Skip to Content
43

4.6 based on 43 customer reviews

29
11
2
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sound quality is absolutely amazing

NW-ZX2 16/05/2016 by Ash69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the NWZX2 connected to PHA3 amp and MDR-Z7 head phones what a combo the sound quality is truly amazing when playing hi resolution audio .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Lithium Ion battery

128 GB 01/08/2015 by CryptoBaddahBingah (USA)

Since the battery cannot be replaced what do you do with this expensive device in 2yrs when the battery can not longer hold a chatge?

75

28

43 Customer Reviews

0

I've waited over fifty years for this.

NW-ZX2 26/11/2017 by Morgndalf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have loved music all my life and have spent most of my life working overseas where, initially, radio or cassette music was my main (and only possible) interest outside work. Now I am retired I can indulge myself by listening to music whenever I want but since I got my ZX2, I indulge myself by listening whenever I can. I shut my eyes and it is almost like being in the same room with whoever I am listening to. I wish I had had something like this years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this daily companion, but need improvement!

NW-ZX2 12/11/2017 by koijan (USA)

I do love this little guy, it goes wherever I go. The performance is great, one charge can last for a couple of weeks if you turns off most of the connections. The overall quality is superb, no doubt it has the top design and hardware. The only complaint is that SONY has stopped improve its inside and it needs tons of work! 1- the player do needs an update, it can't update the covers correctly, no wireless transfer mode, lack of sort method(it would be convenient if it has Artist+Album) 2- I want a remote mode, so I can control the music on my cell phone without taking it out. 3- they never update the system to better help with the battery management.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

5-Stars if there was an Android OS Update

NW-ZX2 24/10/2017 by DisgruntledUser (USA)

Slow response and small issues keep this beautiful portable from achieving 5-stars in its price class. Lack of support, no firmware updates and no OS updates have been released. The other thing that takes this down a peg is the lack of SONY customer service. I even talked with the reps at CES and they would get back to me. Crickets. So, the old Android OS of 4.0 something is what owners are stuck with as is the firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Walkman player I ever had

128 GB 17/10/2017 by Ditto46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the solid construction of the player. Once paired with a good set of earphones, becomes sound nirvana. It has motivated me to go for longer walks to enjoy the music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The portable music player that money can buy

NW-ZX2 27/06/2016 by rockingdoc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spend a lot of my time listening to portable headphone systems. Previously have always used iPods as my digital source, but have always found the need for an external DAC and amp to get truly good sound. To this end I have used the ipod digital output into a Chord Hugo or Sony PHA-2. I use many different headphones, but my favourites on the move are Sony SE846s. I wanted to improve on the ipods' storage limits and poor functionality for HD playback, and to see if I could get back to a "one box" player. I was very wary about spending so much on the ZX-2, but it is still a lot cheaper than the hideous Astell & Kern. After a month with the ZX-2, I am completely delighted. The build quality is superb. Loads of power to drive any phones, although I still prefer the easy load Shure SE846 to my Sennheiser 800s. Transfering the music files from an Apple Macbook couldn't have been easier. My first experience with an Android device, but experienced no problems with Spotify. Pros; Great battery life, fantastic sound quality even on non-HD files, handles all file formats well, robust build. Extra storage using 128Gb micro SD cards works well. Nice leather case. Cons; Quite slow to boot up when changing between SD cards. Needs an accessory lead (which I had to order from Japan) to use with an external DAC. Expensive. Should come with a screen protector.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

9

0

Amazing sound quality

NW-ZX2 25/06/2016 by Wonka1962 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I am amazed at the quality. Not just the sound quality, but the build quality. You may ask why is it so expensive. Well, you have to see one of these and then you will realise that Sony didn't cut costs in it's manufacture or development. It really is a remarkable piece of hardware and I could recommend anyone to at least have a listen and be amazed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Sound quality is absolutely amazing

NW-ZX2 16/05/2016 by Ash69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the NWZX2 connected to PHA3 amp and MDR-Z7 head phones what a combo the sound quality is truly amazing when playing hi resolution audio .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Solid product

