83

4.4 based on 83 customer reviews

56
18
2
1
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great speaker - but you will need to tweak...

SRS-XB40 29/09/2017 by SteveLBMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A quick scan of online videos will confirm what you need to know about this speaker - it is brilliant, when you have adjusted the grpahic equalizer settings (you can do this using Sony's "Music Center" which aslo allows you to change the light settings, or with a media player like VLC. When bass boost is on, both the mids and trebles need to be increased, otherwise it sounds to "muddy". Once tweaked, sounds brilliant and the lights are great fun!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed in speaker

SRS-XB40 15/03/2018 by Ryanc1273 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this hoping that I’d be able to blast music non stop for hours, but the speaker doesn’t let you have the speaker at full volume for a good time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

83 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 08/07/2018 by Palyniam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow. This is as good as it sounded in the shop where I bought it. The bass is great and can even be better with a button push. Gimmicky lights for disco effect but a nice touch. Really easy to pair up. Downside for me is I would have like a usb port so I could put music on it and play rather than stream.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound app needs improvement

SRS-XB40 05/07/2018 by Top_Bloke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for holidays and using in the garden. The sound quality is very good with a deep bass and clear upper tones. The lights and strob are a nice touch but unnecessary. My biggest grip is the app you can use to control the speaker and lights. It's basic and is very clunky to use. If this was made slicker then this speaker would be the ultimate speaker although a little on the heavy side.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Sounds great

SRS-XB40 29/06/2018 by Nayeam (USA)

Sounds great extra bass just wow and charge is phenomenal good job SONY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant speaker with a couple of small negatives

SRS-XB40 28/06/2018 by al4188 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound indoors and outdoors. No usb charging and battery life is just ok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound.

SRS-XB40 20/06/2018 by No1Tourist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item mainly to take on our holidays as we love our music and with all music you gotta have bass and it has that by the bucket load..The battery life is brilliant so far, bearing in mind it is still new, we've used it approx 5 times & around 12hrs and it still has 50% battery left to use..Overall so far this is a brilliant product and we'll worth the money..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality.

SRS-XB40 14/06/2018 by Concorder03 (USA)

I bought my unit about 2 months ago and the speaker blew my mind. The bass is unbelievable for such a small thing. At first I though the lights would be childish but I find myself switching them on everytime, the light show surely adds an extra dimension to the music! The overall sound quality is impressive. Another great product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great volume

SRS-XB40 06/06/2018 by Tanguero (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used this for about a month I am pleased to note that in spite of the size of rooms I use it in I have not had to use full volume yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Speaker!

SRS-XB40 03/06/2018 by bb49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony SRS-XB40 Bluetooth Speaker to replace a cheaper speaker that had poor sound quality and I'm so glad I did. It has superb sound, rich deep base without loss of treble and the lighting effects are fantastic Great performance and battery life. Works with all my devices and remembers pairings on each one without hassle of having to repair when switching from one to another. I highly recommend this item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just over all a fantastic piece of kit

SRS-XB40 08/05/2018 by Blocko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely fantastic sound...easy worked good sturdy speaker..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW! - Excellent value speaker with amazing sound

SRS-XB40 30/04/2018 by iain2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Positives: 1. Fabulous deep bass sound Small speaker with MASSIVE good quality sound 2. Easy to control from phone or speaker 3. Excellent battery life and quick charging too 4. Solid construction, good & heavy, shouldn't vibrate off window ledge even at high volumes Negatives: 1. Sadly, seemingly will only bond with other Sony speakers, making my other (non Sony) speakers unusable at same time 2. Flashing childlike lighting 3. Poor phone connectivity for calls, intermittent very low call volume thru speaker & grabs phone calls, unable to override with phone itself (Moto G5+) or speaker without switching off Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great size and sound.

SRS-XB40 29/04/2018 by Drealnice (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago, and it’s perfect for using it with my computer. I can charge it then don’t have to charge for a few days after. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive for the money!

