Skip to Content
H.EAR GO

Product Reviews

$199.99

46

4.4 based on 46 customer reviews

31
11
0
1
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent big sound in a little box

SRS-HG1 31/05/2017 by LizDot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this little speaker, bought for camper van, where weight and size are so important, also needed USB charging and the versatility of bluetooth and a direct audio in for the TV. No problem with the bluetooth connection, with either iPhone or Samsung mobile. I actually went into the shop to buy the Bose Soundlink mini but came out with this because I preferred the sound. Very pleased with my choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Frustrating

SRS-HG1 12/12/2017 by senator DD (USA)

I write this review in hopes that Sony will see it and address the issue I am having with the product. I purchased two of the hear and go speakers to complete my wireless system. Unfortunately, I have to pair each speaker every time I want the full surround. It's a pain in the neck and and become so tiresome I only pair them when it's "absolutely necessary ". I also did not like having to download chrome cast to pair all the speakers. This process worked 20 % of the time. It would take twenty to thirty minutes of frustrating attempt before I could get everything to connect. To add misery on top of this all, the speakers would lose their connection every time. I am very disappointed with this product and have given up on trying to make it work the way it is supposed to. The sound quality is awesome and I love it when it's operating at 100%. It just never happens

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

46 Customer Reviews

0

Frustrating

SRS-HG1 12/12/2017 by senator DD (USA)

I write this review in hopes that Sony will see it and address the issue I am having with the product. I purchased two of the hear and go speakers to complete my wireless system. Unfortunately, I have to pair each speaker every time I want the full surround. It's a pain in the neck and and become so tiresome I only pair them when it's "absolutely necessary ". I also did not like having to download chrome cast to pair all the speakers. This process worked 20 % of the time. It would take twenty to thirty minutes of frustrating attempt before I could get everything to connect. To add misery on top of this all, the speakers would lose their connection every time. I am very disappointed with this product and have given up on trying to make it work the way it is supposed to. The sound quality is awesome and I love it when it's operating at 100%. It just never happens

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hello senator DD, we apologize for the inconvenience. This is part of a normal operation of the speakers. In order for us to do a wireless surround via an application, we need to reconnect it all over again because it is network based. Also, this unit doesn't have a memory to save the previous connection. You may check the helpful guide on the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75527
Regards, _Bob

0

Great Features - exactly as advertised

SRS-HG1 14/11/2017 by Jomishrah (United Kingdom)

This item gains mixed reporting in reviews but it does exactly what Sony say it will do and competes well with similar and higher priced like items on the market. Extremely pleased that we chose the Sony units.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Broken unexpectedly and no help given by Sony

SRS-HG1 03/11/2017 by Ellie7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a year ago and has now broken unexpectedly. No help was received from Sony or could not replace

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-HG1 20/10/2017 by Bonzaburger (United Kingdom)

Bought 2 of these for surround sound use and to be used separately in the garden/kitchen. Really easy to set up but the music centre app is a bit clunky so needs attention. Good quality build and sound is great with hi-res files.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-HG1 12/10/2017 by Pete W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very versatil unit; I can connect my phone via Bluetooth, my laptop and tablet over WiFi and my Walkman with a short jack cable so it serves every purpose imaginable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brill sound

SRS-HG1 07/10/2017 by Renie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it so handy and amazing quality sound. . . . . .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality sound, comprehensive connectivity

SRS-HG1 07/10/2017 by DoctorSimon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought a Sony Xperia XZ and got this speaker to go with it. It has made my phone truly mobile, watch films in quality in or out of the house. Great quality, no distortion and loud enough for most situations. The WiFi connectivity means everything can connect to it. May consider buying more to have one in each room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

h.ear go

SRS-HG1 06/10/2017 by martski_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had the speaker about 2 weeks now it was easy to set up on the mobile with the sony app and on the laptop via blue tooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big sound from small box

SRS-HG1 06/10/2017 by Roger14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It took several hours to fully charge and a few moments to work out how to connect to Bluetooth. Once connected I was very pleased with the sound from such a small box. It feel solidly made and the weight probably due to the battery which has a long usage time, though I now recharge after use of a few hours which is quicker than the initial charge. The ability to carry this little speaker around to any room means listening to music has gone up. I’m looking forward to demonstrating this little but powerful speaker to my friends, it has a much bigger sound and volume than the size would suggest.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really Pleased

SRS-HG1 20/09/2017 by flukia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the sound the speaker produces and the range of features available. It has the usual high standard of manufacture I associate with Sony and is a very nice design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bass

