A30 WALKMAN® A SERIES

Product Reviews

Starting at

$219.99

103

4.2 based on 103 customer reviews

53
31
11
3
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

looks and feels good

16 GB 26/03/2017 by olynut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I left Sony walkmans for an ipod a few years ago as at the time Sony did not compete with the number of songs the classic could hold. Following the demise of this machine I looked again at Sony and was happy to find that I could now upgrade the memory and that drag and drop was still an option. I now wonder why I ever left as this walkman does exactly as it should. It plays music and does nothing else!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Amazing device - TERRIBLE MUSIC SOFTWARE

NW-A30 SERIES 15/02/2018 by phisd92 (USA)

My iPod of 10+ years finally died on me so I looked for a new high end mp3 player, as I am a total audiophile. I received the product and the sound quality blew me away - such a deep, rich, bold sound. The design of the product and interface is quite remarkable as well, simple, clean, and easy to use. So, I went online to download the Music Center and THIS is where the frustration really occurred. I tried exporting the library from iTunes to the Music Center, and it seemed to work, but syncing anything to the device from here will make you want to pull your hair out. And, granted, I added a 64gb micro SD card, the device has more than enough memory for the music I have on hand. First of all, the user interface on this program is absolutely terrible - none of the functions make sense, and it is the first program to completely crash my computer every time I try to use it. This began happening after I imported my library. Apparently 6000 songs is too much for the Music Center to handle. It looks like it "imports" all music every time you open the program, so it takes several moments just to get it up and running. And there is no easy way to transfer playlists onto this either. I had my music HIGHLY organized in iTunes, specifically in their respective playlists, and when I imported my music, titles came out garbled, songs were duplicated, and some just didn't sync altogether. The few times that I can open the Music Center WITHOUT it crashing my computer, it doesn't even work right. Not all songs will transfer to the device, so get ready for that. And this is music that I PAID FOR previously on iTunes that somehow decided not to transfer onto the device (over 100 paid songs that did this), so also get ready to lose music (and money) you've previously paid for. Oh, and you have to transfer songs MANUALLY to the device, there's no automatic syncing to the entire library upon plugging in the Walkman like you have with iTunes and an iPod. Because the transfer is manual (you can 'select-all' and transfer chunks, but it takes forever), it takes a lonnnggggg time. I had to bring my laptop in to work and had it syncing the 6000 or so songs to the device and the transfer took over 10 hours!!!! That's absolutely ridiculous. And not all songs even transferred, and the program decided to duplicate some so there's an mp3 and AAC version of the file?? Because of this, the memory will fill up and you will get the error message about 80% through the sync that "you do not have enough memory on this device" - so 10 hours of waiting down the drain! And the playlists syncing completely onto the device? Forget it. Each playlist only downloaded a handful of songs and not the entire playlist for some reason. I seriously do not understand this archaic software whatsoever, and I work in technology. Also, aesthetically, this program looks like it is from 2004 or something, it looks as old as it functions. I do not know what to do - I love the product, but I can't get my music onto it because of this nightmarish program. Debating whether or not I should return this. WHY CAN'T I USE ITUNES OR WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER INSTEAD???????? WHY AM I STUCK USING THIS PROPRIETARY SOFTWARE THAT DOES MORE HARM THAN GOOD? If this program does and damage to my actual computer, I am not afraid to escalate this. Very frustrated, and very disappointed. The product itself could be a tiny bit bigger - not used to having such a small electronic on hand anymore! Overall, the mp3 player itself is AMAZING but the Sony Music Center that you need to have it work is an absolute nightmare. If you're not a tech guru, be ready for some serious anger if you decide to use Sony's Music Center for this, or any other Sony mp3 product. If I can't figure out how to use this by the end of the week, I am returning this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

103 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Only a DAC player

16 GB 15/09/2018 by FairPlay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For add a song to the BookList I must choice one of 10 named "Bookmark List 1,2,3" but I don't know which its free or what I have on nr.3 bookmark or nr.6 bookmark. I see only nor of book list. I don't remember what I put it there. Scroll all page with the vertical bar from right side on the list its stupid. The list its disappear and i see only a black screen The GoTransfer its incredible primitive and the transfer it's starting even the transfer its to big of free space and are stoped were ...... (but it's WORKING FINE) Scroll it's not natural flow Too much times i touch an icon and it's only bright it but not activate for change the menu if i don't press more long Plastic like a low cost product Irritable to touch the logo and SONY writhed in relief Buttons are tooooo much on a single side and make me confusional if i try to used in pocket without visual contact -verrry difficile to use The CLOCK ??????? really?can i see it only if i go in SETTINGS ? i hop it's an error Very utile the learning tool. Bravo Radio without RDS and i have not the possibility to scroll the Mhz Bar. the List of Preset are only Press NR1 NR2 NR3. How can i know what i have on NR3 ??? The Presets are not a list of presets but only one Preset number a time to see and change it with left to right arrow.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great audio - shame about the UI

