26

3.7 based on 26 customer reviews

10
5
7
2
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simple and effective

NW-WS623 27/09/2017 by Andi_E (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these earphones for running and working out. They sit very well in my ears and are comfortable. I wore them on 1+ hour runs and didn't have any issues. The build quality is excellent. The audio quality is decent for the size (not very much base but very clear and loud enough). Battery life is very good. Very happy overall and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

sound quality is good wish more sound power

NWWS623/B 10/07/2017 by musty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound quality is good wish more sound power.ıs there any way to increase sound volume more

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

26 Customer Reviews

0

music center(songpal) not compatible NWZ-WS625

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 09/07/2018 by MarcoPPT (USA)

This product arrived a year ago and it is not available as compatible with Music Center App (songpal) it doesn't detect it, it is detected as generic Bluetooth and it is not possible to change audio parameters like clear bass

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2018

Hello MarcoPPT, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly refer to the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwws620/v1/en/contents/TP0001272127.html
Regards, _Bob

0

Uniquely useful

NW-WS623 28/06/2018 by Stumblerun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as I undertook the NHS Couch to 5K. I downloaded each run and some warm down tunes. Getting used to placing the walkman around my ears and experimented with different sized ear buds to maximise comfort, all good. Controls initially fiddly but easy to get used to and uncomplicated. Sound options good and feel safe as a solo user out in the park able to sufficiently hear ambient sounds. A small gripe and does not affect the product funtionality - all the images on the product box were of men - hardly does anything to encourage women customers or show the inclusivity of the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Works well, great for running

NW-WS623 24/06/2018 by DarrenA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable, good sound, intuitive controls. Very stable when running

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, even in the water.

NW-WS623 07/06/2018 by DOXAJOHN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third and by far best Sony waterproof Walkman yet, I swim long distance usually 10k, this is my swimming companion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the color and design

NWWS623/B 31/05/2018 by Mann143 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought NW-W623 ON 25MAY2018 just fell in love with the design and color.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nicely designed. Great product.

NWWS625/B 13/05/2018 by TomHuang3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good quality. Wish there is a way to set default equalization for playback.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So so

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 27/04/2018 by Kitagaki (USA)

I used nwz 262 for many years. The sound quality is better than nwz ws625 recently bought. I cant find Zapping funcion in 625 too (unfortunately ).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/04/2018

Hi Kitagaki, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Expected more

NW-WS623 17/04/2018 by Haza84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am currently training for a long distance outdoor swim so wanted a waterproof MP3 player to help with swim training. I love the fact I can now listen to music when in the water, however, for the cost of the Sony Walkman I was expecting more in terms of functionality and sound quality. The volume just isn't loud enough and I seem to play with it every session to try and maximise volume and audio capability. Functional options and use seem quite basic and I have so far been unable to download any Podcasts. I have read in other reviews that these only last a year and at that point they are out of warranty. I would be very unhappy if this was the case given my experience so far.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great but other party cant hear well on phone call

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 04/04/2018 by yttan (USA)

pick this product up from airport and love it instantly, especially it has the ambience mode where I can hear surrounding. I wear to everywhere I go. The position of ear piece takes awhile to put on and remember the position of each buttons, after awhile it's quite natural and easy to put on. My only disappointment is when on phone call, the other party complains my voice sounded quite far from mic and muffled. I was told by technical support to reset to factory setting, I did but still the same issue. Good for people who wants to listen to audio but phone call may not

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/04/2018

Hi yttan,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

MY SECOND ONE

NWWS623/B 17/03/2018 by OllyPete (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS 2 MONTHS AGO AND IT STOPPED WORKING AFTER SWIMMING IN THE POOL. SO AS THESE ISN'T ALTERNATIVE TO THIS ONE I JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND ONE. NOW I HAVE 2, ONE IS NEW AND ONE DOESN'T WORK.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/03/2018

Hello OllyPete, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number.
Thank you, _Bob

0

good

NW-WS623 16/03/2018 by nonononohohihh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it is working as it should be. it is working as it should be.

0

0

0

Great product

NW-WS623 02/02/2018 by Mpagan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does exactly what it is supposed to Good sound quality Easy to wear easy to load music onto

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Limited sound volume

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 31/01/2018 by elevo (USA)

Very useful device for many sport. Sound quality is good, not great. But battery goes for 2-3 hours when Bluetooth func. is on. And sound is limited in Europe version , so what about us version ? Can I find a firmware to brake this eu sound limit? There are not enough software support in Sony websites that I could find.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/02/2018

Hi elevo, greetings and thank you for your message. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Sony MP3 waterproof

NW-WS623 29/01/2018 by rockerman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the design as there are no hanging wires. Brought it to use swimming, works well underwater, but it's quite in low in volume as special ear plugs are used for underwater. Doubles up as a hands free bluetooth for cell phones.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

terrible product

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 06/01/2018 by Korab (USA)

I used it twice (!!!!), it doesn't work now and can't even turn it on, It was a huge mistake to buy it, and I can't even register my product cause i'm outside of the US now.. waste of money, previous swimming MP were way better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2018

Hi Korab, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

Two weeks in....

NW-WS623 06/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used my new waterproof Walkman on about 6 occasions and although there is a little trial and error (getting used to the controls whilst wearing the device and ensuring the earpieces remain in position), but on the whole it really enhances my swimming in just the way I hoped.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overall, great product with one disappointment.

NW-WS623 05/01/2018 by Simon1649 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The earphones work well, Bluetooth connection is seamless and the 'ambient sound' feature is a great idea for use when outside in busy areas. Sound quality is very good & the controls are easy to use (although may be more problematic if wearing gloves). The 'answer calls' function works well & is easy to use. My only disappointment is the lack of a 'voice to text ' function, as the microphones & Bluetooth connection is already in place then it seems an oversight not to build it in. Overall, a good quality product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Died the first time it touched the water!!!!

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 31/12/2017 by TVishwa (USA)

I am a weekend swimmer and i owned and used the old "NWZ-W273S" for about 3 or more years and had NO problem other than i had to force restart it once in a blue moon, and i replaced it with the new "NW-WS625"(which is weirdly only available in japan and got one from there) and the first day i tried it in the commute and all and its fine but the pressure in the ear was too high to use is daily normal use (but thats best for work out and swimming) so in about 3 days i took it for a swim(in a 5.5ft swimming pool with underwater earplugs) and it worked fine! but at my end of it, it started acting weird, the function all constantly started switching on and off by it self, the bluetooth went crazy, it and the noice function and it made such a annoying mess that felt like pull it out and throw it away! but i dried it and kept it outside to dry for few days and then next time i brought it to swim, and its was 100% acting the same annoying way, and i found out that all buttons on the left side are miss functioning and some buttons too other button functions as well! (i don't understand how that happened) and learned to control the mayhem a little and lost the "bluetooth" and the "noice feature" and the option to select the "mode". and today the walkman is totally dead, can't switch on, can recharge, can't connect to computer! since i have bought it from japan i don't think i can afford to return this product! and i regret for spending so much for thins product thinking it gonna be better than the older one! NWZ-W273S by the way is one of the best I've used and considering to buy another but i'd appreciate 16GB of memory for that! AND the ""ZAPPIN" mode is what i miss the most! please Sony bring that to your Xperia and other walkman models! what i think about this product! *it have some crazy bells and whistles and most of them are useful *and the sound quality was Awesome! *can't use daily for normal listening, bcoz of the pressure! *the buttons feel like from old typewriter, and cheap, placed very close to each other! (i have big hands). *the metallic ginormous finish button for the noice feature is unnecessary! *No "ZAPPIN" mode so you have to press next every time! and the typewriter button feel make its uncomfortable. *Still i think this is best for swimming, than anything i've tried (if it can work underwater like they say!). *and bluetooth doesn't work underwater so if you buying only for swimming like me, just ignore that feature. over all this could be the best experience, in the market right now, if it was built well!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/01/2018

Hello TVishwa, we apologize for the inconvenience. For further assistance regarding your concern, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region http://www.sony-asia.com/countryselector.html?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns.
Regards, _Bob

0

You can go to the Beach with it

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 30/12/2017 by vhdiaz (USA)

I'm using them as a secondary pair of headphones for the swimming pool or the beach, but in planes or doing exercises I prefer to use my beats anyhow I will give 4 for everything but the sound quality

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5 month use review

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 11/12/2017 by mly722 (USA)

