Starting at

$64.99

234

4.0 based on 234 customer reviews

115
63
23
9
24
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great features

8 GB 15/09/2019 by Nightwalker1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and can’t believe how small and lightweight it is. I am still downloading all my cd’s and it is such an easy and quick process and there is so much space, more than I will need. Very easy to operate and find your music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

234 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Given to me as a gift

8 GB 13/01/2020  (United Kingdom)

I was given this to replace an I pod which I destroyed accidentally in the washing machine. While I had no problem to transfer cds to Walkman , I can't figure out how to transfer my I Tunes library , I am disappointed that the transfer is not straightforward, I am totally fed up trying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Will Not Work With MAC Computer

NW-E390 SERIES 08/01/2020 by Peter128 (USA)

The Content Transfer "Sony" software does not work as it Crashes when I attempt to open the app. This Walkman is useless with the Content Transfer software working. Is Sony going to update the Content Transfer software so it will work with Mac Computers? If Sonny will not update and you own a Mac computer do not purchase this device.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
09/01/2020

Hello, Peter128!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Dated

8 GB 07/01/2020 by Jogym (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for use in the gym, lightweight due to poor quality of casing. Had to buy separate ear plugs, as original poor sound quality. Easy to download from laptop, but unable to download from other streaming platforms. It does its job, but poor imitation of Ipod equipment.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

great product

8 GB 06/01/2020 by h220 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Walkman is powerful,has sufficient capacity to hold all my playlist and more. Setting up is easy and the screen user friendly. All-in-all a great buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

8 GB 04/01/2020 by Braces (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wife bought me this for Christmas and am very pleased with it. Easy to transfer from the PC and the sound and picture quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

8 GB 27/12/2019 by trgharry (United Kingdom)

First time purchase of MP player which I am delighted with

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor

4 GB 26/12/2019 by Trace36 (United Kingdom)

My husband brought for Christmas, I’m unable to work it out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Updated from original I pod

8 GB 24/12/2019 by what do you want (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to play music through the car radio while travelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great mp3 Player -- WORST manual I have EVER used

8 GB 18/12/2019 by Donna77642 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this on sale, so it was a really good time for me to try out an mp3 player. I have not had it a full month yet, so it is really too soon to evaluate it thoroughly. The sound is great. I use it with earphones at night to combat insomnia--it works perfectly....30 minutes of Sleeping at Last's angel sounding music puts me right to sleep. One thing I DO NOT LIKE is the awful online documentation that is supposedly the HELP. It is the worse I have ever used. I always like to print screen pages that have info that I use over and over...forget it with this manual. It jumps all around and is so confusing that, if I did not like the player already, I would bring it back just because the manual is so hard to use. I mean, really, just list all the areas and give directions for each area. Someone was having so much fun playing with technology that lets them use links to jump to areas that they forgot to make it simple for a new user to simply read the pages consecutively. Really? Why do that to us. The links are fine to jump to a new subject, but I have never seen to replace the actual directions given THERE on the page. Please rethink your HORRIBLE manual. I would NOT recommend this product due to the manual being just impossible to use. Sorry, but an instruction manual is as equally important to the product as the product itself. I will be searching YouTube hoping to get more direction from there. How sad.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/12/2019

Hi, Donna77642!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Awesome!

8 GB 09/12/2019 by Lori19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I boughtthis MP3 player aweek ago and LOVE it! It sounds great and thebattery lasts a long time. I would highly recommend this little player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many functions; just want to hear my playlists

8 GB 09/12/2019 by Sean K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony requires the creation of playlists on its own Music Center. I couldn't simply transfer my existing from Windows Media Player. Wish the Mp3 and Windows Media Player were compatible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2019

Hi, Sean!