16 GB 12/06/2018 by JohnW2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my Hi-Res walkman for 6 months now, and I'm broadly pleased with its sonic performance. Sadly it's let down badly by a clunky User Interface

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

superb

NW-A30 SERIES 27/05/2018 by ari12tha (USA)

its so coll and the sound quality is top.and i like the colour too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just beyond anything else ...

16 GB 11/05/2018 by MonkeynMario (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No decision could have been easier and with zero regrets. Excellent audio and quality build .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good overall quality

16 GB 08/05/2018 by 7Edward (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this product a few weeks back and found it easy to use and to download my music from the computer and i now listen to this as I do my jobs around the house.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent MP3 player

16 GB 24/04/2018 by jim boss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded my Sony MP3 player to this hi Res player, pleased with this product, only one thing is the playlist features, as i have iMac i could transfer my music ok , but you cannot make up a playlist, so i had to borrow my daughter's windows laptop to make up my playlist, then you can add songs and delete songs on the player. But overall very happy. Great battery life ,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great gadget

16 GB 18/04/2018 by Kittc57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's great. The only downside I've found is the music centre that's supposed to help organise the music via the pc. It's awful. Managing play lists is a nightmare. I've given up. And make do with folders via windows.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good updated our old walkman

16 GB 07/04/2018 by MickB47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has Bluetooth on this Walkman which make it so easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Handy device with great features.

16 GB 03/04/2018 by NT01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and can't stop listening to it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/04/2018

Hi NT01,

We are thankful that you're happy with your purchase, Thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Great sound

16 GB 29/03/2018 by Crustyoldman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great sounding player. There were a few issues getting it to recognise used memory cards but I had no problems after I bought a 128GB one new. The volume could do with being a little higher when directly wired in to headphones, loud enough with a Bluetooth connection though. My few MP3 files are a lot crisper and brighter on this player and the Hi Res albums I have sound fantastic. A big step up from any fruit based music players I have

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great player

16 GB 15/03/2018 by Patrick 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still playing with all the features and still loving it but needs a bluetooth on/off button on main screen

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat, small audio player

16 GB 10/03/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking for a means of playing back music from the 500+ cd's we own, through an existing DAB radio. Walkman proved ideal, small, unobtrusive and easy to use. Only drawback at moment is limited battery life, but that could be because we are getting used to it and possibly not switching it fully off (inadvertently leaving on standby)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Does what I brought it for.

16 GB 08/03/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does exactly what I bought it for, fabulous sound quality, great battery life, great features and if previous Sony products are anything to go by, problem free and longevity. Better sounding than anything else I'd tried and feels like a quality item in my hand and to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

No inline remote headphone support

16GB with headphone 06/03/2018 by lemming21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely bit of kit but I was surprised to discover Sony didnt think to give it functionality to allow you to change track without touching it... Sought refund from Sony but they were no help. Now delegated to long journeys / at home as an external HD.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Decent MP3 player

16 GB 28/02/2018 by MJRH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to put songs and playlists on, especially when used in conjunction with Media Go. Well built with a good display, battery seems to last well. Only possible down side(bit might be because of the amp/speakers I use) but I can not tell between music recorded on FLAC or MP3.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Sony walkman

16 GB 26/02/2018 by Raymoshwo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony Walkman a few weeks ago and I am still amazed at the quality and remarkable sound from such a compact player. It was more expensive than most MP3 players but given the quality it is money well spent. I also have a Sony S33 Bluetooth speaker and it finds my Walkman very easily and again the sound is fabulous.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best money ever spent

16 GB 19/02/2018 by GunnerWho (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for my, disappointing since the start, iPod classic. I can honestly say that it was money well spent. The interface is very intuitive and the quality of the playback on even non HD tracks is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Sony make the best mp3 players

16GB with headphone 17/02/2018 by Angeldust (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The NW-A35HN is very easy to use, has some great features, and a strong Bluetooth connection, it has very little weight and sits nicely in the palm of your hand, the sound is awsome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing device - TERRIBLE MUSIC SOFTWARE

