Skip to Content
VIDEO WALKMAN

Product Reviews

Starting at

$64.99

249

3.9 based on 249 customer reviews

104
84
21
13
27
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

simple good product

4 GB 04/05/2014 by missey (USA)

This is my second Sony Walkman purchase & I'm happy with my purchase. The only slight drawback is the on/off feature. Little cumbersome to press firmly to turn on/off. Not crazy about that. I was only interested in 4GB & I feel it's being discontinued for newer models ($$$$) to compete w/ that other big name product out on market. Lucky to find it. Easy to load my music and plays quite well. Use only when I travel, especially on airplanes. Just make sure u get good headphones to get the best sound.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good BUT in comparison to the last model, horrible

16 GB 30/12/2013 by jfuqua11 (USA)

I have had the NWZ-S764 and then went to the NWZ-E475 (got dammaged in a shipwreck :( ) Then I got this one, the NWZ-E385. The biggest disappointments are only 3 things but 2 of them make my life stressed. The first which I can live with is the volume up and down went from having dedicated buttons on the side to being integrated with the D-pad, okay so I can live with it. But the hold went from a dedicated switch on the side to holding down the option button. Every time I want to get in my car and go, I try to play my music but after some time the stupid thing automatically goes on hold and you have to hold the stupid options button. Every time I want to use my player this happens, in prior models it would only go into standby and you could just push the play button and be on your way, but now I just wish I had my old one still working :'( the last thing that is bad is they took off the bookmark, I have so many songs that I have never heard all of them but when I hear a good one I liked the option before that you can add it to your bookmark. Also you could create different play lists so you could listen to music that you like for the car or the boat or when your happy or sad. but now you have to take all the songs and put them in a folder on your computer and have multiple copies of each song which take up room.

46

0

249 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Not as good as my last 4Gb walkman

NWZ-E380 Series 10/11/2017 by bobles1 (USA)

I purchase model # NW-E393 from best buy in store with a home delivery 10/17. I replace a 4 gb walkman that had the 8 gb features. BOY ,was i disappointed. First the volume control is on the side of the device. It makes it hard to adjust when it is an arm band.Second, i cant load playlist!! It already had songs in a folder when i purchase it. I will be calling best buy hoping to return it for another one..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2017

Hi bobles1, we regret to hear what happened. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

NWZ-E384

8 GB 20/03/2017 by I have no nicknname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my walkman in 2015 charged it, loaded a number of tracks, played it for a short time then unfortunatly misplaced it for over a year, finally recovered it, recharged it, no problem, been using it periodically ever since. Most impressed with performance of the battery after such abuse, sounds great, but the supplied ear buds do not suite my ears have to use phones with over ear hooks.

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My walkman

8 GB 14/07/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago, on or two problems like some of my music on the computer, wont go on, but it may be something I am doing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great sound

8 GB 25/06/2016 by Joken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my MP3, there is one problem though, I cannot delete music, some tracks are doubled up. I have tried every way to delete to no avail! There are no instructions to delete.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Sony replacement Walkman

8 GB 30/04/2016 by Mertle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for my original Walkman which had come to light but could not be supported for Windows 10 due to its age. This is just as good but now has radio on it and I did wonder if I would be able to use the functions as I'm in my 70's and found it was easy to use. I'm so glad I decided to buy this Walkman keep up the good work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Compact with large capacity

8 GB 16/04/2016 by Spike 437 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Anniversary gift from my wife. Great product, just what I wanted!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

save your money.

8 GB 13/03/2016 by starwarsmuskrat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

really dreadful screen quality, poor controls, ok sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Excellent Value.

8 GB 09/03/2016 by catlynda (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good product which does the same job as an ipod but costs much less. On/off function a bit fiddly but that aside, no complaints. You will need to install Media Go to access music on certain systems.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

How to use it?

8 GB 26/02/2016 by Mick792 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish it came with clear and understandable instructions as to how to use it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

6

0

Great value

8 GB 26/02/2016 by Ripley4871 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great MP3. Holds lots of music and would highly recommend anyone thinking of purchasing it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features and easy to use!

8 GB 18/02/2016 by trubby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best ipod I have ever had. The Media Go that came with it is superb and adding CD's to it is easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

hard to work out

8 GB 12/02/2016 by Bill 5868 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can not work out how to download verbal stories - confusing instructions

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

Too small for giant hands!