Unfortunately, only the playlists created from the Music Center App is recognized by the walkman. We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Regards,
Sam

0

Nice and small

8 GB 01/12/2019 by JenL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this walkman mainly as it has a radio. I found the instructions unclear and felt I had to work the controls out myself. There is a so-called instruction manual but it doesn’t tell you how to work the walkman. Haven’t even tried to load music - need help with that....I did eventually find the radio..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Less than expected

8 GB 18/11/2019 by Mike141 (United Kingdom)

Expected it to be good, it isn't. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great unit

8 GB 08/11/2019 by David 60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good unit good battery easy to use Very light good sound quality would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sony Walkman Digital Music Player

16 GB 05/11/2019 by Jas82 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this Item at my Local Store and I am well pleased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Impossibly complex software - was unable to use

NW-E390 SERIES 23/10/2019 by Skippie (USA)

Bought this to replace Ipod (which broke) - on the basis of Amazon reviews of this product. I have spent hours trying to find a way to download music to it but have failed to either download iTunes to it or to get Amazon music to download to it. Unless you are a computer geek, this is about a frustrating a device as I've come across.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/10/2019

Hi, Skippie!


We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. We have a number of ways to transfer songs/music to the walkman. To help you get your music to transfer to the Sony walkman, please refer to the link below:

https://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwe390/v1/en/cover/level3_14.html

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Sam

0

Easy to use and sturdy.

8 GB 22/10/2019 by Gaglag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is just what I was looking for. You press a button and it does what you want it to. No skipping past your menu choice like the touch sensitives players I have tend to do. Excellent memory and battery life. I just love it and would recommend it to anyone. Top marks from me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works well & Very easy to use.

8 GB 20/10/2019 by Dick0848 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Philips go gear that died and it is better,louder and easy to load.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good quality product

8 GB 13/10/2019 by Ding Dong 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my Walkman for just over a week and I am really pleased with it. Good quality music reproduction in a nice small slim unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Arrived on time

8 GB 29/09/2019 by Hairset (United Kingdom)

This was given as a present , to replace my old walkerman, mother put my music on so I am unable to comment.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Complicated walkman

8 GB 27/09/2019 by donkey1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for an ipod, and now regret buying it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Not good

8 GB 21/09/2019 by wxyz12344567 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in late July, stopped working in early September. Have had an exchange, see how that works

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great features

8 GB 15/09/2019 by Nightwalker1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and can’t believe how small and lightweight it is. I am still downloading all my cd’s and it is such an easy and quick process and there is so much space, more than I will need. Very easy to operate and find your music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

easy to operate

4 GB 10/09/2019 by jasper60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had a zen this mp3 player is much easier to operate,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Turns itself on too easily

8 GB 08/09/2019 by Welsh prop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Is too sensitive and turns itself in when in the pocket or bag. This drains the battery

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent MP3!

8 GB 29/08/2019 by Lukey19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m happy with my device the only downside is the volume can only go up to 30 and it’s ok indoors when ur out n about u cannot hear some songs at all even up at full volume :( Otherwise brilliant

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good MP3 player

8 GB 25/08/2019 by teknofobe (United Kingdom)

Bought this to play music in the car as no CD player. Also connects to my Sony micro music centre

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good item for its small size

8 GB 11/08/2019 by Britton (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was in the market for a decent mp3 player and I found this one. I can't find much to complain about with this player. Has good sound, standard earphone port, the usual controls and it looks nice. Compared to the old Sony Walkman's of the 1980's and 90's this thing rocks. The battery lasts a long time and the interface is easy to use. It does not feel cheap and flimsy like the generic models I browsed through or owned previously. It's plastic and very light, would be nice if the case was thin metal. It doesn't do video playback and the picture viewing function is neat and all but not really useful as the screen is to small to really see the details of the pictures. Fixing the album art and song data is proving to be difficult. My songs show on the PC as having the artwork and song details but on the player the info is missing. Still trying to figure that part out. Overall I am happy with the music player and hope to get a lot of use out of it. A lower price for it would be nice. It's not worth 70+ dollars and I'm glad I was able to get one for roughly 50 dollars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, Britton!

We're glad to hear that you're satisfied with your purchase! With regards to transferring song data to your walkman, make sure that you're using the latest version of the Music center app for PC or content transfer for Mac.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

very good player

8 GB 07/08/2019 by sykesy (United Kingdom)

i have 2 other sony walkman same model.very happy with it,also good performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0