I bought this because I wanted one device that could do everything I needed. I commute to work on my bicycle, run and swim three times a week. The device fulfills my needs, but... in hindsight I would rather have multiple devices. Ease of use – Simple to load music on and off. Just plug it into your computer and drag files on\off. No extra software needed (I prefer that over special software). The controls are simple to use. Design – Size is great. Not really noticeable while exercising. A big problem I have is the way both halves are connected. The wire connecting each side is thick. Mine seems to be twisted, and I cannot straiten it out. This causes my left earpiece to not fit as well as the right side. The left side does not lay flush against my head, it rests crooked and causes the earpiece to migrate out of my ear canal. I have to keep pushing it back in every couple of minutes. I have pretty much given up on doing that and have just listened with the diminished sound quality (not an issue swimming because I put one of the goggle straps over it). Sound quality – With the non-water-resistant earbuds in, the sound is great. When I put on the water-resistant earbuds, the sound is not loud enough. Since I swim with these, I always keep the water-resistant ones on. There was one time I went to go swimming and I didn’t have them, so I couldn’t use that time. Now I constantly just keep them on. Features – Like I said, I wanted something that had everything I needed. I like being able to upload audio files onto the onboard storage, use these as a headset making calls and the water-resistant features. What I don’t like is that I can’t play the audio files I have uploaded and have the Bluetooth connected at the same time. Maybe I’m doing something wrong, but when commuting I like to listen to recorded podcasts, but I sometimes get phone calls. I have to stop and answer the phone, instead of just picking up the call. The quick charge feature is nice. A lot of times I forget to charge the headset, and I put it on the charger for 5 or so minutes, and it will cover my 52-minute commute. Problems – When commuting, there is a terrible wind sound because of the size of the headset. The wind going across it causes a lot of noise. I’m not sure if it because of the noise canceling features or not. My previous headset did not have this issue. Using the water-resistant earbuds, I cannot hear any distinguishable audio. I have to wear ear covers over my headsets and ears to hear anything, good for the winter time, but sucks in the summer. Earbud options, I prefer triple flange earbuds over the standard round ones. I would buy non-Sony ones, but I cannot find any that have a water-resistant membrane. The triple flange ones tend to fit in my ears better on longer exercise sessions. Would I recommend this product to a friend… right now, no. If it didn’t have these flaws… absolutely, I’d probably buy them as Christmas presents and give them out. Great concept, but probably just not tested enough during development.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hi mly722, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

Sound quality over Bluetoot and please an app

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 25/10/2017 by Sun1024 (USA)

Need improvement on sound quality over Bluetooth and it would be great if there is an supported android or iOS application to use with this otherwise good headphone

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi Sun1024, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Garbage

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 09/10/2017  (USA)

Sony nw-ws623/ws625 Horrid, unintuitive, difficult to use, hard to wear – put them on and some button you accidently press kills the thing or changes the settings. Avoid this piece of junk

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hello JohnDon, We apologize for that inconvenience. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Simple and effective

NW-WS623 27/09/2017 by Andi_E (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these earphones for running and working out. They sit very well in my ears and are comfortable. I wore them on 1+ hour runs and didn't have any issues. The build quality is excellent. The audio quality is decent for the size (not very much base but very clear and loud enough). Battery life is very good. Very happy overall and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great for runners' use

NWWS623/B 15/08/2017 by Vincent218 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good device for running, but add more using time is much better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sound quality is good wish more sound power

NWWS623/B 10/07/2017 by musty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound quality is good wish more sound power.ıs there any way to increase sound volume more

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hello musty, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

The all-in-one device I was looking for

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 05/07/2017 by flooo (USA)

This device fits my needs of being a Bluetooth headset but also a stand-alone music player when running without a phone. The fit is awesome and there is absolutely no bouncing or any chance they would fall out even during the hardest of sprints. The sound quality is excellent and the ambient sound mode works quite well to. When riding my bike for example, I like to hear the ambient sounds (traffic etc), while I prefer to block out ambient sounds when listening to music while working on my computer. the controls are quite well thought out. I was worried that navigating 4 GB of music without a display on the device would be impossible, but with double-clicking the prev/next-buttons too switch between folders it works quite well. (One suggestion: double-click back on first song of a folder could ALWAYS trigger switch to PREVIOUS folder, not just in the first one or two seconds. If I want to skip back to beginning of current folder, I can do that with single click back anyway while at first song...) I have not yet used them for swimming but don't think I would be using them for a proper pool workout. I might consider giving them a try for a longer, steady lake-swim but honestly - the waterproofing feature is more of an added bonus for me rather than my main focus. I did however just keep them on for the shower after a run which is pretty cool. One little improvement would be on the volume of the various beeps and voice-feedback when pressing the buttons. It is sometimes quite loud and inexplicably differs between Walkman-mode and Bluetooth mode. All in all this device is very well made and thought through. I had a couple of cheaper Bluetooth headsets before, but they always fell short in overall quality and usability and didn't offer stand-alone music playing. This device is well worth the extra investment, provided that it will stand the test of time and hold up against the daily abuse I'll be throwing at it...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

1