83

4.3 based on 83 customer reviews

50
17
7
5
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11/05/2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03/07/2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

83 Customer Reviews

0

Love it!!!

SRS-XB12 02/08/2020 by JN76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the speaker a month ago - quality sound, easy to use and great battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRSXB12/L 23/07/2020 by ayouya4 (USA)

The sound quality is so good!! and also the size, since it's very small, you can easily take it anywhere and still get the same bass and sound, I love it!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/07/2020

Hi ayouya4, good to know that you're enjoying the sound quality of the speaker. Enjoy big beats on the go with the SRS-XB12 wireless speaker, featuring EXTRA BASS, an updated IP67 waterproof and dustproof design, and up to 16 hours of battery life. Small and compact enough to fit in a small bag or a cupholder, life on the move just got a lot more fun. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 21/07/2020 by OvidiuM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I decided to buy them I had some doubts as I read some unfavourable reviews. I was overwhelmed by the very good sound quality. I used them on my living-room and i have to reduce the volume as they were so loud, and in my garden where I can throw a party using them with great success. They are loud and with greate bass. I bought 2 of them for the stereo sound. The price on Amazon was £39.99. A great price for a great quality. If the Sony logo was embossed as the previous model would be the best ever speaker for its size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

For its size, a giant

SRSXB12/B 21/07/2020 by idontwantto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whatever you are listening in your phone, goes to the XB12 powerfully. I guess you are getting better sound while saving your cell's battery. Super simple.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2020

Hello idontwantto,

That's right! Compact yet powerful, the SRS-XB12 portable wireless speaker features EXTRA BASS for deep, punchy sound and a battery life of up to 16 hours. It's also waterproof and dustproof for your peace of mind. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

SRS-XB12 20/07/2020 by alyshabucci (USA)

This speaker works very well and is loud for being a small product. Its portable and easy to bring places!

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/07/2020

Hi alyshabucci, Great! We're glad to hear you like the powerful sound this speaker delivers despite its compact size. The SRS-XB12 speaker features EXTRA BASS for a deep, punchy sound with a battery that can last up to 16 hours. It's also waterproof and dustproof for your peace of mind. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

SRS-XB12 17/07/2020 by daniels41 (USA)

Bass on this speaker is intense yet amazing it is pretty affordable and I like the Bluetooth aspect. I would improve this product by making it more scratch resistant. I would recommend to others.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/07/2020

Hi daniels41, Thank you so much for the great review & the feedback! We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your XB12 with EXTRA BASS. We hope you are enjoying the easy portability with the detachable strap. If you would like to add more sound pair with another XB12 for stereo sound. Enjoy the durability of the IP67 rated speaker no longer worried about water, or dust. Keep your playlists going with up to 16 hours of battery life. We also appreciate your feedback about it being scratch resistant. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great little gadget

SRS-XB12 16/07/2020 by Len71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works with both iPhone and IPad and also old iPod with add on Bluetooth transmitter. Used on recent motorhome trip and well happy with purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Design

SRS-XB12 15/07/2020 by Haptonbob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fabulous sound from a small unit. Clever design and. Easy to Use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bass

SRS-XB12 15/07/2020 by Jancifd (USA)

I bought it about a week ago and so far Im happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/07/2020

Hi Jancifd, we're glad that you are satisfied with your XB12. Enjoy big beats on the go with the SRS-XB12 wireless speaker, featuring EXTRA BASS, an updated IP67 waterproof and dustproof design, and up to 16 hours of battery life. Small and compact enough to fit in a small bag or a cupholder, life on the move just got a lot more fun. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

I did not expect it to sound so low!

SRS-XB12 12/07/2020 by algov3 (USA)

I bought this to animate my quarantine days, and checked some reviews on the Internet, and saw that it was good. But, surprise(!), two notches below max volume, the speaker becomes irrelevant. So much for $40... Although I like the bass it has for its size, I feel disappointed, and I think I will have to return it. The cheaper Go 2 that I have sounds louder (albeit without as much bass)... as a bluetooth speaker of small size is expected to sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/07/2020

Hello algov3,

We're so sorry if the sound quality of our XB12 did not meet your expectations. On this site, we can assist customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

SRS-XB12 05/07/2020 by rubenp2 (USA)

Is a good product, but his big brothers are so much better, for NOT so much money, good quality sound, great bas, water resistant, is for a bathroom or something, I think is you want to spend some money go further with his brothers

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2020

Hi rubenp2,

Thanks for the 5 Star review! We're glad to know you're satisfied with the great sound quality and features of our SRSXB12 EXTRA BASS Mini Bluetooth Speaker.

Enjoy big beats on the go with the SRS-XB12 portable wireless speaker. Featuring EXTRA BASS™ for deep, punchy sound and a battery life of up to 16 hours. In addition to the waterproof rating you noted, it is also dustproof for your peace of mind.

