Skip to Content

Starting at

$319.99

42

4.4 based on 42 customer reviews

22
16
2
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superior alternative to an iPod

16GB 05/01/2016 by skullfunkerry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a Christmas present as my iPod needed a new battery and I couldn't find anyone to do it for me. Have to say, I prefer the Sony in every way: the navigation is simple (bit of a throwback to old phones, in fact - not necessarily a bad thing!), and the addition of a MicroSD slot means that I can easily fit my whole music library on the device. The sound is awesome - between the custom EQ settings, predefined surround options and the DSEE/etc presets, there's definitely a setting for whatever your preference. I'm using my own Sennheiser earbuds rather than the Sony ones that came bundled with the player, but the bundled ones sound great too - very crisp and clear: I just prefer the added "Oomph" of my Sennheisers. All in all, I'd recommend this player in a heartbeat to anyone who wants a new player, whether they're a fan of Apple or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bluetooth not connecting

16GB 21/07/2016 by sftburto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lovely device, easy to use, but two problems. Firstly, I bought this primarily to connect to my in-car system. despite spending a long time on various occasions trying to connect I gave up. The bluetooth was the reason I purchased it. There does not appear to be anywhere on Sony support to speak to anyone. Secondly, I have set up some playlists which I like to use set up on playmode as playing on a loop. Unfortunately, as soon as the playlist finishes, it move to the next playlist rather than go back to the beginning which is annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

42 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Audiophile's Heaven Achieved

NW-A20 Series 01/10/2017 by Volcano King (USA)

This is my third model of Sony digital walkman and does not disappoint. I use the Sony Media Go app to burn Hi-Res FLAC versions of cd's and seamlessly load them up. After a headphone break-in period and finding the correct size ear adapters, the sound is incredible with the provided earbuds. Noise cancelling is average, but adjustable and apt. I am 71 inches tall and the cable is about 6" too short to have the unit in my pocket with the wired phones. Cutting the cord, the bluetooth and proprietary LDAC connection with my Sony MDR-100ABN wireless cans (also awesome) was troublesome at first with skipping the music or just locking up. I finally realized that I needed to turn off the audio bluetooth connection of my phone that was simultaneously connecting with the headphones (while connected with the walkman). The LDAC connection and the adjustment of settings with the walkman makes for glorious, less-compressed wired-like sound. More than enough settings and options to adjust sound quality just right for any discerning ears. Sony continues to lead the industry with great audio products, and the latest walkman satisfies this audiophile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Glad I bought them despite some difficulty in use

32 GB 14/09/2017 by WLGl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two months ago and am still trying to find how to do some things that were available on my ipod and why simple deletes didn't go well. It's difficult to get answers. I can't set a switch to keep certain songs out of the general shuffle (ie. Christmas music). The earbuds are useless as the weight of the outer part makes them fall from my ears. Also, they sound tinny. That said, it packs a lot of punch for a small unit. Sound is great. Features are easy to find and use. Size, weight and capacity are good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great MP3 Player with lots of features

32 GB 25/08/2017 by Virginian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a friend. It was fairly easy to set it up and load with music and playlists. However, the on-line users manual is a little cumbersome to use. It would be better to have all the content of the user manual accessible by simply scrolling from page 1 to the end. The screen graphics are nice and sharp. Capable of storing a lot of music. Plenty of output to power my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice walkman, but missing important features!

NW-A20 Series 25/07/2017 by Manipulator (USA)

I bought the device as a replacement for my old player. Main criteria were the ability to play high quality audio and enough memory (which in this case is done using a cheap 128GB card). My only problem is that it's unuseable if you have like 1000 files on the walkman. You can shuffle ALL files or a SINGLE directory. So if you've got a directory per genre, some audiobooks and more... You're not going to be happy! There's one thing badly missing: a 'play from here' function that plays the current folder AND all underlying folders. I was hoping Sony would release a new firmware with these simple changes (and REALLY fix the problem of artwork not being displayed, only displays about half my MP3s and no artwork in FLAC files), but seeing the FW is from 2015 I don't think they will solve it... So I'm hoping some bright guy will be able to port RockBox to it...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/07/2017

Hi Manipulator, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

Disapointed

32 GB 16/07/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy Sony for the name , it has always gave me security in what I buy , got my new Walkman today and wont play any of the songs, I have always bought sony in the past and I know how to load my songs and it wont play I phoned customer services and told me because I bought it new on line the manufacture warrenty is no good, REALLY Verry disappointed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/07/2017

