96

4.0 based on 96 customer reviews

47
25
7
8
9
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28 February 2017 by davelee (United Kingdom)

Had the GoPro 5 Black, had so many issues with it so purchased the Sony FDR-X3000 Camera, so far it has been MAGIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

If ONLY it would stay in FOCUS!

FDR-X3000R 08 April 2018 by Bleeder (USA)

The feature set on the Sony FDR-X3000 is absolutely AMAZING for the money, the menu is actually fairly easy to understand once one uses it for a short while, and the B.O.S.S. system is absolutely tremendous in both execution and final results. Blown away by it, actually. But the 4K video quality become aggravating in short time! The INITIAL video quality on all three of my FDR-X3000's (my other two I've had to return, HOPING I'd get a "good one.") would be amazing out of the box, but the honeymoon ends soon thereafter. Once the action cam gets warm with use, the camera's lens become unable to focus correctly (focus to infinity like all action cams do), thus the video, which was initially amazingly brilliant throughout, will become very blurry. You're left with unusable blurry videos once the camera gets warm, and the focus becomes temperamental and eventually terrible. There's a obvious glaring design flaw as the primary reason for the blurry video that eventually happens, as MANY people have experienced the same thing with this particular action cam. As you research the 'net, many have taken their Sony FDR-X3000 apart to try to figure out why the focus was becoming progressively blurry, and found the issue. It comes to find out that Sony "engineers" decided it was a good idea to use some sort of GLUE to secure their awesome lens in the B.O.S.S. Housing to secure it in place. As with all glues, heat it up as the battery will do with Action Cam use, and the glue becomes soft and will eventually MELT. Sony absolutely knows about the flaw in their design, as it is in their own forums regarding this blaring design flaw and focusing issue. The FDR-X1000 hasn't had this issue as far as I know. Simply look for focusing issues on the Forums and YouTube videos regarding the FDR-X3000, and you will find many examples of the design flaw, as well as pictures of where the flaw is located! I can only hope that the Sony engineers will redesign this action cam and better secure their amazing lens within the BOSS housing so blurred focusing issues will no longer occur as the action cam warms up. I really WANT to like my third Sony FDR-X3000, but like the other two I've sent back, it now only focuses 4 feet in front of itself, so I'm limited to making a video was at that distance. Talk about frustrating!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

96 Customer Reviews

0

Great action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 07 September 2019 by jpa17 (United Kingdom)

I brought this action cam after reviewing all the other action cams on the market, and deciding this was the right one for me. However after 14 months the camera now refuses to turn on, and beeps every 15 seconds, so is now totally unusable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GPS DOES NOT WORK

FDR-X3000R 03 June 2019 by Barkme (USA)

The GPS functions stopped working and will be nonfunctional indefinitely. Would not buy this or any other products Sony makes that depend on GPS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Thrilled with the features.

Body + Waterproof Case 19 March 2019 by JohnFr (United Kingdom)

Excellent picture quality, ease of use, great design, love the finger accessory and the remote screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony fdr-x3000

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 04 March 2019 by LY3PQ (United Kingdom)

great camera ..I'm very happy sony fdr-x3000 !!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Design and Concept were good BUT....

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28 February 2019 by Phyfong (Singapore)

Battery life is bad... Slow to connect to live view device still need to improve ease of use of the buttons

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great cam - needs wireless audio

FDR-X3000R 02 February 2019 by bernhtp (USA)

Great video and stabilization. OK battery life (80 minutes @ 1080p60 50mbs). I motovlog (motorcycle Vlogging) along with hundreds of thousands of others and need (in future models): 1. Wireless audio input. It would be great if the audio could come from the PlayMemories control app where the smartphone could combine/mix audio sources. Bluetooth audio input would also be a great option. You'll steal GP market share with this. 2. Better mounting options. GoPro-compatible mounts dominate, so compaitble mounting or a simple adaptor is important. 3. More battery life (2+ hours). Also, consider an (optional) small separate snap-in pack that connects via the USB.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overheats

FDR-X3000R 04 January 2019 by Aeroplano (USA)

I"m stuck with a $399 camera that OVERHEATS. You can smell the heat when you enter the room. I purchased this action cam on Oct. 19th. 2018 from Amazon's C**** Camera Seller. It started overheating/shutting down by itself while filming on 720, 1080, and 4k only after 1 month and 2 days of my purchase. I tried to get a refund but because it was over by two days on a 30 days return so "C****** Camera" (seller) refused to accept my request. So after reporting them to the Better Business Bureau they still refused. The overheating has progressively gotten worst. Now I'm stuck sending this camera for repairs to Precision Camera whom are chosen by Sony. I've sent this camera 3 times for repairs without success. Precision Camera don't listen. They keep telling me there is nothing wrong with the camera. The only i can do is continue to send the camera. They don't see the pictures and videos I've sent them. Anyway, Now I"m stuck with a $399 the overheats, without any options. Neither Sony nor Precision Camera don't want to listen. All I've been doing is send this camera for repair and no filming. See pictures and video attached.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Action camera...until it stops focusing..

FDR-X3000R 09 December 2018 by Nick Burgh (USA)

Had the camera less than two years...Took it to Moab, Yellowstone and Nova Scotia...Gear videos...but today I can't even use it as paper weight...about a month ago the camera lost the ability to focus...except near focus ...no more than 4-5 inches...everything else in frame is blurry and unusable...Don't buy the camera if you want it to last a while...

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good stabilisation. Buy the right micro SD card!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 08 December 2018 by zzForrest (United Kingdom)

A very capable video camera, image stabilisation is excellent. Get a 90mb/s micro SD card, otherwise you'll be limited to low res video.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great action camera

FDR-X3000R 28 October 2018 by asterosdelas (USA)

Have this camera for more than a year now. Really love it. Extremely light and high quality. Use it for scuba diving, traveling and vlogging. Wherever I go, I won't leve home without this in combination with a gimbal. Can't wait to see the next generation or firmware updates to see other features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Poor focus with motion from start and no warranty

FDR-X3000R 11 October 2018 by elmo1958 (USA)

Following with previous 10/8 post, as I just received a repair $702 cost to address this issue on a $370 camera, included new LCD which work just fine. this in not right, as this poor focus with motion issue is well documented.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Poor motion focus

FDR-X3000R 08 October 2018 by elmo60 (USA)

Poor motion focus, sent back to sony for warranty repair.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My everyday companion on my trip to Greece

FDR-X3000R 24 September 2018 by Yiammi (USA)

Straight to the point. Video quality is fantastic. Day scenes at 4K will blow your mind. Stabilizer does excellent job and after a couple of days you will realize that that the use of a viewfinder is not necessary since the wide angle gets it all. Night scenes are OK and nothing special. Now the sound.... As long it is out of the protective case, audio is great, but when it is inside that case, you hardly record anything. Menu is not difficult to master, and the battery will keep up nicely.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 08 September 2018 by Yuliapuh (United Kingdom)

I like my sony action cam. I am very happy....))))

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT IN EVERYTHING

Body + Waterproof Case 01 September 2018 by THIIID (United Kingdom)

I BOUGHT IT BEFORE A TRIP TO MAKE SOME VIDEO CLIPS. IT WAS AMAZING ,SIMPLE,VERY LIGHT AND FAST. I THINK THIS IS THE BEST CAMERA AVAILABLE RIGHT NOW ON THE MARKET AND IT'S VERY CHEAP. 4K VIDEOS ARE AMAZING AND IT HAS GOT LOT OF DETAILS IN IT. WHAT MAKE IT SPECIAL IS HOW SIMPLE IT IS AND THE QUALITY IN EVERYWAY. IT'S JUST AMAZING.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good image. External mic input problems.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 August 2018 by MatthewL (United Kingdom)

Image quality is very good at both 1080p and 4K, and stabilisation is amazing. HOWEVER, the external mic input has a very hot pre-amp and aggressive AGC, making it impossible to use with most microphones. Sony has said they are not interested in fixing it because it doesn't affect the 3 microphones they list as compatible. See here for more details: https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/action-cam/external-mic-problems/m-p/2493498#M337 Do not recommend this camera if you want to use an external microphone, unless you are sure the microphone you want to use works with Sony's broken firmware on this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

