Skip to Content

Starting at

$64.99

68

4.3 based on 68 customer reviews

35
21
9
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brill sound

8 GB 26/11/2016 by keithie 207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a walkman when it was tapes this one is avast impovement

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great with one problem

NW-E390 SERIES 08/07/2017 by Wait Up (USA)

Generally worked very well and was easy to use. Durable. However, the product got stuck on pause. After about six months of use, got stuck on pause. Could not get to change (tried reset, drain battery, etc.). Now I cannot use. Expected better quality from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

68 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Awesome, Simple, Light, Compact

16 GB 01/12/2017 by MamaLees (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought one of these digital music players in black for my son, then several months later, bought another one in red for my daughter. My husband loaded them up with great music and now both of my children can listen anytime they want, either with headphones, connected to a speaker, or connected to the car speakers. Absolutely wonderful for the price. Very happy with these purchases and it's been a couple years so all continues to go well with both digital music players.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

NW-E390 SERIES 26/11/2017 by Sim21 (USA)

Got it as a birthday present. The only problems are that it can be turned on by mistake so easily and the radio sensitivity is bad. It doesn't show popular stations

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product good sound

8 GB 21/11/2017 by tub403 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Walkman (lost the Last one) goes without saying just had to replace it as it is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My musicmachine

8 GB 26/10/2017 by Bellabella (United Kingdom)

Treated myself after winning £200.So easy to use even I can manage it and I am a 75. Year old technophobe.!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound, easy to use

8 GB 26/10/2017 by Super Red (United Kingdom)

Very good. Problem in getting play through car speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just the job!

8 GB 20/10/2017 by Dave 984 (United Kingdom)

This is a replacement MP3 for use when travelling. It's very compact size makes it ideal for popping in your pocket. The sound reproduction is great but if you want really decent quality, you need to pair it up with a decent set of Sony noise cancelling headphones if you're using it on a flight. Otherwise the standard earphones are perfectly sufficient. It's also one of the easiest MP3s for dragging and dropping or copy and pasting music onto from a PC. Couldn't be simpler. Overall, great product at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to operate and enjoyable sounds and tones

8 GB 16/10/2017 by Pernickity (United Kingdom)

was given as a present during a recent spell in hospital and made all the difference to my stay.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it should

8 GB 14/10/2017 by Karlos88 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and am generally happy with the unit. As an MP3 player considerable less hassle to upload than another well known and more expensive MP3 player. Build quality however is not so good nor are the graphics but the unit only costs half as much so would it be right to expect more. Possibly as there are other cheaper units on the market that claim to do just as much.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little player quick and easy to use.

8 GB 06/10/2017 by KB49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife got me this for my birthday very happy with it great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product

8 GB 01/10/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't downloaded any music yet. Expecting good results from unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great

8 GB 30/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with this. It is a good design, easy to use and decent sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

16 GB 24/09/2017 by golf bag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

compact unit easy to handle and carry and stow away

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact size

8 GB 24/09/2017 by helkatel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use. Am very pleased with it, good choice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Birthday Present

8 GB 24/09/2017 by Ktkt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received mine for my 60th birthday. I found it is easy to load my favourite music and photos. A joy to use!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Carry my tunes on my Harley

NW-E390 SERIES 16/09/2017 by Loneridr (USA)

I've owned my Walkman for 6 years and it has performed flawlessly. My main use is long motorcycle trips. I don't have a radio with fairing on my Heritage Softail and with this device I don't need one. I just grab and go. Although I have XM radio in my truck, I often plug the Walkman in for my wide variety of tunes played my way. Good sounds and very reliable. I have upgraded the earphones mor playing on the motorcycle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very easy to use and intuitive.