NW-A30 SERIES 15/02/2018 by phisd92 (USA)

My iPod of 10+ years finally died on me so I looked for a new high end mp3 player, as I am a total audiophile. I received the product and the sound quality blew me away - such a deep, rich, bold sound. The design of the product and interface is quite remarkable as well, simple, clean, and easy to use. So, I went online to download the Music Center and THIS is where the frustration really occurred. I tried exporting the library from iTunes to the Music Center, and it seemed to work, but syncing anything to the device from here will make you want to pull your hair out. And, granted, I added a 64gb micro SD card, the device has more than enough memory for the music I have on hand. First of all, the user interface on this program is absolutely terrible - none of the functions make sense, and it is the first program to completely crash my computer every time I try to use it. This began happening after I imported my library. Apparently 6000 songs is too much for the Music Center to handle. It looks like it "imports" all music every time you open the program, so it takes several moments just to get it up and running. And there is no easy way to transfer playlists onto this either. I had my music HIGHLY organized in iTunes, specifically in their respective playlists, and when I imported my music, titles came out garbled, songs were duplicated, and some just didn't sync altogether. The few times that I can open the Music Center WITHOUT it crashing my computer, it doesn't even work right. Not all songs will transfer to the device, so get ready for that. And this is music that I PAID FOR previously on iTunes that somehow decided not to transfer onto the device (over 100 paid songs that did this), so also get ready to lose music (and money) you've previously paid for. Oh, and you have to transfer songs MANUALLY to the device, there's no automatic syncing to the entire library upon plugging in the Walkman like you have with iTunes and an iPod. Because the transfer is manual (you can 'select-all' and transfer chunks, but it takes forever), it takes a lonnnggggg time. I had to bring my laptop in to work and had it syncing the 6000 or so songs to the device and the transfer took over 10 hours!!!! That's absolutely ridiculous. And not all songs even transferred, and the program decided to duplicate some so there's an mp3 and AAC version of the file?? Because of this, the memory will fill up and you will get the error message about 80% through the sync that "you do not have enough memory on this device" - so 10 hours of waiting down the drain! And the playlists syncing completely onto the device? Forget it. Each playlist only downloaded a handful of songs and not the entire playlist for some reason. I seriously do not understand this archaic software whatsoever, and I work in technology. Also, aesthetically, this program looks like it is from 2004 or something, it looks as old as it functions. I do not know what to do - I love the product, but I can't get my music onto it because of this nightmarish program. Debating whether or not I should return this. WHY CAN'T I USE ITUNES OR WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER INSTEAD???????? WHY AM I STUCK USING THIS PROPRIETARY SOFTWARE THAT DOES MORE HARM THAN GOOD? If this program does and damage to my actual computer, I am not afraid to escalate this. Very frustrated, and very disappointed. The product itself could be a tiny bit bigger - not used to having such a small electronic on hand anymore! Overall, the mp3 player itself is AMAZING but the Sony Music Center that you need to have it work is an absolute nightmare. If you're not a tech guru, be ready for some serious anger if you decide to use Sony's Music Center for this, or any other Sony mp3 product. If I can't figure out how to use this by the end of the week, I am returning this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

NOT FOR OLDIES

16 GB 15/02/2018 by Jane W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the curate's egg, parts of it were easy and convenient, others too complicated for an oldie like me! I have uploaded the music I wanted, very easily and playback is good. However, the online instructions manual is way too technical and wordy and the screen isn't as responsive as - for example - my phone. The leaflet has no words at all but, for a first time user it would have been useful to have a simple leaflet with a list of the symbols and what they mean.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great piece of kit

16 GB 14/02/2018 by Johnm08 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it a couple of weeks, it's easy to use and load music from a pc. Bit pricy at full price so go for the deals.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of Use

16 GB 10/02/2018 by jeffp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for another cheaper make. It is easy to use and so far I have downloaded about 60 cds. The process is quite easy and sound quality when played back through an amp & good speakers is excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality, high performance

16 GB 05/02/2018 by MrBadger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a replacement for my ageing iPod; this is perfect. Small size, no hard drive to go wrong, expandable storage, long battery life and high resolution playback. Performance is very good, sound is excellent. Volume is ridiculously low, you have to turn it right up to use it. This isn't Sony's fault, it's the EU directive but it would be nice if you turn this off in the options. The Sony software is dreadful. You can avoid it and just copy files using Explorer but then most of your artwork won't work because this unit is very fussy about jpeg formats - the one major annoyance with this unit. But, an excellent unit and for the price and performance it compares very favourably with much more expensive units. Very pleased with mine!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Quality Player with great sound

