348

4.2 based on 348 customer reviews

188
83
40
22
15
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Heaven is a place called Sony!

16 GB 16/02/2018 by Virgill (United Kingdom)

I just love my new Sony Walkman, I love the ease of creating Book Lists, it gives me the opportunity to create music lists to suit the mood I'm in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dear mr Sony could u please read this

16 GB 09/10/2018 by Lucychops (United Kingdom)

I have just purchased the a45 together with Sony wh-1000xm2 headphones and only mention these because my main aim was portability and the blue tooth connection which is no problem and the two together sound fantastic but there’s a but and a big one. (Only when connected using a lead). I initially connected via Bluetooth and the sound was thin and lacking. So I looked for equaliser and tried to add bass etc and couldn’t.looking at help file online stated it sound cannot be altered in Bluetooth mode WHAT? Unless I am doing something wrong. Tried with wired connection no much better. Rang tech support upgraded firmware on headphones 2 pairs and factory resets on all. Walkman is up to date. Sound still the same wirelessly no way to alter equaliser. Much better on a wired connection in fact fantastic. Albeit u have to have volume high to hear anything. Ps no volume limiter on. Was about to return for a refund in view of flat sound on Bluetooth but having listened extensively on a wired connection it’s quality on custom settings with lifted base mids and flat highs is breathtaking .i am prepared to keep the player hoping that a future firmware will allow the equaliser or a better one to be used when connected wirelessly unless there’s a good reason why it cannot be done. My iPad Mac other devices when using headphones allow u to alter equaliser in fact on my iPad it doesn’t sound far sort of the wired connection on the a45 but the Sony audio is better in all regards. So please can u get a firmware update to sort out what is a major problem for me and other reviewers who have mentioned the same problem and restricting this unit from being even better sounding. I don’t want to walk around with a wire dangling unless I absolutely have to. Otherwise a fantastic product Sorry for the long review Many thanks

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

348 Customer Reviews

0

Great functionality - I think

16 GB 31/03/2020 by Huggy79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Every time I use the Walkman I find out more about it but I would have preferred to have had a booklet (on paper or on line) to explain everything about it, instead of finding out by trial and error. The on line instructions are all done by pictures with very few words. I like the writted word assisted by images.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great product

16 GB 27/03/2020 by Pb73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my wife and she loves it. Bought Bluetooth earphones as well, perfect combination.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

16 GB 24/03/2020 by Benobi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this over one week now and the sound quality is very good I can hear every detail. It also upgrades the formats, better using my mobile phone for music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice easy to use product

16 GB 23/03/2020 by Mumbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this to replace my i pod, had previously had a sony Walkman this was on offer, had everything I needed on there I needed simple to set up

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

16 GB 23/03/2020 by RJ 7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a present for family member, who uses it every day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Saves me carrying a ton of cassettes

16 GB 23/03/2020 by BlueHeadphoneFoamPads (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved my first Sony walk man with its metal framed wired headphones with blue foam pads. I have moved through iTunes iPod mp3s. Finally up to date with walk man A40 Bluetooth and Buds. I have most of my collection on now. Gravesite facilities to get albumin covers incloded.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant bit of kit

16GB with headphone 23/03/2020 by Wavy65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a well built easy to use bit of kit, it has a nice weight to it and it doesn't feel cheep or nasty like so many others tend to do, transferring music is a doddle which is always a plus. Brilliant bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony walkman a45

16 GB 18/03/2020 by Cojak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish they would change the charging port as I led mine at home when I went on holiday and could not get one, apart from that its a good pice of kit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and great stereo

16 GB 16/03/2020 by Greyeyes77 (United Kingdom)

I am so glad I chose this over any other mp3 player especially with the micro sd card slot and the full sound that it has. It is a joy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice looking device

NW-A40 SERIES 12/03/2020 by rowaz (USA)

Attempting to install the "content transfer" on my mac results in failure with no explaination. There does not seem to be any alternative to obtain help then this page (not really sure that will work either).

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy to use even for a dinasour like me .

16 GB 12/03/2020 by ONBb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found setting this machine up nice and easy , easy to pair with the headphones I bought and easy to transfer music across from the computer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent little player!

