Skip to Content
WATERPROOF WALKMAN

Product Reviews

$99.99

201

3.7 based on 201 customer reviews

74
58
28
12
29
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Love the Sports MP3 Player!

4 GB 06/01/2015 by Hopewell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is wonderful! I use it when swimming laps and it helps pass the time and keep me motivated. The different sized ear buds help one get the best fit to ensure water stays out and sound quality is clear. Loved this player so much that I purchased another as a gift for my sister. The only problem I had was when the player wouldn't charge. However, after accessing the Sony website I was able to troubleshoot the problem. Highly recommend this product to anyone who wants to listen to music while working out, running or swimming!

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A good product but it went dead suddenly

4 GB 02/01/2015 by pandayperak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was fine until it just quit in the middle of one of my swim laps. I thought it was in need of a charge but charging didn't help. It just went dead. What I need now is a way to fix it!

9

0

201 Customer Reviews

0

Only the good die young

NWZ-W273S 01/12/2017 by Mr Charlie (USA)

I enjoyed the walkman for two years and then the right speaker died.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/12/2017

Hello Mr Charlie, we apologize for the inconvenience. You may try to troubleshoot the unit with the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966

If the issue persists, you may check it with our authorized servicer. You can locate the nearest to you at this link: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

Very durable and high quality

NWZ-W273S 07/11/2017  (USA)

I have mine since 2011. It keeps working perfectly. Excellent sound quality, very durable battery and easy to use. I strongly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A device with lots of issues

NWZ-W273S 26/10/2017 by Iphdrinc (USA)

Volume issues, resets, lack of responsive controls, do a web search, it affects multiple users. Not trivial to update firmware to 1.1

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/10/2017

Hi Iphdrinc, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

when it works it is really nice, when not...

NWZ-W273S 09/10/2017 by Deutschlango (USA)

I have a lot of troubles to charge it and to load the music. I am using a MAC and I have to reset it overtime I want new music. It seems that It does not charge directly to an usb source, it has to be connected to the computer. It works fine underwater, but it is really frustrating that I never know if it is going to work again

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi Deutschlango, we are sorry for the inconvenience. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Good walkman but has now many technical problems!

NWZ-W273S 04/10/2017 by Jalil (USA)

Hello I bought it and used it nicely for 2 years and it was working fine Now the problem is that for no special reason the volume goes down automatically and the only way to hear music is to KEEP the finger on the UP VOLUME button ! I hope to find a solution or that Sony provides a solution

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Difficulty putting music on them

NWZ-W273S 25/09/2017 by porters222 (USA)

The headphones are saying "no data" when I put songs from Apple/iTunes on them, when I put songs from CDs on them, etc. What type of music files does it take??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi, porters222, Make sure you are transferring music to the [Music] folder of your Walkman. The supported formats are listed here: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/portable/NWZW273_guide/en/contents/07/01/01/01.html. Regards, Vincent

0

Will not last more than a Year

NWZ-W273S 14/09/2017 by fredtami (USA)

Bought these from Best buy and they have been nothing but problems, now they wont charge.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/09/2017

Hello, fredtami, We're sorry to hear that this unit won't charge anymore. Please let us help you regarding this concern. You may perform the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below:
http://docs.esupport.sony.com/portable/NWZW273_guide/en/contents/01/03/02/02.html?search=charge.
Regards, _Bob

0

Frustrating to use

NWZ-W273S 15/08/2017 by Roykey (USA)

The buttons are so tiny, and need pushing in hard with nails. Despite hours spent trying to follow the manual, I cannot get the sound to a suitable level. The volume button seems to have no effect. Controls are not well designed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2017

Hi Roykey, thank you for taking the time in writing us an honest feedback. We'll make sure that our design team is well aware of this for possible changes and improvements, especially with the controls. Best regards.

0

Always take it with me when I go swimming

NWZ-W273S 08/07/2017 by johnsonlee (USA)

Love the product, hope that it comes with radio functions

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome to own

4 GB 15/05/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I started swimming last year to train for my first triathlon and it was fun, and this year I started to train so I can get better at swimming but sometimes the training can be boring so when I got these headphones it was just awesome. I am not bored while swimming any more. I am enjoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT

4 GB 01/04/2017 by MGRINNELL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT PRODUCT! easy to use, customer service was great when I needed to order a replacement part

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broken after few usages

4 GB 30/03/2017 by SonyReviewer9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The left speaker doesn't produce any sound after few usages.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

6

0

Swimmingly good sound!

4 GB 15/08/2016 by megamusic13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a present and love it!...great sound, only downside is that the controls have to be so tiny but I'm getting used to them. I use it in the gym and pool.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

beware...great if it works.....

4 GB 21/07/2016 by johnny z (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was bought this device for xmas 2014 i used it for the first time 2015 on holiday for one week it was an excellent audio companion for my break it then was not used for a few months when i tried to use it after being kept back in its box it would not be recognised by any computer,i cleaned the terminals on it which remedied this for a single day and it is now no longer 'being recognised' like many other users i have read about on the internet with the exact same issue,with no real answer from sony,offering software updates which ask you to plug item in to usb but because the device isnt recognised you cannot install the software....pointless!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

9

0

Just what you need!

