one headset with Google Assistant integrated right in. For me, as an Android users, this is a match made in heaven. I have had the pleasure of owning Sony's latest over-the-ear noise cancelling headphones, and these just take that same wonderful experience and make it more portable, comfortable, and easier. The battery life is exceptional for both the buds and the charging case itself, and the USB C charge port makes charging them back up an even faster experience than competing products. Overall, this is the best sounding truly wireless headset I've used, and I've used nearly all of the major competitors' products. Here's the Pro's: - Either-side, single ear operation - Very good bass - Very good noise cancellation - Google Assistant integration built-in - Comfortable fit and light weight - Outstanding battery life - Premium look and feel for the product, its housing, and its packaging - Reasonable price point Here's the Cons: - Had trouble pairing them the first time, but resetting them and repairing fixed it (but it may have been caused by an update to Android that same day). - Not advertised as water- or sweat-resistant in any capacity. I won't use them for working out. - Inner ear silicone really goes deep into the ear, which (grossly enough) tends to accumulate earwax on the silicone near the speaker hole, and will require diligence to keep wax from getting to the speaker over time. I have already recommended these to fellow coworkers who travel on plane and train often, and will continue to talk well of these buds for a long while to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, fronc! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

Great earbuds with place for improvements

WF-1000XM3 14/09/2019 by basstoll (USA)

I bought the earbuds around 2 weeks ago, so I can tell you about my experience after the 'oh my god, i almost can't hear anything around me' magic became ordinary. Let's start with charging box. The design is pretty slick and all, but after just one day of carrying it in my pocket, the copper top where the Sony logo is got a scratch and I just had a lighter in my pocket apart from the charging box. Now when it comes to the earbuds themselves, I am pretty happy with them. I own the swimming earbuds from Sony and as far as swimming with them is so great, the sound on them is way too muddy and I was afraid it's just how Sony makes their earbuds. Happily that wasn't the case with these ones. The sounds is quite amazing straight from the box, but you can fine tune the frequency response in the app to make it perfect for your preference. Speaking of the app, let's talk about tech side of the things a bit. I got the earbuds a week before the app update was available, so my first week I got to experience the long connecting times every time I wanted to change something in the app. Thankfully the update fixed that and now I'm able to tweak everything in the app without losing my patience. So the app is great and all, but it's only available on iOS and Android devices, which is a bit of a downer, because if you want to connect your headphones to a Windows laptop you lose the control over the noise cancelling options and the rest of the jazz. The latest software update promised a better connection to Windows devices, but to be honest I can't really say how much it really improved things as I'm getting all kinds of connection glitches when trying to just watch a youtube video. I would not recommend these earbuds if your primary device to connect them to is a laptop. The connection to my mobile phone (iPhone) is pretty spot on with occasional dropouts and glitches, most of them when in a supermarket, probably due to multiple signal sources that interfere with my devices, but I guess little can be done about this (nonetheless, surprise me, Sony!). Some of my other concerns are pretty minor, for example I seem not be able to unpause a youtube video once i paused it using the earbud's touch sensor, but then again most likely the blame is on youtube's side. Another thing is the missing volume control on the earbuds themselves, which is quite baffling as the mobile app lets you map different options to the touch sensor, so I'm hoping Sony engineers will come up with a way to add this option, as some people don't use voice assistants, but would welcome the volume control with arms wide open. In general those earbuds are a solid product, with a few places for improvement. There is nothing to complain about the hardware (well, maybe the materials used for the charging box, but let's not be that pedantic) and the software seems to be updated on regular basis, so anything missing in that department, we can just hope will be fixed one issue at a time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/09/2019

Hi, basstoll! Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

Great wireless noise canceling headphones

WF-1000XM3 13/09/2019 by AlisonH (USA)

This is my second wireless noise canceling headphones. It has the best noise canceling feature compare with other wireless headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, AlisonH! Great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the headphones. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph