Starting at

$64.99

118

4.1 based on 118 customer reviews

61
33
11
3
10
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brill sound

8 GB 26/11/2016 by keithie 207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a walkman when it was tapes this one is avast impovement

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

119 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Good Player

8 GB 21/07/2018 by Rod H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace one i have had for a few years. For the cost i would have hoped it had lasted longer

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great addition to my Walkman collection

8 GB 20/07/2018 by Vgrr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my new Walkman and it is so easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could Be Much Better

8 GB 12/07/2018 by Unutterable (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is supposed to have 8G memory, but only displays 5.9G. The battery does not last a long time. The sound is not great. There is no suitable case for it. It is rather expensive for what it is, giving me the feeling that I have paid for the brand name and not for the good qualities that the product should have.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good quality and easy to use

8 GB 11/07/2018 by Clive R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not being particularly techno-minded, I wanted something easy to use but of good quality and this does both! Simple to drop tunes from computer to player and has huge memory.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smart item

8 GB 09/07/2018 by Klinkhammer (United Kingdom)

Exactly what I wanted and very easy to use especially for beginners

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use, not perfect though

16 GB 09/07/2018 by UG_SOGMC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Click and drop songs from Macs works well. Playlists are inefficient though. After building the playlist on computer software, it duplicates the songs in the playlist, depleting available memory rapidly. 8.7GB of music ended up occupying over 12GB due to this method. Playlisting would be much more efficient through tagging the library items with a playlist tag-mapping the songs instead of duplicating them. This is why the design aspect was rated at 2 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very painful earphones hence 1 star

8 GB 17/06/2018 by NO WAY NO HOW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ear phone that bad they hurt, could not use until I had replaced them, really not happy that I have had to spend more money to get different ones. Shame really. Shame it also took ages to register product, no help from sony to solve. Player ok, phones terrible and I do mean TERRIBLE

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Does not show videos

16 GB 15/06/2018 by Ikey62 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am thinking of returning this player because it does not show my videos or movies

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Walkman rubbish

8 GB 09/06/2018 by Rats back (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Too hard to download music, need a degree to work it out swapped it for ipod

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features and value for money.

8 GB 27/05/2018 by Patricia18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for when I go walking, to listen to music, glad I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

8 GB 21/05/2018 by Bella zack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent little gadget - great to use and looks good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8 GB 17/05/2018 by Jandog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this device, I have a car which can only support a usb music system I used memory stick to play my music which wasn't working, I have loaded my music C/ds onto the Walkman which plugs in & away I go, excellent sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fine not as loud as I'd like though

8 GB 14/05/2018 by Ms Person (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's fine but it's not as loud as my iPod when I plug it into my mini rig. Also I would prefer if it was incased in metal like my iPod is because it looks like it could easily be broken or crushed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can't transfer playlists

NW-E390 SERIES 11/05/2018 by Conrad73 (USA)

My computer will not allow me to transfer WMP playlists, in part because the wrong driver pops up for the device. I've been trying for days to download the correct one, and it is nowhere to be found on Sony's site that I can find...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/05/2018

Hello Conrad73, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate the issue with the player, kindly visit the links provided below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1727&kbid=00031839&mdl=NWE394
http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwe390/v1/en/contents/TP0000880527.html
Regards, _Bob

0

Easy to operate

8 GB 11/05/2018 by Dunelm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a previous model that was stolen, this is a good model not as versatile as my previous one - I cannot remember model number, and a bit more plasticy, but the sound is very good easy to load music on to, (much easier than an IPod I had) and the earphones are far far better. On the whole a good buy, just wish it had some of the features of previous model where you could make your own bookmarks list.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8 GB 30/04/2018 by Mr Blue Sky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and not disappointed. Easy to upload music and great sound quality. Might need to change the headphones as the ones supplied are entry level-maybe an offer to upgrade from Sony?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Doesn't recognise albums settings

8 GB 30/04/2018 by Mack gooner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the sound is good, it does not recognises some album songs settings and I find that some songs are being stored in an "Unknown" album folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

8 GB 27/04/2018 by Taste (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced my previous one, easy to use and load up music onto. Decent sound. Though this version a bit plasticity compared to by previous model which was metal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good, apart from one major flaw

8 GB 27/04/2018 by HairyOne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to transfer music, excellent quality of reproduction and easy to use. Problem is that it is far too easy to switch it on accidentally. It needs a better design to prevent such accidental use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and download music

8 GB 12/04/2018 by Daglish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Update for my previous model which died in Madeira after many years good service

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightweight & Compact

8 GB 03/04/2018 by captken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with the Walkman and intend to use it mainly on holidays

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small, lightweigh but very flexible and powerful.