My Sony FDR-3000R

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 30 July 2018 by John777 (United Kingdom)

I have been wanting to buy this camera for some time now and at last I thought I had to. I am pleased with it. The "link ups" were a bit fiddley but eventually got there. The QR scan pic wasn't supported by any of the QR scanning apps I had, but got over that. I think also it takes a little getting used to changing the settings on the side of the camera, once you get the hang of it, it's OK, but it takes patience, not straight off easy. Other than that I am pleased with it and the results outweigh what I have written above, but still take note of it. It would have been nice for the price to have included a "muffler" for the sound outdoors, it makes a world of difference.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

overwhelmed

Body + Waterproof Case 29 July 2018 by Art26 (USA)

I am overwhelmed with the features of this camera. The manual which I downloaded does not tell me how to delete the video on my memory card.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Action Cam with a missing ... feature

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21 July 2018 by Earle of Earl (Singapore)

All good but no zoom... which is missing... So for the next series of model maybe Designer can include

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Important Consideration

Body + Waterproof Case 20 July 2018 by YouTubeOregonMikeH (USA)

A one and only Major Concern! The Cam dose not come with a Hard Print Owner's / Operators Manual. This proved so Important, that I would not have bought it had I known Sony was going to be Cheep on that Critical Issue!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Good but...

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 14 July 2018 by Dreddd (United Kingdom)

After a month the camera picture getting blurry the quality is useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Action Camera with the best Optical Stabization

Body + Waterproof Case 12 July 2018  (USA)

We use it for almost 2 years and it is 100% the best Action Camera on the market for the last 2 years. It has the best quality and the best Optical Stabilization. Also all accessories with good quality. I highly recommend this camera and all Sony Products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So convenient, Smooth& Clear

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 July 2018 by Bobbett (USA)

This was given to me as a gift. I love that it is so smooth no matter how much you move. Crystal clear I have only videoed on our boat & on my bike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great quality sports cam

Body + Waterproof Case 05 July 2018 by iantan (United Kingdom)

i bought this for a road trip and to record water sports. the picture quality is excellent and it has a good wide angle lens to pick up all the action. The only downside is the external controller. This allows you to see what you're shooting and control the camera, the downside is the fact it looses connection quite frequently.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cant use it for videos

Body + Waterproof Case 01 July 2018 by Royal45 (USA)

i've had this camera for about a week. i can not use it to record videos because it freezes every 5 to 10 seconds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Nicely made camera, stabilisation is excellent

Body + Waterproof Case 12 June 2018 by KenTop (United Kingdom)

Bought to update from an older GoPro, very nicely made, simple to use, footage quality is fantastic, stabilisation seems very good with no loss in resolution. lens protector is an expensive extra though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

great camera

Body + Waterproof Case 25 May 2018 by malk (United Kingdom)

I bought it in April used under water to check on the fish in my garden pond for damage to them great video f of them great video on my bike no vibration

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great video. but loop recording is useless

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 20 May 2018 by sejtam (Singapore)

This camera is really nice. but the loop recording isn't really. Unlike other cameras (like dashcams) it will *not* allow constant recording and only keep those that happen around the time the record button is presses again. This would be so much more useful if used as a motorcycle helmetcam. Please add this feature.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love it

Body + Waterproof Case 16 May 2018 by pochobs (USA)

I love this and its accesories. im ready for my vacation now.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A reliable action cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15 May 2018 by Pak Aji (Singapore)

Pros- great quality of pictures and videos -c/w high temp alert -user friendly controls -practical accessories -great wider angle lens Cons- heat disappation can be improved, will cause fogging if used with casing over prolonged period -doesnt come with much accesories especially the clip part -abit costly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I really like the stabilization!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 13 May 2018 by Pony Stark (Singapore)

I have been using this cam on my running adventures and it can withstand the rough trails and spills. The battery power can last for every session I make.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Action Cam FDR-X3000 4K

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 May 2018 by is07madi (Singapore)

Loving this action cam, use it during my holidays and cycling event. Awesome quality video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not too Impressive

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 May 2018 by Kelvin13 (Singapore)

