A40 WALKMAN® A SERIES

Product Reviews

Starting at

$149.99

55

4.5 based on 55 customer reviews

38
9
6
2
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Heaven is a place called Sony!

16 GB 16/02/2018 by Virgill (United Kingdom)

I just love my new Sony Walkman, I love the ease of creating Book Lists, it gives me the opportunity to create music lists to suit the mood I'm in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Would have better w USB cable and stronger amp

16 GB 10/06/2018 by Kevin17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would have better w USB cable, and have stronger amp

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

55 Customer Reviews

0

Absolutely great

16 GB 15/07/2018 by Bigrob123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this walkman i just charging and i can’t wait when i start to listen music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome little thing

16 GB 15/07/2018 by Howard 74hd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive had this little thing for a few weeks now and it's spot on. The sound quality is amazing and I am fussy. Transferring files is child's play once you work it out but that takes minutes. I have not tries a high Rez song yet but burning cd straight to it is top quality so can't wait to here a high Rez album. The only real problem is you do need to find a good set of headphones to here it full potential. With normal headphones it is superb but with a high quality set of headphones and a high Rez album it will be stunning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Player - one major niggle!

16 GB 14/07/2018 by castalla (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent product - easy to use - super sound over bluetooth headphones. My only complaint is that there's no way to download from Spotify (unlike the Apple iPod players). Disappointing that Sony can't team with Spotify to offer the same feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good player

16 GB 14/07/2018 by SalisburySimon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as my iPod 160 stopped working with my car interface. After purchasing the SD card for the memory upgrade I was very disappointed to find that the memory card data cannot be accessed by the car interface. But weirdly it can by the Bluetooth connection. This means I have to select the playlist I want to use before I travel rather than being able to change as I go. In every other way this is an excellent player. I just wish it talked to my car like the iPod did

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Wonderful music player! :)

16 GB 07/07/2018 by Davecpo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally took the plunge and bought this music player after listening to my music for years and years as mp3s. After putting in an sd card and downloading music as hi - res files..and pairing the player with Sonys matching h.ear hi res headphones..its been an eye opener...or should that be ear opener! I was surprised at the size of the player...it is tiny and fits easily in a pocket..even with a protective case on. Listeneing to my music now in hi - res format is just amazing...I cannot go back to mp3 now.. So happy I bought this product ..and so glad I didnt pay 4 times the money for a much more exclusive player..that would have done the same thing. Love the matching headphones too Sony...well done guys. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

One flaw away from 5 stars

NW-A40 SERIES 07/07/2018 by music_lover (USA)

The good news: This is a high-quality player for the price. Well-made. Good sound. However, I am going to be a bit picky on the overall rating because of an obvious user-interface design flaw. When I view all albums, I don't want to see all my "Greatest Hits" albums lumped together under one cover. I want each cover displayed separately because each one is its own album. Certainly the fine UI programmers at Sony ought to be able to fix this with a firmware update. I'm just really surprised--more like shocked--that such a fine player could make it to market without anyone on the development team realizing that identical album titles were being lumped together instead of being displayed separately.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2018

Hi music_lover, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Great value and all round performance.

16 GB 03/07/2018 by Pippip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after trusty Ipod classic suffered water damage. Didn't think I would be able to find satisfactory replacement but was wrong. This Walkman is an affordable high quality audio player with minimal distracting bells and whistles. Battery life when playing music is as good as stated, but bear in mind it uses battery when idling, so it will slowly run out unless you turn it off when you're not using it. There doesn't seem to be any dedicated 'sleep' mode which is disappointing since the startup is slow - taking around a minute - when you have a very large library. Light and small enough to fit comfortably in your pocket. Build quality is good and buttons easy to press, even when in your pocket. Touch screen is OK (and doesn't accidentally trigger when in pocket) but is certainly not anti-glare - something to consider if you plan on using this when out and about (you won't be able to see much at all in bright sunshine). Adding an external microSSD and transferring music from a desktop computer was a breeze. Compatibility with different audio formats is good. Library management is fairly standard, although the software could certainly be improved (often when touching the 'back' button I am not taken where I expected - one up the library file tree - but to the main menu).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product

