11

2.8 based on 11 customer reviews

3
1
2
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very loud and tricky but works in the end

SRS-XB402G 25/03/2020 by Kenny45 (USA)

I hear everyone call this speaker trash but you can easily enable Bluetooth just by holding the power button down. You're not forced to use google home, it would be a great recommendation though for a NFC quick connection. Since so many people find it so hard to read a instruction manual to set it to bluetooth. Still one very loud speaker compared to the many out there for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Almost got it right...

SRS-XB402G 11/01/2020 by Chrisddo (USA)

In terms of sound, battery life, and portability...all above average and more than adequate as great everyday speaker. The weakness, a glaring one, is not being able to turn off Google Home or Alexa completely is a misstep. Even the bootup sequence saying your mic is off is annoying and loud. Add the option through a firmware update and I’ll definitely go 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

11 Customer Reviews

0

good sound

SRS-XB402G 23/05/2020 by ChrisBB (USA)

I was debating between this or the xb32 but I don't regret purchasing this it sounds amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi ChrisBB, we are glad that you are happy with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Nice sound

SRS-XB402G 15/04/2020 by mentisda (USA)

Setup takes way too long........Bluetooth connection only works once you download and setup google home. No simple pair and play.....if looking for a true Bluetooth speaker this is not it. Very disappointed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Awesome

SRS-XB402G 15/04/2020 by Mmmhsj (USA)

Got this on eBay for $70.00 and I feel like I got a great deal. Speaker was added to my Google home in less than five minutes. Sound is great, love the lights, and battery life is liveable... Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi Mmmhsj, we're glad you like our product. Featuring EXTRA BASS sound with LIVE SOUND mode and flashing lights, the SRS-XB402G is the life and soul of the party. And with Google Assistant built-in, it lets you manage music, asks questions, and more without lifting a finger. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Bluetooth or Smart Speaker... Why not both?

SRS-XB402G 03/04/2020 by chicagoadman (USA)

This speaker is quite the value for it's loud, clear, and resonate sound. With it's impressive speaker arrangement, it's sure to impress you in the kitchen or your guests at a backyard BBQ. As many other reviewers have noted, the G variant of this speaker is designed to work with Google Assistant. And yes, you have to activate the Google Assistant functionality before you can use all of the speakers features. But then again, why wouldn't you? When you're home on wifi, Google Assistant is half of what makes this speaker so powerful! Once Google had been activated, you can use the pair button right on the unit to use it offline as a Bluetooth speaker. Unlike Sony's other speakers, however, this speaker falls short in the Music Center app capabilities. Specifically I'd like to be able to Party Chain this speaker with my other Sony Bluetooth speaker for even bigger sound. The Music Center app is usually a powerful addition to any Sony Bluetooth speaker. Unfortunately here, it's useless. Overall I would highly recommend this speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi chicagoadman, good to know that you like the speaker. Thank you so much for your very detailed review, we appreciate it! Erin

0

Very loud and tricky but works in the end

SRS-XB402G 25/03/2020 by Kenny45 (USA)

I hear everyone call this speaker trash but you can easily enable Bluetooth just by holding the power button down. You're not forced to use google home, it would be a great recommendation though for a NFC quick connection. Since so many people find it so hard to read a instruction manual to set it to bluetooth. Still one very loud speaker compared to the many out there for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/03/2020

Hi, Kenny45, We are glad to hear about your experience using your new portable Bluetooth speaker. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Not really a Bluetooth speaker.

SRS-XB402G 14/02/2020  (USA)

This speaker is not worth it. Bluetooth doesn’t work unless you download the google app and share all your information. There is no speaker jack to just plug something into it. If you try to ensble privacy settings do it doesn’t track you it won’t work. Great for tracking ALL your history and giving away your data for free. Wondered why I got $250 speaker for $80 until I tried to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2020

Hi Dan Mart,


We are sorry if the Google Assistant speaker did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that Sony has a Privacy Policy to help protect your personal information, as well as that of your family and children. Sony does not share any personal information with third-party companies without your consent.


We'll forward your feedback to our design team for future improvements.

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Total Junk.

SRS-XB402G 13/01/2020 by Minh (USA)

I am sitting here right now with these speakers and I can't even connect to my google home on my S10+. It says it can't authenticate. I just wanted bluetooth speakers. I'm almost about to cry, I spent so much time on this, why won't it just work? The authentication issue is the only thing preventing me from using it at all. The bluetooth functionality doesn't even work without that, which needs the wifi!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, Minh!

We do apologize for the inconvenience. Please refer to this link below on how to properly connect this speaker to your smartphone.

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xb402g/v1/en/contents/TP0002341932.html?search=connect

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Almost got it right...

SRS-XB402G 11/01/2020 by Chrisddo (USA)

In terms of sound, battery life, and portability...all above average and more than adequate as great everyday speaker. The weakness, a glaring one, is not being able to turn off Google Home or Alexa completely is a misstep. Even the bootup sequence saying your mic is off is annoying and loud. Add the option through a firmware update and I’ll definitely go 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, Chrisddo!

We are sorry if the speaker did not meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Thank you,

Erin

0

total garbage

SRS-XB402G 26/12/2019 by JonnnyC (USA)

I do not understand why this product forces you to set up google home to use since its speaker. If you can make tech do all these amazing things how about making the tech set-up simple and not requiring other features we didn't want or need that takes an hour to download and set-up??? They are just trying to force you to use google home/voice feature when all I wanted was a nice speaker. I would encourage everyone to find something easier to use by another company or brand. Please quit making everything so difficult to set-up and requiring,forcing features no one really wants. If I wanted a google home device I would have bought one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2019

Hi, JonnnyC!


We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. Upon checking, since this is a google assistant smart speaker, setting up google home from the initial setup is considered normal operation. If you want a good sounding speaker with no smart function capabilities, we would highly suggest checking our regular Bluetooth wireless speakers. Please visit this link for further details: https://www.sony.com/electronics/wireless-speakers-docks/t/wireless-speakers

Regards,
Sam

0

Great speaker but with a catch

SRS-XB402G 25/12/2019 by Akavdjsb (USA)

Got this as a gift and it's an incredible speaker. However, it will force you to connect to the internet and set up the microphone that's in it so it can listen to everything you say before you are able to connect it to a Bluetooth capable device. Absolutely horrible that they force you to to do this before you can jam out to your favorite music. Great sound, absolutely horrible setup experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/12/2019

Hi, Akavdjsb!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. Upon checking, since this is a google assistant smart speaker, what you went through the initial setup is a normal operation. If you want a good sounding speaker with no smart function capabilities, we would highly suggest checking our regular Bluetooth wireless speakers. Please visit this link for further details: https://www.sony.com/electronics/wireless-speakers-docks/t/wireless-speakers

Regards,
Sam

0

Just buy a regular Bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB402G 22/12/2019 by Llcoolj (USA)

Need WiFi connected to speakers to set up Bluetooth pairing to phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/12/2019

Hi, Llcoolj!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David