Shutter Speed is slow .... not really good for action camera .... Cant really mount it with external power supply without compromising water proofing.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Upgrade from HDR-AS100V

Body + Waterproof Case 08 May 2018 by Andybike (United Kingdom)

I already have a Sony HDR-AS100V, which I use for cycling and skiing as a helmet camera and for snorkelling, using the standard waterproof case. For the first two, it has been perfect, giving excellent footage, which I use to produce candid videos for my cycle club and skiing friends. I also liked the idea of attaching it to the side of my helmet, rather than having to look like Tinky-Winky all the time. For the snorkelling, the images were not very good. I decided a second, backward-facing camera would be very useful when cycling and so upgraded this time to the FDR-X3000 4K. Being supplied with the waterproof case with flat window, this should give excellent under-water footage when snorkelling, but I have not had the opportunity to try that yet. I have used it when cycling and the images are first-class. The additional features available on this camera should be really useful, but again, I have not yet used them. The design of this camera has many improved features and I found it simple to set up and use. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an action camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Overheats

Body + Waterproof Case 25 April 2018 by Xaero (USA)

My first brand new unit would overheat after only a few minutes of recording. I did not have it inside the waterproof case and it was about 40 degrees outside (we were hunting). I had it replaced with another brand new unit that did the exact same thing. I even did a recording test and placed it next to my HDR-AS50. The HDR-AS50 ran about an hour an a half before the battery died. The FDX-X3000 powered off in 9 minutes of recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

works pretty good

Body + Waterproof Case 22 April 2018 by jimmy james (USA)

i bought it a couple of mounts ago it is ok but turns off when i ruin it a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great quality

Body + Waterproof Case 14 April 2018 by James Beard (USA)

Best action cam you can get. Sounds great outside waterproof case in the case it does not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Camera Battery Life Terrible

Body + Waterproof Case 10 April 2018 by breeze13 (USA)

I really love the FDR-X3000 it has an awesome picture and great ease of use and has no equal with the image stabilization and image quality. But the battery life is the worse. Maybe one 15 min shoot or one time lapse. I have not yet make a determination of how long they actually last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

If ONLY it would stay in FOCUS!

FDR-X3000R 08 April 2018 by Bleeder (USA)

The feature set on the Sony FDR-X3000 is absolutely AMAZING for the money, the menu is actually fairly easy to understand once one uses it for a short while, and the B.O.S.S. system is absolutely tremendous in both execution and final results. Blown away by it, actually. But the 4K video quality become aggravating in short time! The INITIAL video quality on all three of my FDR-X3000's (my other two I've had to return, HOPING I'd get a "good one.") would be amazing out of the box, but the honeymoon ends soon thereafter. Once the action cam gets warm with use, the camera's lens become unable to focus correctly (focus to infinity like all action cams do), thus the video, which was initially amazingly brilliant throughout, will become very blurry. You're left with unusable blurry videos once the camera gets warm, and the focus becomes temperamental and eventually terrible. There's a obvious glaring design flaw as the primary reason for the blurry video that eventually happens, as MANY people have experienced the same thing with this particular action cam. As you research the 'net, many have taken their Sony FDR-X3000 apart to try to figure out why the focus was becoming progressively blurry, and found the issue. It comes to find out that Sony "engineers" decided it was a good idea to use some sort of GLUE to secure their awesome lens in the B.O.S.S. Housing to secure it in place. As with all glues, heat it up as the battery will do with Action Cam use, and the glue becomes soft and will eventually MELT. Sony absolutely knows about the flaw in their design, as it is in their own forums regarding this blaring design flaw and focusing issue. The FDR-X1000 hasn't had this issue as far as I know. Simply look for focusing issues on the Forums and YouTube videos regarding the FDR-X3000, and you will find many examples of the design flaw, as well as pictures of where the flaw is located! I can only hope that the Sony engineers will redesign this action cam and better secure their amazing lens within the BOSS housing so blurred focusing issues will no longer occur as the action cam warms up. I really WANT to like my third Sony FDR-X3000, but like the other two I've sent back, it now only focuses 4 feet in front of itself, so I'm limited to making a video was at that distance. Talk about frustrating!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Supreamo 4K handicam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 29 March 2018 by Mechhead (United Kingdom)

