16

4.2 based on 16 customer reviews

10
3
1
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic. Takes some beating at such a small size

ICD-UX560 29/12/2017 by nickitson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is one of the most amazing pieces of tech I have come across in recent times. I have a couple of other recorders, but I was looking for a CD quality capable recorder in a small package and this is it. It is unusual from my previous recorders in that most of the set up choices are set up in the software on board, rather than with small slider switches on the outside of the case. This undoubtedly improves the reliability of the unit (less mechanical parts) and the menu system is very intuitive. It is well worth taking a good read through the help file that is available for download online. Not the start up guide supplied with the unit but the linked and bookmarked pdf file, which has a lot more in depth information on how to operate the recorder. It is particularly useful to research and investigate the various recording settings available in the recorder. This is not just the easily selected 'scenes' but rather the settings for microphone sensitivity and directionality, which I have used to get some amazingly atmospheric stereo recordings in large indoor spaces. Make some test recordings for yourself with different settings. It is impressive what can be achieved. The speaker on this recorder is very modest and really requires headphones to get a true sense of the playback quality, or use the supplied Sound Manager software to transfer the recordings to your pc to listen to them or burn them to CD etc. The one reservation I had was that the battery is an on board rechargeable, and so if you are out and about for long periods you need access to a USB socket to recharge the unit, as opposed to simply buying or carrying a couple of AAA cells with you to get you going again. Time will tell if that proves to be a real limitation. Not so much for me I think as I will be able to take one of my other recorders with me for those sort of outings. Very pleased with this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Don't Recommend to Buy

4 GB 02/05/2018 by BinkyFL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first few weeks were great. Then I get "memory full" error even though all my files are erased. Won't let me reformat. Had this issue with an older model as well. Next purchase will be a different brand without these issues.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

16 Customer Reviews

0

10 Degrees away from Perfect

ICD-UX560 14/07/2018 by Xgenei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Screen is very hard to read in any case - IMPOSSIBLE TO READ IN SHADE - forget about sunlight. BETTER SCREEN AND A ZOOM FEATURE - those letters are like 6pt!! The all important record button and stop button are impossible to find by touch. Seriously - needs a raised center dot. The built-in mics are actually better than any other unit I have used - including the top of the line Tascams. They do not require the use of a wind screen. The menu-driven features cannot be faulted. The mic volume level feature works very well. THEY DELETED THE SLEEVE CASE - have to make my own!! Good alternative competitive with Tascam and Zoom for quality - and at this price point can't be beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony Products are the Best

ICD-UX560 01/07/2018 by Stefan_UK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been testing out a new Sony ICD-UX560 Digital Stereo Voice Recorder to add to my Digital Audio Recorder Arsenal. :) Very easy to use has great functionality, amazingly thin and has good battery life once fully charged. The menu is well thought out intuitive and easy to navigate. The various recordings modes work flawlessly whether you're just recording notes, lectures, meeting or using it for interviews. This is what I would expect from Sony. I have other Sony products and I have never ever had cause for complaint. I also bought a Sony lapel stereo microphone as I can easily fit this smart digital voice recorder in my cotton shirt pocket and clip the microphone to my shirt collar. This device is so light it doesn't cause my cotton shirt pocket to bulge or sag. I have seen people compare this recorder to a smartphone with a dictation app saying why bother buying the Sony? Well, I disagree this unit runs for hours and the microphone FOCUS on sound in its different modes is optimised for many different recording situations. The various modes take the guesswork out of all your voice recording situations so you can concentrate on your work. It has expandable storage with the addition of a micro sd card and your voice audio is easily manageable on the device and with the free software. It has a convenient pop-out USB connector so you can connect straight to your PC or Laptop. You can store your music library on this device which supports many different formats, unlike others that only support MP3 and WAV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hard to tell when you are recording

ICD-UX560 15/05/2018 by egray133 (USA)

Because the screen shuts off very quickly to save power, and the red recording light is very faint, it is easy to think you are recording only to discover too late that you actually weren't. First audio recording device I've ever owned where it isn't crystal clear whether you're recording or not. Major design flaw in my opinion.

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/05/2018

Hi egray133,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

My Digital Recorder

ICD-UX560 14/05/2018 by Billy the kid xxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought the product 1 week ago, fantastic. i always will buy Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't Recommend to Buy

4 GB 02/05/2018 by BinkyFL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first few weeks were great. Then I get "memory full" error even though all my files are erased. Won't let me reformat. Had this issue with an older model as well. Next purchase will be a different brand without these issues.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

ICD-UX560 26/04/2018 by Latty11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still learning how to use. Is not very complicated but could be simpler. I like the sound quality as touch deeper than real voice. Would be better if supplied with paper manual.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