SRS-HG1 11/08/2017 by Mickwww (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very good speaker and great bass very easy to set up and linked with my sx88

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Chromecast Built-in Makes This a Great Speaker

SRS-HG1 22/07/2017 by Wightknight (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Chromecast Audio has transformed my hi-fi system by giving me high quality music streaming and I wanted the same benefits in a portable speaker. I know there are Bluetooth speakers that provide better sound reproduction for the money, but the convenience of Chromecast Built-in sets this speaker apart. Bluetooth is very simple and convenient, but sound quality its limited by restricted bandwidth. Chromecast will give you the best quality feed available to it, so when using streaming services such as Google Play Music, the sound is CD-quality. Even challenging albums such as Eris Prydz's Opus sound fantastic The Music Center app is pretty easy to use and automatically selects the most appropriate connection (i.e. network or Bluetooth) according to what the app will allow.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Sony HEAR YOU GO!

SRS-HG1 07/06/2017 by Tingst (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really do not like this product. I am gutted. It wont connect via bluetooth to my PC and having to have the wire getting in the way.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Excellent big sound in a little box

SRS-HG1 31/05/2017 by LizDot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this little speaker, bought for camper van, where weight and size are so important, also needed USB charging and the versatility of bluetooth and a direct audio in for the TV. No problem with the bluetooth connection, with either iPhone or Samsung mobile. I actually went into the shop to buy the Bose Soundlink mini but came out with this because I preferred the sound. Very pleased with my choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Exelent

SRS-HG1 08/05/2017 by jm011z (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has a big sound from a small portable speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound from a small box

SRS-HG1 29/04/2017 by Tom72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Already have Sony Sony HT-XT2 so hopping to get a pair of these to use for full surround experience. However this makes for an expensive set up but the ability to take the 2 rear speakers out and about makes for a very flexible set up. Great battery life and very versatile connectivity love the fact I can set off my spottily playlist then switch off phone so speaker pick up direct. Only problem I have had is finding a stable carry case or dedicated wall bracket for when using in lounge Cinema set up .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very Happy

SRS-HG1 25/02/2017 by Alice175 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb sound quality, took me an absolute age to choose which make and model speaker to purchase, I happy I chose this one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic product

SRS-HG1 24/02/2017 by diver79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My sister bought this for me as a birthday present. First time I have every had independant speakers...I love it. Fantastic features and design. I love the ability to walk into the room and immediately switch from my mobile headphones to speakers without missing a beat of the song! Sound quality is amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb Quality

SRS-HG1 22/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this 1 week ago and am extremely happy with the performance and quality of the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound

SRS-HG1 26/01/2017 by Damonah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a pair of these speakers as part of a surround sound system to go with my Sony TV. Adds a great dimension to the sound of movies and when playing music via the TV

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SONY ROCKS!

SRS-HG1 24/01/2017 by Daftpunk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A little complex to start up. I am having a sequence problem .....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

It's OK, not 100%

SRS-HG1 22/01/2017 by Brovashift (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

4 stars is pretty generous. First and for most i am disappointed that there is no case available for this speaker. I want to use it when I go climbing and a protective case like what the Bose has would be a great accessory to keep the speaker safe. 2nd is the battery. 12 hours sound good but when using the speaker daily it constantly needs recharging. This would be a bigger issue if using more than 1 speaker, linked throughout different rooms. This couldn't be a permanent setup, a 1 night party maybe. 3rd, the fact that the speaker cannot be used while connected to an AC outlet. This would allow more regular use at home. HD sound is good however.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

6

0

Almost brilliant

SRS-HG1 11/01/2017 by jamjars (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent speaker. Great price. Lots of fun on New Years Eve with Songpal and Spotify. BUT.. no Songpal app for Windows Phone and only way to connect PC is with USB cable! Need to fix this Sony then you'd get 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great speaker

SRS-HG1 08/01/2017 by Paulmatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up, has really good sound and high volume. Pairs very quickly with my walkman.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound!

