83

4.0 based on 83 customer reviews

40
20
14
4
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

What a "cracking" speaker !

LF-S50G 25/02/2018 by Lensman3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have the Amazon Echo but now wanted to try the "Google" system to run along side but the Google Home speaker I didn't like it looks one bit, so I was really pleased to see Sony had brought a rival speaker out, otherwise I would have not tried the Google system at all. First impressions were excellent, it does look really good they are available in black or white, I went for the black option) and have great proportions (shorter and fatter than the standard Echo but it feels a lot more stable on a table) and also the digital clock that shows through the speaker grill is a welcome addition, which is also dimmable and can even be switched off with a button on the base of the speaker. It has a 'sensor plate' on the top so you can adjust the volume up or down and pause, go forward and go back on any music track you are listening to, it does this by gesture rather than touching the actual plate but it does take some practice to use it correctly, which is the only slight letdown of the speaker, but once you master it this isn't a problem. Finally and most probably the most important feature is the sound, and it certainly doesn't disappoint there. I am a bass fan where music is concerned and it is that aspect that usually lets most speakers down unless they are very expensive, and I use two 'bass heavy' songs to test any speakers I buy. Sony have excelled here and although it is personal opinion (I am a lifelong musician fan and musician) I was really impressed it was better than my Echo for bass and equal to it for treble, vocals sound crisp and clear too. CONCLUSION : At £200 they were a touch expensive but at £150, although more slightly more expensive than the Echo, but they are well worth the money, so much so I purchased another two. I won't go into the pros and cons of Amazon vs Google system as they both have their advantages, to be honest I like both systems absolutely equally, and it would be personal taste as to which eco system you lock into. Needless to say though, that if you want to lock into the Google system you won't find a more pleasing speaker, both in looks and performance than this great Sony speaker, in my opinion it is the best of the bunch by a mile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be Better

LF-S50G 06/04/2019 by MISS D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's okay. Good volume for a small speaker. It doesn't always pick up my hand gestures to adjust the volume, so I just use voice commands. What would be really useful and why I haven't given 5 stars, is if it was compatible with Sony multi room speakers system and CMT SX7B so that it can be added to the Sony Music Centre app. Cant play music from your library if their stored on a memory card or from your iTunes library. Only can play music Google music library or if you have Spotify.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

83 Customer Reviews

0

lies

LF-S50G 14/09/2019 by Riceless (USA)

i just bought 2 of this product (S50G) and already owned a HT-ST5000 sound bar and 2 SRS-ZR7 stand alone speakers. Now on this products page (S50G) in the "features" section it clearly shows a picture of the S50G a ZR7 and a sound bar in the same "home" and says ... and i quote "Connect more speakers Listen to the same song or station in multiple rooms when you add Chromecast built-in speakers to your audio network" but when you visit the website to see which models of sony speakers are compatible with Sony's music center the S50G isnt listed what so ever. Now all of this to say i bought these to add to the wireless home stereo setup ive been using the other products as and cannot even though it clearly eludes to the fact that this product is able to. o and it also has a different picture on the box of the product itself that says "Multi-room music across chromecast built in speakers". Now if anyone at sony bothers to ready this and can tell me of another method to use these speakers in conjunction with my other sony sound products that im not aware of well that would be just swell. also id like to add that im totally invested in sony products and also own a ZD9 television and a Xperia 1

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
16/09/2019

Hello, Riceless!


We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Happy customer

LF-S50G 08/09/2019 by JonathanIOM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great little product. Clear sound...good volume... easy to set up and use. It's a shame that there is no auxiliary input (even a 3.5mm jack would be something) then you could connect non wireless devices....but....there you go! Also, the gesture control isn't 100%...takes a bit of practice to get there, and even then, its not as responsive as youd like.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound

LF-S50G 05/06/2019 by Richp25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got one a mouth a go I have recommend to a friend as it has a good sound for the price .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Speaker

LF-S50G 27/05/2019 by pfinn (United Kingdom)

Great speaker for the money. Just found out it is not updating and my original registration appears not to be successful. Other than that it has worked well and sounds good for such a chea speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

good speaker great sound

LF-S50G 28/04/2019 by Bernice57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this speaker 2 months great all round speaker the only thing is with the Google assistant you cannot make phone calls hope so sony will do an upgrade to improve it so I can make voice calls with my Google assistant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great products

LF-S50G 27/04/2019 by Christy fighting (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is just what I was looking for, and really good price. Does more than expected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice speaker, but lacking Google home features

LF-S50G 06/04/2019 by pcheb76 (USA)

Speaker sounds a little better than Google's own smart speaker, but lacks features like the ability to make phone calls, send text messages, and no EQ settings.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hi pcheb76, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the speaker. Sony takes into consideration all feedback as it helps us in improving our products and services. Rest assured that we will forward this to the proper department.

