Skip to Content
23

4.2 based on 23 customer reviews

13
4
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A New Listening Experience

SRS-X99 28/01/2016 by PixAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed to de-clutter my work room at home but still wanted a high quality source of music. This speaker seemed to fit the job, being much smaller than my current "second system" stacked on top of a cupboard. I had planned to use it in conjunction with my recently-purchased NW-ZX100 High Res Walkman via a Bluetooth connection. Upon receipt of the speaker, l was struck by its physical weight. It feels like a serious piece of kit. Once plugged in, l made the Bluetooth connection to my Walkman in seconds and off l went. It was so easy to set up. I left the speaker playing music for an hour or two before l started listening seriously. (All hi-fi needs a warm-up period) I was impressed immediately with its detailed and punchy sound. Having lived with the speaker now for a couple of weeks l can only say that l am very content. All my High Res Audio files sound amazing - rich, full of life and very tuneful. Perhaps even more impressive is the way it handles CD-quality files. It can upscale the sound and the results are rather good. The old adage applies, "garbage in, garbage out", but, given the best recordings, this speaker can deliver the goods. It can go really loud - too loud for my work space - but does not distort in any way. Treble highs really sparkle while bass remains taut and musical. I am yet to use the USB-B socket but all other links, wireless or otherwise, are working perfectly. This is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Problems with Wi-Fi and internet connection.

SRS-X99 29/12/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great, but drops Wi-Fi and internet connections after 2 - 60 minutes. Still trying to solve this after 2 weeks. These connections are essential for multiroom operation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

23 Customer Reviews

0

No HDMI arc

SRS-X99 11/12/2017 by Neo_1 (USA)

Why does such a big speaker not have an HDMI port while its lower models do!?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hi Neo_1, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

the perfect Bluetooth speaker

SRS-X99 23/11/2017 by Benjamin369 (USA)

I’ve had this speaker for a few months, and have not been disappointed in any way! The battery life is phenomenal and the sound quality is honestly the best I’ve heard from a wireless speaker. It’s big but not so big that it’s inconvenient to carry around. It’s kind of expensive for sure, but it pays off! This speaker is super durable and has not shown any signs of breaking or slowing down. It’s loud enough to be heard in pretty much any environment. I would recommend to any of my friends or family!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

average

SRS-X99 24/09/2017 by jcoltatg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker 15 days ago and the sound is not bad I listen hi-res music and i expect more powerfull speaker than this speaker

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, many features and design

SRS-X99 05/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago. I already have the SRS X88, which is excellent but less powerful. I wanted a rounder sound with multi room capability, but not all the wiring. It also links easily with both Sony and other devices including Android, Apple and Amazon.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Product

SRSX99 02/02/2017 by Hanz327 (USA)

I researched all bluetooth / wifi speakers before I purchased this. For my situation I felt this was the best product. It has excellent sound, great bass and really fills the room. Not to mention Sony is a company that is know to produce top of the line products at great prices. Very good value product. I read some reviews about people not happy with the bass response. Bass response is very good, but as an alternative solution you could purchase the Sony SA-CS9, which is a 10" 115W powered subwoofer. It's not wireless, but you could purchase a Google Chromecast Audio device and hook it up to the RCA plugs on the subwoofer. Sony Songpal app is compatible with Google Chromecast, so you could stream audio to both devices and I guarantee your ears will ring with the subs frequency response of 28–200 Hz. While the frequency response of the SRS-X99 is only 45–40,000, 20 being the lowest frequency the human ear can detect, it is still very good considering the size and purpose of this speaker system. The overall form factor is much smaller than I anticipated. I ran some subwoofer bass tests on youtube and am blown away by the volume and frequency response of this compact system. Product was shipped with the wrong power cord and the installation documentation is not in English. Now days most electronic products are designed for international use since it's cheaper than having multiple models for different markets. More specifically, most products have automatic power switching between 110v and 220v, so you don't need a converter, just an outlet adapter. While the product was shipped with a cord for 220v use, when I read the label on the bottom of the speaker it indicates it only operates at 220v. So I called Sony support and when they looked up the serial number, they indicated the label on the device was wrong. I borrowed a power cord from someone, and voila, the device powered up with no problem. I requested a credit from sell so I can purchase the correct cord. Connecting via Bluetooth was very easy, but to connect speaker to your wireless router with an iOS device is proving to be a little more difficult since they aren't NFC compliant. This is regarding the step in the instructions where you tap your phone to the "N" on the top of the speaker. This will transfer wireless router SSID and PW to the speaker automatically. However, without an NFC compliant wireless device, you will need to connect to the speaker with a computer via network cable to manually enter your wireless router SSID and password.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome power and clarity