16 GB 01/02/2018 by davem51uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player because I wasn't happy with the mediocre sound quality I was getting through my phone. I was actually a fan of Sony Walkmans in the past and do own several as I do enjoy analogue music too. I have to say I now use this every day. I have transferred all my CD collection which is very easy through the PC. This player is brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone who loves good quality sounding music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use lots of great features

16 GB 31/01/2018 by Bobbyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this on advice of 2 friends. So glad I did would highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

16GB with headphone 25/01/2018 by SteveH57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

was bought for me as a present am very pleased with it I take it everywhere

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice gadget

16 GB 25/01/2018 by Fred22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lots of storage, especially with a SD card added. Reasonable volume capability and sound quality. The only down side is that it takes too long to power up

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Software poor

16 GB 24/01/2018 by Joeannah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently. Won't pair with my soundbar. Very fiddly to find required settings.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not impressive

16 GB 24/01/2018 by WilsonJNR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not backwards compatible with previous versions of Bluetooth. Unable to create playlists on the fly (Have to be previously imported from PC). Doesn't come with any headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Let down by bloated music manager software

16 GB 24/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound quality. Unfortunately really let down by Sony's "Media Go" music manager. I've had to rebuild my music library twice now and still cannot get playlist management to work "on the fly". This is an important feature for me as I often listen to random tracks that I'd forgotten I had and I want to be able to add these to a playlist as I go. I have tried the simple drag and drop method for transferring music but then I find the album art missing and music split up all over the place.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

wireless walkman

16 GB 23/01/2018 by not got one old butty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for the wireless operation, which is good. Sound is a step up from my 585, itself good. Easy to use and good looking bit of kit, usual Sony gear really, exellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GReat value

16 GB 20/01/2018 by Dolcoath (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with quality great sound wonderful size

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bluetooth/headphones

16 GB 18/01/2018 by Flash 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony Walkman was a present ot Christmas I have always like Sony products But with this one i feel let down by Bluetooth not connecting to some of my other products this includes my in car Bluetooth which is Sony and having no headphones The mp3 player it's self is very good the sounds are great transferring files is easy And it is easy to navigate your way round the screen

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great music player

16 GB 17/01/2018 by Khornetbg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this looking for something different than Apples offering. Really glad I did.... It offers flawless playback of Flac audio files which was its main selling point for me. This is a really great player which you won’t regret purchasing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Walkman feedback

16 GB 17/01/2018 by melodyman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with my new Walkman, the sound quality is very good and the functions are easy to use. The Sony Music Centre for PC app is also very easy to use and I have already loaded quite a few of my c.d.'s.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good

16 GB 17/01/2018 by Flossy27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only complaint I have with this is it takes forever to turn on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

99% great

16 GB 14/01/2018 by A Wiltshire (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this, love the additional storage via SD card. Knocked off a star as it took me ages to work out I have to transfer files the file already created called Music rather than straight to the SD card. Instructions could have been more helpful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Walkman NW-A35

16 GB 10/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Christmas gift - fantastic sound quality music which doesn't disturb anyone else. Nice and compact - easy to carry

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound but faults with wireless headphones.

16 GB 09/01/2018 by Courteney Act (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always liked the Walkman range, especially for the adjustments you can m

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

walkman

16 GB 09/01/2018 by richard le tete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third walkman[the other two still going strong.] Very easy to get to grips with. Very easy to load up via windows media player. Great sound from it, nice to have a few buttons to control the volume and skip, back and forward. The only thing I found strange is that there is no volume control when using Bluetooth, but apart from that it's a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound

16 GB 08/01/2018 by DaveM2208 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and sound is excellent, associated software easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sounds

16 GB 08/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this music player. The sound quality is much better than other portable music players of similar prices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excelent audio player

16 GB 07/01/2018 by RogerG7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for my old Sony NW-A1000 "pebble" player which has been in use for years without any real problems. I use the device mainly for classical music. The NW-A35 has all the features you need for excellent audio in a small and solidly built unit, a good touch screen user interface, and you can download a useful Windows App to move music to the device in various formats.With wired headphones sound quality is very good (I've not tried the Bluetooth option). Given the build quality and Sony brand I'm expecting this unit to last! There's no WiFi connection with this device - you use USB which happens to suit me anyway. The battery is OK - with roughly 2 hours use a day one charge has lasted 12 days but I don't shut the device down between times. For those who expect headphones to be provide these are not bundled with the unit I purchased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Kit amazing . company not so