Regards,
Erin

0

Could be Better

LF-S50G 06/04/2019 by MISS D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's okay. Good volume for a small speaker. It doesn't always pick up my hand gestures to adjust the volume, so I just use voice commands. What would be really useful and why I haven't given 5 stars, is if it was compatible with Sony multi room speakers system and CMT SX7B so that it can be added to the Sony Music Centre app. Cant play music from your library if their stored on a memory card or from your iTunes library. Only can play music Google music library or if you have Spotify.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Really nice speaker!

LF-S50G 04/04/2019 by Luisgual (USA)

I use it in my bedroom where it is not easy to control any speaker, so Google Assistant make is easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice looking speaker that works seamlessly with go

LF-S50G 06/03/2019 by Jimbo 62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleasing to look at and works very well with google I like the clock also sound reproduction is good only wish there was an app to control EQ or bass treble as the stock default settings are not to everyone’s taste

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all round sound

LF-S50G 14/02/2019 by Mikesme (United Kingdom)

Bought few weeks ago . Clock feature good One of the best looking smart speakers on the market, But disappointed that it does not have googles continue conversation feature + other Google smart features. ( More google UpDates must be a Sony priority To stay up with the market leaders,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great product

LF-S50G 08/02/2019 by Nimmi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with my birthday money a month ago. Very pleased with the features but still learning how to use all the options.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent combination speaker

LF-S50G 02/02/2019 by Allanjuno (United Kingdom)

Relatively good buy. Decent speaker and Google home combined. Not able to link via WiFi to smart TV as yet - keep working on that!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

1st rate features

LF-S50G 17/01/2019 by eddie51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 2 weeks ago and am delighted with it. so easy to set up sound quality is amazing and it looks really good.well done sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bedside speaker

LF-S50G 15/01/2019 by Tafuta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a bed side alarm, on my previous make of clock/radio the clock had been too bright, but the Sony one is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good gadget

LF-S50G 13/01/2019 by Rosszcsont (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good stuff. I enjoy musuc in my entire house now...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Features, but a little flaky sometimes

LF-S50G 11/01/2019 by Nish123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this speaker two weeks back, and overall the experience has been quite good. The sound is great and the built in Google Assistant is a huge plus. The volume controls The downsides are that it sometimes needs an occassional reboot as Google Assistant just stops responding. We had to reboot around 4 times in the first week - it has been a little better in the second week. Secondly, the volume control by twirling your fingers is a bit.....unpredictable. It works, but I would have much preferred a physical/touch interface for volume, so you are not left wondering how exactly you need to twirl your fingers to adjust volume. TBH, there is always Google assistant to turn the volume down, but at high speaker volumes, it struggles to pick up commands (which is understandable).

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Google assistant home speaker

LF-S50G 06/01/2019 by Twis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago brilliant sound quality. The googe assistant works ok the only let down Sony still haven't realised a firmware update for making calls and sending text messages on it. Which is a lot of money for something which is more expensive price than a google home which does have the option to do this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

easy setup easy to use great sound

LF-S50G 05/01/2019 by dakota71uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought just after Christmas. Incredibly easy to setup. Pairs straight away with my phone (only used Wifi so far but bluetooth looks easy enough) Has a fab sound quality. Works exactly as described. Looks great (bought the black one). Definitely recommend. Could do with the latest version of Google Assistant though as the last Sony update was 2017!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could be better

LF-S50G 04/01/2019 by Redfern2k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice looking speaker with good sound however it doesn't have the full functionality of a Google home, not being able to make calls or receive broadcast messages is quite disappointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant

LF-S50G 31/12/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly recommend! Great sound and volume - fast & easy to set up too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great and Simple