SRS-XB40 25/04/2018 by Bion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a work speaker, it has been on a building site for the last month - it has been knocked around, bullied, dropped and covered in concrete but it was still works like a charm!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good sound

SRS-XB40 21/04/2018 by Rogls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a week works fine would be nice if the battery % part of the app worked.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It works and works well

SRS-XB40 20/04/2018 by A nickname why (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted two bluetooth speakers that could work as a pair, to give a wider sound source. In particular as a stereo pair. Nothing I tried before could achieve this reliably if at all. On unpacking the SRS-XB40 speakers, they went into exactly the mode I wanted with just a couple of button presses. What is more they remembered these settings and when used several days later and came on exactly as set up. The sound is good with extra bass if needed and an optional light show. I am very pleased with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blue tooth Speaker

SRS-XB40 15/04/2018 by Bonzo Dod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this speaker so basicly i can take my music any where i go connection is a sinch I can now listen to all my music any where.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent! It's a Sony!

SRS-XB40 11/04/2018 by flippie (USA)

As with all my other Sony products this was not a real surprise! Well done Sony....again! Only an issue with the app not working on Samsung S8+ phone.....if you can fix this 10/10!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

SRSXB40/BLK 10/04/2018 by jkeeley006 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with purchase.I decided on this speaker because of the extra bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for its size

SRS-XB40 06/04/2018 by Lee21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it just one downside about the volume dropping at about 40%

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Verry happy with this portable speaker!

SRS-XB40 01/04/2018 by Handy_Man (USA)

The sound is really good and rich, even though without the extra bass! It's really easy to work with the controls and the buttons of the speaker, and for the lights - there's no words for them, because they're just beautifull, especially in dark environment! Overall - great product, again, from Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Not happy

SRSXB40/BLK 31/03/2018 by Gina0713 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound went low muzzled after two time of use. What can I do. For the price this should not happen?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2018

We're sorry to hear what happened, Gina0713. To isolate the issue, we recommend following the steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00052169


Best regards,
-Erin

0

WOW

SRSXB40/BLK 30/03/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed something with great sound & something the wife could enjoy while at the pool or working in her garden, but what I Love is that she can enjoy her music & hear her phone when I call to check on her. A great tool for us older folks when were together or apart. Thank you So you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BEST THING I BOUGHT

SRS-XB40 30/03/2018 by Maciej 0192837465 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker just beats every other it’s amazing even tho it’s not big I am really happy with it and would not change it at all the number one right now

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great sound but only via bluetooth. Buggy app.

SRS-XB40 27/03/2018 by joehorn (USA)

Great sound via bluetooth IF the midrange and highs are boosted to max via its app. But equalizer is unavailable when connected by cable, leaving the sound very muddy when Extra Bass is turned on, and tinny when it's not. Also, the app has an aggravating bug: When two speakers are paired in Stereo mode, changing the equalizer setting only effects one speaker, not both (unlike the other controls which are applied to both speakers).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/03/2018

Hi joehorn, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.
Thanks! _Bob

0

Absolutely lovely speaker

SRS-XB40 22/03/2018 by Cilo02 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the speaker a month ago and I have fell in love with it absolutely love the lights volume and the best part the bass option from normal to extra really handy when in the house and wat to watch a movie with out bass going through the house when having this the lights put me in the mood to rave and I love the battery life but don't like when it goes quiet around 20 I wish there was a option to change that to 10% but I am hoping soon to get the bigger model for in the house keep up the work Sony love Ur products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Full System In Portable Version

SRS-XB40 22/03/2018 by Dinamic98 (USA)

Bought this speaker a year and a half ago since my little one died. Works great. Battery seems to last forever. Just shy of being as good as the full sony speaker system in my aprtment, but is very comparable. Nothing but complements when people notice the speaker size and the sound output. Would definitely recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rugged Thumper!