16 GB 07/01/2018 by Philburno (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a truly brilliant piece of kit . sound is amazing and very user friendly . pricey but hopefully will last a while . my beef is with sony themselves . in order to register for guarantee i had to open an account to include a password which was so security conscious it was actually harder to do than my bank . the site itself was also totally the opposite of the product in terms of user friendliness . it refused my password with no explanation as to why . I am hoping that any issues i have with this product are dealt with better than my xperia phone issue as i vowed never to use sony products again after that - current product was a gift .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

16 GB 06/01/2018 by UXB1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small & easy to use, battery time lower than listed, but may be due to my headphones. The sound quality is good & high resolution is even better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good!

16 GB 05/01/2018 by dorsetblueskies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My lovely wife bought me this for xmas. Havent used it too much yet but the screen is good, clear display, nice sound through a pair of bluetooth on ear headphones. Love having the SD card slot which now holds a 64GB one!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

16 GB 05/01/2018 by tractorman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to upgrdae from my old sony walkman and boy what an improvement

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Buy

16 GB 05/01/2018 by soundfit5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

what a great buy! Easy to set up, easy to use. Easy to set up bluetooth. Fantastic sound. Good battery life, not needed to recharge yet after two weeks - about an hour a day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but could be better

16 GB 02/01/2018 by Mr E Shopper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very slow to start up. Would be better if it worked from Windows Media player instead of having to download Music Centre. Can't transfer between memory card internal memory, so playlists need to be from one or the other

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great

NW-A30 SERIES 31/12/2017 by anitat525 (USA)

I love it so much. it is the great product. best of all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small compact but powerful

16 GB 31/12/2017 by Mikeldans (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this purchase, although small & compact it packs a powerful punch with top quality sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful music player

16 GB 29/12/2017 by BeVeganToday (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This arrived a couple of weeks ago. I usually use it with a Sony BSP10 Bluetooth speaker. This pairing lasts hours - at least 12. I bought it to free up space on a 64GB iPhone. I've put a 400GB SanDisc MicroSD card in it and understand it will take 2TB cards once they reach the market. The transfer software is a lot easier than iTunes as there are several ways to move items from the iMac to the Walkman. It is strange that it has a unique socket/cable - a standard USB would be handy and avoid having different cables. Perhaps the cable is faster than USB. It certainly transfers quickly! The screen resolution is sharp and clear. Navigation around the interface is quite intuitive and easy. I've yet to find out if items can be selected and deleted from the gadget's interface or whether you can compile a playlist on it. It recognises iTunes playlists and these can simply be dragged from iTunes to the card/Walkman. Generally very pleased with it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What did i buy it for

16 GB 27/12/2017 by isaac 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When i bought this shall we say item, i never thought by installing sony media would be so useless, first of all i tried mediago but that was as bad, my advice for any buyer is to forget installing any media help, just get yourself a decent microsd card and download your music onto that ,then put it in the device,not a problem this approach,otherwise it will drive you mad.... and yes i do know how to download.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Smart appearance, feels good in the hand.

16 GB 21/12/2017 by Spark500 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to control my wireless speaker, very happy with sound and workings of the unit. Disappointed to find I could not control the volume, thereby somewhat spoiling the overall listening experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use with great features

16 GB 20/12/2017 by vanquishDB9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my Ipod and am very pleased with the sound and quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solidly built, neatly designed, easy to use

16 GB 13/12/2017 by PipWhit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The title of the review says it all. Astonishing memory capacity (with micro SD card), good sound quality, battery lasts an age.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hate it

16 GB 11/12/2017 by DisappointedUK (United Kingdom)

Bought it just over a month ago. Hate it. Not intuitive to use. Wish I had stuck to Apple. Plus the battery drains. Hard to contact customer service.