16 GB 01/03/2020 by Young Nige (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very compact, simple to use and the sound quality via blutooth connection to external speakers is superb!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound quality is great, hardware could be improved

16 GB 26/02/2020 by nalfy87 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item nearly a month ago as I am a huge music fan. I wanted something which was similar to my last Ipod Classic, but would instead would provide me with expandable storage, good sound and most of all, ease of use. After coming from an Ipod Classic (Also an Iphone XR) I had to get used to a bit more lag on the Walkman interface which is fine, but sometimes I do feel like it could be snappier. I am currently using a 400gb mini-SD card and it works wonderfully apart from one time going through my library caused the Sony Walkman to restart itself for some reason. Sometimes the tagging of songs can be hit and miss with most of the time everything being fine, but when it goes wrong its a right pain having to sort out all the tracks and artist tags. Also, sometimes the Walkman can make copies of songs without reason whatsoever. I usually find I can just delete the duplicate songs from the Walkman but it would be a lot easier if you could delete several tracks at a time instead of having to do one at a time. When it comes to battery it is fine. It tends to drain quickly when transferring files for some reason. When you turn off the Walkman and turn it back on it takes quite a while for it to catch all the SD card data which can be really annoying when you need something on the fly. Also, I have noticed there is a slight problem with the headphone jack connector and some headphones. I have two pairs of headphones, both cheap in-ear earphones. When you connect them to the Walkman, the slightest of pulls tends to pull out the headphones a bit. I am not sure yet if this a problem as it has not had any impact on the sound/playback of the device. The sound itself is very good. I have found myself listening to older songs and enjoying them far more than my ipod but I cannot help but feel something is amiss in the bass department. Some heavy bass drum songs tend to 'clip'. This could due to using cheaper monitoring earphones but its unfortunate as my ipod did not have this same noise. The highs and mids are well covered, the sense of the music floating around your head is bar to none in this little device. I am not sure whether this player will last, I hope it does as its such neat little player. I do feel like a years guarantee is quite rubbish as I do feel like its not enough to cover battery usage as I will not be able to open it up and just replace it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Decent Build Quality - some cons

16 GB 26/02/2020 by Nagraman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this simply because I need a player that has physical buttons - touchscreen is no use if you cannot always see the screen! It is well-built And won me over because it will play a good variety of file types. However it is a great disappointment that it will not play audiobooks from Audible. Even Apple devices play those. The other irritating thing is that it takes an absolute age to boot up if it has been turned off. But otherwise a perfectly good device.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A nice music player

16 GB 18/02/2020 by colin642 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good solid feel to it, not too flimsy I don't use earphones I only use to to connect to my house sound system. Sound quality through Bluetooth is very good. The Music Centre For PC software is disappointing it doesn't seem to allow me put albums into different folders like my old Ipod did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use and to set up

16GB with headphone 13/02/2020 by wex562 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an ageing iPod Classic and it is up to the job. I did have to buy extra storage since 16GB was not enough and it is not an issue having two location to store music on the player. For me, the sound quality is slighter better than the iPod when using headphones. The only drawback to the Sony is that you do have to wait about 30 seconds every time you turn it on whereas the iPod is on instantly; but you get used to this slight delay. The software seems easier to use than iTunes and I was getting fed up with iTunes for various reasons. Not sure if the battery is that good on this Walkman, it doesn't seem to last very long and I'm not using it all day long by any means.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product

16 GB 12/02/2020 by Banstead16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this product at Christmas time to play all our old CDs which we converted onito MP3 files. Using the player is easy, the standard memory generous and it is easy to transfer files...the only challenge has been obtaining a proper line-out to play music through our stereo. Using the headphones-out socket works, but not as well as if we could source a lead for line-out to a domestic amplifier with L / R sockets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony walkman

16 GB 09/02/2020 by Dolphinmarc (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an iPod replacement and glad I did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great starter player

16 GB 07/02/2020 by Velofelo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Arrived well packaged and felt like a solid unit. After charging I found it easy to set up and my music transferred without problems. It's a proprietary cable so don't lose it or you'll have to buy another. I didn't use the Sony software so can't comment but had no problems transferring from my PC. I am not an 'audiophile' but decided I would digitally transfer all my albums into FLAC and listen to it on a better quality player than I had used in the past. I had purchased a pair of noise cancelling Sony Bluetooth headphones at the same time and was very pleased with the improvement in quality. I haven't used the units for Hi Res music as there doesn't seem to be much of the type of music I like to listen to but at CD quality (16bit/44.1kHz) I can recommend the units as a vast improvement over MP3 or WMA files played through my PC audio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Walkman A45

16 GB 04/02/2020 by Cassir (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3weeks ago. Takes a bit of getting used to after my last Walkman. Disappointed with lack of colour. No wallpaper. Or screensaver. Sound is quite good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best buy MP3 player

16 GB 02/02/2020 by Striker44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this only a couple of weeks ago and once I'd familiarised myself with the operation of it and loaded my music I was up and running. Since then I haven't really put it down. Solid robust feel to it, compact, fantastic sounds, amazing storage especially if using and SDHC card in it. I can't praise it enough but if I was to be critical it would the fact it doesn't come with any protective case and the supplied instructions are a little vague but they can be the full version is available for download. Otherwise it's a great value amazing machine and just love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use robust design but awful software.