NW-ZX2 25/03/2016 by Fredspoons (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant product but I cannot seem to get the right set of headphones to accentuate the perfect sound. I am using a pair of Samsung free, white in ear until such times I can find over the ear type headphones!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

23

0

Easy to use

NW-ZX2 24/03/2016 by maggiewo26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my Sony Walkman NW-ZX2..There is an mazing amount of space ans |I also bought micro card with a further 128gb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great+++

NW-ZX2 18/03/2016 by livy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for 2 weeks, use mostly as part of my in car set up - the sound quality is amazing - can't fault product. Bit expensive, however you pay for what you get and then some........ no cons at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

At last - a replacement for my iPod Classic

NW-ZX2 26/12/2015 by mattyw88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with my ZX2. Sound quality is superb and I have had no problem driving any of my headphones. With the addition of a 200Gb micro sd card I have enough storage for my portable needs. Whilst out I use high rate mp3’s on the device but at home I use dlna to stream FLAC files from my server. If away for any length of time I take my music library with me, stored on a portable wifi enabled hard drive with built in media server. The Sony music app on the ZX2 is different from the one shipped with Sony phones and is much better. However it does not display album art correctly but because its Android I can use any Android media player and after extensive testing I use Gonemad media player. This has no problem with album art, has a great user interface and sound quality is excellent. Battery life is excellent as long as you keep wifi turned off when not using it. Overall an excellent Walkman which only needs the album art problem fixing and ideally a newer version of Android.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

0

Sony HiRes Walkman

NW-ZX2 16/12/2015 by equaliser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well built and solid construction. Tiny chip on upper right of screen Easy to use but a shame not the android version 5 operating system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Top Notch Product.

NW-ZX2 05/10/2015 by Filth (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic product. Great build and design. The sound coming out of this device is surreal. Only had one issue with play, forward and rewind buttons not responding. Had to factory reset the device and stop additional android apps from installing. That problem hasn't returned yet thankfully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Sony Zx2

NW-ZX2 04/10/2015 by Steven2907 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a short time ago and have added some Z7 headphones, it's brilliant. I can't remember the last time I listened to a full cd album, but with the zx2 I Am listening and hearing so much more, it's like my music is all new again. Will be investing in the pha3 as soon as I've saved the £££

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

The soundtrack to my day has never sounded better!

NW-ZX2 20/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm truly loving the new Sony NW-ZX2 I've only had it a couple of weeks and already I've listened to over 226hrs of music, the soundtrack to my day has never sounded better! I honestly can't fault this fantastic bit of kit, after the 100hr run in time (yes it has high end capacitors which need a 100hrs to settle in) this thing rocks. All my music has now found a new lease of life and Hi Res Audio tracks sound just amazing. I've compared tracks on my iPhone 6 Plus vs. the NW-ZX2 and the iPhone sounds as if it's underwater, Sony have truly nailed the portable audio market again. I just hope people try out Sony's new Hi Res audio players and hear what they are missing out on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

2

0

ZX2

NW-ZX2 11/09/2015 by Den80y (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's big It's heavy it also cut's the volume if you listen on headphones at a high lvl or even playing through car audio port through the earphone port on player it suddenly cut the vol to almost zero last thing I need when driving is to look for the player to turn it back up I looked on line and found a port adaptor which uses the charging port to play the audio rather than using earphone port The volume is at a set lvl and never get cut down> It's shame that Sony don't supply this lead or even tell you about it. To be honest my old ZX1 pumps out better sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

4

0

What an amazing difference to sound quality!

NW-ZX2 11/09/2015 by Weasel1763 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently moved to listening digital music files on the NW-ZX2 and after a few months of using this wonderful little player, It's ticked all the boxes - it's a high quality product dedicated to playing music at the quality (now that I realise the difference) I should be listening to. Compared the quality of sound between old player and this new player, and it's a no brainer for people who love to listen to music as much as I do. The build quality is superb and looks as if it will last for ever. - Can't praise this enough at the moment as music is sounding so crisp and I am actually hearing more musical content then I have ever heard with a mp3 player of old.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

It is great!

nwzx2 15/08/2015 by LinS (USA)

I just bought it and so far it works perfectly! Expansive but worth every penny!!!!! Only one question: Does it support a 128g sdxc card?