0

5

0

No App music player

16 GB 10/12/2017 by sigoode (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great to have a device that only plays music and not apps to open a tin of beans for you , the sound quality is brilliant with a good battery life. Yes the icons are a bit small but that’s my only niggle

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I am not a great sound technician

16 GB 10/12/2017 by Caienna72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

But earing the vocal cord and the breath of the singer vibrate trough my earphones I think make a big difference for us common "mortals"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very useful

16 GB 08/12/2017 by Myers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to use in the car via Bluetooth so we can listen to music

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality and portability

16 GB 06/12/2017 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a second unit as I've filled my original that I've had around 1 year (incl 128GB SD card). easy to transfer files to and the Hi Res sound is excellent. Quick and easy to set up and easy to connect to Bluetooth devices for playback. Battery life very good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wonderful sound

16 GB 03/12/2017 by Acker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony Walkman audio device for taking Spinning sessions and for relaxation. It is superior to my iPhone for quality audio output. The Walkman also has the facility of using manual controls to adjust the music. This is particularly useful during spinning classes when there is so much perspiration being produced. A touch screen isn't practical under these conditions. I am so pleased with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Replacement for iPod Classic.

16 GB 30/11/2017 by Nothankyou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As I couldn't get a new replacement for my 12 year old iPod Classic I shopped around and bought this Walkman. Its small, light, easy to use and sounds similar to my iPod. The only trouble I've had (it's probably my fault) is using the software to load my music. There seems to be a problem with albums of the same title but different artists, they all get lumped together as one album.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A good mp3 player

16 GB 28/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

This is a good mp3 player with some useful features particularly it's ability to display the album cover from which a track comes from. It seems to take a while to get going after switching on and I find it doesn't always react first time when I use the touchscreen which can be annoying. Overall I am satisfied with this Walkman.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Love it!

16 GB 27/11/2017 by Ginas Grandad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got fed up of my Smartphone so I got a Doro Clamshell Mobile and kept my Smartphone as an MP3 Player. However, I knew that I would not return to a Smartphone and found the Sony NW-A35 and sold my Smartphone to help pay for it. FLAC files and superb sound, I am a happy Bunney.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

16 GB 22/11/2017 by Terry11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this since Apple stopping selling iPods. This is better than an iPod

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound quality is fantastic

16 GB 17/11/2017 by Neil the drum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good battery,excellent Bluetooth,responsive screen flexible storage and easy to use interface

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks great

16 GB 16/11/2017 by Lou51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not a lot I can say about this item yet ,only looked at it as it's a christmas gift.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing Bluetooth

16 GB 15/11/2017 by Uncle Phil (United Kingdom)

I am already a Sony Walkman fan and already have the NWZ-X1060 which is superb. However it does not have Bluetooth and using a Bluetooth dongle is not always ideal. So I bought the NW-A35 specifically for its Bluetooth capabilities. However I discovered that when using Bluetooth "all the sound quality settings are invalid" and the sound quality through my Sony SRS-XB2 speaker is very dull and lacking in top end clarity. I am SO disappointed and have considered returning it but have left it a bit late to do so. I urge Sony to update the software URGENTLY to allow sound quality settings to be effective even when using Bluetooth. (I understand this was possible with an earlier model the NWZA -15 A). Apart from the Bluetooth problem the quality of sound using my noise cancelling headphones (that came with my NWZ-X1060) is very good and also with ordinary headphones such as Soundmagic E10S. However the headphone socket is a bit fussy about connectivity by wire - it works with some connectors and not others and does not connect with an old pair of Sennheisser phones. The touch screen is also very basic compared to the NWZ-X1060 in that you have to push a button to see it unlike the NWZ-X1060 is touch sensitive. I can live with these minor shortcomings but the Bluetooth sound setting problem is a deal breaker. Sony please fix it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent Sound & Features but SD Card Problems

16 GB 28/10/2017 by GMFraser (United Kingdom)

The touchpad is highly intuitive and easy to navigate with sound quality being first rate at this price point. The bluetooth in particular is excellent with quick connectivity and CD quality sound. It is a smart, stylish and unobtrusive little unit which would be perfect if it wasn't for the SD card problems I've encountered. Try as I might and using Sony's own instructions, my device will simply not recognise my class 10 64gb SD card. It works in my laptop, my older DAP and my mobile phone yet the Walkman does not even recognise it so I cannot even mount it never mind format it. I am still trying to resolve this issue with the retailer as perhaps my Walkman's card reader is faulty. As said, if it wasn't for this glaring defect, I'd be over the moon with my purchase however, frustration abounds at present.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!... coul have better features...

NW-A30 SERIES 27/10/2017 by Pablo_vv (USA)

The sound, the best, the high guality and the headphones great!. but the features, could be better, at this time this kind of device should allow to create list in the device without the necesity of using the laptop or computer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best than my Z5 compact

NW-A30 SERIES 23/10/2017 by azynton (USA)

I use it all the time but the clock is not visible on the screen

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0