16 GB 02/02/2020 by Aussiebruce (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well designed robust unit that is easy to use but there some serious concerns with the software and compatibility. Transferring music to the device is overly complicated and time consuming. In fact after many attempts I am still not fully conversant with how to add music tracks to an existing playlist. I merely end up with, for instance, 3 different Coldplay playlists when trying to add tracks from a new album. Also there are compatibility issues with other devices. My new wireless earbuds are not compatible - there is no sound volume control. I contacted Sony for some assistance to be told basically what I had already discovered, the earbuds are not compatible, sorry. My fault I suppose, should have checked the full compatibly list before buying the ear buds, and they were not cheap.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

great MP3 player

16 GB 30/01/2020 by drowley67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to replace a cheap non touch screen mp3 player that was awkward to scroll through my large music collection, this being touch screen it's very easy to use it sounds great and very easy to transfer music once you know what folder to put it in having the expandable internal storage is great, I put a 128GB sandisk with no problems the build quality feels very good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

16 GB 29/01/2020 by Ally1990 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a Christmas present and love it! It's really easy to use and is the perfect music player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to Navigate

16 GB 28/01/2020 by Mike1949 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought updating from my previous Walkman would be good. However I have found it difficult to navigate around the device, far more than the old version I used to be able to put it on shuffle and leave it to play, but I can't see it has a shuffle option. The lack of decent guide also didn't help. I have tried the detailed guide, but can only say it is very poorly put together.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great size and colour

16 GB 27/01/2020 by Major47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a gift and I'm very happy with it fits in a pocket no problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A little gem

16 GB 26/01/2020 by Belt it out Andy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this little beauty a couple of weeks now and what a difference it has made to sound quality of all my music. Beats my previous player which was an I Pod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it's made for

16 GB 26/01/2020 by Littletel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this about 18 months now. Bought the 'black' colour but case is more grey/brown than black and feels cheap, obviously does not affect using it. I used the recommended software to add music and create playlists etc but I believe you can use drag and drop method. Charge lasts well for playback, and like all players, not as long as advertised. The screen on mine has started to flicker and the year warranty is up, my bad luck I guess.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

16 GB 25/01/2020 by Ratz1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought player in November really pleased and happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

poor battery life

16 GB 25/01/2020 by Marbry999 (United Kingdom)

This is ,my second Sony HD player. Love the sound quality and design. Love teh Sd card additional storage. However, i dislike the 'creating database' that occurs everytime I switch it on. My lat one didnt do that. and the battery seems to last for a maximum of 11-12 hours of playback time rather than the 40h iit is advertised as lasting for.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product

16 GB 24/01/2020 by Geordie999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently, it is easy to use, easy to download music and the sound quality is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I want to know how to use it

16 GB 23/01/2020 by idonthave anickname (United Kingdom)

I bought it last year and haven't got a clue how to use it properly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Personal music on the go

16 GB 19/01/2020 by John A A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic product that we recently purchased. Ideal for taking our music wherever we go. Links by Bluetooth to our car also ideal in the gym using wireless earphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best gift

16 GB 18/01/2020 by Meru (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a Christmas present and absolutely love this little this which fits into my pocket. Very easy to use and gives a superb sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Controls are easy and great sound

16 GB 17/01/2020 by No nname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace a really good creative zen xfi. Walkman is just as good build and ease of operation. Have only put music via CD on Walkman so far. Sound quality vert good. Still have to figure out how to download music via iTunes and books via audible. Hopefully will get there without to mutch trouble and expense.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional

16 GB 17/01/2020 by Yes Dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is exceptional. Such a wonderful piece of music playback technology. I absolutely love it, and highly recommend it to prospective buyers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good hardware, terrible software