3

18

0

Best Hires Player on the market, one major fault

nwzx2 11/08/2015 by rhandmj (USA)

This is without a doubt the best sounding hires audio player on the market. True DSD, outstanding hires PCM, analog volume control, built like a tank - beautiful build, and the now obsolete android version is no real issue. BUT - the firmware for the player - which sounds significantly better than the Onkyo hires player or others available on android - seriously needs to be upgraded to allow easy tagging of album art from containing files. This may be a minor issue, but I find it does seriously detract from the esthetic and functionality at the premium price the player warrants. The firmware needs to be upgraded soon.

2

13

0

128 GB Walkman Hi-Res Digital Music Player

128 GB 10/08/2015 by Dustkres (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounded great with headphones. I was interested in using the USB to plug in a digital signal to car audio. USB is for data transfer only. If they changed that so I could USB to my car audio I would give it five stars. For know I give it 3. The Bluetooth was great at times and other times it wasn't good and I would have to delete device and re-connect it.

7

27

Response From Sony Support
13/08/2015

Hello Dustkres! Thank you for sharing this feedback with us regarding the USB capabilities, we will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for future reference.

0

Lithium Ion battery

128 GB 01/08/2015 by CryptoBaddahBingah (USA)

Since the battery cannot be replaced what do you do with this expensive device in 2yrs when the battery can not longer hold a chatge?

75

28

Response From SonySupport
06/08/2015

Hi CryptoBaddahBingah, thank you for taking the time to post your question. When usable battery life becomes half the usual time or can't hold a charge, even after you charge the battery fully, the battery should be replaced. You need to send your product to a Sony facility to be repaired visit our eService website at eservice.sony.com.

0

Like It!!! But ...

128 GB 30/07/2015 by SJMc (USA)

My review of the new Walkman: Like - sound quality (wonderful!!!), storage (128GB base storage, 128GB SD card), looks (sleek), Android (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, apps). Areas to Improve - battery life (getting 4 hrs. per charge), user interface (takes time to create playlists when lots of songs stored), MediaGo (limited functionality related to creating music and playlists and not yet updated for new Walkman), design (heavy and runs hot). Overall - you should definitely buy one if you like high-quality music and lots of it!!!

10

7

Response From SonySupport
02/08/2015

Hi SJMc,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

Superb sound and features

NW-ZX2 24/07/2015 by littledoggie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

just getting my head round all the features and settings etc. very impressed all round with the sound and build quality and the external buttons are a bonus and downloading and playing tracks are very straightforward.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Sony NW-ZX2

NW-ZX2 23/07/2015 by c00kedup (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just awesome, so much more than an ipod or phone can give!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

GOOD QUALITY

128 GB 20/07/2015 by Alex911 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE MUSCI IS VERY GOOD, BUT IT IS OVER CHARGE. THE MACHINE HAS A AMAZING BLACK CLOTH. BEFORE YOU ENJOY YOUR MUSIC, TWO THING YOU SHOULD TO PREPARE 1, HIFI EARPHONE 2, A GOOD WEBSITE, YOU CAN DOWLOARD FLAC FILE. (OTHER FILE HAS NOT BIG DIFFERERNT SUCH AS MP3,WMV....)

9

10

0

Real audio......finally!

128 GB 27/06/2015 by Indwee (USA)

I love my new Walkman. I have had it almost a month now and it easily swaps from my whole house via Sonos, to my headphones, to my car stereo via Bluetooth. The sound quality is simply amazing, and I spend a lot of time listening to old tracks and marveling at the detail (FLAC) that I can hear now. Thank you Sony for allowing me to finally get rid of that old MP3 player and all its limitations. Now integrate it with the PS4 and Nirvana will be achieved!