LF-S50G 26/12/2018 by Saintlez (USA)

Purchased this as a Christmas present for my mother, the sound is great but best of all it was for simple to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features and fun product

LF-S50G 25/12/2018 by Gizzy62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and think it’s fantastic, the sound is great and google assistant works brilliantly, to get the full experience i would say you need a decent music subscription though so i signed up to spotify and now use it for everything from setting up my day to using the playlists and albums on my iphone at the gymn, the only problem I’ve had was that it doesn’t recognise my 4 year olds voice even after voice recognition but alexa struggles with it too as she doesn’t speak too clearly, I’m buying a second one in another weeks time when i get paid to link them and have music around the house, for £99 you’ll seriously struggle to get as good quality unless you’re willing to spend a lot more, I gave a 4 on ease of use as a proper book telling you how to do a lot more would help instead of having to look it up online all the time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointing

LF-S50G 20/12/2018 by Ward1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed with American voices and proved not very good at playing my music without the cloud. Hardware excellent, Google home that makes it work is rubbish.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features and content

LF-S50G 07/12/2018 by Ihazaredfy (USA)

Great features awesome products and service. Sony Xperia for life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

LF-S50G 05/12/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its a treat product with better sound quality than Google home or echo. The only disadvantage is that the device does not work wireless. It has to be comnected to a power supply.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Fun and responds well

LF-S50G 04/12/2018 by Wyns (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this two weeks ago, love the music sound tuning into radios is easy . One problem she says I can’t help with that a lot so that’s a bit annoying shopping list good can’t wait to get smart devices working with it too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Speaker with Google Assistant

LF-S50G 03/12/2018 by Andy2882 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good speaker and only missing 2 features - wireless & unable to use it to answer phone calls with which it would be among the best speakers out there

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Expensive promises a lot but some points not fully

LF-S50G 25/11/2018 by Adam 1066 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a month gesture control frustrating Google assistant permanently having issues

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Features

LF-S50G 12/11/2018 by moni138 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gave it to my disabled son to put in his bedroom and he loves it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great

LF-S50G 03/11/2018 by Royston1980 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product just doesn't make calls. Says it does make calls. Spent a week trying to get it to make a call

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Issue with the time

LF-S50G 30/10/2018 by Childeric1906 (USA)

Hello Very nice Speaker But the time didn't switch this weekend from "summer time" to "winter time". What can I do ?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Perfect replacement for the radio alarm.

LF-S50G 30/10/2018 by Frampo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace our radio alarm. Its perfect, easy to set up and operate. The dimmer function is awesome. The sounds are perfect even if you mistakenly turn it on at 100%. Perfect around.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My sony

LF-S50G 05/10/2018 by Holly 2510 (United Kingdom)

I bought three days ago in Aylesbury and it good at telling jokes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor quality, sound lagging between TV and speaker

LF-S50G 09/09/2018 by Sam89 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have rarely used it because it is a gimmick. It connects with Sony Bravia TV via Bluetooth but there is 5 second sound lagging. (This is an overpriced Google mini £40 which is better value for money in my opinion)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Simple to use

LF-S50G 02/09/2018 by Spenny (United Kingdom)

This was a present..so glad I have it. Really useful for getting answers superfast..and doing a shopping list.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Missing some features

LF-S50G 28/08/2018 by William2027 (USA)

I’ve had this a couple of months. The sound quality is good at the higher volumes, less clear at lower volumes. It responds well to Spotify requests, which for me is the main point. I am not satisfied on two issues. The first is the inability to independently control the volume of the google assistant voice. It’s too loud relative to the volume of the music. The second is the inability to make phone calls using the speaker. I emailed Sony supposrt regarding this issue, and received the response that this speaker can’t do that. I’m sure this issue could be solved with a software update, but will Sony do it? I’m not convinced they will.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2018

Hi William2027,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

This is NOT a wireless speaker

LF-S50G 25/08/2018 by Noor8a (USA)

I find misleading that this speaker is listed with other wireless speakers when in fact, this is a wired speaker that connect wireless to a home network. It is like a wired alarm clock with Google assistant. Not very innovative.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/08/2018

Hi Noor8a,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations.
Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Great products. Great features. Great quality.