The best recoder I have ever owned

4 GB 16/04/2018 by NewMerlin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little recorder is spectacular! I use it as a recorder, for transcriptions, and as an MP3 player. It is compatible with the Dragon Natural Speaking software that performs unattended transcription from previously-recorded content. I purchased a Sony stereo lapel microphone to go with it and it's a perfect match! With the expansion memory (I'm using a 64GB Sandisk Ultra micro SD card), there seems to be no limit to the songs, speech and other files I can store on this device. I use it as an MP3 player and appreciate the fact that the recorder has built-in speakers for playbackm of music and speech. The player has forward and reverse indexing, as well as repeat to make it easy to rehear any difficult phrases. The clarity of recordings made with this, is amazing. There is a playback speed control that allows accelerated playback without changing the pitch of the recorded sound. There is also an audio equalizer built in, which enhances the listening experience through headphones or external sound amplifying equipment. The microphone input provides power for electret mikes that might need it, and will also accept line inputs without distortion. The audio output can drive headphones or can be used as a line output. All this capability assembled into a case the size of two paper matchbooks placed end to end! I also cannot believe how little power this thing uses. It can run all night, the next day and the next night without needing a recharge. Recharge time is less than thirty minutes from any USB power source. It even has the USB plug built into the case! I'll likely buy more of these as gifts for my techie friends. I've been looking for this recorder all my life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just what the Dr. ordered!

4 GB 05/04/2018 by jlowry999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for podcast and interviews. Works great for both.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mr

ICD-UX560 19/03/2018 by D S kim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with this product. It looks good and the recording quality is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Hard decision

ICD-UX560 14/02/2018 by Riccs (United Kingdom)

So.I wanted to have a better device than what I had before for third of this device's price. I wanted to have builtin battery and microsd. My problem with this, that the sound quality in my opinion is worse in a class room than the cheaper one. I what I can hear is literally everything except the teacher's voice even tho, everybody is very quiet. I wanted it to return but it was a gift and we run out of time sadly. I am sure it's good if you don't want to record in a classroom.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Unbelievably easy to use....

ICD-UX560 10/02/2018 by Bubbles2521 (USA)

I bought this without seeing it because I needed it in a pinch. I had to record an all-day training that I could not attend and gave it to a colleague to use, along with the instructions. She did a great job even without knowing exactly what she was doing. The quality is excellent, found the files easily and you really don't need to even have instructions. What was best for me, and what I love, is the supporting software that slows down the very fast speakers at the training so that I can hear what is said in the echoing environment of the room. I haven't even used to it to operate on my own - so this is just phenomenal to me. I have a very hard time hearing and I think that I will use this all the time now in situations that are hard for me to hear, as my hearing declines. Amazing product, easy to use, easy to navigate without even using the very simple directions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Recording Device

ICD-UX560 22/01/2018 by Harold96 (USA)

I am so surprised with the sensitivity of this recorder. I thought I would need an external microphone. I did not! Where can I purchase a case for this device?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

So Good A+

4 GB 05/01/2018 by Booper10000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great audio quality great battery life good display also works as a mp3 player if your in to that so glad it has a micro sd card slot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Fantastic. Takes some beating at such a small size

ICD-UX560 29/12/2017 by nickitson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is one of the most amazing pieces of tech I have come across in recent times. I have a couple of other recorders, but I was looking for a CD quality capable recorder in a small package and this is it. It is unusual from my previous recorders in that most of the set up choices are set up in the software on board, rather than with small slider switches on the outside of the case. This undoubtedly improves the reliability of the unit (less mechanical parts) and the menu system is very intuitive. It is well worth taking a good read through the help file that is available for download online. Not the start up guide supplied with the unit but the linked and bookmarked pdf file, which has a lot more in depth information on how to operate the recorder. It is particularly useful to research and investigate the various recording settings available in the recorder. This is not just the easily selected 'scenes' but rather the settings for microphone sensitivity and directionality, which I have used to get some amazingly atmospheric stereo recordings in large indoor spaces. Make some test recordings for yourself with different settings. It is impressive what can be achieved. The speaker on this recorder is very modest and really requires headphones to get a true sense of the playback quality, or use the supplied Sound Manager software to transfer the recordings to your pc to listen to them or burn them to CD etc. The one reservation I had was that the battery is an on board rechargeable, and so if you are out and about for long periods you need access to a USB socket to recharge the unit, as opposed to simply buying or carrying a couple of AAA cells with you to get you going again. Time will tell if that proves to be a real limitation. Not so much for me I think as I will be able to take one of my other recorders with me for those sort of outings. Very pleased with this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Expensive, but really worth it

ICD-UX560 22/10/2017 by Andy Tfd (United Kingdom)

I bought this for recording research interviews. Makes a real difference. First and foremost the quality and clarity of the recordings are excellent. Doesn’t sound so on the internal speakers but channel it through an amp or headphones and the difference to other dictaphone is striking. The other strength is usability. Setting up folders and choosing which to use is so easy. So is seating the quality- this one does lossless recording, no use for interviews but when I have an idea in the guitar I can just hit record on this and sketch it out, brilliant and in lossless good enough to bounce into a deck as the starting track. Live it more the more I use it, and the bonus is it is very very classy, looks great and is so small, but perfectly formed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great voice recorder

ICD-UX560 14/09/2017 by vnv6282 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound quality; noise cancelling is great, even on the outdoor conditions. Very simple navigation and manipulating of the controls. All control buttons on their places. Recording starts almost instantly, when the power is on. The power on has delays about 0.25~0.5sec; which is quicker than on my older voice recorder. I would definitely recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0