Hi, Cynthia Elias, We are sorry to hear this issue. Make sure the songs are supported by the player: http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwa20/v1/en/contents/TP0001013146.html. You may also reset the Walkman to isolate the issue: http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwa20/v1/en/contents/TP0001011391.html. Best regards, Vincent

0

Works well

16GB 18/05/2017 by Raiza90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I need a portable hi-res player in low-mid price range. This is the best find. It plays the hi-res music impeccably. The digital noice cancelling works wonder if you do not have a good headphones to play it with. The clear audio feature really does augmented the file to play in 'higher sound' than when I play it in another player. From sound pov (which is the most important), it is perfect. I do not give five star because of some 'minus' such as : the outdated screen, inavaibility of easier playing now playlist, and the ease to import the music. I found the division of internal and external memory importation to be annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent music player

16GB 13/04/2017 by John1811 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good reproduction and easy to use. The site won't accept a review as short as the first sentence even though it constitutes the entirety of my review. Thus, I have to add this which tells you nothing about the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

32 GB 16/03/2017 by Moo Cow (USA)

Little hard to get all info right on player. After putting the Sony program on my computer and learned how to use it I can now put music on my nw-a26 and get the info and art right. I still can not get my player to recognize my HI RES MUSIC FILES. They will play fine just will not show up when I look in the hl res search on player. I still love my Sony nw-a26 walkman player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

First rate player

16GB 21/01/2017 by charlie79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased just after Christmas and I am delighted with the quality of the unit and sound reproduction particularly via my Sony bluetooth wireless speaker ie SRS-XB3.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Small Gadget, Big Sound

16GB 10/01/2017 by Perfect Pits (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this for Christmas, replacing another Sony Walkman I have had for 6 years. So far, I am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A lovely little player

16GB 09/01/2017 by StellaArtoisSr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had over the years a few Sony products and have always been impressed with the quality of them, and this is no exception. I was in need of a stand alone player as I don't like killing my phone battery and when I saw this unit it fitted my needs. I wanted quality sound, a big memory, and with the addition of a SD card it has that. I wanted a small but easy to view machine as I never wear my glasses, I can easily see the information on it.The size of the machine is small enough to tuck away in your pocket.I wanted easy to understand, no fuss software to put my music on the player, it certainly does that. I wanted good battery life and I have been pleased with that as well. It does not come with a touch screen, but I am happy about that, it is very easy to operate selecting the buttons, and because of that the screen is not covered in dirty finger marks. The only thing I was not 100% happy about was the headphones,I could not get the bass out of them that I like, but that didn't matter as I have a pair which can. Although I have only recorded MP3 format at the moment I am impressed with the sound quality. Overall I am delighted with this Walkman and really pleased I chose this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Two serious flaws

16GB 13/12/2016 by Peter1946 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Home/Back and Pwr/Off are far too small and fiddly. To only be able to charge the unit via a USB port linked to a PC/Mac or laptop is ridiculous. You should supply a mains charger or at least have one available as an extra. These are supposed to be portable devices. My old NWZ- S765 beats this more expensive model hands down on both of these accounts

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Great sounds.

16GB 12/12/2016 by JohnatNo4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this Walkman after reading Which? reviews, and also purchased Cambridge speakers to compliment, again a Which? recommendation. Very pleased with the result.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use product

16GB 11/12/2016 by cath21_98 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my son, as it has Bluetooth and can pair with his Sony headphones. It is easy to use and the quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Well worth it

16GB 05/12/2016 by Uggh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beats Apple Ipod hands down. Far better quality, yep

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent mp3 player+

16GB 04/12/2016 by fopjpl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this product, would prefer DAB radio iso FM

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does everything I want

16GB 26/11/2016 by CHLeam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently to replace an old Walkman which had given up the ghost. It is so easy to use and I have been able to put all my music (including folders) onto it. Compared to my ipod touch it's a breeze!! Sound quality great and can play through my audio system. Very neat and easy to carry around.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound quality is wonderful...clear and sharp

