30

4.0 based on 30 customer reviews

14
8
5
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

30 Customer Reviews

0

SRS-XB!2 Has The Bass!

SRSXB12/B 14/09/2019 by Dcarroll (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 9/13/19 and I love the sound quality. I purchased for use in the shower. I'll hang it on the supply tube behind the shower of water. I am impressed with the base response.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great as a travel companion

SRS-XB12 07/09/2019 by Joolsie53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really useful as a travelling companion and a stay at home buddy - this is my second one as I couldn't find a replacement USB charge cable (the one I bought on EBay had a different fitting) - be good to know if you supply spare cables - especially longer ones?!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Change request

SRS-XB12 04/09/2019 by Highfalutin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Please change the software to allow me to change the Bluetooth name of the units as I have more than one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Beyond my expectations!

SRSXB12/B 02/09/2019 by Printman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I live in an area with bad FM radio reception, so I got the Sony Extra Bass Wireless Speaker. Easy to Bluetooth to my Android phone. All I can say is WOW!!!!! This speaker for its size and low price is a super must have item!! Now I can listen to my classic rock FM radio stations while in my bathroom or garage. I'd give 10 stars if available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hi, Printman! That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the speaker. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Quality build; Good sound

SRSXB12/B 29/08/2019 by George23456 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice construction and even better sound. I was worried when I opened it that the sound wouldn't be the best due to the speaker only being on the top but sound fills the room. Highly recommend. Set up took seconds unlike some BT speakers where you have to play around with the pair button for a minute.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, George23456!

We would like to thank you for your recommendations and for this amazing review. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Great little speaker

SRS-XB12 27/08/2019 by JaneyJay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought me this and I am so happy with it. It’s quite powerful and very easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 24/08/2019 by Kazza66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this speaker a few weeks now and am really impressed with the sound quality for such a small item. It seems to have a long charge and would highly recommend this. Looking forward to trying it out by the pool in the villa in Cyprus!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing soind for amazing price!

SRS-XB12 21/08/2019 by Piderski (United Kingdom)

I just bought this Speaker yesterday and so far i'm very pleased with the compact form factor and the amazing soind quality. Me being an audiophile on a budget i would recommend this product to any basic person lokking for a good, cheap speaker or another audiophile on a budget like me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

SRSXB12/B 19/08/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent product I recommend it to my friends and family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, Johndasey1!

We are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate the recommendation and thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Tiny little wonder.

SRS-XB12 17/08/2019 by Dirty Tony (USA)

I wanted a compact speaker for audiobooks and podcasts. After watching product reviews online, the xb12 stood out, so I grabbed two at the local big box store. Turned out to be a solid choice. They don’t get super loud, even after a short break-in period. But, the price/sound quality ratio is solid. I really think they should’ve had 5.0 Bluetooth, but they don’t; my only gripe. And yeah, SONY does offer bigger stuff, but these fit in my backpack or my gym bag with ease, so I’m good. One more thing: while they certainly work for podcasts and such, if you’re going to listen to a lot of music, they need to be isolated; it really helps stereo imaging. I cut two coaster size pieces from an old carpet remnant; you’ll be surprised how well this works.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/08/2019

Hi, Dirty Tony!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Buy 2 Make Stereo!!!

SRS-XB12 13/08/2019 by Kaiz (USA)

Make it stereo the sound is amazing!!! u can put at pilow side . I love it .small and sound quality is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/08/2019

Hi, Kaiz!

We're very glad to hear that! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Hangs from my hip and I can barely hear it.

SRS-XB12 29/07/2019 by Mravrgejoe (USA)

It works fine for maybe 3-4 hours but then the volume drops to a whisper. I tried to find a decibel rating when shopping for a Bluetooth speaker, I guess I will just know not to buy Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Mravrgejoe!

We're sorry to hear about this. Normally, the volume drops when the battery goes very low, but it will never go to a point where all you can hear is a whisper. To isolate the issue, please follow these steps.

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xb12/v1/en/contents/TP0002133466.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

Undecided

SRS-XB12 29/07/2019 by Dog1955 (USA)

Got this Sony Bluetooth speaker. Sound quality and size is great. But how do you shut it off? Blue light stays on for a long time with numerous times pressing the button and Bluetooth button off

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Dog1955!

We're very happy to hear that. To turn off the speaker, you just need to press the power/pairing button once. You will see a couple of light blinks before it completely shuts off, this is normal, and there is no need to press another button.

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Sam

0

So far so good except for the buttons

SRSXB12/B 16/07/2019 by StmpJmpr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The buttons blend in with the speaker and hard hard to find. I recommend you paint the buttons to make them easier to find

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2019

Hello, StmpJmpr! I do apologize if the unit did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the time you have taken giving us this feedback and will actively use it to improve our product and services. Thanks! - Romeo


0

Small and Compact

SRS-XB12 13/07/2019 by Keith T B (USA)

For a compact speaker, the sound quality and value are great . This product is easy to pair with my Apple devices ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Solid little speaker

SRS-XB12 04/07/2019 by Trocars19 (USA)