Thanks for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03/07/2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2020

Hi mlboul, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with the volume of this unit. Please follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue:

https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__helpguide.sony.net_speaker_srs-2Dxb12_v1_en_contents_TP0002133463.html&d=DwIFAw&c=fP4tf--1dS0biCFlB0saz0I0kjO5v7-GLPtvShAo4cc&r=PhozRCzd-5u2m_QN6EC844fZ_7ZqvsvCBTiZ2OCNRyk&m=AfZmP82sNtfBj_vCEgKXK6xwBpi6M87kPv3iW3SpsdE&s=ukiI43QXDIBGu89aHTQlypecntfg0t1qpWjBFE0rNBM&e=

SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Great Bass!!

SRS-XB12 23/06/2020 by Eskimosound (United Kingdom)

Lovely shape and feel, quality sound. Used as just a mono speaker for fill sound rather than anything technically correct. Love the fact that it's splash proof, reminded me of the old Yellow Sports Walkman range, would look brilliant in bright yellow. Has a tendancy to move across table at high volumes so best hanging from something

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bluetooth Speaker XB12

SRS-XB12 19/06/2020 by Ken82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good product , but previous XB10 purchased now only works as Headset , not as Speaker ( Awaiting info from Sony as to solution )

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SRS-XB12 19/06/2020 by yesim1 (USA)

These speaker has a loud sounds and the quality is vey clear and great!!! Its also easy to carry around, and it fits anywhere.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi yesim1,

Great! We're happy to know you're satisfied with the sound quality of your new XB12. Enjoy big beats on the go, without the worry, as your XB12 is waterproof and dustproof for your peace of mind.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

SRS-XB12 19/06/2020 by mmmmmmmmmmmmm (USA)

This speaker from Sony is stylish and small. It's small enough to take anywhere you want, and gives close to the the promised 16 hrs of run time. The speaker is about the size of a half-height can of soda, so it's easy to grab and throw in a bag or just carry by hand (or by wrist using the strap). The body is coated with a rubberized coating and the controls are well separated and easy to find, even without looking. Like some of the other Sony speakers, this speaker allows you to add an additional speaker to either broadcast the same signal or to create stereo sound; the only down side is that it has to be the same model. The sound from the speaker is good; music is reproduced without sounding tinny, and the Extra Bass is quite evident. Although the sound is good, I found the volume to be a little disappointing. The speaker will easily fill a relatively quiet room with whatever you want, but I found I had to max out the volume on the speaker and run the volume of my phone almost to max if there was any competing noise (eg. mower outside, vacuum in adjacent room), and at that volume, the bass began to distort. All in all, I like the speaker. In my opinion, it's size, convenience, and overall sound make up for the lack of volume.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi mmmmmmmmmmmmm, Thank you for such an in-depth review of your new XB12! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience. In case you have not tried it yet, press and hold the Play/Pause/Phone button until you hear your que. This will activate your smart features on your phone, so you can select the music you want to hear without touching your phone. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

SRS-XB12 18/06/2020 by angelicat28 (USA)

For something that small it worked very well. Its a perfect size to have in your purse

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi angelicat28, We're glad to hear you're enjoying your XB12 portable speaker. Your right, the XB12 will fit into most purses, and if your makeup happens to pop open and get all over your speaker… fear not you can just wash it off in the sink. If only they made purses as durable. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Easy to use

SRS-XB12 17/06/2020 by Derek1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this rather than an alternative and have found it an excellent purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A1 5*

SRS-XB12 15/06/2020 by Bandsman909 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted compact quality unit with a big sound. Sony didn’t disappoint. Really impressed with everything about this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 15/06/2020 by ana_valeria (USA)

This is a very good product the price also matches the good quality use it on a daily very easy to use the battery lasts long if you need something quick to use this is def a good option:) recommend.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2020

Hi ana_valeria, we're glad you like your new XB12 speaker! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for the great feedback! The XB12 is Sony's go anywhere speaker. Its small enough to fit in cup holders or get strapped onto you backpack without weighing you down. It is also waterproof and dustproof for your piece of mind. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Bought 2 of these!

SRS-XB12 14/06/2020 by Gill1066 (United Kingdom)

Easy to operate and bought 2 to beable to listen to music in different rooms without having to move speakers around. Only slight criticism is the instructions in packaging on how to pair 2 speakers, but the online instruction manual with step by step guide is much easier to follow!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little speaker

SRS-XB12 11/06/2020 by Adrian11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice compact speaker, easy to set up, very good sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 08/06/2020 by adaleydip (USA)

I absolutely LOVE the sound of this lil speaker and the deep bass is just perfect !! Also the connectivity to an iPhone was so easy and it's the perfect size, as well as the it having a 16 hour charge !!! I would buy it all over again for all the features it offers and the sound couldn't be any better and, of course, you can never go wrong with a Sony !!!

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 06/06/2020 by ering66 (USA)

This speaker is amazing I love everything about the quality of the sound is perfect it is so easy to use I love how its Bluetooth very easy to handle it is amazing the price is affordable I would definitely buy it again.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2020

Hi ering66, we're glad you like the XB12 so much! It really is amazing for its size! If you do pick up another one, remember you can pair them together for even more fun. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Good sound quality

SRS-XB12 30/05/2020 by Raj123 (United Kingdom)

Good sound quality with excellent features. Good Price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0