Skip to Content
29

4.4 based on 29 customer reviews

20
4
3
2
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Sound

SRS-X9 25/05/2015 by Graffa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is amazing, 24 bit audio is outstanding, even MP3 sounds great. The power of this speaker is incredible for the size, even at high volume no sign of distortion. The build quality is also outstanding, the glass top looks classy, and has a good solid feel to the unit. Setup was a breeze, all done in 5 minutes, the app (Songpal) works really well, without any issues. I know this speaker is expensive, but you really do get what you pay for here, buy it you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sounds bad software

SRSX9 29/12/2014 by Toddm (USA)

It sounds great and is best in class compared to Bose but the lack of surface controls (preset buttons like Bose has) and the need to rely entirly on your tablet, mobile device or PC/Mac make it difficult for most to use. The SoundPal app looks like a 12 year olds first programing attempt. And it's frustrating the speaker takes so long to wake up and talk to the apps. That said, it still sounds amazing once it starts working.

12

0

29 Customer Reviews

0

A great product

SRS-X9 29/05/2015 by Studley Rhino (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's an awesome listen. The bass is superb, it doesn't distort and produces a fantastic sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-X9 25/05/2015 by Graffa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is amazing, 24 bit audio is outstanding, even MP3 sounds great. The power of this speaker is incredible for the size, even at high volume no sign of distortion. The build quality is also outstanding, the glass top looks classy, and has a good solid feel to the unit. Setup was a breeze, all done in 5 minutes, the app (Songpal) works really well, without any issues. I know this speaker is expensive, but you really do get what you pay for here, buy it you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

No built-in battery

SRSX9 13/05/2015 by KKEspada (USA)

Quite expensive for a speaker with no built-in battery. so thumb down for the mobility.

7

11

Response From Sony Support
14/05/2015

Hello KKEspada! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will forward this information regarding the battery to the proper department for future reference.

0

Fabulous sound.

SRS-X9 11/05/2015 by dunfr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because my B&W Zeppelin frequently 'dropped' its Air Play connection half way through listening. Never had a single "drop" with the SRS-X9; and it sounds better too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

very lovely sound and

SRS-X9 03/05/2015 by karlus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am very happy with this product, i like the sound ,and it is very easy to use.well done sony, for maintaining the high standard

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound beautifully made

SRS-X9 02/05/2015 by T9jag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and connectivity best sound for the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-X9 27/04/2015 by Keith62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic sound. Air play great Bluetooth great .songpal app not so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing Product

SRS-X9 12/04/2015 by and76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago to use with my Bluetooth enabled Sony Walkman MP3 player. The speaker is amazing - sound quality excellent, good balance of bass, mid and high frequency. Works brilliantly as a wireless speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Punches above its weight

SRS-X9 10/04/2015 by alephnullset (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first saw this advertised I thought it unlikely that such a small inexpensive box would sound good but I thought 'nothing ventured...'. So far I have been pleasantly surprised. One of the early tracks I listened to was Rebecca Pidgeon 'Spanish Harlem' from The Raven - Her voice was as clear and centered as I had expected - each of the individual maracas 'shakes' sounds distinct and different - naturally, not live but good enough to give pleasure from listening.. I also listened to Janos Starker 'Solo Cello Suites' by J S Bach.- I was looking to hear a 'woody' resonance of the cello along with the subtleties of phrasing and articulation that I know this recording has - I've listened through these twice now and I have not been disappointed by the sound quality. I also listened to the 24bit 88KHZ issue of 'Grrr' by the Rolling Stones -very enjoyable - crisp without overstating the bass with voices that did not disappoint. The last recording I will mention is 'Spem in Alium' By Thomas Tallis recorded by the Chapelle de Roi - I feel this is a exciting piece of vocal music (originally written for 5 8 voice choirs) - the voices are clear, musical and expressive and I found these qualities emerged as I listened. All in all I am very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

button Update

SRSX9 10/04/2015 by driss (USA)

I love this unit but i have problems with the update button. I turn the unit on and put it on network to play my music through wifi but then it jumps to the red button "Update" en gets stuck there forever. Its very annoying. can someone help please? thax

6

2

Response From Sony Support
11/04/2015

Hello driss, thank you for your message.

The UPDATE button lights up in orange once the Bluetooth® speaker detects a need of a software update. Tap and hold the UPDATE button until a beep is heard on the top side of the Bluetooth speaker to update the software.