LF-S50G 14/08/2018 by Rb59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this prod two weeks. We love it. Wife can't stop playing with it. Lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Elegant appearance

LF-S50G 07/08/2018 by Mapman2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Elegant appearance, good sound and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Disappointed

LF-S50G 04/08/2018 by Schmidt76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this the same time as a sony tv after liking the idea of voice activation of the tv through the wireless speaker. After set up I found out that the two are not compatible. Strangely though the amazon alexa operates the tv fine.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic! Totally comprehends Spotify commands.

LF-S50G 18/07/2018 by Boselectah (United Kingdom)

Really accurate voice/command recognition with Spotify, unlike the "un-Amazing" speaker my new Sony is replacing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

S50G google assistant built-in wireless Speakers

LF-S50G 15/07/2018 by 1 superwoman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought a month ago and still getting to grips with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Disappointed

LF-S50G 25/06/2018 by SusieLoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago as a birthday present for my son however, I’ve had to take it in for repair, as for some reason the whole unit died overnight.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not happy can't connect it

LF-S50G 18/06/2018 by Me2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent many hours trying to connect this item to Google home with no success

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

OK Google, you are brilliant!

LF-S50G 15/06/2018 by Nicnic73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking for a DAB bedside radio/alarm, then came across this little beauty, no need for preset stations, as many alarms, timers and sleep functions as you could want, and it streams from other devices. Has transformed my bedroom!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great gadget

LF-S50G 05/05/2018 by Bigaldes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it. Simple to set up as long as you have a Google account. Entertaining using voice interaction and a suitable music app. A great sounding speaker using Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good Prduct

LF-S50G 29/04/2018 by Sub49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product after considerable research. Any purchase should be done on based of informed choice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Great Design with bad sound

LF-S50G 19/04/2018 by TinchoEB (USA)

The design I love. The screen informing the time / level of solid is a great contribution, the use of Google Assistance is very pleasant, but as a party leaves much to be desired. The sound is so monotonous that it reaches a point that bothers listening to it and you prefer to go back to using a Chinese player.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/04/2018

Hi TinchoEB, On this site we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/ ~Ralph

0

Quality Speaker

LF-S50G 10/04/2018 by poolsman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and very happy with it. Sound quality is brilliant and google assistant works flawlessly. Gesture control a bit hit and miss but voice commands that good its really uneccessary anyway. Overall an excellent bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great features

LF-S50G 09/04/2018 by Paulambarnes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this about 3 weeks ago love it . It’s a great time wasters as trying to find songs lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

VERY SATISFIED

LF-S50G 02/04/2018 by google fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Typical good quality one would expect from Sony. Google Assistant performance is way in front of Amazon Alexa. Suggested improvement; put the clock dimmer control on top for better accessibility. And/or make a wave gesture turn the clock on or off. Reason; even at lowest setting it is a bit brighter than preferred. Otherwise - I'd award 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

great

LF-S50G 31/03/2018 by steampete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this free with my new Sony mobile phone what a great gadget love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

This thing is really cool.

LF-S50G 31/03/2018 by Steve420 (USA)

It looks really futuristic on my bedside table. I've read some negative reviews about the touchless gesture controls but I actually really like them. The touchless controls definitely add to the futuristic vibe of this thing. I'd definitely recommend. Couple things that could make it better is if it could make calls and if it could link up to my other bluetooth speakers. The google home mini and the google home have both those features. I feel like I'm missing out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound from such a small unit... Very pleased

LF-S50G 25/03/2018 by Glynogolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent speaker which connect easily to my phone etc... Great sound volume and clarity. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I forgot i loved music

LF-S50G 25/03/2018 by surrender_monkey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All i can say is thank you sony, after buying this speaker i can listen to whatever i like when i like. Hands full washing up or on my ps4 not a problem with voice commands. Brill

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great product with excellent sound

LF-S50G 08/03/2018 by PeeBe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product with excellent sound. Superb for streaming BBC iPlayer and Google Play. Best voice recognition product used to date. Responds surprisingly quickly. It feels like a must have

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Ok product...not the best...

LF-S50G 02/03/2018 by Niket (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound...better than avg but not the usual sony standard. The volume increases automatically The hand gestures are the worst features. Incomplete guideline on what movement of hand means what...volume seldom increases or decreases with hand gestures...playlist stops at times...