4 GB 25/06/2016 by Danial96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's not like one of those light and cheap Bluetooth earphones. It fits great and the sound quality is pretty good too. Two things which could've made it better was having Bluetooth and louder music. ( it's loud enough but not extremely loud, the way I prefer) I haven't used it for swimming but I have for cycling and which in the shower! Good purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Nice product

4 GB 25/05/2016 by Matanw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All good except for the volume and it's not super comfortable

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great product

4 GB 20/05/2016 by Fatemen40 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and comfortable to wear. Used it on a 10k run with no issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Super Water Earphones.

NWZ-W274S 20/05/2016 by geoff63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found it them brlliant ....I would never be with out them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Annoyed

4 GB 11/05/2016 by Oakers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cannot get it to work and neither can my teenage kids.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

6

7

0

Great sound, fiddly buttons

4 GB 25/04/2016 by Nicola1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few weeks ago and it was easy to set up. Love the sound quality and very comfortable to wear but finding the controls very tiny and a little hard to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

6

0

disappointed

4 GB 19/04/2016 by lindy lou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am rather disappointed with this product as it does not fit over my ears comfortably and therefore the earpieces do not stay in my ears. Also rather annoyed that you can only charge it via the lap top. I bought it to take on holiday where I will not have access to a lap top

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

10

0

Poor sound and no reply from customer services

4 GB 19/04/2016 by yerbski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These were purchased for me as a gift last Christmas. One ear bud has always been quieter than the other. Having reset them problem persists and has got worse if anything. I have had no response from trying to contact Sony via their website... Poor product, poor customer services so I'm left very disapointed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

7

2

0

Had Before Will Have in Future so Good

4 GB 16/04/2016 by treffor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Item is light to wear, easy to load and charge, the controls easy to use the whole unit does what it say's on the packet.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product.

4 GB 07/04/2016 by Invicta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is easy to use with no dangling wires. The sealed 'swimming' earbuds are a massive and logical improvement. It's a shame they can't be bought separately as spares/replacements.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Great design!

4 GB 09/03/2016 by Ralu Ana Maria (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice and easy to use, I simply love it! If you try it you do not want to use other product again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

All-in-all a great, small MP3 for active use.

4 GB 09/03/2016 by Sam R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these a few months ago for use in the gym and the pool. So far they have been great, the sound quality is impressive although I did buy additional ear pieces for the pool. It's easy to charge and upload with music through the adapter too. The controls take a little to get used to as with any new technology but I quickly picked it up and was using the controls with ease. The locking switch is a nice feature too so you cannot accidentally turn it on in your bag - which has happened with other devices in the past. The only real negative I've come across is that they can come off while swimming and certainly while diving. I found looping them through my goggles resolved this issue, a swimming cap could be worn for added security. All-in-all a great, small MP3 for active use. Light-weight and with a good battery to only improve the appeal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Very disappointing volume

4 GB 01/03/2016 by Roger73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are waterproof so you would expect to be able to hear them when are swimming. Presumably this is what they are designed for. Unfortunately the volume doesn't go anywhere near loud enough for me to hear them when I am swimming any stroke. Very disappointing and a bit misleading really.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

3

0

Great for using whilst swimming. Lengths ..

4 GB 27/02/2016 by Maggie moo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes the time go quicker .. I do breast stroke and don't submerge myself. Love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ok While It Lasts...

4 GB 18/02/2016 by Banjo72 (United Kingdom)

I got this as a Christmas present as I go swimming a lot so the idea of listening to music whilst I swam really appealed to me. It was easy enough to set up and the controls are simple enough. Although I found the volume a little quiet it seemed it work well for the first few weeks. But then I started experiencing problems, the volume would suddenly cut out or the shuffle deactivate. The battery life deminished to the point where I had to charge the unit after every use. Finally the volume and shuffle button stopped working completely so in total this product lasted jus a little over a month

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Great product

4 GB 15/02/2016 by Oldmanconiston (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my player 3 months ago specifically for swimming. It took until now and many miles to understand how to optimise the settings and placement to suit my 2 mph crawl style mile. initially I didn't understand the volume restriction which keeps the volume too low to hear during the swim. I reset the player and increased the volume to defeat the restricted setting. The holding strap needs to be placed over the ears and held in place by the goggle strap otherwise, on a fast turn, the ear pieces fall out. Also the ear pieces need to be angled into the ears to maximise the seal and loudness. I have complied a playlist for swimming which contains rock music, again, to maximise sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Fair View

4 GB 09/02/2016 by Cliff101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I have had no issues with performance, The earbuds are very comfortable to wear for long periods, Volume is perfect, who wants to go deaf from their music anyhow.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

User friendly. Amazing slung quality

4 GB 04/02/2016 by Pkummar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just a wk of in use and am addicted to it. Can't go out without headphones on. Don't feel once you fit on. Wish if it could have better earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

good sound, but controls are awkward

4 GB 01/02/2016 by indivi84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the walkman is great in terms of sound, and putting music onto it from the computer is pretty easy. Switching the walkman on is also fine. Trying to get to a specific soundtrack you like is pretty much impossible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Excellent; Value for Money!