NOTES:

It may take approximately 3-10 minutes to complete the software update.
The Bluetooth speaker goes into standby mode automatically and the UPDATE button goes out once the software update is complete.

If unable to complete a software update for the Bluetooth speaker, This may occur in an unstable network or wireless environment. It is recommended to use LAN cable to make a wired connection when performing a software update.

0

Stylish, with beautiful sound quality

SRS-X9 29/03/2015 by Riffman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top notch quality from Sony; this speaker both looks and sounds the part. I use Airplay to listen to my music through my iMac and iPad and the quality is stunning. Very easy to set up on the network using the WPS function on the SRS X-9 and our Sky router. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

brilliant

SRS-X9 28/03/2015 by phillyrob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

tossed the coin between tried and tested bose system but doesnt even have blue tooth connections on the x9 are amazing instant connections on all variants would reccomend to anyone branching into the sreaming market . oh and the sound just blows yuor socks and no distortion at full blast well done sony outstanding

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Happy but... wake on DAC would be nice

SRSX9 19/03/2015 by Veem (USA)

So far I am very pleased with my purchase, for the sake of the speaker. The sound is lovely, the visual aesthetic is good. However, I find some of the technological aspects of the system lacking, as follows: *Speaker does not wake when my computer powers on- this speaker is connected directly to my PC via the USB-B DAC connection. I have to manually power-on the speaker when I turn my computer on. I thought perhaps putting it into network standby mode would remedy the problem, but nope, still persists. *Lack of controls via computer- Shouldn't everything in Songpal be accessible via a web portal for the device? It's a pain to have to use my phone every time I want to make an adjustment to the speaker. *Lack of visual feedback on the speaker about volume level- I was able to find instructions that indicated that the unit can display WiFi signal strength via the 5 connection indicator lights, so why not have the same for the volume control? It wouldn't be 100% representative, but it would be helpful. Maybe each light could flash 4 times before going up the the next light, giving 20 total levels. Sony, you can fix these issues via firmware updates, putting together some software, etc. I would definitely bump my rating up to 4 stars if the speaker would give visual feedback re: volume level, and 5 start if it would turn on with my computer.

7

2

Response From SonySupport
21/03/2015

Hi Veem,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

unbelievable

SRS-X9 17/03/2015 by arsenal1886 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've got this almost 2 monts and I am so glad to play music with srs-x9

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound, but...

SRS-X9 09/03/2015 by HR Fan (United Kingdom)

Sounds clear and powerful with most connections. I could hear the difference In HR recordings played through wireless connection. Unable to play HR files on the Sony HR Walkman using the recommended connection to USB B port as the "optional lead" is not available anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

8

0

Stunning Sound

SRS-X9 05/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best sounding portable speaker available anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Nice design but bad sound

SRS-X9 09/01/2015 by Nickdrf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice design and quality feel but too much middle and not enough in lower frequencies. Needs a tone control perhaps.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

15

0

Great sound, but difficult to setup and control

SRS-X9 01/01/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound great! But I used is with a network server and control it with SongPal. It never works first time - get "communication error with selected device". SongPal does not retain settings - have to put it all in every time. Too frustrating and fiddly.

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

12

0

Great sounds bad software

SRSX9 29/12/2014 by Toddm (USA)

It sounds great and is best in class compared to Bose but the lack of surface controls (preset buttons like Bose has) and the need to rely entirly on your tablet, mobile device or PC/Mac make it difficult for most to use. The SoundPal app looks like a 12 year olds first programing attempt. And it's frustrating the speaker takes so long to wake up and talk to the apps. That said, it still sounds amazing once it starts working.

12

0

0

Fantastic Sound

SRSX9 04/12/2014 by Dermot (USA)

For such a small speaker, this really packs a punch. Combined with the ease of use of Airplay and Songpal, you can play music as easily from your laptop as your smartphone. Amazing sound quality and at full volume, you can easily wake the dead.