16GB 05/10/2016 by NikkiK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony NW-A25HN High Res Audio Walkman....I got this Sony Walkman as it had a very good write up. I have not been disappointed with the quality of the sound or workings of this Sony NW-A25HN High Res Audio Walkman. Sound quality is wonderful...clear and sharp with both ACC, MP3 & 4 files...and when FLAC files are used it get's better. Layout of the workings on the product is easy to master and get around. Also like the fact the product is smaller & thinner than other audio players. I have yet to really try the noise cancelling headphones that comes with the product.... in the right environment. But the options the unit & headphones offer in certain environment's to ensure quality if playback is not lost has been thought about. Then there is storage size..product comes with about 16gb but with the addition of a micro memory card can be taken to larger sizes..no problem. If you are looking for just a very good high quality music player without the massive price tag or all the fancy additional applications. This is one to consider. Over all design of the product is also smart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Another great Sony product

64 GB 14/09/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had an 4gb Sony mo3 player for years and use it on the train but I broke an earphone cable and decided to change the kit. Oh boy what a difference a few years makes! This NW-A27HNB is a fantastic piece of electronic wizardry with awesome sound beautifully rendered across the whole sound range. Every note is audible. I purchased a hi res classical album and here it comes into its own. I cannot believe that such a tiny piece of is is so brilliant. I rip to FLAC so that makes a difference but if you seriously want a great sounding beautifully made music player get this one or one of the other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Prefer it to my i-pod classic

16GB 12/09/2016 by roux50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't had a lot of time to play with this yet, but the one thing I know is that I was able to transfer my i-tunes library onto it, which was the reason for buying it. It hasn't got the amount of memory that I would have liked and I couldn't afford the next model up, but I can buy an SD card to improve this, which is what I will do. So far I'm very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Sony Walkman

16GB 05/09/2016 by GordonO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was pleased with this, it was good that a memory card 128GB could be added. I have now re recorded my CDs as FLAC and the sound is improved. It works well with Media Go, better than whatever the last one was. Volume seems on the low side, there agin that might be the state of my hearing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT PLAYER---CHARGING A PROBLEM

16GB 06/08/2016 by GSB 1948 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS PLAYER RECENTLY. EVERYTHING IS VERY GOOD, BUT WHY DO I HAVE TO TAKE MY LAPTOP ON HOLIDAY, IN ORDER TO CHARGE THE PLAYER?????? WHY NOT A SEPERATE CHARGER WITH PLUG, LIKE MY LAST PLAYER!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

0

Sony Walkman

16GB 22/07/2016 by Ballon Buster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this product for about 2 weeks so really can not write a reveiw. Happy with to date though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Bluetooth not connecting

16GB 21/07/2016 by sftburto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lovely device, easy to use, but two problems. Firstly, I bought this primarily to connect to my in-car system. despite spending a long time on various occasions trying to connect I gave up. The bluetooth was the reason I purchased it. There does not appear to be anywhere on Sony support to speak to anyone. Secondly, I have set up some playlists which I like to use set up on playmode as playing on a loop. Unfortunately, as soon as the playlist finishes, it move to the next playlist rather than go back to the beginning which is annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Excellent Machine

64 GB 08/07/2016 by annoyed by this question (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player or my Wife to use to store her Zumba Music on in readiness to use on her Bose Speaker 3. We are both delighted with the ease of use and the availability of the Bluetooth function. The appearance is pleasing and it's a delight to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great storage

16GB 05/07/2016 by Kepa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound, easy to transfer music , only downside is I don't like the way you have to alter volume after every power down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Impressive hi-res sound quality

16GB 27/06/2016 by hfish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony NW-A25 MP3 player is a great unit - impressive quality which really delivers on providing clear and crisp sound and great attention to detail. Its a decent build but also very compact and light so great for portability. The noise cancelling does not completely isolate all background noise but provides adequate reduction - especially when coupled with a decent pair of closed back headphones. For the price, I would definitely recommend this product if you are looking for high-res sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good but could have been great

16GB 16/05/2016 by Wobblyone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Walkman has good battery life, button controls, many options for sound quality, good song format compatibility. The software used for managing the song content is not intuitive, songs can only be deleted when the device is attached to a PC, organising playlists is difficult, no search available for individual songs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

BIG LEAP IN MUSICAL QUALITY

64 GB 11/05/2016 by SCOTTP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the HiRes Walkman for a week or two and am very pleased with what it can do - Battery life is excellent and so is sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent MP3 Player

