Skip to Content
16

3.6 based on 16 customer reviews

7
3
2
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony srs x88

SRS-X88 03/02/2016 by Mickmc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic piece of kit,multiple choice of connection options all work well ,although I find Google cast works best for me,I have a Bose sound link lll and my sony srs x88 has a better sound all-round.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Firmware Corrupts Product

SRS-X88 04/03/2017 by Wayne77 (United Kingdom)

The product looks great on paper but the firmware released in September 2016 and still offered immediatedly corrupts the speaker and renders its sound and function inoperable.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

11

1

16 Customer Reviews

0

nice features but sound sucks

SRS-X88 05/10/2017 by lhoemer (USA)

Bought one of these a few months ago and was pretty happy at first. Now not a happy camper, anything with a little base at mid volume settings and there is a constant pop from the woofer. Service center was not helpful either.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2017

Hi lhoemer, we're sorry to hear about this. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

Best electrical item in my home

SRS-X88 05/07/2017 by Wanderingstar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovey speaker, had two years now sounds great, works from my phone and connects easy, have two so I can play them both together in different rooms, if they ever break would buy again, definitely worth the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Firmware Corrupts Product

SRS-X88 04/03/2017 by Wayne77 (United Kingdom)

The product looks great on paper but the firmware released in September 2016 and still offered immediatedly corrupts the speaker and renders its sound and function inoperable.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

11

1

0

Srs x88 bluetooth wifi speakers

SRS-X88 19/02/2017 by Pmazumdar63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this for over a year. 1. The high frequencies are superb. 2. The bass is somewhat subdued for a powered speaker. 3. The build quality is unparalleled. 4. A portable power pack would be useful to make it totally independent. 5. A bass subwoofer output would be a great addition. Overall, am very happy.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Avoid!

SRS-X88 16/02/2017 by Chandalf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This should be an excellent product and its' design and functions bear this out. But Sony have released a flawed firmware update (which the machine nags you to install) that renders it almost useless. The left speaker and all the touch controls no longer work. Six months on and Sony have not seen fit to either acknowledge the problem nor release a new update to remedy their error.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

6

4

0

Well chuffed

SRS-X88 07/12/2016 by Yicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks cool and works well with my WIFI Soundbar and Via Apple PC. Thinking of getting a portable battery unit soon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely sound and features

SRS-X88 06/12/2016 by zeewier (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great sounding good looking powered speaker which I am mainly using to listen to high quality internet audio streams via an attached internet receiver. I also listen wirelessly to my music collection sitting on a networked hard drive. Setting up the srs-x88 using the bluetooth connection on my iPhone and the SongPal app was easy. The only thing to be aware of is not to be tempted to install a new firmware version. You are encouraged to check for firmware updates in different ways: not only is there a flyer in the box stressing the importance of updating the firmware, also the SongPal app as well as an illuminated indicator on the top of the speaker give constant reminders that new firmware is available for download. However, this should NOT be done until further notice, as the downloaded firmware update turns out to be incompatible with the srs-x88. I am not sure what new features the update is meant to bring, but I don't really mind since I am extremely pleased with the speaker running on the factory installed firmware. My five-star overall rating of this product ignores this firmware issue, which I am sure will be sorted out by Sony in the near future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound, multi room function not quite there..

SRS-X88 27/08/2016 by Iang77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent audio quality as you would expect from Sony. The multi room function is slightly disappointing. Audio stops when grouping or ungrouping multiple units, and the it is not possible to select which unit is the 'master' in the group.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound and

SRS-X88 15/08/2016 by Kev744 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this now for a couple of weeks now and the sound is very impressive and is getting better as it gets warm and more hours under it's belt, The only down side that i can find is that the air play and bluetooth volume is tied with the device connected which means when you turn up the volume using the remote it actually turn up the volume on the connected device only this is easily over come just use the USB or 3.5mm jack and the sound is much better and you have both volume controls, maybe on the next update Sony may be working on a fix for this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great musically,poor connection

SRS-X88 26/03/2016 by Corrin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a speaker this x88 is great,sonically excellent and beautifully made.However even hard wired to the router the link light constantly flashes and the connection to AirPlay and Spotify connect is lost.Everything else has no problem keeping a connection,including my Sonos Play 5.Indeed there isn't a problem,but both a Sony x77 and x88 have found staying connected beyond them.Eventually I bought a Neet Wireless Receiver and stuck it in the 3.5mm jack of the x88,now no lost connection and problem solved.Not elegant but effective.The music this Sony is capable of is great,hi res to MP3 all sound wonderful,pity Sony made such a bad app and they are miles behind Sonos in all departments except style and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Sony srs x88

SRS-X88 03/02/2016 by Mickmc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic piece of kit,multiple choice of connection options all work well ,although I find Google cast works best for me,I have a Bose sound link lll and my sony srs x88 has a better sound all-round.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sony wifi speaker

SRS-X88 30/01/2016 by gigsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

relatively happy with speaker, however i would have preferred the capability of playing television sound through all speakers,just like song pal!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

0

First class

SRS-X88 21/01/2016 by geofft (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker just over 2 months ago, to enable me to stream music from my walkman. The richness of sound is brilliant. It is so easy to connect via Bluetooth & I am extremely pleased with my purchase. I cannot fault this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great sound

SRS-X88 14/01/2016 by Mr Algar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is lovely and plays with a quality sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SRS-X88 09/01/2016 by Robin WGC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for Xmas & New Year as an alternative to stream music rather than use my PS 2. It was incredibly easy to set up and to connect to my home wifi. The sound is great for such a small unit. I have yet to try hi res, but may wait til prices drop. I will definitely buy another unit in the near future in order to go multi room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Listed features sound great but fails to deliver

SRS-X88 28/06/2015 by annihilation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought three about 3 weeks ago and I have had nothing but issues with them. First the firmware they came with didn't support all the features. The grouping feature is also really bad, it doesn't always work, it doesn't remember the settings and it only sometimes works for the apps, e.g. Spotify. Additionally the units rarely wake up on command by an app even in correct standby mode. To top it off one of them had to go back due to a fault with one of the speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

30

23