8 GB 31/03/2018 by bob491 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the player 2 weeks ago and set it up fairly quickly , Had some diffiulty downloading the Musiccentre programme used in association with the player but that was quickly sorted by Sony Help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value and Ideal for Music on the Move

8 GB 31/03/2018 by anthony1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had an MP3 before and was a little wary about ordering the Sony Walkman after reading a number of negative comments concerning below average quality and performance. However, I have had many Sony products over the years which have always proved reliable and, as the average review score was more than adequate, I decided to go ahead. I have to say that I am glad that I did as I am delighted with the look and feel of this Walkman and the ease of use for a complete novice like myself. I took advantage of downloading the Sony help guide instructions and also the Sony Music Centre for PC and using both, together with the Walkman, I have immediately mastered downloading my CD collection, adding newly purchased singles from Amazon and organizing different playlists.Not bad for a complete 68 year old dummy! No complaints at all other than having to additionally purchase a small case and charging plug for it separately.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

8 GB 28/03/2018 by Eas8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this specifically for when I go to the gym. Very easy to use and download music onto. My downloads were mostly from cds. I found it a bit more difficult transferring music already on the computer but ok when I got the hang of it. Most of the help us online. Minimal paperwork with item. Quality of sound is good and volume control also good. Have now used it in the card and very pleased with the result. It is nice and light, very near so easy to take with you anywhere. Great Value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful

8 GB 23/03/2018 by Stephen 958 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with my Sony Walkman MP3 player - so easy to download music to, so easy to find the album or track I want to play & the sound quality is superb, even through the small earphones. Taking it for its first holiday in 3 weeks' time - can't wait to field test it!! A great buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unfit for purpose

8 GB 19/03/2018 by MikeInLeeds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older Walkman - which served well for years. The new NW-E394 is wholly unable to provide adequate sound output in outdoor conditions when listening to anything but rock & pop music. It cannot cope with the range of sound output required for classical music. Disabling the AVLS does little to help, since the upper volume limit is too low. I have not experienced the same issue with Apple devices recently purchased. Sony really need to rethink this product. A very unsatisfactory purchase! Incidentally, while EU regulations are cited as the reason for this deficiency, the EU make it clear that the user should be able to over-ride the AVLS restriction. Sony just make it impossible to achieve any real improvement in sound output once AVLS is "off".

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/03/2018

Hello BadSonySonic, for further assistance regarding your concern, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region http://www.sony-asia.com/countryselector.html?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Great little player

8 GB 01/03/2018 by Ginge1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My friend had one of these, and while I downloaded 8GB of music onto it it got me thinking that I wanted one too. So I bought one and haven't looked back. I haven't used the radio function cos I don't really need it, but the quality of the downloads is great and I can listen to all my favourite music anytimeI want to.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality sound

8 GB 22/02/2018 by Stephen 52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loads of memory. I can easily store all my music. Easy to use and quality sound with a good bass. I recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product, it has all the features I require.

8 GB 19/02/2018 by gardeningchris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is easy to use & handle.Ideal for listening music anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Music all day and every day

8 GB 19/02/2018 by Earl69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it on holiday and found it a god send to idle away hours of boredom on plane journeys and during quiet moments to myself. With excellent sound quality and ease of use it has replaced my ancient MP3 player and enhanced my mobile access to my favourite music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good battery life

8 GB 15/02/2018 by talking book (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it so far. It “pops” when turn it on which I’m not keen on, but otherwise good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Performs as expected.

8 GB 15/02/2018 by andrewc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Walkman is easy to operate, the sound quality is good. It 'does what it says on the tin'.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0