SRSXB40/BLK 21/03/2018 by Djinna (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovin' SONY since the 70's. The rugged design and full sound on the 40 is all I could want. The lightshow is just the sausage gravy on the flaky biscuit and my construction union brothers and sisters love the distraction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB40 20/03/2018 by Kaczor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good speaker good bass very loud super lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed in speaker

SRS-XB40 15/03/2018 by Ryanc1273 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this hoping that I’d be able to blast music non stop for hours, but the speaker doesn’t let you have the speaker at full volume for a good time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great Sound!

SRS-XB40 09/03/2018 by Sound Guy (USA)

I bought this speaker a couple of weeks ago and I have been listening to it everyday since. I have no regrets buying this relatively little, portable, battery powered, Bluetooth speaker. IMO this speaker is awesome bang for the buck and is a very well rounded speaker in a now crowded market of portable Bluetooth speaker. Don't bother with the Bose options in this class of speakers because you will be disappointed. Now in my 40's, I must admit that I wasn't crazy about the "light show." I am happy to say that the lights can be controlled both in the app, as well as on the speaker itself. All thought functionally, you have a LOT more control of the light show from within the app. Bottom line, if you are in the market for this class of speaker, just get it without concern.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best speaker I've bought

SRS-XB40 21/02/2018 by WelshQuoFan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker on the hop! Wanted a Bluetooth speaker for playing music off my phone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SRS-XB40 03/02/2018 by Millie_White (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it the sound quality is amazing its got amazing bass its basically all you need

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent

SRS-XB40 01/02/2018 by Buddy61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent in every way. First sound box I have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 26/01/2018 by Hitchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this XB40 speaker thinking it would party chain with my XB 3 so I was very disappointed when I found that this was not the case as they are nearly identical products apart from size. I would have given XB40 full marks on every category had this been the case. Maybe Sony after reading this review as a good will gesture could send me a XB 30 which I have found out does party chain with the XB40 THEN I will change my review to excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Love the funky lights

SRS-XB40 25/01/2018 by Alli92 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great speaker with good sound and fun display lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very poor connection options

SRS-XB40 23/01/2018 by Dralmi (USA)

I bought 2 BT speakers 4 days ago and my experience was awful, practically the app for the iPhone is working very bad, I think that in this 4 days I spend 1h/day trying to reconfigure the speakers, when they are plugged the faction are even worse; today I was connected with them to my phone but the sound was from my phone, I had to restart the speakers and after, guess what, they didn’t connect anymore..... I will keep it until the weekend and if they are not ok, I will return it, sorry I do not have time to spend to configure every day your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/01/2018

Hello Dralmi, greetings and thank you for your message. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

It's better then I first thought.

SRS-XB40 22/01/2018 by Mr Fox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got myself this about a month ago. At first I got a Jam Heavy Metal bluetooth speaker. It was very small and had a excellent sound quality. But after a few uses I noticed a rattle sound. I soon found out it was one of the buttons. So I returned it and got myself the Sony Xb40. And I found it a lot better. Though it's bigger it will still fit in a bag or backpack no problem. And it has the power to fill up a small to medium sized room. And dropped it a bowl of water and no problem it still works perfectly. It's good and if you want to make noise it's good for that too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

sony bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB40 18/01/2018 by BC72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product in terms in portability, and sturdiness. Extra Bass does not produce a clear sound especially at low levels

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Sounds Great

SRS-XB40 14/01/2018 by Fozzi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for Christmas and have linked it up with my XB20 speaker. They sound awesome and simple to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good value for the money

SRS-XB40 12/01/2018 by Dorins24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound , quite powerful, the fully charged battery lasts forever. Very pleased with it . The only minor inconvenience is that when the playlist finishes, the Bluetooth connection seems to drop. Quite annoying to make it work again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing piece of kit.