8 GB 05/09/2017 by Phil99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have not used the product very much as yet,I find that it is well built and the sound is good. The only slight drawback is that,as far as I can see,you cannot move downloads manually from one folder to another if you do not like the one it has been assigned to.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value

8 GB 21/08/2017 by Golfer12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an apple I pod nano whose battery had failed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Used before, no problems

8 GB 11/08/2017 by Micky389 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had second hand Wallman before, hence the purchase of this one, have had no problems with it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A little disappointed

8 GB 20/07/2017 by GMG77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given the Walkman NW-E394 as a present but it was my chose. The disappiontment came first when I found it could be switched on easily by accident, secondly when i found out I could not buy a cover too protect it.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very easy to load music

8 GB 20/07/2017 by Nick nic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought for use in my new car as it has USB interface to the radio and I wanted to avoid a stack of CD's in the car. The "Mobile Go" programme is very easy to use and transferred CD's quickly onto the Walkman. Performance in the car is excellent. I've only used the earphones once-to check I had recorded correctly, so not able to comment on here performance. The Walkman now sits permanently in the car until I want to upload more Albums. I can control the music by the car interface, so do not use the Walkman controls.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very dissapointed

8 GB 11/07/2017 by stephen 171 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

a very poor replacement for my old sony mp3 player

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great with one problem

NW-E390 SERIES 08/07/2017 by Wait Up (USA)

Generally worked very well and was easy to use. Durable. However, the product got stuck on pause. After about six months of use, got stuck on pause. Could not get to change (tried reset, drain battery, etc.). Now I cannot use. Expected better quality from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2017

Hi Wait Up , we regret that the unit failed your expectation. You may visit this link for your repair/replacement option. https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl. -Erin

0

Did Imake the right decision?

8 GB 25/06/2017 by Greybadger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this item some weeks ago and to be frank I am not sure that I made the right decision I am having trouble fathoming ou how to operate as accompanying instructions arevnot terribly clear or comprehensive

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great sound

8 GB 23/06/2017 by sirrob121 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great little gadget to have, and it's never lost it's apeal

0

0

0

Holds loads of music

8 GB 21/06/2017 by treasure (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony previously. so went for latest equivalent which stores lots more music. However disappointed with the finish quality as it is not to the standard of the model I replaced.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So easy to use

8 GB 17/06/2017 by Jesses (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I brought this use it at work so easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

4 GB 27/05/2017 by Nunny2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and have managed to completely fill all available space from my music collection, incidentally imported from my Sony jukebox. Fortunately all the albums I wanted on my Walkman downloaded, I wish I had bought the next "size " Walkman!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sharp and claer sound..Has good depth to the

8 GB 22/05/2017 by richbat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this a present to while away the time waiting in out patients.. Pleasantly surprised at the depth and clarity of the sound from such a small from such a small unit. The FM radio is also of excellent quality with little, if any, signal interference. Evel downloading songs is fairly simple once you get the hang of it. Could you add a MW capability to allow for reception of sports channels i.e. Radio 5 Live?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not robust, buttons unclear & battery life short

8 GB 17/05/2017 by DDM2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, light MP3 player. Looks and feels nice. Clear sound, easy to use / set up, clear screen. Small downside – covering is plastic and not very robust. I bought a hard cover for it as I felt keeping it in my coat pocket as it was it’d get cracked/broken not in a cover. Medium downside – All the buttons are very smooth so there is no distinguishing the different buttons when it is in your pocket and you want to go forward/back a track without looking at the screen. You either have to guess, possibly hit the wrong button and then take it out your pocket to correct your error, or just take it out without guessing. I’ve stuck bumpy stickers on mine so I can easy identify each button and when I’m out walking I don’t have to take the player out my pocket each time to skip tracks. Large downside – the battery lie is nowhere near the 35 hours it says it is. I bought it actually specifically for this reason – the large battery life. I go on multi day walks and needed an MP3 player that would last at least 24 hours. With the stated 35 hours I thought I was onto a winner. When the MP3 player arrived I charged it for the stated 2 hours, put some songs on it and then hit play and waited. I took a note of how long it lasted before it switched off due to battery life dying. It turned off after 18.5 hours. Just over half the stated time. Extremely disappointed. Overall, unfortunately, although it looks and feels nice, if you are after a long lasting MP3 player this one is not for you. If you don’t mind charging up often, buying a cover for it and having to take it out your pocket each time to change tracks then go for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So Easy

8 GB 14/05/2017 by Maggiegran (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace a very old MP3 player and absolutely love it's simplicity. Simple to download my own music from my PC so no extra costs. I've put about 16 CD's on so far and only used about 10% of the memory

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound.

8 GB 12/05/2017 by jean109 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Handy no nonsense product. fits in pockets so music is with you all the time. Has given me back the sounds I has missed through hearing loss. Wonderfully easy to use. Wish I had bought one before now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0