Skip to Content
10

3.8 based on 10 customer reviews

5
1
2
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs update to enable Google Phone Calls feature.

LF-S50G 25/11/2017 by GoIrish (USA)

Just got it and the sound quality is quite good and pairs nicely with my Sony Android TV. However, it’s disappointing that it does not allow you to make phone calls like the Google Home & Mini. It needs an update to support Google phone calls, or might return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

10 Customer Reviews

0

Great Speaker

LF-S50G 03/12/2017 by Sacnuesom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and looks make this speaker well worth buying, and with the ability to cast music and Google Assistant built in, what more do you want

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Needs update to enable Google Phone Calls feature.

LF-S50G 25/11/2017 by GoIrish (USA)

Just got it and the sound quality is quite good and pairs nicely with my Sony Android TV. However, it’s disappointing that it does not allow you to make phone calls like the Google Home & Mini. It needs an update to support Google phone calls, or might return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/11/2017

Hi GoIrish, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

great product

LF-S50G 24/11/2017 by Tom123 (USA)

i bought the product a month ago,it is easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not what I was expecting

LF-S50G 18/11/2017  (USA)

I will preface this review by saying that my family and I currently have three of the original Google Homes that we purchased months before the Sony LF-S50G. This lacks the the functionality to make calls like the original Google Home, there was no mention that this feature would be missing prior to me purchasing it and there were no reviewers on YouTube that were able to get access to this model so I honestly did not think there would be any features missing. So along with missing the calling feature,there seem to be several bugs and I have yet receive any firmware updates (which is another reason to buy Google branded products only like the Google Pixel, these partner companies like Sony are doing a very poor job with not only Android updates but also the maintenance updates for these smart speakers) the Sony model will mute content that's being casted to my Chromecast device but yet it will say "the ability to unmute is not yet supported. The sound quality is also not what I was expecting, the original Google Home sounds better in my opinion. Guess I should have just waited on the Google Home Max. This model had so much potential with the unique design but it falls short in performance.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hello LeeWoods650, we regret that the unit failed to meet your expectations and we thank you for taking the time in writing us an honest feedback. I can assure you that your feedback will be brought to the attention of a relevant department for further improvements. Once again, thank you for your input. Best regards, _Bob

0

All around great but does needs EQ

LF-S50G 15/11/2017 by Sactownshane (USA)

This is a great but needs a EQ to fix the low bass

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Meh

LF-S50G 14/11/2017 by Adam1234 (USA)

I had high hopes for this, but it has fallen a bit short. Disconnects from internet frequently and all voice commands are unavailable when this happens, which is pretty inconvenient when using as an alarm clock, it's 5 AM, and you're trying to tell it to turn off! Am going to try in an area of our home that has stronger wifi, but a competitor's device works fine in our bedroom. It does not do 24H clock.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2017

Hi Adam1234, We are sorry to hear about what happened. Once the issue persists, you can restart the wireless speaker. You may refer to the guidelines from this link.
http://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/lfs50g/v1/en/contents/TP0001551632.html
Regards, -Jay

0

Better Than Google Home...

LF-S50G 26/10/2017 by Sunn (USA)

I have bought this a few weeks back and the product is just awesome. This is the best thing to gift someone but the price is a little bit more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Can't connect.

LF-S50G 21/10/2017 by Eric Victor (USA)

Followed the setup. Installed Google home. Can't connect. Not even on Bluetooth with a Sony phone

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2017

Hello Eric Victor, greetings and thank you for your message. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Awesome product!

LF-S50G 01/09/2017 by Firstbuyer (USA)

Bought 3 already, they all have a nice grip. Good Xmas gift

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

10