16 GB 17/01/2020 by SonyMusicReview (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound, week designed Walkman. - Bluetooth headphones connect automatically 1 time out of 5 Sony Music Centre (SMC): - During song importing, many of my son's ended up with a number instead of the genre already set (this happened at random) - Non logical playlist functions: a song appearing in 2 playlists (e.g.: sport and dance) will be imported twice; cannot change sorting of songs within the playlist so removing the duplicates is difficult; impossible to see on a song in how many playlists it has been added; can only remove a song from a playlist when looking at the song from the playlist (impossible from the main Songs category) however this is the opposite for adding it to a playlist; - Do NOT use 12 tones or the other options to gather information online, it has added incorrect covers, change titles, genre and so on incorrectly to so many of my titles and it cannot be reversed. I'm talking here about huge blunder: wrong artist on the cover, changing some of my song's name by Japanese name with Kanji characters (not Japanese music though), even a French folk song by a Russian title - it incorrectly told me I didn't have anymore space on the Walkman and then the other way round a minute after and then the other way round again. - many other things... Bluetooth headphones jump some time to time even using the preferred connection function Oh and the best: Sony support is non existent. You have a forum with many people complaining and that's it really.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

No mistaking quality.

16 GB 16/01/2020 by Peter Ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have bought cheaper unbranded MP3 players all of which failed after promising so much in the write ups. Should have bought one of these from the start. There are still some very minor issues, could be pilot error. But mostly we are thrilled with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

takes a sd memory card, small,light, touch screen.

16 GB 15/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

needed a new MP3 player and wanted one that will take a sd card. this mp3 player ticked all the boxes, light, touch screen,sd card.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very impressive

16 GB 12/01/2020 by None 25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this product as a gift to replace my broken I pod. The sound quality is excellent and works well when played via my other Bluetooth devices. The only improvement I would suggest would be to have a proper USB lead as I have concerns that a replacement lead may be difficult to obtain.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Somewhat disappointing

16 GB 10/01/2020 by Diggerdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of months ago and in general am happy with it. My main complaint is that It is very lacking in bass and doesn't have as many navigation option as my previous, 15 year old, walkman

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Medium quality product.

16 GB 10/01/2020 by Coolruler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Please let me know why the above product appears to be going backwards. I previously owned a sony NWZ-X1060 walkman a much superior quality to the above, unfortunately it broke down, Sony advised me that they no longer fix this product. This product is poor, not as good as the old model above. It's unlikely that I'll be buying any more from this company since they don't even repair their own product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Product software not compatible with Apple OS

16GB with headphone 08/01/2020 by rh16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a number of Sony products & have always been happy with their performance. I don't know if the A45 Walkman is good quality, because the software for downloading music is incompatible with the latest Apple OS released in October 2019. Customer Support were excellent at coming back, but say there is no date for a software release for the affected software. Features seem good & radio works well ... but that wasn't why it was bought.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best audio player I have used!

NW-A40 SERIES 08/01/2020  (USA)

I bought this product four months ago after wanting another dedicated music player and learning that these products existed. The sound quality is amazing, even with compressed files. I absolutely love the side buttons for controls which allow you to change tracks, volume, play/pause, etc without turning the screen on. The UI is simple and effective. Loading music is very easy: connect to your PC and drag and drop music into the music folder. Overall I am extremely satisfied with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

replacement for ipod nano

16 GB 07/01/2020 by Bluesman1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Walkman to replace a great I pod nano now 12 years old, but which refuses to associate with new I-tunes software !!! The walkman was bought specifically for its playlists and bluetooth capability. What is great is that all my several thousand I-tunes tracks from ex CD's which I thought were lost are comparable and have been pulled into the Music Centre app Library and are available to the Walkman ! This alone makes it worth having. Screens are easy to use in both the ap and the device, sound reproduction and bluetooth operations are both good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and easy to use

16 GB 07/01/2020 by Vinylape (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first Sony MP3 for years and very happy with it. Sturdy and good design, great sound and really easy to use. Only downside is the transfer software which is like Itunes but rather slow when uploading multiple items and sometimes freezes. Overall - quality though.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big little machine

16 GB 05/01/2020 by JeanGenie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a Christmas present as a replacement for an earlier Sony player I have. Excellent machine with many features, great for when I’m out walking.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Listening to the radio