SRS-HG1 08/01/2017 by Darshil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it as a Christmas gift and I love it! Connect it to my Ipad with bluetooth and to my Samsung phone via nfc

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

SONY HEAR TO GO

SRSHG1/BLK 06/01/2017 by El Tumbe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS LITTLE SPEAKER IS THE BEST SMALL BUT THE SOUND IS EXCELLENT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Sounds

SRS-HG1 06/01/2017 by The beadle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Given as a Christmas present as the old hi-fi was starting to sound poor. The sound from this small but effective unit is great. Bit hard to set up first time, as instructions are not very intuitive, but once set, it is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy to use

SRS-HG1 29/12/2016 by Da do Ron Ron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for a Christmas gift for our grand daughter very easy to use and excellent sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Awesome speaker

SRS-HG1 23/12/2016 by stevee wonder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this based on in-store reviews and am not disappointed. Connects to every device without any problem and streams at superb quality and volume (if you want it!)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Magic in Box

SRS-HG1 16/12/2016 by su2nil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for use of ease, portability and brand-name. Very satisfied on purchase. Small disappointments though, quite expensive compared to SRS XB3. And no power bank functionality to charge it. Still great music, and good connectivity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Super Sound anywhere

SRS-HG1 15/12/2016 by roy33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker to use with my laptop to enhance the quality of the music and general sound, which wasn't too bad, but is now much much better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Versatile, quality speaker.

SRS-HG1 04/12/2016 by TSAE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good detailed sound, battery life, build quality. Connects well to iPhone, iPad, iMac via Bluetooth and soundcast WiFi. Easy firmware update. I find the Extra Bass feature a little too unnatural (and I usually like a lot of bass), so use the speaker without it and set the sound equaliser via the SongPro app on my iPhone. It's currently my speaker of choice for moving around the house.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great buy

SRS-HG1 13/11/2016 by rossd6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker roughly a month ago and from day one it has been good as i learned about its features which by the way, it has a good few handy features and i highly recommend this speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simply brilliant portable speaker

SRS-HG1 13/10/2016 by KRN18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker for holiday, playing music from Spotify from my iPhone and iPad. Connected and worked first time with amazing sound for the size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Impressive

SRS-HG1 06/10/2016 by JMM1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For such a compact speaker it gives a quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

excellent sound

SRS-HG1 17/09/2016 by mrmac865 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned it 3wks now and use it on a daily basis brilliant little thing to own

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sound is crisp. Big sound. Small package.

SRSHG1/YEL 17/09/2016 by Dave 67RT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got it. Charged for two hours turned on n paired to iPhone almost instantly. Great sound through all volume levels. Love my h.ear go!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good product

SRS-HG1 07/09/2016 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom)

The product is well built and relatively easy to set up. Links well via Wifi and Bluetooth. The only issue I have is the lack of availability of the cord to connect the hi res walkman the UK. Sound quality is really good for such a small box

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Versatile and easy to use good sound quality

SRS-HG1 03/09/2016 by Nonn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the speaker and may buy another to pair them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Wonderful sound from a portable speaker

SRS-HG1 31/08/2016 by Sony07900 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony h.ear go mainly to listen to audio books but have found it to be great for music too. Battery life and connectivity are outstanding.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great design. Sound

SRS-HG1 16/08/2016 by Ginner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I purchased this sounds great looks are too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Surprisingly big sound!

SRS-HG1 15/08/2016 by Kimbell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased our h.ear go on a whim at Gatwick airport! The H.ear go produces sounds that are rich, clear and amazingly loud, for such a small speaker. Now saving up for another so we can go stereo!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best speaker in a while

SRS-HG1 15/08/2016 by Fiveclive (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little speaker, worth every penny. So happy I bought this instead of any type of cordless headphones. Easy to use, sound quality is fabulous and would definitely be recommended to a friend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Rubbish

SRS-HG1 02/08/2016 by bob2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product & had nothing but problems. Has too many different standby features & kept turning itself off. Could only turn it back on after re-setting it. Then kept locking up, could not turn it off or on. Spent most of my time re-setting it when all I want is to turn it on, play music & turn it off. Returned item & got a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

5

17

0

Great sound, excellent connectivity and features

SRS-HG1 22/07/2016 by rgledhill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Basically it was this one or the BOSE Soundlink Mini II as they had clearly far superior sound to the other alternatives (JBL etc). Both were similar with really good bass for their size, but the Sony was marginally better on mid-range and also top-end clarity. The fact you also get a plethora of connection options (WiFi, Chromecast, Bluetooth, USB Audio, aux input) and it charges from a standard mobile phone (micro USB) charger was the icing on the cake. It's very solidly built too and feels like it will last a lifetime. Battery life is great - I've had hours of use from a single charge so far. NFC pairing makes it a doddle to connect to your phone. Mine was a nice charcoal grey colour, not the yellow in the picture!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

With Chromecast no need to flatten phone battery.

SRS-HG1 21/06/2016 by Rusp181 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like this. Battery seems to last longer than stated hours.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

2