8 GB 05/02/2016 by John159 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to enable my seriously vision impaired wife to listen to the RNIB talking Books. I was drawn to this player because it had only a few buttons and thought it might make life a little easier for her. Obviously we really need something different as the multi functioning buttons confuse her as she can't see the screen to know where she is up to. There must be a more suitable product out there - Its just that we have so much trust in Sony products and thought this would be ideal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Easy to operate

8 GB 28/01/2016 by Thenolius (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to take into hospital and wanted something simple to operate not needing much concentration it was perfect very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

multi media walkman

8 GB 28/01/2016 by tony_e (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, easy to use, would recommend, Use it for on the hoof language tapes. Linked it to a portable speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

disappointed

8 GB 24/01/2016 by barnes12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an older version the best features such as bookmark are gone you cannot swap between music lists as easy.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Brilliant sound!

4 GB 23/01/2016 by strummer77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this player for christmas and am loving the features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great size and functions

8 GB 22/01/2016 by stollerf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present as a MP3 player that I wanted for Christmas. I great product has been chosen and met all my needs. Totally recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great little Walkman

8 GB 18/01/2016 by Pupson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use my Walman to keep me going at the gym. It's light weight and has great features including a radio. The hold function is very useful to avoid inadvertently changing songs while either using weights machines or boxing. Unfortunately I find the supplied software is not as good as others I have used, specifically synchronising imported playlists, but I'm still new to the Walkman and I'm sure it will all workout with more use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A Great Product

8 GB 17/01/2016 by Spud34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this Sony device for Christmas and it's a great little MP3. Full of features and very easy to use, does all I need and more

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good purchase

8 GB 14/01/2016 by wagger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use,software very good,music transfer very easy,if the wife can use it anybody can

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Featurs

8 GB 12/01/2016 by Rodders117 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The wife bought one and within two days I had purchased one also The resume feature is just what I was looking for when listening to my audio books

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

MP3 player for use in car

8 GB 12/01/2016 by Juggler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have gone "modern" and bought an MP3 player for my car, which I link to the in car CD player/radio. Initial thoughts are it works well although the controls can be fiddly at times (I think Apple wins here, dare I say). Turning the player off needs looking at - it could be simpler. Also, deleting a track seems (at the moment) impossible, but give me time . . .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good player

8 GB 11/01/2016 by Flavilla (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This being my first mp3 player, and being a senior citizen, I am still getting used to it and have much to explore. So far, I love everything about it and have no complaints. I particularly like the size and style of it and the ease with which I can put my albums and songs on using windows media player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

perfect for my needs

8 GB 10/01/2016 by kamusic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaces my first generation iPod for my car. Easier to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sony mutimedia walkman

8 GB 10/01/2016 by den44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sound.easy to use. Don`t like the ear pads.a bit more thought should of went into the ear pads.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

stylish well finished and easy to use

8 GB 08/01/2016 by Baldy 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A Christmas present well received and now part of my everyday

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use for music/radio

8 GB 07/01/2016 by rastus mouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

christmas present that I was very pleased to receive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony walkman

4 GB 06/01/2016 by Shellhelen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with the Sony walkman it's much easer putting songs on. It's like my old Sony Walkman but the new one much better. With many thanks

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

8 GB 06/01/2016 by Nutty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a Xmas present for my wife its so easy to put music on by drag and drop as opposed to I tunes with apple. Menu screen and playing music so easy. Definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

8 GB 05/01/2016 by Snowy 670 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a Xmas present for my wife who wanted her own choice of music while travelling. Does this very well was easy to load the albums she wanted giving excellent sound using earphones supplied. Instructions are easy to follow once downloaded onto my computer . Would recommend it to anyone wanting a simple to use device.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features and easy to use

8 GB 04/01/2016 by MichaelEvs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value, very easy to use and full of great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound , easy to use

8 GB 04/01/2016 by Disrobot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for me for Xmas ,like sound like radio, a quality item except for headphones, so bought separate comfortable good sounding ones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

so easy to use

8 GB 04/01/2016 by hen b (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got as xmas present ,so easy to set up and use great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it.