9

8

0

Sound A - Interface B

128 GB 26/06/2015 by smodking (USA)

With high end headphones and high quality recordings, you won't be disappointed. So, no $50 earbuds/phones and no mp3's and this player will shine. Like an orchestra, one bad player makes the entire performance bad. One poor quality component in the chain between the player and your ears will degrade the sound. It's only going to be as good as the weakest link. The interface could use "Now Playing" on the lock screen. Currently you have to unlock and go into the device to see what is playing. This interface should be like any Apple or Android phone. If you do want to play mp3's from Google or other sources, I find they "stutter", that is they stop playing for a split second or "skip". No, not streaming the music, but already have it downloaded locally. I suspect a software issue. Less bloat wear on the device. Drum roll: More than 128GB system storage. This is a high rez player. File sizes are BIG. If you have CD quality (yes, not high rez) you can only fit about 150 CD's on the device. Now, lets talk DSD files for a moment - you may get about 50 albums on the device using DSD 2.8. In between CD and DSD 5.6 there are many resolutions which all take considerable disk space. 96K/24 - 192K/24 etc. This device should be sold either with 500GB system storage and use microSD cards or have the ability to use standard SD cards which can reach 512GB and sell it as it is today with 128GB! So, the base player with 126GB and if allowing the use of standard SD cards, you'd have a heck of a player that could carry most customers entire collections. Maybe the next revision will have increased storage. Currently my entire library is 550GB, so I can't take it all with me unless I buy about 4 128GB microSD cards and swap them in and out.

8

7

0

128 GB 10/06/2015 by jg007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good music player, if you are into just having a DAP with high quality sound. I would have given 5 stars but Sony needs to do a little better. The screen display is terrible if you are outside on a sunny day, (cannot even see the screen ) For a product costing more than a thousand, you have to do better with the screen Sony.

4

7

Response From SonySupport
13/06/2015

Hi jg007,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

Even better than you can imagine!!!

128 GB 27/05/2015 by CrescentMoon (USA)

It was love at firs sight with this device the first time I played with it a CES in January.. The Build is beautiful .. It feels like a classic Leica camera! I am an Apple evangelist .. But love SONY equipment,,, This unit is the only audio player you will use ...even if you have an iphone 6. It is very easy to load to from your Mac Book Pro .. I am currently using it along with the SONY MDR27 Headphones and SONY PH3 PreAmp.. It is Stellar!! A trip to the West Coast is dramatically improved with a first class seat and Sinatra at 192khz/24bit. Amazing! It's an expensive portable .. but if you love music.. THIS IS IT!!

5

7

Response From Sony Support
27/05/2015

Hi CrescentMoon, We appreciate you posting your review on this unit, this will be helpful to other customers. We're glad you love it, thank you for choosing Sony.

0

Incredible sound quality

NW-ZX2 22/05/2015 by ralledmot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a week ago and I am very pleased with it. The sound quality is excellent. I can hear things on familiar albums that I have never heard before. You can hear all of the instruments separately and at the same time, if that makes sense? The wide frequency response allows you to hear and feel the lowest bellowing sounds of a bass guitar and the satisfying thud of the deepest bass drum. The midrange and treble are equally spectacular. I particularly love the crispness of the hi hat I hear on certain songs. Sometimes songs have a 3D quality to them and instruments seem to float in the air. The sound makes you aware of all the production effects/techniques of a piece of music. The instruments seem to breath as you can the reverb/echo so clearly. The sound quality is like that of a expensive hi fi valve amplifier. I love it! It is the best Walkman I have ever heard including my beloved Walkman Professional that I have had now for more than 30 years (still works perfectly)! Well done Sony, I love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

love sony walkmans

nwzx2 18/05/2015 by sonynut88 (USA)

i am a sony walkman junkie i have owned a cassette walkman 4 cd walkmans 3 i dropped and was my bad they don't work still own the 4th one though and love it still and an mp3 player that i still use daily walking to work i also own a sony 60in smart tv ps3 with 250 sum odd games and a ps4 but i am wanting to buy the zx2 but am hit with over a thousand dollar price tag why is this priced so high the specs look incredible but still over a grand for a walkman i want to know why please answer like i said im a walkman and sony junkie but i can't see spending that much on an mp3 player

1

10

0

Best Music Player

NW-ZX2 08/05/2015 by noka (United Kingdom)

Fantastic music experience, although is a bit too bulky

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sound!