4 GB 27/01/2016 by sez920167 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to use during swimming and fitness. Great product, easy to use, easy to wear and easy to charge. Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Glad I bought this!

4 GB 24/01/2016 by Sheila66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought it might be difficult to set up the walkman as I am a bit of a technophobe but it proved to be very straightforward. I tested out using the walkman at home so that I got used to using the controls before using it in the swimming pool. The sound quality is really good and it is fun to use. I do feel it would have been helpful to have all the instructions on one sheet rather than several - I would have appreciated a hard copy of the full user manual too rather than having to download it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great headphones

4 GB 23/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with them outside of the pool, as they sound excellent and are very comfortable to wear. In the pool, the sound is a bit quiet and sometimes the headphones can fall out due to the drag of the water, but with proper fitting they are excellent and have made my swimming experience significantly better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Practical and easy to use

4 GB 17/01/2016 by Lujo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have found its great for the gym but he sound quality under water is very poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to load and use

4 GB 16/01/2016 by CDevil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present to replace my ipod in gym. Great having no wires trailing and I can skip tracks or adjust volume without missing a stride. Some reviews mention volume issues but even though I have hearing loss the volume settings easily drown out the modern dross usual played over the gym's system Only down side is that there seems to be issue with scrolling between playlists. Sony helpdesk very quick to respond with solution

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works well, light and compact

4 GB 16/01/2016 by Cjholding (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a gift for Christmas so that I could listen to music when swimming. It is supplied with both waterproof and normal earbuds, once you've found the right size waterproof buds you're ready to go. After a quick "wet" run in the bath, I managed half an hour in the pool without incident. Sound was clear and loud, and was a present relief from the monotony of swimming lengths.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best present i got for xmas

4 GB 11/01/2016 by JAMIE JJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I GOT THIS FROM MY GIRLFRIEND FOR XMAS IT ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT I SWIM EVERYDAY AND IT HAS MADE SWIMMING SO MUCH BETTER

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great product

4 GB 10/01/2016 by nikkis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buying this product actually seems to have made swimming easier - I find I am now listening to the music rather than just swimming and consequently have been swimming for longer. The only downside is that I find the on/off switch a bit fiddly and on occasions, it has taken me several minutes to switch it on. In addition, even the smallest ear buds are too large but I have solved that problem by buying some flanged ones, which are a much better fit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Ideal for when i go swimming

4 GB 09/01/2016 by Carrie32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over 3 weeks ago and i was very unsure to start with of it being waterproof but having been swimming frequently since i bought them it's the best thing i have bought for a long time i do mainly back stroke so was doubly unsure if they would stay on or not but they are perfect would highly recommend them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Swimming Headphones

4 GB 06/01/2016 by Nugs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recieved this as a Christmas present and have been very happy with them, good sound quality and fit nicely

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony Waterproof Headphones

4 GB 05/01/2016 by Ian001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these at Christmas. On the positive the work fine when swimming - which was the main reason for purchase. On the downside, the controls are very difficult to use, from the on/off button to getting the device to play. The buttons are just so small, which I appreciate they have to be but they are not 100% responsive. Getting music onto device was relatively straight forward. I would recommend but be aware of shortcomings .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great features

4 GB 04/01/2016 by s4rahj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

received as a Christmas gift, as I go swimming regularly, used it find it fantastic while swimming, enjoy my swim with listening to music, plus use while walking my dog

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Help to pass the time.

4 GB 22/12/2015 by Girders1976 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I go for a gentle swim every morning for every morning and needed something to take my mind off of things. Being able to play my tunes whilst in the water is just great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best sport mp3 player

NWZ-W274S 18/12/2015 by enzod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I tried several mp3 for my running and cycling.. This is by far the most robust, it surpasses others in sound quality. I love the volume control features which stops the player playing with high volume. The older you get the more the hears start tilling without.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it!

4 GB 06/12/2015 by kakareally (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it very much. Not only for the gym, also suitable for traveling and walking. I haven't try it when I swimming, but I think it will be excelent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost a very good device

4 GB 03/12/2015 by Kevdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think the sound is good,and it holds plenty of music and has a good battery life, the software to let you add and control your music isn't too bad to use (once I had watched a online instructional video). The biggest down side is getting them to stay in your ears!!!. I have tried all the sizes of plugs, but as soon as you increase your swim pace they come out or let water in your ears. I have tried to use goggles to hold them in place, but then you goggles won't sit right. Wearing a swim cap does help a lot to hold the cable/ Walkman in place, but then you have too wear a swim cap all the time, which makes your head hot!. Almost a very good device, just needs some slight design changes and tested by a few serious swimmers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

0