SRS-XB40 08/01/2018 by Studowson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought one first and I was amazed by the sound it produced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 07/01/2018 by Nooo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as my christmas present and am thrilled.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fabulous

SRS-XB40 06/01/2018 by Susiecol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received it as a Christmas present, very good sound quality & everyone in the house hold uses it & says how good it is. Great value for the price. Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A Happy Sony Customer

SRS-XB40 05/01/2018 by Nasir (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another fantastic product from Sony. The sound, look, apps that work with the speaker make this a must have for anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small and Mighty

SRS-XB40 05/01/2018 by ChloeeLouise (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a Christmas present. Love it. Very good bass and doesn't sound tinny, excellent battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB40 04/01/2018 by evaughan04 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for Christmas and I absolutely love it! I use it everyday

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super machine

SRS-XB40 03/01/2018 by Smudgy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it as a Christmas present and I am delighted with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Speechless

SRS-XB40 01/01/2018 by Leafninja96 (USA)

I got this BT speaker today and I’m astonished at how clear the music is. The extra bass adds the perfect amount of depth into the sound becoming so much more clear. The might show is awesome. Syncs great with all sorts of music. I rate these a perfect 10/10.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT SPEAKER!!!!

SRSXB40/BLK 23/12/2017 by Valle Negron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Bluetooth SPEAKER is so loud!!! And the Sound Quality is OWSOME!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

lovely speaker

SRS-XB40 16/12/2017 by stui916 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very very happy with this speaker, wonderful sound, great fun lighting effects and fun to be had using the apps that accompany it. a very minor issue. Make sure your fully charged. the charger does not appear to power speaker whilst charging. just something to condider, love the fact that if a button is pushed, speaks how much battery is charged. nothing negative to write. over the moon, would definatley reccomend. well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

SRSXB40/BLK 16/12/2017 by marsha5050 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very nice good but bought a second one and very hard to use party mode every time I get it set up and working the next time I turn the speakers on I have to start all over very time consuming and inconvenient so buying the second one did not help me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this

SRS-XB40 13/12/2017 by MRP46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We’ve had this speaker for about a month now and use it every day. It’s great as it’s portable and plays music from my iPhone, radio app and YouTube. Also like the fact you can sync 8 devices to it so when my granddaughter comes round she does just that. Great product with excellent sound, love the bass button.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good in sound quality

SRS-XB40 08/12/2017 by Humtty (USA)

I brought this about 5 months ago.best speaker i have ever brought

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB40 04/12/2017 by Acetrace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hardly any faults. Good sound quality and volume. If anything, has scratched quite easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great feature

SRS-XB40 03/12/2017 by Andriy Student (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the speaker 2 weeks ago I'm so happy very good product. Thanks Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding

SRS-XB40 23/11/2017 by Jake24 (USA)

It is a great product and I highly recommend it. I've had no problems. It's loud, and is a great price for what you're getting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blue tooth is missing teeth!

SRSXB40/BLK 24/10/2017 by Mama Laughter Yoga (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I grew up loving Sony products. I have TV's, sound systems and I brought this for the name brand of SONY and it wasn't cheap! I ordered the pretty red one and after only playing it through blue tooth, about 3 times, the music started to skip and crack. I tried it at another place and with another server outside my home and the same cracking and skipping on the songs. My internet is 5g and I troubleshooted it as much as possible. I need to have this for my volunteer work and its very troublesome when we are cooling down in meditation to have the song skip when I use the blue tooth setting. I tried to return to the store but they don't take returns over 7 days!!! Well I had to buy a 6 inch AC cord to hard wire it to my phone ...now it plays fine, but I purchased it for the blue tooth feature. If you want this for blue tooth FORGET ABOUT IT. I also noticed the store wasn't selling it any more...I wonder why.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi Mama Laughter Yoga, We're sorry to hear that your having Bluetooth issues with this speaker. Kindly refer to the link below for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/51481
~Ralph

0

Quality Product

SRS-XB40 20/10/2017 by Sudath72 (United Kingdom)

It is about 2 months since I bought it and I am quite happy with it. It has been designed to use outdoors and the quality of sound is pretty good. Also it is easy to connect with other devises. I would like if there is an option to turn the lights off when not needed..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Great speaker - but you will need to tweak...