16GB 27/04/2016 by Adamssski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We wanted a compact, high quality MP3 player to use in the car. It had to have enough storage capacity for our large music collection (over 12,000 files currently) and Bluetooth connectivity - which is not that common. We also didn't want to be tied into iTunes or other software. This Walkman ticks all those boxes and more. It is very compact and lightweight but the display is very clear and bright. It is not touchscreen, but the interface is so straightforward that this has never been an issue - in fact, it is probably better because there is no danger of accidentally changing tracks. The system uses higher bandwidth Bluetooth, so the audio quality is amazing - you would not tell it wasn't playing straight from CD. If needed, the storage capacity can be upgraded by purchasing a memory card. Even with our vast music library, the search is efficient and lightning fast. Above all, the Sony build quality is obvious. We are very pleased with our purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Meet expectation

16GB 25/04/2016 by FlyCat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is perfect working item, great design and functionality, i just can wait for mdr-1abn to connect to it, but still even without it sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Hi Res Walkman

16GB 30/03/2016 by Hailsham27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace my old Ipod classic which had finally died. Wanted something small with large memory and with the ability to use Hi Res. So far quite impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Good to look at

64 GB 21/03/2016 by Getstuffed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am happy I did ,this is my second Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great player

16GB 09/03/2016 by keyboardnut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sounding device but headphones do not fit my ears even with all there earbud choices

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Pleased

16GB 26/02/2016 by C30no (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a player with quality sound and this is great. It is easy to navigate. I would like to be able to delete items from the player itself, maybe I can but the instruction book is large. The Sony media go app is good for transferring music, I am still learning about transferring pod casts. I am a total beginner but am very happy with my walkman overall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Great option if you want to escape Apple

NW-A25 18/02/2016 by Spiki67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after I got totally fed up with Apple and its relentless drive to force users to take their music online. The decision to further restrict the iPod line was a bridge too far for me - all I want is a music player that sounds good. Wifi, photos and all other other stuff are fine on other devices but I don't want them interfering when I want to listen to music. This Sony model does just that and the sound quality and built in noise cancelling is a real bonus. The micro SD card slot is great - I have a large music library and bought a 16GB device and a 128GB micro card, which nearly holds it all. The controls take a bit of getting used to and are not as intuitive as touch screen controls but that's a minor inconvenience. Overall this is a great music player and points to what the iPod classic could have become if Apple had bothered to develop a pure music player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

easy to use

16GB 15/02/2016 by Lasaltiere (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this walkman. The software Media Go that can be downloaded I find is easy to use and had no difficulty in transferring my CDs to my walkman. The tone is excellent and the screen is easy to navigate. The various options on how you want to hear your music are also excellent and overall am very happy with my choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love this Walkman!

16GB 15/02/2016 by Mozy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this Walkman as a Christmas present from my fiance and love it so much that I decided to buy him one for his recent birthday. I just love the look, feel, sound and functionality of it. Not a bad word to say on it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic sound

16GB 12/01/2016 by IAN58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A stylish design with fantastic sound and far better than anything I players has to offer. Earphones could do with being more fitted to the contours of the ear (more angled less straight) but are good. Paired with my Bluetooth speaker the sound is fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior alternative to an iPod

16GB 05/01/2016 by skullfunkerry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a Christmas present as my iPod needed a new battery and I couldn't find anyone to do it for me. Have to say, I prefer the Sony in every way: the navigation is simple (bit of a throwback to old phones, in fact - not necessarily a bad thing!), and the addition of a MicroSD slot means that I can easily fit my whole music library on the device. The sound is awesome - between the custom EQ settings, predefined surround options and the DSEE/etc presets, there's definitely a setting for whatever your preference. I'm using my own Sennheiser earbuds rather than the Sony ones that came bundled with the player, but the bundled ones sound great too - very crisp and clear: I just prefer the added "Oomph" of my Sennheisers. All in all, I'd recommend this player in a heartbeat to anyone who wants a new player, whether they're a fan of Apple or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great sound, a bit glitchy.

64 GB 15/12/2015 by MS50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very hard to find product and bought because it has Apple Mac compatability. Could have done with more storage and less glitchy OS. It doesn't cope well with moving around lots of different tracks and albums but if you just leave it to play, the sound is world class. Very nice to have noise cancelling and headphones included.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

Rich hi resolution sound

16GB 12/12/2015 by carl777777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy with my new walkman, the standout feature is the sound quality and the compact design, the hi res audio is so much deeper and richer than any other device. It is also great to have a genuine Walkman, the brand that started it all. It is very small and compact and intuitive to use, I recommend ! You also get the noise cancelling headphones in the pack and I have also bought the hear on headphones . Love the colours too, I went for viridium blue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1