I researched over weeks before settling to buy this little gem, I have 3 other Sony cameras of various capabilities and value but this is the more travelled go everywhere camera I own, I don’t use the 4K option but it’s there if I want to, it’s eye catching in style and ideal for YouTube vlogging and FB. It’s very much a unisex device, both men and women have shown love for this x3000.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent videos

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 29 March 2018 by Maur25 (United Kingdom)

Pros: The optical stabilization works great on 4k. It does a great job in creating a smooth video. The colors are very good if you have good light. Underwater videos are good and camera catches lively colors. Angle is very good and it's not rounding as much as other cameras. In medium angle there's almost no rounding on pictures / videos. Excellent footage on the slopes with great reaction to shadows / direct sun light. Stabilization in 4k is again super. Sound filtering and wind noise reduction is great. Cons: In low light the pictures are quite bad. Videos are also average but...after all it's an action camera. I got the accessories as well and I just hate the way you need to force out the display from the camera support accessory. If you want to switch the display from camera holder to the wrist holder, you'll have lots of troubles doing it. The buttons on the right / left side of the display require firm pressing. I don't know why you need to push that hard for them to work, sometimes it feels like I'm gonna smash the display because of hard pressing. Overall I think it's a very good product. If it was not for the poor photo performance, I would have rated this a 5 star. The above cons are related more or less to the accessories.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do not get G o P r o !!! SONY all the way!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 23 March 2018 by reviewer12345 (United Kingdom)

This is a great small camera, which has so many additional items inclusive. I needed a cam for diving and this camera already comes with a case to dive down to 60m! G o p r o you need to purchase separately. The image stabilization is what kills the competition at this size. It is very smooth! I got mine with a remote, thinking it is a gimmicky remote - in realty it is really good, fast responding quality made, up to 3m deep in water if required. This is the ultimate active camera from my opinion. Pack so many features, GPS, WIFI, Bluetooth, live recording - the list goes on!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Disappointing

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15 March 2018 by BobWdisappointed (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago to go scuba diving and the pictures on 4K are shuddering

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

4k and Optical Image stabilisation

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 14 March 2018 by Snatch709 (United Kingdom)

I have a go pro which is still great for me, but the optical image stabilisation is why I went fro this item, I like the sideways design , it makes it slim on helmets when mounted, and the 4k is awesome quality with stabilisation juts lovely on my 5k monitor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product, works reliably, unlike its rivals

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 08 March 2018 by wushujohn (United Kingdom)

I set it up easily and quickly, tested it and the picture quality was great. It has worked every time since at 4K and 1080p. It is so easy to work with. I would recommend this camera to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

softwear is under developed

FDR-X3000R 03 March 2018 by ColinW (USA)

bought the camera to stream to youtube and twitch,but the software/firmware has been neglected im not sure the relationship between IBM & Sony but Ustream is the only Option supported? the cam is old enough to assume they will not be adding support and updates . pointless buy for me

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

softwear is under developed

Body + Waterproof Case 02 March 2018 by ColinW (USA)

bought the camera to stream to youtube and twitch,but the software has not been neglected im not sure the relationship between IBM & Sony but Ustream is the only Option supported? the cam is old enough to assume they will not be adding it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great Camera and High Quality Product

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 02 March 2018 by Klipa250 (United Kingdom)

it beautifully records in 4k and HD quality, ease of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent video quality BUT TERRIBLE AUDIO...

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 25 February 2018 by Phil480 (United Kingdom)