16 GB 03/07/2018 by badger49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an older person I was a bit worried that this might be a bit technical for me, but I neednt have worried. It is so easy to use that I would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and features

16 GB 02/07/2018 by Ra ra or pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this MP3 player about 2weeks ago. I am 73 I have down loaded the music, got the earphones just got to get the Bluetooth working in my car and my speakers in the house.I will get there very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product with excellent sound

16 GB 01/07/2018 by Taffa11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old MP£player. its great and reliable product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY NW-A45 HI-RES WALKMAN

16GB with headphone 24/06/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hi all just giving a review of the sony NW-A45 HI-RES WALKMAN.LET SAY I WAS SURPRISED AT HOW SMALL THE ITEM WAS AND HOW STURDY AND COMPACT THE WHOLE SYSTEM IS. WITH GREAT QUALITY BUILD AND EASE OF USE IDEAL FOR EVERY DAY USE.I HAD A GOOD SET OF STUDIO OVER EAR HEAD PHONES BUT WENT OUT AND GOT MY SELF A PAIR OF THE RECOMENDED NOISE CANCELLING EAR BUDS THAT ARE GREAT .SOUND QUALITY WAS AMAZING AND IS NEVER OF USE EVERY DAY.THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THE VOLUME CAP WHICH ALL EU PRODUCTS HAVE FOR EAR SAFETY SO I PURCHASED A HEAD PHONE AMP WICH I LOVE.SO THE WHOLE ROUND UP OF THE SYSTEM IN MY VEIW IS 5 STARS AND WOULD ADVISE ANYONE TO BUY AS ITS NOT OUT OF BUDGET COMPARED TO OTHERS. IDEAL FOR ANYONE WHO LIKES QUALITY SOUND .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Amazing Sound

16 GB 20/06/2018 by Plumbpipe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are looking to buy a new portable wireless music device, then you're search is over, you won't believe the sound you get from this Sony, I was blown away to hear every note so clearly, honestly, get one, you won't be dissappointed !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Beter than 'i' products

16 GB 20/06/2018 by By2ant1ne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A replacement for a previous Walkman with the same excellent features and ease of use - especially it is now touch screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony walkman a45 Twlight Red

16 GB 20/06/2018 by Kat01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice mp3 player I like the way the sony app works it is easy to transfer my cds onto it and get album image. I am happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent

16 GB 20/06/2018 by Ashley8686 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent MP3 Walkman, bass could be better for the price, and it’s a shame it’s not WiFi for the price. Generally folder feature are great!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Well made

16 GB 17/06/2018 by Johnny15 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased this Bluetooth version to replace my Sony NWZ-E443 model which has been brilliant. Disappointed in my new one as you cannot play videos on it. This cost over £100 more than my earlier Sony so you would think the new one would cater for movies.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality

16 GB 12/06/2018 by himlad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used a Sony NWZ-A828 player for about 10 years and it's been superb. However its bluetooth is very weak and the battery was beginning to fail so I decided to upgrade. While the newer version is very good, I wish Sony had kept the design and features of the older model. It was very lightweight and the buttons were very easy to use while hidden in a pocket. The new model does have the option to add extra memory which is great and the bluetooth is much better. The buttons are good but they could be spaced a little better. The touchscreen seems unnecessary to me. I'd rather just have proper buttons as I like being able to control the player while its in a pocket. The menus are ok but seem a little complicated. They're not impossble to use but it's only an mp3 player, so should be kept simple. It takes much longer to boot up which is not a major problem but does seem unnecessarily long. The size is still pretty compact but it is larger than my old model. Again, it's fine but I wish Sony would focus on making players that actually suit people's real needs. I believe they do still make a smaller player but it's memory was limited and didnt' have bluetooth. I find it hard to see how they could make a really great player 10 years ago but haven't managed to improve since. Overall, I'm glad I bought it as it is very good. But it should be smaller, lighter and less "fiddly" to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Would have better w USB cable and stronger amp

16 GB 10/06/2018 by Kevin17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would have better w USB cable, and have stronger amp

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My 3rd walkman

16 GB 07/06/2018 by Pablo59 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely delighted with my purchase. As always Sony products are fantastic

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Everything I wanted!

