Skip to Content
102

4.7 based on 102 customer reviews

81
16
1
1
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

102 Customer Reviews

0

Keeps switching to "Audio In"

SRS-X55 26/09/2017 by TallShaun (USA)

I bought this X55 by mistake because I already had the SRS-X5 which is amazing. Supposedly this little one is better, but I've had a lot of frustration and cannot find any answers. When it is working, the speaker sounds great. But it seldom works as designed. The unit will constantly change volume, switch the "sound" function on and off, switch to "audio in", to the Bluetooth if I try to use the "audio in", or otherwise become completely unresponsive. I do not know if it is the actual touch-sensitive buttons, an issue with the circuitry, or what, but I can't fix it by turning it off and on, by holding the reset button down up to 10 seconds, by plugging in or unplugging the unit or switching to a different Bluetooth device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/09/2017

Hi TallShaun, That is definitely not the news we like to hear. Let's see what we can do. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information on this issue you are having. Thanks. ~Ralph

0

great blue tooth speakes

SRSX55/BLK 31/07/2017 by lizzard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it only a few days easy to sync to phone and ipod just make sure you tap and then hold sync button till you hear a beep. Sound is great,well made. Will have to see how long charge last.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!

SRSX55/BLK 10/07/2017 by deem (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased and found it so simple to use. Great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent value and amazing sound!

SRS-X55 03/07/2017 by Gkgroove (USA)

I purchased this unit after lining 4 different unit that were +/- $10 side by side on the store shelf. Hands down, this unit provided the clearest sound with solid bass response. Matter of fact, it was the only unit whose bass that shook the shelf and you literally can feel it! While the other units designs tried to push bass, it sounded muffled/flat. Higher frequencies sounded like tin cans compared to this unit. I've experienced long battery life to date. Use the unit at home, in hotels and conference rooms when traveling and lastly, as the sound for my projector when showing outdoor movies in my backyard and while camping! All of the above uses were taken into consideration when selecting a speaker like this and I could not be happier with my choice!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great when it worked

SRS-X55 12/06/2017 by WA2CHI (USA)

I bought this Bluetooth speaker about a month ago and it sounded great when connected to my phone vis Bluetooth. However, after plugging it in to recharge about a week ago, it would not turn on and none of the lights were on. I can't tell if it is a broken switch, failure to charge, a broken charger, or if it's just a piece of junk. The contractor that repairs speakers cannot help troubleshoot and there is no on-line help on the Sony website.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/06/2017

Hi WA2CHI, we do apologize for the disappointment. We're here to provide you with online help, kindly email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your contact info and a brief description of the problem. We'll help you out. Regards.

0

Perfect price for the quality

SRSX55/BLK 01/05/2017 by dan65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Meet all my expectations and then some. Researched, and made the right decision.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

i think sony did it right

SRS-X55 18/04/2017 by marty k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it works great, i had no difficulty setting it uptime 75 years old

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

is it worth it?

SRS-X55 07/04/2017 by terenceathome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the item was a gift from my son and it sounds good because you can talk without the phone but in reailaty the callers can hear you very well. I have to keep it on charge as the battery does not last long and i can not use the Speaker with my TV as it is not smart.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Great sound

SRS-X55 22/03/2017 by Idontwanttouseanickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a portable system excellent system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Speaker

SRS-X55 10/02/2017 by TSAE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Deep, rich sound. Excellent pairing with NFC/Bluetooth devices. All in all pretty brilliant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-X55 16/01/2017 by Pk28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with the selection I made after a lot of research

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

beautifully simple

SRS-X55 16/01/2017 by reebos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been wanting to get a wireless speaker for a while and after hearing this models bigger brother at a friends house (srsx77) I thought I would give this ago as I did not have such big rooms to fill with sound and I wanted a speaker that was more portable so I could easily move it from room to room. This certainly did not disappoint with a much bigger sound than the compact product size would suggest including a more than satisfactory base. This unit is very easy to use and the battery life is excellent should you need to take the speaker out and about. All in all a good product at a competitive price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact, good performance

SRS-X55 14/01/2017 by henrico (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had my Sony SRS-X55 for a few weeks but can say I am very at satiisfied with the performance. For such a compact speaker the sound quality is very good . I use it to play stored music from my phone only, bluetooth range and battery capacity more than adequate.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love It!

SRSX55/BLK 13/01/2017 by vjeffres (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift. Super nice to use with my phone since I can take it anywhere in the house.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb sound!