Firstly I'll start with the bad points before telling you how good this camera is otherwise... This would have certainly got a 5 star review if it wasn't for the terrible audio quality on the external mic input. The sensitivity is far too high to be usable even when using a standard microphone, regardless of if you plan to use a lapel mic or just an external microphone somewhere. So unless you have an inline volume controller or something to control the gain, there is no way of rectifying this. I suggest to Sony that they issue a firmware update that adds the ability to change the mic sensitivity in the menu to resolve this. This is an action camera, you shouldn't expect to have to plug in extra devices to have it work correctly, especially on a top of the range camera such as this. The same microphones I am trying to use work fine in my other cameras (Drift Ghost S and GoPro's). A minor issue for me, is the Micro SD card can sometimes be tricky to insert correctly. Although it is the right way up and clicks into place, the camera doesn't always detect the card, so I have to re-insert it to get it to work. Now, on to the good stuff... This camera is packed full of features, such as GPS info, Live Streaming, time lapse and burst photo shooting, not to mention various video modes and frame/bit rates. The one button record is a handy feature (something that GoPro stopped doing on their later models). Just press the record button and it will turn the camera on and start recording straight away with the previously set settings. Another handy feature for those who may want an "always recording" option and don't want to worry about having to keep deleting unwanted footage from the card is the continuous loop recording, like the dash cams. It will record a continuous loops of a set time, or you can set it to maximum and it will record until the card is full and then start overwriting from the oldest file. The picture quality of this camera is fantastic! I have attached a video of some 4K test footage I shot from my motorcycle in day and night, all on standard settings. This is at the 60mbps bit rate (the camera can do up to 100mbps with a higher spec SD card, which I don't currently have). Some quality will be lost with YouTube's compression unfortunately, so it doesn't do it true justice. The night footage is by far the best I have seen on an action camera, this is on standard exposure settings. The daytime footage may be slightly over exposed on standard, but I have since tried dropping the exposure a notch which seems to be an improvement. A few people have mentioned that the colours appear to be washed out, even on the vivid colour setting. I would agree, certainly if you compare it to other cameras. However, comparing it to real life, I would say the colours are more true to life. Either way, this can be corrected with editing software, so it's not really an issue. I also have some 1080p, 60fps test footage on my YouTube channel. The higher frame rate does look good, and I think I prefer a higher frame rate over a higher resolution (4K only does a maximum of 30fps). The file size of 4K, 30fps, 60mbps frame rate VS 1080p, 60fps, 50mbps is about the same. A 40 minute continuous clip came to about 14GB, much higher than other cameras but that is understandable because of the higher bit rate and quality. The balanced optical steady shot works very well and gives a nice stable image. It works almost too well for some situations actually. You can turn this off or switch to a standard steady shot which doesn't over-do it. The battery life is significantly reduced when using 4K as you would expect. I'd say you get about 1h30mins at the very most with 4K. You can apparently run this camera from a power bank. I am yet to try it myself, but I hear that it will run off the power bank, but not switch to the internal battery when the power bank power runs out. The camera will turn off, but you can turn it back on again to run off the internal battery. Maybe this is also something Sony can look into, maybe bring out a battery expansion pack? My camera came with the Live View remote, the waterproof housing and the finger grip. The finger grip is a must have accessory if you plan on doing any hand held shooting. It clips the camera and Live View remote together nicely so you can see what you are shooting. It could to with somewhere to hold the rubber lens cap so it's not blowing around on the tether. The waterproof housing does add a bit of bulk to the cameras small size. This is only necessary to use if you are planning to submerge the camera though, otherwise the camera outside of the housing is rain proof. So overall, it is a fantastic camera that is just let down by the external mic audio, something that I'm sure Sony can easily fix. Other than that, I am very happy with this camera and would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

GREAT LITTLE CAMERA

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 13 February 2018 by DOWNUNDERMM (United Kingdom)

GREAT PRODUCT ALTHOUGH NOT A FAN OF SONY PRODUCTS THIS CAMERA IS THE EXCEPTION.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Outstanding video quality

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31 December 2017 by T2 biker (United Kingdom)

Outstanding video quality, Excellent depth of field, a little disappointed in the still picture quality ,but early days yet !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Exceptional action camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 17 December 2017 by Danny B (United Kingdom)

Beautiful vibrant mode colors, excellent image stabilization and a very easy to use interface. It is a bit hard to find accessories for it being given the shape, but otherwise it's maybe the best action cam on the market. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The best action cam on the market.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15 December 2017 by Alexotronic (United Kingdom)

I had Gopro 5 and 6 after selling my fdr x3000 to my friend - they didn't even get close to quality of Sony so I have bought another fdr x3000 but this time I am keeping it. Optical stabilization does its job magnificently for extreme sports. No need for gimbal means less weight and less risk of breaking something. Battery life could be lil bit better tho. I always have two spare batteries with me and that is more than enough for one day. Quality stuff..get it ...NOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 08 December 2017 by Ernest5767 (Singapore)