16 GB 30/05/2018 by Martin B Yorkshire (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 2 weeks ago ready to try out on flights for a foreign holiday. So light to carry. Only loaded about half my albums onto an SD card b4 I went away. Used in wireless mode with bluetooth headphones. Really easy and quick to pair. Excellent sound quality. Simple button layout. Easy screen. Fast to charge up. Used it every day. I couldn't be happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

love this walkman

16 GB 22/05/2018 by panda1847 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 1 month ago I have found loading with my music very easy using the sony music app I love the look and ease of use very happy with this choice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My favourite new toy

16 GB 22/05/2018 by graeme19 (United Kingdom)

I'm not a massive audiophile but I like my music to sound great and this product delivers in all areas. Connected to my Onkyo amp, or my AKG Bluetooth headphones, or even my cheap Sennheiser earphones, the result is a rich and vibrant sound. The interface seemed a little 'clunky' to begin with but as I discovered the wealth of features hidden behind each menu option I now have a set up I am comfortable with. I'm in the process of converting my music collection from mp3 to flac, so a 128gb micro sd is an essential extra as the 16gb on board memory is not sufficient, they are quite reasonably priced now but this may put some people off. All in all, I love it, a definite 5 star product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent little machine

16 GB 19/05/2018 by SharpieAyr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prefer this to the i-pod that it is a replacement for

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

up graded old Sony for the new Sony walkma

16GB with headphone 14/05/2018 by Von 52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the new Sony Walkman High- Resolution.It is more sterdy than my last Sony (5 year old) This is easy to use,and up loading music is fast.I would recomend this product .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I Love this Walkman!

16 GB 13/05/2018 by AS16875 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned several Walkmans in the past, including an old tape version many moons ago, and an NW-HD1 MP3 player, which was amazing at the time. After moving to the “Apple” universe, I never thought I’d own another, but HiRes music has totally moved the goalposts for me. I think that this is an excellent, and very solid, piece of kit (as you’d expect from Sony), & it’s very well priced in relation to the competion. I’m happy to carry it around as well as my iPhone, as the music quality seems better (to me anyway, although all people are different). My only gripe (& a common one it seems, is the proprietory cable. WHY?) Don’t let that put you off though, it’s a great piece of kit!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony A-45

16 GB 13/05/2018 by Disco duck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Large, easy to navigate screen. Sound both loud & crystal clear. Compact. Bluetooth feature is handy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

"Walkman Wonder!"

16 GB 13/05/2018 by Jiimmy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, I'm very pleased with it. The only complaint is that if used outside, its difficult to read the display. And theres no brightness control.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nothing else close for the money

NW-A40 SERIES 12/05/2018 by Melloncollie64 (USA)

Had a FIIO X1 before and while the sound was good the interface sucked. This has everything you need in an affordable player, expandable memory, high end dacs, aptx, eq, high output, easy pc interface, great screen,. I could go on. Blows all phones out of the water even your precious iPhones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice & Solid

16 GB 27/04/2018 by Dollyfanuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed no headphones in the pack but hey ho - have some decent high resolution phones already.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

16 GB 24/04/2018 by none54321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice looking piece of kit. However Sony music centre software useless. Cannot transfer podcasts from pc to device. Error msg to the effect that podcast format is not compatible. Nonsense, they are standard mp3 files. Had long phone call with Sony, the end result of which was to download mediago, old version of software. At least that worked but is not as user friendly as newer version. Serious design problem here. It's even noted on the Sony website that podcasts might be an issue. Absurd! Finally it is impossible to select podcasts by date order, they only appear in alphabetical order! Therefore device is completely useless and I have taken it back for a refund. No issues there. Pity.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Impressive

16 GB 21/04/2018 by Chris1317 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On very limited use so far it has lived up to its claims.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Soooooo much better than an iPod