NW-ZX2 04/05/2015 by Ujidweller (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this ZX2 as "consumer therapy", andI am very, very glad that I did. True, the price is eyebrow-raisingly high, but I never heard sound like this before from my other portable players. However I set the options, with ClearAudio+ or other features, this Walkman is simply excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

7

0

How Can This Be?

128 GB 25/04/2015 by HoosierGolfer (USA)

I love the player.....but two complaints stop me from giving it five stars. There has to be an easier way to implement album art cover. Also a device with this price tag....shouldn't there be a sleep option? Hope this can be addressed in firm are updates!

12

9

Response From Sony Support
28/04/2015

Hi HoosierGolfer, we're sorry to hear that this unit didn't meet expectations. Let me forward your feedback to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

Response From Sony Support
28/04/2015

Hello HoosierGolfer! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will forward this information to the proper department for future reference.

0

Excellence

128 GB 23/04/2015 by RetroZelda (USA)

This device is amazing. The sounds quality is far beyond that of any other portable music devices i have used thus far. There are a few nit-picky problems i have had, but nothing too drastic. For starters, using what appears to be a proprietary port for the usb cable feels frail and I am afraid that i may accidentally break it while trying to plug it in, but once its plugged in it does feel sturdy. I would have liked to see a micro usb port, like most other handheld android devices, but the battery life and the ability to sync my music library with media monkey over wifi makes the usage of the cable minimum. The choice of android 4.2.2 fits the feel of the device. The device is heavy and the screen has a similar feel to early android "economy" devices. The OS does have all the google apps, including the play store, so you can get other music apps like spotify, google music, etc. As nice as it is to have all the google apps, I see having ones like Maps, games, etc a waste of space on the device. If issues like that are important to you, then this isnt a device for you. After all, this is a music player and not a smart phone. But overall, I highly recommend this device for any audiophile looking for a portable solution for high quality audio.

8

7

Response From Sony Support
24/04/2015

Hi RetroZelda, Thanks for posting your comment. We appreciate your feedback and thanks for choosing Sony.

0

WalkPhone

128 GB 23/04/2015 by ShoopaWalk (USA)

If this has phone capability. I will jump ship without any hesitations from iPhone. And I've had iPhone since 2007. No, I'm not a Sony fanboy nor being paid by them. You need to consider this.

6

16

0

built like a tank

nwzx2 23/04/2015 by hermank (USA)

great unit. astounding sound quality after an ipod classic. not sure why they did not put a window in the leather pouch as one cannot see cover art OR see/use the touch screen. cannot figure out how to change genre of a mis-labeled album. perhaps i have to use the ripping software for that.

1

6

Response From SonySupport
25/04/2015

Hi hermank,
We're really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your Walkman! Thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Superb!

128 GB 14/04/2015 by ScrapplefromtheApple (USA)

I've not been this excited about a Sony product since the Walkman Mini CD player. I paired the Sony unit with Bowers & Wilkins P7 headphones and I am rediscovering all of my favorite music of the past 40 years. I am hearing voices, instruments, accents, attacks, etc., that I'd not heard before. For me this has been well worth the price. I would recommend it to all serious music lovers.

7

9

Response From Sony Support
15/04/2015

Hi ScrapplefromtheApple, its good to know that you're pleased with your purchase. We thank you for choosing Sony, enjoy! Regards,

0

Cool! BUT

128 GB 09/04/2015 by Siey (USA)

This is such an Great device! Sony you really should lower the price of this thing, so that everyone can enjoy what I have!

6

17

Response From SonySupport
12/04/2015

Hi Siey,
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said onto proper department. Thank you for choosing Sony.