The camera was good just I don’t know why the connect within the camera and the screen ( watch ) keep disconnect which always takes time to reset and connect it back . A bit of waste of time when u wanna on it and snap some precious moment.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Doesn't Come With Adhesive Mounts :(

Body + Waterproof Case 24 November 2017 by etmz (USA)

It comes with a USELESS clip. Must order Adhesive mounts off the internet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Stabilisation and Video Quality

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 18 November 2017 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

Great small cam for video recording when travelling. Will use it as a vlog camera as well. The optical stabilisation that makes this action camera stands out from the rest currently in the market. Feels like I am using a gimbal with it. There’s a wide selection of accessories to accompany your camera. But I felt that the lens protector should be a default accessories included.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Awesome

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 17 November 2017 by Nestakim (Singapore)

Awesome & easy to handle.. Battery not bad. Take a few sec to 'ON'

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great camera for use in and out of water

FDR-X3000R 13 November 2017 by Cjac (USA)

Researched the Sony x3000 and the GoPro, ultimately went with Sony due to optical vs digital stabilization. Took to Hawaii for use snorkeling and hiking. Clarity was amazing underwater and out with footage nice and steady. Recommend getting the desiccant packs for using the housing underwater to avoid fogging. Battery life is decent and mine routinely lasted 1.5 hrs when not in 4K. Adapters are available to use with GoPro accessories if you want a better selection. Didn't get the remote and don't feel it's necessary if you're debating. Mine connected to my phone easily and I could change settings and view video with just some intermittent minor lag, no issues otherwise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Build quality above competitors. Lens very clear

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31 October 2017 by Sam17 (United Kingdom)

Build quality is fantastic, feels solid, case is brilliantly designed. Audio quality (without case) is very very good. Video quality is crisp as long as you are in well lit conditions. You will need a fast memory card for this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

brilliant cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21 October 2017 by ricky brown pants (United Kingdom)

ive had all the gopro cams and this beats all of them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

4 years without upgrading my old sony action cam

FDR-X3000R 27 September 2017 by Greg007 (USA)

In 2013 I bought the Sony AS30 / AS20 action cam. I have been using it for 4 years now to built my youtube channel to 1 billion views (AmusementForce). Every year I have been waiting for Sony to make a better camera for me. They failed 4 years in a row. The AS20 comes with a waterproof case that has holes on front of the mic so the audio quality is very good. The problem with this camera is it doesn't offer the same housing instead it's housing is highly enclosed so the audio quality is much worse and for that reason I can't upgrade to this model - still. I know the image quality is much better but I can't trade it in for worse audio quality. Sony, if you are reading this what I'm asking is very simple. You offer 2 different waterproof housing for this camera selling them separately. One will be super waterproof like the one you have right now. The other one should be less waterproof (5m / 16ft) but with a membrane in front of the mic for better audio. It's simple. Go ahead and do it. I can't wait to upgrade my old camera I can definitely afford it just offer something to me that's good for what I do. I never bought this camera and never will until you sell the waterproof housing I'm asking for providing good audio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Best Action Cam yet

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 22 September 2017  (Singapore)

bought this month, the image quality is so good. i will definitely recommend this for travel videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21 September 2017 by Andrew90 (United Kingdom)

I use this camera every day and it is great. Best video and audio quality on action camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Wow!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 31 August 2017  (United Kingdom)

This is an unbelieveble camera. I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Editing APP for phone and PC, GPS software

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28 August 2017 by Dxfchong (Singapore)

The Edit APP from manual is not useful and unable to edit. Is there a more comprehensive tutorial or APP for movie editing with capability to insert music? Also, how can we tag the GPS to the location when creating album? Movie are not clear when it comes to dark enThe candelense effect

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Bad Recommendation, bad camera

FDR-X3000R 07 August 2017 by GB0524 (USA)

