173

4.4 based on 173 customer reviews

120
29
10
7
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11/05/2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03/07/2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

173 Customer Reviews

0

It’s a very nice

SRSXB12/G 20/04/2021 by omarm15 (USA)

It’s a very nice device love it honestly perfect design! Sony really do a very nice job with this extra bass

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I got this speaker

SRSXB12/B 14/04/2021 by richloe13 (USA)

I got this speaker and was very impressed with the sound quality and bass. It actually makes the whole surface shake and rattle. It has a good battery life and clear sound.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

This small piece of

SRSXB12/H 08/04/2021 by christinatina (USA)

This small piece of music is everything and travels everywhere I go. The size is small which is the reason I like it but the volume is more than enough! Also it’s waterproof for a crazy weather experiences! There’s nothing negative I can say for this little speaker!!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

My little Sony XB12

SRSXB12/L 07/04/2021 by brookc6 (USA)

My little Sony XB12 Extra Bass speaker makes pool and beach days...heck, even cooking, so much more fun! Everyone asks me what kind it is and they are always impressed because it is little, but mighty!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

compact and with good

SRSXB12/L 31/03/2021 by veronicaa7d55 (USA)

compact and with good sound, we received it as a gift last Christmas and I really liked it, the sound is good, just what I was looking for

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Sounds great and works

SRSXB12/R 25/03/2021 by msjaydee (USA)

Sounds great and works great. We take it to the beach, on hikes, in the garage while working out. Gets the job done and easily attaches to things.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Amazing Sound

SRS-XB12 24/03/2021 by Cinders57 (United Kingdom)

Easy to install. Well packaged. lightweight and great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good little speakers for

SRSXB12/R 24/03/2021 by mickeym23 (USA)

Good little speakers for the quality. My daughter really loves these around the house and in the garage. Definitely could recommend them.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I enjoy this speaker

SRSXB12/R 23/03/2021 by arlyc3 (USA)

I enjoy this speaker a lot because you can use it wherever you go and from very far distance as well. I enjoy that it is waterproof and it won’t be damaged. Still only downside is having to download apps to connect to my iOS device.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I love this little

SRSXB12/G 22/03/2021 by staceypaee7 (USA)

I love this little speaker ! My hubby got this for me last Christmas and I use it every week while cleaning my house and we love it for the beach to listen to music

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great sound but v.fiddly buttons

SRS-XB12 20/03/2021 by AcousticMatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The waterproofing makes this a brilliant shower companion and the sound is great for the size. But the buttons are impossible to identify because they're just slightly raised symbols made of the same colour rubber as the main case. They'd be ideal for Braille readers. But I'm endlessly pressing the wrong one because they're so small and indistinguishable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

For a tiny speaker,

SRSXB12/G 18/03/2021 by lotusmama (USA)

For a tiny speaker, the sound is actually pretty good. The speaker connects easily to my iPhone and is simple to set up. I’ve tried other small Bluetooth speakers, but the sound wasn’t as crisp. I would recommend this speaker. [product:sony-xb12-extra-bass-portable-bluetooth-speaker]

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Easy connections, fairly loud

SRSXB12/G 16/03/2021 by donniej1 (USA)

Easy connections, fairly loud for such small speaker and pretty good quality although overtime and loud enough playing time speaker quality starts to buzz.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I love it its

SRSXB12/B 13/03/2021 by jesser22 (USA)

I love it its so tough i mean this little speaker can take a beating and keep pounding out the music. I havent submersed mine under water but i have had it in the shower with me and rain is no problem either Yes i would have to recommend this speaker to anyone who likes music One nice thing about these speakers are when i got 2 of them you could link then together for more sound

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I enjoy this one.

SRSXB12/L 13/03/2021 by jasminer127 (USA)

I enjoy this one. It has a nice sound but I felt like I was constantly charging it. Very nice sound and very good quality

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great quality but overpriced

SRSXB12/H 12/03/2021 by lovebxny (USA)

Great quality but overpriced to me so I would rather find one with A lower price point that seems reasonable.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Sony Supremacy

SRS-XB12 10/03/2021 by MRC56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does exactly what I wanted and so I decided to double-up and go stereo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

SRS-XB12 09/03/2021 by Ella1431 (United Kingdom)

Love this speaker, it has perfect sound and bass :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SRS-XB12 26/02/2021 by Chesvin Chacko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two weeks ago and it has good features..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

We have this in

SRSXB12/B 19/02/2021 by tanyaa30 (USA)

We have this in our living room and it’s perfect when we have guests over and we need to play some music , the sound travels throughout the whole room.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

I like the way

SRSXB12/H 14/02/2021 by derynt (USA)

I like the way the speaker plays music it’s really good for parties or calming music for you to stay in your home and listen to sometimes I recommend it not the best out of the best but still pretty good!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

So tiny, but so

SRSXB12/H 14/02/2021 by cinquec1 (USA)

So tiny, but so loud and powerful. I really love blasting my favorite music using this speaker. It’s super cute, waterproof, durable, and affordable!!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Powerful sound from a small speaker

SRS-XB12 13/02/2021 by Fred100 (United Kingdom)

I bought two of these, they connect wirelessly to play stereo or just to play in two different rooms. Great to take outdoors.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

What a sound from coffe cup!!

SRS-XB12 13/02/2021 by remah (United Kingdom)

Outstanding sound from a speaker no bigger than a coffee cup - it is truly remarkable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I have owned different

SRSXB12/B 10/02/2021 by daliastyling (USA)

I have owned different sizes of portable Sony speakers over the years and have never been upset. In terms of how they are made and how they sound, the standard is outstanding. Nothing different from this Sony SRS-SB12. 10/10 would buy again!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

This speaker is one

SRSXB12/H 09/02/2021 by member910971 (USA)

This speaker is one of the best portable speakers out there. The extra bass is enough to actually hear the bass, but you can’t quite feel it. The battery life is an incredible 16 hours of use, but after about 12 hours the volume will reduce. The best feature is the size. It can for in a standard car cup holder. And it’s water resistant, so you can clip it on yourself and head out without worrying about putting it in a bag.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Excellent product woks really

SRSXB12/B 08/02/2021 by trentons3 (USA)

Excellent product woks really good there is nothing I would change about it at all i would use it everyday possible and I would most definitely be buying another one if given the opportunity hands down best around and one of my all time favorites!!!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Overall my favorite. Very

SRSXB12/G 06/02/2021 by samantita (USA)

Overall my favorite. Very portable battery last a long time and the bass and sound is amazing

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great size and great

SRSXB12/H 04/02/2021 by jennifert244 (USA)

Great size and great sound! Easy to use and it’s better than any other speaker I’ve had in the past

Taken from influenster.com

0

0