8 GB 21/12/2015 by shuana (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Walkman is so much better than my old Walkman.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Bright

8 GB 08/12/2015 by lancashirelad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using a cheaper type of system and having it break down twice - (each time a new unit was supplied ) I decided a better model was needed, am I glad I did. Brighter,more memory, easy to use and better sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

8 GB 08/12/2015 by gronm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the way that albums are stored and that it is so easy to find what I am looking for

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight and good for sports.

8 GB 04/12/2015 by Aggakris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the product few weeks ago to use when running. It is lightweight and easy to use. The only negative point; it can be hard sometimes to change channels when wearing gloves when running in the cold.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sony multimedia walkman nwz-e384

8 GB 21/11/2015 by patricia3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never owned a walkman before. Very pleased with this one. Can listen to my favourite music without worrying about wifi. Waiting for an audio book from the library and hoping that will be as easy as the music to copy onto this device. Seems to be good on line backup with Sony but as yet havent had cause to contact them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to transfer music to Sony Walkman

8 GB 21/11/2015 by Madaunt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this mp3 Walkman for my 8 year old nephew as getting into music, however, very disappointed with this product, wish I had bought similar product with an Internet connection.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Little gadget, big memory

8 GB 05/11/2015 by Whizper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once downloaded Media Go software it was really easy to drag and drop the contents of my music library straight to the walkman. Home button allows you to arrange the tracks by artist, album, whatever order you like. Compact, lightweight model, smaller than a mobile phone, great to slip in your pocket.Battery has a good life before needing a recharge. Recommend it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony walkman

8 GB 23/10/2015 by Brue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Smart little gadget & so easy to use. A good travelling companion.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little device

8 GB 14/10/2015 by staceyp78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my young son to listen to audio books, its very easy to upload content, its very easy to use, very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I cannot use this,

8 GB 12/10/2015 by NNAAA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a waste of money, the instructions are not clear and are of no help whats ever. I am sorry I bought this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Reasonable MP3

8 GB 10/10/2015 by Paddy M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this item a month now and am reasonably content with it. I say "reasonably" because I would have liked more for my money. I had fo purchase a better set of earphones and I would have liked the Bluetooth facility so that I might play content on the car sound system. Although I find the "operating system" a bit "clunky", I am getting used to it. The quality of sound is fairly good, but I think the radio facility could have a bit more "sensitivity" to allow me to tune into more stations - I only seem able to pick up the stronger signals. Overall, I would say that if you have the cash then go for a better model. This player suits me fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best Mp3 player on the planet

8 GB 06/10/2015 by snowman2k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It works simple as that, you want to drag and drop audio files onto your mp3 player, you need this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than the Ipod etc.

8 GB 06/10/2015 by abc1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was bought this as a present and replacement for my aging Ipod. I have to say that it has a far clearer sound and better repoduction alleound than the ipod, although to be fair, the ipod was 10 years old!! The only niggle that I have is that although it pairs perfectly with my Honda Jazz onboard system, it does not display song/ album titles...other than that I cannot fault it for ease of use, quality etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

8 GB 05/10/2015 by joboxer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Very poor after market service expected better.Also poor headphones

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

so easy to set up!!

8 GB 05/10/2015 by Gilly45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received the Walkman as a birthday present an found it easy to download my music etc only thing I would say Is that it didn't indicate very well in the instructions how to increase the volume level but other than that I love it it's a smart little item and very light fits easily into my pocket and away I go.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No

8 GB 05/10/2015 by Oliver24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this item 2 weeks ago and still can't get music on to it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Sony Multiplay Walkman

8 GB 05/10/2015 by kinn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with sound quality but turning off to save battery fiddly and hit and miss. Never too sure how I managed to turn off. Storage good for what I need also abilituyto listen to album or shuffle.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Regret buying this

8 GB 15/09/2015 by Poolman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 months ago and still unable to get music on to it. This is not my first unit I have owned but it is the first Sony and my last.

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

easy to use & good sound

8 GB 14/09/2015 by tcd56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a month ago for going on holiday could not have made a better choice easy to use &great sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

disappointing !

8 GB 13/09/2015 by paulw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 3 weeks ago, storage is less than I had been advised as the guidelines for CD's per GB are inaccurate. Screen too small and controls not really user friendly. Earphones very poor. Search procedure on the player is lengthy and too sensitive to the touch. If I could take this back I would have done but the poor features only became evident after I had up loaded music

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3