I bought this in December 2016, and have been trying to make it work....but I give up. It's just awful. Loses connection all the time with the Live Remote. Very cumbersome to zoom. Almost impossible to track live action because you can't actually see what you are recording without the live remote. I paid a pretty high price for a complete dud. I tried to cut my losses and sell it, but zero buyers. I'm done with Sony over this, unless they want to buy it back.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

12

0

Best actioncam

FDR-X3000R 30 July 2017 by anvartvhd (USA)

SONY FDR-X3000R A great camera. Has great stabilization. Great camera for vacation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High Quality photo/video for such a camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 22 July 2017 by Bidib17 (USA)

1. Personal ExperiencI bought this camera about a month ago. I was debating whether to buy this camera or the GoPro Hero 5 black. After watching so many in-depth reviews on both cameras, I decided to buy this camera. My main use for the camera is to use in vlogging vacation trips which always include some water activities. I took this camera to Florida's Universal Orlando theme parks and let me tell you, the video quality is unbelievable. I am a very picky person when it comes to video quality and the image stability while filming and walking. I was really pleased with the end result of my videos. Video quality is extremely clear and stable even in the 1080p setting; even though they advertise it for the 4k setting. 2. Battery Life: This was my main concern because GoPro battery life is very short and I needed a camera to shoot plenty of videos within a long period of time. I'm the person that records videos, stops and turns off the camera to save battery. Even though the camera lasted me 3 whole days, I would still buy an additional battery back because, by day 3 mid day, my camera died. Definitely advise not to overcharge your camera, which results in battery damage in general. I took this camera to a water park and the waterproof housing was sturdy and kept all the water away from getting into the actual camera. The only small con I would say about the camera is that when the waterproof housing is in use, the microphone is covered and the video sounds like in underwater. But nothing like video editor systems can fix that. 3. Live Remote: When you get the product, I would suggest buying it with the Live Remote. The live remote not only is handy for viewing your camera angles, but it also controls your camera settings so you dont have to use the actual camera to control it. In addition, having the remote allows you to save battery on your phone because you would not have to use the sony app to control views. The live remote does work with wifi bluetooth. The only thing I was kind of annoyed with was that the fact that while you are recording your videos, it only shows 5 seconds of the view then the screen goes black;but still records. I wish I would be able to view the whole video while recording. 4. Overall: i'm satisfied with this camera and all the updated features. I would recommend this camera for people who are interested in action video/photo shots as well as people who are interested in normal vlogging video/photo shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Won't connect to many smartphones for live viewing

FDR-X3000R 21 July 2017 by DonX (USA)

The smartphone app to use with the camera will not work with most Android-based phones using Android 7.0 !! Sony needs to fix this problem immediately. I can't monitor the camera without buying the special Sony remote and having to carry around more gear, so I will return the camera for a refund. Moreover, trying to use the app and connect the camera severely corrupted the OS on my phone. I had to delete everything on my phone by doing a factory data reset, and this almost permanently damaged my phone.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

7

0

Great Quality at First

FDR-X3000R 15 July 2017 by Joshyutah (USA)

So the camera is great at first. The image quality is something else. But there are a few issues. 1st one is the memory card was relocated to under the mount. So every time you need to change the memory card you have to take the mount off. This is very time consuming. 2nd the camera easily over heats. When sitting in a room that is 70 degrees, it will over heat in 20-30 minutes. This is a big problem when out in the summer and warm places in the winter. I find myself not recording everything i want to try to keep the camera cool. 3rd the focus goes crazy. The problem with this is if the camera gets over 90 degrees the focus will set itself to near and the video goes blurry. From what i have found on the internet, this sounds like a design flaw after reading other people's posts. But if you can keep the camera cool it works amazing. I will likely wait to the next generation before buying another.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Updated review...

Body + Waterproof Case 12 July 2017 by RwallacePhoto (USA)

I'm man enough to admit when he was wrong and well....I was wrong. My first review I talked about only having this for six months and two recording when suddenly it would no longer recognize the memory cards. It was because I was inserting them backwards. This is the first camera (stills or video) that I have had that the memory card clicks in easily no matter which way the contacts go which left me no reason (as far as I'm concerned lol) to think it was backwards. Anyway, this is an outstanding camera (I love more than the GoPro I used to use) and would recommend it to any and everyone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0