SRS-X99 01/11/2016 by didd1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to work with my sony Soundbar as a multi room system and it doesn't fail to deliver excellent system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound.

SRS-X99 13/10/2016 by Tricky56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I listened to various small units but this larger model packs a bigger punch - though positioning close to a wall is needed to bring out the solid bass. The X99 delivers a clean, crisp sound. Easy to use with the SongPal app.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Speakers of the House

SRS-X99 24/08/2016 by meno45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned an SRS-X77 Sony speaker (which I also highly recommend), and was looking for another wireless Sony speaker to place in my lounge. I finally convinced myself to buy the SRS-X99, and I am so glad I did. I work from home and like to listen to music while working, and now have the same music playing from my PC, X77, X99, and my Sony AV receiver throughout the house via Airplay. Using the SongPal app, I grouped the X77 and X99 together to allow me to use Spotify (via wifi) simultaneously through both speakers at the same time. The sound quality of the speaker itself is superb - crystal clear without an over powering bass note. The build quality is also superb, the speaker has a reassuring heft to it along with a sturdy casing. The user buttons light up when your hand is close to the top surface, you don't need to touch it to activate the lights - a nice touch by Sony. Setting up the speaker was straightforward. I used the SongPal app and followed the setup instructions to add the speaker to my wifi network, it was very simple. I ran a test of music via Bluetooth versus wifi and wifi wins easily, so if you do buy a wireless speaker, make sure to get one that can be accessed via your wifi network for better sound reproduction. I haven't tested the USB A & B connectivity or HiRes playback, I'm sure other reviews will have some feedback for those subjects. Overall, highly recommended by me. I fully expect to be enjoying music via this speaker for a long long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

need more bass

SRS-X99 23/08/2016 by elvis presley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good audio need little more bass lovely looking audio

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Beautiful design , exellent sound

SRS-X99 09/07/2016 by Ribot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Clear dynamic sound esp for classical music Variety of options for streaming google cast,airplay,bluetooth. Already have naim muso,difference ? Muso louder great sound Sony crisp clear sound Both good and different.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony SRS X99.

SRS-X99 22/05/2016 by Wrightro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful quality. Fantastic Sound!! Lovely design!! Sound much better than Sonos and most other streaming speakers. Not very straightforward to set up each time!! Bluetooth and Wi-fi have a tendency to drop out!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

A superb quality sound system

SRS-X99 01/05/2016 by Toddler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this along with another x99 and an x77 to provide music in our living areas. First of all the multi room system is fantastic and easy to use. Having tried all the multi room speakers in the shop we decided that the x99 had the best mix of sound and aesthetics. The sound is fantastic with a deep bass and consistent sound even at high volumes. The speaker looks great also especially with the front cover off so that you can see the speakers pounding when you pump the volume up. Altogether a great product whether using the multi room or connecting to a single speaker via Nfc. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony speaker

SRS-X99 27/03/2016 by Malty1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not happy with this item wish I hadn't purchased it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

35

0

Amazing sound quality!