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

What a "cracking" speaker !

LF-S50G 25/02/2018 by Lensman3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have the Amazon Echo but now wanted to try the "Google" system to run along side but the Google Home speaker I didn't like it looks one bit, so I was really pleased to see Sony had brought a rival speaker out, otherwise I would have not tried the Google system at all. First impressions were excellent, it does look really good they are available in black or white, I went for the black option) and have great proportions (shorter and fatter than the standard Echo but it feels a lot more stable on a table) and also the digital clock that shows through the speaker grill is a welcome addition, which is also dimmable and can even be switched off with a button on the base of the speaker. It has a 'sensor plate' on the top so you can adjust the volume up or down and pause, go forward and go back on any music track you are listening to, it does this by gesture rather than touching the actual plate but it does take some practice to use it correctly, which is the only slight letdown of the speaker, but once you master it this isn't a problem. Finally and most probably the most important feature is the sound, and it certainly doesn't disappoint there. I am a bass fan where music is concerned and it is that aspect that usually lets most speakers down unless they are very expensive, and I use two 'bass heavy' songs to test any speakers I buy. Sony have excelled here and although it is personal opinion (I am a lifelong musician fan and musician) I was really impressed it was better than my Echo for bass and equal to it for treble, vocals sound crisp and clear too. CONCLUSION : At £200 they were a touch expensive but at £150, although more slightly more expensive than the Echo, but they are well worth the money, so much so I purchased another two. I won't go into the pros and cons of Amazon vs Google system as they both have their advantages, to be honest I like both systems absolutely equally, and it would be personal taste as to which eco system you lock into. Needless to say though, that if you want to lock into the Google system you won't find a more pleasing speaker, both in looks and performance than this great Sony speaker, in my opinion it is the best of the bunch by a mile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

easy to use

LF-S50G 21/02/2018 by yogibear1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use and set up ,great if you want to know stuff and always good for a joke if you ask it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Brilliant

LF-S50G 19/02/2018 by Waldrock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets buying this you can even tell to turn on Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Compact, good sound, good connectivity

LF-S50G 13/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I listened to a wide range of alternatives in the local Curry's store and I liked the sound of the Sony speaker best of all. To be honest I don't know if the speaker sounds better than the others as even a relatively quiet Curry's store is very different from our living room! But I'm very happy with the quality of sound, and that was my main criterion. I didn't expect to find the Google Assistant function useful, but it's neat and easy to use. Having Bluetooth as well as Google Home powered wifi access is a real boon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A new friend

LF-S50G 07/02/2018 by Sony john (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a great friend just ask and there is an answer and the sound is good too when playing music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

bad top motion control

LF-S50G 31/01/2018 by jimbobabe (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of months ago. The top motion control is not good. Sort it. Good point quite good sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Great sounds and easy to use

LF-S50G 17/01/2018 by Mat82 (USA)

I bought one right after Christmas and loved it so much that I just bought another and hooked it up today. I love the sound quality, and the hand gestures are easy to use. it also seems to "hear" me better than my Mini's ad Home devices. Overall setup was easy, the update installed with no problems either. I only wish Sony will make a model with MORE tweeters and subwoofers for larger sound. I'd buy it immediately!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

LF-S50G 13/01/2018 by Jojo216 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and love it. Not being techno minded it is so easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

LF-S50G 10/01/2018 by jeff3328 (USA)

awesome and very fantastic when touching it, the design is superb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality smart speaker

LF-S50G 08/01/2018 by Chalkz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this smart speaker for the quality of sound, it has good quality build as you would expect, but if you have volume on hi Google can not hear your commands

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality Product

LF-S50G 05/01/2018 by Mad Hatter 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Christmas present from the wife, very happy with the gift.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Helpful and practical

LF-S50G 31/12/2017 by JB1978 (USA)

Looks nice and simple. I enjoy the google assistant, specially while working in the kitchen with dirty hands. The sound is good, I wish it was excellent but for the price I'm happy with the sound. Got it for my wife and she seems to enjoy it as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Firmware outdated

LF-S50G 28/12/2017 by jlrhouston (USA)

Bought these from Best Buy and the speaker crashed while the firmware was updated the first time they were turned on. Now they won't update at all. Garbage.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2