Great sound and bass from this Sony unit. Best suited for a small room or office, or if you're outdoors but in close proximity. I bought this speaker because it is the perfect fit for the water bottle mount on my bicycle. However, it is not loud enough when riding. My JBL Charge 3 is much louder and better suited for outdoor listening.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

easy to operate

SRSXB12/B 24/06/2019 by Tom52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just setting up my new audio system for my apartment was so easy. I thought it would be more complicated but that was not the case. I plan on buying another speaker for my total audio listening gratification.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT SOUND

SRSXB12/H 15/06/2019 by Westfel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the XB12 Extra Bass . It has great sound. My husband was doubtful but when I connected to my music he was impressed!! Nice and compact and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Easy set up and decent sound for small speaker

SRS-XB12 10/06/2019 by Raz_of_3dc (USA)

Just bought this little travel speaker. Super easy connection and pretty darn good sound especially given the tiny size of it. Base boost is impressive for a tiny guy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11/05/2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

8

0

0

Easy paring with my devices

SRS-XB12 09/05/2019 by Doug1954 (USA)

Recently purchased from Best Buy. It easily paired with my IPad and iPhone. Sound great for the price. Controls are not that difficult to work. Just what I need to listen to music while relaxing. It beat having to plug in my Sony headphones or earbuds all the time. Sound a lot better that the speakers that are on my ipad. It is a great price for a Sony speaker wireless speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small and compact with nice sound

SRS-XB12 08/05/2019 by Steve62m (United Kingdom)

I was totally surprised by the small size of this product and was sure the sound was going to be tinny. But after playing various types of music ( trance, electro mechanical, vocal and instrumental ) the sound was very good for the size of the device. A brilliant feature is you can link two of them to have left and right hand channels, and would of liked to give that a try. The instructions are easy to follow and the Bluetooth sync to my iPad less than 20 seconds , also sync to android phone was straight forward. Overall I was shocked how good this device is , well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

6

0

0

Solid Bluetooth Speaker with wide sound range

SRS-XB12 03/05/2019 by Steve125 (United Kingdom)

I found this to replace an older Bluetooth speaker. This is a bit larger and gives a wider range of sound. Pairing was easy and worked with iMac, Windows PC and mobile phone. I liked the sound quality, but my wife preferred the lower top-end frequency of the old product. Buttons are easy to use and USB port easy to access for charging. Longer battery life is a real bonus. I like the rubberised finish and the slight tacky circle on the base to increase stability and bass transfer. I haven't tested the waterproof capability, but it looks like it would survive a dip in the pool. Hands-free facility is something that I don't think I would use, but can see where it might be useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

3

0

0

Take music everywhere

SRS-XB12 02/05/2019 by hobbsy (United Kingdom)

Just taken delivery of my new XB12 Extra Bass speaker First thing that impressed me was the cool colour of my speaker a reddy orange, very new look The speaker has a great tactile feel with its smooth rubber finish. Once fully charged I switched my speaker on and linked it to my Walkman very easily. I carried the speaker using the great colour match carry strap. The sound is exceptional for such a compact speaker Noticeable is the sharpness of the top line. The clarity is excellent. The bass line is great and in spite of the powerful bass there is no distortion whatsoever I used the speaker both inside and outside and in the open the sound of the music was still sharp and crisp. I got rained on, sudden shower, but water did not bother the speaker. Although the speaker is not stereo this fact is not really a negative, I hardly noticed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

2

0

0

Go Anywhere

SRS-XB12 02/05/2019 by Hobbler (United Kingdom)

Been all over the place with me Background music whilst working Used it in the garage and in the garden Really sharp sound all the top end was crisp and clear Nice bass not too heavy but good and driving beat Even though the signal is mono the sound is spread and makes the music sound great The speaker has a great tactile feel to it The funky colours are great mines orange/red Holds its charge really well Really great speaker highly mobile Bluetooth link perfect

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

GOOD SOUND IN A COMPACT FORM

SRS-XB12 24/02/2019 by tbone44 (USA)

1 month as owner and this very compact sound system is aacceptable partner to my i phone.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

Response From Sony Social Support
28/02/2019

Hi tbone44,

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit, we are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
Earl

0

Good

SRS-XB12 18/02/2019 by Car sat 2 (USA)

Make the Sony srs xb 13 for next You have 360 sound. With fabric grill

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

7

0

Trash

SRS-XB12 12/02/2019 by Santana16 (USA)

I bought this speaker recently and it is absolutely trash, you can barely hear anything when you got the volume halfway and to top it off it doesn’t let you turn up all the way. Biggest disappointment of all 2019, would not recommend.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

24

0

No charger USB

SRS-XB12 10/02/2019 by Liveformusic (USA)

For $60 bucks and it doesn't even come with a USB charger. Returning it tomorrow, major BS. Good sound quality but not worth $60 and doesn't even come with a charger, complete garbage.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

21

0

For $60!!!!

SRS-XB12 12/01/2019 by Cynncynn (USA)

I got this for a Christmas gift and after I used it I thought it had to have been the cheapest little speaker ever, when I found out it was $60 I was so shocked, it is NOT worth $60 it doesn’t hold battery life and it isn’t loud at all, and it blue tooth but I can step more then 5 feet away from mine before it starts lagging and skipping

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

18

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2019

Hello Cynncynn, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may visit the links provided below and follow the troubleshooting steps to isolate and fix the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/portable-speakers-srs-series/srs-xb12/articles/00097458
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/portable-speakers-srs-series/srs-xb12/articles/00025935
Regards, _Bob