16 GB 04/01/2020 by robinc49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Walkman I had bought almost 20 years ago. I also bought it because, when out and about I like to listen to the radio, a feature absent from my iphone unless I happen to be using an expensive monthly contract when I can get radio over the internet. It is true that I can get radio on my iphone when it is in Wifi range, but the Wifi signal does not cover the garden where I spend a lot of my time. Also the Walkman is much smaller and handier. The iphone is too big and precious to be used comfortably, and without risk of smashing the screen, when doing physical work outside. So, the Walkman has ticked many boxes. However, I was disappointed to discover, unless I have overlooked something, that radio output will not function during Bluetooth output, which means you can't listen to the radio using wireless headphones or wireless speakers over Bluetooth. I also discovered that you can't output radio to wired speakers either, because the audio cable to the speakers will not function as an aerial. Maybe I shouldn't be asking for the moon, but this is a high quality, fairly expensive product, so expectations are high, and these limitations were not obvious from the basic sales material. I would have needed to have studied the manuals carefully and in detail to have picked up on these shortcomings ahead of purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent

16 GB 04/01/2020 by marra 32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact easy to use, transferring music from pc to Walkman is a breeze.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

16 GB 03/01/2020 by PhilandJenny (United Kingdom)

My old Walkman is still going after 10 years, sadly only when connected via the dock, it only last 10 minutes on battery. The new one has so many new features like Bluetooth etc but most importantly the sound quality is superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

tuch screen

16 GB 03/01/2020 by brian the 3rd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent for use when trailing or sitting at home and wanting to listen to you own music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

16 GB 01/01/2020 by godbyeee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound the main point. Lacks a folder option in menu, and my Sony boothtooth headphones will not connect automatic like my phone. The instruction manual is a muddle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great machine but difficult to navigate

16 GB 30/12/2019 by maldoc (United Kingdom)

impossible to create playlists or to import them. bizarre option for booklists which fail to appear on main menu and unable top rename.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

good mp3

16 GB 29/12/2019 by bruce 26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with how it plays . dissapointed at the life off battery when using bluetooth and other features on player. the possible 45 hrs is decimated .loosing approximatly 45% with headphones alone,wished this was indicated before purchase

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I Love my A40 Walkman

16 GB 24/12/2019 by tonysabre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I listen to it everywhere i go When i go out on my own it is like having a freind with me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product delivers quality sound

16 GB 23/12/2019 by Umeshan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality is excellent. I like the features. However the proprietary charging cable could have been a universal USB type which would have made it easy to carry one cable and replacing a universal USB type cable is much easier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

well made

16 GB 22/12/2019 by macsim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item for using on my holidays and I am well impressed about the quality of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great great great

16 GB 21/12/2019 by Kowalus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow best quality ever buy with confidence no great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound

16 GB 20/12/2019 by Michellececilia (United Kingdom)

Excellent sounds. Great capacity and wonderful interface.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nice piece of kit

16 GB 19/12/2019 by nelsmum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about four weeks ago. I thought about it for several months. Then when I decided to buy one I got beaten to the last one in a shop! Eventually I managed to get hold of one and really like the device. I need to spend some time working through all of the features, especially the sound balancing and to play about with the play lists. This is one area where I feel the device could be more user friendly as you have to externally set up a playlist before you can populate it. I would like to connect it to my laptop via Bluetooth, but these doesn't want to play. Overall, I'm very please with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does what it says on the box

16 GB 18/12/2019 by Mizar57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the player for 2 weeks now, easy to use, navigation is straight forward,uploading music to the player using Media Go software is a drag and drop operation so very simple. Have yet to run it flat so 40 plus hours run time is looking good. Bluetooth works well with Sony XB12 speaker, so I now have 2 XB12's. Nice bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, so easy to use.

16 GB 18/12/2019 by Tallman78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this Sony Walkman and really glad I did, only downside is it could be louder and that’s with a decent pair of headphones used with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Previous walkman AW15 was better in may ways

16 GB 16/12/2019 by dissapointed dave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried to use in new polo Unlike AW15 walkman which worked perfectly this model would not work with micro SD card in car.Only internal memory was picked up So given small internal memory not really much use Not much help from Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Me not happy

16 GB 15/12/2019 by Tom Mix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It took me 5 days to put my music on a micro card after following Sony instructions toto the letter and I still cannot get the player to read the card even though it knows the card is there.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Limited support for Mac users

NW-A40 SERIES 13/12/2019 by pegasony (USA)

No Music Center for Mac, that means you can't categorize your music using SensMe. Also no updates for allowing use of new earphones/headphones from Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/12/2019

Hi, pegasony!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Sony Walkman

16 GB 12/12/2019 by Wolves 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product, sounds good. Let down by the software

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0