SRSX55/BLK 09/01/2017 by Jersey2frisco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift for Christmas from my son, using it everyday...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good quality product with good sound

SRS-X55 08/01/2017 by Malfunction (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Given this as Christmas present and I'm extremely pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So far, I love it

SRSX55/BLK 08/01/2017 by ElaineB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has great sound for such a small and portable speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

SRSX55/BLK 08/01/2017 by chuktuk44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker pairs well with my Android phone and sounds absolutely great. Low notes to the high ones, it's all good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic sound quality

SRS-X55 05/01/2017 by Adamski777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Friend has one of these and I had to have one!! Fantastic Christmas gift.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great

SRS-X55 04/01/2017 by ODIMatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality is amazing with a good amount of bass. Have had almost no issues except for occasionally it skips/jumps when playing. This happened over the first couple of days and would happen every 30s to a minute.Very rarely occurs now, maybe happens once or twice a day and ive had it now for a couple of weeks. My only other issue is that the USB port can only be used to charge another device. This is mainly because i use it with my MacBook.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Portable sound

SRS-X55 25/12/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sound and very portable. Big sound small device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Suits it's purpose

SRS-X55 16/12/2016 by Enrico1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is good. That is the main thing. Not mind blowing but I wasn't disappointed and it was certainly adequate for its size. Blue tooth worked well with my iPad. Really easy to set up. It also worked well with Spotify on my phone. I was a little disappointed that it failed to recognise any format from my PC other than mp3. That meant that all my music saved as wma files either have to be converted to mp3 or loaded to my iPad. All in all I am happy with the purchase for the money.All in all I am happy with the purchase for the money. It is useful that it has a rechargeable internal battery. Would I buy it now having used one? yes I think I would.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Punches well above it weight!

SRS-X55 14/12/2016 by Capn Stevie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a cracking little speaker that packs a bass rich, full and rounded sound. I tried many "high-end" Bluetooth portable speakers, including flagships from Bose and JBL etc. This Sony SRS-X55 kept drawing me to it, again and again. Having listened many times in store I couldn't get away from the simple fact that depite my leanings towards a Bose, this Sony just delivered more all around. Overall tone is consistent throughout the spectrum. Bass is incredibly 'round' and full, delivering a satisfying presence even at very low volumes. Mids and highs are well defined, again all through the volume range. At half to three quarter volume and set on a solid platform, the passive radiators throw out one heck of a wide sound field. It's a cliche, but this will fill a spacious room without trying. It's never going to be a 'party speaker', but then that wouldn't be playing to its strengths. The SRS-X55 is a fantastic portable or 'bedside' rechargeable speaker that can more than provide quality big sound backup on occasions that demand mobility. I really can't say enough about how solid and full sounding this speaker is. Try this and then go back to any other class leader in this bracket. Tell me that you aren't a little stunned by just how much more impressive this SRS-X55 is in comparison. Connectivity has proven to be solid and stable. Sony's proprietary sound enhancement trickery is way beyond a gimmick. It works superbly. Cabled input into the AUX in produces a noticeably more intricate sound (to my ridiculously picky ears anyway), but not to any real detriment, especially at higher volumes. That's Bluetooth for you though. Build quality is very satisfying. It's a pleasingly hefty oblong of black. No frills, just a secret weapon of a discreet hardback sized powerhouse! It's sits there disarmingly challenging you to test it, then innocently blows the lid off your expectations without even breaking sweat. The thin rubber pads in the base really grip the surface it stands on and help transfer some of that bass into air wobbling loveliness. You can see the whole unit almost shimmer, yet none of that vibration is transferred into distortion or rattle. It's almost as if the whole unit is designed to do nothing other this shift the air around it, and nothing else. Which of course, is exactly what it should doing. It's frankly, bordering on ridiculously brilliant. Careful placement is rewarded even more, so experiment. And in my experience, lay off any equalisation if you can. The SRS-X55 does all the work that's required so any extra processing is just not nessecary. I'm an EQ junky, it takes a lot for me to say that! Oh, and it charges your portable device as well, acts as a speaker phone...(haven't tried it, I'm listening to music... I'll call you back later, leave me in peace!) And that's it really. Get one while you can and next time you see or hear the Bose Mini Traveller, be happy that with the SRS-X55 you've hit on a speaker that has it licked, no contest, before the bout even started! Enjoy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Superb little speaker

SRS-X55 22/06/2016 by EHH ROH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't fault it's build quality or sound reproduction. A must for those who want something special that will not disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great Sound

SRS-X55 19/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is by far the best speaker I have owned. Great bass and great sound overall I am really pleased and would highly recommend this speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect in every way

SRS-X55 18/06/2016 by Micky T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my speaker a couple of weeks, it connected to my iPhone straight away and now automatically links up every time I switch it on. Sound quality is exceptional, fantastic sound for something so small, it goes all over the house with me!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact clean and powerful for its size