1

1

0

Great soumd and connectivity

SRS-X9 02/11/2014 by fozzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very worthwhile purchase. Sony have really done their homework to produce such an excellent speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

2

0

SRS-X9

SRS-X9 24/10/2014 by VW user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing piece of technology,easy to use,amazing connectivity and sophisticated looks. A compelling package.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

My Sony SRS X9

SRS-X9 25/09/2014 by Titan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good looking product, nice easy to read and use control panel that lights up, there are plenty of way to connect to this speaker system which is a very good and it will play pritty much any music format. The sound is good and easy to make out the stereo separation. but there are some details that lets it down. There is a lack of volume (not very loud) and the bass can be washed out by the mid/treble so i find my self struggling to here that deep punchy bass. Yes there are EQ setting so you can adjust the listen experience, but I like the EQ off as I think the speaker should perform well enought without any adjustment so a little disappointed. I'm not sure it really needs the upwards firing tweeters because even when playing Hi-Res audio there not that noticeable when it comes to it. That said this is still a nice speaker system and I like it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

36

0

i love it !

SRSX9 21/09/2014 by stevem075 (USA)

I must say I really fell in love with this speaker ... the sound is amazing and the look is very classy it sounds so good over Bluetooth I couldn't believe that such a small unit could produce such great sound thanks sony

2

0

0

Great Speaker BUT

SRSX9 09/09/2014 by dmadman (USA)

Awesome Speaker But, it would be nice to have 2. One for each end of the room, I know the speaker is stereo but I do like it to fill the room with a lower volume. Like old school stereo speakers. Or can I get 2 speakers and Bluetooth them both so they are synced together. I know since you have the technology to do it why can't you. 1 device --- 2 Speakers or more. Just a thought

16

3

Response From Sony Support
12/09/2014

Thank you for your feedback. I will forward this to the proper department for future reference.

0

Great purchase!

SRSX9 09/08/2014 by jollyhipolito (USA)

First off, these speakers are built with good quality materials in my opinion. Definitely very sleek and captivating. The top of the speakers are of a glossy finish; looks amazing! The buttons are hidden but when you hover your hand on top of the device for a split second, the touch sensitive buttons light up so you can see where they are - very cool! It also comes with a remote control. Sound quality; in my opinion they are fantastic. There may be people that can "judge" how good sound quality can be when it comes to these things, but from what I'm experiencing, they are amazing. So when it comes to this aspect, it's personal preference I suppose, but from my point of view, the sound quality is actually impressive. Also to note, this can be very loud if you want to (I don't haven't set it on the loudest volume setting) Connectivity: Many ways to connect to this device. I personally connect via Bluetooth with my Sony Vaio Z laptop and my Sony Xperia Z1 phone, or via NFC with my phone. There are other ways to connect if you have an iPhone if those options aren't compatible. And a few more options to connect otherwise. All around impressive qualities in everything with this device. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Pros: As stated above, plus much more that I didn't both to write, or else this would be an essay. Cons: I wish the power cable could be a foot longer. For my setup, the outlet is just far enough, giving it a tiny bit of slack. Because of the glossy finish, touching anywhere on the top can leave finger prints! Just control it with your phone/laptop, or the remote control that they give you to minimize finger prints.

8

1

0

Beautiful and premium design

SRSX9 15/07/2014 by Jdmaster (USA)

Every time I turn on this bluetooth speaker, I just get amazed by the sound quality! Thanks Sony !

12

2

0

Worth Every Penny!!

SRSX9 07/06/2014 by KBadOne84 (USA)

This product is a true example of Sony's audio legacy. The sound quality is simply brilliant! Its spacious, detailed, loud and the bass is tight and It plays any audio format you can think of. The design is simply state of the art, you have to see it in person to really appreciate the minimalist clean industrial design and the premium quality, Sony has proven that they are the top when it comes to product designs! The Bluetooth and WiFi connectivity are amazing, no signal drops and the SongPal acts like your second screen and remote control where you can navigate and select the inputs and adjust the speaker settings and sound settings. ***Advice to Sony, you have a clear winner hear, DSEE HX and S-MASTER HX should be implemented in all your high end audio products, such as Audio Receivers, Walkman digital players and Xperia flagship phones!

33

1

0

Surprising sound, stunning looks

SRSX9 06/03/2014 by therealbitboy (USA)

I'm writing this review only minutes after unboxing. First impressions: * The unboxing was a pleasure, with minimal wasted packaging and a friendly "welcome" package containing all the manuals and accessories. * This thing is compact and beautifully made. The construction seems extremely solid and well conceived. * Sound is very balanced, and refined. On electronic tracks like Daft Punk, Get lucky the bass is solid without being overblown or hollow. Cymbal resonance is clear and realistic, and this was all off 256kbps MP3s. Can't wait to try true Apple Lossless or Hi-res audio files. Overall I'm extremely impressed, compared to every other system of similar size that I've tested, Sony seems to be light years ahead.

61

4