Skip to Content
7

3.4 based on 7 customer reviews

3
0
2
1
1
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simple and effective

NW-WS623 27/09/2017 by Andi_E (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these earphones for running and working out. They sit very well in my ears and are comfortable. I wore them on 1+ hour runs and didn't have any issues. The build quality is excellent. The audio quality is decent for the size (not very much base but very clear and loud enough). Battery life is very good. Very happy overall and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

sound quality is good wish more sound power

NWWS623/B 10/07/2017 by musty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound quality is good wish more sound power.ıs there any way to increase sound volume more

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

7 Customer Reviews

0

5 month use review

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 11/12/2017 by mly722 (USA)

I bought this because I wanted one device that could do everything I needed. I commute to work on my bicycle, run and swim three times a week. The device fulfills my needs, but... in hindsight I would rather have multiple devices. Ease of use – Simple to load music on and off. Just plug it into your computer and drag files on\off. No extra software needed (I prefer that over special software). The controls are simple to use. Design – Size is great. Not really noticeable while exercising. A big problem I have is the way both halves are connected. The wire connecting each side is thick. Mine seems to be twisted, and I cannot straiten it out. This causes my left earpiece to not fit as well as the right side. The left side does not lay flush against my head, it rests crooked and causes the earpiece to migrate out of my ear canal. I have to keep pushing it back in every couple of minutes. I have pretty much given up on doing that and have just listened with the diminished sound quality (not an issue swimming because I put one of the goggle straps over it). Sound quality – With the non-water-resistant earbuds in, the sound is great. When I put on the water-resistant earbuds, the sound is not loud enough. Since I swim with these, I always keep the water-resistant ones on. There was one time I went to go swimming and I didn’t have them, so I couldn’t use that time. Now I constantly just keep them on. Features – Like I said, I wanted something that had everything I needed. I like being able to upload audio files onto the onboard storage, use these as a headset making calls and the water-resistant features. What I don’t like is that I can’t play the audio files I have uploaded and have the Bluetooth connected at the same time. Maybe I’m doing something wrong, but when commuting I like to listen to recorded podcasts, but I sometimes get phone calls. I have to stop and answer the phone, instead of just picking up the call. The quick charge feature is nice. A lot of times I forget to charge the headset, and I put it on the charger for 5 or so minutes, and it will cover my 52-minute commute. Problems – When commuting, there is a terrible wind sound because of the size of the headset. The wind going across it causes a lot of noise. I’m not sure if it because of the noise canceling features or not. My previous headset did not have this issue. Using the water-resistant earbuds, I cannot hear any distinguishable audio. I have to wear ear covers over my headsets and ears to hear anything, good for the winter time, but sucks in the summer. Earbud options, I prefer triple flange earbuds over the standard round ones. I would buy non-Sony ones, but I cannot find any that have a water-resistant membrane. The triple flange ones tend to fit in my ears better on longer exercise sessions. Would I recommend this product to a friend… right now, no. If it didn’t have these flaws… absolutely, I’d probably buy them as Christmas presents and give them out. Great concept, but probably just not tested enough during development.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hi mly722, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

Sound quality over Bluetoot and please an app

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 25/10/2017 by Sun1024 (USA)

Need improvement on sound quality over Bluetooth and it would be great if there is an supported android or iOS application to use with this otherwise good headphone

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi Sun1024, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Garbage

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 09/10/2017  (USA)

Sony nw-ws623/ws625 Horrid, unintuitive, difficult to use, hard to wear – put them on and some button you accidently press kills the thing or changes the settings. Avoid this piece of junk

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hello JohnDon, We apologize for that inconvenience. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Simple and effective

NW-WS623 27/09/2017 by Andi_E (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these earphones for running and working out. They sit very well in my ears and are comfortable. I wore them on 1+ hour runs and didn't have any issues. The build quality is excellent. The audio quality is decent for the size (not very much base but very clear and loud enough). Battery life is very good. Very happy overall and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great for runners' use

NWWS623/B 15/08/2017 by Vincent218 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good device for running, but add more using time is much better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sound quality is good wish more sound power

NWWS623/B 10/07/2017 by musty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound quality is good wish more sound power.ıs there any way to increase sound volume more

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hello musty, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

The all-in-one device I was looking for

NW-WS623 / NW-WS625 05/07/2017 by flooo (USA)

This device fits my needs of being a Bluetooth headset but also a stand-alone music player when running without a phone. The fit is awesome and there is absolutely no bouncing or any chance they would fall out even during the hardest of sprints. The sound quality is excellent and the ambient sound mode works quite well to. When riding my bike for example, I like to hear the ambient sounds (traffic etc), while I prefer to block out ambient sounds when listening to music while working on my computer. the controls are quite well thought out. I was worried that navigating 4 GB of music without a display on the device would be impossible, but with double-clicking the prev/next-buttons too switch between folders it works quite well. (One suggestion: double-click back on first song of a folder could ALWAYS trigger switch to PREVIOUS folder, not just in the first one or two seconds. If I want to skip back to beginning of current folder, I can do that with single click back anyway while at first song...) I have not yet used them for swimming but don't think I would be using them for a proper pool workout. I might consider giving them a try for a longer, steady lake-swim but honestly - the waterproofing feature is more of an added bonus for me rather than my main focus. I did however just keep them on for the shower after a run which is pretty cool. One little improvement would be on the volume of the various beeps and voice-feedback when pressing the buttons. It is sometimes quite loud and inexplicably differs between Walkman-mode and Bluetooth mode. All in all this device is very well made and thought through. I had a couple of cheaper Bluetooth headsets before, but they always fell short in overall quality and usability and didn't offer stand-alone music playing. This device is well worth the extra investment, provided that it will stand the test of time and hold up against the daily abuse I'll be throwing at it...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

1