SRS-X55 15/06/2016 by Jack86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great first Bluetooth speaker. Connects easily via bluetooth to my phone or via aux cable to my ipod. Clean aesthetic design and powerful for its size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Big Sound

SRS-X55 12/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Speaker, impressive sound for it's size, very pleased with it, great for parties.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

SRS-X55 10/06/2016 by Fit7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought product to use in my exercise class with my non apple Mp3 player so far I'm impressed with its ease of use and mobility. It looks quite good too. I also like the use of Bluetooth with means I don't have to be right next to it to change track.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-X55 30/05/2016 by RomseyZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this month ago and use every day in my bedroom. As somebody already said, the positioning is essential, because of the directional sound. It is crisp and powerful, considering the size of the unit. And that was the primary reason I've been looking for Sony. And I did not go wrong with it, again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Great little Bluetooth Speaker

SRS-X55 25/05/2016 by Zebberdee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought to replace an existing Sony SRS-X3 Bluetooth Speaker which has been in use for more than a year and was needed elsewhere in the home. The slightly larger Sony SRS-X55 has an even better overall sound quality with a fuller but not overpowering bass and is highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for the money, but set-up not easy

SRS-X55 21/05/2016 by NeilC12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is excellent for the size and price - noticeably better than the Bose equivalent. Set-up has been confusing - it connected to my iPhone immediately with no problems. However, connection to my PC (brand new Lenovo X1 Carbon running all up-to-date drivers) has been difficult to say the least. Finally got it to connect, then it seems to have dropped again. I don't know whether to blame the speaker or the PC, but it certainly isn't straightforward.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Great sound quality

SRS-X55 14/05/2016 by Philip55tankdriver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great portable speaker that can be blue toothed or used with a 3.5 Jack plug conection to other devices. The sound quality is excellent and ideal to take away on a trip... Be aware of the weight though. It is well made also.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing

SRS-X55 12/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing sound, amazing bass, amazing price. Strongly recommend for home use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony - Portable Wireless Speaker with Bluetooth

SRS-X55 05/05/2016 by V19777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a wifi speaker which was some obscure make and I had to return it and get a full refund the following day as the signal would only travel about 4'. I then bought this Sony at a large retail store and it was everything I wanted. It's fantastic - great sound and quality. The sound quality through my laptop is not good but now have great sound quality through this portable speaker. Thoroughly recommend it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Solid Sound

SRS-X55 14/04/2016 by Millydo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite regular in shape and size, this portable speaker packs a punch way above what it would appear to be capable of. The sound is clear and solid, particularly at the bass end and this is borne out by quality speakers adding weight to what is a small item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Awesome

SRS-X55 04/03/2016 by Wolfie1946 (United Kingdom)

Listened to several to replace my old boombar.This piece of kit is the best sounding Bluetooth speaker around for the price range. Bass is excellent well balanced, all round sound is great,30 watts is ample,will really dish it out without distortion in average size room. Never fail to give a demo to visiters who are likewise impressed. Definitely no regrets purchasing this item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great, suits my needs...

SRS-X55 28/02/2016 by MTellis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product has delivered on all expectations. Sound is superb for size and is aesthetically pleasing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good purchase.

SRS-X55 26/02/2016 by Nacnud 46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A quality product - clear sound and reasonable bass - but not as good as my Sony MDR-ZX600 headphones which have a much greater dynamic range.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great little speaker

SRS-X55 24/02/2016 by 1frank2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker to move about the house for my iPad and phone etc. Brilliant love it the only thing I feel the bass is a little too much on certain tracks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

SRS-X55 22/02/2016 by dyegof7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good product. the connection is stead and the performance is great. highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound!

SRS-X55 03/02/2016 by elKevino (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a Christmas present to myself as I seem to only listen to music through my headphones or the laptop speakers (bad) or the TV (better but tinny). I have not regretted it as the sound is exceptional for something as small as an old wireless radio. Crystal clear, exceptional bass and sharp treble - all fully adjustable with any phone's EQ. Well worth the investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-X55 01/02/2016 by 70s child (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was going to buy a Bose unit but when I compared the two at the shop the Sony won hands down the depth of sound is great I have a fairly lath kitchen and it fills it with sound no problem. My only one small issue is the bass could have a little more punch but this is a taste thing. I would definitely recommend this Bluetooth speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

SRS-X55 30/01/2016 by Chip shop girl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this earlier this month at the airport on my way out of the U.K. I used it in Costa Rica with no problem thanks to the different adapters that came with it. The sound is just fab, crystal clear and great volume unlike some other speakers out there. By far the best I have tried. Love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0