SRS-XB40 29/09/2017 by SteveLBMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A quick scan of online videos will confirm what you need to know about this speaker - it is brilliant, when you have adjusted the grpahic equalizer settings (you can do this using Sony's "Music Center" which aslo allows you to change the light settings, or with a media player like VLC. When bass boost is on, both the mids and trebles need to be increased, otherwise it sounds to "muddy". Once tweaked, sounds brilliant and the lights are great fun!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Amazing

SRS-XB40 21/09/2017 by Crazydavid85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker for work, it's so load and good I can put it in the middle of the shop and hear it over 2 floors of the shop it's out standing sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good experience

SRS-XB40 18/09/2017 by Akinjive (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a couple of weeks back and its been a good addition to our electronic collections in the house, connects seamlessly with all hand-held devices.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound is brilliant

SRS-XB40 18/09/2017 by Keith3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been looking for sometime for a product like this the sound is most important. This product ticks all the boxes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

What a product for the money

SRSXB40/BLUE 23/08/2017 by Tropicola65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got this today (08.23.17) and man I'm glad I did. Unfortunately I blew the speakers off on another Sony product I had and needed something for an upcoming Wake. Glad I got this one. The sound on this thing is remarkable. Just right. I got the blue one. Looks sharp. Love it. Always love Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Has good quality sound

SRSXB40/BLK 01/08/2017 by big oda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with this oriduct. I especially liike the added bass feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Big sound for the size

SRS-XB40 27/07/2017 by MusicPlease (USA)

I have 3 srs-xb40 and 1 xb-30 and the sound is good for the size they are. Sometimes it can be tricky to get them to sync(one speaker can sometimes be a little delayed, but re-grouping seems to help) and there seems to be no way for the volume to all sync up to the same volume other than manually trying to level it with the buttons on the speakers. Maybe the songpal app does that, but it seems to not know how to connect to its own speakers(I'm using an iPhone 7, maybe I need an NFC capable phone?). Wish the battery indicator showed up in my phones widgets(it does in the songpal app).Overall no regrets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Best speaker But...........

SRS-XB40 26/07/2017  (USA)

It's a great speaker But why when it's 50% it's gets low volume stay permanent until it's more then 50%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

5

0

Would recommend based on volume and bass

SRS-XB40 22/07/2017 by KP1409 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The volume level and bass level are great. The battery life is good and the lights are a nifty feature. Sleek design and although bigger than other portable speakers, it is still definitely portable. Only downside is I don't think the clarity is completely there. The music isn't as crisp as I've heard from other speakers but it definitely does the job.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

It was a good product

SRS-XB40 19/07/2017 by Shaneyboý 29 (USA)

This product works fast and is duŕrable we love that we can hear

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great sound and battery life

SRS-XB40 17/07/2017 by Dave23121985 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and am loving it much better than my bose mini

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Quality sound and look. Nothing bad to report

SRS-XB40 15/07/2017 by Mfren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all the speaker itself looks great, the flashing lights are a great touch. It is light which is always handy for a portable speaker. Easy to use especially with the NFC. The buttons are a simple layout with makes it easy to use. The actual sound of the speaker is great expecially with the extra bass feature which adds an extra quality to any track you play on it. Don't really have anything bad to say about it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 13/07/2017 by sharkie1961 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a couple of weeks ago. Great sound and compact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Perfect Wireless Speaker!!

SRSXB40/BLK 08/07/2017 by Answ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product, because multiple people I know have bought it, and it's a great product! The bass is amazing and when you chain speakers it sounds awesome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

80s nostalgia - 21st century sound !

SRS-XB40 06/07/2017 by Fhatto blaster (USA)

This product has an awesome 80s look but great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0