16 GB 20/04/2018 by Shokurei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Much better sound quality than my iPod. Takes me back to my first Walkman with cassettes. Gives so much more depth to music. Transferred my iTunes music onto it from my iMac using the Walkman transfer software. Mmm, not good, lots of the music wouldn’t play. Plan B - download the PC Sony Music Player onto my laptop, copy the music from the iTunes folder onto a usb then onto the PC. Now import the music into the player, then update the Gracenote cover art - took almost 12 hours to complete. Now drag and drop the music onto the Walkman. Oh dear! Took nearly a full day. Why? Not sure but I did read somewhere that the PC version checks that it can play the music, so I’m assuming it was converting the 8,000 tracks to a playable format. Was it worth it, DEFINITELY! Every track plays ok, well certainly the ones that failed on the iMac imported process. It may take me a while to prove that EVERY track works!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Returned for a refund

16 GB 17/04/2018 by Kev 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First listen was disappointing using Senheiser HD598 headphones (50 Ohm). I had to turn the volume to max to get any detail which compared poorly to my previous NWZ-A728 mp3 player. Despite trying various headphones over the next ten days I could not be satisfied with the relatively low volume. When the player developed an annoying display jitter I contacted sony for advice and was unhappy with their response, especially regarding headphone compatibility, suggesting the only compatible wired headphones were their own MDR-1ADAC.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Very happy with purchase.

16 GB 16/04/2018 by Charles332 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this Walkman for about a week and would recommend it to anyone. It has some great features including long battery life, bluetooth with aptx hd and a long list of playable music formats including high resolution music files.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great little player and sound is awesome !

16 GB 14/04/2018 by Drewy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with sound and features touch screen is a bit sensitive when scrolling through albums.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

don't know

16GB with headphone 13/04/2018 by abdoni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know how good it is because there is no explanation in the documentation about how to use it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Real Music Listening

16 GB 06/04/2018 by Hobbler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to listen to high definition through my Sony H.ear speakers. Fabulous sound reproduction. Great features for customising the sound to suit your mood and suit the type of music Memory expansion makes it possible to store plenty of music I really like my purchase typical Sony standard designed for real music lovers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

It's a one-does-it-all package!

NW-A40 SERIES 05/04/2018 by FromOnHigh (USA)

Not only has Sony continued to produce the Walkman, they've continued to enhance the overall experience. Solid construction and adaptable as either a player or DAC--that's just amazing! I've used it as both, and it's a great DAC; however, I'll still be sticking to major use of my PHA-3. And it's one of the very few digital players or DACs that has physical buttons instead of just a touchscreen! So awesome! I did have some issues using it as a DAC, but that was quickly resolved by updating all drivers and downloading Sony's "iTunes".

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

smart device

16 GB 03/04/2018 by ianp2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for takiing on holiday, its really nice pieceof kit, though was dissapointed to find i still had to purchase ear phones, even though paperwork in the box states they should have been included, how does it work without them ?. anyway that apart it is very good mp3 player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome and worth the wait.

16 GB 01/04/2018 by TheBear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Waited for Sony to release this Hi-Res player, it was worth it. Read many reviews on Hi-Res players, went with Sony having owned a vintage Walkman MP3 which still performs well. Bluetooth pairs well, there are no dropouts during use with any of my headphones or speakers. Some demanding wired headphones may require an external amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sturdy little super music machine

16 GB 27/03/2018 by chrisbirb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm fairly happy with my new Sony, have had one before, so found transfering music very easy. Sound is really good and screen quite responsive though icons are rather small. It feels good and sturdy in the hand though quite small. Downside is it won't bluetooth to my Renault Captur media nav evolution system - which is one of the main reasons I bought it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very happy with the NW-A45HN

16GB with headphone 08/03/2018 by AJH1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This music player has some excellent features - the quality of the sound is great, and I find the noise-cancelling headphones effective. The ability to find a track by artist, title, album etc is good, and the battery life seems excellent. I also like the ability to add lyrics in a lrc file, though this can be time consuming to match the file with the music. It is able to play a large number of codecs, although I have mainly used MP3. I like the built-in FM radio. The only slightly negative features are the time to start - perhaps 30 seconds while it loads the operating system and builds the database, and the lack of a DAB radio (maybe due to power consumption for DAB). Overall, very satisfied with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1