SRS-X99 26/02/2016 by Shezzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is so much better than hoped for. Really impressed with the smooth detailed audio. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - Wireless Speaker

SRS-X99 06/02/2016 by PJCosta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product one month ago and we are loving it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A New Listening Experience

SRS-X99 28/01/2016 by PixAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed to de-clutter my work room at home but still wanted a high quality source of music. This speaker seemed to fit the job, being much smaller than my current "second system" stacked on top of a cupboard. I had planned to use it in conjunction with my recently-purchased NW-ZX100 High Res Walkman via a Bluetooth connection. Upon receipt of the speaker, l was struck by its physical weight. It feels like a serious piece of kit. Once plugged in, l made the Bluetooth connection to my Walkman in seconds and off l went. It was so easy to set up. I left the speaker playing music for an hour or two before l started listening seriously. (All hi-fi needs a warm-up period) I was impressed immediately with its detailed and punchy sound. Having lived with the speaker now for a couple of weeks l can only say that l am very content. All my High Res Audio files sound amazing - rich, full of life and very tuneful. Perhaps even more impressive is the way it handles CD-quality files. It can upscale the sound and the results are rather good. The old adage applies, "garbage in, garbage out", but, given the best recordings, this speaker can deliver the goods. It can go really loud - too loud for my work space - but does not distort in any way. Treble highs really sparkle while bass remains taut and musical. I am yet to use the USB-B socket but all other links, wireless or otherwise, are working perfectly. This is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Could be so much better.

SRS-X99 05/01/2016 by Very unhappy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this speaker 1st then the Sony HT-NT3 and was planning to buy additional speaker for other room's. Both the Speakers have impressive sound and could not be happier with the sound or the Bluetooth conectivity, but the moment I tried to connect to Wi-Fi the hole experience changed would not accept Wi-Fi code. Managed to connect via IPad but the Songpal app has been a complete nightmare and very glitchy and music play back stops frequently. If you want a multy room system DO NOT BUY, as individual units they are very good. Overall very disappointed, I have wasted far too much of my life trying to get this to work properly. It should not take an hour to get both speakers playing the same music. These are not cheap and expected better for the cost and from SONY. May only req a better app to control devices ???. and woul like to hear from SONY

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

5

0

Problems with Wi-Fi and internet connection.

SRS-X99 29/12/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great, but drops Wi-Fi and internet connections after 2 - 60 minutes. Still trying to solve this after 2 weeks. These connections are essential for multiroom operation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

srs-x99

SRS-X99 22/12/2015 by warwickk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It could have used an optical input and an audio output for wireless earphones. Unless of course there is some configuration of adaptors currently unknown to me that will satisfy this?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

Sounds excellent

SRS-X99 14/12/2015 by Michael1992 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing bass and clarity the tweeter really capture the highest notes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An excellent product

SRS-X99 13/12/2015 by bluey466 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking at multi room systems for some time, and had compared a few. I am very happy with my choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Absolutely Brilliant

SRS-X99 15/09/2015 by Monty777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a premium product - it's sleek and black and stylish and powerful and it sounds absolutely brilliant !! It is a substantial piece of equipment, heavy and has the excellent build quality you expect from Sony. Best of all, it has fantastic sound quality - the bass is deep, the treble clear and the voices have a quality rarely heard, it all fits together perfectly - I have been listening to all sorts of music covering many genres (and years) in my substantial collection and am hearing things that I have never noticed before - although to be fair you get out what you put in so all of my collection is now in lossless Flac. I confess to having a lot of Sony products but they all work seamlessly together from the Media Go software on pc, through the SongPal app on Experia SP to the X99, all are easy to set up and work perfectly - even with each component in different rooms. Having added extra SD card storage to the NWZ A15 it is easy to connect via NFC and the Bluetooth sound is fantastic even if controlled from a distance. I can't comment on other connections as do not have any Apple products or like using Google. Set up from the box was easy, updating the internal software a doddle and connections to home broadband straightforward - and everything is still working without any dropout after a couple of weeks - it is very easy to use. I already have an X77 and the multi room set up is straightforward and works so can use both while inside and out - if only weather allowed! Just one small issue, using the Experia mobile Songpal app through pc does sap the mobile battery over a longish period (few hours in the evening) but guess that is to be expected and it can be charged from another room. Overall, to me, the X99 is a fantastic product, it looks good and sounds simply brilliant. Fantastic!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

srs99

SRS-X99 03/07/2015 by IBBY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality product, superb bass,mid tones and treble tones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0