0

amazing sound quality

NW-ZX2 28/03/2015 by Mike Chan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Goood: extremely good sound quality, solid design, dedicated button. Bad: low res screen, the os is a bit old. The sound quality is absolute amazing but you need a good earphone to go with it. The zx2 walkman is a bit expensive but I think is worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

2

0

Outstanding mp3

NW-ZX2 28/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This latest MP3 from Sony produces a really outstanding sound not experienced on any other player. My own musical preference is for orchestral music and the clarity and sense of separation in the orchestral sections is, at times, outstanding. It seems the particular strength of this MP3 may well be in the lower sound range where a wonderful sense of clearness of tone is commonly heard. Conversely high string sound can be prone to distortion though this may be due to the quality of the original recording. One particular feature I really enjoy is the way all parts of the orchestra, depending on the recording, are beautifully separated realising a great listening experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

4

0

Superlative Music on the Go!

NW-ZX2 20/03/2015 by Lochinvar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully presented packaging , the device itself albeit, bulky, is of impeccable build quality and beautiful design. I purchased this music player primarily to listen to music with great clarity and sharp resolution and this it does admirably well. In order, to do ZX2 justice you will need to use high quality headphones/ in ear phones to achieve this and the result is truly admirable. The product is loaded with many features which I would probably not use as I only purchased the ZX2 for sheer music quality. So not having the latest android OS is not especially important to me. The screen quality is very good and my general overall assessment of this product is excellent. My only criticism in an otherwise remarkable piece of technology incorporated in Sony's new Walkman is the price! . Does it justify the hefty price tag, well that is moot point!. I also possess an iPod Nano and really their is no comparison to me made as the Sony is infinitely superior.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

5

0

Wonderful Sound!

nwzx2 10/03/2015 by Oxnyx (USA)

I have at time of writing own a NW-ZX2 for about a week. My intent in buying the Walkman was to use it to play my rather large collection of Audible books rather then Hi-Res music. Given I own over a 1000 books I seem to have very few choices of devices now that iPod classic has been discontinued if I didn't want to stream my data over Cell. I have been running the Walkman with Shure 425. Charge holds me for about 14 hours with screen mostly off and on low brightness and the WiFi on about 20% of the time. I do own about 2.5 Gigs of mp3s and when I got the Walkman I went back to my CDs and re-ripped them into AIFF. Setup: Getting the Walkman itself setup was easy. I added Audible app and Plex but otherwise didn't install anything from the Google Play store. Getting the SD card in was a minor pain because the cover shows the direction to insert the card but it rotates you need to be sure the writing is the correct way up. Another limitation is that (this could be Jellybean) that you can mount the System Storage or the SD Card but not both at the same time. ->On the Walkman while connected bring down the top menu and select USB settings to flip between them. If this isn't a Jellybean limitation then I would hope Sony can fix this. Music - I put on the ClearAudio function and found I was really surprised at how clearly I felt the stereo on some of my tracks from Anime. The Music I had gone to the trouble to re-rip sounded markedly clearer. I could in ByeBye Birdie clearly hear both the male and female choirs in "Normal American Boy" . And playing with the sound stages - it is interesting after beening on a "Fruit Player" for about 10 years how much I still missed that from my Creative days. Audible works fine. The issues I have with it are more to do with their application rather then this hardware. Actually Device - I find the button placement a tad odd. I tend to hold the Walkman in my right hand and then try to go from there. The issue is that the buttons are designed to operated with the your left hand. Summary: It sounds much better then anything I have used in a long time. While it's heavier & larger then a "Fruit player" it fits in my pockets and feels worth something. I wish Sony would make Media Go a bit smart for syncing and make it so both the sd card and system storage where mountable at the same time. Give the price tag a wall charge would been a welcome addition to the package.

8

7

Response From Sony Support
14/03/2015

Hi Oxnyx, we are glad to hear that you are pleased with your purchase! Your feedback is also appreciated and will be forwarded to the proper department. Thank you for your time! Regards,